(2013/01) Jan 2013

I also wake up every night to pee ... Still doing my sugar blood test which is so irritating... Till 9 nov when I next see gynae, haiz I really dun feel like cutting down diet leh. Last time keep cutting so my son only 3.24 kg when he was born.

bliss > haha.. like us, hubby will too think their mummies are the best.. wonder if u can convince MIL not to quit her job.. then u can have ur mom take care??
aiyo, just pump and leave milk, how to bond??

sylvia > ok, thanks for info.

nickole > should still have it. but it is a booklet, quite a few pages. need to go home and search. can i give u the scanned copy somewhere mid nov??

i did. i drank abt 2L in the day. but apologies for being gross my PU is still yellowish. guess, i need more than 2L??

And yes, i do need to wake up in the middle of the night to pee too... but not as often during my 2nd trimester though

julie, yah. I will usually try to check price first or ask around before confirming the purchase. Cos online sometimes sell things are not really cheap. I have seen a thread selling those comb use to cut baby hair one - I got one from Daiso at $2 and the mummy online was selling at $6... Oh well...

Dragontail, there's one oredi.. send ur fb request to snowger.. haha..

Pocketpig, u can call and ask what the last class will be teaching.. cos for Mount A, the last class is abt how to enjoy sex life even after birth.. haha..

aspialle, 3.24kg is quite a good size I feel - beats my gal's 2.64kg... I am hoping my gal this round will hit 3kg (bo bi bo bi)

Sunny, PU can be yellowish due to the multi vits that we take. If u do walk ard a lot or is outdoor most times, more than 2L is needed.

right, thanks snowger.

i kept thinking that im not drinking enough and kept loading myself wif fluids, ended up a bloating n puffy-ness feeling...

ehz.. regarding the next outing..

can i suggest to have the outing on a weekend? then perhaps, we can get our hubby and children to join too.. wouldn't it be more fun??

Aspialle: ya. 3.24kg nt bad liao.. Mayb coz boy so u think abit small? My ger was 2.915kg when born, nt bad liao coz i checked my birth cert i was tat weight when born too!! So coincidence. So guess my #2 will be ard tat weight too..
as for purchase.. Coz saw some1 selling 125ml avent bottle for $13. Was quite tempted bt tink better check out price 1st b4 my itchy fingers go buy.. Somemore haven empty the drawers to c wat i still have. Sekali i already have stuff than keep buying.. Waste $$.. Haha!!

Nickole: wah, they still teach how to have enjoy sex life? Gt give free dolls or toys nt? Haha!!

Falling asleep soon.. Bt scared wont hear the door.. Coz ordered a trial confinement meal from natal essentials. Say will deliver between 10 - 1pm... Yawnzzzzzz... Pls entertain me pple.. Haha!!

Xinyue, ok.. thanks!!
My mil said wanted to quit her job, to look after grandchildren, esp my hb's niece next yr going P1, she want to spend time at home to teach her. and told my hb to contribute for the maid at home. but then luckily her supervisor countered-offer her to stay and she took back her resignation letter! LOL! Heng ah!! else highly possible that hb want my boys to go over to mil hse instead of my parents' hse! i prefer my mum look after as she can concentrate 1 to 2 unlike mil and maid 2 to 5!! and its rather 'messy' with so many children around, i cant blame them but sometimes i just prefer my children to sleep in a quiet environment rather than they on the TV loudly and singing in the room while baby sleeping lor.
last time when my boy wants to sleep, mil will put him in the sarong, she told me she will rock him, then end up she switched on the tv in the room, though not loud, but got lights, my boy din sleep cos he see the lights mah..

Nickole: yup, tat's y i'd count myself lucky. Coz thou staying wif in laws, bt both working. No c each other = no conflicts. Thou my mum very lor soh, bt i'd prefer her looking after my kidz rather than my MIL, coz my mum more gentle to my ger. bt MIL very fierce.. Abit abit raise voice or scold my ger.. Luckily she gt work. If nt i'd have told hubby to move to my parents place to stay.. When i had my #1, my mum still asked me y so fast? Shd wait till she retire than make bb mah.. Bt wait till she retire i how old liao.. Still make bb.. Haha!!

snowger

u saw $6 for the comb, I saw $8.90 ar! I was thinking maybe diff brand and source. But I realise some buy from daiso to sell too.

