(2013/02) March 2013

hope all of you girls are feeling better today. i'm really looking forward to the end of the first trimester. right now, i really can't stand the smell of people cooking - especially chicken or anything garlic-y. and i'm starting to develop aversions towards certain individuals, like i can't stand seeing their faces.

also, i'm really starting to feel like short of breath. i've been breathing in and out consciously.

oh! question!
do you ladies know if it's advisable to rub balm on your tummy? i've been doing that a lot cos of the nausea and all the air in my body. not sure if that's detrimental for the baby

wishy: it was easier for me to want to endure thinking about bb during pregnancy with #1. with #2 i find it tougher since time with #1 is also compromised.

cherry sue,
it is not advisable to rub balm on tummy coz some chemicals that r unsuitable during pregnancy can be absorbed into the skin.
i recommend using clarin huile tonic oil. it is for pregnancy stretchmarks and the smell is also very soothing.. i used it during my first pregnancy and found the smell thereupathic.. but this time havent buy yet.. buy at chinatown or those lucky plaza beauty shops or even airport DFS is much cheaper than over the counter.

i also tell myself that having gone through #1, #2 will be easier.. but it is really much tougher!!!

moreover, everyone around me expects me to b able to take it better since its my second pregancy.. but then.. all the ms and everything is still the same!!!
i have been putting #1 at my mum's place on a few weekday nights and i feel really very sad to have to do that.. but i just can't take it.. with all the queasiness and dizziness and having to cook, feed, bathe, put #1 to zzz and soothe her at night and bring her over to my mum in the morning at 7 before i go to work..

mummies who are having #3, how do u cope when u had ur #2?

on the bright side, i m going for my check-up later after work!!!! should be 7 or 8th week now so if all is fine, i should be able to see my twinkle twinkle little star heartbeat!!!!!! :D

my #1 is 6yo and #2 is 2yo.
lucky that #1 can self entertain with the books/TV/PC but #2 will insist to stay beside me when i do housework or rest on bed.

nana-mum,

i know what you mean! it's like so many people expect me to be able to handle myself better. but MS is MS. and like, i wish i do not have MS so that i'm able to do just that. unfortunately, that is not the case.

From what i read previously, do not anyhow rub balm or use those medicated plasters during your pregnancy. Also try to avoid sweets with artifical sweetners.... forgot the term for the ingredients.

ya.. yest my back was aching and i wanted to put tiger balm plaster....... but the instructions say must seek gyane advice for preggies... sianz

I agree with Nana that Clarin's stretch marks stuff are good. I applied like 5 tubes of the stretch mark cream for #1 but still ended up with stretch marks but I think if never apply might have been worst. The oil smells nice. I may try the oil this time around as I used it for post natal massage and it smelt good. I chose it in place of the oiil that the massage lady brought along cos it was really medicinal and stinky. =P Items can be obtained from beauty language or chinatown stores.

lovebyte,

5 tubes? so many ?

i think i only used 1 bottle of bio oil and another half bottle of organic stretch mark oil.

Sunflower: I apply every night from 3 months onwards. =) Yeah used 5 tubes.

I thought Bio-Oil is for scar removal/lightening. Can we use this if we are pregnant? What are the chemicals that assist the whitening of the scars/stretch marks? Safe for baby?

Palmer's Cocoa Butter was very thick for me and when I smell it I felt like puking so I gave it away after using 1-2 times.

Clarins Oil I think about $60-70
Clarins Stretch Mark Cream $80 from clarins counter. $60+ if u got friends to buy for you from France.
Clarins Cream easier to apply and smells nicer I feel.

hahha. my colleague gave some cherries to me. i actually felt PURE BLISS!!!!! am eating them now. omg. sooo sooo happy. haha. i cannot quite explain why i'm feeling this way. but cherries make me so happy!

Lovebyte:Bio oil is safe to use fr 2nd trim onwards, thats wat it says on the box, i bought one, ve not used yet.
I also bought the Clarins stretch mark cream... Very ks.. Heh.

Wah mummies super feel terrible this week puke la cold la fever la ;(
Went for a scan yesterday doc still can't find feteus pole... Hmmmm
Keeping hands legs all cross

Hi im new here. my baby due at 18 March!!

but i got a problem, i got amber/brown discharge earlier on and have to go toilet to put panty liner. this is my 3rd pregnancy. 1st one miscarriage has to do D&C and 2nd one is a boy. now im pretty worried. and tomorrow gg for scan to check up. alamak

hi mommies does anyone of you feel thirsty the whole day but cant make yourself drink any water due to MS ? thks

i also think clarins too exp, so decided to use bio-oil..but then i read that bio oil has richness in Vit E which is not gd for baby..i used liao then noticed that, but gynae say bio-oil is safe... but i ended up switch to organic ones...

Lovebytes,
ya its safe..i applied twice a day wor..maybe oil can apply more coverage? thats why only use one bottle.

Lynn,
he is quite funny , but my last visit with him, i find he was too busy, rushing through the consultation. when gynaes gets busy, they are always like that

Yen,

im very thirsty all the time, but hates to drink plain water cos its an enemy to my bloatedness, will cause me nausea. so i ended up with sweet drinks like milo and sometimes fruit juices.

thks Sunflower, yes but sweet drinks also cause me nausea .... hecks

Clarins stretch mark oil is good as with my previous pregnancy I used only 1.5 bottles as it can last a long way.

