(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hee throll, maybe gal so very shy. Anyway, I didn't get any confirmation either till the detailed scan for 20 wks.

Pierced, I had waited so long for the detailed scan to confirm the sex but was disappointed. Have to wait patiently for another 4 weeks to be able to start buying girly stuff online... hee

I really hope those lower image quality scan done during normal checkup can determine the sex...

Hi baby me, I hvnt gone to any injection yet. What injection was it? I thou her next jab was 2 mth old? Where to see wa jab she need to go?

Faithfully, 1 mth old supposed to have 2nd hep B jab. But I guess can choose 5-in 1 or 6-in 1 jab. Your PD appt card should have list down all the jabs needed. For my gal, I need to see if this Friday will be better or not then can go for jab, otherwise wait till next week.

Hi MC, I use FS myself.. Ez to assemble. No need go down toh guan. If u wan, I can email u a video on how to assemble FS.. Sorry if I sound like hard selling.. Hahaha...

Hopeful
thanks for sharing. I was so glad to have u sharing more with me. Felt so lost that time when so few r from SGH.

I am 24weeks...now enjoying my 2nd trimester.
How have u been coping?

Cool, i m still in the early stage coming to 5 weeks only.

Hopeful, thanks! Glad to know that you have delivered at SGH. Cos I hardly find anyone from SGH.

Baby me, pd will advise when u can inject if bb Is not well. Make sure bb is fit then inject hor... Like my gal she has cough, dr ong say 2 weeks after she recover. I told him I m afraid govt send me a letter saying i failed to bring my gal to go for jabs, dr ong told me he will settle for me. Never mind if jab later, main thing is follow yr heart and instinct

hello catherine! how are u coping with work and your gal? u didnt mention abt your immediate boss nowadays.. i take it as all's well for you.. dont be too workaholic ok

dont have to salute me.. i was initially excited at the thot of being able to try natural delivery.. but then, with chances of eventual c-section for one bb, i think i better not... end up 2 parts painful.. bo hua!

Hi cool, I m doing fine.. Back to work already..

Hi eumin, no prob.. Let me know if u need any info.. I will c if I can help based on my limited knowledge.. Hahaha

Haha cock cock.... I dun talk to my boss now and treat him as invisible. Lots of things happened since I came back... Well for u, no venture no gain. Must try.... If not later yr wound v v pain how to look after bb?? Rest more k... Tomorrow is Friday. Last working day for u!!!!

Hi ladies, I call Thomson to ask ab the hep B jab, the nurse say they dnt follow the healthy booklet, they give appt for the jab which is 2nd mth. I wonder if I can bring her to
Polyclinic to do all the screening test & the jab? Or go Thomson? Which one better? I dnt kw any PD which I can stay on in future.

Hi pierced
Is Gaia product gd? Which product are u using? For me, i hv been using Lacatyd to bath my bbies. Is rinse free and not much foam.. I like it and has been using it since my elder boy time..

Hi faithfully
Different clinic got different time for injection but once u start the injection eg at polyclinic then u hv to do all injections there, cannot anyhow change ler.. If i am not wrong, bbies first injection of hep B at polyclinic starts at 3rd mth of bb. For our pd doc Ong, he starts first injection at 1st mth.

Faithfully, polyclinics follow the national immunisation schedule, something like in KKH. Think 1st or 2nd mth they give the Hep B already. Like Joanne said, u have to follow on thepolyclinic and do all the injections and screenings there.

Alternatively besides the pds, there's also KKH which has the private clinic and u have the developmental screening and vaccinations in a package provided. They have a consultant which u see for growth assess and then u go for the jabs. My gal followed KK previously.

Joanne, For me, I find Gaia products good. I get the bath and body, shampoo and powder which is talc free.
Been using for my gal also for quite a long while and better for sensitive skin and eczema. Also can be rinse free at the beginning. I sometimes alternate with california baby. I used to buy in bulk when I go oz or get my cousin to brings back some. Taka ones are small bottles and I prefer the bigger bottles with pumps which hard to find here, unless ship in or buy from BP.

