(2013/01) Jan 2013

Chin: guess u gotta do everything slowly.. Mayb u spoke too fast so breathless lor.. I now do things at a super slow rate.. Esp walking.. Haha!!

really? can only drink the small coconuts? read different places got different saying.. so thot coconut, then can drink.. :p

Julie/snow : i oso feeling the pain @ my lower back near the spine. Especially when getting out of my bed. These days hubby not around to help me as he is sleeping in #1's room with #1, he will come over to sleep with me when #1 is more settled down. I was walking super slowly when i walked from Fullerton Bay Hotel to my office @ Raffles Place after lunch. It took me more than 10mins!!!!

Coconut
Like snow, i will probably drink around 36wk.

Snow : My helper has finished washing half of the bb clothes, #2's playpen is delivered but yet to setup as hubby doesn't want #1 to feel he is being neglected and didi's playpen is replacing his baby cot since we have moved his cot to his own room.

Been busy these days as #1's birthday is this saturday, will be having a small celebration with family @home.

My in-laws are very good are keeping old things too. The storeroom, cupboards and drawers are all full of rubbish. The storeroom cannot step in, can only see the items from outside. If want to take sth, you must remove the things inside first. They also like to keep takeaway containers (various sizes).

Any mummies got difficulties cutting their toe nails now? I do!! Jz went to do pedicure during lunch (no colouring bcos hubby forbids) .

I rmb prev got 1 mtb asked abt brazilian waxing. Usually can last how long? I wanna do but probably in late Dec so that can last longer right? My EDD is 17 Jan.

Re: Constipation.
I have constipation. Gynae prescribed me Senokot. Initially took 2 pills but no effect on me. Then gynae said can increase to 4 pills. Finally is working on me. It is easily available and cheaper ($6.90 for 60 pills) at Unity/Watson. Gynae is charging $8 for 20 pills

Julie, your diarrhoea seems like many days already. Did doctor give you any medication? I had mild diarrhoea last wk after eating overnight durian, luckily after 3 toilet runs, recovered.

Snowger, lol... I can imagine my big tummy blocking the way now to stretch with your method too. I do think stretching helped with my pain a little.

Canopyhaze, wah so good, you have so much privacy at your office, can do stretching?! I've not started coconut water, intend to start in wk 36 & once a wk.

Sunny, I will have backache if I forget to wear my belly support belt. It's the weight of our belly causing the backache ... Talking about sleeping position, do you mean all along you don't sleep on your side?

Aspialle, do you bring your boy to visit in-laws/your parents? I guess you do need your own time now & then. If your son likes grandparents & when they are free, perhaps they can help take care of your son few hours while you have your free time?

Sunny: Probably u can use baby oil. Attended the antenatal class, the physiotherapist said can use baby oil. So we bought it and give each other massage using it.

ahh, i only use the Clarins oil to massage. I'm sleep on my side, just that my back was so sng last night that i tot it was a good idea to lie flat on bed with a pillow prop up. god knows, its a disaster!!!

thereafter the breaking of bones sounds, i lie on the side and support with pillows..and the condition did not worsen.

in addition to the backaches, are u gals getting gastric back flow or having that heart burn sensation?

Sunny: According to babycentre
"...Experts generally recommend sleeping on your side (especially the left side) during pregnancy as it maximises the blood supply to your baby. Sleeping on your side also positions your kidneys to expel body waste and fluids more efficiently and thus reduces swelling, if any, on your ankles, feet, and hands.

However, you need to avoid sleeping on your back in the later stages of pregnancy as this position pushes the weight of the uterus on the back. This can lead to backaches, haemorrhoids and even low blood pressure. If you face problems such as shortness of breath or acidity, especially in the third trimester, propping yourself up with pillows may be helpful.

Read more: http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/isitsafeto/sleep-on-stomach-expert/#ixzz2DJd2QMQG"

back from meeting, now going to pantry to take some biscuits to munch! Cham, definitely will gain weight!!!!

Snow : when is your next visit? Mine is 03Ddec.

