(2013/02) March 2013

Shirlene & Celtbaby, thanks for the info!

jhw, it's too late for me! I had crab pasta, chocolates, Szechuan vegetable soup, tea, coffee, coke in my first tri!

I hope my baby turns out fine. At least my Oscar test result is ok!

Oh, sorry. I just realized these are the items that will cause miscarriage... I think I'd like to go by the theory of "everything in moderation"!

Hi blueswimmercrab,
Who is ur gynae? What does ur package include?

Hi Theresa,
Wow, u hv so many cl contacts n yet all booked!
Think better try agency quickly?

Koric
I’m also getting it online.
But I saw one Qoo10 website provided by one of the mummies here also quite cheap. Around SGD 450 dollars.
But I don kw what they have in the pack.

Jhw
I ate guava, watermelon, spinach, chocolate, tea and some can foods.
Guess little bit will be ok.

But the 2 most things can’t eat is SHAN ZA & DANG GUI.
Don’t forget.

Guess it is okay, i took most of the listed food too and almost every alternate days for spinach and liver, thgt it is suppose to be rich in iron.
Bt still, in moderation.

mommies, dun worry. our gynae, Dr Ben Tham, says pregnant mummy can eat anything anytime. As long as the MTB minimises alcohol and caffeine and ZERO smoking.

Confinement lady rate
Colleague who got CL through PEM paid $2250 (dragon baby). I supppose it will be slightly cheaper for snake baby since it's not as hot a year?

18 food to avoid
I think MSG is hard to avoid. Haha, unless you prepare your own food. I always have my lunch outside.

Breast pump
My cousin wants to pass me her breast pump. Only used 1-2 times. If I sterilise it properly, there shouldn't be a problem right? Any taboo about using other people's breast pump?

Baby gender
I think mine's a girl. Tummy is round. Haha. Old wives tale. As long as baby is healthy, it doesn't matter boy or girl.

Cordlife
Who's going for that?

Hi yun, no taboo abt using pre-owned breast pump.. Moreover she only used a few times..

As for the food that we cannot eat during 1st tri, i also ate quite a few..

I felt the baby kick at 15 wks.. And yesterday the specialist confirmed that it is a girl!!!

Baby kick
I feel nothing so far. Either his/her kicks are too soft or my tummy skin is too thick or I'm not sensitive enough! Haha.

Karen, congratulations! With the gender, you can start to buy the baby stuff. I'm going for my consulation next Wed (week 17). I think I'll also know the gender. Hee. Looking forward.

Hunger pangs
I've dinner around 7pm and always feel hungry around 10+, 11pm. If I don't eat, I can't fall asleep. Hence, I'll try to take half a slice of bread before sleeping (shouldn't eat too much). When I wake up in the next morning around 6am, I feel hungry again! Do you keep feeling hungry?

Confinement lady

There is no standard market rate. Everyone charge differently. Some with permit some without. So different pricing. I'm kiasu, book my previous CL when I'm only 6 wks preg Hahah. Must act fast cos they are snatched up fast!

Vamiga, hahaha... I think let's just take everything in moderation. But I think my baby likes potatoes. I ate a lot of potato stuff when in first tri... French fries, rosti, baked potatoes, hash brown etc!

Sbb, let me go and check it out.

Ya, what's the market rate for CL? I heard it's in the range of $2.5K - $3K now!!!

currently im into 17 week.. but i feel suck leh..ytd n today i got the wan to puke feeling again...wat wondering wat wrong leh...

Winnie .. Same here .. I still feel terrible going into 17 weeks. I puked so badly last week that I had to be hospitalized for dehydration... Torture...

HJ, isit stomach flu or food poisioning? why sudd you puke so badly???

yun, perhaps you have satisfied all the cravings? so new cravings as yet. hahahha!!

Re : CL Rate
As I’m a vegetarian, I’m paying her for 1.9K.
But that is only for 28 days. Will be paying her more for 40 days confinement, not to forget the red packet neh.

Red packet need to give how much?

Winnie
Me too tot my sickness subside.
Than yesterday suddenly during lunch time, before I reach the food court find a toilet and puke like hell.
Yesterday night too.. sian..

My cl is $2.2k for 28 days. Might give her a bigger ang pow as unlike the last 2 times, no more maid ard to help out.

Hi koirc,
I love potatoes these days too!

Hi Yun,
I will usually hv a light supper, or 3 am snack too if v full after dinner. So glad to read in this week's MyPaper that it is healthy to hv 9 small meals (did that during 1st tri!) n 2 bedtimes (i seldom z throughout the nite these days,think bb training me?). Hee...
Won't bother w cordlife. Rather take up a hospitalization plan, as it had proven v useful for #2.

No not food poisoning or stomach flu .. My gynae ran all the bloodwork and found nothing. It's apparent just v bad morning sickness!!! I've been puking but just that day it came like a "bang" 14 times in the morning .. I was crawling into the clinic haha ...

I have no food cravings .. Only food aversions ...

Hi Sbb,
I was suddenly nauseous again for a few days 2 wks ago. Think mine was triggered by paint n some strong smell + hunger pangs. Think bb going thru some growth spurts periodically so we need more food to sustain?

Vamiga, what hospitalization plan? Insurance ah?

I eat anything that is within reach when I'm hungry. Haha. If not, I'll feel very uncomfortable. Nausea feeling if I don't fill my stomach with something.

Yeah I'm better now though still no good appetite ... Yeah they dripped me with anti emetics to stop the puking and glucose for energy .. After 1 night I felt much better though I lost 2 kg!! Thanks God baby was ok and active still ..

