(2013/01) Jan 2013

I used to drink only Brands Chicken essence.. but after the big issue on the caramel thingy, now I only buy EYS Chicken essence. But taste wise, Brands still the best!

I still change bedsheet but of coz with the help of my husb coz the bed really heavy...

toking abt cleft lip.. i heard cant do fishing/prawning as well....

i heard can't do any sewing, cutting on the bed if not might result in cleft lip. and can't move furniture around as well. no knocking of drilling of nails etc at home too when preggy lady is around.

Coke
i am still taking coke occasionally when cravings come. but i tried not to take it with too much ice and normally i drink half a can. i think as long as we take it in moderation should be fine.

snowhopes, not reallm she sleeps in her own room but sometimes when she wakes up in the middle of the night, we bring her over coz we want to Zzz too!

For time like these lor.. I usually will put them into their own cot coz I like to sleep on my own! hahaha.

Friends, what caramel thing? I didn't know... :p I dun like EYS one leh... taste wierd...

tres, my gal wakes up sometimes in middle of night. I will usually hug her for 10 mins, then put her back to zzz... then I go back and zzz... But if Hb goes over, he might land up zzz-ing in her room till morning.

Snowhopes, there was an adver by EYS few yrs back hinting that brands chicken essence not pure and contain caramel albeit very little only lah...

snowhopes > Brands Chicken essence has a bit of caramel added to achieve the black consistent colour whereas in other chicken essence, they claim they do not add that's why their chicken essence colour is rather 'consistent' some darker brown as compared.

But my colleague say it is only 0.03% added and there is no harmful effect abt it....

haha, as for me & hb, we are too lazy to even stay up for 10 mins so we just bring her over lor.... hahaha

Jojo90, I've found one CL, after calling more than 10 CL. To think mine doesn't cross over to CNY, so difficult to find already. Have to put deposit though.

Friends, I also think Brands Essence taste best, the taste very concentrated.

Panting issue:
I heard no pasting of things on the wall too!

Tonic:
Besides chicken essence, is anyone planning to take other tonic herbal soups during pregnancy? I find that for my 2nd DD, seems like stronger body and I did drink more tonic soups during 2nd & 3rd trimester.

Just curious, have you all informed your superior about your pregnancy?

My mum prepared herbal soup for me weekly. She said is to 补气. It consist of dang shen, pao shen, wolfberry, red dates and lean meat. Think can ask the medical hall people to recommend what is good for pregnant mothers.

hello mommies!! so many posts! i jus scanned thru very fast. must have missed a lot!

<font color="119911">tigress</font>, i use Avent Manual for both my kids during pumping. i own a ameda, and a friend lend me PIS, but i still love my avent manual...

<font color="0000ff">canopy</font>, hugs......saw ur ratio. u doing amnio or seeing dr ananda?

<font color="ff6000">shice</font>, sorry hasn't ans ur questions on why i sent my kids to two diff schools. actually its technically the same school, just different branches. reason being when my son enters this school in N1 and we convert him from half to full day, he coughed for 3 continuous months without stopping. we tried PDs, GPs, TCM, tui nas, nothing work until we saw a specialist. he diagnosed him and suggested we pull him out for the time being. we pull him out for 3-4mths, then put him back again in N2. the school is airconditioned. for my #2, i decided to really send her to non aircon schools. so i enrolled her in the other branch nearby. also near office. fresher air. i didn't move my boy cos he's in K2 oredi and has regular friends. so now we fetch from both places loh. heee. we did a lot of research and comparison before deciding on the preschools too.

<font color="0077aa">piscean</font> yah thanks for the tip on rubber band. i saw that on youtube too! what an ingenious idea! anyway, i bought a bellaband already. hope it works for me!

Friends,
Yup I find Dr Tham very calming and approachable. Plus he doesn't restrict my diet too much, at least until the later stages if i put on too quickly.

Toddler bed,
Thanks for all your input. I'll go and see the extendable beds again.

