(2013/02) March 2013

Yoga
Will doing yoga now help in natural delivery later? Or normal brisk walking and stairs climbing be sufficient? Getting breathless easily.

yun, there are plenty of cheap stuff to get while ur at batam e.g. food, hair/body wash, sanitary pads etc from the nagoya hill mall. went with my wife and friends when we found out she was 4wks preggers. Parents were a little displeased as they were afraid of her getting food poisoning. Nevertheless, we came back fine. Had to be careful though but the indonesians there puff like mad and its crazy to try avoiding the smoke in the mall.
I think Yoga does help since it increases flexibility in muscles etc. But think normal walking is fine, according to Dr Ben Tham.

Karen, send your Yong tofu to me uh. I am so kelian here. Yong tofa, chee cheong fan, carrot cake, soon kueh, bak chor mee, economic fried noodles, simi also don't have. Carrot cake - yes, have. But it's Ang moh carrot cake with cream cheese on top! BOO!

I am 16w now and still battling occasional evening sickness. Super sian. The lumps in my breast are still hurting. Breathlessness at times too. Sure hope things will be better soon.

Ceres, this is also my second and last. Will breast feed and do yoga to get in shape (round is also a shape, but don't want round shape right? Haha) maybe even weight management program either tcm or what if desperate. :p but based on first preg, breastfeefeedibg is really effective. I lost and ten gained back some after weaning off. Should have really strict control on diet when almost weaning off.

Regarding yoga, I have been practicing for 10 years though not a yoga addict. There were some short breaks in between. I did yoga thru pregnancy and it feels like a pretty easy delivery compared to some long labours and birth stories my friends shared. I just started yoga after taking a break from weeks 7 to 14. Hope this time delivery will be smooth too. Body is unlike 3 years ago already, pregnancy is tougher so really hope delivery will be good.

Hi karen,
I love yong tou foo bee hoon dried these days. Hee...

Hi ceres,
Tried malay massage after #1 but like not v effective bcos she couldnt massage my tummy bcos of c section wound. So didn't for #2.
Like other mummies, did lost most of e weight w breastfeeding, esp #2 when I rem to control intake after stopping breastfeeding n also more walking abt the neighborhood w bb as I was no longer working then. But yoyo abit past few yrs. So guess might not get post natal massage this time ard too.
Hi Yun,
Yes, some things like milk powder ( even those made in spore but packaging slightly diff while nutrition info e same), diapers n toiletries (pharmacy usually cheaper than hypermkt) r cheaper than s'pore. So r clothes from FOS, world of cartoons, Jusco, msian labels etc. Bb stuff from Anakku too.
Msia's year end mega sale offers up to 70% off, esp towards new year. Usually, I will plan a shopping trip cum hol then.

Ya wanna have 2 boys. I think boys easier to take care and no need extra accessories haha. Save cost.

My first I went for massage by Malay lady the first one not bad but I stopped later. I feel wasted but later regret! And I only start gain weight when back in office. Office is the culprit so I'm thinking of slimming ASAP before go back office.

This pregnancy I will try breast feed as long as I can as well. Hopefully it helps to slim down. My first one I only manage to do it for a month.. Too tired and lazy.

Lucas: ma kuang offer home massage? I live west side haha.

C yang: round shape not appealing to my hubby leh. Haha.

This time is my 3rd and last one.. Previous 2 din engage any jamu lady to massage, even though i did manage to slim down before my ML ends, this time i am gg to engage n see if it is really so good.

I BF my 2 kids till 4-6 mths, especially tired to pump at work.
Hope this time can BF longer..

Hi ceres, ur boys are easy to take care? My boy is much more active than my gal, even though he is the younger bro, but much more running n climbing.. Thus we were quite happy that no3 is gal.. My gal is also active but nt as difficult to control as my boy..

