(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

based on cousin's feedback, btw she works in MOM..nation is the top of the maid agencies complaint list...to me, its like sort of black list. Homekeeper is clean in MOM records but i find their price not attractive..

for me, i am still looking ard...

Hazel, of course maids can keep long hair but our personal preference for ours was for her to maintain it neat and tidy. So right at the start we already made it clear and told her we prefer her to have it short and not have it long. Don't want her long hair all over my or my mums place esp since that time my gal was still young.
She still wanted to keep trying to argue and even threaten to pack up go back agent just because of this. And I didn't even get her to cut like how the agent cut their hair, those page by style, I allowed her to maintain a bob style. Coz my maid have very thick hair and maybe she's new so she doesn't seem to understand that we want hygiene, I even have to tell her to wash her hair, bathe often esp after housework, etc so to keep clean. She also have a habit of touching her hair all the time, even when helping to prepare food, feed my gal.
Even when I brought her for haircut, she can still complain the style is ugly or short etc. so I ended up telling her she can go get her own hair cut the way she wants and pay for it.

Heartbeats, guess due to all those hormones, we an get wry emotional. I'm sure your babies are fine. Even previous,y when I was teaching, I think all those shouting at my boys were quite stressful. Haha! My gal came out ok. Hopefully this one was not affected by all those nagging and shouting at boys, haha!

I appreciate all ur feedback abt my maid.. As much as i will like to change maid, am abit upset tt my hb think i am over exerggerating.. As my maid explain to my hb tt the reason for bring her bro up is to introduce me n my mum to her bro.. So my hb just warn her cannot bring any stranger to our hse next time n tts all.. No matter what, i still dun trust her anymore.. She just been here for 4 mths n can know many friends at my neighbourhood though i still dun know many household after stay here for few years.. My son say she can tok to someone so well who come into the lift who stay at 8th flr n i dun even know of anyone who stay there at all.. I will insists to change nno matter what but just abit upset tt my hb trust her so easily.. Sigh..

Hi heartbeat
Is normal to get abit more emotional during pregnancy.. I feel more emotional during confinement n it has always been like this for my two confinement as cry eadily so u no get too angry k.. Bb must stay happy im ur womb..;)

Jo3, sometimes with maids gotta open one eye, close one eye lor. My parents have hired a number of maids. Can't avoid them getting to know other pple ard the neighbourhood one. E.g. when they go down to provision store to buy stuff, when they help pick up my gal from school bus etc. They'll see other maids and chat with them. Sometimes they know more gossip than we do. But at the end of the day, if they do their job well and dun try anything funny, then we close one eye lor.

pierced, my mum also requests that the maid keep short hair for easier management and better hygiene. So far most are willing to comply.

Joanne, like Luv said, maids will tend to talk to others too. Sometimes really close one eye to certain things. Like my previous maid at my mums place don't really go out as no off days, but she walk around the condo area during morn time when my mum is busy swimming with my gal, she also sure will make friends and get to know maids. We don't even know how she get to know them, perhaps during free time, but since they also lonely and from a far away country, this kind I told her as long u do your work, you are free to talk to whoever you want on the hp after work hours.

Luv, ya, my mum also prefer this way, coz sometimes can be quite messy even though they tie up this and that. Actually at the start she was fine, but later on, keep threatening me over this kind of small little matters till I cannot tahan her. Imagine every single time, pack up her things and want to go back agent! I come back from work also stressed out by her. That's why me and my mum also hesitant to get a new maid unless really can't be helped.

Hee, Mc, everyone is really excited. My colleagues, friends and aunts keep asking me this few days if I have delivered. So not all the time 2nd child might come early. Hehe

Silly me just fell from my bro's study chair just now.think I lost balance coz too heavy. Haha! Got a hard knock on the bum, Luckily don't seem to have anything out of the norm. Will continue to monitor. Luckily later got appointment with doctor.

pierced, aiyoh, you okay i hope! Must be more careful now yeah? When is ur EDD actually?
Yeah, if the maid is generally fine, also prefer not to change. Otherwise gotta go thru whole cycle of adjustment for everyone again.

Luv,yup, now ok, no injuries, bb seems fine too. Too clumsy.
My EDD on 2 Sep. still no signs, plus no so called contractions or BH. Yest went for my gal's PTM and the aunties there remarked that I still walked around and don't seem to be delivering anytime.
Let's see what Dr Loh says today, just hope don't need to induce.

pierced, maybe zun zun come out to greet you on 2 Sept.
Hope ur review goes well!

hi pierced,

have you popped huh? heheh
din follow up on the previous postings cos very busy with my princess being the sole care giver...having backache now....

hazel and other experienced ladies, what toys are good for baby for 3 mths and 4mths huh? hehee
saw so many toys but dunno what to buy....

how is shamamama huh?

happie to see more and more people in this forum thread leh heheh

Pierced, hang in there, we are all getting kancheong for you, today is Megan's predicted thurs...
If she's accurate, we'll ask her for toto numbers heee....

