(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Just had another scan today, and doc showed us the little birdie!

Think I need another one or two scans to convince myself I'm having a boy, lol!

Thanks pierced! We're very happy to know the news cos it'll be the first grandson on both sides of the family. And my gal gets her wish.

Gotta learn how to take care of a boy boy now!

Luv, congratz on knowing the gender of your baby. During my last checkup, Dr Loh said to me "still a boy", i laugh n laugh... Cos he long ago already confirm n double confirm n even tell me 100% boy but every appt he will auto check again. Faintz...

Bbjourney, hahah... this Dr Loh is so funny, lol.

Do share any tips on taking care of a baby boy after u pop if u can! Will need them!

Mc, i agree that for boy save money on clothing n shoes. I have a hard time buying clothing for my nephew n my baby. Not much pattern n variety to choose from.

Only downside of having a boy this time is I won't be able to "recycle" many of my gal's clothes liao. But it's a happy problem! Heheh...

Congrats Luv for the "好" 字 ! You about 16 weeks now? Boys tend to show earlier than gals. My boy also showed by 16 weeks.

Agree dont know how to take care of boy. I only have a sister i took care of. But i have heard for boys (maybe can try on gals too), when changing diapers, good to place some tissue on their birdie once diaper expose it as they may feel want to pee so at least with the tissue on the birdie wont have a water fountain aiming right at our faces!

I already thinking how to glass proof my house. Boy sure throw balls etc and sure will kenna my cabinets, mirrors and glass doors, haa~ But anyway, i already delegate my hb to be in charge of my boy's play tools. Gal at least wont be so chor lor or can be given dolls and soft toys to play with, less threatening.

heartbeats, thanks! Yup, 16 weeks.
Yeah, I could only confirm my gal's gender during the detailed scan at 20 weeks previously.

Place tissue on birdie? Hahah... okie, will keep that in mind. Was thinking will have to think of ways to keep from becoming the target of their urine projectile, lol...

Hi luvnhope..congras on yr birdie news...oh ya..had spotting after I try to "shit" hard today..then dr found out that the bottom bb had low placenta lo..

Wendy, thanks!!

Sorry to hear abt the low placenta. Hope ur spotting has stopped? The placenta might shift up later in pregnancy, dun worry. In the meantime, take it easy and avoid straining urself yeah? Take care!

Congrat Luv for getting a gd word..;)

Hi angel
Thks for ur update.. Too bad as dun think i hv time to go..;(

Hi hazel
Ya, agree with u.. Different pp different expectation..

Hi biggly
But by the time they hv work permit num means we already hire her and isnt it abit too late to check their record since already agree to hire her??

Soooo happy today as finally my heavy load temporary off my mind..;) we finally get a filipino maid.. Yeh.. I so worry hb dun want change but lucky he goes with me today.. She is ex sin maid with 2 yrs experience (take care 8 mth old bb), hv 2 kids 10yrs n above so i no need so worry whether will miss hm or not.. Can cook chinese, malay n indian food.. Earliest can come is only after 6wks.. Hope can be earlier so i still hv more time to train.. Now pray hard tt she is pleasant looking in real person n can work much better n faster than my current maid..;) yeh yeh.. No need face my burmese maid after 6th wk..;) thks gals for hearing me out..

Heartheats, my nephew loves to play any kind of balls games and sports, and we have been teaching him since the beginning that he has to be careful of the glasses etc. So far so good.

Wendy, #waves#... For low placenta then you might want to bed rest more, dont carry heavy thing, dont walk for too long, dont climb up the stairs, no squating and no sex.

Bbjourney..hihi..Ya..bed rest alot lo...I aso don't know how to stitch up my cervix since I have this low placenta issue too...haiz..

Bbjourney, sometimes the maid looks very different in person from the photo provided. Even the skin tone turns out vastly different at times.

Hi hi bbjourney n luv
Has photo but like wht luv say, may look total different like my current maid.. So i am hoping the best n hope got fate with her..;)

Hi wendy
Hi hi waves, u bfp under doc roland?? Soo happy to see u hv twins too.. Was thinking abt u the other day when i visit the ivf thread.. So happy to know u hv bfp too..;) how many wks r u now? Do take care ya.. Try rest more n walk less.. I hv spotting twice in first trimester too but after doc loh request injection for me, my spotting stop after bed rest for tt day.. Me very stress this pregnancy too due to the few mc.. So happy n cant imagine tt i hv already deliver my twins sometines.. U jiayou too n when is ur edd?

Luv, hee ya, it's a happy problem. And since first grandson for both sides. Time to get use to a boy after a girl.

Heartbeats, hee, u are wrong as in gals can be also very chor lor. Haven't had a boy so can't compare but my gal is also super tomboy and chor lor. She goes around destroying things in the house too! Not necessary just play with soft toys, as my gal don't like them. And once they go to school, depends on the peers and classmates they mix with, my gal this yr has some good friend cum classmate and it's a real rascal from what I see as she comes back learning all kinds of antics and language from him. I tried to unteach what she learnt from school but it's a real challenge.

Hi Joanne, glad u have solve your maid issue and seems like a better choice for u too. All the best that she will turn out just fine.

Hihi Joanne...ya..u r rite..I bfp under dr Roland..in my 10ww+ now..I am on Npl now..so rot on the bed everyday de..

