(2013/02) March 2013

Hi Karen,
Agree w Jeremy. Imp to get a gynae that suits u n able to give u e nec assurance n advice.
Further down the rd, there might b trying times that hard decisions hv to b made n the gynae must b able to assist us to make informed decisions comfortably. I had to make spilt second decision to abandon natural delivery for #2 after 10hrs of labor n go for emergency c- section even tho he had been supportive of my decision to try natural birth after c-section of #1.
My gynae charges $65 for 2nd consultation onwards (until package kicked in at ard 20th wks) + $65 for scanning (incl free biology lessons for my older boys n letting us listen to bb heartbeats etc), so ur gynae isn't that competitive.

Hi all, I hv abt 3hr of nett shopping time unexpectedly this p.m. Which mall will b a gd place for some plus size maternity clothes shopping? Parkway? Centrepoint? Harbour front mothercare flagship store? Imm? Or...?
Hv until 12.30pm to make up my mind. Heee...

Hi Jeremy, I think I have more or less decide to change.

Hi Mrs Lee, I really kinda pek chek talking to him.. but need to find another another gynae near me... Anyone has good gynae to recommend in the east?

Hi Vamiga, any gynae in the east to recommend? I prefer to deliver at Mount Alvernia.

Karen: IMO, you should change the gynae since you are not very comfortable with him in his replies. As a first time parent to be you'll have alot of questions to ask, no matter how stupid the questions are, the gyane should still reply properly and professional to calm your nerves. No point paying to get frustrated every time you see him.

Kris: Never to late to start a family. =) Enjoy the pregnancy

Just change then... My initial Gynae at mt e. recommended by my friend. Dun feel comfortable with her at all. Like going principal office... So sucky. Can try surf for gynae with good recommendation in a convenient location for u. Think of what u want in gynae- serious or hand holding type? Do you want one that supports water birth (if that is something u strongly believe in etc) can also see who r some of the gynaes the mummies here have and do Ur own research. What work for one, may not work for u...

Read from earlier posts that bills are reimbursable from MediSave. Means we should keep all bills and see which one we can reimburse at the end? I remember asking at the cashiers before payment if I can use MediSave but they say cannot for outpatient. I've only went for normal gynae consultations (urine test, ultrasound scan) and OSCAR screening so far.

Karen:
Ya, I also think you should change if you don't feel comfortable with that gyane. He will be the one delivering your baby at the end! Don't make every visit to the gynae a torture. However, have you signed package with him already?

Tks for all the encouragement!

Karen - I'm also thinking whether to change gynae! I actually quite like my current doc as he's v gentle and detailed plus quite kiasu in that he'll do more rather than less, which we liked cos i was bleeding on and off for almost the whole of the 1st tri (v worrying!). But he's also super super expensive but we just bear w it cos bb more impt. Thing that made me waiver is we suspect he's a bit pro-c-sect cos I never see him go out on ad hoc op etc. n most of his patients r Indonesians n expats? My sils been recommending me to go their gynae for 2nd opinion - have made appt, will decide after that.

Qn - are the renos at mt A v bad/make things v inconvenient? The doc my sils recommend is Dr HK Ho - anyone seeing him?

<font color="0000ff">diamantz</font> actually i also not sure lei. me too cant rem who is who le. wan search for me? [email protected]

<font color="0000ff">Jeremy</font> not sure abt other polyclinic. I went to bedok polyclinic. there's a corner for babies for injection. n with appointment, waiting time is quite fast. I also have the same concern like you, but since seperate crowd, i'm ok wif polyclinic.

<font color="0000ff">Karen</font> your gynae sounds bad. My first gynae also intro by fren, she say very good Heng TL. But when I have risk of miscarriage she's like hopeless n tell me there's nothing she can do, juz gave hormones pills. I cried and donno what to do. decided to seek 2nd opinion with my sis gynae. He say as long as there's heartbeat, he will try his best. give me hormones pills n jab, ask me bed rest gave mc. even tot in the end i lost tat baby. but i see diff attitude of gynae. 1 tat juz tell u it's hopeless. 1 tat gave u assuranced tat he will fight with u till the end. so to me hospital is not my first priority, gynae is. wen my tis gynae change to private, without hesitation i follow him.

