(2013/01) Jan 2013

Julie - yes going Bali, should be week 29 or 30 by then. Checked with gynae he says ok go ahead enjoy hahahah. Flying Garuda and checked with airlines they say can take up till 36 weeks. i going to the villa, relax, rot in the pool for a few days then go Ubud shop for some stuff (sarongs) probably, can used during confinement and for carry baby. and best of all...eat the Babi Guling ("Shao Zhu") very crispy and nice. (Apologise if there is Malays here).

Latching - my #1 not successful, cuz nobody guide me, then very painful and no milk. #2 got some help from friends and managed to feed for 2 months but because of sleep deprived and low supply of milk (even though) I ate Fenugreek...then give up le. So #3 should have more experience already so should be no prob to do for at least 6 mths la..heheheheh... P.S I din put the finger in to stop the sucking, I merely pulled the lower lip of my baby and she let go.

For those who want to go for cord blood donation.
For Cord Blood Donation

Expectant mothers and their spouses who are interested to donate their baby’s cord blood after birth; should speak with their ObGyn (Delivering Physician) from 28 – 32 weeks of gestation.

Alternatively, they may wish to contact SCBB directly at 6394-5012 or [email protected] after 32 weeks of gestation to complete the Donation Process i.e. sign the Informed Consent and complete the Medical History Questionnaire.

Operating Hours:
Monday - Friday: 8.30am - 5.30pm
Saturday: Strictly by Appointment Only

Enquiries and Feedback

For other enquiries and feedback, please drop us an email at [email protected]. If you would like to speak with us instead, please call us at 6394-5011.

Directions to SCBB

For detailed directions to KK Hospital where SCBB is located, please click on this link - http://www.kkh.com.sg/ContactUs/Pages/DirectionsToKKH.aspx

Thanks Xinyue for so detail info, still thinking whether should I go as 1st time mummy. Some say good some say waste $$$ and time plus hubby has to rush after work and by the time give birth all forgotten

Lookingforward: i guess if u have some1 helpin u during confinement u can learn the taking care of bb fm them. Coz learn how to bath bb bt end up confinement time is my mum bath bb than i look lor. As for the after care, dono search online or come forum.. Sure have alot of pple answer ur questions. As for during delivery, i tink is coz too pain, so everything learnt all forgotten.. Haha!! Than the exercises.. I dono whether it helps or not oso.. Coz i never do them other than during the classes itself, bt delivery still considered quite smooth. As for food to be taken, by the time u go for the classes already 3rd tri liao.. So even if they say don eat this or that, mayb b4 tat already eat alot liao?? For me, after goin for the classes i find waste $ la, bt its some knowledge taken home also la.. Coz tink some things my mum oso forgotten liao coz it's been so many yrs since she took care of newborn, bt eventually it all comes naturally.. Bt the onli thing i rem is i gt a free bb nail clipper!! Haha!!!

Jan: have a fun trip!! I havent gone to bali b4.. When i went genting was 27wks.. Had great fun wif my ger.. N the cool weather.. I'd wanna go for a swim, bt Wif my big tummy i wanna go dip in pool oso paiseh leh... Haha!!

Thanks Julie!
heheh..will be taking private villa so no one will look at my ugly tummy with bad stretchmarks ahhahahaha....

Jan: Wow... Shiok shiok.. I oso wanna go!! Bt guess need wait till bb is at least 6mths..

Stretchmark cream can apply during breastfeeding or not? Any1 know? Coz my stretchmark cream still gt alot left leh.. Waste if throw away coz my frenz don have any1 preggy at the moment.. Haha!!

Julie- ok come join me at Bali...hehehehehehe

Dragontail - yes, join Baby Warehouse, they give free bb items. but have to fast hand fast legs cuz many ppl grab.

Aspialle - thanks! rem to monitor ur swelling of feet, do visit ur doc and let him/her know.

@ xinyue, yes must have a backup plan..hub dont like my mum to take care of he feels that his own mum is the BEST!!!

@ Jan, wow... will be happening in Bali... hehehehe.. u goin with the kids too??

