(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Cock cock, I m so happy for u... Max 14 more weeks... U have 2 darling to celebrate Xmas with u this yr... Mayb by then the babies can turn like my gal ... Jia you!!!!!

Hazel, now if we carry elis her head is straight up. Keep looking around. Now she dun want rocker. She wants her swing or on her tummy. I can't imagine how difficult it will b for me to look after her on fri.... Crossing my finger

Dear Hazel,

Thanks! will start by googling the two to check them out. I have also heard about I can Read, Phonics and Zoophonics. Any comments on these?

Jude, heard of these u mention but nv done any research. Phonics will be taught in Pre nursery classes for some sch.

Hi everyone,been away from the thread for a while and it's moving too fast for me,

Sunbelle, congrats on the birth of ur princess. glad u are adapting well to motherhood.

I'm on HL at home to rest as ordered by Dr Loh as he said bb is not growing well and too small for 30 week, he diagnose as IUGR. So he put me on aspiring and 2 weeks rest. Also good so I no need go back and face start of school again.
Now hopefully bb starts gaining weight. I've been eating durians, drinking millk, etc all kinds of high protein food. Hopefully she starts absorbing well.

Jude, all 3 programmes u mentioned are just different reading programmes or approaches to teaching reading.

Phonics itself is the sounds of letters , blending of letters. Different schools and programmes come up with different teaching methods to teach.

zoo phonics is one kind, there is also Jolly phonics etc.
I can read is another programme by a school which seems to be quite successful.
GUG is using zoo phonics to teach.

If u go research, there are many other schools offering different programmes.

Tromso, ur research on the vaccinations is very helpful. So can we choose Dr Ong as Pd in Tmc too?
Other than that, vaccinations i was just considering KK like #1 with the whole packagge but now that u mentioned this Dr Ong, it is also very reasonable.

polyclinic I only brought my #1 there for the 2nd dose of MMR FOC recently but it was a nightmare getting q no and appointment.

pierced, what's IUGR? Hope u n bb are both resting and eating well!

Luvnhope, IUGR= intrauterine growth restriction.
Problem is i went google for reasons and none of them fits me so i also dunno why bb not growing well.
so just have to relax, chill out at home these 2 wks and hope bb picks up.
Im eating like mad haha! my hb and mum keeps feeding me, i just hope bb absorbs it all from now on since I already gain 10 kg!

Pierced, has bb crosses over 2kg or nearly there? No worry, dr Loh will monitor closely. If need be, he may take bb out sooner n fatten her outside.

Hi Pierced, good to hear from you. I'm sure your baby will put on weight with all the extra nourishing
keep on adding fuels...

Yes, can request for Dr Ong as our PD, I'll be letting Dr Loh know about this too on my nxt scan.

Queue at polyclinic is long? Actually some PDs can be quite bad too
I recall when my little niece was still a little baby, she wasn't able to get priority at the Punggol PDs (cos too many sick kids), but technically should be given priority. Can still recall my sis's agony very vividly. In the end she did all her vaccinations at GP instead and wait was much shorter. I guess with drs, it's really a luck thing. Also sincerely hope the facilities at Punggol will be beefed up soon, sounds very lacking fr all aspects. I should be staying with my parents at Punggol first couple of mths, already dreading the thought of having to see PDs there if need arises...

Hazel, not yet, last week measurement was just around 1.2 kg at almost 30 wks. So it reflected size about 2 wks plus smaller. Yup, will trust dr loh's experience and see what he says next wk when I see him again.

Tromso, I see, okie, will let him know next time when I'm almost due too. Seriously, now I'm so afraid to eat haha coz eat and eat till I'm so full. See durians now is not enjoyment. Imagine my hb buying durians all for me too eat. Haha!

Yup, polyclinics, not specialised so depends on what u want, with bbs, sometimes quite difficult even though got those express q. And like u said, no growth assessment so in a way, u go back to pd is better or if not package like KK private clinic.

I heard many of my sk frens previously go to health way anchorvale for vaccinations. They mentioned it's good. Not too sure how true.

Pierced, pls eat beef and ice cream. My Gal was fat bcos I ate those haha... How heavy is yr bb now?

Juz to share i found out my ex boss has a pre term bb yesterday when i had lunch with him and when Bb was born bb was only 1.6kg. Bb was then put under dr Ang and stayed in hospital for 20 over days. After discharge 1 week later bb got readmitted for 2.5 weeks. He admitted that the bill was v scary and he din know what dr Ang was doing. He juz paid. I remembered hazel shared that dr Ang did some test that was not really needed. So pls ask and check... I asked y he chose dr Ang... He was told she is the only pre term pd which is not true ... Tromso was right to speak to pd and have a feel.... At least in emergency cases we will not b so blur

Pierced, pls dun always Have the thoughts when u r almost due then u take action. I remembered my gynae discuss with me when I was at week 32. Like my ex boss his wife suddenly went into labour.... Juz take what was given. Besides its gd to write in yr hospital card and book dr ong if u want cos his clinic is not at tmc.

