(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

MC, wah how can like that... U shd write in to mcys n complain.

Heartbeats, hello. How r your twins? How much do they weigh now?

Tanny, the part time Myanmar cleaner, not mine, I think it's Luv's....correct Luv?

Joanne, I'll email u the pix later, sorry, been quite busy past days, hv started to take over babycare cos I think my parents having a bit of tough time taking care of a needy 1.5 yr old and baby and housework...sigh... Yes, same issue here, parents don't want maid lol...tough...

For past 1 yr, we bring our clothes to hubby's grandma's maid for ironing, then we'll buy her food like 3-in-1 coffee, chips, chilli sauce, etc. My SIL had a Philipinos maid previously, so each time they go over to PIL's place for dinner or deposit kids short while, will pay maid $10 for her help with dishes and mop floor. Think she doesn't like the arrangement, and SMS my SIL saying will report to MOM if she has to help out at another address. Since, they have changed maid, and made do with slowly, less clued on maid. And we've been warned to not offer $$ to maid for assistance, food is ok. I guess diff maids will accept diff kinda arrangements. It's a fine line sometimes...

Hi hazel
Thk u so much for the detail..;) may i know where u know abt all this cooking receipe? Fr any url? Can share? Or fr books? Wht vegie u use? Last time i oways cook porriage with 线菜 and fish for my son for all his meal.. Luckily he not choosy but i feel so bored tt he oways eat the same so thot to change pattern frequently this time if can..;)
Think got to start picking up different cooking method soon.. At wht mth of bb u start to introduce solid? Thk u..

MC, your mcys incident...lol...they are so selective

Heartbeats, I heard the 6 mths maternity leave is underway but unsure when it'll be implemented and how retrospective it'll be.

Hazel, you reckon you can cope with young Belle plus a baby? I see my niece and my baby, I'm a bit disillusioned about a second child in the nearer future....

Joanne, for me, daily, I'll wake up at 6.45am to wash up cos baby wakes up abt 7am plus for feed, then pump again to maintain supply. Thereafter about 8am plus, I will have breakfast. My baby wakes up twice a night for feeds but I'm hoping will be lesser cos we hv just increased her bottle feeding amount in response to her growth. I will latch on again in the afternoon, twice a day latch on that's what I'm doing now cos it's hard to coincide her feeding time with my let down time sometimes. I don't wish to stretch my pump interval to more than 4 hrs now, so if she's not awake when I'm ready, I'll pump.

How's your routine like now? Getting more milk? Can try to massage breasts more as will get more bm. That day I decided to massage my left breast full on cos supply not increasing and managed to get 40% more bm outta it, but I was all sweaty after the pump cos massaging breast very hard. Now I'm focusing on the other breast as the supply has dropped, dunno why....think I'm not massaging it enough, can feel some small lumps now...

Can I ask, for those tiny red bumps on baby's head, I think it's called baby acne, what can we do about it?

I checked online, says cannot apply lotion, as will increase oil secretion, worsen situation. But says can use bm to apply, true?? Any other options?

Weather is too humid and warm, even I'm getting slight red itchy patches on my breast and inner elbow

Hi regards to bm, I hv started to decrease since a wk ago. Sometime I didn't even latch her (I prefer to latch her). Then somehow I latch her, she will cry then suck then cry. Like uncomfy or wa. But I press my nipple gt milk leh. Somehow I didn't give her bm I feel abit sad but becos due to her jaudice last 2 week (nw she 1 mth old), I stop pump and latch and nw my breast no more engorge no hard, but still gt milk come out . Anyway the most I can pump out is 40ml. Nw maybe even lesser. I feel abit dishearten tha tha I can't give her fbm. Not sure will it affect her although I bm her once a day last time.

Hi Faithfully, did you check your breasts for any soft lumps? Maybe try massaging it, deep massage. I got quite fed up that day too, with the supply, so kneaded very hard, 15mins, there was some soreness pain, so I knew blockages here and there. See if it helps you.

Also check your underarms, lift up your arm and feel the armpit area. If blocked in that area, will affect bm flow too.

btw Vera's jaundice still on high side after first 2 weeks? I'm planning to bring heather to polyclinic tomorrow to check her level, hopefully no need to sun anymore too.

If jaundice level not high, we don't need to sun is it? Wonder when is the crossover timeline....

Tromso, I m old already. No more time for me to waste. So if I wan a 2nd one, I better be fast! Belle is born in January. So if 2nd one comes along end of next yr, the age gap is abt 2 yrs old. Ok wat, that's a nice age gap.

J03, belle started on organic cereals at 4 mths. Well, her PD said abit early as she is concerned over allergy n constipation. Her pd said 5mths plus start will be better. But belle has no issue on this hub n me have no history of allergy. Anyhow, always try with new food one at a time, so if bb is allergic u can pin point to which one. Nv learn fr any book. Just prepare the food with your heart. With love, everything also tastes nice. I trial n error too on the quantity to put. But food like nuts n egg white, intro at one yr old or beyond coz they are High allergic food.

