(2013/01) Jan 2013

ya lor.. me still haven't start my 'engine' yet.. wash partial baby clothes.. but the weather these few days is like crap!!

hmm Averie.. Can the comfortgel become hot? Not to scare you but BF for the first 2 weeks is nightmare & it's when pple tend to give up!
I would prefer using HOT gel pads to clear government instead than cool pads. Cool pads tend to reduce milk supply wor! NOt 100% sure but HOt pads are better.. for better milk flow and relieve of engorgement!

Averie,
Many nurses/lactation consultants recommend to use cold cabbage leaves (yep, the normal cabbage we can buy from market, chill in the fridge) and use that to sooth the pain. I have not tried personally but heard from friends that it works well. Cheap and cooling.

Averie,
I didn't get any gel pad thing. I used avent breast shells to protect the nipples from abrasion while I had engorgement in the first few days. It keeps a cushion of air ard your breasts and nipples. It's a lifesaver! Cos you don't want ANYTHING to come into contact with your sore abused nipples while you are trying to get the hang of breast feeding.

Averie: like wat bdmummy said.. Cool cabbage.. I oso never try coz i didnt get engorgement. Coz quite hardworking in latching bb tat time.. If u feel its starting to get full, n bb still nt hungry than u pump.. B4 engorgement can take place. Actualli if u get the latching technique rite, it's actualli nt a torture la.. My frenz oso gave up in 1st 2wks and kept asking me how i managed to pull through.. I tink its the technique coz they had sore nipples and they couldnt take it. Nt onli tat, they nt very hardworking on the night feeds.. So engorgement occured and they couldnt take it.. So get the technique right when u're in hosp and all will go well!! Gd luck!!!

any second time mummy feeling emo?
I cant sleep this time and suddenly feel so sad.. cos scare my #1 being neglect
and this time he really a bit only will be sad... is he feeling the same as me?

Cheese: mayb he can feel ur sadness? Tink positive n be happy!! Nt onli will bb be happy, ur boy will be happy too!! If reli emo, mayb eating foods u love can help? Recently crave for chocs n told hubby to buy kinder bueno.. Eat liao soooo happy!! Hehe!!

Averie : no need to get that first as you will not be sure that you will get any engorgement. I didn't have any during my #1. My boobs are huge so lotsa people thought that i will kenna. But thank goodness it had never happened to me. Like what moonchip has mentioned, you can use a warm towel to ease the pain instead.

Cheese :I am not that emo, just feel extremely tired and couldn't sleep. And #1 has been super manja after his fever last week. We reckon he knows that Di Di is coming out soon and he is now displaying his last burst of manja-ness! He has told us he is sad as he is afraid that we will not love him after Di Di is out. Hubby & I have been assuring him since day 1 and we have been emphasizing it to him that we will love him as much as we do now. And moreover he has one more person to love him when Di Di is out. Hopefully he can get over it slowly. We have also told MIL & my mom NOT to display any favourilism when #2 is out eg. Di Di is younger, then Gor Gor must give in etc.

cheese : don't think too much if not will affect yourself. Try to relax and concentrate on the delivery in a few days' time. Jia You!!!!

cheese > me me! been having roller coaster moods since beginning of third tri.. sometimes, very emo till totally no appetite. worst, at times, #1 doesnt want me.. i feel rejected. :'(

think ur boy can feel ur sadness.. if possible, take leave to spend more time with ur boy before #2 comes out?

canopy > is ur boy also worried about getting lesser attention? reckon when #2 is out, #2 will get most or slightly more attention from the adults?

sometimes, i feel so so tired but just cant sleep. then realise, it is because I am hungry! sometimes, i am worried about what comes after birth, i.e. how long it takes before i get into routine, will #2 be as hard to care for as #1?

I have yet to get anything done for #2's arrival.
aiyoooo...

moonchip : i guess so, as he has been having all the attention for the past 3yrs! But hubby & i have already stressed that to all relatives esp. MIL that no special attention to be given to #2, must treat both of them equally. U know la, old folks will tend to say 你是哥哥,应该让弟弟!But both hubby & I don't practice that, as we think that it is very imposing and will affect the development of the child by cosing him to be resentful later on.

canopy > i see... ya, must be equal to both..

mummies, anyone know where to get mattress protector for bb cot? i only know west coast plaza has it.. but lazy to go down there just to get the protector :p

my boy recently will stand at a side and cry softly..
he is 2 years old, and he know that there's a mei mei inside me, but I wonder
how much he know about it..

Suddenly mood swing.. this two days dont know if he is in bad mood or what, dont wanna go
school and cling to me like polar bear.. i cannot bring him go school if not I will be late.. and my
hubby just grab him like that.. i feel so sad..

maybe he knows that mei mei is arriving soon and he feels insecure.. spend more time with him for now..

there is a carters sales coming up. location is near safra tampines. address :

43 Tampines St 92.
14-15 Dec. (fri and sat)
10am-7pm.
cash only.

moonchip : i bought the mattress protector from Kiddy palace @ Toa Payoh.