Friends/Tres, Yah I noticed this caramel thingy too! But I realised something: I think now they print Caramel (natural source). For me I grew up drinking BRANDS and I will never forsake Brands for another chicken essenese. Talk abt Brand Loyalty... ;p

ctrus, I have informed my direct supervisors.

piscean/ctrus: My mum made me soup using dang shen, huai shan, wolfberry, red dates with chicken. Not bad at least i dun feel so weak in the evenings (or maybe cos my ADS is leaving me).

ctrus, ya coke got caffaine. but i'm really sleepy and i just ended a meeting. Need abit of caffaine. First time drinking coke in 3 months! haha.. super shiok! but dun intend to do this often. how u manage to survive without coffee when u're a regular drinker?

friends, i agree with u, taste wise brands is still the best!

abt cleft lip, if after detailed scan and gynae confirm no cleft lips, means we can do the pantang stuff already? will the cleft lips problem occur later stage of preg? just wondering. haha!

daisybutton, ic.. fetching from 2 different places means u have to leave work earlier rite? my hubby always pick my son up at the very last min and i cant reach my son's sch on time if i leave at 6pm.

Envy those who have herbal soup to drink. My mum or mil dun cook such soup for me. have to rely on chicken essence.

<font color="0000ff">shice</font>. both my kids are on half day preschool.
after his 3 mths cough, i dun have the courage to put him back on full day. as for my daughter, i still prefer her to sleep at home. so Mon, tues, my hubby fetch. now wed-fri my dad helps fetch. i used to fetch them on mon-tue until i preggie, simply no energy and i have to speed all the way back to work. lol. but when #3 comes and my #1 enters primary school, i may consider puting my #2 to full day. i will need to discuss with her. heee.

herbal soup, can cook yourself actually. just buy the double tier ceramic tonic pot, buy meat and herbs, throw in at correct level and brew for 2 hrs. i brew for my kids heee.

Shice: Initial stage got withdrawal syndrome like headache. But luckily didn't last long, probably 2-3 days.

Detailed scan can know whether baby got cleft lip or not? WOW~ haha... I'm so 'suaku'

daisybutton, maybe can start ur boy on vit c or some probiotics to build up immune system? since he will be gg pri sch, it may be worse. more interaction with other kids.

re herbal soup
just go to herb stall and ask them which herb is good to preggies? or i can just buy those pre-pack from ntuc. but i also dunno which one is suitable for preggies.

re pre-school
decided to give the current sch a chance. try out first, and see how my son cope. since most of u mentioned that this age is more of playing and learning thru play. my worry is that the play area is not big enough, dunno if will limit the "learning thru play" part. haha..

ctrus, if dun drink coffee, u wun feel sleepy? worse still that we r preggie, feels tired more easily! hmm.. from my memory of #1, my gynae got scan from cleft lips together with the 4 sections of the heart, main organs (liver, kidney i think?), the main bone structure (arms, legs, ribcage, spine, head, fingers, toes) etc. really looking forward to detailed scan.

shice, don't torture yourself... drink coffee once in a while. I also regular coffee drinker and i treat myself of coffee on the weekends.. share with hb lor!
haha, what pantang stuff you wanna do?

ya, I also did not know detail scan can reveal cleft lip....

<font color="0077aa">shice</font>, haha thanks but that was in 2009. since then i have already intro all kinds of supplements/tonics to him already. to build him up. my cupboards and fridge are full haha.

Drinks: I still drink one cup of Teh C every morning. As for coke, I will replace it with root beer! I still share canned ice lemon tea, green tea with my hubby. My gynae (like LM mentioned) is the everything also can as long in moderation type so I just continue to eat and drink....

My gynae said no coffee/tea. Plus my hubby is very strict on my diet e.g. no cold drinks, ice-cream, soft-boil egg (cos is still abit raw) etc...

tres/Friends, I drink one cup of Tea-O every morning. I cannot survive wo tea-o!!! as for soft drinks, I seldom drink coke now. If I do is - a few sips. I think moderation is ok. The babycentre website also states that it is ok to take caffine drinks, however in moderation.

usually 1 cup of coffee or tea a day is ok. For my #1, I did not drink tea/coffee/caffine soft drinks/green tea for first 2 trimsters cos I read abt low birth weight due to caffine. In the end, my gal come out less than 3kg lor... Haiyah... so this time I dun so cham liao. Just drink as I like (in moderation). ;)

ctrus, did you ask him why? If not, the next time u see him can ask him why? I very curious leh...

