(2013/05) May 2013

bewildered: based on my confinement in 2011 la..

CL: $2200 (this year $2300)
Levy: $168
Angbao: $28 + $50 (up to individual)
massage: $550 - 7x (but price increase so now budget 5x already $400)
confinement food: $800 (but i think now should cost $1000, but depending on what you buy)
confinement herbs: $300 (but herbs keep increasing better set aside abit more)
PUB bill: $300
PD & misc for that one month: $200 (estimated, excluding jabs)
misc hospital items: $100 (pads, pyjamas, disposable underwear etc)

captain piglet: i totally agree with what you said. to be frank, bf for at least 4 months is definitely better than just 2 months.
and even if go back to work after 2 months, u need to pump at least 2 times in office, its also very disruptive. alot of mummies give up also cos of no time, bz, colleagues black face etc.

i rather clear everything, and also cos i am sending bb to IFC, so i rather send nearer to 4 months then 2 months or so.
but then...i annually got 21 days leave la...
now trying to clear some days before i pop, cos when come back is sep already. dont want to one shot take..

vi: vaccinations yes, but u can bring bb for jabs even after work or on saturdays. unless bb got fever after jab then different case. but are u sending to nanny? if yes, i think doesnt matter on the urgent leaves...nanny can still take in. not like IFC, fever only must bring back.

2Ks, and other mummies doing massage for coming bb, does the massage really helps? i did not try it for my #1 coz i had c-sec, and did not read up so much on massaging. the staff fr the confinement nanny agency came to my place yesterday and was offering me a package on the pre and post natal massage. i think pricing is around $400 sommething for 5-6 times. i did not sign up, told him i want to consider first

Morning ladies...

Can i check whether i can bring my baby to GP for vaccinations after birth or must it be a PD?

Will we have a 'health book' to record what jabs the baby has taken?

I'm delivering in Mt A. Till now, i'm still quite clueless of the 'aftermath' of giving birth

worried79: massage helps to clear engorgement in my case.
so called help to "push up" the uterus (good for those natural ones). thats what i heard la.
for to relax those tired bodies...i do feel more comfortable after the massage

2Ks
Thanks! i was very surprised when the guy from PE_ did not force me to sign up for the massage when i said no. I told him i want to consider first, nvm abt the early bird offer, i told him. the pricing is quite similiar to the one u stated for last year...so still considering.

my gf hub is the event planner at expo hor..
he told me the baby expo is small event...just like the same one last month.

FYI

fool4love, normally after delivering, the hospital will automatically assign a PD for ur baby and this PD will be doing some basic assessment before he/she discharge ur bb.

upon discharging, u'll be given a bb health booklet and if ur bb is ok throughout after delivering, they'll give ur bb BCG and another jab at the butt area. these jabs will be recorded on the health booklet; name and date given.

and u'll be given a follow-up appt at the PD clinic 1-2weeks later. but if u have another PD in mind, u may proceed on to ur preferred PD.

Dr Terence Tan from KinderClinic is v famous. He's from Mt A and my #1 assigned PD was him. Till now, my girl is still with him. but his appt and waiting time is quite a killer. not to worry as there's priority waiting for newborn bbs.

if ur GP provides normal vaccine, u may bring ur bb to ur GP but it'll be gd to let a PD to access as i'll bring out some qns for my pd at every vaccines and these qns may not be vaccine related. the knowledge of a GP towards a bb may not be as profile as a PD.

fool4love: u can decide whether to go PD or GP. but for me baby is still young i will go to PD.. my no1 is like that.. till her jab almost finish about 2-3years old then i go see GP le.

u can go polyclinic to take jabs also..

Btw are u mummies.. when deliver that time will u gals bring pump? to pump milk or u all will jsut latch at there. i remember last time. i latch my no.1 she dont want i give up i told the nurse just give her FM then reach home then i give BM.

fool4love: yes...not necessary PD for jabs. my babies go to GP for jabs...much cheaper.
let me post up the price someday...

u be given a health booklet when discharge. then upon finishing all jabs, u be given a small certificate. that one when go primary one need one.

my gp is very good with babies...anyway i dont have much question to ask one usually. so its ok for me. cost and location is more important for my case.
sometimes i bring baby alone...so hv to be convenient to me

fabbie: i no bring pump...i just latch bb at hospital...
2 days only milk also havent come one lor..so less things to bring better for my case.

Thanks for your info. wow! Sounds very exciting. haha!

Reddish: Ya. I heard of Dr Terence Tan. Heard of the waiting time as well. My gf said that i can request for the gynae at Mt A to allocate Dr Terence Tan to me.

Hi mommies, anyone has a good after birth massage lady to introduce? If by natural delivery, usual starting on which day can the massage starts??

Vaccination
I also heard that normal gp can give the jabs....saw ppl gg to poly clinic too to get the jabs.....