Tromso, remember there r 2 dr ong make sure u tell dr loh nurses the correct pd u want.

mc, you are crossing first trimester soon! jia you! today my tummy like sudd feel much bigger than yday... pple were wow at my size.. many think i am delivering v soon... dont know how to react... i am still working.. dont know when to stop (got to see my condition)... may start taking leave at least 2-3 weeks before hand..

thanks catherine! my gynae said most prob deliver at 36th or 37th week.. so i have abt 10 weeks to go.. babies must guai guai stay inside me and grow healthily..

pierced, rest well and eat well ok... u in teaching profession? may want to check your leave.. i am in stat board.. under my scheme, i hv 30 days MC and 60 days HL.. was told by my HR side that since i am taking maternity leave this year, my combined MC and HL entitlement this year only 30 days.. there goes my hope of taking HL nearer my EDD... but i already used up 13 days HL for my ivf fresh this jan, and have used 10 days mc liao.. now left 7 days... the rest got to use my annual leave liao, or nearer my EDD, start using my maternity leave early... bo hua...

Thanks Catherine, I'll give dr ong's full name when informing dr Loh.

btw I heard the other dr Ong has shifted outta tmc, now operating in Mt A.

Pierced, can try weighing yourself daily
Good source of motivation. Not too much durian too, very sweet.

I had 8 seeds other day but really, it's not enough, no kick. Maybe I'll get the good ones fr Balestier Combat this weekend
Oops...I just said too much durian is no good...heh...

Luv, could be girl for you, heard it's linked to serious MS
Try not letting your stomach go empty and take less oily food, maybe will help...

Tromso, my first preg was with a girl, but i don't remember it being that bad! I think age might be a factor too. I'm six years older than b4! Thanks, trying not to go hungry and taking small amts of food each time.

Tromso, u mean dr ong eng keow? I know he was at mt a since last dec. My colleague uses him and like him a lot. On the other hand my fren hated him cos long q.... Individual preference....

Catherine, ur PD doesn't operate at TMC right? But the PD will make a trip down to TMC to check on the baby after delivery right? How often? The follow-up check up is at the PD's own clinic then?

Last time i did everything under one roof. Not sure how it works if PD is not at TMC.

Catherine, I see, yup just nice then when I see my dr net week then I can discuss with him.

Tromso, what's dr ong's full name? ya, too much of durian is not Gd, too much sugar, eating other high protein foods as well.

Cockcock, thanks! Yup teaching too. So far haven't check yet but since this is the 1st time taking HL, should be ok haven't exceed, I might decide to push my ML earlier coz bo hua for my dec hols, but see how it goes first aft this wk.

Dear pierced,
Pls take care, rest well n eat more! You seeing dr Loh weekly?

Dear Tanny,
I'm only at 33 weeks but cos c-sect date booked n starting this Friday I'm seeing him weekly, so might as well do ctg too. Kiasu la. This is miracle baby for me. Heh.

Dear Tromso,
I'd also be going for dr Ong. Heh.

Btw, ticket sales for Aaron kwok concert on 8th sep are out now! If anyone is keen... He's my idol n my hubby's too, when we were in sec sch. We didn't get together then. 8 years later I contacted him cos I was contacting everyone for alumni matters n we resumed contact. N then tada!!! We walked done the banquet hall to Aaron's song n second half of the night all his songs. LOL.

LuVNhope, that's the concern is the PD is not fr TMC/mt A clinic. My hub's cousin wife delivered last sat at mt A, 1plus in the afternoon. We visited her at 5pm plus m the bb was still not checked by PD who is fr the clinic near her house in sengang.. I can't help but wonder if bb got issues at birth will treatment be timely?

LuvNhope, when belle was hospitalized in NICU I was rather worried that dr Ang (though I dun like her) can come in time when the hospital calle for her - though her clinic is just at TMC and her house is 5 mins fr TMC. If the pd is not at TMC, the time lag to reach TMC is a serious concern if bb has complications at birth.

I m too used to KKH's style where there is always a dr 24x7

LuvNhope, well, if u were me n saw belle strapped up with oxygen aids u will be scared... ESP when fr normal oxygen aid to c-Papp (coz she got worse) and we were warned she might need an incubator of she still hv breathing difficulties. She was strapped to a device that checked for oxygen in her blood n the machine will went peeping when it drops below a certain level!