Actually, my hb was also quite strict for my #1... no soft drinks, no instant noodles, no cold stuff. MUST sleep early before 11pm, blah blah. but this time he like relax one corner. ;p

Bb size
Think it depends on genes. Both mine are tiny despite me stopping coffee and tea for #2. she actually turned out smaller. (actually mine turn out small despite eating durians and steak hmmmppphhh)

Think caffeine should be avoided in the last trimester coz caffeine stays in bb system longer so you might get a very wakeful newborn;)

Daisybuttons
You have an '06 child? Your #2?

Brands chicken essence
Haha I hate the taste of bottled chic essence.

For first time mummies
Are you very strict on your diet? Must make sure you get enough calories wor. As well as growth food!! Natural food is the best, however it is done

re: first time mum
actually not v strict on diet wo... firstly gynae is everything also can as long as in moderation kind so hubby also dun take my idea that cannot take caffine etc n dun bother wat I eat. even my mum also say a little bit tea is ok.

so far only mum/mil specifically instrust that n liang stuff like &amp; food like banana, coconut, crab (cos scare bb like crab a lot "hands") , gui ling gao... forget liao...

Full house, I will tell u if my bb still lands up small this round. As for wakeful bb, I did have one cup tea daily during 3rd trim. Not too bad. She sleeps ok and is not wakeful type. In fact she rather zzz than drink milk. ;p

Jo, u first time mummy? My gynae only tell me that I jus need to eat at least enuf to replenish myself. Cos bb will jus absorb whatever nutrients they need from the mother. Kinda like a leech. So fret not abt the bb's nutrients...

So tired at 11pm... Gotta quickly bathe n go zzz Liao- nite nite gals!

morning everyone.. i'm first time mum too, quite strict in diet during 1st 3 mths... 1 cup of tea on mon-fri.. no cold drinks or icecream (1 serving on my own) but i still 'stole' from hubby.. but now coming to 2nd tri, abit not so strict already... 1 serving of ice cream on my own.. hahaha.. how to tahan..

i think banana can take.. but not those big ones.. (supposingly liang)
coconut can only take during last tri i tink.. (my fren told me), she said help to 'clean' the bb, so when bb is out, not so dirty...

i ever ask my mum y cannot take crabs.. den she say is worry that when bb grow up.. like go supermarket will anyhow touch tings.. or rather go pple's hse, will anyhow touch tings loh... so i juz listen to her.... i juz bear with it!

i'm so tempted to take gui ling gao too coz i'm feeling so heaty... >.<

I already have a list of items on wat to eat after delivery.. LOL

Fullshouse and snowhopes.... on the contrary, i drink kopi-c daily during my last trimester for #1, she is not wakeful, fair, not underweight (above 3kg) and due exactly at 40 weeks... so my lesson learn is that everything in moderation!! So my #2 I'm kinda relax.... hhaha!

For my no 1, he came out at 39 weeks and 4days due to induced. Weight about 2.9kg... I drank Tea everyday so I think shd be ok... As for crabs, my mil said she ate a lot when preg with hubby so she never restrict me eating it. Only thing my mil and mummy don't allow is my fav mutton!

Good morning ladies! I am a coffee and tea lover, but I stopped completely after getting preggy. Not that I don't want to drink, but I will puke if I drink.

For my #1, I didn't drink coffee &amp; tea throughout as it was my first baby, I was very careful about my diet. My #1 came out on WK38 via emergency c-section, 3.1KG. I got a feeling that my #2 will be small since I am not eating well, I lost about 2KG for the 1st 2 months. Now at WK14, I have not put on any weight.

tres, same for my gal lor... Other than she was light weight, she was not wakeful and was born exactly at 40 wks (1 day before EDD).

S_loh, yah cannot take the Del Monte/Dole bananas (those that are super long and huge - "beh geh jio" if I am not wrong). The ones that can be taken is the "ang bah jio" and "pang jio"?