Lactayd is good too? Haven't tried it before though but sounds good.

I thought I wana save money and try out normal johnsons and Kodomo but I find my gal skin very dry and she gets more rashes and eczema nowadays so better switch back to less harsh products for her again.

Cock Cock..so you are taking B1 or A ward? What is the cost like? Who is your gynae? Sry I can't rem

Hopeful...haha..I think better for me try hands-on first..but weight is a concern for me too. I don't want to bring too heavy stuffs around.

Wow Hopeful, you are back to work so soon? Wow time flies...has it been 4 months?

Eumin, ya, so few from Sgh. Take care, and take things slowly, especially in the initial months.
Wishing you a smooth 9months!

Hi hopeful, what ward did u stay at Sgh? I am thinking to get a single bed, dunno how much it will cost. I didn't choose Dr Yong as my gynae, I went back to my O&G gynae- Dr Tan Hak Koon.

Cool and Eumin, how about U2?

hi catherine! tomorrow wont be my last day afterall... still many things left hanging and i feel so unsettled... will do my best and next week one more day and i will bye bye liao.. no point stressing myself and working late trying to rush out everything.. so now u just "co-exist" with your boss and avoid each other? haha... ya lah, no point getting angry and wasting yr time and energy on him
btw, think me wont try to be hero.. likely will just do c-section..

hi mc, i will see my gynae (john tee) next wed and see how it goes.. likely i will choose ward A if bbies weight good (that means lower chances of nicu). cant tell the cost for sure.. but if c-section (3 days stay) assuming 90th percentile, the cost (w/o GST) for A and B1 is $6128 and $5277 respectively... (will vary based on subsidy level)... actually i havent done any pre-admission reg.. dont quite know how the costing goes.. hee... i do have some breakdown of daily charges for neonatal charges for bb going to diff level of nursery and nicu (a fren shared the info with me).. u dont have to worry at this juncture.. just focus on eating and resting well, and thinking happy thots

Hi, after my confinement, I start to feel aching on my joints & headache. Is it normal? It been like this on off since last week. Today I went to see dr Zou to bu my body cos I think I didn't bu well during my Confinment. Dr Zou so nice, she give an Ang bao to Vera.

Hi cool, I still ve 5 more wks of ML. Cux my colleague who.covered me is going on ML so I need to take back my stuff..

Hi eumin, np!

Hi usagi, I stayed in a single bedded ward. But be warned.. Sgh rooms a bit old n confinement food thr is quite bad!

Cockcock, hope u will finish up your work soon.

My colleague previously delivered at SGH too few years back but the rates is cheaper compared to Kk.

Just went for check yesterday since I was also experiencing sharp pain in the lower left abdomen, was actually to see dr today. anyway, Reason for the pain could be ligament pain. Baby is now 3.14kg at 38 wks. Phew! I wonder why is it still considered 1 wk smaller than normal for the scan. My previous gal was only 3.145 when she came out at 39 wks. So looks like Meimei will be heavier.
Now to wait and see when she wants to come out.

Pierced, your baby is of good weight. anytime now. So xcited for you.

Cockcock, just do wat u can and go on leave on tuesday.

Can I ask how much roughly the Ivf cost. And what if I wanna do that but I do not have a husband as divorce alrd. Kindly advise . My menses is like once every 6 months roughly

Pierced, so fast it's going to be your D day anytime! One week diff shown in the scan is still ok according to dr. Not to be too concern as your baby has a good weight now.

Mine is also 1 week smaller and I am trying very hard to pack up some weight but sometimes really no appetite. My baby's weight gain just slowed down since last month. Dr checked my placenta and umbilical cord and they are ok, so it is most likely due to my diet. Now on baby aspirin and more supplements and seeing dr once a fortnight.