I intend to get my mum n mil to rotate to look after the bb. Both are keen, so hard to decide, and I wan to let the bb get to know the two grannies too..... My nephew not close to my mum. But coz she never take care of him...I dun wan the same thing to happen..... But crossing my fingers that the two mummies won't fight

I will ask them to assign dr Terence tan too. Betterment recommended one

2Ks: mmm. the coming Jan expo fair is small size ah? Then will have things to buy...? never been to such fair before. Was thinking to go and take a look for stroller, milk bottles, sterilizer etc. mmm...

hehe...everybody takes dr terence tan...then got to wait long long to see him..
i am not particular with any PD la...the tests are all standard one.

vi: polyclinic jabs also quite cheap and they got priority for newborns...very fast de. but too bad i dont have nearby poly...
i just bring to my GP.

xuan: ya...small size one. nothing much to see or buy lor. unless u really free. i already give up on small fairs..waste time. the feb one will be better.

nobody else interested in the nursing ponchos ah??

7996464.jpg

Fabbie - that time I went Mt A hospital tour the nurse guide said no need to bring pump, if need they can rent to u at $20 a day including sterilizing for u.

Maternity leave I think I will clear one shot also. More time to recuperate.

I will be going for the detailed scan at 2pm later, hopefully everything ok! And wanna try the tau sa piah u all recommended!

oh...the nursing ponchos can use as blanket to cover bb...then can cover the whole stroller when baby napping.
trying to see can get good price or not. let me know if anyone interested.
current only 5 mummies

2Ks: Thx alot for the info! =) The food and the herbs alone sound ex.. so if add in CL cost will be ard close to $4k... hmm.. plus think the PUB bills will be real high coz May usu hot mths.. gotta start planning the finances ler..

Btw, if we go to the agencies to get CL, can sign via credit card? If yes, at least will not be so tough on the cash outlay..

Detailed scan: jz done my scan yesterday and collected the CD& report tis morning. Hubby paid SGD247 for it and i think the pic is not so clear (mayb i dunno how to c?).

Anyway CD oso included two 3D scan pic which show clearly the bb face and lips.

Report stated everything normal, but yesterday asked the sonographer she said looks "okay" but she cant promised 100% good. She made me a bit worried of her statement...

2ks, no problem later I go see see. Hopefully can go in time, still waiting for hubby to fetch me.

Tsm - your detailed scan at tmc or other hospital?

Fool4love,
My girl’s vaccination are all done by the same GP. He will issue us the vaccination cert once he had completed all the required vaccination. I understand that for polyclinic, the compulsory vaccinations are FOC unless u want those combined jabs like 6in1, they will charge otherwise.

Fabbie,
I iatch only when I was in hospital but I can feel the engorgement on my last day of stay. I din thought of pumping out until I returned home. I think if you want to pump out, hospital have the pump for rental.

Xuan,
Postnatal massage for natural birth ant 5 to 7 days later can do liao. If caesarean, 1 month later.

bewildered: i know last time PE_ allows cc instalment. but nowadays dont have already. dont think agencies will have cc la.

ya lor...somemore must get good herbs like dang shen. dont get those skinny types. the drink wont taste nice and no benefits...2nd grade dangshen, half kg already cost prob $40-50

xuan: i dunno yet...i check web is $38 per pc.
i tot of negotiating if we have bulk orders lor.
i remember i bought like $28 only in 2011.

xuan: noted. but now only 6 of us...not much leh

1. 2ks - 1 pc
2. rach - 1 pc (black)
3. JC - 1 pc
4. fool4love - 1 pc
5. rejoy - 1 pc
6. xuan - 1 pc

Wow today so quiet.

Very buzy spring cleaning my house. And realized very very tired doing it. Take everything out and felt sian to clean everything.

Update us on gender ok.
I m waiting..

Bb has been kicking and moving non stop. And can see tummy moving too. Really very long dun have that feeling already.

2k, include me for the nursing Ponchos..
Btw, how's the quality? Thick or thin and would it be easily transparent under the sun?

I'm not actively around so u can email to [email protected] if the bp is on..

Re: hospital breast pump
It'll be gd to bring ur own pump to hospital if ur intending to stimulate ur bm flow.. Both kkh and mt a uses medela industrial pump(lact***** version), meaning their pumps suction is strong and sharp, but suction speed is abit slower than Pisa.. Other than the daily rental, u'll also need to purchase the disposable breast shield and bottles(all washable).
I'll probably get my dh to bring my Pisa along, depending on how bad the engorgement is. I remembered for #1, I've tons of lumps on my arm pits(all Stucked milk inside) and I had a hard time clearing them even after massaging + hot/cold compress..

reddish: its jersey material. not too thick, not too thin. its not transparent. and its wide and long enough to cover all the way to your lower back.

note on yr email.

can we prepare for bf now?
that time, one posted about putting cream or something.

aiyo..i really cannot imagine child birth leh. The pain, the bf part...i think sure post depression 1.

JC: there is no way to prepare for bf now. u are not suppose to go "disturb" your breasts now. cos will trigger contractions.
just later part when going to due, apply nipple cream on yr nipple to 'moisturize' it 1st. its prevention...but then still will pain one cos suddenly made them work so hard leh.

when the moment come, u will learn to adapt. women are great ok...we learn to adapt and get used really fast.

in my last thread, we encourage each other on bf and things...maybe the mummies here still not so close yet...but will share as goes by de.

i always share my experience cos i also almost suffer from PND last time..thinking back its horrible...i cannot forget i even slap my newborn, throw him on the bed lor.
bf was horrible too...everybody blames me for making my baby hungry blah blah blah...

but i hang on and survive...so u can do it too! dont think too much 1st...when the thing come, u will get to manage it

2ks - the tau sa piah shop opens on Monday also, the article on display cabinet states open till 4.00pm, but think depends whether sold out anot.

