(2013/05) May 2013

long time no do mani/pedi. must find 1 day go pamper myself.

i avoiding gel for the moment.

aiyo..today boss WFH but i think she really too free at home. Like those historian, keep digging old emails and ask whether they are solved a not.

ikuko
Haha, no my name is not esther

I totally agree with you, there's no best of both worlds unless we're tai tai. even then we sure complain about housework etc. Oh well, in life there's always opportunity cost. But i'm seriously toying with the idea of taking a few months of NPL. Kids' childhood won't come again.

JC
Seriously, you want to try for #2 after giving birth to #1? You very gung ho :D

If you're still young (i.e. below 30), maybe can wait a little more. I was quite emo when I got pregnant with #2 and my #1 was already about 22 months then. Coz i still wanted to run, jump, roll over etc with #1 then. But now I feel so happy having both of them and seen them grow up & play together. It's fun

I waited for a little while longer before trying for #3. Let #2 walk, go to school, and really spend time with her first. Thank God for the blessings!

Shirley
Whoa, that's a whole load of shopping! U must've felt euphoria ..haha. I also went shopping yesterday, bought some toys & milk bottle. I wonder if I could do this if i were a SAHM with zero income :/

griny, ViActually i think we puke not so much due to toothpaste. but it could be the gagging effect? But then again, ya hor, i also don't like minty taste in my mouth. At night I'll just floss & then rinse with mouthwash. Sometimes I just rinse with water. Bought wrong mouthwash, the green tea one. Too fragrant for me!

pinktulip : haha..my hubby target is 3. I already 30 liao, hubby 32.

anyway haven't experience motherhood yet i also duno. Skali too much for me to handle. i will shout tolong after that!

JC
Still young. But if u wanna close shop before 35 must cheong a bit. hehe. some people like to have children very close with gap close to each other. they say get it over (the late nights, etc) and done with. But I also think it's nice to enjoy their babyhood, pamper them a little bit, bask in the joy of having 1 kid. Haha okay being a little drama there.

Eh your hb 32 so young leh! My hb is turning 37 liao.

JC: can de... 30 #1, 32 #2 then 34 #3.
just nice!

pinktulip: my hub also 37... sometimes i think when hub 57, the kid only 20, he still got to work, quite poor thing hor

babbie,
yes, i visit Woody at CCK. He look uncle to me... hee.... Saw him last Thurs. He is my gynae for #1 and current one. Wanted to find another one for 2nd pregnancy but I hav spotting problems during 1st tri, find that more convenient to find see him, also inthe end lazy to find other gynae, So continue to with him.

pinktulip, gaggling could be possible. Actually I dun dare to gaggle. Really salute u all who are having 3 kids. I think i will just stop at 2.

Anyone starting to feel the little one moving? I think i felt it last night and just now.

pinktulip: I think if you can afford, is good to take NPL to bond with your child. Last time I was a SAHM to my boy for 1 year plus. used up a lot of my savings, but the best part is the bonding and I did not miss his milestones. I missed those times.

JC: My boss sounds like ur boss-micro-manage and always asks for updates and look for old emails and ask qns. v free one. U still young, can try for #2 and #3. 1 year age gap is good,but very tough for the parents cos both children so young. But so cute to see them grow up tog.

sparkle bee: I'm going for mani pedi later in the afternoon and gona do gel for hands and feet cos I'm travelling next week. Muahahaha

2Ks
I'm 32 this yr. Any chance of quitting work by 40? hehehe. Ya lor, I also feel that way. But in S'pore how to start having kids at early age? By the time we complete tertiary education, at least 23-24.

griny
That's nice. I can feel some swimming going around in there already. but baby's still pretty small, just about 7 cm?

charliebrown
Wah, I'm so envious! Did you receive any allowance from your hb? Frankly my savings are really minimal. Far from $10k
I hope i can put aside some $ from the small amount of AWS in Dec. How did you survive during that period? did you have to cut down on parents' allowances & shopping, etc? I guess we have to say goodbye to holidays too?

A-n-g-e
Have fun! So lucky, still get to travel

JC: i'm the same age as you and expecting my number 1 too...

Feel so good to know that there's someone in the same shoes as me... I wanted to have my first baby before 30, but didnt managed to meet the right guy early enough. haha!

Just to check with mummies out here: how much expenditure per month is required for the first 6 months?