I had jab quite a few round since this is the 3rd time I spot again today,.but the root cause is low placenta lo.haiz..still along way for me..haha..my edd 7th march next yr...

You must be very buzy with yr twins lo.btw,how much u pay for cl?. Really happy for u de..congras to u too ...

Luv, there is this thing called 'tip pee' which we can buy for boys to use in place of tissue. Its nicer lah but troublesome as need to wash.

Wendy, of course i remember you, is yours just low or complete previa? If just low, there is higher chance of it moving up. If complete previa like mine, lower chance of it moving up. No solution to this, can only bedrest alot to prevent bleeding. Low placenta prone to bleeding, i also bled till hospitalised in my earlier trimesters. Now still dont dare to walk alot.

Haha Pierced, your gal got charactor and so free spirited!

pierced, yup, i'm happy to relearn the ropes, hahah...

heartbeats, oh, now that pierced mentioned abt her gal, yeah, I remember my gal came home one day from school and showed me a flying kick too cos her male classmate was showing off his kungfu moves in class! *faintz* So really depends on who they mix ard with, quite true...

Where can I find this "tip pee"? How does it work? Sounds interesting.

Hi pierced
Thk u.. Really a load off my mind, even the agency gal oso tell my hb tt i very stress after she chat with me.. Lol.. U still no deliver? Ur gal so comfy in ur tummy.. Tressure n sleep more now..;)

Hi wendy
Am soo happy for u as we bfp last time together but sadly mc too so i wish n am sure u will be able to carry ur bundle of joy this coming march just like me who has hug them on this year June.. ;) i still remember how demoralise u feel on beginning of this year so feel glad n happy for u when see ur name here..;) rest well ya n u can confide with me anytime regarding abt twins pregnancy..

Hi luv
Boy nO need much tip as very easy to clean their private part..;)

heartbeats, oic... essentially like a hanky to cover the little birdie, lol...

Is it? Cannot pull back to clean ah? I really donno leh.. But won't dirt n urine get trapped underneath meh?? For gals, at least I better understand their anatomy, know how to clean for them better, hee... I din really make it a point to spread open my gal's v, cos wasn't worried abt that. Also scared so delicate will hurt her.

Oh.. Need to open up n clean the virginal area? But my cl say no need asbshe say is very delicate there.. I no experience with gal.. Hee..

Eeee.. Why bb girl so special that dub need to open up the vagina area to clean when we hv to? Dun need any experience to clean bb girl. They r no diff fr us. Poo n urine can be caught inside. Belle's poo always caught inside. Goodness me! For bb boy, ask the hubby how he cleans when he showers. Bb boy will be the same. Dun clean gana infection then dun heart pain. All these no need experience. Just need to spare a few seconds n think logically. A no if us all first time mummy some more, who tells us all these. The blind leading the blind... ESP when the CL is half past six.

My cousin gana infection at his penis coz care giver nv take care properly. He was warded n my uncle nearly lost him. He so hard pain seeing him being poke everywhere

Jo3, need to clean the skin ard the vagina and make sure no urine or poo trapped in it. I just dun make it a point to try to further spread open the vagina for my gal. Sometimes CLs just say those things to save themselves trouble one. Like my prev CL say dun need to clean the gums n tongue etc and in the end my gal kana oral thrush.
Learnt not to believe everything a CL says. Use our own judgement better.

I've heard horror stories of little boys with circumsision. I dun think I can put my boy thru that n risk infection.

How old was ur cousin, Hazel?

LuvNhope, is use our brains n think! What happens when we dun brush our teeth? Same logic. Bbs r the same as us. Terrible CL. Some r just plain lazy. Can do less do less. Always use the brain n think war CL says is logical or not. End of the day. As mummy we take charge. Anything happen to bb, u think CL will bother?!

No need to pry open purposely n do dig inside the vagina folds. Just wash n clean her like we wash ourselves down there.

Hazel, and later on i found out that sometimes that CL change diaper without wiping the private area. No wonder can change so fast! So angry when i realised... She still can say no need to clean every time one... grrr...

Dont know wor, i read it says dont pull back the foreskin as it will retract on its own. Maybe can check with PD. As for gals, no no, dont spread so much till hurt her lah. Just wipe enough to seperate the opening slightly, also to clean out any pee/shit etc cos bb lie down everything can get in there unlike us can pee/shit upright. Even for us also will wipe abit deeper to clean so likewise for bb gal, just dont get bacteria inside.

heartbeats, maybe can try pulling back to clean then rolling it back to original position lor, hahah... I also donno. Maybe some experienced mummies with boys can enlighten us.
Yeah yeah, better be gentle with the little gal's v.

LuvNhope... That's why I always watch my CL. Things I dun think is right, I will tell her to do my way. I m the mummy, I take charge. Aftrt belle poos, wet wipe to clean then cotton balls now I use tissue n wet with water to clean again. After tap dry with another tissue. Now at times, I bring belle to bath room n bath the butt directly. If change diaper coz of urine, yes I will clean the butt area with a PC of wet wipes before I change new diaper. The purpose is to clean alway dried urine which is salty. If not will get nappy rash.

Hazel, yeah lor, now i've learnt liao... Will be more watchful over the CL this time round. And no way am I hiring back the same CL!