(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Sorry, me again...

Just wondering for mummies who recently had natural birth, do you feel light soreness or light cramps at your lower abs/ pelvic area? I'm wondering if it's uterus shrinking sensations....

Heartbeats, yes his scan machine can show blood flow in the umbilical cord. This is not included in the antenatal package, have to pay but not expensive.

I noted that my scan edd is about one week later, hence I interprete as 1 week smaller..

Hope, I haven't started counting baby movements..just roughly keep track..as long as at least 10 movements per day is considered ok right?

Thanks Luv..

Tromso, didn't know Guardian carries GAIA products..20% discount quite good leh.. Which Guardian did you go to? :p

Thanks for info Babyjourney, Angel! He never scan my placenta and cord blood flow! And i didnt know can disturb him for that, hehe, next visit i ask!

Angel i also didnt count movements, as long as periodically roll or tap ok right? I am feeling less kicks these days but more of rolls, wonder is it normal? In a way becos less kicks, it seems bb less active also but still got rolls so i also not sure whether should panic.

Pierced and ladies who took durians, how many seeds you take each time? I like durians, wonder if its too much if i take like 10 seeds once a week? Did you take these much?

heartbeats, so long as baby has movement, shld be fine.

Wow, 10 seeds a week?? Does sound a little extreme. You want to start off slowly?

Heartbeats, I took more than 10 seeds a week.. Abt 3-5 for 4 days continuously. Drank lots of water too..
But I only ate for 2 weeks then I cannot tahan already.. Wanna puke.. I'm not a big fan of durian

Hi Angel, I bought Gaia fr the toa payoh guardian, if I'm not wrong, all guardians should have it as its the authorized retailer. I got mine during GSS.

I ate 8 seeds in 1 day previously. If body can take the heatiness, should be ok I guess, seems to work quite well with baby growth heee.... increased protein should help too as its the building blocks for muscles, cells, tissues, etc.

Was quickly browsing through the posts and saw some discussions about 'engage'. If bb is not engaged in time, dr can pushed bb down to engage position if I'm not wrong. Then epidural may assist bb to engage too, that was for my case, I feel perhaps I was relaxed enough after epi hence things started to happen simultaneously. If breech position, for some cases, dr may be able to assist turn bb around during labour.

Heartbeats, yup dr Loh will check for blood flow if he suspects something is not right like in my case of Iugr previously.

Tromso, glad u got Heather rashes sorted out. At least it is solved. Hmm, perhaps maybe previously megans little red bumps on face was also hormone induced.hee...so u don't have to do anything to them and just let it be till it goes off?

That's what I heard about the Freestyle so u might just want to check out as some mummy users from my sep thread mentioned it and ended up the pump motor can't work.

I took around 10-12 seeds per day for durians, sometimes even mor. Coz my hubby normally buys 3 durians each time! I seriously think it helps as it also full of folate, protein, etc. And my gal put on 700 g that time in a week!

Tromso, I use the powder as normal meaning after baby bathed, apply on thighs groin body. It's talc free so it's safe, unlike those Johnson type.
Smells good too. Haha... As for shampoo, I didn't use it at the start, i just use the rbaby bath , only slightly Later on started off shampoo, but coz my gal had lots of hair, so had to use shampoo.

Hi pierced n tromso
Yes.. My bb gal oso has red dots on her face initially.. Doc Ong oso say is hormone issue and fr us.. No need apply anything n it will recover by itself in a few days time..;)

Hi pierced
Thks for ur explanation on gaia pdt.. Is the spree cheaper than get fr local guardian after 20% discount? Maybe i shd give this pdt a try but like wht tromso say, we use only few dots so can use very long for each bottle..;)

Babyjourney, my next appt is next sat. Originally was this week but this week got KKH's last scan at ADC so become next week. But i thinking to change to weekdays cos worried about the placenta and cord blood flow. Almost wanted to go KKH labour suite to check but recall they cant scan blood flow at labour suite.