<font color="0000ff">remibursement frm MediSave</font> I need advise too. As i was previously frm KKH TPS, didnt bother much. now private le, i neeed keep receipt n claim ar? If need wat receipt i need to keep? cham, all i throw nia

Berrydelight, I don't receive your pm. Anyway, pls add me to fb. My email address is tangkeowhung at hotmail

karen, im staying in the east. haa! im current gynae is Dr Heng at Bedok Interchange, however she delivers only at Parkway east. She's patient altho she have many patients outside. package is $700 from 12 weeks onwards. maybe you wanna try visiting her and see if you like her? i personally like her machine alot, its v clear and able to listen to heartbeat. hehe! but ofcos, reading from past forum abt her, she may not be profession in terms of munching chocolate while checking you out when you deliver. but to me, thats not any concern as gynae have v busy schedule. Another gynae is YY Tan at Bedok North, not sure if she goes MT A, but she's pretty good too. My fren's gynae of 3.

Sweet mummy:
Why did you say you didn't bother much as you were previously at KKH TPS? They settled all claims for you?

Down with a cold - runny nose with sore throat. Should I take doc medicine or should I let my body recover on its own? Taking medicine doesn't seem good for baby, but if mummy doesn't take medicine, is that good for baby?

so long neber login, so many post to catch up...

went check up last fri, manage to pump 1kg.. hahaha..

bb would like to keep us suspend.. cant see the gender... gonna wait till detailed scan next month...

I had a cold for more than a week earlier, ran the gamut from sore throat, sneezing, runny nose, blocked nose to coughing. Only lucky thing is no fever so I didn't take any med tho doc say basic panadol is ok. I just took lots of star fruit juice n lemon juice diluted with warm water. I think depends on the severity of your cold. If v serious perhaps better to go see GP will give you med safe for bb else.

hello mummies..
monday is it blues?

im feeling tired and counting down now for another 10 mins to leave office prompt. hehe..

Re: Weight / Sickness
Pls take good care of yourself.
i have stomach flu last 2 weeks ago and during that time i lost about 1kg+. vomitting and can't eat. sian.. luckily i had rested enough for almost 2 days.
now weight gain only about almost 2 kgs.

Re : confinement center
for mummies who does not have a place for confinement. i last time search and saw there's a confinement center at singapore.
wanted to give it a try previously but gosh, it is expensive la. about 6k/mth.

their website is http://www.muyingfuwu.com/

Hi Karen,
My gynae delivers at tmc n mt alvernia but his clinic is at Thomson plaza. Too far for u?

Re pre delivery claims
My understanding from note #11 of mt A is up to $500 will b, claimed by medisave, receipts to submit to hospital upon admission. Last 2 times, I only need to use the receipt of gynae package. Here's e website: http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/Maternity-Packages.asp
Perhaps can check w respective hospitals on procedures?

Re sick,
Personally I will get preggie safe med from gp if cant recover within 2 days. Dont want to worsen n need to recover fast to function.

Re shopping,
In the end, didnt managed to shop today but had to bring #2 to doc as he complained ear painful as we on the way to his sch. Turned out to b middle ear infection due to his prolonged blocked/runny nose. Think he has sensitive nose like #1 too.

Hi sbb,
$6k is really ex n quite disruptive, having to stay away from home for so long rt?

Used to heard a friend catering confinement lunch then microwave half for dinner!

Rgdg medisave:

i just went for the mtA maternity tour today, they say to keep your original gynae n oscars receipt, can claim up to $450. Just submit the receipts to the hosp during admission.

MediSave
I signed up for KKH maternity tour next week. Will clarify with them and update here.

Confinement meal
Vamiga, if she splits the portion into two, doesn't it mean she's not getting enough nutrients for each meal? Doesn't sound good to me.

Confinement centre
If hubby cannot stay overnight, won't it be very lonely? Not sure how confinement centre works. Cook one whole pot for all mummies staying there? 1 confinement lady to 1 mummy? 6k is very expensive! Have to know what they are providing exactly.