Also, is the pregnancy insurance any good / necessary? I have an insurance agent telling me that it's not very good and the payout is not very attractive either. So told me to take up a savings account instead... Any advice?

pinktulip: I don't have any allowance from my hubby. I did not shop much for myself that time, mainly bought things for my boy, cos #1, so bought alot of things and toys. I went out alone with him alot! haha. but money was very tight. That time i also stopped giving my mum allowance but she understand cos I was not working.

pinktulip: younger than me wor...okay u aim to retire at 40 okay. for me, impossible lor.
and i think ask me to face the 3 kiddos whole day i will go crazy faster.
if can work part time will be good...

fool4love: what kind of expenses u looking at? vaccinations? childcare? fm? medical?
to be frank, medical insurance for the young ones is preferred. especially u know hospitalized (choi touch wood), one time can go up to thousands.

fool4love: We're not getting.
My friend heads her own team and she told me it's not a product she believes in so she din bother to tell me about it.

But I have other friends who bought. So it's your call really. I didn't do much research after my friend's comments.

pinktulips: i think i will say goodbye to holidays when #3 arrives. the most just road trips lor. 2d1n kind wont spend so much.

sigh...just received letter from #1 childcare that next year school fees increase $100.
govt give how much subsidy also no use. here give there take...equals the same

2ks/pinktulip: me got the same thinking as you. Hubby gotta work at least till 60yrs then can semi-retire. Think spore retirement age gotta increase again.

fabbie: ur girl's reaction on knowing the gender is cute. Hahaha. Like kanna 4D like tat.

2ks: the subsidy for sahm is only $150. Whereas working mum get $300 subsidy.

Talking abt holiday, ever since #2 came along I've nvr been to holiday not even to Msia yet. But hoping can go end if this yr provided in laws are following otherwise hubby going crazy with 2 tods and 1preg woman.

My hubby told me to stop after #2. Cos he feels he doesn't have the energy to keep up with a #3 and #4. Hahaha Cos I told him it's 2 or 4. :p And anyway, i'm getting old too la. This is definitely a tougher pregnancy than #1's time and I attribute it to age.

esther: i find it stupid. why subsidy for mums only $150. mum chose to sah is cos to spend more time with kids and also lack of childcare in sg mah.
then one hand encourage ppl to give birth, one hand ask ppl to work. whereas the world out there doesnt support...aiya...stupid la.
like give $300 subsidy but the childcare keep increasing price = the same mah.

ange: u are younger than me leh...u should have more energy! 2nd trimester is the best to cheong now..

fool4love: expenses for first 6mths for new bb? I think I spent alot on newborn diapers, cos used alot. FM also, cos I bf for 4 mths only. For vaccinations, go to a PD which are MCYS approved and can use baby bonus. or can go polyclinic, I heard some vaccinations are free ah?

pinktuplip : actually i married since 2008 but i have been putting off the bb plan. i regret not starting early.

i always thought having bb is very easy 1 like u see TV, one time sure get. Than when we TTC, than end up take so long. See doc lah, see TCM lah, all those old folk tales we hear also go try loh

I am stopping at # 2 too. I felt that I really got no energy for 3. Thumb up for those having 3.

I can't wait to buy bb stuffs too. I am eyeing alot of things already. I know gender on this sat, I will quickly order.. Hehe

got time i post out the vaccinations price here. my gp nurse wrote for me...but i need to find.
just heard all vaccinations also increase price...

only 1 thing no increase - MY PAY!

2Ks about the same la... ya best time to cheong... i cheong-ing with my son his classes lo. Hahaha

Tues no class... so I can pop in on n off. Hahaha

charliebrown
Thanks for sharing. Sometimes i really salute the mothers who don't mind not having their own $ to spend. For us, we really treasure our financial independence. I really have to watch my spending I guess. for a start already don't go shopping so much & I try to cook our meals on weekends. If we go out, spend so much leh! At least $50-$80 if go to restaurant.

I have my parents to give $ too. Guess I'll have to fish out from my savings and give them about 50% less.

2Ks
$100 increase is a lot leh!! Do you have a helper at home? Eh those road trips also not cheap. if go KL, u can prepare to spend at least $1k, accomodation + petrol + meals. Maybe if go JB can spend less but my hb also not confident about safety in JB.

Esther
In SG it's like that one huh. Work till siao.
Our poor kids also study study all the way.

I'm going to KL in Dec with my SIL & cousin-in-law. my MIL coming along too but I don't expect my MIL to help. As long as my kids don't make me yell like tarzan I'm OK. haha.

JC: We also ttc for a long time, married in 2007, then tried for 3 years, visit TCM etc. Had a MC last year and felt really depressed. Many frens & relatives who married after us got kids soon after and always asking when's our turn. Stressful period. Am very happy with God blessing to have conceived again, gender doesn't really matter as long healthy.

fool4love: I thought of getting pregnancy insurance also but then it's an investment link plan, not really worth it I feel with the coverage and the monthly payments. Our hospital plan do cover pregnancy complications though not v comprehensive. I'm more concerned about bb needing to stay in ICU, that will be v chor.

Childcare: >.< I will be sending my bb to infant care cos no maid(dun really trust them to take care also). Hope the fees don't increase too much then.

