(2013/01) Jan 2013

Ry_an: yes, kinda lucky we can get along. Always ask her to stay with us but she Prefers to stay alone but quite near us, my fil has passed on a few yrs ago. We used to stay with my parent in law for closed to 2yrs before our house is ready. So no problem living together. In fact, I enjoyed it a lot. These days she will come over weekends to visit us and stay overnight. I guess because she is open-minded and doesn't stick her nose into our stuffs and at times side me instead of her son, that's y we get along well, she spends her time, swimming, tai ji, mahjong, eating, watching tv, line dancing, looking after my bro in law's newborn at times, so we actually need to book her at times we need help.
We are planning to go to Phuket for a 1wk holiday during national day week. And mil and maid r going with us as we r staying in a villas and got 2 rooms. Yippee, can't wait for the relaxing holiday!!!

I have been having greenish discharge since 3 weeks ago, but no other symptoms eg. Pain or itch. So is it normal. Cos I read from somewhere it may indicate infection.

Canopyhaze, I also ate 1 teaspoon of concentrated birdnest every night and Cordyceps pork soup every week from tri 2 onwards for my no 1 too. BUT all these stuff paid by hubby. U r so lucky to have such nice MIL to buy for u

Canopyhaze
Lucky girl. You've got a great mil!

Bird's nest
Eehm I had it quite often for #2. My hb thinks it's useless protein lol. I just eat (though I secretly think it's just protein leh). My #1, #2 same complexion. So not sure what works.

Cordyceps
It is supposed to be very nutritious? But it's worms and I saw the entire process of growth and harvest in China... I'm squirmy leh.

TCM
I may try more 'bu' stuff this round bah? Not sure, but I'm really lazy. I'm still cooking for the family so I don't think I'll have much energy for any extra frills

Moving house
I rem one mummy here is moving house in July? Who's that again?

Wonder if she has sourced a good mover?

Ah I wonder where Im going to get enough energy to pack
Today is week 11, still not much appetite but not so nauseous today. Pray it'll be good and I can get some energy back the next couple of weeks!

chipsnchops, no lah.. My mummy used to feed me with all these herbs since young cos I'm always sickly since young.. went thru major heart operation at age of 5... So after marriage, became his responsiblity to continue with all the 'bu' stuff loh...

HI all, just hv my oscar scan and blood test yest. Still waiting for results. Seeing my gynae next week for review.
The sonographer didnt say anything much. Just showed me my baby's eyes, head, nose, mouth and told me bb doing gymnastic cos bb facing down.Need to beat my tummy so bb face will turn upright. She said bb v guai. Hope everything is fine.

snowhopes: Thanks for updating my info in the excel spreadsheet.

Anyone of you here engaging CL for your confinement? My Mom had helped me with my confinement for my #1 but this time round she can't. So I intend to engage one this time but don't know where to start looking.
Intend to get one from those CL agencies but there are so many agencies around. Any good CL agency to recommend?

courgeous, that's good.. maybe baby doing morning exercise? haha..

Mimosa, heard before PEM agency.. but whether it's a good CL, depends on heng suay one.. but at least go thru agency, can request to change if u encounter a bad CL.

shice: thanks. I've also heard of PEM. Will check them out.

Looked like most of you here have already done your OSCAR test. Mine is scheduled on 9 Jul. I've to go to Parkway East Hosp to have it done.

Confinement lady
My #1 i survived without a CL. So this time round, dont think i will get 1 too. + now i have a helper.

"bu" stuff
#1 took onli bottled bird nest. This time round haven start drinking any. Perhaps 2nd tri when feeling better else feel very wasted to gv toilet bowl

Good morning ladies!
Tummy not feeling well today, been have diarrhea the whole morning. Later, still got client lunch meeting

ry_an : me too, next monday will be wk 12 for me!
Can't wait for my oscars on next saturday 07Jul12.

good mrng ladies~

re: tight bra (at chest)
i had been using a bra-extension since couple of weeks ago. hehe.. dun normally buy bras as and when.. usually oni one-time big buy before CNY. haha..so dun wana spend extra money there.

re: tonics
i tink i drank some ginsengs during my 1st preg. this time im avoiding it. i din take any chicken essense during 1st preg too..was too weak n 'sick' to do anymore pattern!! birdnest took couple of times, prepared by my mum. MIL prepared couple of times of birdnest too, but sweet like duno what! her cooking..either too salty..or too sweet.. very zhong kou wei.. i cannot take it!!!

