(2013/01) Jan 2013

crtus, i craved for spicy food as well and nap imm after EACH meal.. like no good hor.. bad for digestion.. but cannot tahan.. sleepy leh

I just had subway for dinner last sun! Tot it is a healthier choice. Didn't think of the raw veggies part....

Gender: I'm quite stressed when preg with my no 1. Cos my inlaws and mummy favour boys!!! During my no 1 preg, my mummy kept going to temple to pray for a boy. Inlaws as this is the first grandson, also want boy. For me, as long as healthy can liao... I have health issues and married for almost 10 years before the arrival of my boy. So it's already a blessing to have a healthy baby so everything else is just secondary... For this preg, cos I already have a boy, really no stress at all. Old people ok with girl now. To think that till this generation, i'm still subjected to gender favoritism by old folks...

i cant rmbr what (taste) i craved more for the first preg... but this time, i crave more salty food i guess. i like si zap horfun alot leh. haha.

re: subway
prolly i get a sub wrap latr.. n cm back offc put in the microwave for 1hr! bahaha~ kidding.. but ya.. prolly can put in microwave abit..to heat up the rest of the vegs as well huh.

lunch-time soon.. i hfta eat at 11:30am de.... else will faint.

friends:: ya.. agree with u. like..altho my parents or (esp) in-laws.. n the other elders (in-law side already know abt our this preg) like din really niam on hvg a boy.. but they will like.. if hv boy can balance can close shop.

ya.. i oso tink if hv boy.. will balance out more of the yins & yangs of my family.. but i dun really care much abt chuan zong jie dai part!

BTW!! taking abt gender.. hv u ladies & hbs.. discussed abt if hv boy... will circumsized or not? or any of your earlier kid did that?

my mil didnt bother abt e gender, she even asked us to go to my hb's fren to ask for used clothes but the frenz has 2 girls.. den my hb said 'he has daughters only, what if ours is boy?' aiyo.. i tink my hb really prefers boys sia... so old-fashioned!

subway:
microwave for 1 hr.. hehehe.. den it will be biscuits? or noting.. =X

ahbui, we didnt discuss abt it but i tink we will circumcise our boy? coz my hb used to have infection when he's young, thereafter he went for circumcision, so i tink ah.. mayb he will suggest to circumcise e boy..

tres, if drink starbucks or coffee bean, still can decaf. but coffeeshop, dun have decaf. haha. Need to move a study table out of guest room so that i can move the cot into guest room to prep for CL to sleep with the baby. Also need to adjust and move our bed one side to make space for some mattress for my son to sleep on the floor. Maybe i have to sleep w him on the floor for a start also, in case he's not used to it. Was just casually talking in front of my in-laws and they immediately rejected. haha. i know it's for my good, but if dun move, i dunno how to train my son to sleep independently. And i don't wan to do it after i give birth. Later he thought it's because of the baby.

daisybuttons, sounds quite alot to have ur fridge and cupboards full of supplements and tonics! guess he will be alright for pri sch since he's well-"supplemented". heh. perhaps can intro sports like swimming, running to build up his body?

ctrus, ur hubby so strict. anyway dun make urself so terrible during these 9 months. u're not punished for being preg. haha. maybe just a sip of cold drinks or ice cream to make u feel better. As for half boiled eggs, i agree to avoid. but sometimes if i order ban mian and the egg happen not to cook fully, i still go ahead and eat and enjoy. heh.

caffaine drinks - i tot coke has less caf than tea or coffee, that's y i went to get coke yesterday. I agree w fullhouse, try to avoid caffaine during last trimester. another reason is also baby start to get active after u drink caffainated drinks. With all the boxing and kicking at night, it's very difficult to sleep. haha.

jo, if cannot eat crab, i think also cannot eat sotong. heh. someone did tell me abt eating sotong, baby will have extra finger or toe. then i got super paranoid and avoid totally for #1. will still feel abit scare for this one, but i still go ahead and eat. cannot resist sotong 仔 w salt and pepper when my friends ordered.

s_loh, takling abt list of food to eat after that, my first thing on the list is to go for a jap sashimi buffet!! lol..

snowhopes, no instant noodles?! so good. when i'm lazy to cook, my hubby will just make instant noodles for both of us during #1. Now also same. haha! wish he could be strict and get something healthier for me. :p

sotong? i still eat.. but calamari though...

shice, i wanna go for jap sashimi buffet too! probably if can squeeze few cannot-eat food in one day.. haha..

ban mian:
i will request to beat n egg n cook it if i eat ban mian.. coz once beaten, shld be easily cooked ba..

instant noodles:
i got one bowl of cup noodles at my workplace.. cnanot tahan already.. shall eat it one of these days... LOL

ahbui, LOL.. u're theory abt "all girls means mum's previous life mei ren ai" super funny!! haha..

re: circumsize
i circumsized my boy on the 2nd or 3rd day after he's born. done at TMC. tot it would be cleaner for him when he grows up. Also to do when baby, he won't rem the pain. haha.

s_loh, ^5.. i wanna go to irodori. their salmon sashimi really good. juicy and sweet! i'm drooling le. sob! i got request to beat the egg for ban mian, but the uncle somehow forgot to beat. only beat when the egg is already poured into the bowl. So end up half cooked. Sad but happy at the same time. haha.

hi all, long time no post, but have been a silent reader.....

hope everyone is well!!!

