(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Usagi, welcome here too!

cock cock, long time no see!! You've been so busy ah? Dun overtire yourself okie? Wow, u're getting close to the finishing line too. A few more weeks to go! So exciting...

I still have such a long way ahead!!

Jo3, just do what u can and stay a happy mum!

Cockcock, hello... think u can start handing over next week and maybe can take leave at week 35 to rest a home n get prepared for the arrivals of your twins.

Congrats Usagi and welcome!!

*wave wave* Cock Cock =D

Ladies, if you have already chosen your bb chinese names, did you go to any master to do compatibility study or anything of that sort? If have, where is recommended? TIA!

heartbeats, usually after baby is born then we go to the master with the date and time of birth for them to calculate. Then they'll give u recommended characters and u can choose from the list. Jin Zi Long is quite popular. Can't remember who i went to for my gal.

yo cock cock..u still working arh...i am thinking to take hl like ard wk 32...so admire yr determination...

heartbeat, i go online check the Chinese name that i want..foc...i think those feng shui master also use software to calculateand the baby names all looks similar. My brother in law use a feng shui master and didn't like all the proposed names..ended up also go online check..

Ya lor MC007, how to check online? Any website to recommend? All i find from websites is must count the strokes and balance the yin and yang.

Joanne, my blender is just a normal one, didnt buy a special baby blender. Think can be found anywhere like OG, Isetan, Tangs etc. It's under the brand U-like, it's orange, comes with a few different types. I found it quite compact and easy to use, plus besides pureeing baby food, can use for my own cooking.

Usagi, welcome and congrats!

Cockcock, very fast soon u will be delivering! Time to get some rest.

Heartbeats, My gal's name is through a Fengshui master but because we are clueless about chinese names so will leave the names to the FS master to select. This time round, will also do the same and get him to help choose.

MC, wow, didnt know there's website for you to check chinese name, but this one cannot help you to name right? Must have something in mind already?

pierced...if u Google 生辰取名 , the websites will giv u suggestions based on the dob..you can check out the 2nd url that i posted..

Heee Pierced, I also have U-like orange blender, quite gd, can make soya bean drink fr it too
Also hv Kenwood blender so no point getting the Avant one, too many otherwise. How are you feeling that's days? Can walk ok? I also can't feel Braxton hicks, but when induced, then the pain became quite intense. Jia you there!!

I had my bb's name done by a fengshui master too, I prefer can see face to face, so can ask questions about bb's bazhi, what's lacking, what's strengths, health conditions, future, what colors to avoid, etc.

Congrats Usagi, you did ivf around last Sep/ Oct too is it? Then, your hubby's car got kissed by another car whilst gg to Dr Zhou's clinic? Hope I've remembered the correct person heee... welcome

Wow congrats to Cock Cock, finishing line in clear view now. Angel and BbJourney, both of you are also in 30+ weeks now right? Excited for you all...hang in there

Babyjourney, me too, so many things not done, starting to panic liao. My hb even said its time to pack the hospital bag after the recent premature contractions scare.

Heartbeats, i started clearing the spare room for confinement n my sis maid helping me to do some cleaning... Hv you done any shopping? I just started to buy abit here n there... Very lost...

Halow Tromso,

Wow ur memory very good. But the story is we kiss pp. Wahahahaha. That was my first ivf. Then 2nd one in Mar/Apr. Also failure. Now finally conceive naturally. So blessed. Now my only wish is BB can be healthy and come to this world safely.

Heartbeats n BabyJourney, try to check off against a list of items that u need? Settle the big items first then go on to small essentials. Dun fret. You'll be ready somehow.

Babyjourney, only did online shopping for bb clothes and my nursing wear since i cant go out earlier. Big items totally not settled. Think i better start from next week at least settle 1 item per week. Smaller items i intend to make 1 trip to the chinatown shop and sweep everything home. Going ikea to buy cupboard for bb clothes too. And breastpumps in Oct. My spare room not ready also cos hb so busy every weekend with his work and stuff, we hardly have time for chores, going to start abit by abit this week. Storeroom also need to pack so that things can go in there. Headache~

Luv, ya, got checked against list and mine still very long, haha. Thanks to sashamama for her list to start off with! I am sorting them by venue, then go to each place/shop and just ask the sales assistant to pack everything listed.

