(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, thks, so looks like Mt A has additional service. Tho i've also heard of some Mt A nurses being very rough with patients. Hmm...

Hi Gals, talking about coconut juice, I hv not taken it yet. Any advice how to choose those young coconuts? What to look for? TIA

Hazel, tmc has the pan and salt water! I even brought back the pan!!!

Bbliss, I found I can read at west coast plaza...

Luv, I thought u decided on yr gynae....

Dun know... My gynae told them to give me. I remember the pan is like $16. I wanted to return after I discharge but gynae said no. I had to bring home haha.... Oh belle will b 5 mths old tomorrow!! Is she doing well with cereal? I m giving elis little bit (20ml) of non sweeten barley water to drink. Now she dun want milk... We have to wait till she is ok then 'seduce' her with it.

Luv, I know he goes to mt a though his clinic nurses did tell me b4 the gynaes prefer tmc... I really do miss the smiles of the nurses there.... Jasmine, Wendy, flo, Sharon .... And all...

Catherine, i'm sure they'd prefer TMC cos their clinic is there, more convenient. Oh, I haven't really learnt the names of the nurses there yet, but they're certainly very friendly and patient.

Catherine, yes belle is 5 mths tomorrow! She is ok with cereals. I started her with some soft fruits like mango n papaya too! She loves them, hehe. Elis dun like milk then hungry she drinks wat?

Hazel, I dun bother about her not drinking. She got reserve....pd said she is of a v gd weight... It's bcos of her stuffy nose she dun drink. My strategy is now till weds barley. Weds to sat prune juice. Sat to next tues cereal. Next tues to fri apple. I write up a menu for her already my mum will follow

was spotting / bleeding, went to kkh, they gave me a jab. no other support.
can any sister advise wat other support i need to ask from doc.s when i see her on wed?

also want to know any sisters here with dr sadhana from kkh? does she give hl leave? i went back to work the day b4 i spotted. not sure wether related, just want to rest in peace.

is it normal to feel hungry very hour. i am eating every hourly.quite scarly

bruno, take care! Maybe can ask to up the dosage of your support med.
It's normal to feel hungrier than usual. Eat while u can b4 MS sets in!

luv: Thank. My MS is here liao but i learnt my lesson after i vomitted badly the other day. now i wake up at 3 am to eat something. so things are better. during the scan we saw one sac. how abt u , u know is it 2 or 1?

bruno, my first scan also saw one sac. Shld be singleton then.

Yeah, must eat whenever u start to feel hungry but dun eat till u feel too full.

Bruno, the O&G doc actually can issue mc if you request. Your doc will also issue HL if you request. I have no problem requesting HL from mine.

Wow... The threads r moving real fast.

Tromso- I Google on JG vs GUG n there whole lots of feedback n comparisons bet the 2. One of e factor is that some parents commented tat JG got too much play activities. Some commented (can't rem whether is e one at forum or Evans), e facilities there not clean. N some mentioned that GUG teachers r mostly ex JG teachers. Perhaps u may wanna try google on it coz there really alot of discussion on e 2. I read until I oso blur... Haha... Nevertheless I feel tat both have their own merits. I may even let my gal on trial for JG since there an outlet at Rochester. After tat den compare see which I will more comfy
fair bit of trial n error to see which suit yr taste

Catherine, hw old is Elis ? Ya... If we happen to send both our gals to e same enrichment courses, both of them can be classmates
n haha... Tat will oso be e 1st time tat I got e chance to MIT u in person. Haha....

Tat time when I went to register for schicida, e lady was telling mi, they will likely open up a class for those bbs born in early 2012. They try to grp those of ard e same age tog in a class. Is Elis or Belle in Jan 2013 class ? My gal will be in e Jan intake as wat tat lady told mi.

Chris, thx for e pumpkin patch info. Mi will be gg to their parkway branch trw to take a look... Hehe... Really eyes bad leh. For e past 2 weeks, oredi spent at toy r us, ELC, online carters, bb H&M, bb fox n bb cotton on. Yesterday went OG n spent on buying clothes for my gal again. Despite knowing she oredi got lot of new clothes yet to wear, still can't resist e temptation of buying more.... Sigh... Nw my mum oso shake her head. She told my gal "see... Mummy only noe hw to buy stuff for you but never buy for herself." :p My mum has been nagging at mi to go get new clothes for my work since I m starting e week aft next. But juz can't be bother...

Catherine, how come elis got stuffy nose? Caught The bug in IFC? She is ur the care of your mum now? Since u said for ur mum to follow.

