(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Back to work today and I totally cannot take it after such a long rest.
Luckily still have teacher to take my class and I just have to guide the one who will be taking over my duties as well.
So the decision to start ML earlier this time is right. Think if I go through 2 weeks, I will go bonkers again!

Tromso, thanks for the postal code, yup my cousin lives in Melb too so will be helpful. Might be easier for her to drive to the store and get it if it's convenient.

oh dear, so just have to soak salt water to get rid of infection. Luckily u paid a visit to Dr Loh earlier, can get peace of mind.
So means those not having water retention now, might get it post preg.
Mine's very bad water retention, this time round is even worse, no matter I sit or stand or walk, sure bound to have even if lift up feet and drink water. Already tried swimming but just eased a bit. My left foot esp looks super about to burst!
My hubby still say i look like a hippo lying down in bed.

I was just joking with my colleague maybe due to age too, a lot of difference with this pregnancy. Everything seems to be much worse.

blurxuan, good thing to rest at home now. preschool teachers are not easy as well, with the younger kids so active.

Tromso, wow! that's really scary! with scarf and beanie!
My mum was telling me the Lao ban niang lady was saying not to bathe for 1st 10 days, and only wipe with herbal water.
I told her see how first coz seriously in this weather, I don't even think I want to wear long sleeves, and to not bathe, my mood will be very bad and it is going to affect me!

Hi Joanne and mummies, I think I'll start encountering problems similar to yours, my girl stays awake throughout 1 feed a day now, sometimes can self entertain, sometimes cannot. But as long as she doesn't cry, I'm happy enough.

I'm using the white noise device now. IPhone app, you can search 'white noise' should see quite a few. But so far I've not found womb sound in the app, more of sounds fr fan, train, rain, etc.

Hmm...I didn't realise the shhh will cause peeing hor...lol...but so far it works for me for temporary no crying, sometimes still hv to carry, no choice. I actually shhhh quite loud, forceful and long, purpose is to cover the crying sound, so baby can hear it and listen in.

Regarding the shh noise, i suppose the one for peeing tends to be higher pitched? And the one for hushing baby is prob more low pitched? Hahah...

Luv n piere.. ya they r v active n "dangerous"coz if they throw temper will hit e stomach area or anyhow kick.. doc oso scare of e virus ard so help mi wrote a letter n on npl till deliver.. hehe..

Luv, you are right, the Dr Karp shhh-shhh is diff pitch fr the peeing, my hubby has been doing the peeing pitch too despite me correcting him few time lol...but I guess as long as can settle bb for a bit longer, it's worth it.

Thanks for the encouragement cool, you jia you too, nothing beats seeing the peacefulness and innocence on bb's face, makes it all worthwhile.

Pierced yah, hv to sit in saltwater, asking him how much salt, dr Loh said 'to taste' lol...actually it's more of blood vessel bursting inside, so I was told not to carry heavy things and squat. I've not been resting enough too I guess, can't imagine hubby going back to work on Wed, sigh...hv to find time to learn his duties. But ebm has indeed granted more time than bf, at least I can laugh these 2 days, before that was walking zombie and very heart pain hubby looking so sick, haizz...

The water retention, gd news for you then, at least very high chance won't get it post delivery
Dr Loh says nothing to do with fluid intake although older folks do suspect it. I just realised I'm taking about abt 7 litres of water daily hmm...need to cut down. It's very easy to hit 7L with soups and red dates tea, milk, etc.

As for wrapping up like bazhang, I thought perhaps need to do that if in air con constantly. But with no air con, should be ok without bazhang treatment. As my bottom half calf and feet were not covered at Dr Loh's earlier, the ac being very cold, I could feel some soreness after the visit. I guess beta to cover up more in cold ac, esp those who aches more easily.

I've only showered with herbs water once so far, wipe very briefly twice.

Tanny, I can't imagine not washing hair for 1 month, are you serious? With the post natal massage, my hair is more oily now though I've not wash it yet.

Hazel, I'm surprised Belle caught her bronchitis at Yu Guo. I was going to use it if bb gets harder to manage later. Hmm...if the massages work, then maybe I will bring along the hand disinfectant and help them clean up the treatment bed before putting bb on it...lol... It's gd thing that Belle has crossed the fussy stage now

Tromso, haha dr Loh really like to joke, salt water also joke. As for fluid intake, think its ok even if u drink lots of fluids, better for u since u bf. and don't over strain yourself now that not supposed to squat etc.
Ebm is also good since can save u more time esp without much help from hubby as he is going backto work.

Blurxuan, yes oh ya esp some may still throw tantrums, good that your doc also support that ESP with the no of viruses around plus hfmd cases rising

Tromso, no air con got breeze / wind! Confinement time go out must wear long sleeves n pants.. Some wear socks too.. Dun catch a chill n u nv know when there will b breeze or wind ok!