Hi Neuros,
When we were at mt A for #2's day surgery early June, admission was 7am so we were able to park in its compound by ourselves. The ward n op theatre were not affected except for the 1st floor main lobby under reno w hoarding n little detour for lifts.
When we visited e specialist during weekdays for reviews, we parked at mac Richie (spell?) reservoir multi storey carpark n took a short shuttle ride to the hospital at 10 min interval. Once the hospital entrance was blocked by a blur taxi so created a queue but other time was free flowing. There is also complimentary valet parking at hospital but might take a while for retrieval. I rem there is also shuttle bus pick up at bishan interchange.
Hopefully, things will b improved by next yr.

Prenatal claims
Celtbaby is right, claim is $450. My mistake. ;p

Hi Iasilw,
My friend said she couldn't finish the confinement meal in 1 sitting so stopped the dinner delivery n spilt lunch into 2 instead.

Rgd reno at Mt A:

Most will be done by end of this yr, except for a new 9storey bldg which will only be completed in 2014, but this bldg not very near to the maternity wards so shd not affect much.

Hi karen..
I think u should change gynae.. Its important to see one that u are comfortable with, so that everything u can discuss anything with the gynae..

Hi Shirlene,
Congrats! Btw, same as my wife. 13 weeks preggers but EDD seems to have been brought forward couple days to 28th March. Also, my wife's easily breathless too. Walking to just the carpark is difficult. I think it's a lack of exercise pre-pregnancy for her. haha! But appetite's good though.

I've had this on-and-off headache since week 10. Not very terrible pain so I don't wanna take med but very irritating. Anybody in same shoes and have natural remedy for it to share?

Hi Jeremy,
U shld pick ur wife under ur block!
Ha..i was v breathless after 5 min of slow walking during 1st tri so hubby had to shift e car to lower floor in e a.m. if it was level 3 or more the nite b4. Else it will take me too long to wali to carpark n crawl up the stairs/ ramp, catch my breath n ended late in getting to e kids' sch.

Hi Neuros,
I hv this type of headaches too. Usually I will massage e head in a darken room or take a quick shower ( to distract myself?).Gynae said its ok to take 1 tablet of normal panadol (250mg) at a time, so I did if the headaches were v bad.

Hi Celtbaby,
Great news abt mt A's reno!

Its carpark facility will b up by year end too?
My main concern is as mine will b a longer stay due to c section, it will b inconvenient n take longer for hubby to visit w the kkids.

So u confirmed mt A or will b going for more hospital tours?

Vamiga / iasilw

Ya 6k is ex.
That is for those who does not have a place or wants to stay at some places for confinement.
This type of services actually the concept is from Taiwan. But don’t know how good is the singapore one.

Taiwan has a lot of confinement center. Very good one.

Jeremy
Pregnant lady can get breathless easily one. Not necessary pre-pregnancy exercise.
Cos of the bb inside them. Imagine you got a ball inside your stomach and feels like something struck there.
Sometimes carrying something also can cause breathless.

Baby gender
Does anybody know the baby gender already? Is it too early? Hee. My next appointment is next week, but no scan scheduled. Think I'll only know at the following appointment (with scan), which is at the end of Oct (about 5 months). Should know by then hor?

Tks Vamiga &amp; Celtbaby for info re mt A. My appt there is on Thu so will go see how bad it is and judge from there. Will update if anything new! Hope to see baby gender then too - 17 wks on that day think possible? Hee...

Vamiga - yea usually I'll just light massage my head or if hubby there, get him to help me massage. Temporary relief only though... Guess just have to bear with it. Sometimes I go for nap and then wake up the headache is still there! Dunno why also...

I'm now very confused re fish eating. Mixed info online. Specifically re 2 types of mackerel family fish:-
* Batang - just realised this is a type of mackerel but dunno which type. Read somewhere just that need to limit intake? Jialat - I've been eating a lot of fish soup as I've an aversion to oily food esp at night so fish soup is one of the few things I can stomach during the first trimester. And I love the Amoy fish soup too! Is it true cannot eat batang?