My detailed scan seems fast, 20min done le. Sonographer said baby very quiet, not much movements.. :/ confirmed it's a boy. Was looking forward to see him waving or doing stunts. Only mentioned placenta is low, the rest can ask my gynae.

Jc - dun think too far first, take 1 step at a time. Like what 2ks said, we will manage it it.

mmm, actually I can feel the depression setting in also. even my hubby said that lately I'm acting weird. Been trying to control my emotion cos ever since I hit my 20th weeks, I keep started crying for nothing and telling my hubby that like nobody loves me anymore. Probably cos my hubby work till very late then come home, I feel so lonely...keep anyhow think.

I think it's good to have this thread! mommies can share our thoughts and chit chat! then won't so depressed! My SIL was saying I'm going into a depression already ask me better control if not after birth, the BF-ing part and taking care of new born will be a lot tougher than what I think now...

chiro: did u managed to buy? drools....
20 mins is very fast leh! i hope my bb cooperate..cos after that need to rush back to gynae there.

esther: my detailed scan changed to 9.30am...so we wont get to meet already.

Xuan : keep yourself happy for bb sake yah. Watch funny show or read something funny. Haha, the whole office is playing Candy Rush so when i sian or frustrated, i just play on my phone.

i feel i am more cheerful when i am pregnant but at the same time, can become angry or sad over small things.

last time watch TV, only if animals die than i will cry. Now, abit sad, i can feel the emotions stir liao.

JC: yah. my emotion stirs up easily lately. ya lo. I also keep finding things to do to keep myself busier so I won't anyhow think.

My detailed scan also got re-scheduled to coming monday 230pm! I hope my baby co-operate tis time round! The other time, baby refused to open leg! =( Everyone around me keep asking about the gender. So pressuring... ask me:"uh! u 21weeks le still don't know gender? so long de meh?...Cannot be what.." all the more they making me stress...

2ks but the GP dont have 6 in 1 right? most of them have 5 in 1? i think thats the reason i went to PD cus they have 6 in 1. not sure leh.. forget liao. LOL btw if u didnt bring pump u just latch will baby enff to drink? did u ask the nurse to feed baby FM if hungry?

Xuan: my massage lady start after i have discharge from hospital. =) she say is better lor

Thanks Chrio and griny for ya info! but u gals got let bb to drink FM in hospital?

JC putting on cream is to wash away the yellow things on our nipple.. not bf now.. hee

2ks: wah i havent to the extend to slap or throw baby on the bed.. but i got imagine it.. when im like having depression like that. very very stress to breast feed especially when people around.. i remember my no.1 come my in law came n their sis came. i was feeding my no.1 latching and she was crying. the auntie can just open the curtain and say need help.. and started saying oh baby dont want to drink this n that.. im like wTF? show some respect can! i hope she dont do that again this time round. its super damn rude.. btw the nursing let us know the MOQ and how good is the price? thanks

fabbie: GP has 6-in 1. MMRV
polyclinic think is the one who doesnt have 6-in 1. and if takes 5-in 1, bb got to jab one more round.
MMR is foc in polyclinic if i am not wrong.
but my kids take MMR-V so i goes to my GP as well.

in hospital, i instructed the nurse to feed bb FM after 8pm. morning wake up is latch.
this way, i can rest also...otherwise keep waking me up...very cham leh. just wanna rest that 2 days in hosp.

#1 period i was horrible...got other things but better dont say..wahahahaha...frightened u all.
luckily my bff help me take care of bb and let me go for a short break. come back i was recharged and i love him more la!
its just emotions, must stand firm and control it. really..
thus i am very very willing to share my experience on bf or whatsoever. i went thru it...and i know how is the feeling like

Xuan: try not to think so much and keep urself happy. Happy will have happy baby. As for gender, I also just know it when I was week 22 . Maybe u can try to talk to the baby bef the scan that u want to know the gender , maybe the baby may cooperate .

2ks: Thx!
will chk out those herbs... I only know tt i've still got pao shen, was thinking of taking it until the lady, physician seah ai wei fr tmc said during thr talk tt yis cooling.. She mentioned tt the korean ginseng's more towards heaty etc..

Dunno much abt herbs, just know tt i really hope to have a proper and gd confinement to really bu the body..

The nursing poncho looks real nice tho ex at $38.. If yall can get a cheaper rate, i'd wanna join in too..
m stocking up on stuffs hoping to make my bfg journey a successful one, considering hw badly i failed with #1.. Really dun have much faith in myself being able to provide for the kiddo... -_-

Wrt CL:

If we were to tell them what dishes we wanna take, would they be offended in the sense tt they shld be the pro n yet we r dictating what we wanna eat instead of leaving it all to them?