(2013/05) May 2013

Fool4love: I'm getting a CL too n im also worried with have conflicts with my mum.. cuz I'll be staying with my mum for confinement.. but I think it's e best solution cuz it will be v tiring to take care of bb at night.. during my first confinement I fell sick some more lo.. so depressing.. Then kept crying after hubby flew back to hk.. cuz he was my Cl for e first 2 weeks n I felt lost after he went back..

I also bought 3 pieces from ASOS, abt one mth ago, haven arrived yet, still waiting.

I'm not doing confinement, but i guess i'm the only one here not doing. I'll be getting a maid, planning to get one from Myanmar. So i hope i get a good one, and she n mummy can help me with the baby. Anyone knows of good agency or every agency is the same?

My #1, i do not have pimples too, but i gained like 30kg. Now i also noticed that my tummy has hair now, along the linea nigra line. I haven been dropping hair yet (touch wood).

My parents are staying with me, but i still haven told them of my pregnancy, i hope to keep the secret till 18 weeks when i need to start the noisy baby plus. haha

Baby movement: i thought i felt some movements and a kick the other day while lying down, online they say that you might b able to feel as early as 13wks, but most feel from 16-25wks. i'm 13 plus wks today

Then I got pimples leh think another girl again. Lol

ASOS took so long ah, then I better order for my fern wedding in dec...

Hi fabbie / iko
my mil says that she's fine with sleeping with my sil (since it's only for one month). I feel kinda bad...

my bro also warned me about "ordering" my mil around. He strongly encouraged me to get a CL, even though my place has very limited space... My mil did suggest for me to return to my mum's place for confinement. but that will be worse cos my mum is those very traditional confinement type of lady...

i guess i will have to decide fast if i do want a good CL. i heard that those good ones needs advance booking...

haiz... my hubbs told me that his view is that it's not necessary... but if i want one, he's okay with it as well...

I want to buy maternity clothes frm ASOS too!
For those who have bought from ASOS, can I ask how you gauge your size? Coz nw I am still wearing my normal clothes but waist, armpits and cheat areas are getting tight. Tummy is not so noticeable yet (originally already have tummy so maybe bb bump not so obvious yet). I am usually a UK10/12 for ASOS stuff...so shld I buy ASOS maternity clothes in UK10/12 or move up 1 size? I think I cant wear my normal clothes for much longer....getting abit uncomfy esp. my working clothes. intend to go AMK hub tonight to see some maternity clothes. hehe.

Fool4love, then since ur hb is so supportive , then u go ahead to book CL bah, if really all booked then stay put to ask ur mil help.

CL:
do we need apply and pay work permit if we engage a CL from M'sia? do anyone know the market rate for M'sia CL?

Nanny:
I am now looking for a nanny to look after my bb next year...few nannies who stay near my hse has been contacted last two weeks but all of them said full oledy cant take care of mine.
So worry and oso kam cheong now...

Cold drink:
jz finish a cup of ice milo, feel guilty now....hope no affect to my bb...

iko: hahaha if ya used to it.. u will love it. lol say abt conflicts with my mum.. ever since she take care of my #1 we have been quarreling and we have been nagging n nagging n nagging lol. sometimes is really irritating but still we love each other LOL i used to put my #1 sleep with me. till i get depress my mum say shift baby to her room so till i feel sleeping very comfortably so okai lar for me hehe

Fruitloops: yeah i can feel it when im 13 weeks ^^

fool4love: eh seriously if ya MIL allow u to go home n do confinement then do. is better to do in ya mum house than ya in law house right? at least u and ya mil wont have conflicts? ya can see ya MIL quite understanding but in another hand feel bad lor like didnt give face. from what i see ya hub said right is not really necessary for ya case
since even ya mum also can do wor. i rather my mum do for me than my mil hehe my mum also quite strict like 1 month cannot bath. wah lau then i bath kana NAG till cannot take it sia. but nvm get use of parents nagging le. LOL but is good that ya hub support u leh!

