(2013/01) Jan 2013

@ tres, in cc she sleeps less than 1 hr ++

@ snowger, hehehhe.. i guess I will try the method out tonight, cuddle her etc, offer her something else.. Yes, she on bottle and I bet she just wants to get out of room instead of sleeping.. i also got use the "tin-tiao" on her thou not beat her very hard and will explain to her..

I guess hub is stress cos he unwell these few months, having cough, headache on off..

@ Snowger & piscean33, oh I thought i can get hold of it via dvd..

@ piscean33, i think she wants attention and it started only i preggy..Mine is 2 yrs 4 mths old..

@ Sylvia, wow cooking Udon past mid night.. Hub is ok to give food if she hungry but not when milk is ready and she simply refuses to drink..

I gonna stanby some cheese and bread if she hungry I offer her.. hehehee

Thanks mummies.. Feel better and know the steps to manage my gal..

Mine is confirmed milk leaking, actually it's pre-milk/colostrum. Not a lot, but continuous droplets, can see many patches on my clothes. I need to wear breastpad already. I'm 2nd time mummy, so I think it's normal to start leaking in pregnancy but 6 months plus a bit too early. I just hope it won't lead to blocked ducts, my #1's time, had so many painful blocked ducts.

On #1's tantrums, my boy also like that. He's 2 yrs 1 mth. Everyday testing our limit. And beating seems useless, he will be up to something else shortly after. Naughty corner, haha, I give up on it. He runs away from it faster than I can drag him back there.

Bliss

think it happ ard 2+ and plus u preg. A growing up phrase.

They learning about their choices n power to demand too?

After a while, it will reduce, those sometimes the tummy n mind system still lagging.

haiza,
I am quite certain you shdnt pump cos when you pump milk out, a hormone(oxytocin) will be released and that helps to contract the uterus back to normal post-delivery. So i think that can be dangerous pre-delivery.

On discipline of kids: read in today's straits times.. there is this mum that glued her 2 yr old kid hand to the wall with super glue and then beat her up.. OMG!Crazy or what?

pocketpig > it's the hormones acting up.. Yeah.. can understand the frustrations of taking public transport during peak period.. having to squeeze with others, aching backs, etc..

try getting those tights from places like cotton on?
can pair it up with big tops?

on stretch marks, have heard some mummies commenting that it is in ur genes.. i.e. if your mummy did not have stretch marks, high chances that you wont get it too...

I am not small size and yet, i do have horrible stretch marks..

For me sure must put. Very beginning i have been put clarin tonic oil and stretch mark cream on the tummy but i didnt put at the breast area and thigh. Now i seeing stretch mark line on my thigh already... argghh

Leaking milk,
I have a little bit of it. It's worse the more u rub away and stimulate the nipple (like in bfding, the body thinks you need more milk). But I never had blocked ducts and in fact my supply was very low for #1. Hopefully this is a good sign!

Weight gain and glucose test,
I ate so much while on holiday that I'm almost certain to have put on more weigh than I should have. hai.

How was the glucose test for you ladies who have gone for it? Is it really difficult to swallow the liquid? My gynae is sending me for it as my mum's side has family history of diabetes. How long does it take?

Stretch marks,
I didn't get them till quite late in pregnancy the last time. Like after week 32 kind. So I'm bracing myself for them. Anyway I'm genetically prone to stretch marks. My mum has them, I have them from puberty years too.

Walking and early delivery,
Seems to be anecdotally true yah? I was very active in late pregnancy and #1 came out at week 38. Maybe I should cut back on excessive walking if I want her to be a January baby. Hehe.

<font color="119911">OH MY!!!
Faith, serious ah?! That mummy sticked her kid's hands with super glue??
How to remove after that??
I think that mummy must be insane liao...</font>

LM

the glucose test is to drink carbonate sugar syrup, very sweet, if u r nt into very sweet thing, some might vomit then hv to drink again.

Yes, u walk alot, will go into labour faster esp last 6 weeks.