@ nickole, how abt after arrangement of caregiving after confinement but yet still on ML?

jan- so envy... I also want to travel. But hb's early holidays are peppered with reservist and his sch trip. So poor me stuck in SG. :'(

Bliss_ling - nah, just me and hubby, want a break before i deal with 3 kids..*faint*

Snowger - my happiness a while only, when #3 comes...there goes my freedom..hahahha.

jan11325, at least u got the "a while" happiness... I know I'm losing my freedom yet I got no chance to travel. The life of a teacher's wife... *SIGH*

Bliss, i think my mum will come over in mornings then go home during evening. cos by next yr, i m sending my boy to 2hrs playgroup which will be my downstairs, so its the other way round. my mum have to come over.

Dragontail, i think some ppl listed some free giveaways sites in buzzytots too. can look for it.

Nickole/ Sylvia, my iHerb goods finally arrived today, after waiting for almost 3 wks. Was worried it get lost.

Jan11325, so nice, Bali trip! When I went there 10yrs ago, also bought many pieces of sarong.

Sylvia, I'm waiting for my ASOS to come from US. First time I order stuff to be shipped direct from overseas! *EXCITING!!!!*

nickole, cannot find those sites in buzzytots leh.

Confirmed I will donate the cord blood. Tight budget. Won't wan to spend money on something I don knw whether of gd quality. Donate to save life 1st. Btw, if touchwood need to use, we will be given the priority if we donate.

Long time didn't come to this thread, alreday lost ...

Was so busy and tired since last week, all the two colleagues in my team suddenly have some urgent issues and can't work these few weeks. I have to support the whole team, as I am the only one left in my team .. 1 person to cover 3 persons job, luckily no big issues happened. Have to continue to support another 2 weeks.

Tired and tired .. works, house renovation, attending baby courses ... Last night attended the prenatal course about breastfeeding at SCGS and fall asleep inside the auditorium. My husband was so excited but I was too tiring ... now I was thinking if shall skip the last course which is Doctor's talk. Anyone has attended the Doctor's talk - what was it about? Is it important? SCGS is very far from my place ..

Btw, yesterday course was so crowded .. this year really have a lot of mothers to be!

@ Jan, wow....

@ nickole, at least our mother will not say anything when we want to spend more times with bb during ML .. Will not "complain" that it be a waste of time of her staying at hm since we looking after bb..

I bet mil will say "since she at hm wanting to spend time with bb then no pt i stay at hm doing nothing ... blah blah.....

Wah.... So many posts these few days... Roughly scanned thru.... Too much to read....

Cord blood > I didn't bank with private co (budget $$$), can't donate (health reason) for my no 1. Don't think I will do so for this baby too...

Prenatal lesson > never attend. When I have my no 1, friends told me to read up from Internet and since I have engaged CL, just learn from her. Indeed, my CL taught us many useful and practical tips during my confinement.

Caring of baby > My MIL sort of hinted that she will take care of baby... So now one less headache and I'm a happy woman now! Prefer her to look after baby cos my boy also with her. No need to separate the two liao... If she can't manage, then maybe I will engage maid. As MIL is resistant to maid, I can only bring up this issue only after delivery. One thing at a time, dealing with old people a bit sensitive... Cannot force it on them... Need to take it slow and steady.

pocketpig, the doctor's talk I thought was quite crappy la... HAHA! opps... Hb and I went back in 2008 and we concluded it was super *dur*. :p

Bliss Ling: Initially I wanted to take full 16 weeks of maternity leave (ML). It will be a good time for me to bf baby too. I cannot imagine if were to go back to work, how to express bm? Too busy that might even forget to do. As a result, the supply will get lesser. Our plan was to let mil stay with us during my ML so that she can help me to look after bb aft the CL left.

Looking forward > my personal opinion, i gathered quite a bit of info from the class.. and, if u/Mom/MIL did not have any recent experience with newborns (e.g ur sis/sis in law/cousin just gave birth these 2 years), it might be a good idea to attend..

If u can, go for weekend classes (i assume both u and hubby not working on weekends)..

though i had my mom doing my confinement and also helping out during my ML for #1, she was lost too.. Too long didnt 'interact' with newborns.