Rach : wow the ASOS maternity clothes look nice lor! Thanks for the tip keke. Yeah H&M got selection of maternity clothes also, though not much. I bought a maternity leggings 2 weeks ago.

JC: I intend to diy confinement also. Maybe my mother in law might help a bit but we din check with her yet. Then my mom is too old le and she don't cook also. I share the same sentiments that I find it uncomfortable to have another stranger in the house with me. My first time also so not sure whether able to cope haha.

nlimm: Read from somewhere some women might grow more hair during pregnancy, I just happened to notice like got a trail of thin thin hairs above my belly button >.< I wish it's more hair on my head though.

fabbie: I also thinking if possible buy those dresses that I can still wear after delivery, but 3rd trimester when you are quite big what kind of clothes you wear huh? Since tummy quite big liao then normal clothes will be too tight.

fabbie...

my mum cant do for me bcos her health conditions doesnt allow it to... but she will nitpick on a lot of stuff and i think she's those who doesnt allow me to bathe too! so i rather do at my mil place, my hubbs says my mil is okay with me doing normal stuff...

ya lo! i feel bad for 'not giving face' to my mil.. she says she'e okay to do for me if i want her to. but on the other hand, just afraid of conflicts and dont know whether i can "close one-eye"...

hehehe glad u all like it! i bought 4 pieces.. most of my dresses still can wear cause i like to buy baggy ones.. but pants confirm cannot le.. so i also limit to buying little bit cause only like 6 months left.. unless tummy suddenly pop big big then no choice..

totally agree that sg maternity clothes really sucks.. i couldn't find anything! else it's really ex.. i kenna ke-tok at taka cause i never check price.. i see maternity clothes i get excited. end up spending so much

my mil kinda booked the CL for my last year lor! cause hubby's cousin gave birth.. so she made friend and say when my turn will call her.. she already made the call when she know can announce.. haizz.. 2.3k.. best price le wor..

just had ice lemon tea.. first time since knowing! omg taste so so heaven and guilty at the same time.. hope baby likes it too! haha..

Confinement
My mother n mil will help
Mum will take care of the bb n mil will cook
My mil stays at same block. So is ok

Maternity
I started to wear when I go out
But if I go to office, I will wear my normal clothes

Rach, I kaisu n asked Wendy teo. Her nurse gave me the package price
Supposed to start week 16.
But I think I might change gynae. My mum keep asking me to change

Been a while since I came in here due to terrible MS. Now in 15th week finally feeling better. Yesterday brought #1 out to the new mall Star Vista and he was so happy. Guess it's because we haven't brought him out together (both daddy &amp; mommy) for a very long while as I was really feeling terrible.

seeing gynae next monday. hopefully can know the gender. baby please be co-operative ok!

tsm: yup my CL asked me to help her do the work permit. I looked through MOM website it's quite easy and can just do online.

baby movement: already felt some movement but not very strong kicks or punches. this time round seems to feel earlier compared to #1

shopping: now that i'm feeling better and xmas coming, I been buying and buying LOL. hubby keeps nagging but I don't care. Going to look at ASOS too!

Fool4love:
Ya better to go back ur mum Plc for confinement. N since ur Hb don't mind CL u just get lor. Any conflict w mum easy to forgive n forget, with mil... Err ... I doubt la hehe.ESP if u csec best to get, natural I heard pain goes off in 1-2 days isit ( not too sure for this)

Vi:
So envy!! Can save alot leh if both can help.

Chiro:
Ya mine is my armpit hair grow very fast always need to pluck.

My mum will come over to take care of me, but it will be her first time as grandmother, so not sure how much she can help with confinement, maybe more on the baby...

I also want to know the market price for confinement lady.