Re: Preparation
I'm abit slow too. After seeing Friends photo on hospital bag, then I got motivated & washed a few pcs of newborn clothings & wrap blankets. Gotta go & buy bb's presents for siblings by this weekend. Good part is, I've more or less prepared the herbs for red dates drink & soups. And mum just harvested the first batch of 5 bottles rice wine.

Bliss, there's still time for my mum to make more rice wine as it takes 1 mth, so if you haven't gotten yours, can let me know how many bottles you want to order already.

Yea, the posture, i read before as well. but sighz.. hopefully i will have a better night today.

icic.. i told my gyn and was given gaviscon to relief. it helps and u can get it fr major pharmacy too

Hi Piscean33,

can share more about the soups that you will be drinking and also the rice wine? is it a must during confinement? Thanks!

canopyhaze, my next one oso 3 Dec- the much later slot at about 12 I think. My sis is also seeing Dr Tseng that day for TTC.
so might miss seeing u. Urs is early morning right?

sunny, me lor I have heartburn... Very jia lat ones. My whole throat can burn the entire evening, afternoon... I read that if eat too full will also have this "effect".

piscean, yah. It does help us by doing some light streches. Let me check which are suitable for us preggy gals and I will post back here. Usually I don't get back aches. But recently I notice that my down south will be sore when I stand up and walk. e.g. I wake up in the morning, then i feel "tummy very light and soft". After standing up, my tummy starts getting hard and my mei mei gets sore. Like something pressing down, so its numb and sore... LOLZ...

ctrus, brazillian can last up to a month. If you wan super clean (then usually is first 1 to 2 weeks). Depends on how fast ur hair there grow la. ;p For mummies who want less pain, doing it every 4 weeks will minimise "pain" when they remove the hair. partly because the hair roots are not so deep (i think).

Canopy, my mother is helping me get the herbs. In fact she bought 2 boxes of korean ginseng for me liao. From this Lotte shop at Changi Airport (inside the DFS area). she says is cheaper than outside (dunno true or not)>

siewz, rice wine is not a super must. In the alternative, there is ginger wine. Tonic soups on the other hand are a must to bu the body (such as ba zhen soup, shi quan da bu tang). Other soups that you drink are for the purpose of lactation (papaya fish soup, black bean pork rib soup, etc).

Gosh
It must be age catching up or just pregnancy. We went out early morning to buy some bb stuff, then to lunch. By the time I reached home, I felt I've been rolled over by steam roller... Tired!

Lucky the two were playing nicely on their own and I had a good hour nap....

Aspialle, slyvia
Let's meet for high tea! Eh with or without kids?

Maid
Now I'm wavering, should I get a maid?

Canopy, for your son, also your MIL prepared herbs for you? First time, I didn't prepare, and so confinement lady also didn't brew tonic soups for me. 2nd time, I didn't research so didn't prepare also. This time closing shop so want to have more tonic soup to strengthen my body.

Piscean33 yes normally on sun for lunch, with hubby as in law stay in west and I stay in east. He will refuse either side to "look after" him without me around, same if
I put him at my mum's home... Will be anxious even if I go downstairs without him.

Last time when I'm working, he is used to it, but after I stopped work, he does not want me out of his sight.

Ctrus: i do cutting of nails wif my legs wide open lor. Very ugly bt no choice.. N don hav the habit of mani/pedi oso...

Piscean: diarrhoea since fri lor.. Now in toilet again.. Guess wont be able to eat any dinner later.. No appetite. Juz now lunch oso like forcing myself to eat..

Sunny: u still can slp on ur back ah? I totally cannot.. Will feel breathless. Even turning fm side to side oso have difficulty. So unless there's reli a need, if nt i'd be in same position all the way.

Snowger: my tummy is never light n soft when wake up. Forever hard n bloated when wake up. Haha!!