The class supposed to give us an idea of various methods of sterilisng bottles, how to go about expressing milk, storing breastmilk, what brands of bottles/teats are preferred. All these, ur MOm/MIL might not know.. THis is so for my case. My mom hasnt any idea at all..

As for the exercises, i did them diligently during #1's time.. It does works in little ways for me..

What I liked about the class is that they provide me notes, which i referred to them from time to time during the first 2 months.

On the other hand, it seems like a waste of $$ and time, why? as i mentioned earlier, theory and practical is very different..

but nevertheless, for a blind housefly like me, overall i find the class informative.

watever it is, motherhood is indeed a 'hands on job' - just go with the flow and learn as you go along..

@ Ctrus, well my mil not easy ... She said in order not have conflicts with me, she takes care of bb and I must not be ard. Pump milk , leave milk then go off...

Piscean, good for u

Dragontail, try sgfreecycle. free things giveaways but not all for baby stuff.

Bliss, yes! Own mother still the best. my mum will ask me go and rest while she look after. but then for #2, i dunnoe if she can cope with 2 anot, after my ML ends.. she dun like the idea of having a maid..

Xinyue, do u still have the prenatal class materials? my fren wants a copy, but i forgot where i kept liao.. lol! can scan a copy for me? thanks!

Sylvia, yah I think so? It's high in Vit E.

ctrus, initally i wanted to take the full 16 wks of maternity leave. Then I think I v jia lat - I can't tahan the stress of taking care of her (I lost so much weight when I went back to work I was only 41.5kg vs pre preg weight of 49kg). For her and my sanity, I took only 8 weeks of maternity leave and went back to work liao. This round may be btr since I have a helper. So see how... :p

Snowger: As first time mtb, I fear will have bb blues from all sort of possibilities e.g. conflict with mil, bb cannot latch, no milk supply, cannot take good care of bb, sleep deprivation etc.

Thanks ladies for the replies .. I will try to persuade husband not to attend the last course ( Doctor talk ) in SCGS. Very tiring ...

Now is my 30th week, baby weight 1.5kg .. 10 weeks to go ~

ctrus, I was there before and I hope no woman have to go thru what I did.

Personal experience: I was actually suffering from depression for almost 1yrs before it hit me that I had the blues. By then, it had already affected my marriage, my trust for hb, etc.

As a person who don't believe in suicide, I was never suicidal. But depressed I was: Would cry myself to sleep, feel worthless, felt that hb did not love me anymore and I was just a "bitch". (now I can actually laugh when I look back at the diary entries and wonder what was going on with me then). The depression got so bad to the point where I started to suspect a third party in my marriage, lost trust in my hb, blah blah...

My advice to you is: If ur hubby is not great at communicating/soul to soul talk/comforting you/ sayang u thru words or action, strike up a plan now. I think ur partner is the best person to help you thru this big change in life. Agree on things together - child care, breastfeeding (what he thinks, etc). Get hubby's support/agreement. For me what I wanted from hb was just words of encouragement/comfort or just asking how my day was, if there was anything I needed help as a first time mum.

He did none - when I finally told him I wanted a split because he had left me to "die" with the NB and I had no more faith in the marriage. All he could say is - "u everyday face black black. What u expect me to do?". For me it was a communication breakdown... So stay connected ya?

Thanks Snowger for yr kind advise. Communication indeed is v impt to maintain good r/s. Aft a long day at wrk, hw not to appear naggy to hubby. Also when both of us are sleep deprived, the smelly attitude towards each other. Hope I'm jz being paranoid. Cheers!!!

Jan- enjoy your trip *envy*

Snowger - really tough on you for no. 1.. I can fully understand.. I was taking care of bb myself during the 16 weeks and I was pumping exclusively as baby couldn't latch well.. Everyday like huang Lian po.. Take care baby, wash bottles, pump ... And baby had bad colic always vomit milk so I was v worried. I was so happy to go back to work haha but hopefully his 2nd pregnancy wont be so stress .. Fingers crossed. I really admire those SAHM.. Really peifu!