Joanne, good to see that you are more lighthearted now and can focus more on your maid issue. I think for the hubbies, since they are out working, they may not sense the tension/ unease with the doggy maids. Do what you think is right as like many has said, your babies safety is utmost impt, especially with recent child snatch cases (be it real or not), best to be careful as Singapore doesn't seem to be as safe anymore.

Hi Sunbelle, just wondering how you cope single-handedly with baby, how do you settle own lunch and dinner?

Hi mummies, just wondering how many feeds your babies get each day during their 1-2 month?

Not sure if heather is going through growth spurt, fr 3-4 hrs feed to 1-2 hrs feed now
My diet hasn't changed so bm should still be ok quality. She also takes forever to drink fr bottle and will stop midway, then have to try feed again about 15 mins later, entire feed episode about 45 mins
Any advice? Thanks!!

Hi luvnhope
Am still using one hole teat.. Wonder at how many mth then change to 2 hole teats?? My bbies r drinking fast but i want faster..hee.. So at night can quickly feed, quickly sleep.. ;) I dun dare try as worry choke..

Hi luvnhope n pierced n tromso
Thks for ur advise on maid.. After consideration, i still decide to change.. Dun care what hb think ler..;) i hv one with gd initative maid but at 41 yrs old.. Do u all think is too old?

Hi pierced
R u inducing now?? Jiayou n hv a smooth delivery..;)

Jo3, actually i also forgot liao, hahah... i think just observe ur babies n if they're suddenly taking longer than usual or if they seem frustrated with the milk flow then might be a good time to try changing to bigger teat. If they're drinking fine, then prob can still wait b4 changing. I'd go with the baby's cue.

Thanks Luv, I've changed the teat size, she seems to be drinking faster, no chocking and able to finish all in 1 go
Will further observe.

Joanne, you can test 2 holes too but if it's gd, my mum says good idea to change all bottles to same teat holes at same time, otherwise baby will get confused by 1 and 2 teat holes. May be a challenge if your 2 babies require diff ones. Luckily I have 4 of 2 teat holes at home, will need to get 2 more as I hv 6 bottles. Hope can stretch her feeding time longer, otherwise keep on sterilizing, can faint.

Pierced Jia you
You can do it ....Jia you hehehe

Tromso : frankly is really not easy not to cope alone esp when u need to dash to the toilet when your baby is crying for you ...hmmhmmm really envy those whom have lots of help ahhahahaa
yeah for meals, my hubby bought breakfast and lucnh tohether ...dinner he came back to buy for me too ..or he jagan a bit then i go down quickly tabao...sumtimes these are the times where i unwind by getting bubble tea too..wat is good is my hubby is a real estate agent so he has flexible working hours
really thankful for that .......sumtimes we bring baby to eat out ..choose places where nursing rooms are available....

hahahah J03, I got the same thots as u to let my gal quickly finish..but learnt from leasson, if they drink fast fast chances of them vomitting is high cos they swallow air too

Hi gals, haha not so soon yet. I'm still around. Hehe....

No induce today. Dr Loh says can wait for few more days to see if she can come out naturally. Ask me choose date to go in and induce. So if by next Thurs she don't come out, I will goin at night to induce her out. So let's see this baby still wants to hang on. Hopefully she will come out on own. I also don't want to induce coz hear so many scary stories.

Now her weight today is 3.333kg. Haha, dr say can go buy 4D.

Sunbelle, good to hear from you. Not easy coping alone yeah, but glad to hear that you seems to be doing fine and coping well.

Joanne, ya do talk to your hubby and just let him know your concerns, sometimes men are like that coz they don't understand your frustrations or problems as they are not the one facing the maid or handle them. So they will think lightly of certain matters.
Like my dad will think my mum always too strict with maid, or Ill treat her etc till my mum was fed up coz she was the one facing the maid whole day and it's not easy trying to handle them, on one hand, can't be too strict, but also cannot be too lax with them.
In my opinion, 41 years old frankly a bit old, its recommended by agent or someone recommended you? Coz they cannot work for too many yrs already since 41and if it's really trustworthy, I'm sure u will like to keep the maid. Plus, she's going to help you out with your kids so will she get tired easily?just my thoughts on this.
On the other hand, if you intend to change and this one is recommended, maybe can take her first and work for u, then next time u have more time to source for another one.

mc, me havent popped yet.. still around.. now that it is going to happen soon, i am getting very nervous and scare liao... i know i shd stay positive, but i have all sorts of worries for the bbies..

just found out from my gynae that if c-sect for twins at kkh, hubby cant go into operating room! reason being the room too small need space for 2 incubators.. really so small meh? sigh... i was hoping and planning that both me and hubby shd share the moments together.. if cant, i lagi more nervous.. mc, thot i just let u know first.. but i shant complain as long as bbies are healthy and the operation goes smoothly...

pierced, hope your bb report soon and dont need induce.. go buy 4D and hope u strike!
jia you!