Faith
that's the subconscious of a person who had bad childhood and had trouble with anger management. These ppl do not know what they are really doing when they are furious. U can see mad actions and happen to both males n females.

@ Sylvia, true.. However one must be very patience with the kiddo.. Still young and dun know the things they do irriate us..

@ haiza, wear breast pad and dun pump cos like what faith said, it could be dangerous before predelivery..

@ Faith, oh gosh, is the mother sick or what???? Only 2 yrs old and what does the kid knows abt right / wrong? If the child knows at this age, then she either God liao and can be an adult

bliss

suddenly rem this that I rcv long long time ago, so went to search for u.

http://community.aarogya.com/index.php/addiction-support-health-community/for-those-in-recovery-/personal-recovery-tools/recognizing-anger-and-coming-out-of-it

There was a boy living in a village who was always angry, getting upset over even minor issues and shouting at others. His father gave him some nails and a hammer. He told him "Every time you get angry, you hammer a nail into the wall". The boy kept hammering several nails. Sometimes while hammering, he hurt his fingers also. When the boy saw so many nails on the wall, he understood that he was getting angry too frequently and realised he had to do something about it.

When he returned the nails and the hammer, his father asked him. ‘Did you learn anything now?". The boy showed his fingers and said, “I hurt myself unnecessarily when I get angry." His father asked him to go back and remove all the nails. When he came back, he asked him. "Did you notice anything on the wall?". The boy said, "There are lots of dents on the wall". The father immediately said, "Every time you get angry, you are not only hurting yourself; you are also hurting others and creating dents in people around you ".

Anger kills reasoning, destroys relationships, erodes the trust between two people, fuels unpleasant thoughts and puts an end to good feelings. People who have been abused may act out the abuse in their next relationship. Children who live with parents who are angry often act the anger out on others. The 'victim' can become the "aggressor' in other relationships. Abuse and aggression are learned behaviors that are acted out on the weaker members of the family. Thus the cycle of anger is perpetuated in families.

piscean33, I only did it when I get the pulling at my backside and the tailbone pain. It does help very much. I also adjusted my posture - cos I realised that I would semi-lie down and my whole weight will be on the tailbone which could be the reason why it hurts? Now i prefer to sit fully on my bum (placing my weight more forward) so my back will be straight and be leaning forward.

@bliss_ling, u can try searching supper nanny on you tube. I saw some videos there... THere are many episodes so u gotta see which ones are relevant. But some of her concepts can be applied... It's like why you should not shout cos u realise ur child will shout back at u. And the mood/anger just escalates, etc.

Also, for your gal, you may want to set a bedtime routine. So she knows that it's time to go when the routine starts. My gal's night routine starts with milk, biscuit/bread(if still hungry), brush teeth, book/lullaby, ON THE BED. Once it reaches the stage of book/lullaby, she is not to get out of the room (unless it is to poop or she has to ask for permission and tell us why she needs to get out). When my MIL ask her about bedtime, my gal during her younger days will say milk, brush teeth, sleep.

@ Faith, in the US there are such abuse cases. Crazy parents who do strange things. Like tie up the child and scotch tape their mouth. So that both parents can get drunk or high on drugs. Or they tape the child to the wall and take photos to post on FB... I see already I also feel v poor thing for these children.

In singapore, the insanity of such acts are limited to "blind" beating. i.e. blind canning.

I think anger management is one thing. Just to share my personal experience: When I get ready mad about my gal, I know how it can boil and added frustrations in life/work can make me snap! So while canning the child, we might even put all our frustrations into the beating (and that's really bad).