Belle is easy to feed. She eats everything. Veg depends on what my mum buys, can be celery, carrot, bb Kai LAN or broccoli. Bb eat so little, I just take abit of what my mum buys for daily cooking. My mum last time also only cook fish porridge for my nephew n niece coz no blender, so other food v hard to soften till purée form.

I started cooking brown rice in a pot. End up, my pot gets burnt on the sides coz brown rice needs to cook v long n hv to scrub the pot when washing. After a few times, I know 45 mins is a good timing to soften it. So I just give specific instructions to the maid to cook n watch the fire. Belle's god mum told me to cook using double boil method since Amt is little. If ur family eats brown rice at home or u dun mind bb eatin white rice, u can always take some of the cooked rice fr the rice cooker that the family takes n blend with the ingredients that can be steamed separately to make porridge Purée. Too dry then add a little bit of water.

Thanks Pierced, ok, 26 aug, i must remember to check TV schd!

Tromso, nice to hear the 6 months ML underway! I wasnt too hopeful for that but wont complain if have! Its especially nice for those with 1st kid too, can bond more with both elder and younger kids during this time.

I hope they give the dads something more though. Paternity leave currently is so pathetic, havent even come home from hospital already used up. Come home liao dads have to go back work, so sad. Mine targeting his PL + infant care lve to get by our first week after birth.

Babyjourney, we are ok i guess, haha. Everyday passed with no issues is a milestone! Last check, dr loh say slightly over 1 kg. I got premature contractions scare though. Dr Loh gave me medicine to keep it eased. Scared~

Heartbeats, so fast have contraction ah? May i know how does it feels like? I ask dr loh last sat, he said not to worry leh.

Ya lor Babyjourney
I got so much problems right? Hai~

The last time i saw Dr Tan HH, he also warned me about preterm liao. Actually i also didnt know its contractions leh, i just feel tummy very very hard. Then kena CTG and confirm, the graph spikes every few minutes. When Dr Loh feels my tummy, he also say abit hard. Normally he will feel and say tummy is soft. He got feel your tummy? He will know just by feeling.

Headtbeats, i also hv my sets of problems. yes Dr Loh always feel my tummy before he scan me. Sometimes my tummy will be hard after meal, but not everytime. Your tummy remains hard for how long? Any pain? When is your next appt?

Babyjourney, it was hard a whole few hours each time 2-3 times a day for many days before i went to check it out. I still think normal maybe stretching, luckily went to get checked!

I try to eat small meals as i realise after dinner also sometimes get hard but now better under medication. Appetite is super good now leh, everything also feel like eating and frequently hungry, how ah? Scared put on too fast the weight all go to me instead, must pace out hor?

My next appt next week.

heartbeats...28 wks with slightly over 1kg, is it ok? Dr Zou keepask me eat and eat so that each baby can reach 2kg...but i am jus started to eat normally, not even alot...so dunno when can hit 2kg.

Actually, i prefer more infant care and childcare subsidies and more regulated childcare price...if the infant care subsidies increase, i might even consider putting my twins in infant care and no need headache for maid...

Giv us GOOD news plzzzzzz...

Joanne, I previously got these 2 books with asian theme as reference for baby solids. I found them quite useful coz it's more to local tastes.
First Foods and Feed your child right
http://justwoman.asiaone.com/Just+Woman/Motherhood/Stories/Story/A1Story20071012-29676.html

Also, i blended different vegs, fruits etc to introduce the taste.
Starting out will be those brown rice cereals, etc.

As for porridge, u can also get those tiny crockpots available to cook. I used those to cook organic brown rice porridge for my gal. The porridge will be soft enough for her to eat.
later stage can also buy those tiny pastas etc to cook , i put vegs and minced chicken/pork inside with stock to cook.

MC007, according to babycenter and most websites, 1 kg or 2 pounds is normal. Maybe Dr Zou mean to reach 2 kg at least by birth? Cos most hospitals want bb reach 2 kg also, especially twins, otherwise its NICU or special nursery if i am not wrong. I miss Dr Zou, maybe should visit her soon.

Ya, i also wish for childcare and preschool subsidies!

heartbeats, many also cannot feel contractions if its mild. think yours twins so must be more careful. Just take the contraction medicine to prevent.

Dr Loh will always feel tummy, hee, previous visit he can even tell head is already down by feeling slightly.

Heartbeats, wow hard for a few hours ah... Lucky you went to see Dr loh. May i know wat meds did he give you for the contractions? I also seeing Dr Loh next week.

I think if hungry, you just eat as you need to let your twins put on weight. Maybe hv many small meals n eat more nutritious food.

