(2013/01) Jan 2013

Hi all mummies

I like to join this thread as well
expecting my #2 EDD 21st Jan 2013

Currently still having bad MS and all the other good old frens :< going for oscar this wed at NUH as I didnt managed to book at TMC

"wave" hi cheese

<font color="119911">BP, calm down and dun cry...
Maybe gynae just wanna tell u the gd results?
How abt calling back to check with the nurse on the result instead of worrying unduly?</font>

Hi Jo are you using cocoa butter? I read some people are sensitive to coca butter, if so, maybe u wanna switch the brand of cream you are using..

Purple Rain,
with regards to constipation relief, I met a midwife recently. She told me apart from eating prunes (eg Sunsweet USA prunes) - we can drop a few in a glass of water and leave it overnight. Next morning, drink it when we wake up. For this for few days, and constipation should subside.

I tried first time this morning. The water really becomes pruny drink, but the prunes no longer nice to eat, too soggy, so I dump it.

Not sure if it works, but no harm trying. She said it could work better than eating the prunes directly or drinking those commercially bottled prune juice (way too much sugar).

celia:: thnx for the tip.. i was hvg sm bombing prob too.

re: oscar test
clinic just called n told me they hv booked me for 19th jul appt at nuh. finally.

re: aqua-fitness for pregs
anyone has any idea if KKH is still conducting this? (hmmm.. prolly i shld call them up latr..)
i signed up 3 yrs back..but latr pregnancy was a high-risk one, so i sold my slot away. wonder if they still conduct.. n if anyone of u wld like to attend tog? :)

BP, dun worry. I was like you when i received miss call from my gynae. So worried and they actually called to inform us that the test revealed low risk... so give them a call to check, ya?

BP, hugs.. clarify and dun worry unnecessary ya? Maybe it's ur hormones that's making u all sobby.

Celia, i dun like to eat prunes, but may try the prune drink method. Hopefully it works and dun taste too yuckie. heh.

gynae has started me on fish oil, calcium and iron pills. having alot of difficulty getting them down my throat. the pills are quite big.

talking abt aqua-fitness, anyone got recommendation where to get reasonable ok and not too expensive swim suit? cant fit into my normal swim suit le. My two pcs rubber band part also spoil le. This time wanna get something to cover my tummy fats. haha.

Oh yes, my Gynae told me b4 that a lot of mummies are sensive to cocoa butter. So better to avoid. BTW, do you all think I can use Egyptian magic cream as stretch mark cream? The ingredients seemed all natural.

I gave away most of my BB stuff as I thought I will not have #2. Now need to buy again. Previously I was using Ameda electric breast pump and Avent manual pump. Both are good, but Ameda pumps seemed a bit noisy. For experienced mummies, which pump do you all prefer?

HI Geri! Big hi to u!

BP can u try and call?

Dont worry let see what they wanna say?

My doc also give me a big scare, say wanna talk to me but in the end i waited since 10am to 5.45pm he just called and say everything is ok...

Hi Shice

Fret not, the drink becomes dark, but no prune smell. Jst like light drink. so dun have to eat the prunes either. Give it a try!

We all get worried qwhen dr say they wanna talk to us, sigh. why cant they just tell the nurse to relay the message our BB is okie immediately. Save us from all the worrying!

i used to hv the ameda pump... but then.. NO bmilk!!! then i lend the pump to my fren..i cant evn rmbr nw if she has rtnd to me not. errrh.. dun quite tink i'll buy another pump yet....unless really this time hv miracle supply..then will get hb to go source for one.

Celia
Thanks for the remedy! I have a big tub of prunes at home, haven touch it yet cos find it yucky for the past weeks. Will try it out tonight! But can I drink it cold? I have a fetish for cold drinks now...

nope, am not using cocoa butter.... in fact i'm using clarins scretch mark cream...

gosh feeling v terrible now... almost black out n fainted... =(

Canopy, saw you post ur results. *HUGZ* same thots as fullhouse, ur baby will be ok! *jia you!*

tigress, I love my medela PISA. Cos I pump at work so a dual pump helps cut down pumping time. Because I was pumping exclusively to feed so the PISA was like my BEST-EST friend for the whole 11 mths.

cheese 84, ur tummy pic shows a very protruding tummy (= pregnant) how come the sales pple so blind uh!

shice, if u not shy shy type can wear bikini!!! :p it's the only time u can be proud to be "fat". I never wear bikini before so X____X no eyes to see (haha!)

