(2013/05) May 2013

I've delivered my baby girl last night at 7plus. Emergency admission and c-sec. Just finally recovered and awake and in pain haha... Dunno birth weight yet cos bb need to be in special care for monitoring cos she is not full term. Just a few days short...

Congrats meow! Y such a sudden? Which hospital u r in? rest well

I love babies: ops, I forgot tt c-sec is different from natural birth and tt is why it is so fast.. Heehee.
Ya I kn shivering is e effect of the drug.. Hope it is manageable for me. :p

Meow Meow: congrats! What happen that you need emergency admission? Dun worry, e doc n nurses will take care of ur bb gal...

Thanks HanaHuiyi :)

Any mummies take metoclopramine before? As I have nausea and no appetite so my gynae give me this med for stand by. Dunno have any side effect?

I have started from the very first day but got sore nipples now. Thinking to express out n feed him...not sure if it will impact the supply...

Meiliew, how's everything going? Any tips for bfing?

My edd was 1-5-13. But baby popped 3+wks in advance. FTMs, rest and enjoy while you can. After bb pops, no more good long rest liao, esp if bf-ing.

I love babies, i also initially thot of expressing to feed. But i realised pumping out vol is inconsistent, and i was told to get supply up, muz let bb latch. Cos bb suckle is 60% more powerful than pumping.

Axel: yeah, let's keep our fingers crossed ;)
Yr colleagues whatsapp you to check yr mail? Wow... Good that you told them you will not check after birth... Even if u check it shd be up to you n not them....

ilovebabies: discharged yet? take good care ya? i bought lansinoh nipple cream but haven used it yet. will let u know if its good ya?

meow: congrats! how is bb? hope all is well.

dreambig: maybe we will pop on the same day? hehe... keep us updated ok?

Slp well mummies, new borns tend to slp a lot, which is a good thing for mummies to rest. Slowly, your baby will tend to cry quite a bit and it gets a little tough to put them to slp. Then you will really need your slp, yet may not be able to slp as you have to attend to your baby. So rest as much as you can right now

I love babies: you may wan to express ur milk out one day n try latching again e next day when ur nipple is getting better. Heard tt either nipple cream or breast milk will help wf sore nipple. Any lactation doc / nurse to ask in e hospital?

Dreambig: yap must double fingers cross. Haha.
They whatsapp me to check some urgent emails because I went to HL suddenly. Some of my other colleagues ask me to totally ignore them n let e mailbox burst so tt no more incoming email. Haha. Hav to hint them tt I'll b v bz wf two bb n lack of sleep after delivery.

Congrats leyash!!

Thanks for e advice leyash and Loveliness!! Yes, I kn tt must get as much rest / sleep now, but can't find a comfortable position.. Heehee :p

Hi mummies, emergency c-sec cos amniotic level decreased and doc suspect mild eclampsia and anyway bb was 3 days to full term but bb now not doing so well and was sent to nicu last night. Looks better today and am very worried.... Praying for her to be well and discharge soon.

Hi ladies... my baby boy Julien has arrived this evening!

Water bag started leaking at 330am on sunday n admitted at 1130am. Was put on drip to induce contractions as dilation was too small. Tried to go natural without epi but I chickened out after 3 hrs of labor pain... n finally had to go for emergency c-sect as baby was in distress during labor. Guess I experienced all methods for my first baby!

Hello everyone, I have just delivered baby Ian on sat at about 2.30pm via elective c sec. Selected c sec as my first was delivered in this way due to her position and am too chicken try for natural with my 2nd delivery.

Bb is 3.35kg n 52cm long at 38weeks n 2 days. Bb latches on well. No matter how bad is the pain (manageable really) and the toils you went through during pregnancy, the moment you see the tiny little life suckling at your breast, with his (or her) little angelic eyes struggling to open up to gaze into yours ... you'll know that all is good. And that you will slay dragons for his sake and probably will at the same time vow to make the world a better place.

All the best, fellow mommies. Jia you!

Congrats dreambig and alfafa77!!

Dreambig: you really experienced it all. Hows was the experience? Is it like the drama scene that we thought of earlier on?

Alfafa77: so sweet. Yah when bb is healthy, everything will be worth it.

I am still trying to talk to my baby and tell her to wait. Week 35, st least 2 more weeks to full term. Btw I feel a bit back ache sometimes, is that a sign? I hope not ...

congrats to all the mummies and newborns!

I have been experiencing mild cramps at my left side of the tummy since ytd night..is it normal? I'm 31 weeks gg 32 weeks in 2 days time..

Hi, so nice to hear some mummies pop already.. I m almost 36 weeks now. More nervous nowaday.. seems like I m getting closer to the big day. Looking forward to all the experience mum miles have ;))) Scared too.. lol

Katherine, a little pain is ok. Baby may be kicking or doing somersort inside your tummy.hee

WOW, so many have already delivered their babies!
Congratulations. Yes, newborns sleep a lot, so first time moms, do make the best of this situation and sleep / rest when baby naps. For those with more than 1 kid (like me), no choice lor. But I'll still try to not exert too much.

Congratulations all mummies that pop already!

By the way, can I check with those who did c-section. Did you ladies get a postpartum Support belt or rather known as a c-section binder?