Angel, hee, yup 1 week smaller still ok, I also went on aspirin at the beginingn and stopped. Try drinking chicken essence as what learnt from the others here, and I really ate a lot the other time when she was underweight. Durians, lots and lots of protein like avocados, yogurt, mummy milk powder twice daily and fresh milk, think the diet really helped a lot as that time nb gained 700g In a week!
Till dr loh ask me which durian supplier I go to, haha! Coz he normally don't encourage mummies to eat durians.

Desiree, sorry to hear about your situation. I believe in Singapore, you need to be legally married to do IVF. Not sure about adoption.

Hi Angel, what is your baby weight now? I don't even know how heavy my bb is now since no scan after detailed scan.
My weight gain also seems to be slower. Last 10 weeks i gained like avg 0.5 kg per week. so far i gained 7 kg in total. Don't worry too much since your placenta and cord are ok. Recently my bloating is worse and also got heartburn. These are bothering me.

Pierced, dr also asks me to eat durians..but I hate durian...ate 3 seeds and almost puked..now I am drinking more mummy milk powder and eating ice creams. Will try the other food that you mentioned. Thanks!

Hi desiree, sorry to hear about your situation, but like angel said, u have to be married to do IVF here in Singapore.

Cool cool, how come no scan already? Not your appointment date yet? Anyway, not to be bothered by your own weight gain or lack of it. Doesn't really mean u don't gain weight, bb not growing, there are some mummies who put on very little and the weight all goes to bb. Those lucky ones.
My case is I put on so much, and yet having a hard time previously trying to get bb to absorb and put on. So all the weight goes to me and little to bb.
Maybe u can take something for the heartburn to ease it.

Coolcool, my baby was about 1.2+ kg a week ago. My weight gain also slowed down like less than a kg in 2 weeks. I have also gained about 7 kg so far. I have frequent swollen feet and leg cramps nowadays but i am coping ok with them. What's bothering me more now is my baby is in breech position and dr said most prob have to do c-sec if baby does not want to turn head down..

Maybe you wanna take more frequent smaller meals to try if this can help ease your bloating and heartburn? My SIL had severe heartburn once, she took gaviscon and it's very effective. Her gynae said gaviscon is safe to consume during pregnancy.

Angel, I am not a big fan of durians too, hee, won't specially go feasting on them, I seriously ate like I think one whole yr worth of durians for me. Haha...imagine my hubby buying 3 durians each time, and I have to eat so many.
Ya, but since u don't really like durian, try eating others. Also more meat like beef, chicken, fish. Hehe... I ate and ate till I was so afraid of eating plus, I didn't even feel hungry all the time.

Baby in breech position But how come so fast he say that might c sec. I thought its still quite early to tell right as some may turn down later. Mine also didnt turn down till later on. But Most important, baby is safe. My friend had to do it too since breech.
There was one mummy in my sep thread who delivered a baby in breech naturally coz her waterbag burst early at 34 wks.

Angel, my bb girl also 1 week smaller; currently under aspirin for one month ( and i really hate the aspirin's taste).

i am having the opposite problem with regards to the baby position; my bb girl has been turning down since last visit, Dr loh very afraid that she is going to lock her position there as head down is quite dangerous when c-section ( he says my chances to opt for natural delivery = 0)

my weight gain also becoming very slowly like 1kg in 1 month...

Pierced, maybe he just want me to be mentally prepared. I do hope my baby will turn down. I have been "encouraging" him to do so, even in my dreams..haha.. Your sep thread friend's water bag burst at 34 weeks! That's really early! No wonder I am told not to shop too much.

Oh Hope... How I wish our baby's positions can be exchanged! Really have to talk to baby to be coorporative. Is your amniotic fluid ok? I read somewhere that if it's sufficient, baby has room and thus can still move around and change position.

The effort to put on weight really is a torture for me.. I eat till sometimes I really feel scared of food.. plus I don't want to look too fat for my photo shoots but guess no choice now.