Oh my, i just checked my ASOS order details, i ordered on the 17/10/12 they say shipped on 18/10/12. Y haven reach me yet, it's almost a mth, haha. Mayb lost in the mail. for 3 dresses i spent $164 SGD.... Abit ex right

nlimm...

but it will mean that my hubbs will not be coming over to stay with me during the 1 month of confinement. cos there's no place for him... haiz... i wish things are that easy...

my mum isnt a easy lady to deal with... i changed 6 maids within two years just bcos she 'nagged' them, find them unsuitable... my record was 3 days and the maid simply gave up cos my mum was 'reprimanding' her so much that she couldnt take it....

That's why my choice is really to take my MIL or have a CN over at my MIL's place...

fruitloops...

no worries... maybe you want to check with ASOS? will let you know once i get mine... I find ASOS cheaper than what i can find outside..

hopefully it fits

Mum:
I really envy u all.
My beloved mum has passed away last year ....otherwise she definitely will do confinements for me and oso help to look after my bb.
I miss her so much! Till now, I stil will cry loud loud when I miss her...
for those who still have mum with u...pls cherish her,hug her and tel her u love her

Tsm, so sorry to hear that. Mummy is the greatest, tks for reminding.

Ok I just paid for ASOS, spent $130 2 items only. Haha.

fruitloops: oh wow!! u bought nice nice ones maybe.. that's why more ex? mine says just shipped.. ask me wait about 10 days..

Vi: ooooo i haven't asked. always too excited to do the scan that i forget alot of things..

tsm: will cherish my mum as what u say..

anyone starting to feel back pain? don't know why today my back to painful.. don't dare stretch too much also..

Bbkk: at least u force urself still can doll abit. Me going out for dinner like going to slp like tat. Juz chin chye one t-shirt, shorts and flip flops. Hahaha.

Ange: woah ur holiday sounds fun!!! Me yeah exhausting, just when I tot my boy has recovered, today vomitted 5 times. Later going doc again.

Hair loss: me too recently realized that I also having quite serious hair loss problem comparing to my first 2 oregs. Now can see scalp liao. Last nite was juz telling hubby that me hair getting lesser and he told me go yunnan. Duhz.

iko: hope u are feeling better now. Cold drinks I also drink leh. In moderation shld be fine lah.

JC: think better dun dye, the chemical for dying hair quite strong leh. Tahan a few mths then can be mei mei again.

Bbkk: I still eat otah leh, ingredients in the otah got nothing toxic so shld be ok.

food4love: ur mil seems very chin chye to me, is she someone who is easy to stay with. If she's ok, I suggest u getting a CL at least she can help u with the laundry, cooking, washing and night take care. Ur mil can help u take care bb in the day. Think it'll be easy for ue mil.

Maternity wear: Seems like quite hood comments on the online shop shall check it out tonite. Hopefully.. Think I'll get something colorful coz CNY mah. If gnot every yr CNY I get dark clothings to hide my fats. This time I'm going to show my big tummy. Muahahaha.

Still got shoes, told hubby next yr CNY can't wear heels so told him I'm gonna buy the Ferr... brand flats provided if I see any. :D

I didn get a CL for my #1 as my MIL is helping mi but m so stressed up and depressed during my one whole month, almost cry everyday cause as a first time mum, dun nod anything and my mil dun nod how to take care of newborn, so i even bath for my baby on the first day. Hubby did help abit bt still difficult cause first time daddy oso. dun really have enough rest as well.

My mum cant really help as she is working full time.

i really buy my maternity wear brand new from the ebay, per pc including shipping cause mi less than S$15. M not really fussy, as long as it looks ok and presentable m ok.

Esther I laugh at ur description, so funny.