Hi Sunbelle, good to know you have things worked out
I'm gonna trial bringing my baby home some time year in coming months and take care on my own cos I can feel my parents' exhaustion and some frustrations already. Only worry I have is food as I can't get outta house and may not have opportunity to cook. I'm thinking tingkat for a start...

Didn't know baby can take in more wind with more teat holes, I'm burping baby more now and carrying her upright longer after feeds plus tummy massages, hope these helps. I think heather has quite strong sucking reflex, had a small blister on her top lips last week and I read that it's common for such babies. Nonetheless will monitor her drinking, so far no chocking yet. Thanks for advice

Joanne, how many times do you feed your babies daily? How long do they take to empty the bottles?

Cook cook, tmc delivery room is quite large. My hubby slept in it with me cos I was induced after midnight and still plenty of room in the delivery suit. Maybe kkh has larger delivery room/s, can suss it out and request?

Pierced...steady steady
Your baby is helping to extend your peace and quietness time now, but must tell her to engage asap, so dr Loh won't have to push finger in very deep to check for dilation...heh... How was your delivery for Megan like then?

Cock cock, thinking back, I recall visiting a smaller delivery suit during tmc hospital tour. Mine was about 3 times the size on my delivery day. Perhaps kkh has diff size delivery rooms too...

Pierced, its 'time' very very soon!

Tromso, CockCock is referring to operating theatres so by right should be quite big and can accomodate. I am also perplexed why her hb cant go in with her.

CockCock, you see how, maybe request again see whether Prof relents. Maybe he can do something. Such a moving moment so important to have hb around. I will be terrified if i am left on my own too.

cock cock...u reaching 36 wks right? did u choose ur c sec date yet or thinking of natural? kkh operating theater so small meh...omg...u taking Class A or B1 ward? Roughly cost how much? I think i need to take the hospital tour to get a better idea..

pierced...frankly speaking 3333 abit hard to strike sia...lol...hopefully yr gal wanna come out by herself...

Joanne, i also felt 41 yrs old abit old and may not hv energy to look after, run ard young kids, not that i am very young too...haha..if she is required to wake up at night for feed, it might be more tiring for her.

Cockcock, ya I thought KK OT should be quite big, even their delivery room was and previous Day OT room that I went in before. So sad if he can't go through the experience with u.

Tromso, Hee ya hopefully she engaged well. I hear some gynaes have habit to do VE even during normal check up.
My delivery wih Megan was quite smooth. My water bag leaked and i went in put drip and then just wait till dilate full. Didnt have much of VE and later on was on Epi already.

Mc ya let's hope she guai guai come out on own if not got to evict her out! Hehe

Zzz so tired nowas my #1 havin fever since yest evening. Just brought her to the doc for a check.

Hi pierced
U got a point tt she cant work long..the agency recommend to me as she find her got very gd initatives.. But i prefer younger too.. But on the other habd, i wun hire helper for too long as cant get use a stranger stay with us.. Hee, but may get use by then if she is gd so see how.. Now i am targeting at another one who is 34yrs old, hope can confirm her n hope she is gd.. A new maid though so got to retrain again.. Hey, u r right, he dun face her whole day like me so i feel frustrated on the way she does things already..
Btw, hope ur gal will come out naturally without induce.. Nice weight..;) hv a smooth delivery..

Hi tromso
Not sure how many feed per day.. Every 3 hrly once for gal n sometime 2 hrly plus once for boy..;) both take around twenty mins for one hole teat..just try 2 hole teat.. Think faster. ok for them as my boy drink till very angry halfway yesterday so he must be fed up with the teat..;)

Hi sunbelle
Yes, i agree last time when i take care my boy alone.. So stress n no time for a decent food sometime..now when i am left with 2 bbies alone, is super hyper stress that i keep look at the clock hoping my hb back hm soon..;)

Sunbelle, alot of toys under state the age requirement. They limited toys for 3-4 mths old bb too. Try stuff like cot mobile Which will spin n make music. Teaches coordination

Hi cock
My hb was with me when my bbies r delivered as i choose half anestastic.. But i deliver in tmc.. Its a wonderful moment as the nurse take a photo while my gal on me, hb carry boy in the operating theatre n both of us get to hear one bb cry after another.. Doc ong is there on the spot to check on bbies so my hb stand n listen wht he say.. Gd for u to persist till now so bbies most likely no need nicu..;) time flies for u...Hv a smooth delivery too.. Btw, whts ur bbies weight now? U got hire maid?