Daiso can get cheap as their qty is huge for their outlet internationally, so also hard to fight pah.

Anyway, ur ML is like mine except mine is hourly bf, no need to wash and pump as I too tired to even get up to wash to do other thing as #1 refused to let go. 15 mins on bed will wake up, on my chest can sleep 2-3 hours, so sometimes I just do nothing except watch tv while she sleep or I zzzz with her. Plus colic ... so my 1st 18 mths is only bb n zzz

Julie, haha.. of cos no lah.. but just say how to rekindle the kind of love and environment as before.. =P
I have Avent bottles to sell off!!! u want anot?? haha.. confirm cheaper than outside.

Nickole: ooo.. Tot gt freebies. Haha!!
Juz checked my drawer.. Realised gt 3 125ml bottles n 1 260ml bottle.. Haha!! Kiasu mummy. Juz need buy teats i guess.. Thanks anywaz..

Sylvia: u SAHM? Admire.. I 3mth cannot tahan liao.. When go back work it was like a time-out.. The guys just dont get it.. Keep saying wah 4mths shiok ah.. Call them try b a mummy for just 1 day.. They sure raise white flag..

Julie

Yes I'm a SAHM since preg as I need to complete bed rest from 5th mth.

#1 needs me so I gave up career & withdraw from biz,etc so that I can focus. Esp I hv no other extend help whom I can feel secure to go back to biz.

If mum already very stress handling colic, others will nt even hv that patient to deal with, esp exclusive bf as bottle rejection.

All that happ only meant I chose bb above others.
The force that pull me out of PND was also bb's well being and survival.

Sylvia: gd for u.. Reli admire SAHM.. My sis was a SAHM b4 for bout 2yrs and she lost alot of weight then.. Can imagine how tiring it is.. I wkend take care of my ger already so shag.. Cant imagine everyday. I know i cant be a SAHM coz the time-out at work place is impt to me.. Later become short tempered and get angry wif my ger even worse.. I was lucky for my #1 had a gd babysitter. Bt gonna put #2 in infant care, cOz my #1 cc gt infant care oso.. Hopefully no hiccups then..

aspialle, perhaps it's good that u have already resigned. Rest well and delegate more tasks to your helper.

bliss, yes still gg class with my boy. I don't wan too many different "role models" for him during the class. He already very active (physically), so i wanna train him and maintain a standard level of discipline. Will let my hubby take over during Dec and Jan. Hopefully my son wun become more naughty during my absence. haha.. It's good that both daddy and mummy are supportive of the prog. My hubby not very convinced. He did not go for the PEC. So I try not to let him "influence" my son. Later my son lose interest in shichida lessons.

I did not buy anything from them. I bought second hand variety dots and flash cards. The prev owner bought from Shichida. Tried flashing with my son is ard 15 months old but difficult. decide to wait till he's near 2yo then i try again. Prob will start the 63 dot program during my maternity leave. haha..

Julie, how's ur gynae check yesterday? My princess now is 1.7kg at week 30. Heavy than my boy who is 1.5kg at the same week. Scary. I thought ger will be lighter. haha!

Need to bring forward the csec date to 17 dec that week.
lugi all the holidays if i start my ML so early! wanted to csec after xmas.

Re: freq of gynae visit
Previously had 2 sessions of 3 weeks interval. my next visit is now 2 weeks interval.

Jan, enjoy ur holidays! I went for private villa at bali before too. the pool is super shiok! No need to worry abt swimsuit issue too! *wink wink* heh.. just that now we cannot go massage only. :p

Re: cord blood
Donated for first preg, and will donate for this one too. Received thank you card and phone call from them twice checking on mother and son's health.