Can I ask? Running a fever now? Can we take the normal panadol?

<font color="0077aa">shice</font> hehee so cute the phrase "well-supplemented"! my kids are doing weekly swimming lessons. and almost every weekend we go park to let them run.

<font color="ff6000">piyoz</font>, panadol is safe.

<font color="0000ff">cup noodles</font> aaaahhh i love!!!!

shice, ya loh.. tat's wat i tot too.. when do it young, they wldnt rem the pain.. ^5... i havnt try irodori yet... will wan to go ikoi or some other jap restaurant.. aiyo.. hungry already...

aiyo.. so blur the uncle.. it's okay lah... once awhile... nvm... tat time i ate small pot noodle, the uncle oso beat the egg into the container den pour the soup in.. so mayb not so cooked.. but i juz eat lah..

piyoz, maybe u shld juz see a doc...

daisybuttons, that's good. I've stopped bringing my son to swimming pool coz i cant find anything to wear. haha! need to get swim suit soon. feel sa to deprive him of his fave water playing activity.

s_loh, ya. esp when they are just born, quickly get it over and settled. i heard irodori and ikoi is abt same standard, but irodori is cheaper. Now i'm not sure wat's the latest pricing.

Read about some of u who are considering circumcision for your baby boys. I have read on it before and it is not recommended as in short it puts infants in risk just a few days after birth and so on. And infants do feel pain and get traumatised by it.

There's articles on circumcision here >> www.drmomma.org

Just for sharing

woooooohooooooooooooooo~ had my subway wrap! i ordered steak n cheese with extra chedder.. brought back to opid n heat in microwave for 1min. hot n yummy. i had actually wanted to keep a portion for latr tea break..but cldnt resist n wallap the whole ting. nw abit bloated!!!

re: instant noodles
once a while i will still hv it. during previous preg..i tink oni 2nd tri or early 3rd tri i had couple of times.. but this time round..i oso more relak.. already had thrice le. but then.. i will boil the noodle..then chg water n start cooking. except once i had kimchi noodles frm outside..cannot ask the person to chg a pot of water aft initial boil of noodles. haha.

re: eggs
i love ramen this preg too. those jap eggs with some flowing yolk... by right oso cannot eat rite? but i cldnt resist leh.. yumz~

i tink generally most food we hv in spore is quite safe to eat bah. except perhaps sashimi (my love)..cos it's mostly shipped in, n we cant be very sure of it's source, quality, freshness, watnot. everyday i will tell myself.. nvm, aft half a yr more.. i will eat my sashimi every other day!!!!!!

Since we are at it...
Crabs
Love crabs, and ate quite a bit during past two preg. Both my kids picked up piano and violin quite early so that's another way of looking at it;). Touchy? No leh, I'm too fierce I guess.

Beef
Hmmm interesting thought. My #2 preg I ate quite a bit of beef steak. She was still born small but she's one toughy. Body heat 'bah bah', and well coordinated too though she's small for her age still.

Caffeine
Ah both preg I stopped caffeine during last tri and both my kids not sleepy kind leh. The eyes big big the moment they were born. Prefer to feed than sleep
... Sigh...

hana:: thanks for the share of the article.. wah the opening few para of the article is scary!!!

fullhouse:: hehe.. thanks for sharing too.

qtn> is there a saying like cannot go sit on a preg's bed? or if u wana get preg too, go sit on a preg's bed? or like..if ur preg, cannot let other ppl cm sit on yr bed?

Crab,

I didnt even touch it when I was preggy but mine still itchy hand,,lol.. guess it could be true for some of us here.

My amino will be on 8 Aug (wed), will be done by Dr TC Chang at TMC. Hope all goes on well.

i dun like sweet stuff.. does it mean it's a boy??

but i never like sweet stuff.. haha
*slap myself*

i'm so stoned in the office

bliss:: good luck.. everything will be fine de.

re: too full
i tink im gona explode!! already too full frm the subway wrap... nw i bu xiao xin gona finish up my cup of avocado milkshake liao! wah.. so bored.. i juz CS!!! hope all things will flow down... n not come up &amp; out!!!!!!!!!

so funny, i was just discussing circumsion thingy w my hubby last night. If we have a boy - we do plan to bring him for one when he grows up, not as a baby though.

