(2013/01) Jan 2013

Cheese84, My tummy is very big and round and keep wanting to eat. But now I try to restrict my diet as much as I can. Eat until not hungry but not full. When I'm hungry, I will be shivering and weak... I don't want to eat dinner is becos of my inlaw's cooking.... If bring me to restaurant, I can eat two bowls of rice. Lol. Nowadays, I need to sleep by 10 or I get very cranky. Very easily tired and bad tempered. Lucky I got myself a part time cleaning auntie when I'm preg cos I don't even have the strength to lift up the iron at night..

Jos, I went to my healthway clinic GP at sengkang for my coughing. The GP assured me that the cough mixture and throat tablets he prescribed were pregnancy safe. Sleep better after taking the med. Good uninterrupted rest is very important.

cheese, yah 2nd and 3rd time i bloat more easily and tummy also more elastic. and super super tired. i oredi walk with a pregnant waddle usually from late afternoon onwards....can't help it.

anyone knows where to get this? it helps us wear our old jeans longer over tummy...i think its called maternity/pregnancy belt.
7240197.jpg

daisybutton, i think spring maternity sells something similar like that!

anyways ladies, I went for my detail scan yesterday and my gynae told me the gender, it should be 99% accurate, it will be a bb Girl! coz he showed me the 3 lines as indicted in snowhopes scan!
Kinda disappointed coz my #1 is a girl alr but nevermind lah! as long as healty and easy to take care, I'm happy!!

Morning ladies!!
Daisybutton: i saw it at mothercare. Comes in different sizes. Was thinking of getting it too.

Am going for OSCAR later on. Hope everything is fine

Tres, dun be sad. Girls are super sweet and 贴心。jus look at chloe. They can be good sisters and go out shopping with u next time. I love girls. So do my hubby. Actually we quite scared of boys. Haha.. Dun mind if next one is a girl again.

wow congrats tres, know the bb gender le.

jos, take care leh. cough not easy to get well even for norm, not to mention preg ppl like us...

annie, enjoy ur trip yea! & take care too.

Tres, can understand your feeling. Cos I'm hoping for a ger this time round.... The thot of having 2 deal with two DILs if my this baby happens to be a boy again (which I think likely hood cos same symptoms) scare me a lot....

tres, how many weeks are you now? I thought detailed scan is at WK20? Anyway, gal or boy is ok as long as the BB is healthy.

For my colleague, before 5th month, Gyane told her 80% boy, but after detailed scan it's a Gal. So I think now is not 100% accurate.

thanks all... no lah, i'm not too upset! in fact my hb is jumping for joy! hahaha!
Ya I know, I will gain 2 more sons next time.. whereas for boys.... after marriage they will be more towards wife's family side.... so ???

Wanted a boy so the family is completed mah!!

oh well.. now hoping to clear blood test so that I can happily shop for sisters' clothes ahahahah!!!

@fullhouse, my friend said that include all sort of supplements like iron, calcium, DHA etc.. consultation abt $200++

@ snow abd shice, I find that it a waste of monies if OSCAR is good plus she is still young. What I gathered from her was that Dr Ann said that OSCAR maynot be of high % thus amino will provide 99.9%.

I going to ask my fren abt Dr ANN TAn stitches?? hehehheee

@ Tres, how many weeks u are now currently? Detailed scan u did it at Dr Cheng 's clinic?

2nd time mummy
I do feel the different like what Friends, I also need to sleep by 10 if not I will also get very cranky and bad temper. Am tired easily too. Tummy shown very fast this time round ...

my symptoms also the same as when I had #1 so most prob this time round, am having the same gender as #1

fullhouse, din know that we can start FB conversation with pple we dun know. tot need to be friends first.

Jos, bad cough can see normal GP. Just have to let them know that u're preg so the medicine they give is safe for baby.

cheese, my second preg seems more tiring and I gained weight faster too with all the eating.. I pant more easily too, sometimes even when i'm eating or talking. gotta stop for a while to catch my breath.

friends, u think so far ahead le!! but true. thinking abt future dil makes me fearful too. lol!

din sleep well last night coz #1 keep waking up and cry.. plus hubby's snoring, it's impossible to sleep!! so tired now.. think afternoon would be worse.