It takes a lot of concious effort cos I know I snap very easily. So what I do is I do not hit the child immediately when I am angry. I will take the cane/ruler when I am angry then I will ask her to come. Will hit the cane on a cupboard or chair or table (as hard as I am angry), just to vent and take the edge of the anger off. This will be followed by a deep breath and stern "consultation" - 1st 3 times will be a warning (which includes why and what she did wrong). When I issue the warning, I will make my daughter look at me in the eyes. Her expression will determine wherther she understand (sometimes she will give me the "diao" look - like I did not do anything WRONG!). And she has to agree to my terms and understand why she did wrong. On the 4th occassion, it's the same, I will hit the cane on something else. Then I will tell her why she is being punished. By the time the cane goes on her buttocks, it will be painful enuf for her to ouch and a red mark that will go off in minutes. After caning is consultation by me, she will tell me instead what she did wrong, why it is wrong, will she do it again.

So far the above has worked well (i get to control my anger - hey it works well leh, at least I won't be listed as a child abuser). Her "rotan" sessions has been far and few (2?)... And she fears the "rotan". I know some mummies do not advocate canning at all, but I still stick to the concept of spare the rod and spoil the child. :/

LM, im having gestational diabetes and going to admit to KKh on this fri for one day..i had it during my first pregnancy thus getting it again is expected

hi gals, also realised recently there is like liquid thingy coming from my nipple...wonder if its starting to produce milk..

pocketpig: If you don't have comfortable pants, maternity bermudas will do as well for the class. The teacher will just show you how to do stretching exercises, nothing too vigorous.

Mummies with #2, is your #1 still sleeping in the baby cot? How do you intend to move #1 out of his / her cot? My boy loves his cot so much, refuses to sleep anywhere else!

Snowger

I dun cane, but I hit palm n bum when wrong and intolerance behaviour. this is max but i hardly need to do so to indicate when what actions are nt allowed. At age 1.5, #1 will hit her own palm and said "tata" when she was naughty! So I dun hv to hit too. Kekeke!!

usually a look will do the trick. Screaming sometimes when mad that will be the last key next to hit.

When worked for me was consequences, do this, then that can be done or reward system.
"if u dun listen , u hurt urself, no crying" type. So she can run, but trained to be careful. Unless it v painful and bleeding, #1 will just get up asking for hug or run again.

Freesia

where do u intend to move out? from cot to toddler bed?

1 way is make the cot disappear, the other way is telliing old now, must sleep other places n show wat other kids same age sleeping on. etc

A frd did was bring along kid to buy new bed n let them choose and then tell them exchange bed n old bed no more or spoilt, so that they move on.

It also depends on the kid's character.

Freesia, my gal was sleeping in her own cot until quite a few months back. She loves her cot since we converted it from cot to Tod's bed and it's like a normal bed with one side open (with rail guard). Anyway, we got my gal excited about shifting out of her cot. We told her you are big girl now, can sleep in a bigger new bed. Bring her go shopping for the bed (went to furniture shops). As it is we go IKEA quite often and she loves the bed there. So when it was decided, we picked two different beds and let her make her choice.
She chose the bed, hb fixed it up (with her helping (actually more like kaypoh-ing)). Then we put the mattress cover (uh if ur boi still not so excited, buy those CARS one or some cartoon he likes). Then on same day, hb proceeded to dismantle the baby cot.
She sleeps on her new bed and we never looked back.

Sylvia, I also smack my gal in the hand cos sometimes the cane dunno go where... haha... but I must say I was more "hot" during the earlier days. maybe cos I discipline, my gal also tend to know her "limits". I guess everyone's parenting style is different. I just sharing that if use cane, we have to be careful. Childcare experts did say when using cane, we might botherline around excessive caning or spiral out of control for punishment.

Snowger

nt using the cane is due to the reason u wrote : Childcare experts did say when using cane, we might botherline around excessive caning or spiral out of control for punishment.

That's why even I hit bum , I also have to pause n aim correct n nt hit the spine or nerves just above bum.

Ya.. diff parents diff style n plus diff kids too.

sylvia, which is why i use cane with care...
haha. if I am the more "violent" one, I btr dun use my hand as punishment tool. *lol!*

Sylvia, hand is more accessible wor... ;p and the infliction by hand and cane can have equally "bad" results... ;p

I've leg cramp for 2 consecutive days. Both legs on first day. I've alr placed a bolster last nite to raise my legs but no avail, cramp still attack. Guess it'll b more frequent as bb's weight is pressing down.