Re: latching
If latch wrongly, better correct immediately. Like xinyue mentioned, use little finger to remove the suction before taking the baby away from nipple. Had bad experience as a first time mummy prev. This time i'm more determined to latch my baby properly. Hopefully no bleeding nips and less of the sore nips. -cross fingers and toes!-

Re: Organic mother's milk
I tried the one Jan recommended. It works for me. however not sure if it's due to this that i actually had too much milk and caused serious block ducts.

Nickole, good idea! Will try with those big black paper clips. hopefully it's strong enough to hold.

new topic!! anyone gg to make pills out of placenta? i'm quite interested, but still finding out more info. :p wanna really tiao my body this time round.

julie, u funni la... But I know some women who not interested in bedroom activities after giving birth... lolz. Due to BF-ing, down south can be quite dry lor...

Nickole, for me I only got MIL. As much as must say a big "Thank you" to her for all the support. I sometimes will get v buay song. It's like she will on the TV when putting my gal to sleep. Leave it on when she sleeping. Let my gal watch TV almost the whole day. Cos she don't switch it off one!!! *ARGH!*

Sylvia, the model is not the same as the one in Daiso but the concept is exactly the same. When a fellow mummy went in to ask her how diff her's is from the $2 one,she cannot answer became defensive and shoo-ed the mummy away. lolz! Actually I did a research and found the same comb she sell at Alibaba, if buy in 100 pcs, each pc cost about $2... So she really bleed the buyers I think. So from then on, i seldom buy from SMH threads. If I do, I will do homework first. :p

This time I also hope baby can latch on.. Save a lot of time and hassle to wash bottle..go out also easier no need to bring expressed breast milk, can latch

Slyvia you are really Weida.. I think SAHM is the toughest job..a lot of patience and love for our children

Preservering on breast feed also difficult .. Older ppl always think must feed formula so bb fater, but it's a misconception that we have to deal with.. All mummies Jia you .. We shall encourage each other on !!

Shice I heard about that.. They will bake the placenta then make it to powder or pills right? But having seen my own placenta from first birth I donno whether I got guts to eat it lol.. Though I heard its nutritious. Any idea any scientific study around this?

wasabe, yes, we will jiayou each other for breastfeeding. The older generation tend to have different views in taking care of babies.

Snowger, i also try not to let my boy watch tv. But now the chilcare let them watch tv (from 5pm onwards) while waiting for parents to fetch them home. When i pick my son, all the children sit there dai dai watch tv. like zombies liddat. so unhealthy. The later I go fetch him means the longer he will be in front of that black box! gg to feedback to the sch. haiz..

Btw what comb r u all talking abt? what's so special abt a comb? haha..

Snowger: ya, esp 1st mth.. Coz during recovery period.. How to do? Pain leh.. Haha!! Tink onli after 2nd mth.. Coz onli then no more bleeding.. If i never rem wrongly..

Shice: wah ur ger bigger than mine. Yest check wk31, 1.6kg. Next appt 3wks later. So sad, u csec so early.. No more xmas celebration!! My frenz planning xmas gathering already.. Hopefully won pop early. Keep telling bb to wait for dec to be over 1st. Haha!!

Wasabe: yup.. Latch properly better. No sore nipples will make u perserve longer.. Tis time bought a nursing cover. So at least can bf outside. Last time no buy, had to nurse in nursing rm, than hubby so bored. Haha!!

Placenta: no heard of it.. See so yucky, even if make to powder or pill when time to eat, think of the placenta image oso yucks.. Coz gynae did show me after she took it out, coz tat time my placenta dying tat's y induced labour, so she wanted show me its nt tat red as it shd be.

And my cOnfinement trial meal arrived at bout 12.30pm juz now. Seems like alot leh, coz still gt left alot.. Cannot finish.. Haha!! Bt taste... Normal la.. Muz wait for tmr b4 deciding coz ordered trial meal fm another company for tmr..

