(2013/05) May 2013

Worried79:
I think safer for u to go those Fuhua medical shop n ask if u preg can take. I'm not sure abt Chuan bei but pear is cooling, I'm told it's a no to us.

Rejoy:
Must be super tough for u. Me sneezing the whole wkend with a coughing n running nose.
Fr what I understand , majority of kids will get low grade fever after mmr but shdnt last so long. Maybe virus fever then will high n low for days, bring ur ger to pd better.

2Ks:
Welcome

Bbkk:
Mine better. Last wk the worst!!

Vi:
Nope I don't

Jc:
Not sure bird nest in 2nd or 3rd trim best.

Hi rach, does ur gynae tell u the results of Oscar directly? I m visiting dr teo for my Oscar on this coming thur
So quite curious

Btw, I m delivering at mt a instead... Think haf to pay more for delivery charges

2ks, my tummy side also flat de. Only middle protude out. I hope is boy for me but if girl nvm I got lot of new girly items to buy. Hehe.

2ks, this is my second. First is girl.
But I think is our body shape bah not true on gender. Hope u get a girl

I am in 14 weeks but I still feel weak.
Yesterday after breakfast, I went downstair walk walk for 30 mins, came home slept immediately. So tired man, feel like no energy. Then I open up YouTube wanted to follow yoga, less than 1 min, I gave up. I felt I can't sit up straight and end up lying on bed. I am weak!!

bbkk - hahaha! you are v.funny! at least you still thought of doing yoga. I have totally no thoughts of exercise at all...my only exercise is cleaning the hse and doing laundry. and then i just laze on couch, watch tv and sleep. lol. my hb says even before bb, I am already v.lazy...now dont know if I'm just being myself or if its really the pregnancy thats making me tired. hahaha.

anyway, hope all mommies are feeling better today! new week new beginning! for those working, tomorrow is Public Holiday!! Rest well and relax more!

Vi - I'm also going for Oscar test this Thursday, hope results is very very positive =)

Fruits
Have you ladies eat durian, honeydew and rock melon during your pregnancy? Been having craving for these though no appetite for other food.

Bloatedness/Indigestion
Got a random thought that maybe can try Gripe Water for relief. It's safe for babies but is this safe for pregnant women?

Exercise
Any mummies go swimming or do other exercises regime such as long walks regularly etc? Need to find a maternity swimming costume and also recce for pools that are not too crowded with small children to avoid accidental kicking.

chiro and other mummies, I also want to do some exercise, such as yoga. But don't know where to find such places, anyone can recommend a place? I am around Jurong area, thanks.

Vi: Dr Teo asked me to wait 2-3 weeks for results
so nerve wrecking to wait.. she say if bad news then call, else consider it as good news.. got like that wan ah?

Oooh, think i will stick to TMC.. if additional charge, my hubbie sure make noise again.. he is already saying there's so many charges and so ex already.. just pray for good treatment from the hospital as we are at their mercy..

So long?
Hmmm
Her package is ex
850 for 8 consultations
I m thinking of asking her to increase the no of sessions
Otherwise I m gg to Kenneth lee at mt a.
Kenneth lee is 800 unlimited
At least 12 sessions n above

Hi ladies, its been long time since i logged in.. To update abit.. Went for my scan earlier this morning.. And doc manage to take look.. Mine is baby girl. 90% cmf.. Gt to wait till next month dec 24 for detailed scan.. So long! Gt to wait till neck super long!! Haix..

Re: second tri.
I am now 14 weeks going 15. Seems like ms has leave me. Last puke was last week. No weight gain thou.. But doc assure me that its fine. Was prescribe with multivitamins and some other supplements too.. Hows everyone here?

Edd:
Finally gt a date for edd, gt bought forward two days so its now 8 may 12.

Birdnest:
I am taking them too. I started taking them when i am 12 weeks. Tcm say best is to take them during second tri. So baby can absorb too. Taking too early is more like fpr mummy only..

Chiro:
Sama here I take them every wk 2-3 times except durian only once so far n too heaty for me thus stop.