Hi Karen

Younger children are more active is normal. Gals tend to develope faster so maybe more sensible. However, when they are younger got to look after them more... You know la. need control her cannot let go out too late. Make sure she don't hang out with naughty bad boys... So tiring and I cannot imagine that stage.. Haha. Boys easier and my hubby can communicate.

I saw a few mothers wanna take up origins jamu. I find the price competive and not as expensive as other shop or Malay massager. Quite similar, tempted to take up as well. Wonder baby fair origins will be there or not.

tt's another bb fair at JB danga city mall.
same date as expo bb fair.
i plan to go expo bb fair on sat after my gynae appt and JB bb fair on sun. :p

Good morning

It's been a while! Have been sick for the last few days. How's everyone?
Anyone experiencing weight loss at this moment?
Anyone know the bb gender already?

Morning mousebb..

Hope you are better now ..

I'm about 2kg lighter than pre pregnancy although my tummy looks much bigger .. sometimes I wonder if my weighing scale is spoilt but at clinic it also showed weight loss .. doctor said as long as baby is growing no problems. I lost weight cos no appetite and puking .. hope it stops soon ..

Mummies with #2 or #3 .. how are your sleeping arrangements with the new coming baby?

My #1 sleeps in the same room as us.. mattress on the floor but sometimes he will crawl up to our bed in the middle of the night? So I'm wondering where to room #2. I think it's hard to shift #1 out to his own room and I don't want him to zzz with the maid too.

So should I room #2 in the same room and squeeze another cot in?

Or should I room #2 with the maid?

Or should I room #2 with the maid and myself for the first few months?

I'll have my confinement nanny for 2 months .. so first 2 months I think baby will zzz with confinement nanny while I concentrate to be a cow?

And for confinement nanny .. is it ok for them to sleep on mattresses on the floor? Or need bed? My mum did my #1 confinement ... so I have no idea how ppl go about doing it.. any ideas?

hi HJ,
#1 now sleeps on my BED!!!! Very difficult to move him out. So I guess #2 will sleep in the cot?

At the end of the day is what is the most comfortable arrangement for you without making #1 feel that he is being neglected cos #2 is on the way.

HJ: my #2 actually sleep with us after born. coz we only hav 1 room available.
i put 2 queen size matress side by side.

as for #3, by then, i hope i can have another room available, so that 3 of them can sleep in same room.

Hi all, I haven't been in here for a while due to work. Hope everyone's fine. It seems that many already know the baby's gender, mine not yet.

Anyone started wearing maternity clothes? Tummy big but don't want to start wearing maternity clothes so early leh. How?

sunflwoer: i wan a "hao" mah... hahaha..
but 2 girls they can be playmates mah.. so nvm..
they can have sista love..

is MONDAY again..sian...

Ceres
You also wanted a boy for 2nd one.
Me too but my hubby is ok with any gender.

I want a boy cos clothings and toys easier to pass down la..
But After doc said 80% boy, I was like ok, maybe girl also good. Haha..

My hubby said maybe 3rd one is a girl. I almost fainting.

U try the jamu massage or indonesia massage lady where they come to do wrapping for you after you give birth?
I regain my figure from my first one very fast.

=======================

Winnie
Your first one girl or boy? You also want a boy?
Doc ang always said 80% cos there’s 2 times gender turns out different after next scan. Haha..

hi all.. went over to the SPRINGS warehouse sales last sunday. 20% discount .. sound good. went there to see stroller.but reali no idea how to choose. so many brands & price range up to $1200. woa..

any advise?

HJ
My hse got 3 rooms and actually I have been shifting and sleeping in different rooms. I love to shift furnitures around the hse. Haha..

Study room – more windy and cooling
During my 1st and 2nd confinement I will be staying there, with my current bed – where my hubby will be shifting to this room before I came back home.

Middle room – my son room
Currently we are sleeping there with him.

My son used to sleep only with me last time when no such bed and I sleep on the matteress on the floor. So pityful. And my hubby at masterbed room. Haha.. He sleep at his cot which I dismantle to make it a toddler bed.