Shice: my ger cc no tv 1 leh.. They onli let them watch tv when wanna show educational clips.. Anywaz my ger don like to watch tv. While waiting for parents to come the kidz are playing wif toys or drawing or reading books.. Free time for them..

Snowger

Is bp or spree? Coz I think maybe she buy lower qty, so higher price?

Or shipping nt included?

fm biz, ok lah. but fm spree/BP then is diff story.
$6 nt too over to those I hv seen , max is $15.90.

My helper suddenly ask me if she want to transfer whether I will allow... She with us abt 2 mths only , think my hubby too strict on her, always scare off my maid. Recently we saw some love messages in her Hp and ask if she got bf , she said is her close female frd... Jialat if last min she dun wan to work and I'm heavily pregnant still need to do housework, cook and take care elder son....

wasabe

ok lah. just choice n priority.

Just like Julie wrote can slim down. Just that v tiring nw coz still bf, preg n SAHM. got overseas proposals throw to me I also very hard to find energy n time to do.

@ shice, thanks gal.. We goin for the Home Practice Guidance today = )

@ Nickole, let's shake hands.. hehehe... I also prefer a quiet environment for my child.

My mil wanted to use cloth napkin for bb and said the napkin liner can be wash and re-use. Is it true? I wanted to faint upon hearing that.

Shice > Only heard before that the placenta can be made into powder form. Some medical halls provide such service.. If remember correctly, the placenta is only nutritious for the baby itself?

ctrus > yup, napkin liner can be re-use.. Had heard before some mummies will wash and re-use.. but if got poop, then just throw :p

Using cloth napkin is a lot of work!

Xinyue

this is wat I heard fm hkg, that placenta give to those mum who wanna get preg is very good as they will get preg v fast.

Placenta cooked is like cooked liver. Mum can eat, but.......... never try before.

Shice, yes! i m planning to eat my own placenta!! lol!! i knew abt this the last time round, but never action cos i thot its very disgusting to eat. but after hearing my fren from my #1 thread said the benefits, i m keen to try now!! haha..
she even said can improve milk supply other than the beauty benefits.
can add with cordycep powder.

For placenta benefits, can read up from this.. even can prevent PND..

http://www.gentlebirth.org/archives/eatplcnt.html
http://www.placentabakery.com/#%21
http://placentabenefits.info/articles.asp
http://www.bellybelly.com.au/post-natal/placenta-encapsulation-benefits-of-eating-your-placenta

Snowger, ya! if its my mum, i can tell her not to on the tv if baby sleeping, but mil cannot!!

Bliss, ^5! haha.. at nite we oso switched off all lights and no tv, close door. so he is used to sleeping in quiet place. but if go out he still sleep in the carrier. like that day we went zoo, he was so tired but refused to sleep. eyelids oredi almost closing still dun wan sleep, but the moment put him in the carrier, he slept immediately. haha.

Ctrus, napkin liners can be reuse. my mum even sprayed off the poo and wash! lol! if got stain liao then throw lor. so u dun need buy alot of liners, since can be reused.

Any idea when is the next baby fair coming? and where? I hvnt start buying stuff yet.. though this is my 2nd preg, i need to buy most of the stuff like stroller n breastpump.. Any recommendation for double breastpump?

On SAHM
I was a SAHM for 18mth before i went back to workforce and put my gal in CC.. i actually enjoy staying at home with her as i get to see her development day to day.. i was lucky as my gal was easy to take care, but i din latch her as i cant determine how much she drink and i dun wanna to feed on demand.. so i just pump exclusively and feed every 3hrly and set a routine for her..

This time round as i'm a FTWM, i hope i can set a routine for my bb.. but i tik will be a little hard as im nt the one taking care of bb after i return to work.. actually i hvnt found someone to look afer my bb..

shice/wasabe, I dare not eat leh. Placenta is supposed to be high in nutrients. In the market, you can currently find Sheep Placenta. Suppose to be "bu" and good for skin!!!