Based on mine and hubby's experience, we find it much cleaner and 'better-looking'. Hahhaa.

s-Loh... hahaah to the better looking too! hahaha!
erm... i like spicy stuff.. it's a girl.. so i think no logic lah!

haha, also those chinese calculation also not accurate one.. for this, mine indicted as a boy but also not!

s_loh, irodori is at river view hotel. Opposite building of ikoi i think.

bliss ling, it will go well. good luck!
do rest for a few days after that, dun walk too much.

celia, tried with normal water. Dunno if i got used to the taste or wat, doesn't feel so bitter. This time i put 4 prunes. But the prunes liddat pao water, like very wasted hor. I feel so ke xi when i throw the prunes away.

re: circumsize
yeah, i agree on the "better-looking" part with celia! haha.. and definitely more hygienic.

Yup it is scary.. I watched e video of e procedure before.. Unless medically required else I will not let my baby or child go through that... Personal view

ctrus (ctrus) - Ya, my gynae say next visit we shall see what gender is my baby..

Today I puke fish oil ... hug the toilet twice just now... sob sob. I hate this feeling

Hi Batikid. mine is with appointment, dont know u need to wait how long, depends on how many patient are there in a day, but if you say scanning, it also depend on your baby..

My baby sleepy and we took sometime to measure one part... but overall mine still less than an hour. The sonographer says that some might take whole day cos baby not co-perative

shice, oh riverview hotel.. then i had it b4.. haha... pros n cons.. ikoi tempura is nicer den irodori tempura.. irodori has more choices of sushi.. coz my hb loves tempura so usually we will go ikoi

i juz asked gynae are we allowed to take green tea.. and he said any tea allowed after 12 weeks... so happy.... i'm like 'smelling' the fragance of green tea everyday loh!!!

cheese, whole day?!?! aiyo.. i tink better tok to bb b4 hand...

went Thomson for Oscar on monday without a queue, registered at 10am n did my scan at 4pm! luckily my baby cooperative, we finished the scan in 10 mins. today received my results n it's good low risk

Shice,

the soaking of prune in water method probbaly will appeal to those of us here who don't like to eat prunes on its own. If u like prunes like I do, then just chew on them!

Thks for supporting the 'better-looking' part. For some of us who 'tested' both before and after ones, I am sure u know and agree with me! LOL

s_loh, ic.. think we only wan to chong for salmon sashimi. so irodori is reasonable ok for us. heh.. but i agree they tempura not very nice. the batter is not good enough.

re: oscar without q
I went for mine a couple weeks back without q. It was a tuesday. reached ard 8.15am and i'm called in to scan before 9.30am. quite fast.

Wow. I better take a day leave. Was originally thinking of just taking time off for 2 hrs.

a bit worried cos I am almost 40 already. Hope all goes well. Btw, will we know the baby's sex during oscar scan or is it too earlt?

Shice, s_loh, celia,
I would also like to circumcise my baby (if it's a boy). I do think it's "cleaner" and "better-looking"!
Do you know if we need to let our gynaes or the hospital know prior to giving birth (so can have the bb circumcised before being discharged after birth), or is this separate?

Hana^kawaii,
Actually, the World Health Organization indicates that "there is compelling evidence that male circumcision reduces the risk of heterosexually acquired HIV infection in men by approximately 60%. Three randomized controlled trials have shown that male circumcision provided by well trained health professionals in properly equipped settings is safe."

http://www.who.int/hiv/topics/malecircumcision/en/

I guess it boils down to personal comfort levels..

Re: Oscar w/out appt @ TMC
I didn't get an appt time too. Went on Wed at 9+am. Saw sonographer at 10am. Was advised by clinic nurse to avoid Mon &amp; Fri as those 2 days are their most busy days.

Hi mummies! Took my Oscar on Mon too.. Start scanning at 8.30am ( with appt), but only get to leave at 10am. Bb wasn't cooperative at 1st round, so went for a walk and back again at 9.30am.

Got the result from gynae today! Good low risk.. As one of the scan managed to capture the legs portion, I told my hb, should be a girl, cos no birdie pointing out. Haa.. And my gynae also agreed, but will check for gender in next checkup. Guess I'm going to have 2 princesses.. Cos I dun think my hb have the "son" fate. Lolx!

My 1st pregnancy: I avoid coffee once I'm preggy, and drink lotsa of milk.. #1 turned out to be very fair! Haa.. Dunno related anot..but now #2, I'm alittle bo chap.. Shall see how #2 turn out to be. I took crabs, sotong during 1st preg, indeed #1 is very active, like to touch things, climb up and down.. But I still think it's not linked.. But I did avoid mutton, beancurd, del Monte banana. Think beef is okie, heard it's good for bb.