(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

pierced, that's v soon you will be delivering! like you said, i could also be earlier, though I hope not (coz i dont wish my bbies to be too pre-term).. today tummy v tight and i am so breathless..

mc, maybe better for you to get dual, can pump faster, somemore you have twins?

Hi eumin, u just bfp? If I recall correctly, 1st scan is on 6th wk? Cux d u/s machine in d gynae room is quite lousy. So the scan will not b done by gynae. But no worries cux they r all qualified.

If I recall the appointment shd b same day so Tat u dun need to make 2 trips. Unless ur gynae does not ve clinic on d day u r suppose to do d scan.

Btw who is ur gynae?

well..i am in kk since 8.20am this morning...very busy traveling between adc and tps..for detailed scan and GD test.

Gd news is i pass both...phew...so it reduce my boy risk of DS

Baby wasn't very cooperative initially, one keep facing down and one keep using hands to block the face...maybe is due to m fasting that they refuse to move...only successful at 3rd scan. quite funny to see the sonographer shaking the tummy trying to make the baby move but they jus didn't...haha

mc, congrats on the good results!
You can rest easy now.

thks luv...

heartbeat..thks for yr advice on nicu..so i think for us, better to get B2 right? also do u know if the breastpump from beautyloft comes with warranty? which brand are u getting?

Congrats mc! Now can relax a bit
can u/STD the feeling!

For info, I think for B2 your gynae may not deliver for u. No need to decide now.. Nearer the date yr gynae wld be able to advise u on chances of bbies needing nicu. If got good wt generally shd be ok. Today my gynae told me my gal is face down but my boy is breech. He said my placenta has moved up can try natural if I want... He will review me next week to see babies position..

wow.. cock cock...gd news that you can deliver natural..i hope i can too... what is the weight of yr bb now?

our gynae only delivered for us in A ward?

Eumin, usually they will schedule on the same day.
Maybe like what Hopeful said, ur gynae does not hv clinic on that day.
If that's the case, u can ask them to schedule u for u/s on days which ur gynae is available.
Eg, I usually hv u/s time at 9am n they give me clinic time at 920am on the same day.

Thks mc n luv! Gynae said can try natural since placenta not blocking now, but no guarantee.. Scarcely end up the gal natural n the boy c-section? Will see how it goes next week.. I think yr gynae will deliver for u if A or B1 ward

LuvNhope, it's okie. Thanks for replying.

Hopeful, Thanks for the info. Yes I just bfp. My gynae is Dr Yu.

Cool, Thanks for the info too. I tried to ask the nurse if I can reschedule to the same day, she said cannot because if I reschedule to the same day then it's too late. The nurse told me that I am supposed to do my u/s on 31st Aug. But my gynae is not around so it has been rescheduled to 4th Sep.

B1 is 4 bedder? i think no harm trying natural but breech can meh?

cool...i need to bring the pump to work later..jus scare it might be too crumblesome to bring a dual...lol...but the price from beautyloft seems cheap for a dual so might get it

Today I finally don't hv to bring Vera for jaudice test after visiting 3 x to polyclinic. Today her lvl is 79. Normal lvl is 100. What I do is I painfully stop breast feed her for 2 wks to see whether it went dw. It finally did. Now she 1mth+, her wgt is 4.1kg and hgt at 57cm. Is this normal for a mth baby?

Eumin, my gynae also Dr Yu
how many weeks r u now?

MC007, I am not sure of the extra bulkiness of dual pump.
But just imagine, u need double the time to pump with single pump.....:p
I read that Medala freestyle double is quite portable, good for travel.

Hi Faithfully, congrats on the good jaundice results
Great relief must be, 1 milestone crossed.

When is your PD visit? PD reckons the weight and height ok?

Heather is 3.8kg now, so I'm guessing will cross 4kg too when her 1 mth PD review is due. Her jaundice is getting down very close to 100 now, dr says the liver will develop soon enough to bring it below 100, so no need to sun anymore, phew.... I've been giving her bm and twice fm at night.

How's Vera's sleep pattern, able to settle down soon enough?

Heather is starting to start awake too, last night was bad, kept wanting feeds every 1-1.5 hr and not willing to fall asleep in her cot, wants to be carried. I suspect it's week 3 growth spurt and hope its not colic that's keeping her awake *touchwood*... but tonight she's fine, I've kept the white noise on and she seems to sleep better, no waking up and eh eh so far.