Babyjourney, he gave me Nifedact. The only down side from this medicine is i have palpitations at times, dont know blood pressure got rise or not, maybe i should rent the blood pressure machine test at home hor? Like last night, i couldnt breathe, took awhile to settle in before i can sleep.

Heartbeats, wats your bp like at every checkup? I think it will be good to buy a blood pressure machine to monitor yourself. i bought a blood pressure machine n was monitoring my bp since 1st trim. So far so good. I also felt breathless sometimes. What i did was to sleep on 2pillows, if this does not work, i will sit up, do deep breathing technic to regulate my breathing n sleep.

Hi Hazel and pierced
Thks for ur detail explanation on how to cook a nice meal for our bbies.. Btw hazel, where u buy the organic cereals? And yes, dun let bb eat egg before 1yr old..

Hi mc n heartbeat
Dun worry, if u eat less does not mean ur bbies dun grow k.. I
Eat quite little but weight still all go to bbies instead of me...It all depends on individual bbies.. Jia you woah... And be prepared when they r out, u will be super busy..;)

Hazel, was your baby born in Jan this year? same age as my son. Usually my son sleeps 7-8pm+, but last night he woke up at 11+ and did not want to sleep. As the 7 mth starts, it was a bit scary.

My son doesn't like to eat any solid food, everytime feed him, he will cry and pretend very pity. Do your have any idea to share? thanksss.

J03, only egg white give bb after 1 yr old. Belle eats the yolk already. Can do hard boil egg, n put half an egg yolk into the blender n blend together with porridge also. Bb's store of iron will be depleted by 6 mths old. So, hv to buy cereals that contain fortified iron in it. There r many organic brands in the market. I hv settled for healthy times brand coz I like the smooth texture after mixing with some milk. Ntuc n cold storage carries this brand but not the complete suit. I buy it's organic fruit jars too. U can see fr healthy times SG website all it's products. I order online, hit $80 free delivery. One mth one pack of cereals (coz once open not advisable to keep longer than that) n 2-3 fruit jars a wk where belle eats half a jar each time.

Cherry, belle born on 3rd day of cny.

Cherry, hv u tried giving him fruits? Say pear? Do u purée the food? How abt cereals? U mixed with water or the milk your son drinks? Use the latter.

Joanne, same as hazel I started giving egg yolk after 6 mths , can mix with milk too and feed. Only egg white after 1 yr old. My pd is old school, he say giving egg yolk is very nutritious. All the minerals etc inside and they are still young can afford to eat one a day. Only later on I switched to giving half boiled eggs and till now my gal is still taking 1 half boiled egg for bf everyday. Only my IL thinking that very unhealthy to give egg to kids coz high cholesterol. (weird thinking when they feed their own grandchildren with luncheon meats, fried chicken wings sausages most of the time!)

I also used the healthy times cereals previously like Hazel. Otherwise, later when older, u can use Bellamy too, there's pasta for the brand.
Jar foods are also convenient if u don't have time to prepare much varieties unless like my funny gal, who didnt like jar food

Hi Heartbeats, just wondering if you have a fetal growth scan at about 25th week? I was told by KKH that this is for multiples to scan their growth...these days...after the detailed scan scare...I'm very afraid of scans...wonder what this growth scan is about and what it exactly checks

Erm Babyjourney, i dont really bother with my BP Level leh, everytime just wait for them to tell me normal or not, hee~ Guess i should be more mindful now that recently i keep feeling faster heartbeats. Thanks for the suggestion.

Biggly, i have been scanned by KKH so often till now i dont know what scans they have been doing. Lol~ All i wait to hear is they tell me 'everythg normal' then i will phew~ But everytime will check bb brain, heart and weight and also the SDS of AC - not sure if this is the growth scan. I have another one next week, will find out more. I think the growth scan is to see whether bb in the normal percentile, if too small can be sign of IUGR, too big also not gd, indicative of GD.

Btw you gals did your GD test? I am doing mine at KKH tomorrow, nervous, hope can clear else 3rd tri have to control diet, so miserable. I already lost my appetite in 1st and 2nd tri, hopefully can be allowed to eat in 3rd tri.

Luv, it stands for standard deviation s.. (the last s i cant rem) of the abdominal circumference. Basically they see how off the standard chart for bb's ac at their various gestation weeks. If deviation is +/- 1 its considered normal, if too much means bb is way below or above standard.

Luv, i am considered high risk so KKH follows me very closely. And i did amnio so Prof Yeo watches me closely too. Dr Loh allows them to track me as i am in good hands and i always bring the reports back to him. Dr Loh even ask me keep my options open, if too preterm, he rather i go back KKH to deliver as my NICU charges can kill. I hope i dont preterm, i still prefer Dr Loh to deliver for me.