Vi:
Usually Oscar is immediate result except blood test they will show u during next visit if everything ok if not will call u to go back earlier.
Is $850 ex for 8 consultation ? I nvr ask my Gynae yet coz her package only start fr wk16. Generally mine each appt aldy $80consultation +$60( scan)=$140 exclude medication/supplement . So $850 seems gd deal to me

Exercise:
I'm told 1st trim don't exercise too much except walking . Trim 2 onwards can do swimming ,yoga etc

Rejoy:
Tts gd then her fever shd be subsiding soon usually last ard 5 days.

Shirley, seems like ur gynae earlier prediction is correct. You can start shopping for bb stuffs and name already. So happy for u and big congrats.

wow shirley, 14 weeks yr gynae can see is bb girl ah.
usually girls more shy cannot detect so early one.
so shopping time for u!

Shirley, my edd is also early May but I don't know it's a baby girl or baby boy yet, seeing doc this Thursday, hope to know at that time, looking forward...

what multivitamins did your doc prescribe? My doc only gave me fish oil so far and kinda want vitamin supplements too. I didn't gain much weight neither

I am struggling about birdnest, as some told me that many birdnests are polluted or put chemical, etc. What do the other mummies think?

kristina: accordingly to my MIL who works in those herbal shops. alot of birdnest are "bleached' so that they look cleaner and whiter.
so i think dont get those really white type. buy from reputable shops.
but then take everything in moderation. i think maybe 3-5 times during 2nd trimester will not have any much harm?

I just went for Gynae visit too...I'm 15+ weeks now. We could all see the birdie very clearly...faints...another boy for me! My older boy is 17 mths old now.

Captain piglet, wow tat so exciting to see gender. Another boy? But can pass down everything to didi.

I wanna see birdie too.

Bbk: yup. He predicted it correctly! Finally I can pass some of ly girly stuffs to my successor.. Lol!! When's your coming scan?? I Gt to wait till Christmas eve.. Sian!

2k: yup!! Its shopping time.. My doc manage to scan the bottom part.. Like the scan base of the butt to see if there's anything sticking out but apparently not.. And saw 3 lines.. So cmf is 90% girl..

Kristina: didn't stat the name except multivit.. Its pink in colour.. And also gave me dha for baby's brain development too.. And also calcium too.. Basically I took only folic acid during my first tri.. Nth else except once a week bird's nest during 12 weeks. That's all..

Btw, my gyne say his package only starts in fifth month onwards. Anyhow when does fifth months starts?

Hi mummies, havent logged in for a while. Went for business trip last week.

finally we are slowly moving into 2nd trimester... I m currently at 14++ weeks and this fri is my detailed scan. Hope i can see gender too

Congrats captain piglet and Shirley for knowing the gender. Makes planning a lot easier

I have also been given more vitamins such as Vit C, Multi Vit, DHA, Calcium and folic acid still...I didnt get any Iron pills cos I m Thalessemic.

Chloe mummy, I had my #1 2 years ago at Mt E. Charges are a little higher i think. Other than that, no complains as I felt i was staying in a hotel and the nurses were quite attentive. More importantly they have a parentcraft in Mt E that can help mummies who are new to breast feeding...not sure whether glen E has that..I think charges for Glen E and Mt E should be similar since both belong to Parkway.

Have a good holiday tomorrow mummies....hope my #1 recovers from his flu and fever soon

I was given multi vitamin & fish oil for morning (cannot go with dairy products) ..than calcium pill at night

But gynae say to start after my oscar test next fri when i will be in 2nd trim..

Shirley, my next appt on 1dec. Still long way too. By then I am week 16 so most likely can see gender too.

I started eating calcium and iron pill right from the start. Any reason why start second tri?

Bird nest:
So we can start taking 2nd trim? Hb was telling me over dinner table that he's going to start preparing for me again then I said shd only be in 2nd trim right?
Is there expiry date for those raw bird nest fr medical hall? We bot quite a bit in 2009 still have till now yet to boil:p

Shirley tts early to predict a ger leh I think u wait for a few more wks b4 shopping for ger clothings. Coz I have frd whose Gynae said ger then in 4mths+ to 5 mths end up boy.