Heee, let's do ananalysis of gender differences since we are at it... From my exp and those of friends with two genders...

Girls
Generally easier to manage as a bb. They are neurologically more mature so more 'seng mong' (醒目) even as a bb. they are also developmentally more advanced in terms of motor skills, so crawls earlier, walks earlier, self feed earlier.. (of course it dep on your training la, some grannies refuse to let their charges walk, self feed etc)..

Temperament
As they grow older, girls tend to be more difficult to manage. They remember grudges, and are generally fussier and more petty..

Boys ah, thry can actuallt be sweeter temperamentally. you can scream at them and cane them. They forget in a minute and of course cannot remember they have to behave after that ... Sigh...

Grown ups
Not sure coz both not grown up yet lol...

Any other inputs? Just for the fun of it!!

bliss, I'm 12 weeks, yes the scan is at Dr CHeng clinic. OK, maybe not detailed scan but he did a more through scan to show bb head, heart, stomach, N.I toes and fingers.... then blood test after that!

fullhouse, can't comment much as I have 15 months experience with my girl but compared to my frens and SIL, it seems that she is easier to handle in terms of sleeping, feeding. But my niece is quite oppo from my #1 leh, she is rather bad in feeding and she get jealous easily with my gal.. whereas my gal is kinda carefree and happy lor! ahhaah

Tres
Yes boys generally will forget to be jealous once they start playing!!! But of course it depends on individual child's character lah... Both my kids were textbook bbs, even in terms of gender description..

Shice
Erhmm 'seng mong' is Cantonese for a kinda understanding beyond what is seen... A bit like 懂事...

tres and ryan, thanks. but what i am looking for is not the maternity band that goes all around the waist. cos those types even if u wear jeans will still drop cos noting to hold the jeans up?i saw that at moms r us before. but i am looking for a piece of fabric kind that you clip in front with your jeans. is that what mothercare and spring have? thanks!

cheese, u wan girl uh? Haha... I guess we hope to have one boy one girl then can close shop liao right? ;p

shice, u oso uh? But my burps always sounds like I going to puke. Scares my hb so much... LOL!

Tres, u so early do detail scan? Detail scan usually is around week 20?

Bliss_ling, as logn as OSCAR score is good and mother maternal age is less than 30, should be fairly safe le... amino if no miscarry risk i think is ok to go ahead. but no lor amino risk like quite high.

i had my OSCAR scan yesterday. For my no#1, i scn 6 times and doctor still cannot measure because bb position not right...this time i scan 3 times...haiz doc even commented i am one out of dont know how many cases and rare case he encountered throughout his years of practice!

daisybuttons, the purpose of maternity belt is to support the tummy weight. As for the fabric kind, i tot it's just an extra fabric to cover that area in case 走光 or cold.

snowhopes, usually i dun burp one, but these days, i burp uncontrollably. so embarassing! esp in office when it's quiet, then i suddenly burp.
ur burps sounds scary but i can imagine it. haha! but feels shiok after that right? :p

aspialle, maybe gotta shake shake abit? haha. 1st one 6 time, 2nd one 3 time, maybe 3rd one first try can measure already? haha. anyway i feel that baby's position is very important. For first one i think the position not very right, then anyhow measure. maybe that's y i fail my oscar test coz the measurement was like 3+mm.

shice, yes. i am not interested in the tummy support belt. i am interested in the one that covers the tummy and hold up my jeans so i can wear old jeans type. heee. tummy suupport belt quite easy to find, see it several times.

shice, yah lor SUPER SUPER SHIOK!!! haha... if I dun burp, it's like a lot of things stuck there like wan to come out cannot come out... ;p

Wanna ask for opinions.. is it important for toddlers to go to a better sch (more structured learning process with bigger play area and more exposure) for playgroup, i.e. 18m onwards? Does it make any difference at this age?

Coz I'm contemplating to change sch when my son "grad" from infant care. The current sch's playgroup is not as good (see above for the main differences) as the new one i'm aiming at. But my concern is that #2 will go to the current sch (which is better in terms of care and cost - difference of $300). So when #2 starts infant care, my hubby will have to travel 2 places to send and pick them up.

