(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hee, tromso, I heard of it, but I didn't practice all this edifferent methods like baby whisperer, gina ford etc. I'm sure when the time comes, u will be able to handle it in no time. Starting is always blur or difficult.
Main thing i learnt was to establish routine, so that bb knows when is what, and it is easier also for the caregiver to take care, eg, feeding, playtime, sleep time etc. I have timetable last time for it so my mum can also know when is what, and not guess if hb is hungry etc.

Everything is new now, so u find it difficult to absorb everything,

Thanks Luv, I will rest well. Just thinking whether I should take the rest of the months off bef giving birth, but bo hua, coz means either I have to take NPL, or start ML earlier.

Tromso, oh, ur niece stays overnight at ur mum's? The typical weekday-weekend arrangement? Or just during day time?

That'll be tough, having two young ones in close proximity. But I guess it's good training to prepare you for #2! LOL.

pierced, can't u get more HL from Dr Loh? Use up your HL b4 using ur ML or resorting to NPL?

If it'll give you more peace of mind, then do it lor, even if it means less pay. I was also prepared to take NPL if I needed to.

Luv, yup, he will give more HL as long as I request. Hee, just exploring the diff options. Will not think so much first, if need be, will just take like my hubs say, no pt going back sch and getting stressed up again esp the last hurdle.

Tromso, I also aim to be able to train my baby to sleep thru the night by week 10 onwards. Like what pierced said, routine is very important n the timing also. I'm following this method called parent directed feeding by Gary n Anne Ezzo. It is important tt the baby follow this routine of feed-wake-sleep routine so tt u will know exactly when e baby will wake up for feeding n tt gives u time to do other things.....I also hv a growth chart/checklist so tt I can refer to while breast feeding the baby.

Hi Luv, yes, the niece sleeps over at my parents place weekdays. I'm all prep for a baby vs niece cranky nighttime, or rather my mum is. She has managed to train my niece to sleep through the night without waking up for feed, so hopefully will just be feeding 1 mouth then. My elder sis and are 16 mths apart and my mum was very traumatized then, that she had to feed us both throughout the nights and get both back to sleep, kept reminding us that was how she got her panda eyes lol...hope her nightmare ended 30+ years ago and not be restaged....

Juvi, what is this growth chart/ checklist for referring to whilst breast feeding? Can share? I'm envious you are able to attend parenting classes with your community, makes it all easier to learn than reading books
Some of my friends go through the course at their churches too, feedback it's very beneficial

Pierced yep, I'm trying to fathom what time is best to feed, how long to let baby sleep in daytime during which stretch of the day and what to do/ alter if baby keeps waking up at night or unsettling. Dunno when can start playing with baby, read overstimulation can be a problem. I've got my flashcards ready ...hubby and I made some of them (excited to showcase to baby heh...), so just a matter of 'when' lol...

Tromso, sure I will share w u the charts n other information of this method. Let me try n summarize all I've learnt in a word document then email to u when ready. Gimme some time k? In this way, I'm also reinforcing my own learning haha, u know lah our brain just not working as well as it used to when Preggie.
will start this weekend. When r u due?

Pierced : I also got the unimom double pump but have not tried it yet. Supposed to pick it up this weekend. I also got the adapter for using avente bottles. Was told it fits standard bottles. I'm in my week 36 day 4 counting down to next week.. Weekend again - I wan to go to walk in the new marina park and hopefully my hubby let me swim again.

Btw my boss told me she also wanted to take HL from her gynae one month before EDD ( for rest since she dun wan to waste her ML) but her doc said can't give cos said in Singapore they are not allowed to. Really gynae cant give? I see many pple taking. My company policy booklet never anything about HL from gynae not recognised. In the end her bb came out on week 36 and she started her ML just nice. On the other hand maybe she telling me my HL is not recognized if I take HL from week 36 onwards. Maybe I shoud just check with my HR.

Those thinking of taking HL better check in case company policies differ and end up mummies forced to "use" out ML earlier if HL is not recognized by HR. But if yr HL is really essential, then go ahead.... For me, I was thinking of nuahing at home and taking it easy ...like finishing up reading the WBB books and watching tv..

Angelxusn : I did my hosp tour around 3-4 mths and now couldn't rem much.. Hahaha I still wanna to go one more time but always doc loh apptm over stretched.. So end up din go.. Maybe I just skip it.'

Heartbeats - another seller selling medala pumps slightly cheaper than TLL - in case u wan to consider.. Called beauty loft. I din buy from her as I did not get medala in the end. Prices i asked in april were:
Freestyle - $460 nett stocks on hand
metro - $425 nett stocks on hand
on the go - $395 stocks on hand
bkpack - $395 n stocks lead time 1-2 weeks.
Collection at Amk.