Sylvia, it was a pre-order BP. I kinda lost some faith in the BPs cos sometimes the stuff there may not really be THAT cheap lor. keke so now I jump w my eyes open. Btw, ur gal into batik painting? Got a thread (which I find price is reasonable) that is open in SMH now! ;p

rlrenn, I am a FTWM and I manage to put my gal into a routine under the care of my MIL. After CL left, I eased my gal into a routine during the 4 -6 wks when I was on ML.

To ensure that her routine is followed, I actually drew up a timetable for my MIL (stating the important timings - nap time (in morning and afternoon, etc). I then discussed it with my MIL and she was ok with the schedule. Hubby was all ready to jump in and make her follow it anyway. Initially she did say aiyah no need one, but after a while, she finds it easier cos it's like clockwork. She gets her lunch/teabreaks and housework/cooking done. LOL!

And being a 1st time mum, when my gal was weaning, I actually cooked all her porridge for my hb to bring over for her to eat! and being a siao on mummy, her daily porridge (got assortment of grains - brown rice, cous cous, millets, etc) and of course vege (brocoli, etc). I think it drove my MIL mad cos she could cook it (instead of me preparing it). but she still heat it up to feed la. So still ok. :p

snowger
placenta is 洋胎素 right?
Ya... I saw like goat,etc,etc. some from plant.

good to rejuv the skin and cells.

Pre-order BP ar? then abit high. I tot is readystock then hv to buffer in case cant sell,etc.

She loves batik painting leh. hw much ar?
She did alot and 1 night can do 3 . faintz.

Ctrus

I use n throw, but also din use much nappy liner as after that switch full diaper. if nt, washing really o_O on top of everything.

But I still hv 2 boxes fm #1. :p

Sylvia, yah that is placenta. It's quite disgusting but I heard the stars in hollywood pop them too! :p The Batik Painting is $5 each excluding postage. I bot from this gal before and it's the cheapest I got even after the cost-shared courier cost I paid. :p If u wan we combine la, then I can pass u (u stay TP right? My MIL stay Bishan). ;p

Shice, the comb has a hidden razor inside, so while u are combing the baby's hair, you can "cut" the hair. good for trimming fringe.
I use it on my gal quite a few times. Not sure if Daiso still carry this comb. :p

Snowger, your mil still willing to follow your time table , so gd open for discussion one.. If for mine, she do whatever she wants , I'm not supposed to comment or say anything... More of authoritative type. That's why I prefer to be sahm to look after myself.

@ aspialle, chiam... I have one similar like u.. later will complain to son then the son will side the mother... Even thou wrong method also need to close eyes... so wait til things happen then perhaps a word of "sorry" if not blame it on the child instead..

Cloth diapering
I'm taking up the challenge to do cloth diapering! Insipiration from my sis. It really reduces nappy rashes, and is environmentally friendly and cheaper overall. I bought a set of the moomookow diaper covers, and cloth diapers. For napkin liners, there are flushable ones in the market - use it for the first few weeks when baby poos a lot - so just flush down the toilet when changing.
Just have to cope with the washing.. but then again, cloth nappies dry quite fast...

In fact, I gave myself 3 challenges for this pregnancy, and I'll try my best:
1) Natural delivery
2) No epidural
3) Cloth diapering

But of course must be mentally prepared to accept any changes if it's an emergency

rlrenn, next baby fair coming next weekend.. Parenthood fair at Expo on 9-11 Nov. another Baby Expo on 14-16Dec.

Xinyue, from my fren told me, have to wash the placenta clean, then bake it to make it dry. after dry liao, i supposed no smell liao. she said if want, can add the powder into soup and drink during confinement.

xinyue, for me I buy from the "organic" section of NTUC. It comes in a small pack (also good so won't waste - the pack is transparent and the label is white & green one). Both millet and couscous look like grains and are suppose to be high in protein...
So I usually mix them with white rice to cook in the porridge (then again, I will still cook meat in the porridge). :p

Millet look like bird seed (LOL!) and couscous is commonly used in Middle eastern cusine.

Here is how millet look like:
7713368.jpg

This is couscous:
7713369.jpg