Recently, We bought the pull out bed so we can sleep in the same room but the pull out one can lift up to become like a super king size bed with the other bed. He sleeps in between of us than now on the floor with his mattress after that time he is sick and keep on vomitting. He wants to sleep on the floor leh. Haha..

During confinement, the CL will sleep with my new baby.

Masterbed room – Empty now.
My hubby and son will sleep there during my confinement – while I at study room.
New baby, son, hubby and me will sleep there till my son around 4.5 years old ba.
Than will be shifting him and new baby to their rooms already.

Maybe by the time need to make some changes to the rooms again, which I love it. Haha..

Carol
For my case, it depends on my son.
My son jiatlat, don want those without handle bar cos he wants to hold it.
And when we got it, he don like it cos its too low.
He likes to be higher up.

We changed from CAPELLA – BON BEBE – PEG PEREGO
So peg perego is the best which he likes now lor. Haha..

My boy started to slp alone on the mattress at the floor few mths ago. Previously when he was 1yr old hubby and I slp on mattress with him. Abt 1yr 6mth old I move up the bed alone and hubby accompany my son. Then abt 2 yr 4mth my hubby move up the bed with me left my son alone. We never let him slp on my bed except when he was 0-5mth so doubt he remember anything and never crawl up before.
My #2 will sleep in the cot and probably with my mom in her room. We will continue to slp with my #1.

I regain but went back after going back to office. Too stress by work. I'm thinking of origins jamu, wonder the package price alrdy includes the transport fee or not.

I would prefer #2 is a boy also because cloths easier to hand down. Anyway gal or boy I still hand down the cloths. Won't buy any new ones because ppl will buy and they are still small wear Wat also same haha. Wanna save money also and don't waste the cloths bought for #1. Baby dont wear it often so find it wasted.

I don't plan for #3 it is too expensive. Education, enrichment class, also I want to give them better food and life. Too much kids expense will go up as well. My hubby and I are also reluctant to give up our currently lifestyle haha.

carol: i change from combi to chicco stroller.. hahaha..
i got one girl but she got 2 strollers..
so most pro newborn will use combi stroller..

hi winnie.. txs for info.. i also tik of getting combi urban walker.. lighter = 6.5kg,

but i also like the perego.. it looks more durable & Spacious

not able to decide..

2nd = have to think to get playpen or cot?

any adivse?

winnie
no. 3 seems to be the best liao le. haha..

my hubby was telling me never mind, try for 3rd one.. i was like wat the.. i so busy liao with one. haha.. maybe planning to get a maid after i gave birth.

Ceres
what kind of enrichment class u gave them?
i not thinking of giving my first one until he was about 4 or 5 years old but thinking only of music. i don want to force on him. cos they are still kids.

carol
no. 2 im getting a playpen to put at my mother or in law hse. see who wants to bring her back la. haha..

the peg perego i have had braking problem. so pls do check. britax one the brake is better.

HJ
thats my worry previously. but got to try ba than we know right?
i was thinking if required night feed, will carry my no. 2 out to living room for feeding. cos no other ppl in the hse. haha..

Haha haven't bring him to any and he is 2yr+ Liao. Worse still talk a few words can't even say pa pa. only ah ma, gong gong, ma... Sigh. Tried bring him to music class cry like waterfall 2 handkerchief soak with tears. The lesson only 45mins and is like half dead for my hubby.
We just enrol him to nearby RC play group. Next yr jan 2013 start, 2 hr mon to fri.

By the way recently my relative intro me to this Kim sang medical hall to buy baby supplies. I went and find it very much cheaper than outside supermarkets. Anyone bought from them and any reviews?

Ceres: ma kuang has no home visit. I only went there when my son was 24months old. Actually, I wasnt really bothered about my bulging tummy. It was my mum who kept asking me to do something about it.. Haa...