Thank you ladies for your sharing on number of durian seeds you took. Actually i took 8 seeds yesterday and fridge still have so was thinking to finish up later, like that sure exceed 10 seeds this week. Will watch out see whether too heaty. I also want to bb put on more weight, like Pierced's princess cos my case more worries of IUGR! My boy's placenta seems not moving, maybe its blocked by my gal's placenta as they are both implanted on the same side of the womb. Sigh~

By the way, 1 more qn, anyone still drinking longan red dates tea now? Was thinking that might help promote blood circulation and flow to placenta also.

heartbeat, wat do you mean by yr bbs implanted on the same side of the womb? for breastpump, i wanted to see the demo first but portable is very impt to me too

btw, i tot u seeing dr loh but u scanning at adc?

MC007, i have 2 placentas implanted on the same back side of the womb, they call it posterior placentas. Our womb has 2 sides, front nearer to our navel and back nearer to our spine, both my embryos implanted at the back.

I was under Dr Loh for years till he handed me over to Dr Tan HH when he left KKH. Since BFP i have been seeing the 2 doctors all along due to fear of preterm which delivery under Dr Tan HH at KKH would be better. If full term, then i deliver under Dr Loh at TMC. That explains my scans at ADC as i am also considered high risk so Dr Tan HH allows them to scan and follow up with me closely till last week. After this i have no more scans at ADC le.

Joanne Pierced, dr Ong says to wash the face, head and hair with room temperature water, not the warm water for body wash otherwise rashes will flare up. Pierced, nothing we can do about it as it comes fr internal, so lotion won't help Dr Ong says. I've applied Cali Baby calendula lotion and rashes will subside next day but more will still emerge as it'll continue to worsen until 1 month. Haaa...first month celebration will be a bummer, I guess just have to keep her in a/c room, then rashes doesn't come out much. Glad I did the photoshoot early... Dr Ong also says it won't itch and cause grieve to baby

Also fyi, Dr Ong also says hormone induced red bumps only appear chest up, no wonder no red bumps for heather on other body parts.

Joanne, the Guardian 20% off Gaia hor...you'll need to be very lucky to catch it cos then, I was diligently checking out Guardian for few months before Gaia finally went on sale. Hence may be good idea to get fr spree instead

Thanks Pierced, I'll get the shampoo and talc free powder too, powder will be useful for the joints now cos we also don't put her in a/c room whole day.

This O&G phone line is very jialat! I been calling non stop from 1145 and now still engaged, must be the nurses dont hang up the phone properly!

Just curious, anyone knows which diaper brand is thicker or absorbs better? We are using Pampers now, but few times, the pee will overflow about 30 mins after changing diaper, also cos heather pees a lot but quite surprising Pampers leak out so fast. TIA!!

Nepia can hold pee better but couldn't help heather with her nappy rash previously, Pampers helped but cannot hold her pee volume, so the hunt for better diaper brand starts....sigh...

heartbeat..so yr babies are infront and behind instead of left and right? I am scheduled for scan at ADC on wk 25 and wk30..did u hv that? not sure if i am considered high risk too cos others like didn't go ADC so often..

MC007, they are side by side (1 left, 1 right) on the back side of my womb. Ya i have scans fortnightly from week 14 onwards, my last one was this week, should be the same 30 weeks one you have scheduled for. Maybe ivf twin pregnancies higher risks. For me i also have bleeding issues in earlier trimesters.

Joanne, I think so the products should be cheaper from spree than guardian coz I didn't see it and I bought the powder from taka baby fair at 30% disc yet ended up more exp than spree. The spree price about the same as some mummies who ship in from overseas.

Think the pump one is sold out already, left only smaller bottles. I got the pump ne coz my #1 sharing so will be better and I prefer pumps, for babies can use quite a while.

There's also the other 2 in 1 which is hair and body wash. Maybe can get that too to try and no need for separate washes.