The Cocoa Butter strechmark I heard that mummies start getting rashes sometime in late 2nd trimster when the skin is super streched and sensitive. the first few months was still ok.

<font color="119911">tigress, I have used the Ameda dual pump before it got spoilt and got a Medela freestyle after that.
I personally vote for Freestyle!

Seems to be able to pump more out and it's much much more portable!</font>

tigress, i only tried medela freestyle (dual pump - can change to single pump also) and avent manual pump (backup for my travel, in case medela die on me). Medela is the better one, with better suction. I cant get as much milk from avent manual pump. Also medela freestyle is quite compact and not very noisy. Saw before other pumps when i'm pumping with other mummies at work. Theirs quite bulky and noisy. Not very suitable to carry to work and home everyday if u intend to pump longer than ur ML.

Celia, that's good to hear that it wun have strong prune taste! btw, use hot water or normal water to soak the prunes? how many prunes u put inside for a normal cup of water? think will go buy tonight to try.

Jo, if u're not well, go home and rest! otherwise eat something sweet. maybe ur sugar level is low, that's y feel giddy and faint.

snowhopes, wah bikini! maybe pple like cheese or celia can pull it off nicely with the baby bumps. For me, seriously, i got quite alot of remaining fats from #1 and putting on quite abit now for #2. lol. some more, intend to bring my son to baby pool. the water not high enough to cover my fats at the tummy area! hahaha.. so i better get some cover ups. lol!

i vote for medela PISA too. before that i bought avent dual pump. nothing comes out. then i quickly change to medela after seeing it at the parentcraft centre at TMC. Superb! the suction is really good

Purple Rain, I am sure u can drink cold. Leave it overnight in the fridge and u get this dark drink in the morning. My midwife says dun have to eat the prunes after that (yippe for u!). But have to do this consecutively over few days. Dun expect to have better bowel over night , as it's not laxative after that, she told me.

Jo, oh dear, I am also using clarins stretch mark control now, okie for me.. I think u stop using temporarily or switch brand. Try again after a while to see if u r still sensitive / allergic to it...

maybe can go to baby fairs and have a look personally at the pumps. I know for medela and avent, they usually display their pumps during the fairs. Cant rem if got other brands.

Finally settled my CL
$2.3k (after discount somemore due to recommendation). Quite ex (as compared to my no 1's rate) but bobian... At least a load off my mind.

Pump: used M freestyle but I gave up bf when I'm back to work after 3 mths. Got it from Tan Leng Leng's US spree.

friends,
wow 2.3k i think i v ok lo. does ur cross over CNY? cos I was quoted $3k + as mine will cross over CNY...

Hi gals, I will be buying PIS. Friends recomended me saying suction better as compared wif freestyle. Will listen to her.

Do u gals hav a fb group? Prefer to chat in fb then here.

Are there any difference btw Medela Swing &amp; PIS? I mean in terms of suction. For my #1, my supply was bad, not sure if it's because the pump is not suitable. Pump until cow come home only got less than 80ml for both breast. This time round must try harder.

I'm doing away with CL this time round, cos I'm those who don't follow the rules. I have to bath and wash my hair everyday. In addition, I don't take red meat, so a lot of confinement food cannot eat. Now searching for good post-natal massage lady.

wah so now the brand of pumps is the topic uh:
i used medala swing, it died on me. i need to get a new one; any recommedation. Is freestyle worth it? about 800 plus rte? but if we get the imported one frm US, is it just as gd..scare will die and have no warranty to repair leh..

ladies, been feeling so tired recently. whole body ache.. is it ok to drink chicken essence to boost engergy?

Hi Jo and ahbui, $2.3k ok huh? Cos two years back, I paid only $1.9k so now heartpain. Moreover it is hubby and my mum who insisted that I get 1 even thou I thot of managing myself. My EDD is 2 Jan so won't cross over CNY... Anyway, hope she is good loh. Keeping my fingers crossed....

I've been following this thread from the start and my edd is 12 Jan. May I join in the chat?

Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham
Child #2
delivery hospital: TMC

My #1 is 18mths now and will be exactly 2yrs old by the time I deliver. Anyone has experience getting your older one to sleep in a toddler bed at age 2 or younger? I need the cot for #2, but I'm scared #1 will fall off the bed or reject the bed. Any tips, and where did u buy your toddler bed from?

I tried swing b4. PIS suction better than swing. But PIS very super heavy even after I take it out from the bag.

friends:: haha.. now market diff le bah. omoz 3yrs back i paid $2.4k for my twins. if was a great deal. now aunty more popular le.. plus inflation.. plus peak period.. plus CNY.... etc.. bahaha~ i tink most likely im gona engage aunty for 6wks this time (last time we engage 4wks..n at last min extend another 2wks... cos we fear we cant handle the 2 bbs!). i love the confinement food..lol... but it's gona cost hb lotsa $$ le.

komathi:: me too.. whole body, lower back.. i tink hip (back) aching like mad.. esp aft walking or standing too long. me too..very restless, very tired...nvr able to hv a good night sleep! im tinking of buying those bottled chicken essence too.. cos i duno (n lazy) to make my own..pure chicken essence.

LM, I bought normal adult bed for my #1. I also bought a long bed rail only left 20% of the bed side empty for #1 to come down from bed himself. His sleeping pattern is horrible. Can be from head of bed to bottom then right to left. The bed rail is v gd for him.

shice, I oso leh... I dun think i dare wear a bikini, my hb oso won't wan half of my boobs hanging out i guess... :p

Pumps: I actually used both Medela PISA &amp; Avent manual. The PISA I use at home &amp; in office. Avent manual is when I'm on the go (like shopping and it so happens my breast is bursting with milk). PISA actually has a battery pack but I find it a bit bulky to lug around for shopping. When I bring it to work, I actually remove the pump from the PISA backpack (there's a velcro).

When using the PISA, I usually just relax and let the pump do the suction work. But for avent manual, I have to do a lot more massaging to "release the milk" from the breast. (errm... u know like milking a cow?) paiseh TMI. ;p

For Medela pumps, u can get it cheaper through spree (cheapest) or this shop in paragon (dunno whether it's still there). Back in 2008, the shop in paragon sells the US set with inshop warranty (1 yr).

LM:: prolly i was lucky in the sense.. my girls had been sharing a queen bed since they were 1.5mths old.. n due to 'lack of space'.. we had to shift them on to individual single beds... if rmbr correctly, just before they turned 2yo. we got the bed from Ikea, the one which is adjustable for length. we find the height quite ok.. even if they fall... not too jialat oso. the bed is oso steady.. me plus both the girls. we hv few extra pillows n bolster ard the bed or on the floor. in between their bed, we lay the used cot mattress..as cushioning too.

norm i will lie dwn on the mattress till they sleep then leave the room. hb will smtimes juz leave them to KO themselves. hv fun to try different methods. perhaps u can install some night lights too. good luck.

I also confirm my CL too, as my EDD is 15 Jan, it will cross to CNY but I requested to do only 3 weeks of confinement so that both me &amp; CL can spend CNY with our family! haahah!

Whoever, still needs a CL, I have 1 to recommend but she is ex.. but can cook very well.. she will like cook bee hoon, hor fun, wan ton mee for confinement! let me know!

Cheese, I encountered a sales lady who want to recommend me tummy trim remedy too. That was when I was about 8wks, can start to see thick waistline. I just told her I'm pregnant, and it's quite funny to see her shocked &amp; dunno-what-to-say expression.

Jo, I had itchy skin &amp; rashes at tummy area for my 1st pregnancy around 1st tri. For me, it was cocoa butter type of lotion. After stopped using till rashes recovered, I changed to using baby oil. This time I'm using Mustela lotion, not so oily.

Hi Geri, enjoy your scan this Wed. Do update us.

Tigress, I like Medela PISA &amp; Avent manual (somehow, the cushion massage helps for times when I can't get let down with electric pump).

Ahbui, high 5! I luv confinement food! Thinking about it makes me hungry now.

Boiled my very own chicken essence on sat. Very thick and nicer than the bottled ones but too tedious and time consuming. I think i will stick to bottled ones for the time being:p Lol!