My gynae recommended Palmer's cocoa butter massage cream for stretch mark. Starting on my second tube. Easily available at Watson, kiddy palace etc. Reasonable price also.

Last Sat gynae chkup, bb is weighing 840g. I've alr put on 10kg before diagnosed with GD, ctrling my diet. My weight maintain *phew*. Attended childbirth class. The nutritionist said for a normal BMI. We shld put on 11-16kg during pregnancy

ctrus : i thought the private sales has started from 04Oct to 14Oct? I received the 25% letter from Robinson, intend to go this weekend.
By the way, how many weeks r ya?

Aiyoh, I did not receive any letter from Robinsons on private sale yet lei... not sure if will get or not...

Freesia, my boy luvs sleeping in his cot, we hv not converted to toddler bed yet. He likes to roll about so we feel that the cot is better for ensuring he does not roll off. COz if he sleeps on mattress on the floor, we would prob need to surround it w bolters/pillows - too troublesome. So we purchased another cot for didi instead. Haha, initially we ask my boy if he wants to sleep on new cot, he said yes, but when he learnt that the old cot will then be used by didi, he decided to sleep in his old cot and give did the new one instead!

Snowger, we also brought my boy to Ikea, but he was not interested in the beds at all! Did not seem to like them... so it is back to the cot for him and prob will convert to toddler bed later on. Luckily he is quite kuai, never tries to climb out of the cot even tho his is 2.5yo. Will just stay in there and call for daddy or mum!

@ sylvia, it is very meaniful and thanks for sharing..

@ snowger, thanks for sharing with me on the bedtime routine.. Hope she be better when #2 is out.. Kind of unfair to the little kiddo inside cos they dun know anything when we get angry

Ctrus, i m oso using Palmers stretchmark cream. luckily no allergic. cos i know alot of ppl is allergic to the ingredients inside, so thats y cannot use. but to me, its very useful. i got no stretchmark on my tummy for #1, but for those areas i din appy, like butt and side of the hips, got stretchmarks.

Xinyue, my mum had lots of stretchmarks, so i diligently apply stretchmark cream, so thankfully i dun have for tummy, so i guess its still better to apply cream no matter whether its in the genes anot. haha..
during those days when i feel especially itchy, i will apply more cos skin is stretching therefore more itchy! i only apply once at night after shower. heehee.. :p

Discipline, for my 16mth old, daddy only 'caned' him lightly twice, but dun think he understand yet, cos he still claps his hands after that.. *faints* and my sil used the cane once on his palms, which i felt not very light.
cos he refuses to eat at that time. for me i only beat my son's palms whenever he is naughty. he likes to play with fan buttons and switches.
btw, any idea how to stop him from playing with power switches?? i oredi put those dummy plugs into the socket liao, but he likes to press the on off switch, how to stop ah?

nickole > u r hardworking! my mom had stretch marks and so did I.. but am still lazy to apply those creams. >.< lots of ugly stretch marks left over from #1...

Xinyue, its never too late to apply it now.. at least can minimise it. my aunt even told me to continue applying after delivery. but i was too lazy by then. only after a few weeks, then i saw my butt got lots of red lines. so now i apply everywhere liao. tummy the most, butt, side of my hips, arms, sometimes breast area cos breasts got stretched too, though not much lah. lol.

Routines/Bedtime routines: Hi mummies just to share those who are interested in putting your babies on routines, I will recommend that you get the book by Gina Ford called "The little contented baby book". It details a baby month by month age schedule. I used the schedules inside and tweaked it a little to suit my needs. ;) Personally I felt that it is really good. And if the concepts hold true, my gal did stop night feeds quite early as she had enough in the day.

canopyhaze, got the 25%? Back in 2008, Robinson would keep sending me the disc coupon (I heard that they only give that to selected customers - who of cos use their cards often to buy...). I used it to buy my Medela PISA and my gal's infant car seat...
Now hb has the Robinson card and I don't see them sending leh...