Bbliss, I didn't enrol belle in schicida classes and hv no intention to too. I bought lots of new clothes for myself too and not just for belle... Even my colleagues cld tell! Hahaha

Wow ladies, managed to settle down a fair bit with the CL coming to our house. yeah now moo moo is on schedule.

Hi Tromso, after you find out about the vaccination huh? What have you decided huh? yeah cos mi now oso started looking at it

Hi Hazel, which PD are you with huh? Looking at TMC 112 Katong or Eastshore Dr Lim. can share on your PD consultation fees too huh? Know that you take belle for vaccination at KKH. any doctor that u need to see before injections huh?

Sunbelle, belle goes to children pte clinic to see pd, dr Yong. For vaccine n growth development check. Every visit, will see dr. She saw east shore, kinder clinic once when she was barely 2 months old for a cold. The dr gave her medicine which was written on the box for kids of 1 yr n above.. Dr just cut the dosage. I brought belle to KKH 2 days later when her condition worsen n she Cldnt breathe well n she was warded for bronchitis. KKH dr was more KS, told me bbs so young no medicine is suitable, gave her ventolin (ie neubsliser) to breathe n widen her airways so that she can breathe better.

So far, nv go bk to kinder clinic.

Hazel, pd said elis inherited my sinus... And our house mayb too dusty. There r lots of construction around my house. Today clean next moment dusty. This 2 weeks r my most busiest moment... Mth end no choice must work late. My parents will b bringing elis home in the evening and look after her until either my hubby or i reach home. I m v stress over my work now and I can't sleep.... Need lots of brain to think how to complete all the tasks

Bbliss, Elis is 4mths old today. Shichida has a class for early 2012 bb?? K i will nag at them to give me a space. Btw r u gg to sign up my gym? What u r gg thru is v normal. u can ask Chris ... Both of us keep buying for our gals and not ourselves. Now the first stop i go is bb section. Buy for my gal, after that short of time, no $ or tired hen nothing for myself. So far since i gave birth I only bought 5 dresses, 2 jacket suit and 1 pair of shoes for myself... Considered v v v v little as compared to my pre preggy days. Hope u have prep yrself to return to work....

hi Hazel,

sounds scary for a dr to jus cut dosage jus becos the patient is a newborn. I tot the primary tin for a doc to do is to minimize the use of medicine first. yeah is good to have a doc to help track growth development. cos afraid of a famous PD end up baby sick but still got to queue long to see the PD. what is the avg waiting time n fees for Belle to see the doc at children Pte clinic ?

Hi Sunbelle, good to hear from the cheerful you again
How's bf, moo moo producing enough yummy vanilla milk? Confinement all going well? Your sweetie settling in well too?

For vaccination, I've chosen Dr Ong at Untied Square. Went to check out the clinic the other day and spoke with him plus his helpers, very friendly and helpful team, jovial and humble guy
His rates are very gd too, vaccination consultations about $40 each time (for subsequent visits).

For kkh, the vaccination consultations are $64 each visit (for subsequent visits), senior consultant will be more pricey.

For polyclinic, for the same, it's $5 each visit.

However it's noteworthy that at Polyclinic there is only dr's review of developments 3 times in 1.5yrs whilst at private PDs and kkh, will be able to get assessments done by PDs at every visit. Hence I've drop the polyclinic option.

Comparing vaccinations costs, I've discovered that Dr Ong is more pricey than kkh, but since kkh consultation charges are higher than Dr Ong's, works out to be about the same costs for both.

As I've had a very chat with Dr Ong and team earlier, I've decided to hv my baby's vaccinations done there. They were quite excited when I mentioned I'm a patient of Dr Loh's, apparently Dr Loh has been referring patients to him....hope his rates won't go up heh...though I did mention to him that many are shunning away fr Ang Ai Ting due to her 'sharp knives' hope he gets the hint heee...

Jabs wise, we'll be doing the 6-in-1 plus opt jabs like Rotavirus, etc. Will be choosing the 4 pneumococcal jabs path, so will start earliest. If choose to start the pneumococcal jab after 6 mths, will only require 3 jabs, if start after 1 yr old will require 2 jabs. So we've decided to take preventions early

How about yourself?

Hi Bbliss, thanks for sharing, I'll google on it

Hi Catherine, hope Elis will recover asap. Talking about living near construction areas, my gf's boy who has ezcema, recently was admitted into hospital for bronchitis and dr suggested may lead to asthma as a result. Her home is right next to where all the condos are building up (Potong Pasir mrt), hence really not an ideal location for his condition, air quality wise. Was thinking you may like to consider getting an air purifier if you feel it may help.