They have trial. I signed a 12 sessions package with them that cost me about $1200++?? I cannot rmb what's the exact. Initially they quoted me a 3000++ package. Outrightly, I told them to give me the cheapest because I have low budget.

Each session include whole body acupuncture and tummy massage. Diligently, I went twice a week, for 3 weeks. I lost 2 inches and 3kg. Well, my tummy obviously flatten not ezactly flat. And it was all the feedback from people around me that I'm pretty convinced. Surprisingly, my tummy toned a little too..

I think the good thing about tcm slimming is, I need not control my diet very much and it does not return after I stopped. I ate as per normal except no carbo for dinner and had it early. If I'm hungry by night, I whipped some yogurt. Work for me pretty well... I have another 6 sessions. Planning to use it after this pregnancy.. Hehe..

I did Malay massage 3 weeks after birth because I was c-section. That's prob why it didn't have much effect for me.. Of cos everyone's body condition is different also.

Good luck to our slimming progress next year!

Luvbabies Kim Sang: I bought milk powder and diapers from them ever since we had #1. Reliable source and authorized. We compare every single detail of the milk powder at NtUC. Hurr.. Very nice delivery uncle also... Sometimes there maybe big show with more attractive prices but most of the time it's still cheaper than ntuc sales price.

We just enrol our son with a cc at Philip Avenue. 10min drive from our place. Will be placing him on school bus from next year onwards..

Heh..mine nearby no need bus.

I buy at their retail store. I notice cheaper by a dollar plus compare to online store. So hubby decided to go there buy loads back once a while. Heh.

We didn't buy much now waiting for the baby fair to compare the price.

lucasmummy, so you did not do malay slimming massage? I am thinking of not doing this time and going for TCM instead. I can't stand the smell and the herbs and it make me itch. is there any outlet that is particularly good?

For mummies thinking of malay massage, pls do ASAP. I did when my baby 1 mth, and not much use. The malay lady said i did too late.

i get delivery from kim sang... because 3 cans of milk powder and 3 packs of diaper is quite heavy to carry from car park to house ;p

i'm getting a child bed for #1 soon and hope he can adapt to that, while my coming #2 will take his old cot. we don't sleep aircon so I feel playpen is a bit hot cos all sides covered. When #2 older, convert cot to bed. Then when both older, then buy adult size bed.

Stroller n breastfeeding chair (gliders):
Saw at mothercare ytd, 30-50% off.

Zz arrangement:
Kids hv a room each since birth but w #3 coming, will let the older boys z together as their lifestyles r more similar.
We had a 5in1 bb cot for #1 that can convert into toddler bed w rail guards. When #2 born 4 yrs later, we convert it back into a bb cot n #1 get a sportcar bed.
#2 used the cot/ toddler bed till 4yo+ when it creaking then switch to the highly coverted sport car bed n #1 is now using a super single that shld last him till he moves out.
Hehehe..

Will get a new bb cot for #2 that can last him till 2yo+ before letting him z on sportcar bed if it's still in gd condition by then.
My friend 1 2 pass me a playpen, will put in living rm so that bb will not b under his brothers' feet.

Vamiga: which mothercare did u see the breastfeeding gliders? Harbourfront branch? I'm so tempted to get one!

Ya I intend to put a play pen in the living area before the infant gets stampeded by older brother .. so it's easier for the grandparents to look after. #1 is only 3 when #2 arrives .. I feel bad throwing him to sleep by himself. So I guess we will move the cot in and squeeze once I get sleep training done with the infant with less milk feeds at nights. Hopefully by 2nd or 3rd month!

Hi, my #1 sleeps with my mil, #2 sleeps with us on the bed cos he refuse to sleep in his cot.. Now with #3 coming along, we will be engaging a maid who will be sleeping w the 2 elder kids, and during my maternity leave, #3 will sleep with us.. After i go to work, #3 will sleep with mil. Will have to train #3 to sleep in cot.

I dun think i can go baby fair w my 2 kids n all the squeezing.. The carpark will be long queue too.