STRECH MARKS: I heard that it is heditary leh... So my gynae don't believe in applying this and that to "prevent". Anyway I apply because I don't want to be scratching my belly when it gets itchy...:p

Just saw my gynae today - 28 weeks, and bb is on the big side she said. 1.25kg. No wonder I am feeling the weight on my lower abdomen. I have put on 7kg in all.

Feeling v tired today - good thing my gynae gave me an MC to go home and rest. So will do that after lunch.

Ctrus - leg cramps. Are you a regular milk drinker..? Last pregnancy, I used to get it a quite a bit. Doc asked to me up my calcium intake. Not sure if it helps, but worth a try.

Stretch Marks
Think it is hereditary. If you are lucky, I know dome who avoided stretchmarks in a family of stretchers :p

I will definitely have it lah, just how bad and when.

Routine
I cannot take it if my kids are not in routine! Morning to night same routine most of the days. My kids are in bed by 7:30, read for half hour then lights off. If they don't, I peng San. I think have to train since bb time. I hope I am still up to the training at this age
might get too lazy!!

Pain
I think most of our pain comes in the lower body
Pelvic bones, lower back...

I've got pubic symphisis (sic!!) for the last two preg. In fact for the first I could hardly move after delivery coz the muscles was hurting so badly

Sigh...

Playdates
Haha can!! But my children are 06 and 08, so older than most of yours! Afternoons are generally good coz mornings are lesson time;)

Indoor playground is good but the 2.5year olds will need parents to accompany?

Tantrums
I think changes to routine will bring out the sulkiness in children? We moved back after a three month long renov recently and even my 4 year old acted up. So it'll take time to draw boundaries again. What I'm suggesting is, itay not be age thing, just changes and repeatedly reinstating boundaries...

Sylvia,
Thanks for the info. I hope I can take the sweet drink! Normally I don't mind sweet stuff. *fingers crossed*

Aspialle,
Oh no sorry to hear that. What will happen during your one day admittance? More tests?

Oh I think the Robinson 25% is a voucher tt they give to customer who spent $XX amt within stipulated time frame (i.e. half-yearly). I received it before but not this time

Chin: I drink HL milk and a slice of cheese for my bread. Also gynae's supplement of calcium/iron pill. I heard such supplement pill will cause constipation. Which I am experiencing badly nw. The pain in the ass.

freesia/ctrus, haha... i always splurg about 200-300 dollars during the Robinson sale (buying this and that). And u know how frequent the Robinson sales are... :p I will buy some of the member specials. Then because it was my first pregnancy, there were lots of things to buy, from pumps, to milk bottles, clothes, toys! *-*

ctrus, iron pill may cause constipation. Calcium pills are ok.
If u are taking iron pills, got to try to drink MORE MORE water... I know some gals who will kena constipation just by eating those pre-natal pills.

Robinsons discount,
Some of my friends got it but I did't

Stretchmarks
Really depends on individual.. my friend has 3 kids, never apply anything, no stretchmarks at all... me applied Clarins oil for my #1 but I got my stretchmarks at week 38!!

Blood count,
I need to double my Iron intake cos my Hemoglobin is low... haiz...I hate Iron pills....

Will disappear for a few days, going for my trip tonight!! last trip before little one is out!

Haha I'm thinking of stocking up breast pads, etc. Will look/see what else to buy prior to pte sale then chiong on the very day

Canopyhaze, I'm going to start swim weekly fr this wk. When do u stop to swim? My previous pregnancies, i stopped around 36 wks. My first pregnancy, I already dilated 1cm around 37 wks when gynae checked. So I'm thinking not to swim towards end of 1st trimester this time too. Btw, I checked the cream my gynae gave, is called BENGAY pain relieving cream, don't know if it's available in pharmacy though.

Snowger, ok, I'll try the stretching every night, as my pain is everyday... And yes, that's the way I sit in office nowadays.

Robinsins 25%:
Is it storewide?