* Saba - I used to buy frozen saba steaks from ntuc to grill for dinner. Easy and delicious. But again, this is mackerel family? Read that saba sushi cannot eat but cooked one how? Aaaarrrggghh...

This fish thing is so frustrating. On one hand told to eat more fish as good for baby but on the other hand so many limitations everywhere...

Hi vamiga and sbb,
Haha! Actually, I do drive the car down sometimes whenever we go out together but some days I felt she'll do well with some light exercise. lol... At least it's my understanding that exercise helps delivery.

But yeah, point noted. Guys will never be able to understand pregnancy pangs but yah, we have to be more attentive to these things

iasilw
i yet to know leh. this fri which is 16 week than i'm gg for checkup. was waiting for so long for the bb gender. haiyo.. cos i wanted to buy some stuff liao le. haha..

Hi iasilw,
Mine is a boy. Detected 3 wks agol, at 12th wk. We were quite surprised to know so soon. I told gynae that I tot it was e umbilical cord. Ha..

Hi Neuros,
All along e concern abt fish is mercury content in deep sea fish n fish w/o scales due to pollution. So everything in moderation?
As for raw fish sushi or under cooked meat is e risk of food poisoning that will lead to dehydration n risk of fever.. So must always ensure food is properly prepared n thoroughly cooked. I couldnt resist but ordered a medium-well done steak recently. Depending on restaurants, usually I will prefer medium, so this is a concession to being preggie le.

iasilw,

for KKH , it works this way.. Major scan like Oscar and detailed scan will be done at ADC. Thats why they give u a schedule for the scan. Other appointments with the gynae, the gynae will scan for you himself. No worries, for every visit, you sure get to see ur baby.

Gender,
just went for my 17wk gynae visit. My baby is so active and yet refused to disclose gender. Not even get to see 10% of his/her private part. Can only see gender at detail scan in week 20. And the nurse commented my tummy is small for 17wks! no wonder no one give seat to me until now.

Movements
anyone felt baby's movement already? not those fluttering gas , real movement? Yesterday at my hb's car, my baby kicked me twice...really gave me 2 kicks..today had more movements felt..Such a nice feeling to being pregnant!

sunflower: week 17 can feel movement ar? i also feel v light kick..but i can't confirm...
i felt it on sun n ytd... when i use my hand n feel, i can't feel anything... argh...

mine is 70-80% girl but can't guarantee..

Sunflower
yes! i felt the movement already around 12 weeks

but recently the movement is more liao le.
last time mainly lower side, now at least felt more on the upper part a bit.

the movement felt like bit of trapped gases

wow... how come you guys all so early? i'm coming to 17w come thursday but tummy still very small, dunno gender and feel no kicks.

winnie,
ya this time earlier than my last pregnancy. last week i felt something all the time, but i tot is fluttering..then yesterday is really kick ,cos the first kick i felt, then i got a shock and kept staring at my tummy, then the next kick came and i saw my left side skin jumped. so you trying for #3 ?

sbb,
wk12 so fast ! hehe.. the feeling is so great rite!

sunflwower: no lah... actually hubby prefer a princess leh.. no gg for #3 regardless of gender.. close fatory liao...

i dun feel my skin jump leh... argh... only like vibrate only...

Neuros,

if ur tummy is small, shld feel the movement very soon..

Winnie,

oic, 2 girls are playmates, will be fun

Scan
Sunflower, thanks for the clarification! I was still wondering the purpose of my visit if there is no scan. Gynae can tell baby is growing well by looking at tummy?! Hee.

Yes, I'm at KKH. Going for TPS. So far, only had one consultation at Clinic B. Next one is still Clinic B. Following one is at TPS. Would like to know the difference. Charging me extra $15 surcharge for TPS (written on my appointment card) when I'm seeing the same gynae!

Neuros
Maybe it’s the 2nd one.
They said subsequent bb movement can be felt as early as 3 mths liao le.
My earlier pregnancy, I felt it at 18 weeks.

Sunflower
Yes, actually very happy.
But I hope it starts to kick me more cos I want to let my son feel it. Haha..
Yours is really a kick wor. Haha.. mine is only movement nia