re: oscar test
arrh.. time like pass so slowly.. im oni 9w5d today. next ob-gynae check-up is 7th jul..n we've not booked oscar yet. quite a few of u had gone for it... i actually miss gg to the NUH for the detail scans.. love the quality of the scanning.

re: giddy spells
din feel well ystrday aft lunch.. n got hb to pick me up ard 2pm to go hm rest. whole evng tummy felt terrible.. n bad giddy spells too. is this due to lack of blood? or blood not circulating well? is it possible to get iron pills frm gp or pharmacy? anyone has idea? tia.

gov reviewing the marriage & parenthood packages.... hopefully they faster faster action it.. n hopefully we can benefit in any ways frm it huh.

OScar test,
I will be Wk 12 next thur and will be doing my oscar at my gynae too! Same as Missy & LIz zzzzz.

Birdnest
I took for my #1 and she is born w fair and good skin! Think I will still take for #2. As for Ginseng, why can;t take ah? But my mum amd MIL will make cordeceps and black chicken soup for me weekly, after 4 months!!! ;-) Got soup I drink lor!

PArenthood packages, I hope they review by year end and kick in the new measures by 1 Jan 2013, then most of us will get the max benefits.
I hope they will give extra paternal leave as well as extend maternity leave by 1-2 months lor!

INcrease birth rate, but dun you all notice everywhere you go nowadays, there are lotsa of babies???? esp this yr! So I expect the extra measures will kick in after dragon year ends! ahhah

yah just saw news. say revising but when will be anounced and effective? I remeber back in 20008, announcement was made around NDP speech, for babies born the following yr or few mths later (forgot details).my 2nd one was due end Oct so almost lugi. end up a lot of citizens (prob preg moms) wrote in to protest about the date of effectiveness. so government revised to be effective aug 2008, so whew i got my 4 mths maternity hee. this time cross fingers!

<font color="0000ff">trimesters</font>. i read that a common guide is 12 weeks. meaning u have reached 2nd tri once you complete 12 weeks. that is because 12 weeks marks the completion of the intitial stage of embryo development, where all the major organs are form. Once past 12 weeks, embryo is known as fetus, where resembles a baby, and this next stage is where rapid growth sets in (as opposed to rapid development in first tri). and yet again the 3rd trimester is 28 weeks, beyond which baby has a high chance of surviving if born then.

better kick in new measures by 1 Jan 2013 den most of us get max benefits.. like just in time.. hehe..
extend maternity leave?! that's so nice... wahahaha

imagine now is 4 mths rite.. extend 1-2 mths... tat's like 6 mths no nid to work.. lol.. can use that 2 mths to go holiday... opps....

mayb tres is right, it will kick in after dragon year.. else company will lugi liao.. with so many dragon babies around... 1 jan 2013 is good!

<font color="119911">I would hope the better parenthood benefits kick in asap!
Hopefully dun only apply after 1 Jan 2013 as my baby might pop in late Dec!
Else very ai-wan!

Trimster 2: Usually it's starts on wk 14. Wk 13 is the last week in 2nd trimster. The weeks I calculate based on the EDD that my gynae gives me. He would date the EDD based on the scanning - size of bb.

canopy, i am still ok with the parking. But my parents (esp my dad) hates it. He dun like to drive in small contraint spaces and handing over his car keys to others to drive his car.

daisybuttons/ry_an, I think the effective date will have to be as of annoucement, unless details of the package is not known (which is strange to annouce so early). I was part of the 08 mothers and I rem the hoo-har that happened cos the annouced effective date was Jan 09. Don't think they want something like this to happen again. There was a petition by the late 08 MTBs, which govt eventually agreed and changed the effective date to Aug 08...

snowhopes, yep. thats what i meant above.
in 2008, they had to revise effective date cos too long after announcement and too much feedback. i mean, ridiculous to be effective 4 mths after announcement right? so this time most likely they will make it effective from announcement month. heeee... *cross fingers* but hor....have it ever cross ur mind....i suspected gov has intend for aug 2008 all along, but maybe they staged it such so as to appear "proactive" to feedback? hee. if so thats very smart.

hopefully there are benefits for mums who are not working also cos quit my job 3 mths ago... then in may found out preggy... even if get job now also not entitled to maternity leave liao

I hope there will be more affordable and quality childcare centres in the pipe line. Both sets of our parents getting on age, I'm sure there are many like me who have to engage a helper or depend on full day childcare. Though I'd rather be SAHM for the well being of the child, but that's not economically feasible.

daisybuttons, haha... no matter what, at least the 4 months worth of babies/MTBs got to enjoy the benefits! ;p This time they say review leh... dunno how soon can implement. Already June now... u think they'll annouce in Aug?