I also bought one for cny, I bought uk size 12 dunno will it be too big anot

chiro: usually 1st n 2nd trimster i wear my shorts. till 3rd trimster.. tummy getting bigger i mostly will wear dress. just that my dress will get shorter so just lup a leggings can le. hehe no need to waste money haha

fool4love: or u hire a CL in ya mum house?? u know im happy my mum say dont ask me to bath at least she concern about my body. my mil is totally dont care one. that time i havent finish confinement i held my #1 1 month birthday at her first. i saw food i just grab. i ate curry and one of the auntie tell my mil why u didnt tell your DIL not to eat these kind.. cannot anyhow eat one leh. then i feel abit bochup lor. DOU mummy will nag but i know is for my own good thats why if im u. i rather stay in my mother house at least more comfortable.. but i know la. my hub spoil me till my marriage now is like a bf n gf relationship. =X

Haven't been logging in for a long time...

chiro: I also noticed alot of hair on my tummy suddenly. My hubby said eeee when he saw it. Haha.

Read that a few of you can feel baby's kicks at 13 weeks. I am at 12 weeks now. So anticipating all the kickings. Ha!

hi everyone...

i cant feel any kicks yet... or maybe i did, but dun know they were kicks? haha! i feel strains sometimes on one side of the tummy. but it will go away once i change my position of lying down...

i'm on my 15th weeks

just to check:

wat does a CL do? will she help me wash all my clothes (including lingerie)? cook? bathe baby and burp baby after i finish bf-ing the baby?

my mil and hubbs asked me what exactly does a CL do cos they nv experienced it before... I guess CL wakes up for night feeds, so that i dont have to? And then wash all the stuff properly so that i dont have to?

as for cooking, does she tell us what she wants to cook and we buy the ingredient? or we give her money and she will go marketing herself...

Foolforlove, basically CL is a 24 hour service
mine will cook, clean my room and baby room (live in a 3 storey house so she only clean my room and baby room). CL also will wash baby's clothes. If possible and you need CL to wash your own clothes, can also request because I had helper during #1. I also make CL wash bottles as we should try not to touch so much water during confinement. Other than that, they should cook for the mummy and themselves too. But grocery shopping normally not done by them. Most importantly is them taking care of bb at night! My CL burp baby for me as I didn't latch. I always pump and feed via bottle/cup. For me, my MiL can't help much due to age and my mum is working, so my hubby will support me if I want a CL. Getting a CL depends on you too. My friend coped well without one as her hubby hands on, cook and take care of bb.

Sometimes they will tell you what to buy and will cook accordingly. But mine asked me what I like/disliked. I don't know how to eat pig trotters so CL didn't cook that for me and used more pork meat instead.

re: CL
wow.. i din know CL helps to clean room n wash clothes too.. i shd check if my CL provides such service.. YES! i just placed deposit with the CL today.. i hope she is good.. its my friend's recommendation..

Esther: WOW!! u willing to splurge on Ferr.... pumps hor.. nice nice!! =)

Tsm, sorry to hear that...will def treasure my mum.....

Otah
My colleague forbid me to eat. She say got mackerel or whatever fish....those big fish...so mercury level might be high. But I guess moderation shld b ok bah.....

I told my hub to split the CL between the two mummies...at least the money spent is still within the family...lol.......

Rach, I ks. Already ask dr teo on my second visit......lol
Haf to plan for the expenses......hahaha...very siong to haf bb in spore....s

fabbie: read that u had dory dish during confinement. please do not eat that fish for your 2nd confinement ok. dory fish are not good fish. they are chemical overloaded. why i know, because my hub is in seafood line.
during confinement, just take cod fish or threadfin.

on what a CL will do during that one month.
i list down what i remember okay.

1. bath baby in the morning
2. prepare breakfast for the mother
3. feed and burp baby
3. change the bedsheets for baby every week
4. handwash baby clothes (separately)
5. cook lunch for mother
6. wipe dry baby during even time
7. bring baby to mother for bf when necessary
8. brew tonics/soups
9. prepare bath herbs for mother to bath
10. light housework e.g clean &amp; mop floor
11. wash mother clothes (EXCLUDING underwear, most CL do not help to wash underwear cos consider dirty, so during the one month i wear disposable).
12. wash &amp; sterilize pumps parts/bottles
13. feed &amp; burp baby during middle of the night.
14. some CL also cook for family members.
15. help to prepare full month stuff e.g red eggs etc

above are all those that i remember
but what CL doesnt do

1. wash mother underwear
2. If somebody can go market, ingredients usually buy by that person, otherwise CL can tag alone. usually dont pass money to CL to let them go out.

and of cos, i do allow my CL to take naps in the afternoon when baby is napping too.

hope above helps

tsm: from what i know if u get CL from outside source, rates are probably around $2K -2.2
agency CL are $2.3 and that is excluding levy that u need to pay, if i am not wrong 28 days is $168.

and above is excluding the opening &amp; closing ang bao that u need to give to the CL.