Cheese : mine oso, don't want to go to school since recovered from his fever last week. Will roll on the floor, or make a big fuss or cry when we r about to leave. I am almost late everyday, but luckily my job is flexible.
I thnk it is the passing phrase; should be ok when we delivered.

moonchip : i just called Kiddy palace @ Jurong Point, the price range is from 29.90 to 36.90. They have stock there. If u have their membership got 10% discount.

moonchip : don't mention la. U stay in the west>? I go to IMM for gorcery shopping. Long time never been to jurong point, i think at least 5yrs!!! Too crowded there & carpark always full.

Averie > I had quite bad engorgement for #1 cos' I couldn't latch, only pumped. So I did use cabbage leaves to soothe it cos' it was quite bad till I was running a fever. But can only use sparingly cos' like what the other mummies say, it will reduce supply. Once ok and my pump routine was established, I used hot towel etc to clear blocked ducts. I had quite a lot of supply so got blocked ducts very frequently. No need for those cooling/heating pad. What I found was most effective is to put hot water in our baby's milk bottle and just roll it over your breast. The hot water bottle can maintain heat quite well.

Aniwae to new mummies just to share, I was initially very upset I couldn't latch cos' after all I read and heard, i thought it was supposed to come naturally. But somehow me and #1 just could not master it and he kept crying. Had to resort to exclusive pumping instead which was very tiring cos' of all the washing, sterilizing. But at the end of the day, I got used to it and I still felt happy that baby was drinking breastmilk for 1 whole year.

canopy > yup.. i live in the west.. within wallking distance to JP. ya, very crowded.. so i try to do grocery shopping at NTUC earlier..

Moonchip

Hurray!! I waiting for the carter warehouse sales leh!! was searching high & low for news on it!

3 for $10!! LOL!!!!
& every day different designs. alot of cute gal clothings, so this time I can save abit unless they hv big sizes Kekeke!!!

must make a date with it!! :p

but why this time 2 days only? last time 3 days leh. :p

Moonchip

it's my yearly event. LOL!!!

There was a year they din have as carter distributionship was taken up. so sad then. but luckily they continue yearly.

Tres, that's for sooth sore nipple after bf only. hot pack is for before bf but then I think just pour hot water and use towel sock and do hot compress instead. I am more worry about sore nipple. Which some said baby will suck until it chaf or bleed so I thought should standby some nipple cream and also cold pad to apply on the nipple

Julie & Moonchip

yes, Carter's clothings & Okosh B'kosh clothings.

3 for $10 . unless is pj is 2 set at $10

there are 5 pcs romper sets, blanket, pants, romper, 1 pieces, top, PJ, winter jackets,etc,etc.

long sleeves, short sleeves.

Okosh slightly higher in price as material is thicker.

Julie

LOL LOL!!! coz I waiting for this as yearly event. The girl's clothings super cute!!!

& plus material is very good so I will buy to stock up.

I bought one & found in dept store selling $26.90!

Anyway just to share... this is one of the co who manufacture for carters & okosh, so they are clearing spare for next year's productions. that's why can clear so cheap as they just want to clear space and get back some material cost.
Known as over run stock or 尾货.

thank you to all for the advice... hopefully, we all will have smooth delivery, babies will be healthy and that we have bf easily...

Julie

LOL!!! can can. I already set my budget when I go over to buy. If nt, like some frds of mine... like buying the whole co down!! LOL!!!

REM TO BRING CASH!!!

ctrus > can go there in morning.. since they open at 10am.. bet there be long Q before 10am.. ppl will Q up to go in and GRAB GRAB GRAB..

Moonchip

yes , u see ppl take a few super big plastic bags which will be given n dump dump dump!!
but new stock coming in constantly, so dun hv to worry.

I set budget before going in, so I control my spending. But I now some frds bought like $500 - $1000 worth of clothings n became santa claus leaving the premises. LOL!!

Just back from lunch. KFC again! Went to Raffles City to do some last min Xmas shopping. Intend to give out to my colleagues before i go on leave next fri.

Sylvia,
Any idea if we go ard 1pm on friday anything left? This kind of sales usually need to be there first. But seems like could have plenty of stock from what you describe.

Tempting....but I've a huge stock pile of clothes for my girls already.

Julie

it's inside industrial area. it's a building by itself. their whole production, warehouse & office in the whole building but they only open up the lobby & carpark area to place all the items there.

OH !!! before I forgot.. sometimes got adult clothings, PJ too. v cheap too.

LM
stock kept replenish so dun hv to worry. Once they see empty space, they will add new items in.
there was once my frd went all 3 days and find all new designs and sizes each time!

Carters sale...should i go? So tempting. I have so much hand me downs already!!

And I am so sleepy! The only thing keeping me awake is the discomfort from the baby squirming and wriggling in my tummy. Must be the caffeine from the coffee i am having now...

Just signed up for CordLife this morning.. They have a discount for repeat custormer.