That's y abit dilemma whether to change sch for #1. Any opinions? Choose between our convenience or son's learning exposure?

Shice
When your older goes to nursery, will your younger be ready for playgroup? If that is so, keep both in the same sch then change together when they are older? Playgroup isn't much bah, things get more interesting in nursery or kindy.

Shice, ya I was told to go walk walk so many times, doc even use that instrument to jerk my tummy, ask me to turn side ways...etc tried everything but bb refuses to turn around. Haha so funny. For my no 1, doc tried both vaginal scan and abdominal scan also cannot.

Personal opinion at 18 mths I would not want to stress the child with too much contents, cos it may make them hate learning instead. I would prefer those classes letting them play n learn or instill creativity. When they are more acceptable to classes then gradually introduce other things

shice, i agree with fullhouse, things get more interesting and u learn more things in nursery and kindy. 18mths to 2-3 yrs this period is really playing. that said...i was in a similar dilenma but a bit opposite situation. both my kids start preschool only at nursery 1.but they are at different schools all this while. used to be one near home, one near my work place. now is both near my workplace but diff schools.

question: is your targettd new school very popular? hard to get in? waiting list? cos if not....like fullhouse i wld prefer wait til #1 ready for playgroup, then move #1 to Nursery. urs seems like 2 yrs gap, so just nice, but ur #1 will not be able to start the FIRST day of Nursery in the new school lah. else if this new school is Hard to get a place, then i may consider
1. putting #1 in first to be sure. see if i can get another caregiver to fetch one of them back instead. or if they are full day, u split up duties with hubby?
2. ask the principal can i put down a deposit or something to secure the place for my #1 in 2yrs time. noting that he will not start at the beginning of the yr.

Just went for my 2nd gynae visit... Doc booked me for Oscar two weeks later (@12 weeks)... nervous...

Saw bb moved its little hands during v.scan just now... doc commented like " 招财猫" but personally feel more like "hamster" Hahaha!

@ snow, I agree with u.. however I am 35 yrs old thus my gynae said he will let me choose whether OSCAR / amino..

Me too agree with fullhouse. To me, kids learn thru play.

@ shice, # 2 will go to IFC then how to cope when there are 2 at home in the night? I find that it quite siong if there is no helper.

I still thinking whether to send #2 to IFC or nanny? #1 was IFC since 4 months old...

hai my #1 was in ifc previously but he really got senstive lung.. so I withdraw...

now have to put him again.. im so sad and worried. MIL will take care of #2.

Yes I agree they learn through play.
my boy is very good in A-Z, numbers and colours. He love them, pick up 1-10 in chinese within few says only, im very impressed.

wonder when #2 out, he will be coming 3 years old. easier to tackle? haiz. wonder if my mil can cope a not..

fullhouse, when #2 is ready to go playgroup at 18M, #1 will be 38M (ard 3Y 2M). Will it be too late to send him then?

diasybutton, how come ur kids now in different sch? is there a reason for sending them to different sch? must be hard on you to travel both places rite?

abt the new sch, it's still quite okay for playgroup. but I didn't ask whether nursery got waiting list anot. The gap btw them should be abt 20M difference. Abit difficult to split duties with hubby coz both schools are quite inaccessible. only hubby got car. (i think we are seriously 自讨苦吃. choosing these kind of schools. haha!)

I just need to be convinced that I'm not short changing my #1 by letting him continue the current sch, when we actually have the option of giving him a better sch (at the parent's expense).

bliss ling, i dunno how to cope at night when #2 is born. We dun like having helper (stranger) ard in our house. And after hearing so many negative stories abt helpers, not very keen to try out. heh. Was hoping the first one would be old enough to "help" out at home. If not, I try to be super mum loh! haha. But I got back up plan, i.e. my mil can come over to help at night. Not very keen on this cos I'm afraid there may be disagreements over certain things if we stay together.

cheese, wow... not easy for kid to pick up in chinese..

hhumm.. mine got sensitive airway..

oh the time he 3 yrs old, he will be in cc? your son born in each mth in yr 2010

I have pre-loved baby boy and girl items to clear:

1. Mothercare baby car seat @ S$69 (RP$199).
2. New Braun Hand Blender @ S$40 (RP$59).
3. Swimming Tub @ S$40.
4. Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump @ S$80 (RP$ 169).
5. New baby formula bottles @ S$10 for a set of 3 pcs.
6. Piano Musical for Cot/ Floor @ S$10.
7. Musical Toy for Cot @ S$10.
8. ELC Blossomfarm sit me up cosy age 0-12 mths @ S$45 (RP$129).
9. Baby boy and girl cloths.