Tromso, yup, I found the powder good, better fragrance than Cali baby.
esp our humid weather, can put at diaper area too. Plus last time Megan's thighs and arm were so Michelin so it was better relief from the heat and humidity,

Tromso, joanne, hee ya my gal had it too during the 1st month previously. At least it's not from the heartiness of the food I took during confinement as what my mum guessed previously.

Yup they have no feeling to the spots or bumps, just that u thought what happened to the baby. Keke, now I finally know why.

Heartbeats, hee, u won't exceed yet, not like in my case where I practically ate durians and durians everyday so I think I took like 9 -10 durians each week. Shared a bit with my dad but the rest of my family were going like durians again! No one wanted to touch it. Haha! Nowi also don't want to eat durians already.
For me, my body can take it so didn't get the heatiness. But do be careful if u feel that it's too heaty as the TCM doctor did advise me too heaty towards the last stage no good, as might fall sick.

Tromso. That's funny how pampers can't hold pee so well. I thought that the brand is one of the better ones already. What about mamy Poko? There's also a new one in the market merries, haven't tried that out though.

Tromso, yeah, can try Mamy Poko like pierced suggested. Or if u dun mind, can try out PetPet. But donno if they have a NB size tho. Is your gal wearing NB still or upgrade to S liao?

Thanks, I'll try mamy poko, perhaps we were just unlucky the few times we changed diaper and she pees big time straight after.

Pierced, hv 20% Gaia discount at taka, that's great
I was looking at the spree earlier, looks like the discount is about 20-30% and only small bottle sizes. Indeed, it's quite good, many hospitals in Oz uses Gaia. I feel that Cali Baby lotion has rather strong lavender scent, why do you like Gaia better?

The Manduca carrier turned out to be a phantom btw, got gf to check out the retail stores in Melb, couldn't locate any...lol... in the end, we are getting it as gift fr friends, they are buying online fr a German website, so, the search is over, phew!! Manduca Singapore seriously need to rethink their pricing, as many I know purchase their Manduca carriers fr overseas.

Mummies, just curious, do you wake up your babies at night for feeds (on routine timing) or feed on demand?

I realised Heather can sleep abt 4hrs stretch at night without feeds but daytime it's 2-3 hrs. Not sure to wake her up or not...

Really not getting enough sleep at nights as have to express milk, feed heather, change diapers. All diff timing...only get to sleep 1 hr ish each time, as have to wake up at least 5 times. I find that I can't wait for heather to eh-eh then bf her cos my breasts will start to feel full and tight very soon and can't afford to wait for heather....

Luv, must be very tiring after starting work. Guess as much ur have gone back since I don't see u popping in here.ho

Tromso,, hee guess have to try out the various brands and see how it goes.
As for taka, its normally during baby fair. Yes, in oz, many places have Gaia, and if I happen to have my cuz coming down without much luggage, can get her to carry some back but not that often. Coz they buy from online and it's pretty much cheaper!

So far I tried the Cali baby bath, calendula cream, their scents are much stronger. The baby bath is ok but I felt Gaia is much better in terms of fragrance? As in milder scent. So hopefully is more gentle. Hee...

Haha, my goodness, that's terrible, wonder why the website is so unfriendly. Luckily I didn't get my cousin in the end to buy, and i got my hubby german friend to help me order too from Europe. And it's so much cheaper too! Save a lot! Totally agreed the baby supplies in Singapore should rethink their pricing, not just manduca. Many babies product in Singapore from overseas are really priced much more!

Tromso, guess you can let heather sleep on till she demands for feed at night. If she's feeding we'll and gaining weight as per normal, no need to specially wake her up to feed.
Most of the time it's the initial first days that u worry they are not drinking enough yet so we wake them up.

So you wake up to pump first and then bottle feed her with the EBM?