Pierced, dr Loh not joking leh!! I do taste the salt water before soaking!!!! Keke

I just finished packing for my coming cruise this wkend.. Lots of stuff.. Ok, dream land before belle wakes me up for milk! Night all!

Hi ladies, may I know what's the texture of other brands nipple cream like? I'm using Medela, it's sticky as thick honey...

Also for those who has used nipple shields before, do you know for Avant, are there only 2 sizes? I can't seem to fit nipples into the larger of the 2 sizes or should I squeeze nipples in?

Mummies using breast shells (to contain dripping bm), do you use it 24-7? That's what I'm doing at the moment, partly to contain leaks, partly to protect cracked nipples until they are completely healed. May I know if I'm doing the right thing or shouldn't wear 24-7?

Thanks for your advice

Hazel, it's so hard to avoid wind/ breeze
The bazhang lady oso worn socks on top of her slippers...can u imagine the winter scarfe + beanie + socks and slippers. Heee...anyways more protection is def beta, so I think I'm doomed, can't take the heat very well...

Hazel, may I knw how many times u soak in saltwater a day? Do u count the number of teaspoons of salt you add each time? How many?

Sigh...another activity to occupy the illusive free time betw pumping/ chores.

Tromso, i think be it breast shells or breast pads, most importantly, you must empty & wash or change them frequently to prevent bacteria buildup or infection. And remember only the milk collected during feeding/pumping shld be given to baby.

Tromso, breast shells only use when u having a let down (eg. When you are feeding one side, or when late for pumping & let down started). Not meant for 24/7 wearing as need to keep breast area dry (aired) to avoid bacteria growth & skin chafting.

To prevent leaking thru unneccesarily, use breast pads instead. And change regularly.

Nipple shields are meant to protect your nipple from abrasion with our clothing while they air. If you squids them in, defeats the purpose of the nipple shield

Tromso, I just pour the salt direct from the bag into the basin. Didn't use spoon at all. I tasted the salt water coz it needs to be salty to be effective! The saltier the more stingy n heal faster - depends on how sting u can take. I will soak whenever I wash the below. So, at least twice a day, once during shower and another time at night when I wiped myself. If I duh feel good there coz of the menses blood, ie sticky n smelly, or I feel itchy, I will soak more time in between! My wound does not heal v fast, so it really take wks for it to completely healed n no more pain when I touch it.

I soak in salt water quite often even now... Coz when itch I will soak coz I dun wan to get an infection. I hv ready packet of salt in my bathroom always

Did Dr Loh give u all any gel or cream to apply? I remember my doc gave me some to apply after delivery. Didn't use salt water. My wound prob healed in a week or two i think? Maybe can ask from Dr Loh if he didn't give.

Btw, Tromso, I remember Avent's nipple cream is not so sticky. U might wanna try.

Thanks Luv, yep I'll was the breast shields every 3 hrs but looks like I may be overusing them. Dr Loh doesn't issue cream/ gel, I've asked. My gf's gynae prescribe too, maybe dr Loh prefers salt water....?? I'll suss out the cream too, gf has given me the brand.

Avant nipple cream less sticky? ok will get this instead

Thanks Ron, so the nipple shields are not only for direct breastfeeding, can use to protect nipples fr clothes abrasion too. The breast pads, ok I'll switch to these. Actually my nipple tips will get stuck to bra without protection since Day 1, many times I hv to peel them off
Now with the cracks still healing, hope doesnt stick to breast pads....

Hazel, thanks for the saltwater info, ok, I'll try to soak as often as possible. Actually wearing the sanitary pad doesn't help cos it's very humid and warm down below. I've swooped fr the commercialized pads, with non-breathable plastic sticky base to those hospital kind fr Mothercare, as these looks more breathable, hope will reduce mositure below.

Thanks do much for your advice ladies, I appreciate very much!!

Hi morn mummies,
Vera is already 3 weeks old. She demand to drink FM every hr and each hr she drink 20-40 ml sometime she will sleep till 3 hr for her next feed and she can finish 70-80ml. Sometime we feed her less then that and she dnt feel full and we hv to add more to make it 80ml (Nw she drinking 80ml every 3 hr feed). But the problem is last time she will drink her FM and sleep after that. Now recently she dnt sleep, she will open her eye big big and stare around. Sometime she fuss then her mouth will start to open and close and move around like looking for milk but we feed her 80ml to her. She dont seem to feed full. At nite I will give her my breast to let her suck. She will fall asleep then when we put her dw to her cot she cry again. Now she dont seem to sleep after a feed. I am getting abit stress out. Is it her pattern changing? Like yest, my mum told me she poo with abit of blood... why is that so? Is she too heaty? Now she on FM most of her time and oni drink BM at nite once. Btw I am feeding her Enfalac A+.

Hi mummies who are breast feeding, are you still taking prenatal multi-vit n fish oil? I asked Dr Loh before, he said if breastfeeding then it's better to continue taking. Mine is finishing soon, dunno if want to buy some more or not. TIA

For saltwater, I just use the spoon given. Two spoon each time, should be enough?