The names of the bananas are so funny 'pang jio', for a moment I thought it is 'pass urine' in Hokkien. I heard before cannot eat Del Monte bananas but not sure about the rationale behind it. I usually eat those small ones call 'Ge Leng Jio', direct translation will be 'Indian bananans'

snowhope,
yup I'm first time MTB.

re: mutton
ooh ya my MIL also say no mutton but heng la i dun take mutton de so still ok.

re: heaty-ness
gosh feeling terrible... feeling sore throat + cough + gastric + headache... *argh* peck chek ar~ cos still in office rushing work. tao yan!

whahaha... tigress, i didnt tink of that "pass urine" opps...

my mum even told me dun eat beef.. coz beef will lead to smelly sweat.. -_-"

s-Loh.. funny, Mymum ask me to eat more beef, say that beef will make the baby health better, stronger will tahan the cold wor... hahah diff school diff tots ba!

tres: ya man.. i'm like.. erm.. okay... hahaha... anyway i seldom take beef too coz dont lk the taste/smell... same for mutton.. so i'm pretty safe from the pandang-ness for beef n mutton..

but i wanna eat half-boiled eggs and sashimi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

goooooood mrng ladies~

saw beanie during ob-gynae visit ystrday.. beanie nw 12wks instead of 11wks..(the EDD does owas chg..depending on the angle &amp; perception of hw the measurement is being taken..blah blah.. tha's y it's 'e'dd mah. hoho).. anyways.. my Edd is now 20th Jan instead of 28th Jan.

unlike few here.. i actually hope that mine will cross over the CNY more.. n can siam CNY visiting! lalala~ i dun really heng those once-a-year hi-bye..etc. then being so close aft delivery, im sure will be super pong to go anywhere... n whn will we hv time to buy new clothes leh! anyways.... take a step at a time.. haha.... no need to tink so far ahead.

re: chicken essence
like most.. i prefer brands de. taste much richer. i love it from young too. i still rmbr whn i was in pri sch..then my mum gave birth to my younger sis..i drank up all her chix essence that ppl gave her! bahaha~ used to put the bottle in a cup n soak in warm water to heat up.. then latr on realised whether warmed or not..still taste as fantastic. hehe.

re: food/drinks to avoid
my previous preg, i still drink coffee once a day..sometimes i will dilute abit. this preg..i crave lotsa tea, so im still taking teh quite abit..once a day..then smtimes for other meals.. chrysanthemum or barley oso. coke..dun really hv cravings for it..yet. haha. but i like the tonic water...altho i duno if we can drink or not..so juz few mouths niah.

crab..i ate during previous preg....n will (or had already hv) take for this preg too. i oso heard that bb will hv 'alot of hands'..touchy if we take crabs...n yes, one of my girls ah..everything oso hfta touch.. lift buttons, handles, walls, anything...n drive hb &amp; i crazy whn she will put her hand into her mouth aft touching stuffs!! BUT, cos i heard frm a fren.. he told me a phrase in cantonese..which they say frm their hometown.. he said take crabs, the bb (tinking) will not be straight straight de.. will bian tong, n tink of different other methods to get things done...something along that line la. bahaha..aft listerning..i started to take some crabs in 3rd tri.

other food.. ystrday asked my ob-gynae on few other items.. i asked to avoid liver..so does it mean all innards or like intestine can eat.. he said yes, but make sure it's fully cooked. (so i had kwey chap this mrng..hohoho.)
but he discourage me to have subway leh...due to the raw vegs. he said he himself had a bad experience of 2days of LS aft a subway meal.. so i better be careful. but i guess those very busy n crowded outlets is a better choice rite?
ice cream..he said norm ice cream or those mac ice cream cone de oso ok. so im gona hv ice cream latr aft lunch. hooooo~

re: baby gender (for bb #2 or more)
do u ask your kid now.. what they feel the bb (in yr tum) gender will be? some say what the elder kid say de is quite chun de.. anyone heard anything like this.. or no logic at all? hehe.

<font color="0000ff">fullhouse</font>, my #1 is 06 baby.
he's coming 6 now and following week is his P1 registration.