Tromoso, dun think abt letting bb sleep thru until bb is 3-4 mths old! Bb needs milk to grow. Some says sleep thru only when bb is on solid food as it makes them fuller. During first mth, u wake bb up for BM feeding every 2 hrs if bb is sleeping.

Thanks Hazel, indeed I'm aware that baby can't sleep through the night at the start
I'm hoping to learn how to slowly stretch the night sleeping hours as baby grows older, versus feeding few times in the middle of nights even when baby is older. Also read there are some methods to prevent baby waking up at 5am for feeding, ideally 7am is better, this is better for the caregiver too. Will have to trial and error a bit I guess.

How long does Belle sleep through in the nights now?

Thanks in advance Juvi
I'm in 35+ weeks now. Don't worry about expediting your reading, if you are taking notes, I don't mind having a look whenever, will always be helpful anytime.

In the Gina Ford book, there is this table that shows the diff sleeping periods throughout the day/ night from 1 mth to 36 mths. Also same sorta table for feeding hours throughout the day 1 mth to 36 mths. Will be ideal if can mimic similar schedule but of course with flexibility. I was wondering if what you are reading is similar

Heee...I'll watsapp you the pic of the tables.

Tromoso, if last feed is 10pm. Next feed will be abt 5am. But at times she will still fuss and want milk at abt 2-3am. So I may give Loh coz she is not on semi sold food for dinner yet. So, can't expect a bottle of milk to last so many hours. Ask us to drink milk to last so many hrs we also can't take it right? I just give her if she wants coz she is growing everyday. Imagine I can feed her at 8pm, 10pm before she sleeps I need to feed her again if not she wun sleep! She will still finish to the last drop!

Good to hear Belle is drinking and eating well
Say if her milk milk volume is increased before bedtime (per feed), do you feel she may reduce the number of feeds? Then you may be able to wake up lesser heee....

I see some mummy friends do split feeds, once about 10.15pm then 11pm. The babies then could tahan until about 7am for next feed.

For my niece, was also feed-on-demand method, so only manages to sleep through at age 1+. A couple of my friends still wake up in the middle of nights to feed their toddlers of age 2-3
Whilst those who set a routine, their babies were able to sleep through till about 6-7am before turning 1 or even 6 mths. Of course if feed-on-demand is not too much of a trouble, then it's all good

These are all theories/ options, of course have successful and non-successful cases
As parents, I guess we will be constantly searching for an option that better suits everyone

Tanny, nice
You are still going swimming. I'm getting very lazy these days, my only 'exercise' is window shopping/ loiter about after lunch each day. Did a 1 hr+ window shopping other day and already feeling have to head home.

Keep up your energy!!

Be careful of cramps in the water too...make sure your hubby is around when you swim.

Tromso, even if baby doesn't wake up for feeds, you'll need to wake up to pump to establish and maintain ur milk supply. You might end up finding that it's more fuss free to latch baby on directly.

Tromso, quantity of milk given to bb has to be constant for every feed. Cannot one feed more and other feeds less. Can cause bloatedness n indigestion. Thats why we always make it a pt to make sure she finishes her milk every feed since born. If she can't drink alot, the dun give too much per feed. We Just feed at closer interval. Easy on the digestion.

Once bb is on solid food 2-3x a day, shld sleep thru after giving one bottle of milk before bed time.

Luv, so for as long as we wish to bf, have to get up in the middle of night to pump or bf is it? Not sufficient to pump say 3-4 times during the day plus bf daytime? Sorry, all these are really new to me. Thanks

Tromso, depending in how on the ball u r! Of course best is to wake up in the middle of the night to pump or latch directly.. but is too tiring n stressful for me to wake uP n pump.. So I slept thru the night! Latch on is easier but I didn't Loh.. Hehehe

Tromso, in the early days b4 milk supply is established, it'd be better to latch on or pump every 2 to 3h. It's tiring, yes!! After milk supply is established then maybe can "eat snake" a little at night, heheh... tho u might end up with engorgement which isn't exactly comfortable too lah. But u can maybe shift ur feeding or pumping times to more earthly hours like 5 or 6am rather than 3 or 4am?

You could try out what u said and see whether it works too? I can't say that it won't work cos every individual is different.

Tromso, not really like what the rest said, i only latch on 2-3 hrs in the night for first 2 mths plus. after that, easier as my gal slept thru. last feed around 11 plus. and early morning one feed so i don't need to wake up in the middle of the night.

in the day if u latch on, no need to keep pumping already. latching on is easier to establish supply. u over pump, become engorge.

I see, thanks for the clarifications mummies. Yes, definitely will have to extremely hardworking during initial months, I'm mentally prep for the battles...
Alright, hope can get a more sane routine started after baby is more settled in later months.

Thanks for your advice, they are helpful.

pierced, thanks for the interesting link on food for the little ones!

I also can't remember if we need to bring our own towel to TMC. I believe so leh. Ladies who delivered there recently can advise?