Heartbeats, today's checkup is ok. Baby weighs about 1.8kg today, cervical length is ok, fluid ok n baby's heartbeats is ok too. Dr Loh suddenly did a 3D scan for me today but baby's back was facing us. So i ask baby to face front n baby turn and we manage to see baby's face today but was abit blur as my baby is moving non-stop. Nonetheless, we are still thrill to see baby today.

pierced, yeah lor! So tiring... Wish i could fly home for an afternoon nap every day, lol. Next week's a short teaching week so looking forward to it.

Actually there's a one-day sale at Isetan today which i wanted to go to, but feeling too tired n lethargic to go.
The mind is willing, but the body is weak. Heh...

Bbjourney, so thrilling to see baby in 3D i imagine! Does Dr Loh charge extra for 3D?

Luv, yes always v thrill to see baby on every appt but today especially happy as can see baby's face. Think Dr Loh charges $30 for 3d scan but as my baby is moving ard n pic is blur, he did not print e pic for me thus did not charge me. :p

Bbjourney, I didn't know can't capture 3D well if baby is moving...no worries, I'm sure there'll be next time

Luv, you try to rest plenty over the weekends, should hopefully feel more energized somewhere in mid 2nd trimester.

Pierced, thanks for your advice, my mum says the same too. Right now, I'm always giving heather ebm from about 12 hrs ago cos too much ebm, so will put in freeze the fresh ebm each time after pump, will hv about 3-4 avant bottles of ebm in freeze each time, each abt 180ml, can be quite stressful looking at all the ebm sitting there. Plus 1 pack frozen ebm everyday but now that we are feeding her more often (week 3 growth spurt I suspect) and plus I started giving her ebm at nights too, I only need to freeze 2 packs every 3 days, relief... Hows your bm supply like with Megan in the past?

Bbjourney, so you got a free preview of baby's appearance, hahah...

Tromso, yeah, guess i can only try to rest more during weekends, but weekends are for jalan jalan too, lol... Do hope can get my energy back soon!
You've gotten used to having a baby in the house by now?

Despite i try massage before pump.. I still kenna block ducts and my supply overnight suddenly become very miserable..;( if it goes on like this, i think will hv no more milk soon.. Can anyone advise how can i clear the ducts myself? Latch on or hot water helps or what??;( thk u all..

Tromso, my baby is moving non-stop. Anyway, my hubby took a video, so i can watch the video.

Luv, yup an unexpected special preview of my baby today.

Hi Joanne ,

What I did is to massage hard on the lump. The other thing I tried is to have a hot shower and start to massage and squeeze the breast. You will waste the milk but at least it relieve the pain.
If all fails, you might want to engage a Lc ?

Bbjourney, hee, glad u had a sneak preview. Dr Loh will try to turn on 3d and so far I only got one coz the other times hand block the face so he will not give us the pic. Hehe...
Luckily ur hubby took video.

Luv, do try to get a good rest for the weekend and luckily shorter week next week.

Tromso, haha, I'm really happy to hear you have more bm supplies,that's really what everyone hope to have. I wasn't blessed with oversupply like u at the beginning, just nice for Megan only. Maybe coz previously I just latched on in the beginning and pumping was secondary, just pump the rest out after she has latched on. I wasn't so hardworking either to pump extra hours like some mummies. Only slightly later I had more supplies to freeze. Otherwise can be quite stressful if I were to leave her at home with my mum previously and don't have supplies.

Hopefully this time round, will be successful again with bf the 2nd one.

Joanne, maybe try latching on and if don't work can try hot water. Dew suggestions also work when having blocked ducts.

Pierced, I am with NUH and they don't scan on every visit. Their package only consists of 2 scan from 20 weeks till delivery. Of course I can ask for if I want to but have to pay. Since I have another scan on 32 weeks, I will tahan and wait until that scan. 2 more weeks to go.

Angel, thanks for the heartburn tips. I also take Enzyplex. Don't worry about bb's weight and position. It's still early. It will catch up and change the position eventually.

Babyjourney, glad to hear every thing is fine and your bb is on good weight.