IMHO, I feel that Singapore is too economic driven already. We have gone beyond just adjusting and giving more perks will make more pple get married &amp; have kids. Asking around, most young pple would say 1. career first, 2. start family later, 3. Have kids? Errr... expensive &amp; stresful leh. Is there a way where we can turn around all this mindset?

Looking at the economy and the employers, giving 2 months more of maternity or 2 days more of paternity = taking staff longer away from work. as it is, pregnant women, women with kids are frowned at by some employers. Some employers want you to work around the clock or even put in extra time. If the mother does not have support (child is in CC), who will fetch the child before 7pm? It's not going to be a problem that is easy to solve. If you already have one and is facing this, will you want a second? Simply put, it is not only a mindset change for the people but for working enviornment...

icyjo, you can take a look at the white paper which is found in Reach portal right?

i think a lot of it is blamed on our fast paced society and herd instinct. many newly marrieds dun look fwd to having kids, or more than 1 child, because they hear from their friends how expensive childcare is, newspaper reports of how u need to put ur unborn child on waitlist in certain childcare centres, how stressful primary education is, they get turned off by stories of primary school kids being overly stressed by school, and even how difficult it is to get into primary school nowadays cos ppl do PV and there's so much balloting etc etc. all this are push factors. the decision to have kids is more than just the length of maternity leave (some moms nowadays can't wait for the maternity leave to end and go back work!). maybe, just maybe, more substantial financial benefits may help to lighten the load, but will that be push enough? on the other hand, if its push enough, it sounds rather scary too. means ppl are deciding hey gov is giving us money if we have kids, so lets have 1 or 2. hhhmmm....

i think this time, the enhancement of parenthood benefits wun be as much as 2008. cos this time besides the population growth rate, another core concern cited was the drastic increase of marrying age for both men and women singaporens. so gov will rack their brains to focus on something to encourage ppl to get married earlier instead.

just rambling.

daisybuttons:: aiya..juz seen gp near my offc.. quite hopeless! haha. blood pressure ok. then 'refused' to give me iron pills. anyways.. juz gave me some giddiness/anti-vomiting pills. asked if i wan MC to go back rest. i din wan..cos ystrday oso went hm ard 2ish-pm le. dun wana bcm daily prac..esp since my boss not in.

re:: parenting package
but nw they stil in review stage right? hopefully they will really really conclude on that n announce a better package for everyone us. we're oso like serving national service during the tough pregnancy time. hahaha.. shld reward us more!

i dun mind like we hv the option to extend our maternity leave..based on half pay or certain % salary.. some european countries oso like dat rite? then the childcare leave part..i feel should increase..say by 1-2days per child aft a standard 6-days or wat. if a mum has 4 kids..all under 6yo..hw 6 days will be enuff leh.

really hope they are able to effective this in aug.. or best..back date jan 2012. but at least jan 2013. for those edd in jan..but gave birth in dec...im sure u can write in to appeal for exception. anyhow..juz praying hard a new better package will benefit all n every single one of us here.

i agree with icyjo too..the benefits shld include more on non-working mums. at least look at the family income lor. like those got preggy inbetween jobs, or wat if tioh retrenched kind? at our early stage tioh retrenched..no benefits de rite. ):

I hope the govt will look into having some regulations on the CC and preschool fees. No use of giving us more $$ or subsidy when the operators r increasing their fees at the same time or even higher rate ....Right pocket in, left pocket out. Back to square one...

for childcare.. one main issue is shortage of trained childcare staff also thats why its difficult for operators to open more.. how to solve that? get more from outside again???

heard from a fren that some childcare centres got to employ more n more foreign staff.. sure your know which countries im referring to... not sure if what i heard is true as i havent step into a childcare b4

Just back from lunch. Very full now

Snow : I don't like the idea of taking a mini bus to the other carpark to get the car. And if park at the underground carpark, they will take a long while to retrieve your car.

Icy: The teachers in my boy's CC is mainly from singapore, only those teaching chinese is from mainland china.