I have sensitive nose too...hope my baby doesn't inherit it

Tromso, dr ong knows about dr Ang fees too though he does not admit. Hmmm I m paying lesser for his consultation than yr said fig. Did u tell dr loh u r using him as pd? I do agree his team r v helpful and friendly and dr ong is v humble. Juz like last fri I called the nurse and ask for an appt on sat. But his booked appt r all taken up. Was told to walk in and she advised me to come by 9.30am. I reach at 9.05, no 2 to c him. Bcos they save my time , took out her card etc. u r right every visit whether it's vaccination or juz c him, weight r always taken and recorded. Elis is ok already no more blocked nose... Dr ong medicine v effective. It's v easy to know if she is ok.. Juz watch her sleeping style.. She will tell u instantly. Thx for reminding the air purifier. I have one at home .. Will take out to use

Hi Catherine, good to hear that Elis is feeling better. I heard that air humidifier helps to reduce the dryness in air con room and can be quite helpful for babies/ kids who are unwell, cos humidifier keeps the respiratory system moist thus helps with their breathing, won't wake up all the time at night. Not too sure if air purifier has air humidifier function...lol...all the gadgets.

Indeed, I was quoted $30-50 for vaccination consultations and recep did put emphasis on $30....heee...I find quite hard to believe it's this cheap
Thanks for sharing that Dr Ong's meds work!! I know some kids can get well on GP meds whilst others can only see PDs. It's good to know that Dr Ong's pricing is not cut throat and his meds works

Sunbelle, no more than 30 mins so far. Belle's appts r always In PM. Not crowded at all & dr yong will spend time if we wan to talk or discuss anything on belle. Then another 5-10 mins wait while vaccine is prepared.

Catherine, I also hv sinus but not always unless something trigger it. We dun give belle cereals at night coz she just started on semi solid food n we dun wan her to suffer fr indigestion. She is not on full serving of cereals during lunch yet also. Will wait at least she is 6 mths to give her full servings for lunch n maybe 7-8 mths then 2 meals of cereals a day incl dinner feed. Oh, we hv a air humidifier In our room n is always on whenever we on aircon.

Hazel, my sinus used to b v v v v bad until I went to Aussie. Then I moved into my current place it's still sensitive until I bought my current vacuum cleaner. Oh the cereal I will only give 1 scoop. Juz to test her only. K I will use air purifier tonight.

Tromso, my gal so far see dr ong for constipation and I send to gp to check if I feel she is not well. My mum compared the pricing of his medicine vs what's pharmacy sells ... The conclusion is he din over price it. We need all these super ethical doc around...

Hihi gals!
Am down with flu over the weekend till now. As though I don't hv enough body aches affecting my sleep, lol. Not taking any medication, just vitamin c.

Dear Tromso,
Thx for sharing ur research on vaccinations. I think I'd do the same as you, hehe. Thx for ur recommendations on eateries too! Been to chin lee a few times, tried jing long yest for my dad's birthday n food is equally good! As for first month celebs, I think I'd do 2 rounds on 2 separate weekends. One for closer friends n relatives at restaurant or function room. Another at my place for colleagues, students n other friends.

Dear Joanne,
Gonna start my first ctg the coming fri. Excited for u! Anytime already ya? :p

Dear teacher mummies,
Take care at work! Will be hectic but go slow ya?

Oh yah, school starts today right? I was saying to hubby maybe we could go to the Harry Potters exhibition finally, without the crowd
Anyone been? Any good?

Sashamama, take it easy yah. I find the best is to stay home and avoid crowded places esp with lotsa kids, good thing you are official off fr work now. Take lotsa fluid too

For full month, I also feel private function room will be ideal as the 2 Chinese restaurants at Bedok can get quite noisy with the crowd and I feel maybe won't be allowed to linger on much after the meals for chats, etc. Glad you like Jing Long, Bedok town is a gem I find. Any gd Chinese restaurants to recommend at Tampines heee??

For our full month, originally we thot had to be at some eatery cos preference is 1 timeslot only and my home can't hold that many guests. Then fortunately in laws agree to hold at their place, so will be great to just do it say 12-3pm for both sides families and that's it. I dunno if I can tolerate 2 weekends celebrations... somehow reminds me of wedding actual day leh...long and rather hectic, gosh!! Maybe it's the extreme heat these days that's making me very lethargic (so unbearable), hence also affected my decision making - chose the easiest and laziest full month process heh....