Ctrus, it's not easy being a mummy! But don't worry much, mother instinct is greater than anything else! I total breast fed my #1, during the first 2 weeks, I was super stressed!! Baby cried almost every 2 hours for milk, as I'm latching, meaning I did not have any sleep more than 2 hours for the first 2 weeks! I nearly gone crazy! I'm lucky to have encouragement an support from fellow mummies that I met in SMH and my hubby, I had bad experience with my CL that I called and cried to my mum who was in HK, I asked her why she didn't take care of my confinement instead... I know she was very stressed too...

Don't think too much and just face whatever challenge with ur hubby together!! U have all the support from us here!!

Morning all!!

Ctrus: nt to worry.. All here will support u when u need it. As for slp deprivation, esp if bf.. This is wat i did, if sitting up, put a u-shape pillow at ur neck, like those u use in airplane flights, so can at least close ur eyes while feeding. Or feed while lying on ur sides.. This is reli gd. Sometimes i fall asleep n wake up finding bb already unlatched, sleeping soundly.

Anywaz.. Had leg cramps again yest!! Sobz.. Faster stretched n tot ok.. So sent my ger to cc.. Bt when driving realised, nt ok!! Coz had tat tingling sensation when step on brake.. So had to use left leg to step brake coz cramps on right leg.. Ouch!!

nickole, Thanks. I request to join baby warehouse but never reply or accept my request leh.

Haiz, tied budget so looking for free itmes. Like free bb clothings etc...

dragontail, u can go to the WTG section of SMH. Sometimes some mummies will go there and post stuff to give away at a token of 1 pack of baby wipes etc, some are really FREE FREE one.

Julie, dangerous leh. Me so far still ok. I'm battling my coughing fits while sleeping at night. SUCKS...

wasabe, same situation as u. I was pumping totally as the little gal refuses to latch. Each time I tried, she screams like one siao cha bor. So in the end I gave up. My ML was made up of pump milk, feed her, clean her, pump milk, feed her, pump milk, feed her. then she eats up my lunch time and by the time she don't fuss, it's time for my next pump and then her next feed, then it's almost dinner time liao. Hope this round it DOES NOT happen again!

I had this swelling last night. woke up at around 3am just to drink water, and who knoes, i ended up being puffy..

felt the terror of the 3rd trimester today.. sobz sobz..

sunny, it's normal to wake up puffy you drink water just before you sleep. Not sure if that's the case when u wake up in the middle of the night to drink. I have been doing that since my coughs will make me wake and I will take a whole cup of HOT water to ease the cough. Don't feel the puffiness.

Sometimes water retention can be due to lack of hydration. So the puffier u are, the more water you should drink (esp if you drink 2 cups of water and still don't need to go toilet 1 hr later). :p In office now, I will go toilet, drink at least one full cup of water. Repeat the cycle. LOL!

I drink a lot of water too... sometimes up to 2litres a day. Pee a lot, and always wake up at least once in the middle of night. I was told that drinking sufficient water helps to reduce water retention? For me so far so good, not much swelling (got a bit though, cos shoes feel tight)Try not to talk too much salty/ high sodium things...

Snowger: yeah.. Bt no choice coz last few times when had cramps walk oso pain, bt juz now walk ok, juz abit of pain onli. So tot shd b ok, bt didnt know step brake time wah!!! Bt ok la, manual mah.. Can left leg brake, right leg accelerator. Anywaz accelerator oso no need much strength.

later goin out again.. Since i on mc today, coz went gynae yest. 31wks, bb 1.6kg!! Doc say average, bt like small leh.. Later Need go recee prices for bb products. Yest checked out buzzy tots, 1mummy selling disposable nursing pads $7 more than retail price!! Lucky some1 else spotted it coz another mummy wanted buy liao.. So muz check out prices 1st b4 buying.. And also realised.. 31wks.. Like very fast, better start preparations.. Haha!!! Yest after gynae check nurse say can book bed already.. Than i'm like.. Ok, it's coming!! Haha!!

Sunny: mayb u dont drink alot at 1 shot? Coz after i preggy i oso wake up every night. Either fm the kicking of my ger or i had to pee. After tat will have a sip b4 goin back to slp.. So far no swelling leh...