Thk u dew and pierced.. Will try it out tomorow using hot shower.. Pray hard can clear by myself else got to see a LC again.. Sigh..

Hi Joanne, I'm actually not very good at differentiating betw blocked ducts and hard lumps...how do you know yours is blocked ducts and not hard lumps?

For me, my breasts will get quite hard before expressing and I can feel the hard lumps and soreness, after vigorous massaging during expressing, the breasts will become soft and floppy again. Is yours like that? Or is there actually a marble ball kinda hard tissue? This sort is quite hard to clear I find. Where are your blocks normally?

To reduce bm wastage and mess, once in a while, I'll cover my nipple and breast with a large hanky and massage/ roll/ knead with both hands. Remember how Maya does this too? Plus with the handy/ towel, it's easier to massage the breasts I find. Good idea to engage LC if problem persist.

Did you start your babies on pacifiers? Does it help? Your boy manages to sleep for longer periods at night now?

Pierced, yours is quite ideal, after latch on, can still pump out some for keeps
I've been feeling so exhausted doing night shifts lately that I've temporarily given up on latch on for couple days now. Brain really doesn't function well during daytime, just wanna express the bm out and zzz or lie down in bed in betw pumps. Luckily my parents can take over during daytime, makes me wonder how possible it is to cope alone in the future...hmm...think will just have to toughen it out.

Luv, heh...I've not gotten used to this whole baby thing yet, big headache...like the Chinese saying 一个头,两个大 lol... I'm trying my best to not fall sick now cos sleeping that little at night doesn't help, esp can't really recoup much energy back with daytime sleeps/ rest. If my breasts allows, I'm hoping to just express once a night instead of twice, so can get more sleep in betw feeding heather and expressing. Best scenario is latch on at night but again will depend on if my breasts can wait for Heather's hunger cues. Motherhood really not easy, a lot to figure out... but good thing is heather is not very fussy at this point, so still not too hard to handle. Starting to get some wind in tummy, so will have to double our wind-ridding efforts before it becomes a monster problem.

Any suggestions/ tips on getting rid of wind?

On the topic of hormone induced red bumps on newborns, I had a chat about it with my uncle who is currently studying tcm. He says according to tcm, this is labelled as 胎毒 (durectly translated as 'pregnancy toxins' I guess). Just like how we mummies get post natal massage to help purge all the blood clots and toxins outta our system, this 'toxin' that we have in everyone of us (due to our diet, lifestyle eg stress, etc.) may get transferred to our newborns too. According to tcm, there are cures for it but it's not neccessary as red bumps/ toxins will leave their system after 1 month.

I thought this is quite interesting, how evidential it is that us mummies 'doings' indeed do get passed on to our babies but really, it was 2-in-1 for that 30 plus 40 weeks, so we are sorta all but 1 system really.

I asked my uncle why there's still so much 'toxins' in heather (me judging fr her many red bumps) though I'm on an approx 20% organic diet for past years and he questioned me about the reliability and authencity of 'organic'...lol... true too I guess
Anyways, good to stay healthy and eat healthy for evryone's sake

Just feel like sharing this, as tcm and western meds versions continue to amaze me....am just taking note and moving on, not too bothered by them.

Babyjourney, thats nice to hear! He also did 3d scan for me last visit. And thats all he wil do although his machine can also do 4d scans. He say if want 4d scan, take out own camera, he wont scan 4d as the sound waves are very strong.

Very heartwarming to see bb real features hor? Mine sleeping when the 3d was taken but can see features. See liao, fell even deeper in love with bb. Now very scared if anything freakish were to happen, will be so heartbroken till i dont know how to live on. Praying loads~

Heartbeats, i had actually started asking dr loh abt 3d scan since my last few appts. but he told me too much 3d scan is not good for baby, n since then i hv deided not to have 3d scan. I m surprised he suddenly did a 3d scan for me ytd.
I have watch the 3d video for a few times since ytd. It is simply Amazing!!!