BBkk
U can buy during 2nd trimester too when you still have energy. hehe. But I'm tempted to get the rocker. silly me sold it off to make space last time.

JC
yeah, TTC-ing, labour &amp; breastfeeding all seem easier on TV &amp; Hollywood. Breastfeeding can be painful! So prepare yourself mentally. After u get over the first hurdles, it'll be a breeze.

Gd afternoon mummies!!

Finally I have some time to write in the thread, been reading the thread for past few days but was too busy works.

I will see my gynae tmr evening, hope to know the gender too.
My hubby and I keep telling bb these two days to open the leg tmr so tat can see is ah boy or ah girl, LOL.

2ks: waiting for yr vaccinations price, as I even dunno wat vaccinations shld take for bb. Tks in advance!

I oso 32 yrs and is No.1 for me, hope to have No.2 and No.3 soon aft my No.1.
Anyway....mind might be changed aft No.1, haha coz haven yet experience the "taste" in looking aft a bb .

Mummies,how to know that bb is moving in our womb? any sound?

I m also thinking of trying for a second one after the birth
Hahaha
Then can close shop

I wan to b a sahm, but I think will b hard in sg
Too expensive

esther: wahhh really. i tout they say Gal is quite hard to make.. didnt know boy is even worst? -______-

BBK: LOL if its me i also will be the same.. keep trying n trying ah forget it.. can get pregnant very good le.. no need to care boy or gal. haha so when is ya next check up?? hope u get a 好 ! i last time have a manager also. wah that one more power wana a gal got track timing and when timing come le hor. he can drive home just to do with wife. then come back and work again. lol cus they have 2 boys le.. then after trying she MC. =( but later successfully a gal! so happy for them! ^^

JC: i heard when ya 1st menses come u can try le. most likely will tio! i told my hub that time i wana another one after my #1 he's the one topid keep dragging n dragging for years.. till i fed up dont want lo. cus i dont want wait till i aged very xinku... then till my gal 3yrs old plus then started saying wana another one.. like i say my hub is more gal kind.... and im more man kind lol. wah JC me and my hub also 32. all monkeys.. LOL

2ks. LOL nice planning hahhaha

griny: LOL the more i see him i find him quite funny.. cus he always like Mr Bean like that.. hahaha my #1 also with him then wheni have my #2 im quite excited to see him like seeing a bf like that. LOL my 1st trims also have bleeding n spotting but thank god.. everything is fine after he jab for me.. cus before my this #2 i have another one. but MC. sad lor that time when im bleeding he was on leave for 2 weeks. then slowly pregnant again with this one. im so happy to see him. i like him cus even im spotting after 12 weeks he say ITS OKAI. and its really okai! if i have #3 i also will still find him. ya #1 how old? which year? when is ya detail scan? baby movement i can feel more often recently.. ^^ i felt bb quite early infact. now is more obvious. hee

esther/; YA like my mum say.. kids usually say things are quite jun one. LOL im now wondering if i have #3 next one my gal if suddenly say is a MEI MEI! i duno how my hub is going to react hahahhaahaha but seriously if have #3 i think i also BTH.. #1 already like that.. #3 i have to see #1 and #2 going crazy. really peifu those having #3 de. haha

pinktulip, i have the same plan too or at least a part-time job, despite that this is my no. 1 cos i feel that if i continue working, i might miss out alot of his/her growing up period. Poor hubby, got to work harder. :p

Griny, think i can feel abit of the little one's movement. It's like having butterflies in your tummy.

TSM: don't think there's a sound. I haven't felt much movements though every morning there will be a hump on tummy either on right or on left. And i deduce that babe sleeps with bum up against my tummy. Hahaha

fabbie: My boy insists he was having a brother. I felt it was a boy too. But sonographer guess girl. N now he says it's mei mei. *shrugs* We'll see if we spot anything on friday. ;)

I also energy zero. With #1 running abt and preggy with #2 really no joke... #2 making me feel shitty and crappy :-/ i think age plays a big part... I already no energy le... Haha

pinktulip: i dont not have a helper at home. i dont have in laws or parents help also. both kids go childcare...and #3 will go ifc also.
roadtrip if KL for all including makan maybe $700-800 will do bah...
now with all in cc, my pocket hole is bigger.

tsm: okay...when i got time i will post. let me dig for the sheet 1st.
i am busy preparing for my BP tomorrow la..

Fabbie,
Seems ur girl is very zhun saying is meimei. My girl sometimes say girl sometime say boy leh. So I trust my own instinct. Haha.

I can't seem to feel bb move in tummy already. Tat few weeks ago I still can feel a little.