Everyday is new pattern....

Hi faithfully, glad to hear tht ur bb jaundice has went down. I know it's hard to stop breastfeeding, but it did paid off. U can try breast feeding bb again. For me, I feed fm in the day & ebm in the night. My boy is 3.6kg at 3 weeks & pd said its normal. So I guess ur girl is feeding well too, no need to worry.

Just wondering ladies, for bm, is it ok to feed at close intervals? It's fm that requires 3 hrs gap feeding right, to prevent indigestion? Thanks for advice.

Tromso, I'm not sure abt tht.. At night, i feed ebm upon demand. In the day, my mil will feed fm upon demand too..it's hard for me to tell her to switch fm to ebm when the interval is short. She might think tht I'm troublesome. I need to catch up some sleep on the day, so some things are beyond my control.

Faithfully, Vera is tall!!!!! She is not heavy. Dun worry. My gal is heavier when she was 1mth old....

Cock cock, I salute u ... If I have twins I will not dare to try natural birth. Make sure u rest well to have the energy to push !jia you

Hi Tromso, I find that Vera can sleep long in ac room. And since nw I am still at my mum Hse which dnt hv ac, Vera sleep better with me. If we put her in cot she will wake up and dnt sleep long. Then I also realized when we put her dw to her cot after carrying her to sleep she will wake up the moment we put her dw, quite frustrating. Nw she drink 100ml every 2 hr and if she over slept and wake up 3-4 hrs later she will drink more than 100ml. Vera everyday pattern diff. Sometime she can sleep well in noon time then nite time she won't sleep or sometime it the other way round and very hard for us to nap.

Hi Catherine, is 57cm consider tall? I thou it normal cos she grow 6 cm in 1 mth. Dnt kw wa the normal hgt. I go polyclinic see the doc nv consult much.

Mc, if u are going back to work to pump, better to get dual. Save u time pumping. I managed with single pump previously coz I was on leave and I just latch at home, so not regular pumping like those at work. The freestyle would be good and portable for work, I guess. Can ask those mummies who have gotten it. I gotten a Ameda dual so not that portable.

Faithfully, glad to hear the jaundice level is finally down. If pd don't mentioned anything about the weight and height shouldn't be a concern, can also check against the health booklet percentile range.

Tromso, bm intervals normally around 2 hrs. The feed is shorter as it is more easily digested compared to fm.

Hi Faithfully, I've also just caught Heather's air con pattern!! As I'm still in confinement, she sleeps with my parents at nights but their a/c is very very little, not cooling I feel. Hence last night, I decided to bring to my bedroom n sure enough, with cooler a/c, she slept v well
Same thing for daytime, parents don't turn on a/c for her, so she eh eh more. Now daytime I also bring her into my bedrm as I'll on a/c when I bf/ pump. She can sleep longer too.

The heat is terrible now

btw, anyone knows any gd PD around Hougang/ Kovan? Heather's heat rash is getting quite bad, just want PD's opinion its not something we should be overly concerned about. sk PD needs to wait for hrs...not suitable. TIA!!

Miracles, I'm also hoping to feed ebm at night as hv too much supply but since my mum does the night shift, she prefers fm...bb can sleep longer. I guess hv to give n take with parents help.

Thanks Pierced, sometimes she can sleep for 3-4 hrs on bm, like last night when I'm on duty first time, thank god. A few times less than 2 hrs, maybe it's combination of wakefulness (due to heat) plus slight hunger. ok will try to stick to at least 2hrs interval. btw, do u know any hougang Kovan PD?

Tromso, babies are smart, hee, know where is more cooling to sleep. I'm quite hesitant to use air con usually coz I dun want to let them get used to it and without air con cannot sleep, but think with this kind of heat now, quite hard not to, plus babies feel it too.
As for feeding, guess can go by instincts too, sometimes they might not be really hungry but might want to suckle for comfort instead. Of course there are also growth spurts too, if interval is too short, then it might be something else rather than hunger.