Tromso. Tnk yours is more of engorgement rather than blocked lumps that doesn't seem to go away much.
How about cutting down on the pumping time if u really have more than enough to supply? Then your body will get the signal not to produce so much but I know beginning you will get engorged very easily.

As for getting rid of wind, depends on situation, if just mild wind, can use the ruyi oil method, to rub a drop or 2 on our palms and rub and cup on her tummy,
Otherwise, can give gripe water to remove wind,
My gal had colic so I gave 'Ridwind' as well. If not colic, think no need to give that.

Tromso, speaking of organic, yup not necessary that it is authentic or natural but guess as long we eat a balanced and healthy diet. I eat lots of junk too haha! But I don't give it to my gal and thankfully she didn't pick up having a sweet tooth like me. Hee...

Coolcool, i see, guess NUH works differently as well.
Hope your heartburn is much better now!

Heartbeats, you are so cute! Think positive, nothing will happen and you have come a long way! Soon your turn too, to hold your little ones.

Bbjourney, hee, ya since he told me about not too good to have 3d scan, I also don't bother to ask him for it. Think normally he turns it on when we are at the later stage. Depends on luck too, I don't get a clear view normally, only happened once for the features. The rest of the times, always blocked by something. My gal is too shy.

Tromso, motherhood has a steep learning curve. You're already doing very well!! Do try to get as much rest in the daytime as possible, esp since u have help now. As for night time, like Pierced says, if u can, just follow ur gal's feeding demand to regulate ur supply. Hopefully u'll be able to sleep thru most of the night without problems soon.

I've also used Ru Yi oil for my gal, but i tried not to use it for her when she was still little. The older generation wld say it's fine but I a bit more kiasu waited till she was older b4 using it when necessary. One basic precaution is always to ensure that she is burped well, which i'm sure u've been doing.

heartbeats, yeah, you've come so far liao. Dun let the negativity get u down. I understand ur worries too actually cos I'm also a little paranoid, lol. Just have to keep reminding myself to think on the bright side and not scare myself silly. It'll be ur turn to hold ur bbs soon. Dun worry. Be happy!

pierced, oh boy, I think I'm really getting old. Just brought my gal to ballet class this morning and had to sit on one of those small children's IKEA stools cos the better seats were taken by other parents liao. Sat there for abt an hour or so. Not very comfy lah... Then went to jalan jalan after the class. Can immediately feel the ache in the part b/n my butt and thigh with every step. Gosh... my DH was commenting that I was walking like an Ah Mmm liao. Had to crash immediately after reachng home. Still nursing the ache now. Terrible...

Pierced, Luv, ya maybe i read too much horror stories liao, esp those about late trimesters. Have to 'kok' my big head!

Ladies, dont forget the nationally rally, now showing!

Oh, for ruyi oil, there's another brand for babies, milder and not so 'hot'. My friend ever got it for me and it's in a square bottle. Think can go medical halls and ask.

Luv, me too, aching all over. My gal's music class too! Parents sit on stool for an hour, my feet swell, butt and back pain, then after that, I will go supermarket to get some stuff and my legs ache and feel so weak sometimes. Think it's the age. Seriously cannot compare to previous preg few yrs back.
That's why I seriously avoid going to my ILs places now, coz they don't have proper place for sitting and I end up sitting on the plastic stools for 1-2 hrs, can die! My MIL can still tell me the other time when my hubby told her we need to go back coz my feet swollen, to lie on the bed in the rooms to rest! Super weird!
Even I go swimming now, end up my legs cramp in the night!

Heartbeats, I understand your worries, I'm sure every single mummy here also went through worrying. Hee, even now I'm worried about movements everyday, whether is it lesser, sleeping, and I keep poking her to make her move. Think she must be super irritated with me, haha, that's why don't want to come out yet. Also, when go to Dr Loh, I still have the fear that I will not see heartbeat after the prev mc, even till now!
We just have to keep thinking positive.

Hee, and listen out now for whether there's any goodies to be given to us.