Usagi, will one, will be healthy and joyous! Stay positive!

Heartbeats, the online shopping for bb clothes is it local or overseas? My sis n colleague are going to pass me hand-me-down bb's clothing, so dunno what i shd buy. I m looking for nice clothing for baby's full month and some kai kai clothes...

Luv, i also hv a list but still hv many many unchecked items... Hahaha... Btw, i saw u looking for Topicrem in the other thread, think i saw it at kiddy palace/robinson the other day (if i remember correctly).

Heartbeats n bbjourney, happy shopping!!

Bbjourney, thanks! I realise that my doc's clinic has a tester tube of Topicrem. Donno why they told my DH dun have the other day. Anyway, since i bought Elancyl liao, just use lor. Thanks for the heads up!

Babyjourney, i shop mainly from Gmarket and sprees on this forum, so quite abit of carters, old navy, first impression/moments, marks n spencers and some korea/taiwan brands. But all are one piece suits and sleepsuits, havent buy staples like simple cotton tops and pants, may go chinatown or the bugis shop to buy in bulk.

Tromso, Hee yup the blender is good. I have a kenwood blender too but that one very troublesome to use coz it's an attachment to my mixer and it's glass so very heavy.

Me still can walk, just that feel so clumsy like a teddy bear now and slower too. Plus breathless easily so out of stamina.
I try to swim everyday if I can to get some exercise since I'm now usually based at my mum's.

No BH as usual, so probably like the 1st, will only feel the pain when labour starts. Now is only really waiting to see when she wants to choose to come out. Hee...

Heartbeats, oic. Thanks for sharing. Maybe i shd let my fingers do more 'walking'... Hehehe

Pierced, your turn to give birth soon then followed by Cockcock... So excited!
Btw, how does BH feels like?

dear sisters, thanks for your well-wishes! so happy all of you are progressing well
saw the latest post by bbjourney and suddenly i got "nervous" with the realisation that it cld be v soon.. i am the next few in the line? gosh, that's v fast! pierced, are you excited? everything ready at home? pls share with us good news ok..

will be seeing my gynae next tue to discuss abt delivery plan.. i asked him when shd i stop working.. he said if all ok can continue till 35th week.. he not so kan cheong like other gynaes.. i was told, to play safe, for those carrying twins, between 28 - 32 weeks will be crucial period, shd try to get as much bed rest.. i didnt not becos i tried to act "hero", but just cant go away without proper handover... my replacement was only appointed on thu.. i have briefed him.. it's an entirely new area for him, think he v stressed too.. my staff, knowing that i will be away soon, start submitting things to me.. i have no time to clear.. then big boss also want to squeeze as much as possible. for a conference in nov she wants me to do slides now... i have many many loose ends to tie.. cant do so if things keep coming in.. i try to settle everything by next week ba.. btw, i am still torned between what ward to choose for my delivery.. i scared pre-term which means if i choose ward A, bbs' nicu cost cld be v high (since the amt is tied to mummy's ward). on the other hand, i really hope for a room to myself as i dont want the stress and disturbance of sharing room.. the minimum i wld go will probably be Ward B1, to ensure that my gynae does my delivery.. below that he wont be delivering for me... any advice? i am with KKH... since with ivf we bgt the great eastern insurance, it can help defray some cost for nicu ba..

for sisters with twins, do note that in 3rd trimester (or maybe earlier than that) you cld get piles. before preggy, i dont have such problems, but in past few weeks i bleed a few times and got quite scare.. luckily the blood came from anus, not V area.. phew! i think piles q common in pregnant women, but more so for those with twins coz the heavey uterus pressed on leading to swollen blood vessels ard anus area.. now my anus v painful... so if you do see red (which i hope wont happen) dont be panicked.. it cld well be piles..

bbjourney and heartbeat, i know what u mean re packing and clearing stuff and buying bb items.. i have long list to do, but still not done yet.. slowly and surely, you will get things moving, and everything will fall in place
wow, yr turn v soon too, coz you only abt 5 weeks after me! jia you all!

Cockcock, dont be "hero" liao lah, work can never finish one. Your replacement has to learn on the job (which is the best way to learn), your staff n boss just hv to learn to work without you. Just do wat u can n go on leave n rest more before the delivery of your twins. Otherwise once babies arrive, dunno still hv time to rest or not.