Tromoso, we women v poor thing... After delivery hormones change again! U know I kana fungal infection coz of that! Sianz

I'm learning bathing my baby today, so difficult. I try to sit on a low stool but difficult to get up while holding baby. Now my CL is around n can help me to carry her. What about after she left? I really can't imagine. Any advise on how to bath her in easier way?

Baby, I was afraid of the same problem too. That's why i bought a changing station cum bathtub so I could bathe baby while standing. Maybe u can improvise and put baby's bath tub on a sturdy base so that you can bathe baby standing up too.

Baby, put bath tub on high level, eg on waist High table top or something. Bathe her while standing. I sit on stool. Hen I get up, I will hold ontop the towel railing on the shower glass to pull myself up

Luv, maybe I should get the changing stn cum bathtub you mentioned. Where did u buy it? What is the brand?

Hazel, I just afraid lost my grip when pulling myself up while carrying baby. Gosh... Really not easy.

Hazel, how did u know if u kanna the fungal infection? Is it after the check up? Heard so many infection really scared me. Not sure if I must arrange for earlier check up or not, dunno whether the wound has recovered or not...sigh..,so much worries.

Hi, does anyone kw where i can get nice Ang Ku Kueh? I need to order for this Sun cos it Vera full mth. (We are celebrating a 5 days early cos 17th Aug is a weekday and also the 1st day of Ghost festival... which we patang)

Baby Me, I saw those elevated bath tubs (not collaspsable) at Kiddy Palace too, just the tub sitting on metal stands, waist height. I've been thinking to get 1 too...

I'm still taking prenatal vitamins and DHA, mummy milk powder too. I also take 1 calcium pill a day, so that my total calcium intake is abt 1400 mg a day. Bf needs up to 2,00g a day I think. Also taking vit C.

Babyme, better call and check if it's in stock first. Otherwise make a wasted trip. Or can consider Tromso's suggestion to get from Kiddy Palace too.

Tromso, which Kiddy Palace did u see the bath tub at? The one i have seems to be too big to place in my room. Headache...

Faithfully,
For Ang Ku Kueh, you may want to try the one below that has been tasted and approved by some of the mummies here.

Stall name 寶州 Poh Cheu
Blk 127, Bukit Merah Lane 1, #01-230, S150127 (Alexandra Village)
8am-6pm 
Close On Sunday and Public Holiday

Thanks Tromso, will check Kiddy Palace too.
I better up my calcium n vit C too. Now only taking multi-vit, fish oil n breast feeding milk.

Faithfully, my baby full month also fall on Chinese 7th month, so was told to postpone till another month.

Baby, I cleared dr loh's check up 2 mths after delivery! Itch down there for wks... At the thigh folds near the grion.. I didn't know so bad until I examines using a mirror yesterday as no longer itch.. The skin there is patchy red n in coil shapes... I saw a GP just how n was told fungal infection due to hormones change n that if I dun apply anti fungal cream, it will come back again..

Hazel, I see. I better start to check using mirror. Just now tried to press surrounding, no pain though. Hopefully nothing.

Luv, I saw the changing table cum bath tub from the link you posted. It looks very big. Did you place it in bedroom instead of bathroom? Will the water splash all over the floor then? How did you clean your baby bottom, in the same water to clean the body? What my CL does is splash water on her bottom n clean it outside the tub before putting her body in the tub.

Baby, yeah, i place it in bedroom cos there's a wardrobe too. If i recall correctly, we used either wet wipes or wet cotton wool to clean bottom, not the water in the tub.

Can place some towels on the floor to catch any water spillage. But actually not much cos we move baby quickly from tub to changing table and dry baby quickly.

Good thing abt it was that after baby outgrows the tub, we can still use the wardrobe. So at least it won't go to waste. Problem now is I may not have enuf space for it in my room this time round, lol. Cos previously i was staying with my ILs and there was a spare room.

Luv, my colleague helped me check the pd dr p uses... He uses the 2 dr Ang. Now I know y dr Chua uses dr ong.... My colleague told me... My

Bbjourney, yeah the akk is v v b. b v b nice. I did that for my gal full mth too. U can call and order. I stay v near there So always there to eat

Catherine, u make me craving for e AKK now. But i stay far far away... If got chance to passby will go buy some to try. Hehehe
Can share Poh Cheu's contact number w me? Thank you.

Bbjourney they have about 10 flavour. I m traditional person only like green bean. The abacus there is nice too. So what if I stay near there no chance to eat too.... Q always so long. Sorry I dun have their no.

Luv, think straight. They r frens la....

jus went for check up and dr said that my sugar lvl abit high and request that i do the GD test earlier in 2 wks time..so worried now..anything i can do to control the sugar lvl?

mc, take care! Try to avoid sweet stuff? Dun worry yourself out for now. Just watch ur diet more consciously from now on. Maybe it's a false alarm?