Nonetheless, quite looking forward

Just for the benefits of comparison for those interested, vaccination costs:

Dr Ong (abt $40 ea consult) -
6 in 1 : $138 per jab, 3 in total (hep B can claim fr medisave)
Pneum : $180 per jab, 4 jabs if starts on 2nd mth (can claim fr medisave)
Rotavirus : $107 per jab, 2 jabs

KKH (abt $64 ea consult) -
(format same as above)
$115
$150
$90

Polyclinic -
6-in-1 : $87.40 each, was told there are 4 jabs, then plus another $102 for can't rmbr what jab (not sure if I got this correct)
Pneum : $150 by 4 jabs
Rotavirus : not available

For other jabs like chicken pox, hep A, MMR, these are cheaper, about $50+ each, so I shan't list them. Note, MMR jab is foc at polyclinic.

I've spoken with few mummies who did their jabs at polyclinic and normal GP, feedback is the drs somehow don't really keep track of their kids development, like don't recall what was assessed/ issues from prior visit/s. Of course it would be great if can find a good GP as it would probably be cheaper for vaccinations in the long run. Another mummy fren who has gone to both polyclinic and PD for vaccinations (cos some polyclinics don't do optional jabs) felt that they get more of their questions answered at PD.

Generally it's good to stick to 1 source as I was told diff clinics use diff jab brands and hence can't just swop clinic as and when once started with certain jab brand/ dosage. That's what happened to my that mummy gf who went to polyclinic then realized difficulty in changing clinic, hence been doing jabs at polyclinic plus PD now.

Of course Polyclinic does have its own merits, above is just my 2 cents

i am feeling v excited for so many mothers who are going to see their little ones v soon (i cant rem all names)! i am so envious! pls rest well and take good care

sashamama n joanne, congrats! counting down (less than a mth to go!) joanne, you only put on 9kg... i have put on more than 14kg liao... getting q diff to move ard too much for me.. sashamama, i feel v happy for you... u have come a long way! oh yes, faithfully, you have also come a long way too, and well done!

i hope i can cross each milestone and hurdle successfully... these few days sud got LS again... i have stopped drinking preggy milk for mum le and have been ok all this while until these few days.. gosh, my tummy feels so tight! keep telling babies they must be patient and continue to stay inside me, so that they can grow and develop well before coming to this world.. i hope they guai guai and grow well... (my worries never stop)

Lynn, dont feel upset.. yr oscar scan result is really not that bad... if you convert to percentage, the chance is only 0.6%! my reading done in KKH was 1:6, which is so much worse! i also went for camden scan (as heartbeats also suggested).. u dont accept PM? thot i like to share sth with you...

Bruno, hope you are OK now and resting well.. all will be fine... take care..

Hey cock cock. I hope you are feeling better. Am sure your babies are fine. (but you are right, the worries never stop) I have sent you PM, hope you receive it.

cock cock...how many weeks are u now? i use babycentre calculator and it predict that i will gain 16-20 kg...can't imagine how to walk...

bruno...ask for utrogestan..i am taking this together with dupuston..better support...side effect=tiredness.. hope u get mc to rest at home.

throll...yr oscar scan tml? gd luck

hi mc, i am 26th week now... my tummy really v tight le... i can and will try to tahan further wt gain if it means babies will have healthy weight... how r u doing? got MS? how many weeks u now?

Hazel, happy for u. Now elis is following her frens at IFC to stay still on her tummy. Really cannot put her on mattress. She keep wanting to turn and she is getting faster and faster each time she turn. I sit on her mattress to read papers she keep knocking onto me... Like ask me to buzz off.

Catherine, but whenever we lift belle up right, she will tilt her head to one side. When she is on her tummy, her head is high n straight. My mum Said she is lazy..

Have been reading about the enrichment classes discussed above.

Looks like I am really behind in terms of enrichment for my boy.

Would like to find out what GUG and JG stand for?

Thanks in advance

Dear Faithfully,

U are almost there. I was also induced but after 24 hours gave up and went for C-section. I carried my boy full-term till the 40th week.

cock cock...i will be wk 12 this week...ms still hanging ard...so sian...hope it will goes off soon.

i think u feel tight becos of 2 bb..yr stretch mark serious? dun worry, yr bb will hang on. when u plan to start leave and stop working?

Chris, sit up only when supported with pillow behind. Her body is still not firm yet. She is super active n always on the move, my nuk said v naughty.... N lazy! When I carry her upright, she will rest her head on my shoulder..