(2013/02) March 2013

hi there, staying near ben thanh market at intercon hotel...
wow! vamiga sounds like u know vn quite well!!!
i am 16 weeks preggers and look it =(

ah, that is why i dunno if i should go out alone...

but i wanna buy cloth.

Sweet mummy- yup
r u on my fb? Say hi? I fun remember the nicks anymore...

Hi Karen, you mentioned first child was at delivered at KKH (TPS) and 2nd child was delivered at TMC (with package from week 12). Is KKH (TPS) really more expensive and the cost difference is very big? From consultations to delivery...

Hi Winnie, will we know baby gender so soon?

Hi mousebb,
i heard a lot of good reviews about him too. not that we do not find him good but perhaps not a good 1st time with him. anyhow, still happy with Dr Tham

Hi Mrs lee,
hahaha, glad to represent the boys if I could. And no worries about the girly stuff, I have no probs with that ;)

Hi blurbabe,
yah, I'm actually happy to do household chores but half the time we're at work and at my moms. So, in fact, we dun really end up doing much chores. Anyhow, it's quite therapeutic though, with the exception of ironing

Hi Sweet Mummy,
Wouldn't polyclinics need to wait longer? And just feared that there may be more sick people of all ages rather than the likes of KK or TMC where its usually just children. I think my wife's getting much better with the morning sickness. So far she hasnt complained the last couple of days.

Hi iasilw,
Congrats! My sister's first child was at KKH. 2nd at TMC. So far she told me that having package actually will not save that much money. Also, she felt KKH had the full facilities and a closer team that can support in need. For TMC, some cases they cannot handle, end up also refer back to KKH. Oh yes, and my parents mentioned that too as they both were from the medical line.

Hi Lilstarzpebblez,

Hi Vamiga,
Yeah, I realise ladies extremely sensitive and emotional, esp 1st trimester. Also, apologies if I may offend, do you or the other ladies here feel more forgetful or cannot think so well during this time?

Oh yes, can't wait for tomorrow. It's OSCAR Scan day!!!
Anxious to see my little one again!

Hi Jeremy,
Not much difference in memory for me as I hv been relying on alarms n schedule app to keep track n stayed organised.

Hi blueswimmercrab,
Hcmc left a strong impression w me during a biz trip. Love the culture n gentle mannerisms of most viets I had encountered n those quaint streets n buildings.

Couldn't resist the rich colourful materials, so tailor-made its national costume at WTC for USD30. Tailor brought it to my hotel quite far away to let me try the very next night!
Dh used to travel there quite often for work too, so I always get him to buy stuff home. Hee..
U can find v cute n cheap traditional costume for kids n normal clothes hv simplier designs but cooling thin materials.

hello mummies..
how's everyone...

so busy recently... no time to come in...

RE: Seat
hope everybody here is getting a seat.
im getting a seat daily. haha.. so glad to have.

jeremy, aha! forgetful.. my memory hasnt been better ever since my #1. haha!! so its normal.. in e past it was worst, i can walk to the kitchen w my glass for refill, den forgotten and walk back to living room. tats how bad itis. oscar scan, good luck.. hopefully you're able to peep the gender too.

blueswimmercrab, take good care when youre there. and have plenty of water on flight.

Mrs Lee, hahahaha I can totally see that happening. lol... Thanks! Well, people have been saying that if the mommy suddenly likes meat, its a boy. And thats what my wife likes nowadays. Anyhow, 1st one boy/girl doesnt matter for me. Healthy's the priority. Leaving it to God!

blueswimmercrab
you going overseas ma?
i also want to go leh. was talking to my hubby this morning. he said he wants to go taiwan. haha..

vamiga,
i used to travel to HCM for work , but i literally dislike that place. haha sorry for being blunt. besides the yummy food, i dont buy anything at all. So only bought coffee . their coffee is very strong and nice. when i 'shop' there, really nothing to buy leh, i save alot whenever i travel to this city, but spend alot on food only..

sbb,
until now, no one gave up seat to me leh!! even when im standing next to reserve seat, they think im having fat tummy!! going to wear tighter clothes!

jasilw,
im from KKH TPS for both pregnancies. The cost isn't cheaper cos u are paying for private rates. There is no package for antenatal, its per visit. Every visit im paying between $90-$150..its not cheap!! For single ward delivery, if you go thru natural, its between 3.5k - 4.5k..if its c-sec, expect to pay more than 6k. So its comparable to other hosp. I prefer KKH becos of their full expertise in women and children, not forgetting any complications due to pregnancy or even during delivery. And parking there is not an issue. haha

Morning mummies & daddy,

Hope everybody's feeling great! It's thursday already... I'm so looking forward to the weekend! So tiring... I didn't get a seat today. I wore fitting clothes but it didn't work. The young lady sitting at the priority seat just pretended she didn't see my tummy and keep covering her face instead. Sad...
So had to stand all the way... Legs tired...

Sufeiya
On Tue I was on a MRT and standing in front of the reserved seat. A man sitting there with a newspaper saw I was just standing in front of him quickly lift up the newspaper and pretend to be reading the papers. So angry!!!