Katherine: I know what you mean, I have back ache and mild cramp like that. I am worry and keep lying down. It is usually better when I lie down.

Hope the feeling goes away soon.

Katherine,

I am having mild menstrual cramp kind of pain at times too. I have raised my concern to my gynae but she say its baby stretching and its okay.

She did some cervix check for me as well some time ago when I told her I am worried that I might deliver much earlier than EDD.

COngrats to all mummies who popped

Alfafa: Ya, so touching to see out little ones and its really worth to go through all the pain for them.

Eh, but I am guilty le cos for my #1 delivery, I opted for a pain-free delivery and it turned out to be really pain free! I took epidual even before gynae broke my waterbag to induce labour. All in all I did not feel much labour pain but it was a suffering delivery as I vomited my gastric juice out and shivered like hell haa.... Baby came out in 5 plus hours.

This time round hopefully can pop in 2 plus hours.

Min: yah, it's better when I lied down but when I sat down or walked abt..it's kinda crampy..and at times it just tightened and my stomach felt like a stone and its so difficult to walk abt..

Adelyn: I think I will ask my gynae this coming sat when I visit him..cos I'm afraid baby is coming out soon!

Loveliness n littlenabysmurf, i did use my own milk n nipple cream(same Brand), but still painful. So i stopped bfing at night, juz bumped it out. Now it's much better, i Can bf again

Congrats Dreambig n alfafa77!! More and more mothers have given birth!

Dreambig: You really experience everything on your bb..
How heavy is Julien?

alfafa77: Oh, it is sooo sweet. Bb is our precious so we will do everything for them!

kiringal: Actually i am also scare as the time is nearing.. heehee.. but we will do fine..

Katherine: if you are worried, give your gynae a call.. My tummy will also tighten and feel like stone often, it will go off after a while or when i change my activities. Doc said that is Braxton Hicks contractions, she gave me some medication and Hospitalization leave to rest.

i love babies: good to hear that you can bf again.. Keep it up!

Thanks all! Btw am at mt alvernia st. Raphael ward. Im luvky to get a single ward. I requested for single deluxe but when I came they had to put me in a double first. My 'neighbour' messed up the bathroom with blood drops on the floor and more blood stains on the toilet seat which I thought was a really inconsiderate thing to do when one is sharing a ward. Thankfully we managed to snag a single basic by the time my surgery started.

The service here is immaculate; really like the nurses and every service staff here. The only thing is today they started renovation work in one of the rooms and oh my god the drilling. .... is driving me bonkers. Hope it is just for today.

Hi leen, yes you need a surgical abdominal belt. My previous doc got the belt for me wheras my current one doesnt supply belt. If you are w mt alvernia you dont have to worry as they will supply the belt. It's better that the doc or hospital supply it as you might purchasw the wrong size. For my case, the ward nurse took a quick look at me and figured out my post delivery size.

Hi alfafa, congrats on newborn!
U staying at mt a single ward? How much does your bill came up to? Do share with me after that! Cos I'm gg to deliver in mt a single room too! Am thinking of how much to fork out in cash after the cpf claim! I'm gg for c sec with ga.

ilovebabies: hang in there! persevere ya? I am sure bf-ing will b worth it

Azel: when are u due?

bb is lying in a position that is hitting my nerve
the joint between my thighs and my body. Anyone experiencing the same thing? Its a sudden nerve shocking pain that last for about 3s, and feels like your whole leg is about to give way.

littlebabysmurf: my EDD is 1 June, but since i'm having twin, i will deliver early.. Gynae hopes that bb can wait till week 38, but sometime bb have other thinking. Haha.. This Friday I'm going to see my gynae n we will discuss the birth plan.. One of my bb is resting on my nerve aso, on n off my left tight will go fully numb.
You have reached full term already right?

Congrats Dreambig & alfafa77! Enjoy your motherhood and have a speedy recovery =)

alfafa77 - Is Mount A very full? The bathroom with blood sounds pretty gross... Luckily you managed to get the single room you wanted.

Azel: yup yup.. i am going 38++, going on to week 39 by end of the week. Keeping my fingers cross. Twins! must be really cute
but will be a handful so do take good care ya? and rest as much as u can before our sleepless nights starts :p

About binder: it provides with great support and will reduce the pain after c-sec, especially for the first few days.

However, it's not advisable to wear for long hours. Just wear it when you need to move around. Take it off when lying down. Otherwise, it might irritate your skin and develops red rashes.

I have two, one used one brand new. If any of you are keen, juz pm me

littlebabysmurf, thanks. I will keep it up as bfing can really help me to slim down and facilitate recovery...hahah..

But most importantly, it's the bonding that makes me resistant to give up

Mofmm, it's free size n adjustable. Both are hospital grade binder, used one is in brown color while the new one is whitecolor. I bought the new one from us at usd53+.

i can let go at sgd50.

littlebabysmurf: wow u r reaching week 39 by end of this week n week 40 soon.. Jia you! So u r going to give birth in week 40? I guess that they will b v cute, but not handful when they r born.. Haha. Ya all of us have to rest as much now...

I love babies:
I thinking bonding is the greatest thing between bb n mummy beside sliming n giving immunity to bb.. I will try my best to bf bb...

Binder: hmmm not sure my hospital sell e binder or not. If not, I may have to consider buying one if I go c-sec.