Thks mc, hv see her video.. Looks gd but she is new so i may not hv time to train her.. Think will choose the other one with 8 yrs ex sin experience.. She very experience n can cook many chinese dishes.. Hope she is reliable since shd be very experience n know many pp in singapore already.. How abt ur head hunt?

cock cock, oh dear, DH cannot be in the OT? That's quite disappointing. Yeah, speak to your doc and see whether he can do sthg for u?

pierced, hope Megan recovers soon!

Tromso, yeah, tingkat's a good idea to help ease ur load for a start. I think I'd do that too come my turn.

Jo3, advantage of hiring an experienced maid is no need to train so much. But still need to clarify ur own expectations cos she may not be used to ur style of working and ur level of expectations. Hope ur experienced maid won't be those yaya papaya kind who think they know a lot already.

J03, for the ex SG one u hv to find out how many employers she has worked with and how long for each. If is a good maid, the employer will renew the contract again once the 2 yrs term is up right? If she has many employers and a no is work <2 yrs, u hv to seriously ask why n if u still wan to take her. Work 8 yrs on SG does not ok. Got to evaluate too. Also, such maids usually wan day off. R u ok with this?

Hihi, back from Parents World Exhibition at Expo .
Not too bad..the fair occupies the whole hall and atmosphere much better than the last expo baby fair but I still think not as rowdy compared to Motherhood fair..maybe the crowd has not really come in full force yet.

Hi hazel
She works for 3 employer and can cook well.. Each employer she work till finish contract so 2-3 yrs. Tts why i feel if can finish contract means shd be quite gd ba..any thots? Ya, they request for one day off per mth and some new maid oso request for tt..

Hi luv
Ya, i prefer ex sin as hv been soooo busy now so no time to train.. At least they shd hv know how to operate most electrical appliances ba n besr is know how to cook already so no need so long to train them again.. If before deliver, i will prefer new maid..
Hi angel
Any gd lobang there? What booth they hv? I look forward to bb market exhibition on oct.. Seems like many companies will be there..;)

Joanne, would you like to join our FB secret group? I have posted photos of the detailed brochure there so you can take a look and see if there are any good deals on what you are looking for.

Jo: rem to go MOM website to check on the maid's history if she's an ex-Sin. I've gotten one before when she and the agent lied abt her employment history...

Angelxuan: can I join ur fb group?

J03, u wan to ask her why she didn't complete the 2 yrs contract after renewal? Also test her wat she can cook If cooking Is a must working For u. My maid also say can cook. Cook soup throw everything inside n when boil off fire. Eg Cook shld be brewed for 1-1.5 hr at least so that the essence is out. Also some imgredients cannot throw in so early. To me that is not know how to cook. Ask her to fry scrambled eggs with prawns she made a big mess. Bought sotong she does not know how to clean. Anyway, she rarely cooks. Even if she does, I supervise v closely. Ie the steps to cook, what pot to use, how long to cook, etc etc. at times faster I cook myself.

Hi Angel
Hee.. I dun hv any fb acct.. ;( is the deals there indeed cheaper?

Hi hazel
She finish all her contract then go hm and she say she can cook curry chicken fr scratch.. Not fr packet.. Can cook soup and make roti prata etc..

Hi biggly
Oh.. Can check her history there huh? I thot we need her work permit number then can check?

My maid also knows how to make curry fr scratch. She boils water, then put chilli paste she made inside, chicken, potatoes then coconut milk. All cooked, then off fire. This cooking fails in my standard.

Hi hazel
At least she can cook without learn fr anyone.. Mine current one is totally zero knowledge.. Cant even open a can using can opener even though we show her once.. She try herself for 15mins n then later giveup.. Jialat right.. Then when we need normal boil water to make milk, no water inside.. Sigh..if everything i need to check myself n asks her do, really no point and no meaning lor..

J03, Ic... Anyway everyone has different expectation n standards. My ex HK maid though experienced, still get scolded by me everyday.

Biggly, you are welcomed to join us on our FB secret group!
Please PM me the email address that you use for your FB.

Joanne, I think it's usually cheaper at the expo fair or at least matches current promotion at retail shops in the same period. However no guarantee as I can't compare all prices. But I noted that prices seems to have increased or discounts deem lesser overall. For example, I find that the Carter's bodysuits, bibs, towels have slight increase in prices compared to the last baby expo fair. GAIA products at only 10% off at Expo now compared to the last Taka fair at 12% and the recent spree at 20-30% off (but ended 26 Aug) recommended by Pierced. Merries diapers promotion at Expo seems to be consistent with that in NTUC.

Also depends on whether there is any old stock clearance at the Expo. If yes, the prices can be very good (remember the unpopular color &amp; old design manduca carriers were sold at $150 during Motherhood Fair). But I didn't notice any fantastic clearance deals today. For bulky items like cot, strollers, car seats, I didn't check.