A big welcome to new mummies! LM, we share the sane gynae too!

hi all, i use avent dual electronic pump for my 1st one. so far so good just that the pump is heavy to carry to and fro work. bought it close to 900 bucks 3 years back from mothercare. there's a year warranty. complained the pump was noisy and suction was not good after 6 months of use, got a brand set pump in exchange.

being a kiasu person, i've booked my CL once confirmed pregnancy. edd is 06 jan and want to book her for 6 weeks but she turned down the request and said max she can do is 4 weeks. she wants to return malaysia in time for cny. i think after negotiation, she wants s$2.3k.

koms/ahbui, I have been taking chicken essense (BRANDS) for sometime since I know pregnant. Need energy booster to keep me alive at work.

LM, I think for kiddos 2 years and above they may roll off the bed. I think it's ok to get bed where one side is against the wall and the other side, get those wooden rail or beds that already come with the rails.

This is the rail which I bot aft converting my gal's baby cod into a tod bed:
7254668.jpg

I recently bought an IKEA bed that is extenable (from smaller than tod size all the way to single bed size). I feel this will save $. Else when the child grows older, the tod bed will be too small...

This is the ikea bed (Now they have it in black colour). when not fully extended, the two "circular rails" are actually quite close. The size in the pic is considered (2nd biggest size setting) tod size bed.
7254680.jpg

courgeous:: im planning to. my mum used to travel to my plc in j.west frm bt. batok for almost 2yrs every weekdays to look aft my girls. i tink it's too tiring for her liao le. plus..my girls juz chg'd CC 3-4mths back..n this CC has infant care too.

however, we might b moving back to the in-laws plc next yr aft delivery.. MIL already retired n juz hired a helper at hm. then by then wv my own helper...i duno if 'they' will wan me to leave bb at home. of cos.. it's a supersonic mega NO for me la!!! kai wan siao!!!!!! i rather pay out of own pocket.. n send bb to infant care manz!!

the CC we go to is at jurong IBP.
r u staying yishun area..or working near there? personally.. i prefer a ctr smwhr in midway.. or at least not too far frm work.

snowhopes:: i cant open your pic attachement.. but im guessing we hv the same bed. :)

*correction* opps.. can see the pics now.. hahaha.. yes... its the same bed. we nw still hvg the beds to 150 i tink... tink they hv 3 length settings rite.. was it 120? 150 n 190?

bahaha~ actually i hvnt really go find out abt infant care rates!!!! for working mums.. there is subsidy oso izit arh? i tink avg (aft sub) is ranging frm $800 - $1k+++??

waah.. gigi lai had a pair of twin girls.. now another pair of twin boys. n she's 41 liao. rich ppl really anything oso can hor.

haha.

ahbui,yah... it's I think it's 120,150 &amp; 190. At 120, it's really short I feel. With the rails, unless the kiddo hangs his feet out of the rails, it's unlikely for them to roll off the bed. :p The only irritating part is gotta buy the mattress from Ikea... (currently i using single size mattress cover, excess cloth tuck underneath the mattress).

Hb was actually thinking of getting the one that can be turn upside down one. But i thot it's too bulky.

Friends, how do you make chicken essense? If I feeling less lazy, maybe I try making my own... :p

Komathi,
such a coincidence to meet you here. I also develop back ache by mid afternoon. Don't rem backaches coming so early for #1. Actually this #2 has caused all kinds of exaggerated symptoms. MS, backaches, large tummy...all are worse and I get it earlier than #1.

X,
Did your boy ever fall off the 20% that was not protected? Cos my dd also can end up sleeping sideways at the corner of the cot. In that position I think she could push herself off the bed. Or maybe I'm thinking too much. Haha

Ahbui,
I've also shortlisted one bed from ikea. Price is reasonable and I hope it'll last a while. We already use a night light and she can fall asleep by herself in the cot. It's just the change in bed. Did your girls wake in the middle of the night n 'escape' from the bed? I think I need a safety gate!

Pumps,
I've only used the Medela freestyle. But I've heard Pisa can pump more milk. I'm not sure if I should try it out too, since my supply was low then. Mummies who've had more than 1 already, did ur milk supply improve for subsequent babies?

Ahbui, my colleague send her baby to infant care but baby kept falling sick leh... I see my colleague like very poor thing cos need to take urgent leave to being back baby and panda eyes every night caring for sick cranky baby...