As for Pd, here's what I know from my list.
This is a popular one but heard waiting time might be long,

Anthony'S Baby & Child Clinic
327 Hougang Ave 5 #01-160 Singapore 530327
Tel:62802122

This ones come recommended too and used by my SILs coz nearby.
SAW BABY AND CHILD CLINIC
BLK 681 HOUGANG AVE 8 #01-827
Tel:63865732, 63864538

I have not tried them. I went to the Singapore baby and child clinic one at AMK only. I like the PD Dr Koh there.

SBCC baby and child clinic
726 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 6
Tel: 6456 8874

pierced and cool..i think you r right...will get the medela dual pump bah..

recently felt right hip pain while walking...is this ok? or something wrong with my posture?

mc, congrats on ur good reading. Really must b a load off ur mind. I'm thinking of getting the medela Pisa pump instead of the freestyle although freestyle is lighter in terms of the bag n more mobile.. I was fiddling w my fren's freestyle n my head swell cos there r so many parts to fix up n my fren shared tt she preferred e Pisa which is less headache to fix n less parts to wash. However, Pisa bag, wether is e backpack or the tote bag is heavy cos the pump is attached in the bag so it will b heavy to bring around fr home to work, plus all the ebm.

Hi mc, I also feel hip pain especially after I walk too much or do some housewhole chores like sweeping or cleaning.. but it will go away after I sleep through the night. My gynae said it's pregnancy problem and can't be helped. Just up your calcium intake like drink more milk.

Juvi, heard the freestyle tubing is very sensitive too, if water gets in the tubing and not drIed, will affect the motor.

Coolcool, NTUC should have, look closely at the months of the baby stated on the tin. There's similac, s26, nan, Enfalac. Friso etc. Some says from 0-6, some might put 0-12 mths depending on brands.

oh..i am actually thinking of free style...haven't tried how to assemble it yet. Do you know besides baby fair, any place that they will show a demo?

fyi, there is a parenthood fair in expo on 31 aug...hope they will sell some decent stuffs...

Tromso, just as pierced has recommended; my bb's pd is Dr Saw. Also recommended by my fren. Dr Saw is really good in a way tht he is patient & explains clearly.
But his clinic only accepts cash & no baby bonus; thts the only bad point I think.

Hi eumin!! Same!! My bb was delivered by Dr Yu. U r in gd hands!!

Hi cool, how ve u been? I vaguely recall our PMs aft I delivered. Just to share Tat my bill came n aft 22 hours of labour n emergency csect, it was only 7k+..

Hi Mc007, I ve a couple of ivf mummies who stop bf already n are looking to sell their freestyle. U keen? If so I will ask them to PM u

Haha. MC my twins same as urs.. V difficult to get their scans.. Did halfway n they switched position sonographer had to redo everytink again made her so flare up.. M doing e sugar level testing on 20/9.. Mine is 1 gal 1 boy btw.. Hehe..

Faithfully, I just brought my gal to see PD bcod she is having blocked nose. Difficult to breath at all. Can't do the 1 mth injection yet. Has Vera done the injection? Which type?
My gal is 4.4kgs n 57cm tall but she doesn't look fat or chubby at all. Vera seems drinking more. My gal only drinks 80ml for 2-hourly n 100ml for 3-hourly.

Funny that MC and Xuan are schedule to do GD test but I wasn't given any appointment.

Those who have singleton when will you be asked to do the test?

throll, I have done my GD test. I am having singleton. My gynae said GD to do between 25 weeks and 28 weeks (not sure 28 or 29). I am with NUH.

Throll, not everyone has to do the GD test. Only unless they suspect u have GD from the urine test u usually do at every visit.
Then they will do further testing which is the fasting and sugar drink to see if confirm have GD.

cool cool...i think i jus need to bear with it..pelvic pain, hip pain, dunno wats next..lol..

hopeful, i dun mind 2nd hand pump since i will close shop after this..but i wan to find out is it so difficult to fix it first.

throll..i read in book that GD test normally done 24-28 wks..i did mine earlier cos suspect a little high on my sugar lvl...so no need worry first..

xuan..i triple confirm is LFT..:-D

Thanks coolcool, pierced & MC for the info.

MC, so nice to have a triple confirmation yours is LFT... mine too shy to open legs so can't double confirm if is a girl. Will just have to wait for another 4 weeks... hope Dr Tan will be able to give me a confirmation. haha.

Once I hit 20 weeks my baby have been doing her somersault quite frequent, really nice to be able to feel daily movement in replacement of morning sickness to know baby is doing well.