I am a silent reader. Was SF Loh's patient but managed to conceive naturally. I have low placenta and was advised to go to kkh for 2nd alternative should my baby is preterm so as to save the Nicu charges. I am now 7months pregnant so not sure whether can kkh still accept me? Any good gynae to recommend at kkh? I only saw Tan HH twice after Dr Loh went to TMC. Is Tan HH a good gynae in Csec delivery? Thank you

i agree with you bbjourney.. i just feel bad like leave them in the lurch (more so for the new mgr)... but like you said, if i dont rest now wont have chance to rest once the little ones come along... this is so exciting.. do you still hv all sorts of dreams? but must admit at this juncture, i still worry loh...

Baby journey, ya! So fast! On one hand, can't wait for her to be out finally, yet still want her to stay inside for now. Hehe...

Actually, I not very sure BH feels like coz I don't really feel anything.BH is like the tightening of your uterus, you feel some slight contractions and hardening of your tummy, I still don't get how it feels like.

Cockcock, ya, u are also next in line! You might Be earlier coz your twins. My friends wife just gave birth to twins and she was due in Sept, much later than me! But they are small though coz around 34 weeks?

Please really get some rest and don't be hero now. I'm already on ML coz I really can't take it when go back to work after HL. Think I 'Nua' for too long already and climbing up 3 Storeys to class everyday was not something I look forward to. Super breathless! And seriously with twins coming, you will never get the same rest as u will when they are in your tummy now!

Hi truffle apple, from what i understand, KkH can accept you but you have to call and find out which gynae is willing to do so. They will have to ask the gynae.
My gf who came back from US to give birth here at KK called up and quite a number of gynaes were not willing to take in patients who are already quite due. However she managed to get Dr June tan who immed took her case up. You can ask KKH. Think she's not a bad Dr too from what my gf has said.

Cockcock, u feel bad for your colleagues but do they feel bad for relying on you so much n not letting you hv enough rest? Think its time u think for yourself n get as much rest asyou can now.

Recently i dont hv much dreams or dunno isit i dont remember dreaming. Hehehe... U still hv dreams?

Pierced, so fast hor... thanks for e explanation on bh.

Hi bbjourney, not to worry, I also started my buying after 27 weeks, think I managed to clear 30% stuffs at expo fair, then slowly picked up other things here and there. But try to finish your purchases before say, 35 weeks cos can get harder to move about then.

Braxton Hicks, if its mild contractions, then I guess for me it's mild pain, like period cramps then gets more intense cramps as approaching labour. I had very mild period cramps several times a day about 3-5 days before bloody show.

Usagi, heee...I remember you cos that fateful 'kissing' day, I was at Dr Zou too, I was waiting for my payment and both your hubby and yourself were ahead of me, explaining to Dr Zou's hubby about the incident, then I saw your descriptions in forum, so I knew it was you earlier at Dr Zou's. Nonetheless, gd thing you've come this far...hcg 7,000+ is high, take special care during this time ok

Pierced, waiting game is not too fun right heee...I recalled praying hard that Dr Loh will induce when I admitted for bloody show. Can do more pelvic floor exercise too, I'm not sure if this helped me as I only pushed a few times and baby was out. Or could be epidural's help cos prior to that, bb was still very high up, then just minutes before Dr Loh came into delivery ward (nurse had me pushed a few times already), hubby could see bb's hair fr beneath already
Hubby cut the cord too, we didn't request though, dr Loh urged him to
Your hubby planning to do that?

Brought Heather to polyclinic yesterday to have her jaundice level checked. Guess what? Blood test plus consultations, mere $12. Indeed it's 1 of the rare few moments that you feel undercharged for an excellent service received. All in all was about 2 hrs and results on the spot. For PD, its about 1 hr but results only out few hrs later.

The GP was able to answer our questions very well, which was quite a bonus as I didn't expect such a service for that little costs.

We were placed on priority queue cos she's a NB and only babies within first month jaundice check gets the special treatment. Polyclinic boleh!!

I am a silent reader
need some help from you ladies. My left breast has a big lump and it's affecting milk supply. I tired hot cold compress , massage until too painful to continue. But the lump still there . Is there any Lc that works on weekend/public holiday? Or any effective way to resolve ? Bb not able to help coz he refused to latch on

Any help is much appreciated. Thx u.