But the recent stay also made me reconsider TMC ...

Anyone got good Breastfeeding chairs to recommend? I used to latch in bed but that gave me bad back and wrist pains ... Thinking of investing in a chair this time round ... If got massage functions even better haha!!

Hi Hj,
What happened at tmc?

Try rocking chair to breastfeed? Hee..
I tried bfg #2 w massage chair pad switched on but mayb mine too noisy, distracted him leh. So had to do it on bed or armchair.

Hmm .. TMC ... They sent 3 nurses to try to analyze baby heartbeat. First 2 scanned for a long time andcould not hear anything.. The 3rd nurse finally heard the heartbeat ... And that took about 45 mins ... One of the nurse did not draw the curtains when doing the scan .. Although I'm in a single bed, I still expect curtains to be drawn cos someone might open the door by mistake?

Dinner was served cold. Very cold porridge, I had to ask them to heat up. Breakfast was served 1.5 hrs late at 930am...

Nurses not confident to set drips .. Had to get resident mo to set drip. In 2010, al these were not issues.. Delivery ward nurse set drip etc etc ...

Oh and they keep insisting no single beds .. No premier single ... Only suites ... In the end after much arragnements on my gynae end .. They gave me single room ...

And i press bell .. Nurse took v long to come .. And when I go toilet .. They helped me into the toilet + carry drip stand ... Never even wait outside .. Tell me to press call bell again and I stayed in the toilet like for 5-10 mins when I Only needed to pee .. Frustrating ..

And a lot small other issues ...

HJ,

ur 2nd time hospitalised due to MS is it? few weeks ago heard u just hospitalised, now again! you got eat or not? to curb MS is to eat although eating sucks.

recently i heard alot complaints about TMC.

hi all. i'm new here..i'm 15weeks now

my EDD in mid march next year.. stil in means of searching CL.

Have not sign up any package yet.

My gynae - Dr Kee @ TMC

Carol: you seeing dr kee Wei heong of TMC?

He's my gynae too. Fantastic guy .. Delivered my #1 too.

Sunflower: no la I admitted once only ... Touch wood .. Don't want to go in again .. 1 day bill in 1 bedded is like 1k!!

Ya TMC got a lot complains these days ...

That's why i got contemplation switching to RH but I can't bear my gynae!!! RH is 10 mins from home and across my workplace .. But expensive .. Some say service is good but hidden charges ...

Vamiga
I don kw whether its hunger strike or nt cos have been feeling ok recently.
I was walking into the building than suddenly like oh my god.. how come gag than I got a feeling that I better find a toilet soon.
Hmm… maybe it’s a on and off stuff ba.

HJ
Are you feeling better now?

Yun
Me too.. actually last few weeks my tea break is not biscuits or whatever.
Its all rice or noodles as I cannot be hungry.
Once hungry die liao le.. but of course, the rice and noodles was seldom finished.

I always ask the aunty to give me half packet.
I only this week started tea break with some fruits and other stuff.

re : tmc
actually i don't really like tmc leh.
when i got my first one, i went to the hospital tour for delivery ward and etc. well.. its not so impressive.. and i preferred the nurses at MT A. But it all depends on individual preference la right?

im spreeing Manduca Carrier. i posted in FB. i need 3 more to meet minimum. If anyone interested, can check out details at FB or PM me. closing by this weekend!

Hi Hj,
U must b v anxious when not 1 but 2 can't hear bb heartbeat! Tie a device to tummy type? Everytime my gynae use the scanner to let us listen, I don't know whether to hold my breath (so as not to interfere w the rhythm??) as #2 rhythms skipped during a routine check n I had to go mt A for a detailed scan.

Hi sbb,
Could it b some smell in the building that triggered it?
2 wks ago, I was nauseous when entering into the library that I went almost every wk w the kids. Couldn't stand the musty smell! Yet this wk I was ok even though the smell was there, just that I was not so sensitive to it. Must b the hormones.

I had antenatal classes at tmc in 2003. Once, was in the same lift as 2 nurses n they started gossiping abt a patient right there! I just dont feel that's right.

Hi, i also feel nausea still at 16 wks.. Especially at the smell of certain food.. The worst is yong tao foo.. Hate it since day 1 till now..

I deliver at tmc all because of my gynae..

Latest checkup yesterday
Doc said its 80% boy. Ha.... My father in law a bit disappointed cos cos he wanted a girl. ha... His house too much boy le.

I'm expecting my #2! Edd 4 mar and Gynae say 90% girl. Hubby and I quite disappointed but still health is more important. My #1 is a boy!

I'm trying to get some opinions on post natal massage because I need to slim down after this. Not planning for 3rd child and need regain my shape...

It has been a busy week and hardly had the chance to log in.

Congrats to mummies who already learn about the gender.

Confinement Nanny: I booked mine immediately I found out I was pregnant. cos good ones are taken up very fast. My CL is 2k excl ang pow.

I used BabyPlus for my #1 and will use it for #2 too.

Ceres: I went to Ma Kuang at Nex for accupuncture and tui na massage. A few of my friends went there before their wedding and we think it works! In fact, it's only after I went there that I receive feedback that I have slimmed down. The clothes became looser too. They have trial massage, u may want to try.

Ceres
U wan 2 boys? I never book post natal massage becos breastfeeding is my best slimming program!

Winnie
Why u haiz ? U wan boy right?

At Batam beach resort now. Relax with my little one inside me.

Wah, so many of you know baby gender. Just in time for baby fair at Singapore Expo next weekend! Does anybody know if it's cheaper to buy baby stuff in JB?