For towels, I'm just gonna bring my own. I think will just be light wiping right? Do you intend to shower there Pierced?

Talking about shower. Just curious if we bath babies in cooled boiled water or warm water fr the tank is sufficient? Thanks.

Hi Tromso, if I remember correctly, so long as the water is warm, it's fine even if it's direct from the shower.

It's the mummy who can't touch unboiled water during her confinement period. Well, so they say. So you shld bathe with herbs and boiled water during confinement, and ideally leave the bathing of baby to someone else for that first month.

Tromso, I can't imagine how yr mum is gg to tahan.... I dun know if yr bb will wake yr niece up. I remembered Chris and I gave our bb slightly more at around 11. My gal could sleep till 4-5am around 6weeks old and slowly she adjust to 6am, 7am .... What we did was when we feed her around 11, we tell her daddy and mummy v v v v tired and must sleep. So we want her to sleep more too and no more milk. Nag at her for about 1 week then she manage to sleep thru. Of cos there were occasions like 1 every fortnight she may wake up. We either ignore or feed her. Now it's better bcos she is in IFC so got routine. At times she sleep b4 9pm we dun wake her up for her last feed at 10pm. I learnt this from Chris she feed her bb lesser and I tried it works. My gal sleep thru too.... To me It's fine go a little bit diet nvm la ... U will b surprise she can sleep 13 hrs non stop. That's her record. As parents we worry and constantly check on her. No cry means no milk... Besides sleep is gd for bb right?

Hi tromso, in WBB class, she said best to bath bb in temp 37 degree... actually, for me, i intend to bath my bbs even during my confinement period.. it will be our bonding time
just afraid that they are too tiny and i cant hold them well..

xian, these few days go toilet so often that my "backdoor" (like what heartbeats said) is bleeding.. not exactly LS, but loose stool..

cock cock, take care!!

I also have a bit of loose stools these 2 days. Wonder why? Hope it's not anything I ate. Cos I just started trying out a new tingkat caterer.

If u wanna bathe babies yourself, try to make sure u use boiled warm water for the bath water.
Better safe than sorry sometimes.

I plan to hire a Myanmar maid. Any recommendation of good maid agency? If I need her in Oct, when I should start looking for?

Thanks Catherine. Ahh...nice to hear about successful sleep-through cases
I'm also bit worried for my mum and dad. Hoping my sis can bring niece home for zzz on weekdays during first month. I highly suspect if baby cries at night, niece will get cranky too, at her stage 1+, she is still not very stable yet in terms of emotions, starting the rebellious phase.

Cook cook and Luv, indeed WBB says warm water fr tap is fine but I kept reading about having to use cooled boiled water for baby, even ang mo books say that, so weird. A local magazine says so too. Ok, will have to wait and see

Tromso, well, maybe they're worried abt the content of the tap water. But I think the tap water in S'pore shld be pretty safe.

Tromso, i intend to pack one too if they don't provide. best if can take a shower there.
if not will just wipe up.

I use warm water from the tap too, for bb and for me. think only boil for the herbs and the rest just add in with warm water from the tap.

Maybe like what Luv say, they worry about tap water contents. But sg water is very soft, not as hard as european or other countries. very safe.

CockCock, you are adventurous leh!! But need 2 adults leh otherwise how you handle 2 bb in 1 bathtub?

Pierced, the hospital should really give us a list of things they can provide, save us cracking our heads whether to bring or not bring.

Bathing during confinement - we cant use hot water from water heater and mix with herbs, must be boiled one?

heartbeats, if u were to be strict, yes, cannot touch or drink tap water. Must be boiled. If u have a CL, she can boil for u.

Oops, CockCock, ignore my silly comment, dont know why i read as you want to bath 'with' bb. You mean you want to do the bathing for bb right? Silly me.

Luv, i must have watched too much waterbirth videos so the image of mum and bb together in bath tub is not alien to me. When is your next scan?

thanks luv.. now i try to "lun".. scare to go toilet and then bleed from there.. in fact, this morning went office toilet and saw a tiny trail of red.. shock me! but it was from another hole... btw, today, my right hip start to be a bit pain liao..

heartbeats, no no, i m not that adventurous lah... one bb at a time, and w hubby's help too.. cant handle both at the same time.. dont even know if i dare to carry them at first or not... really hope they will be safe, born healthy and near full-term...

cock cock, luckily it was just a false alarm! Can ask ur doc if there're any safe med or remedies if it doesn't get better?

Your hip is probably trying to take on the extra weight. Pamper it a little by staying off your feet when u can.

Thankfully my hip pain is gone. Though now my butt aches if i sit for too long, LOL.

Tromso, cooled boiled water for washing bb's mouth! Showering no need. For us, confinement time, touch only BOILED water to prevent getting the wind. Be it washing hand or showering. If not will have body aches n finge joint aching once wind get in!