BBjourney, i cannot opt for natural because of my adenomyosis' position, Dr Loh doesn't wants me to take any risk as this is a miracle bb to me.

Angel, last visit my amniotic fluid is sufficient; and bb has been moving her hands freely down there (with head down position)like a butterfly! she will come up a bit during day time but every nite when about to sleep she will head down again, and her head is like young coconut there
hard to sleep sometime...

Hope, oic. Sorry forgot abt your adenomyosis condition. My bb also head down but in slanting position during last check 2 weeks ago. Dr Loh was saying may not engage but i totally dont understand wat he means. :p

Tomorrow going for my appt again. Yeah can see baby!!!!

Angel n Hope, you worry abt gaining weight, i worry abt losing weight. This mrng i weigh myself n i lose 1kg. Dont know my weight machine is working or not. Haiz..

BBjourney, he told me my bb girl might be locked down there... which i also dont get what he meants by lock??? LOL

by the way, Angel & BBjourney have you started to count the baby's kick? hmmm... my bb likes to turn alot than kicking ler... how to count har?

Angel, how Dr Loh know placenta and cord ok? His scan can show blood flow? Cos i also worried about my placenta and cord as its previa scared blood flow wont be efficient.

1.2kg is ok mah, why he say 1 week smaller?

Pierced, congrats on the good baby weight, finally broken through 3kg, well done mummy

Thanks for the PD recommendations Pierced and Miracles, I've noted them down. I went back to Dr Ong in the end cos really not keen to pay $100+ first consultation and wait for hrs at PDs near our area. At Dr Ong's, I did walk in and wait was only about 15 mins and I spotted a celebrity same time...Mark Lee, wifey n boy boy...heee... so we hv the same tcm dr and PD too
Glad I visited PD now instead of waiting till her 1 month review next week, sorted out few issues. Heather's rashes are not actually heat rash but hormones induced, gotten to her fr me during pregnancy...will get worse by 1 month then will get better, I feel so bad looking at her red bumps all over her face now
But in a/c, they don't flare up, so a/c is the way to go!!

Faithfully, I feel that polyclinic is fine but when I showed the polyclinic GP Heather's red bumps, he said its heat rash
Then today's visit to Dr Ong, 1 look, in split second, he knew it wasn't heat rash. So if you are looking for advice same time as jabs, a gd PD may be more advisable.

Pierced, I didn't know water could get into the Medela FS tubes...alright, I'll need to investigate a bit.

For Freestyle, I feel it's very easy to setup, clip hands free straps to bottles, clip hands free straps to nursing bra, connect bottles to pump tubes, that's it!!

Juvi, I've been told Medela pump suction is stronger than other brands. Then PISA has even stronger suction than Freestyle. Have heard few mummies with nipple cracks fr using FS so far, due to strong suction I guess. For myself, I'm using FS, my 1 nipple cracked during week 1 (was on suction level 6), then same nipple cracked again this week (was on suction level 5). Now I'm using weaker suction level 2 or 3. Of course, perhaps my that nipple isnt tough enough but just fyi, so you may like to reconsider betw PISA and FS.

Hi ladies, wah, really very little time to read and post after starting work again... so tired!!!

Bbjourney, think what Dr Loh means by engaged is that the baby's head is firmly in place near your birth canal. Your baby needs to be engaged in order for natural delivery to take place.

Hope, I guess Dr Loh meant the same thing as being engaged when he said "lock". Oh, is he afraid the C-cut will be too near baby's head? Are you taking aspirin because of baby's smaller size? Jiayou!!

pierced, ur baby is of a good weight now! Just get ready for baby's arrival!

Angel, don't worry too much abt baby's weight. So long as Dr Loh says everything's okay, then it's fine.

Thanks for the Gaia link Pierced, I'm also using it for Heather's bath. btw just curious what is the powder used for? Shampoo, when can we start using it? I'm using the Body and Bath now. Bought 2 bottles from Guardian at 20% off...only 1 drop each bath, wonder when will get to finish the bottles...