We even wanted to transfer her back to KKH at that point on time. We had a talk with dr Loh then n he told us is tough to go transfer her to KKH as the logistic will take time n KKH may not accept. Only when he reviewed belle's medical results n assured us that belle shld be discharged in a week then we felt more at ease..

Hazel, glad ur gal is fine now! Can imagine how worried a parent wld be!

Guess i have to go back to do more research on PDs liao. Previously i used Dr Ong EK, but if he's no longer at TMC, that's a slight worry.

Tromso, can share with me Dr Ong's full name too? Is he located at United Square and do you know his clinic's name too?

Pierced, You and your baby girl can do it. Jiayou!

Juvi, thanks for the link. Seems so fantastic. Have saved the link for reference.

Luv, eat crackers and small meals for your MS.

Sashamama, wow u can go for Arron Kwok's concert in time. I wanted to go for K-pop concerts in Aug n Oct but cant.

Luv, when I delivered my gal, she was check immediately at the birth room. Dr ong check On my gal twice a day Likewise when she was readmitted she is checked twice a day. Meryl had a pre term bb and dr ong was there at birth room. I dun think dr tseng is using dr Ang....

My elder boy is seeing PD Dr Ng Chi Fan, his clinic is at Crown Centre. He is a very nice PD, even though my elder boy wasn't under him at birth (my elder boy was a premmie borned at Kkh, thus Kkh neonatologist was assigned to him), other than the scheduled kkh's appt, we will bring my elder boy to see him for any other medical issues. He is highly recommended by my brother in law whose kids have been seeing him for the past 12 years.

At times when I am unsure whether I need to bring my elder boy to see him, I will call him and he will advise me over the phone (he doesn't charge for it) and if necessary, then I will bring my boy down to see him. He also has an emergency line to call. His wife helps to run as a nurse in his clinic, a very nice and helpful lady too.

Recently, my husband's niece was warded in Mt A and he went down to see her almost immediately, even though it's a Sunday and follow up thereafter.

His clinic's no. is 6467 6092. His clinic is quite well located so I guess travelling to the hospitals shouldn't be much of an issue.

Thanks Bbjourney!
Hope u're resting well.

Catherine, may i know how u knew the doc checked on ur gal twice a day? Was there a report or did he talk to u afterwards? Thks for sharing.

LuvNhope, dr Ang also checked on belle twice a day at least. Once in the morning n once at night. Every morning she will call n update me. When I visit belle at night, I will check with the nurses if dr has seen belle and if she has reviewed the medical test reports. The nurse will check the file n tell me thereafter.

Luv - did u get anti-vomit pills from your doc? I got the pills as well as Vit B6 from Dr S today. My bbs are already 9 weeks now
. Have also booked my Oscar scan next month but without the blood test....

JT, no leh, cos the last time i saw the doc wasn't this bad. But i'm also a little hesitant to take meds... I know i do need time to rest tho, which i can't if i'm at work. I feel better when i lie down.

Bbjourney, dr ong full name is dr ong Woon hong. Clinic name aglow baby something in short is abc. I can take a photo of my gal card and show u. Let me know if U want.

Luv, like what hazel say, dr ong will call every morning. I will also ask nurse and my mum always v observant she will look at the medical report. There will b 2 sign off. When I was warded dr ong will come to my room twice. So we know he sees my gal already. Dr ong has night clinic which is gd for us too.

Hmm...interesting discussion abt PDs' availability. I'll call up Dr Ong's clinic tmr and suss out how they handle this. Think I'll check with dr Loh too but I'm sure he'll say I'm worrying too much, as usual

Bbjourney, yep dr Ong's contact is above. Clinic is spacious, there's a general waiting area and another separate 4 seater area where can distract baby with the large size fish tank there. They are closed every Thurs afternoon for cleaning. I thought that's very considerate. If my experience turns out to be good, I'll probably stick to him since quite near my place. You'll be selecting a regular PD nearer your home too right?

Now I'm wondering which GP around my place is good heee...GP can claim fr hubby company, PD can't

Thanks for the sk PD contact Pierced. I think there are 2-3 very popular ones in Punggol and sk, really hope yours is not 1 my sis has been to and blacklisted. I love Punggol, but really need more PDs....!!!

Catherine, thanks for Dr Ong name. I goggled and found his clinic name "Aglow Baby & Child Specialist Clinic".

Tromso, i am not sure which PD is good at my area and we need a PD to check on our baby at TMC after birth right? I dont mind travelling to see Dr Ong since he is good.

can i know how do we get a pd if delivered in kk? my son pd was from Mt A so i dunno how to get one in kk or they will assign?

one more silly question..how do we bk the delivery suite and by when we need to bk it?