Hahaha... Thanks Jeremy for the encouragement! It does feel upsetting when it's really crowded and not being able to get a seat and some people still pushed us preggers on the train. Half a day is gone! Yay!

Sometime with these type of people i feel we must be very thick skinned.

Maybe go like, excuse me I don't feel so well, do you mind giving up the seat?

I remember that was one time where I wanted to puke. Felt it coming out, went to the toilet and there was a long queue. Instinctively I was like oh shucks... can i puke in the sink. So happen someone came out and I rushed to the front of the queue and said excuse me I'm going to vomit.

Hi mousebb, such people ought to be taken video of! So mean! I think the mrt control station should provide special passes for us or try to get us priority seats. Hahaa...

Hi Lovebyte08, sometimes I will tell people off when they lean on the mrt pole. Haha... But never dared to ask people to give up seats yet. Lol..

Sunflower / Sufeiya
Haha.. sometimes u have to rub your tummy so that they will look out for u.
That’s what I did. I purposely rub or hold my hands at tummy or make more protruding than they see the bump if not so clear in the morning.

U kw actually priority seat is for those ppl who wants to sleep. My god.
Normally is the beside priority seat ppl let me sit one..

Hi mousebb, havent done the Oscar scan yet. It's tomorrow morning! Can't wait

And ladies, I think it's fine to softly request the 'ill mannered' person if it was fine that he could give up the seat for you. Good to highlight pregnancy and tiredness though ;) I'm sure they would spare themselves the embarassment. Else, they may just be STOMPED or uploaded onto youtube or SGAG by someone

Hi iasilw, i stayed at kkh single bedded, the ttl bill was around $3.6k. For tmc, ttl bill around $4.6k..

The service at both hospital is good, but the delivery suite at tmc gt tv.. Can watch tv while waiting for the birth of the baby..

Hi Karen and Sunflower, when you say total bill, it's the amount you pay for delivery, ward stay and epidural etc and the baby nursery cost? Did you take up premium or classic hospitalization packages at KKH?

Btw, are your tummies showing? Mine still looks small at week 15. Nobody in office asked... Haha. Maybe they think I'm just getting fat. :p

Hi sunflower,
No problem, our opinions r shaped by individual expectation n experience. Herd mentality is dangerous.

Re kkh,
I heard from friends years ago that they had to walk quite far from 1 dept to another for consultation, scanning, pharmacy etc + waiting at each station. Is it still the same?

Re tummy,
Mine is showing esp when wearing more fitting tops. Been wearing maternity bottoms for past few wks but yet to buy or collect maternity clothes that my friend wanted to pass to me, as I still hv a major hurdle -- amnio test, to cross next wk.

Good Morning mommies! Had a expensive (bills n packages etc
) BUT great morning at the gynae. OSCAR scan showed normal signs for baby which is great! Would now just wait for the final results due early next week!

how much are your bills ah? i am starting to think that my bills are very ex. should i switch to public hospitals or is that a no no? but from what i read, sounds like kkh is not that better an option, just good if there is any last minute complications. am just being swayed coz spoke with my H's godmother who is very thrifty - and i think htat is the reason why she could afford a nice landed property!

but anyways, back to hte point of mrt passnegers. yah, they should give up seats! but sometimes, i think i ought also to let them know i want the seat. err imho, i think if i had not let them know that i wanted the seat, then i won't want to take a video of them and shame them. what is that line in chinese? bu zhi ze wu zuo? no fault on person who has no knowledge? personally, i dun like this culture of annoymously attacking a person's character online without giving the person a chance to explain.... its too prevalent upon young teenagers nowadays. just my personal thoughts.

i am back from hcmc! yay, bought some cloth from ben thanh market at cut throat prices =(. did not dare drink too much water on flight coz i got window seat.......

happy to see this thread active again!

Hi blueswimmercrab,
TMC 2yr 1st child card is like 148 nett.
Gynae package is something like 777+, incl some additional supplements like Calcium & Fish oil.
Oscar + detailed scan is something like close to 500?

Total damage about close to 1500sgd. At least I think this time round it's the bills that will last till almost EDD, minus hospital bills n more supplements.

Anyhow, I understand most of the bills should be able to get reimbursement from Medisave.

Part of the Gynae Package is claimable. For those who are using TMC you may want to look at the FBI or SBI (First Born Incentive or Subsequent Born Incentive) card. From what I know Oscar got discount and if you take single room also got discount. Some gynae packages also got discount. So overall discount may be more than what you pay for the card and its valid for 2 years.

Iasilw

Mine is the premium. Yes total of everything. But partially deductible from your antenatal . Don't wrry too much. As long as no caesarian, it's still manageable

Jeremy.. Which gynae is your wife seeing? My doc package starts at 1k from week 20!! Fortunately i signed up for sbi TMC card so I save some money. Oscars plus detailed scan is about $450? Love byte is right ... Some gynae included in the scheme gets discount during delivery and hospital stay for single bedded.

Haven't been in the forum for sometime cos got warded for severe dehydration due to severe vomitting.. Anyone still vomitting at wk 16? I'm so tired ...