<font color="ff6000">food intake</font>. haha my #1 i very pantang, everything ppl say cannot eat i really dun eat. including caffeine, soya beancurd, less liver, half boiled eggs, raw food blah blah blah. especially crabs. end up his hand very itchy anyway! everyting also touch. so i conclude, not true.

so for #2 i relak abit, i drink a leeeetle bit of caffeine once in a while, and I EAT CRABS! i think turn out fine, cos #1 still more touchy feely than #2. So i completely debunked the crab myth and i am definitely gg to eat crabs this #3!.

then this #3, i think i really more relak. caffiene if i crave i will drink. cold drinks take a lot cos helps nausea. half boil eggs if i crave i will eat. i eat liver. i ate cooked cockles before. cooling stuff like cooling fruits i still eat e.g. mangosteens but i will counter with heaty fruit that same day or next day. not sure if it helps but it makes me feel beta.

The only thing i really really don't take still, is soya bean curd (ppl say bean curd contains shi gao which is super cooling), raw shell fish, sashimi, pineapples, delmonte bananas, mutton, halfcooked meat...

re: subway
maybe can eat but avoid the hams and vege? juz eat the sandwich with cooked meat and toasted with cheese? i guess shld be okay...

re: baby gender (for bb #2 or more)
i heard about that before too... what abt those with #1? can ask any kid anot? eg, friends' kid
my auntie (who knows abt me preggy) saw me over the weekend and she looked at my tummy and said it's round, so mayb girl?? but still early... went to tell my hb abt it, he said no lah, muz be boy.. not accurate one... then i asked him what if girl how? he asked "WHERE'S THE TRASHBIN"

OMG.... but i told him.. that will depends how many lovers he had in his previous life... (someone ever told me before, daughter is dad's previous life's lover - dont know how true) opps

daisy:: bahahahaha~ ur so funny on the '#1 very pantang', '#2 relak abit'..and '#3 really more relak' part. lol~

waaah.. cockles.... i wan oso!

nowadays... those soya beancurd.. like those pudding pudding kind de.. they say din put the watever shi gao tingy.. duno izit true hor.. so means we can eat rite? i had been craving for dao huey for awhile oso. ):

s_loh:: lol~ so r boys mum's previous life's lover? so if all girls.. means the mum's previous life mei ren ai?

actually last time..whn i was preg..n went to our fengshui master...(that was before we know the bbs gender)... he mentioned to us.. 'shen hai zi..yao shen nu er xian'.. it's better to hv girls as first born.

u shld tell yr hb.. girls will normally bring fortune to the father... so he shld b looking forward to a bb girl (if first born) more. hahaha.
but of cos i understand too.. we're still chinese, n some chinese still prefer boys..to carry on the family line or smting. hehe.

anyways.. we all know deep well...... as long as bb healthy n guai guai.... that's most important huh. heee~

<font color="119911">s_loh</font>ur hubby very hilarious!!! is it cos he watched The Dictator??? hahaaa... we watched it and this scene very familiar heee.

<font color="ff6000">subway</font>. i read before that avoid deli foods unless its cooked or well heated up. maybe if u crave for subway ask them to heat it up longer than usual? just a tot.

<font color="0077aa">ahbui</font> heheehe i think i am more relak now is for the sake of my sanity too! crabs here i come!!! but to be honest, i secretly ate the cooked cockles lah.... mins later when hubby asked "u never eat right?" i sheepishly said maybe 1.... oh the beancurd thing, issit? didn't know that. anyway lucky i dun quite crave...

Oh no, I ate subway (club trio) for dinner last nite... got ham and vegetable. Still thinking was very healthy sia~ And yes, I missed my soft-boiled egg!!!

This is my first pregnancy, I do noticed that I crave for spicy food (e.g. curry, tom yum, laksa) 无辣不欢. During my initial stage, I need to nap immediately after meal esp on non-working days. Then they were said most likely will be a gal. Dunno how true too.

ahbui, hahaha.. dunnoe leh... nobody mentioned abt sons being mum's previous life lovers.. opps.. ya loh.. chinese mah.. all prefer boys.. somemore our bb will be the first in his dad's side de family (including relatives).. so if boy.. really like best... but girl also okay lah.. den got chance to hav 2 kids based on he die die want at least a son..

daisy, yes! the dictator... it's bcoz of that show and he said 'where's the trashbin' hahaha