I change from capella to combi cos its lighter.. Less than 5kg..
And will be getting a double stroller just before #3 born.

diamantz: like u, I did Malay massage after 3 weeks because of c-section. It's more effective for mummy who had natural birth.

Mattress: we are waiting for Seahorse sales. The last time, we customized a mattress for the cot at 50% off and its now on the floor for #1. This time, we hope to get a single mattress for him and the cot mattress will return to the cot for #2.

Kim Sang
Shop name or person name? Any website or contact number? Hee.
All brands of milk powder is cheaper?

Malay massage
Hmm, if do that 1 mth after baby is born is too late, then when should we start? Straight after giving birth?

Baby cot
Necessary to get one? Cousin just let baby sleep on baby mattress on the floor. She said that this can save space and we don't have to worry about baby falling from cot if we forget to lock.

Hi all mummies. I am new and expecting my first one at 2nd Mar 2012. My Gyne is Dr WK Tan in TMC.
Anyone have been seeing her before?
Need to find CL as well, but still looking for good one.

Vagima, i usually order prima online and fly them back in Mu luggage. Laksa not my weakness leh. I want their Rojak party pack!

Smirfie, there is prenatal yoga. Good for yoga beginners. For long time yoga practitioner, can continue with what they have been doing with modifications. The main rule is don't take up a new sport during pregnancy. There are experienced runners or cyclists who continue with their sport until late pregnancy. Did you read about this US army lady officer in Iraq or Afghanistan , she didn't know she is preg and delivered in camp there! What an easy pregnancy it must have been!

As for sleep arrangement, we are currently staying in a two bedroom apt. Hub doesn't feel like putting in request for additional budget for three bedroom. We are considering moving to three bedroom apt but not so good location. But really lazy to pack and unpack ESP now so tired with the pregnancy.

My daughter is almost three and sleeping in her own room since one year old. I am afraid she may be even more imbalanced if we let baby bro sleep with us and not let her join in. But like the mummies here, afraid that baby will disturb toddler's sleep too. I haven't even talked to her about 'lending" the cot to didi.

Hi Hj,
Yes at its harbourfront flagship store.
Just check e ad in mothercare catalogue, brand is OEKO n original price range is $599-899.

Hi Yun,
1 thing gd abt bb cot is able to contain e bb after he wakes up n won't go crawling/walking ard/getting into mischief in the house esp toilet, when the rest of us still zz or bz in other part of e hse.

i also did malay massage leh.. if after 3 week i give birth.. no effect leh.. this round not gg to engage liao..

most pro, gg c-cest again... dun wan waste the $..

anyone gg expo fair this weekend?

winnie,
im going early in the morning cos got more parking lots.. i think i got nothing to buy haha but just wana check out cordlife.. u?

Stroller
i love Peg Perego..no regrets having it. sturdy and spacious. Can incline fully for baby to slp. Go grocery or shopping, no issue with loading it, wont topple. Only issue is that its heavy, so travel alone with baby can be heavy to handle. Travel alone with baby, use a carrier instead.

Malay Massage
i didnt engage one becos i think the most effective way is full breastfeeding. if really very determined to breastfeed or pump every 2-3hrs, no worries about losing weight. Confinement is the only month we sweat like nobody business..even sitting down also sweat,so alot calories burnt..but eating the right food plus doing full breastfeeding plus not enough sleep handling the baby, very fast will slim down..dont waste money.

I am new to this thread. Currently expecting my #3 in 14 week+, EDD 29 March 2013. Still have mild morning sickness, but getting better.

Hope I can join in the chat here.

Baby cot
My friend dismantled her baby cot and used it to surround mattresses placed on floor ie make it a super size playpen for her son! Hmm, let me think about it - baby cot or not.

Singapore Expo baby fair
I stay in the West. A bit lazy to go all the way to Expo. Haha. Will there be another fair at the later part of the year? Since EDD is March, we don't really have to start buying the things to early right? Hee.