Yen,
yes! i cant drink water and sweet stuff that much. i will feel like puking. haha..

i drink apple juices and grapes juices and a bit cold stuff to make myself feel better

happymum, dun worry! maybe just the baby being shy and all. or maybe it's just too early. next check will definitely be good :)

sunflower, when i visited him yesterday he was rushing thru also. didn't read thru my history thou all my history is at kkh after much feeding of info then he decide to refer to the history. but at least we know short consultation = we are well!

sbb, i think it's normal to have some brown discharge. i also have them on and off. but if it's get fresh red or too much, maybe you wanna go and visit a gynae asap to get cbeck especially when your history.

Lynn,
ya he asked the same qns over and over again, never read my history..but its ok lar, bb healthy can liao haha..

sbb, take care

Ladies, I have a brand new 900g tin of Similac Mum (expires Mar 2014) to let go at only $20 (Usual price $28.50).
Also have 1 milk satchet to let go at only $4 (Usual price $8.70).
Pls PM me if u're interested. Thks!

Went for my 2nd visit today, after 3wks of not knowing what's going on inside, such a relief to know that baby is well n got to hear the heartbeat too.

Next visit 3weeks fr now, week 12, which is also my appt for oscars.

Hi mummies.
I have bought bio oil but can only use in second trimester
Using palmers now.
Sometimes i feel itchy around tummy area.
Not sure if skin is stretching?
Mysis use bio oil and she claims it's v effective.

Sunflower / Lynn
Ya, tomorrow going for a scan.
Later going to toile to check if there’s any more brown discharges.
Today to me it’s a lot.
Previously its only like 50 cents that’s all but this time it keeps on coming.

Hi, I'm a second time mum, my EDD is supposedly 1 Mar 2013, but had been varying between 28Feb-2Mar 2013! :p Can I join u? :p

sbb: Brown discharge is no good~ i actually have some light brown discharge on sat.. and it is only a few drop... told my gynae during checkup last night, he immediately put me on medication.... better see your gynae asap~~~

I had a little red spotting last week, queued 3 hours at KKH O&G 24 hours clinic. Doctor say very mild only, gave me Progesterone and said very little bleeding is ok during First Tri. After that little bit, I had no more spotting, then yesterday started having brown sticky discharge. I think it's old blood from the initial spotting, so I din go back to the Dr. I hope it's ok too!

Pootz,
Last 2 weeks ago I had a very mild spotting about50cents. Than Alamak... A bit regret go kkh cos the Indian doc her boobs very big, than accidentally bump the vaginal scan stick deeper. Oh god

welcome all! i think if there is any brown discharge, it is spotting and you should go see the gynae so that they can give you the proper medications / jabs.

my stomach is super big lah... but have not started on stretch oil yet! not sure which brand so will start after week 12.

I've been craving for lemon tea. And been drinking that for quite a while. Is it ok?

Started using palmers stretch mark cream alr
Cos i feel tummy itchy and slight bulging.

Sbb

Are u on progrestrone jab or med? Ask for duphaston or utrogen if u tend to spot. If still no effect, take poluton jab, very effective. Ur progesterone level suffers a drop, could be the reason for spotting. Take care

Ssb ;) I feel you... Me same situation plus got no heart beat.. But nvm we cross the bridge as we reach..
I was given pills n it made my ms horrible plus now I fever n flu ....
My hubby look at me can't help but hug and say poor thing ;)

SBB, I was having spotting for 3 weeks before i realized i was preg and see a gynea. After gynea check, he gave me 5 days MC to rest on bed and some med... now no more spotting.. gynea say must not treat spotting lightly... so better consult your gynea soon.

Hope you get over it soon.

Morning Mummies,
Tummy I feel starting to bulge already and its starting to feel itchy. I think its time to put cream or moisturiser. Itchiness is because of the stretching of the skin I think.

Sunflower,
I was on duphaston for almost 2 weeks. Last time go kk the doc gave me for 2 weeks.

Now at clinic waiting for doc to arrive than see him lor. Sian...

Happymum,
My first one is heart beat stop so I got to be careful for this 3rd one. My 2nd one, I only felt nauseous but terrible ones but rest of symptoms don have till gave birth.

Wishy,
I didn't let ppl know I'm pregnant yet. Maybe I should get my doc to give me 5days Mc. Ha...

Tummy bulging
I got big tummy now. Ha.. don know how long I can hide. Luckily just got my increment.

Went for my 1st scan yest. Was supposed to be 6 weeks but only managed to see the yolk. Doc said i might haf ovulated late so must go back in 2 weeks for scan again.
I shd haf known too early but when i told the nurse my last period date she told me to come in yeat. Shd haf waited for awhile. Now feel uneasy without seeing the hb.

Hope everyone is doing well!

blurbabe,

i think we both counted wrongly..we thought we were 11th week, but we are supposed to be week 10+ right? haha very blur.

Good morning mummies,

Remember to drink more water. It seems that there's a flu and cough bug going around now.

I've yet to see the HB. Going to gynae this friday. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Sunflower, ya! Yaya... counted wrongly. My 11th week starts tomorrow. Realy blur le. Ur MS better liao? My vomiting stops liao. Now feel nausea only.