Bbkk/JC:
Ur calcium iron pills so early? Mind said only start in 2nd trim for fish oil, calcium & iron.

Captain piglet:
Congrat hehe so trying for #3?:p

Mercsboy:: Big HI! Sorry for late reply. Was in Koh Samui for the weekend. Hehe Congrats! Trust you're keeping well.

nlimm: my gynae prescribed fish oil and folic acid in first trimester. But I was burping gross fish oil burps and she said it's ok if I don't take it. I do take my fish oil now else I find my skin dries out very badly despite conscientiously moisturising. The multivites and calcium came in second trimester.

Nlimm: i bought it first becoz my next appt is 7th dec..by than is 2nd trim liao. Actually the gynae tell me if i wan i can start eating now ...if not i can continue with folic acid than after the oscar test start..which i planning to do it this way

I start eating bird nest last sun le..my mum boil for me wIthout sugar.

Iko: I am taking them once a week or once in every two weeks. But now weekly after second tri. My aunt was telling me that birdnest Gt chemical cos they use bleach etc.. But I still take them but in moderation.. Don't dare to take so much..

Bbkk: still Gt two weeks to go.. Its coming in twinkle of an eye. I Gt to wait for 6 weeks for mine.. I don't know if I can wait for so long not. Going for ny detailed scan during next scan.. My doc only start package on 5 months onward. Do you have any idea usually is from which week onwards? Week 16?

Nlimm: thanks for your advice. My next scan is on 24 Dec.. I thought wanna go expo during dec to get some baby's stuff. Haha.. But that before my detailed scan.. But doc did confirm that its 90% that its a girl. Cos scan didn't show any thing sticking out. Lol! Thou still Gt 10% is boy, I don't think I will get slot of pink stuffs till after detailed scan on the 24 Dec. I am excited for shopping too.. Haha..

Shirley, if based on baby center, 5 months is week 21-24.
Usually if gynae machine using poles and u see 3 lines is accurate to get a girl.

nmy angel is back
My consultation n ultrasocan is 120.

Think some of the ladies are paying 600+ for unlimited sessions with med.

My colleague ask me how many package do I haf to buy. Coz 8 sessions r not enough

Shirley: agree wif bkk, the 3 lines rep a girl n if it can b seen, think like wat ur gyn said tis alr v much cfm to b a girl...

Btw, ya at 15wks ne but hw come ur detailed scan's scheduled so far back near end dec?

Wrt: food cravings

Anyone knows if tis ok to take the pig trotters vinegar nw?

Ange:
Oic maybe tts y all mine in 2nd trim. Gynae nurse did mentioned that fish oil,calcium & iron all in 2nd trim if mot when ms the vomit will stink too & no need for those yet in 1st trim.

Jc:
Oicc . Ur Oscar later then me? Mine next fri . Thought I be the last .

Bbkk:
Soon soon Jiayou. But thought u into 2nd trim aldy still ms?

Bewildered:
Tts a detailed site , thx for sharing.
Vinegar pig trotter: thought this is taken after giving birth? !

Shirley:
5 mths shd be 20-21wks onwards tts consider very late leh. Mine package start wk16 I aldy find very late not sure price yet.
Hehe if ur Gynae 90% confirmed shd be ba, u into which wk aldy? I'm always the playsafe type :p

Vi:
Oicc that's cheaper then mine. 8 not enough? I thought its enough coz based on my#1, fr 2nd trim it be 3-4wks once. Eg I only know mine start fr wk16, if start counting wk 16-40 there be 24 wks so divide by 8 be 3wks 1 appt just nice leh . Hope mine not gog to be too ex I think in 2009 it was $900+ ( can't rem how many consultations) Hb mentioned can claim portion fr medisave. My Gynae is generally more ex, i was telling hb we paying for her Audi TT in2009 now don't know change to which car le or still the same.

I thought for now until week 32, it is 4 weeks one appt. 32 to 36 is every fortnight n 37 to 40 is weekly?