Ok, time to go knock off work!!

siewz, ginger wine can get from EYS (this one I can confirm). Rice wine (referred by some of the gals here) are traditionally home made by the older generation (like mother in law, grandmothers, aunts, etc). But some MTBs do not have relatives who make them so they ask their Malaysian CL to bring in from Malaysia. My MIL told me that NTUC got sell this one called 三蒸白米酒.

Full house , if u wan to get a maid be mentally prepared cos diff nationalities u will have diff sets of prob. However, at least sometimes an have two person time with hubby if really need to... Someone to do hse work n u can spend more time with ur child... Pros and cons

Snow: my appt was 9am initially but the clinic called last Fri to request to change to 9.40am as Dr tseng has scheduled a last min c-sec for one of his patients. Mil bought for my cordecepts and ginseng and my mom bought me bird nest and dang gui. That's all I think.

Piscean: yes; both my mom n mil bought the herbs and necessary stuffs for me during confinement for #1. And hubby's aunties also buy me stuffs if anything short. Anxiety my cl also told my mil what to buy as well.

Julie
Try avoiding any diary products for now, drink plenty of water. Try to eat a little green bean soup (can't take a lot as its cooling) it helps to get rid of impurities

<font color="119911">Julie, ya... Envy LS than constipate.
As backside will also pain with constipation... Maybe even more pain!
Maybe because I got huge piles?

ctrus, wah! Such a huge price difference for that Senokot?
I can't cut my nails since last month! </font>

canopy, so hiong uh! powerfailure!
u cannot climb stairs so u btr wait... Mine is at noon so most likely no see u le. Will u be scanning? I was thinking whether to scan or not... haha

Fullhouse, I got a helper recently. Just arrived fresh from oven (first time in SG). Good thing is she quite auto la (partly cos I gave her a time table of what to needs to be done). But because she first time, got language problem. So really is one duck and one chicken. Best part is dunno if she understand or not - she will will only say "yes sir/mdm", "thank you mdm" and "sorry sir/mdm". lolz. Tell her anything, she will surely say "yes yes" but wonder if she knows what she is saying "yes" to. :p

LittleDragonGirl: Totally agree! The pain in the ass is irritating. Rather have LS too. I alwz come out a happier person when I finally clear my bowel.

I suspect the fish oil that we usually buy from gynae is cheaper outside too. Usually when replenishing supplements, will buy tgt. Hence didnt compare the prices.

ctrus, I know my DHA outside don't sell... Only Neurogain is being sold at pharmacy. Obimin - pharmacy confirm have.
But i never check. Just buy from Gynae clinic... hahah

Siewz, rice wine to me is for the fragrance. I love rice wine chicken, it always increases my appetite. Usually when I cook I don't add so much ginger. During confinement though, more ginger will be used. However, I think this is an acquired taste, some people don't really fancy rice wine stuff... Like what Snowger mentioned, those are the few main tonic soups, there are other soups like du zhong bu yao tang, cordyceps soup, etc.
Will you be having confinement lady? If have, once you have the packets of herbs, she should know how to brew the soup. I bought a confinement cookbook with very delicious recipes, if you want to buy, I'll check the title of that book &amp; let you know.
Rice wine, someome mentioned can get from provision shops but usually need to order first. Ginger wine, I bought the Wincarins Ginger Wine from DFS. Saw major supermarkets selling too.

Canopy, that's nice that your MIL &amp; mum prepared for you. Then you can just relax &amp; prepare other stuff. ;)

Constipation,
Mememe!! I'm taking lactulose for it but its not working very well. The feeling of being all stopped up is argghh!

Snowger,
I'm taking liquid gaviscon for heartburn. Tastes quite bad but it works fast. Carbo just before sleeping makes it worse. There was once I had cup noodles before bed and I was up for almost 2 hrs with heartburn.

Supplements,
I tried buying my own fish oil calcium pills etc during first trimester and they were indeed cheaper, but too big for me to swallow! Kept gagging on them. So after that I just buy from the gynae. :p

Canopy: oh no!! R u still stuck???

Aspialle: i been drinking the maternity milk bt didnt drink for the past few days since thurs i tink. Bt drank yest. U tink shd stop??