Cock cock.... Dun act hero like me. U will have a emo breakdown if u dun rest. Lucky my mum and hubby r always giving me moral and physical support. The fruit of the labour at work is not gg to b as gd as seeing yr ah boy and ah gal making their first turn, crawl. I 'reviewed' my gal's photo last weekend cos I took sooooo many photos of her my iPhone storage is full... V emo when I saw the photos at birth till now. Showed my gal Videos that I took... She will slap my iPhone screen... She is an angel and devil now.... Wake me up everyday at 7+ and want to play.... I dun get up so early on weekends ... Now I juz throw her into her cot and pretend to sleep.... Hoping she dozed off after playing

Tromso, that's the privilege we get as local haha... Y it take 2 hr for u?? We took only like max 45mins.

Dew, I leant this method from the forum ladies. When u pump... Grab a bb milk bottle filled with not water and kiap /roll onto yr breast as u pump it out. it works v well for me.

cock cock, agree with bbjourney. Your babies and your health most important now. Can't keep worrying abt work cos work is neverending. Rest well and get ready to receive your little bundles of joy soon!

Bbjourney, I had BH b4 in my 2nd trimester previously. It felt different from my labour contractions because BH didn't hurt. My tummy just suddenly felt very hard and stiff. Whereas in labour, i could feel the pain from the contractions. BH is supposed to be harmless and prepares your womb for labour. But think Tromso read b4 that if in late preg, too many BH could trigger onset of labour.

Tromso, thanks for sharing ur experience at the polyclinic. Good to know we have an economical option for checking baby's jaundice level. What else did the doc check for besides the jaundice level?

Hi cock
I start take hl to rest at wk 32 and i am glad that i do it as i think it helps me to bring my bbies to this world only at 36wks and of gd weight 2.4 & 2.6kg.. If they will to deliver earlier, they may hv to go nicu and cant discharge together with me.. Oso, Luckily i start rest early n had sleep alot for that 3wks plus of hl.. When bbies r home, i can still dong without much sleep for first few wks else sure fall sick since take care 2 bbies are REALLY not easy.. Both me n my hb shad out yesterday as they dun want sleep the whole evening.. So trust me, rest is impt for u now.. Whats ur bbies weight now? Always tell urself, company is not going to feel heartpain for us when our bbies r laying in nicu..they not going to pay for us the hugh amt of nicu charges..so why bother them so much right..;) rest well n prepare for many sleepless night.. I only sleep 3-4hr every night and during gd days can sleep 5-6 hrs which is rare..luckily my hb help me with my gal else no need sleep ler..;) my boy super punctual.. Every 3 hr sure wakeup.. Not sure how to delay his timing longer...;(

Thks luv n pierced.. I think i hv the feed ur bb right book too.. Let me go dig it out..;)

Hi catherine,

Thx I did try the hot water bottle. The flow is so slow and after a while it stopped coming out. The lump still there. Pain pain.

CockCock, i feel heartache for you. Do try to delegate ok? Its a chance for your subordinates to better develop their potential too. Nowadays when i get requests by boss to do this and that, i also assign away to my staff, dont care my boss liao. My staff have to learn, have to do more, anyway its good preparation for them now also to start to get used to not having me around. Furthermore, i might want to quit after ML so its also good if can groom a successor from here.

Tromso, can share with me the LC too? TIA!

Btw ladies, is short nipples a concern for BF? My nips are short leh, inverted somemore, scared bb get frustrated if cannot easily get milk?

CockCock, i found a gd way to relieve my constipation! I am taking fybolgel and yogurt and fruit juice daily with lotsa fluids. And it helps! Now can move bowels every 2 days and no need squeeze, shiok!

Last time i used to move bowels only every 3-4 days and will always bleed.

Bbjourney and Heartbeats, I've passed on Betty's contact, do you have it already?

Catherine 45 mind is very fast
Maybe cos we went on Sat, very packed, somemore SK polyclinic, many babies.

Luv, initially was registration (hv to bring BC), then weighing bb in 1 room, went to another room for bloodtest, waited abt 30 mind for results, then waited to see GP for results review. GP only adviced about jaundice level as no other tests were done, then we asked few other questions like poo, rashes, etc.
Our 1 month visit with PD is coming up soon, that's when bb's developments will be assessed I believe, plus jabs. For jabs and developments, I still prefer PD