I am glad Dr Loh is understanding and wont mind if i have to deliver at KKH instead of by him. He does think of our wallets and not just wanting to earn from us.

yah..after the last scan..I'm a bit scared...I also hope for the "everything's normal" remark...but after the last one...sigh...

anyway..the strange thing is...I won't be seeing my gynae till 4 Sep (when my last appt was 24 July)...wondering if i need to look for a more dedicated gynae now...

Biggly, what happened at your last scan? Sometimes things can change or improve as the pregnancy progresses. One of my scans, they told me my boy has dots on his heart, i was so worried, but after that no more.

Its good to find a gynae who will watch you more closely. Our pregnancies so so precious.

Are you under Dr Tan HH? If so, i know why liao, the whole month of aug he is away, on conference and reservist. His nurse say one.

you also went for amnio? the last detailed scan on 24 Jul showed symptoms of DS...then the KKH gynae arranged for me to meet her again the following week to decide if I wanna go for amnio due to the risks involved...i on my own quickly arranged for 2nd opinion at RH where the doc explained in detail what the anomalies were...and I scheduled immediately the amnio at RH as the gynae himself was able to perform that...so I was more assured...I'm not sure if it's because I missed the earlier appt that I don't get to see the KKH gynae again this month.....sigh....

yah..the babies are so precious and I pray that everyday goes on well and fine for me and for them

heartbeats, i see. Good to know ur results are good so far. I remember in later stages my gynae also measured head and abdomen circumference previously.

biggly, dun be scared. Have faith in ur babies.

Pierced,
Our girls r very similar. Mine also don't like jar food, even fruit puree must be freshly prepared n freeze. Only when she got older then I buy those fruit puree pack for her snack. I also have the book feed your child right... This is a local book rite where the recipes are local so much easier to prepare.

heartbeat...i am taking GD test next tue too....scared....hope i will pass it... next tue also need to do detailed scan den see dr Mathew lau since dr Tan on reservist..

biggly, yrs singleton or twins? i am also having quite regular scan at kk.. almost once after every 2 wks...The cardiac dr told me if i pass the detailed scan den can transfer out of fetal monitoring dept to dunno wat dept.

although iuv to see my babies so often, i also scare every checkup dunno wat will happen..

MC007, your scans at ADC? Thats where fetal medicine is headed by Prof Yeo. I also had my scans there, every 2 weeks.

Biggly, your results out soon? Dont worry, have faith, most of the time, oscar is false alarm one.

heartbeat..yes you r right..fetal medicine dept...i did my oscar, cardiac and upcoming detailed scan at ADC...the rest of the time is scan by Dr Tan.. i can't recall will transfer out to wat dept...really hope i can pass the detailed scan...

I'm carrying twins...

my results are out and turned out fine...the scare was due to 4 indicators that both oscar and detail scan show signs of DS...was very stressful back then....

I didn't have the cardiac and GD leh...wonder why my visits are so irregular...so tempted to slot in appts with RH...

Hihi, popping in! I tested my HCG on 38th day of my cycle and got a reading of 7685. Next wed, I will visit SGH gynae - Tan Han Koon.

Excited. Hope can hear heartbeat in my 6th week.

Thks Hazel n Pierced
Btw, what brand of blender do u all buy?

Hi tromso
My milk supply still miserable..;( anyway, just pump whtever i hv ba..as long no fever, i am contented..;) i no longer continue my massage with maya.. Luckily she is understanding..;)

I'm with Dr June Tan at KKH and saw Dr Tony Tan at RH for the 2nd opinion. Envt at RH seems a lot better and appts can be arranged quite immediately, guess u get what u pay for

many congrats usagi! read abt your miracle, and so happy for you! wish u a smooth 9 mths ahead! must "wave wave" to other sisters, esp those whom i am more familiar with - heartbeats, bbjourney and luv - glad u all are doing well

it has been a long time since i last drop msg here... i think some sisters are wondering how i am doing.. I am doing fine (and hope to stay that way till i deliver!). today is exactly my 34th week. getting v heavy.. i gained 19kg plus liao.. my waist measurement is 44.5 inches as of last night! so you can imagine how big I am... getting v tired and breathless easily and yes, difficult to turn while lying on bed and i cant sleep well, but still working... i hope to start my rest soon, but never ending work keeps coming in.. i scare i pop anytime and no chance for proper handover... keeps telling my babies to stay inside me and grow well and healthily until they are more ready at 36th or 37th week... at home, i still have many many things not done.. really running out of time! jia lat...

hope all's well for all sisters.. joanne, read abt the challenges you faced in bf.. just do what you can, you are already a noble mum.. dont stress yourslf out ok.. to those who are popping soon, all the best and wish you a smooth and fast delivery, and happy, cute and healthy bbies
(sorry i sort of lost touch coz not diligently following the posts here).. jia you all!