Mine start on week 16. 5 sessions til week 32. 2 sessions til week 36 n thereafter 3-4 more sessions?
That will b at least 10.... Not sure whether I got it right or not

I m super ks. Already ask my gynae on her charges coz I need to plan for the financial outlay

For pre natal, u can claim up to 450 from Medicare. Jus pass ur receipts to the hospital when u admit. They will claim everything for u.
I haf a limit that I can claim fr my co. So I will jus keep aside some 450 of medical bill to claim fr my medisave....if not, u can keep ur receipt fr the package n submit to ur hospital

Nlimm : mine is next fri too..23rd nov..i only 11 weeks this week..doc say can choose anyday next week so
I go for fri..

Haha prices in sg only go up..dont have come down one..somemore those cannot make it in dragon will fall to snake year

Vi : this 450 claim is only for subsidized patient or private as well?

Vi:
Oh I don't rem I ever go on wkly basis . Shall check out #1 scan pic booklet later

Buba:
Jumped so much@-@ wahh hope mine pls don't give me heart attack

Jc:
We same day! So excited! I keep thinking I'm the last here le coz based on LMP edd 28may but based on past 3 scans my edd is 6june( this does tally with my ovulation date though) & I be I'm wk12 next fri le

U wanted dragon? I been avoiding dragon year baby coz too stressful le in future when kid goes sch

I shld b the last.
My edd at the moment is 8 jun.
I chose this coming thru coz I can't clear leave for the next two weeks

JC, 450 is regardless of private or subsidised. U can chk the cpf websit
The only problem is that u haf to keep the receipt n hand to the hospital when u admit in. They will claim everything for u....

Vi:
U too! Hehe our edd be real near I'm targeting 3rd June if possible see how's bb progress in 3rd trim.

Frog leg:
Anyone has idea if we can eat this in 1st trim? Sudden crave n my frd tempting me asking me to go her Plc her daddy cooking ahhhhh

shirley, congrats on knowing is girl!
I also want a girl hee!! Time to shop!

captain piglet, congrats on knowing gender! Nvm can pass down a lot of boy stuff from the kor kor
Baby healthy guai guai can le.

bbkk, hope yours is boy. Baby boy dust to you!
Birdie very easy for mummy to see on scan de. When's your next appointment?

So many know gender le, so exciting. I will only have to wait till saturday. Last wednesday appointment baby don't want to open legs to see haha. Jiayou and all the best mummies!

Kristina, i haven't ate any bird nest yet for this pregnancy. But first pregnancy, I ate quite a lot of bird nest for #1, and my boy was so fair! lol. I went for TMC pre-natal class, the lady trainer, Mrs Wong Boh Boi say bird nest is fine. But has no scientific proof to have benefits on baby. Maybe everything in moderation and get the bird nest from reliable sources?

nlimm, i ate some frog leg two weeks ago. I never heard anyone say that cannot eat frogleg before.. Is it toxic? Moderation can already

Re: Stingray and crab
Does anyone know if the sambal stingray is not good for us to eat? I saw ppl eating, omg! the craving so strong! haha. And my mum say cannot eat crab, if not baby next time hands very itchy. Haha, true?? For #1 i ate some crab, and my baby hands really quite itchy lol.

Bbkk: yup. We saw 3 lines n nothing sticking out. So he was quite confident that its a girl. 100% cmf when I go for detailed scan at end of next month.

Bewildered: ya lo! I am in my 15 week tmr. I think he wants me to go during signing package that period cos by den I will be at my 20 weeks. Den can save money.. But its a long wait.. Any idea when should detailed scan be done at? I read on net saying that its usually done on week 20 and above? So I just assume.. Correct me if I am wrong.

Nlimm: I also more or less those play safe type.. Haha!! I think I will probably get those necessary stuffs first. Clothes stuff can wait cos I think my friend passing hers to me.. So cam save..

Debbie: thanks! Baby girl dust to you..

Nlim : actually i no pref lah..we been trying for 2 yrs plus liao..Got bb we already very happy le...my edd is 30th may but bwcause of gest diabetics, doc say might be 2 weeks earlier.

Stingray
I heard must avoid because of mercury..just like sharkfin