Littledragongirl: both constipation n LS will backside pain.. Bt LS tummy keep churning leh... So uncomfy.. Bt nt so bad already coz today onli 3 times in toilet.. Hopefully it stays tat way.

Ctrus: confirm buy fm outside cheaper coz clinics sure mark up price 1.. Bt i taking neurogain which i never c outside leh.. N oso lazy la.. Buy fm clinic can liao la..

Julie yes, shld stop milk till u got no more diarrhea. For me I can't take normal milk, I'm lactose intolerant... Last time no 1 I take anmum , ok no prob but duno y this time whenever I take also diarrhea...

piscean33, i'm not getting any confinement lady. my mum will be cooking for me.. so just wanted to get the stuff ready for her.

so taking ginger is equivalent to taking ginger wine?
greatly appreciate it if you could help me check the title of your book.

julie, yes you u stop milk for now. the last time i had diarrhea, my gynae asked me to stop taking milk too.
take care!

Siewz, my mum said home made confinement rice wine can help to promote good blood circulation. For me, I take it because of the taste. Even when normal days, I will on and off request my mum to cook it. For those herbal soups to 'bu', just drop by any traditional Chinese medical hall and tell them to pack for u a few types for your confinement... U just need to pour the herbs in the slow cooker and boil with the required amt of water and meat.

Aspialle, siewz: opps!!! I forgot tell hubby and he made the maternity milk for me.. Coz everytime he will make milk for me and i'll make milk for #1. C if tmr still gt diarrhoea, if so than i stop. Wah.. I tink reli need stop. Coz now stomach suddenly gt the churning feeling.. Oh no!!!!

My mum will be the 1 buying the herbs as she did for my #1.. Bt tat time she had the help of my grandma.. Coz she oso know abit onli.. Grandma was her guide. Haha!! Coz call me buy i oso dono wat to buy. I onli provide the $$..

Hi all.. I m new here. Hahaa.. I m a super relax mum who is expecting my first child on 31-01-2013. Haven't buy anything or read up.. Juz taking each day as it is.. Hahaa.. Pla tell me wat I need to buy and make me anxious for e delivery.. Hahaa...

Siewz, welcome! My rice wine is home made by my auntie but she not interested to sell to outsiders leh. Shice bought hers from those old provision shop in the market.

Julie

oh.... the picking up , i think alot of old ppl hv this prob. if their eyes catch items, they will bring home.

Eh... diarrhea due to supplement? or too heaty? Coz most mums pu too much might hv. drink more water! u take care!

Constipation
anyone tried the fibre pills? Prune juice? Red dragon fruit which is v good for constipation ( must be red! white too cooling for preg mums)

siewz, ya, buy from old provision shops in the wet markets. they hv contacts, but must give advance notice as sometimes they need to prep for u.

Friends, tks for ur recipe!

aspialle ,
go toilet n teach sex education as in u r girl girl, he's boy boy? that's wat I taught when young though. :p

I hv to bring my kid ard as no one to take care &amp; that's y SAHM. Hahahaha!!

snowger

if helper auto is good, but everything yes yes is a big ????

LOL

think u better write down some malay words to confirm she understand. if nt, later hectic!

Pawzzz

I also agreed with other mums. This is a sharing on our experience and knowledge. Everyone is open to choose what they prefer.

we are also sharing what we had experience and what are the uncertainties. We are not here just to achieve our birth plan as there are always unforseen circumstances.

For all who went thru, it's nt just pain. Our priority is safety &amp; healthy for both mums &amp; babies, process might be just secondary. Most Gynae &amp; caregivers have good word of mouth recommendation &amp; professional &amp; practical support n knowledge to assist in our decision, or due to $$ budget, all these are our decision too. So pls dun leave such a long post as we dun need.

Like what snowger suggested, U shld go start a thread on ' why is it good for doula" etc. It will also help you in getting ur requirements of witnessing 3 birth. Anyone keen will pm u there.

Don't keep stalking on the posts in all the forums too. There are for sharing purposes for all mums to be.