Ange, excited for ur scan on fri too.

hello mummies!!

i'm back after a short MIA! went for a short staycation to celebrate our wedding anniversary.. just finished reading all the posts..

my hubby is 36 this year while 'm 28.. he will also have to work till very very old cause he wants at least 2 kids! muahahahhaa.. i also told him to work hard so i can stay at home and take care of the kids.. he asked me to wait long long..

today baby is 15 weeks! omg.. suddenly 15 weeks.. i remember i was still suffering at week 8-9.. gynae checkup in 2 weeks! hope bb will not be shy and will let us see what gender he/she is! got a feeling is boy boy though.. haha..

baby stuff: super excited to buy but controlling cause old wives tale say cannot buy so early wor and my mum is suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuper pantang kind.. so must tahan tahan....

asos: my loot came last week and all nice! but because i bought 1 size bigger, all look so baggy.. haah... next order must remember to buy our own size now..

i can't feel also leh. i think too small. My oscar test, doc say only 7cm.

mummies, need some advise. I was taking 2ea of folic acid (50+50) in my 1st trim which i bought from unity. Now i starting the multi-vitamin and one of the ingredient is 80 of the folic acid. Should i pop 1 more folic acid in the evening?

sorry..i cant remember is MG or G the unit.

My ASOS also arrived last week. Took only 10 days to reach. Yes I also had one super big. Dunno want to refund anot.. Lazy to go post office.

JC, according to my gynae, there's no need for additional folic acid from 2nd trimester on. Also, the multi vit should have some mg of folic acid. I believe it should be substantial already.

Bbkk, what kind of sizes should i be looking at for ASOS? I wanted to buy also but scare the size doesn't fit as they are more tailored for the Caucasian.

Ange: mine started also say didi leh.. then a few days later she say she is mei mei.. then when days.. weeeks goes by when i ask her.. so inside is mei mei or didi. she getting more confident to say mei mei! LOL on friday is ya detail scan?

Pinktulip, bb ard 9.5cm since last check on Thurs.

Fool4love, for me if spending for the bb is mainly diapers. 1st month she wear cloth nappies during day, den after confinement nanny left, I find washing of cloth nappies a chore, so in the used disposable one. I bf for 1st 6 months so mainly bought milkbags for storage, also checkup and vaccinations for bb. Other spending are food during confinement and full month celebration. Also expect utilites bills to go up.

Babbie, gd description for Dr Woody! That time when I deliver #1 my episiotomy stitiches were not done properly and I got infection. So I actually still a bit scared…. But my laziness overwrite my fear. So just go back to find him…. Detailed scan will be on 13 Dec. I had MC before #1, I can understand what you hav been through. Now I dun go back the gynae that went thru my mc. Still can feel the sadness when I near the place. Now dun really mind boy or girl… Healthy most impt. #1 is now 19months born Apr 2011. She will be starting CC next month.

BB movement:
I feel that initial feel is like something tickling in the bump area. Now its like someone trying to press button on the bump area.

Holiday:
Initially had planned a holiday trip to Perth in Oct, but due to bad spotting, gynae told me not to go holiday. So cancelled the trip in the end.

2ks: ya I find it stupid also for the subsidy, mother not working naturally subsidy shld be higher. My boy's sch fees also increasing next yr.

pinktulip: ya lor. Study, work, pay govt.

chiro: u checked out on the ifc already, think gotta register early leh.

tsm: u will not hear any sound, juz tat u will feel ur tummy moving.

vaccinations: I actually sign up vaccination package from Thomson, costs ard $1.4k.

fabbie: ur #1 is cute leh, some more girls more 贴心. Juz imagine I already got 2boys if tis one also boy (high chance), I can only tell myself to get more canes. Hahaha.

Asos: I have not place order yet but seems like we need to get the size we are wearing now. I have browsed thru the web and shortlisted 2, now is waiting to on lappy to place order.

Re: baby movement
I felt nth too.. I tot usually 2nd pregnancy I'll be able to detect faster.. hmm..

Re: gender
Whether we r having boy or girl depends on our hubby's chromosomes.. so it's sth we can't really control..

Re: sahm
Really really barely can survive!! BTW can I check How much r u giving ur mum who r helping with taking care of ur kid? I'm giving my mum like 1k n we sponsor air tic for her to fly back to Sg every 3mths.. end up we have zero savings!! Plus I've to cut down on shopping.. Sobs!!

griny: did you use the traditional cloth nappies or those bumwear type? Am thinking of using the modern cloth diapers at home =)

The BB movement description sounds so cute! Pressing button keke.

By the way is any mommies taking Blackmores Pregnancy supplements?

esther: ifc = infant care centre? not yet leh... need to check out so soon ar? O_O

I feel having a girl is nice, can dress her up and inherit our bags and accessories lol. Having a boy also not bad, can help mummy carry stuff when shopping hahaha.