Hi iasilw

Hi Lovebyte08,
yeah, I got the FBI as well but my gynae's under the WC Cheng & Associates group which does not participate in their FBI/SBI incentives. Anyhow, feel it's still worthwhile getting the card.

Hi HJ,
My wife's seeing Dr Benjamin Tham. How come your package is so expensive? We're only at week 13. Yes, the oscar package is about 450, somewhere there.

Jeremy .. Think cos my doctor is pretty senior .. Haha .. His package starts 20weeks and does not include vitamins fish oil or calcium ... Ur package quite worth it cos it include fish oil? Fish oil is quite ex .. I'm taking neurogain .. Is yours the same?

Wha Jeremy, you gynae package is considered cheap wor... I'm also under a doc in WC Cheng & Associates but the package is 2600 of which 1/2 is payable prior to delivery.

Iasilw
my tummy also consider small comparing w my #1 time. perhaps becos this pregnancy my appetite not as good.

hospital bill,
i stay in 2 bedded, natural w/o epi. total fee about $3k+ including bb stay. all use medisave, so balance only top up cash less than 1k.

jeremy,
i cant remember which are the one that you can use medisave, but i kept all my recipt thru out my whole journey den let the hospital staff advise us. i remmeber claiming my gynae package too.

Lovebyte, does yours include the gynae's delivery chrgs? Coz dr bentham's $600pkg starts wk 12 is only for urine test, blood pressure, 2d scans limited to total of 11sessions. Does not include meds. his delivery chrges alone if i nver rem wrgly is 1.2k....

HJ:
No, the package is mainly consultations, urine tests etc. Does not cover supplements and delivery charges. Yupz, using Neurogain too. Exactly as Celtbaby mentioned.

Mrs Lee:
Yeah, something like that. My sis told me TMC would take the gynae's charge and claim together under medisave, remainder will be charged then. Think her's was about close to 3k after all the claims n deductions. For us, I think the remainder, we would look at our company's maternity benefit and try to claim from there! haha

Hi, the nursery is another bill but part of it claimable from medisave..
The $4.6k excludes the doc fees, but i think claimed $1800 from medisave..
My gynae did ask me to sign up for sbi card but already no3, last time liao, so din sign up.. Paid for oscar n the blood test around $450.. Gynae package $800+ from 12 wks..

My tummy is considered big i guess, but I went for training the last 2 days, i had a course mate telling me that she din notice i was pregnant till today, cos only my stomach big, others still same..
At the same time i had ppl asking if i am 5 mths pregnant already..

Karen
I'm 15weeks Liao le and seems to subside a lot. Not so much nausea as I realised not so bad during the night time already. But still tired though taking of the small one

Week 14 and though subsided but nausea is still around!
don't feel like doing anything at all

Had a colleague who asked if I was 5 months preggie too!

I'm currently 16+ wks, EDD 7 Mar 2013. My first baby after trying for nearly 4 years with hubby so very excited and also a bit lost.

Berrydelight - can you add me to the fb list? My email is [email protected]. Cheers

Tks Jeremy. Actually I feel v old here. FTM at 35. Sigh... Hahaa...

Mommies, I'm still having some nauseau like alternate days and tummy quite small even at 16.5 wks, can't tell at all when I'm clothed. Seems like a lot of mommies here tummy noticeable pretty early. Hmmm... Is this cos this is my first?

Hi all, I am thinking change of gynae. Kinda pissed off with my current gynae! Had my checkup last Saturday.

Asked him questions like, "why my feet pain every morning?" His answer, " cos pregnant loh. just take a pillow and raise up your feet, u will feel better."

Also ask him what's my baby weight? He replied, "It's gram."

Worse when it comes to this question. I ask him if I will be given "Omega, DHA?" Show him a box of medicine my fellow preggy colleague passed to me. He replied, "U believe meh? U believe u take loh. But u take the risk hor. U think Lee Kuan Yew's mother got take DHA meh?" Very pissed with his answer.

Check with my friend since she recommend me this gynae. She say he is like that de. Very "ah beng gynae", but he is very good in decision making. Hmm..

I am seriously thinking of changing gynae. Get so pissed off with his answer! =(((( But i have to say his pricing very affordable. Average about $120 for each checkup. And moreover i have been visiting him since the first time i found out about my pregnancy.

Wat do you all think?

Hi Karen,
Seems like you had visited him a couple of times already. Was it only the last one where he responded in that manner?
Mind sharing which Gynae too?
If a gynae doesnt make you feel good, I wouldn't use him. At least I would say so to my wife.

Hi Kris, congrats to your lill life!! its never too late so long as you're not 40. hheheh!! each pregnancy is different, so doesnt matter if youre expecting #1 or #4.. heheh! im having #2, but tummy smaller den previous. so just hack care la.. continue to wear my jeans while i can. hehhe!

karen, well... depends how comfortable you are, doesnt sound you are to me. so just sack him off. but his answers seems funny and realistic to me la.. hahha! my #1 gynae also v bo chap one, i live w it. n stay throughout w him. but for current, decided to change cos we found another gynae near my house and the waiting time is not tat disaterous. :p