JC: if u wanna dye, let your stylist know that u are preggy and he can dont let the colour touch the scalp, but then my stylist got mentioned to me before, as long dont use those drastic dye colours, its fine cos nowadays the dye contains less ammonia

2ks: ok i will tell my mum.. I duno is it dory fish but my mum always say is xue yu. Is it dory? Cus she told me this fish always very ex.

fabbie: xue yu is cod fish. but its not the read cod fish. real cod fish is called gindara.
apparently in the market is all selling the cod fish 'cousin', a different kind of fish which looks like cod fish.

threadfin is called 'ngor hee' in hokkien. usually confinement we take that fish. eat until vomit kind lor..

dory fish is those u eat fish &amp; chip right?
cod fish must see properly..some are 'fake' one..can lead to indigestion

BKNN : i think lemon ginger tea can help reduce blood sugar. I had very sinful dinner on Tuesday than drank the tea..my reading was normal. Yesterday i walked 30 mins but the reading was high. Drank some tea, and the reading dropped 3 points in 15 mins.

dont know if it is coincident ...i will try to monitor a few days.

I'm new to this thread and hopes to share my joy and 'problems' here too.

My edd is on 24th may 2013. My gynae is Dr Kenneth Edward Lee from Mt Alvernia. He told me I can choose to deliver in Gleneagles if I want to but of cos he prefers MA. I prefer gleneagles as my 1st pair of twin babes are delivered there.

Just went for Oscar test today and looks ok as explained by the radiographer.

Hv been staying with my mil ever since 2008 as she's helping to do confinement for my twins. And I seriously regretted not to having a confinement lady as I couldn't rest. So for this pregnancy, I thght of having one but mil objected... Will see how things goes as I also hv a helper at home already...

bad ms morning for me! boo! totally no energy to work now.. just hanging in there..

cool that we ordered from ASOS! high chances that we may get the same item! haha..

woahhh, thanks for the list of task that a CL does.. i still blur blur don't know.. cost is going high high high man.. omg..

it's finally thursday again! please let the week past faster so that we can advance on our journey and start feeling better.. i'm so random today that i don't know if i'm even making sense.. haha.. oh gosh..

worried79: i think if its one off case, its fine. just monitor and walk less today.

hi bb08! welcome, i am also new in this thread. just started posting on monday.

Fruit loops:
Wah tts ex . I nvr order fr them b4 no idea leh but generally by ship usually very slow

Fool4love:
Oh errmm guessed u just choose the best u comfortable with so u can rest most then

Maternity wear/ Esther:
Wah u think of cny aldy! I din even both haha I'm gog to minimize visiting next yr:p

CL:
Actually no leh they r not supposed to clean ur house for u they r just supposed to take care of baby n mummy n wash for both. But some nice one don't mind will do more for you . Mine on top of those will wash my Hb clothings as well,cook for all of us , mop n clean my whole house

Vi:
U better don't eat , tts one of the top banned 4 fishes =>http://www.babycenter.com/406_is-it-safe-to-eat-fish-and-other-seafood-when-im-pregnant_1380503.bc

Worried79:
I heard some mummies randomly will exp tt , go for a scan n see any advice fr Gynae ? Meanwhile just minimize walking &amp; carrying of heavy stuffs

nlimm: on my contract, it states simple housework. my both CL magic clean and mop my house for me one.
if they cook, they have to mop the floor what. cos oily leh.