Interested please SMS 9833 9315.

YAy, blood test all normal! time to shop for sisters' clothes!!!!

Dr cheng is damn fast lah, blood test yesterday and results are out this morning! I like him! ;-)

cheese,

Maybe can send him to childcare in the day time, so ur mum only have to handle the younger one. Handle one at least not too xiong for her. At night, u can come back and help out when the older one comes home.

shice, ya it will be tough esp after the kids school. but if can 'tong' then 'tong' lah!
Nothing is better than having privacy at home!

For me, diff story, my mum will be looking after them and she request for a maid, so have to give in lor! next yr, expenses will sure go up!
Additional Maid, additional allowance for my mum for #2, school expenses for #1... there goes my shopping, bags and holidays! ;-(

tres, you are going to deliver at Mount A right? May I ask your opinions on Mount A as I'm still considering if I should choose this hospital?

1) Is it true that the hospital has a very gloomy feel?
2) Are you bothered by the on-going renovations? Any idea when their full Reno will complete?
3) Is there any parking issues, even for visitors? (Think I saw from prev posts abt some problems with parking there?)

tres, ya. some more can bond with our kids. My mil came and take care of #1 occassional when we r bz. Think she spoil him until every time my son sees my mil, he will cry and get his way thru my mil.
usually every night he can sleep peacefully without making much trouble. but coz my mil came to stay over, my son knows she's ard and keep crying for her (coz she will carry him to sleep). End up i had to spend extra effort to distract him and listen to his wailing for quite a long tme before he slept. partly y i'm so sleepy today.

Hi Liz,

I will choose Mt A because it is very near my home plus my parents and PIL, so it easy for them to visit, esp my #1 will be with them!

1. I dun think the hospital has a gloomy feel.
2. I aks my SIL (whom gave birth in May) she says she doesn;t hear much reno going on.. so i guess it should be ok, just called Mt A, ground floor level will be done by end july.
3. Shortage of Car parks coz they close half the car poark for Reno and the reno will take another 2-3 years wor!

@ Liz, well Mt Alvernia reno is still ok. I was there last week since Wed wee hrs til Sat 12pm. My girl was admitted for viral fever. Been to level 3, didnt heard much noise from reno. Their front office will be ready by this mth. Nice and bright with the lighting.

As for the gloomy feel, i would suggest u go to Mt A for a maternity tour. Individual will have different feel toward certain things so what other feel may not be true for you too.

The area ard Nursery room is bright. As for the corridor, abit dim but not too bad. The nurses are good.

I would like to deliver in Mt A but gynae not goin there = (

For carpark, not much issue for us. well guess we reached Mt A ard 12mn.. managed to find a lot.

Thank u tres and bliss_ling for the info.

bliss_ling, I hope your girl is well and doing fine now.

I need to confirm my package with my gynae during my next visit which is next sat, but Mount A's next available Sat maternity tour slot is all the way till 18Aug, my gynae only delivers at Mount A or TMC. I don't really wanna go TMC and since my SIL delivered her 2 kids in KKH, my bro keeps telling me how good KKH is and recommend me to deliver at KKH, but if I choose KKH, then I have to change gynae too... kind of headache now...

tres and liz, i'm also with dr cheng! but i'm only scheduled for my oscar on 17 hehe

i'm also opting for Mt Alvernia cause it's nearer to my mum and in law place. the food is good too and heard they have very good reviews for their friendly and helpful lactation nurse.

Hi ladies! Just received call from my clinic, my blood test result for oscars is not favorable. Damn sad! They r asking me to choose either amino or CBS? If amino gotta do in one month time, CBS can do on Monday but higher risk. Am in dilemma! The case is just like my #1 but the ratio is much better.