(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi ladies. I posted this earlier but realized that had posted in the wrong thread. I finally got a BFP last friday and have been having an on and off pain in my tummy these few days. Anyone experiencing the same thing or should I be concerned? Thank you

Indeed I'm aiming Boots too
Will probably get items delivered to her bf's home, she is planning to meet her potential in-laws heee...hope everything goes well. I'm still trying to consolidate the purchases, so they don't have to visit too many baby stores.

I was also hoping to get good quality baby carrier fr London or Australia. This brand Ergo is quite popular too, especially in the states, design looks very similar to Manduca. I'm not sure what's the diff but over here, the price diff is about $100 for Ergo vs Manduca... Anyone knows?

Butters, why can't your hubby get larger items from overseas? Can check in right? My friend from Australia just bought a very good carseat in Australia, checked it in and presented to our Singaporean friend during her baby full month. I'm very tempted to beg my sis to get me a stroller fr London (few hundreds cheaper) but I know my sis will roll her eyes big time lol... Hubby may be different story...??

Hi Butters, just curious, what baby items did you guys get from Aust? Which are your preferred stores there?

I was told that Target's quality is quite gd. But I feel that Myers may be slightly overpriced, what do you think?

By when should bb move a lot or give kicks? Mine still v mild leh.. Only some movement always on left side. Nothing on left side... At 28 weeks now. Sigh...

Hazel : No wonder no cheap. Boots chain like our watsons iis everywhere right? Din go BKK for a long time now.

Tanny, ask ur friend to buy if go Bkk. That's wat I did. Always out of stock somemore. Just buy at Bkk airport on way bk.

Re: bb movements, Every bb is different. N the position of the placenta is impt too for us to feel bb movements. Anterior placenta tends to feel less but that does not mean bb is not moving. Look at your 19-20 wks detailed scan report. It is written there. Belle did not move alot when in my womb. Nv either kick until I wake up or feel painful also. Her movements r always light even till I deliver. U can ask dr Loh next visit what's the exact bb's position during scan. That will give u an idea why u always feel on the left. I always asked him at every scan when I m still lying down n he was scanning. He will point to my abdomen to tell me where the hands n legs r! Enjoy the journey!

Tromso, the onli big items we needed was the cot and stroller. We got a combi stroller so wasn't that big a deal not tt expensive.

I don't really go to department stores in Oz, cos small little shops along the shopping streets are nicer (am usually in melbourne or sydney) but Target's quite good.
I onli got baby Gaia bath, lotion, etc from Oz. Cos cheaper but aussie dollars is actually still quite high so didnt get many stuff there. Onli stuff made there will be cheaper. But if you need toiletries, Priceline has good deals. Otherwise prefer to buy from the States especially during sales or from outlets. And clothes from Primark in the UK is quite worth it, cheap and good.

Tanny, I also just read about anterior placenta earlier this week, means baby will be housed more towards our back, hence may feel less of the kicks.

Also says in the book that the peak movements is normally fr week 24-28.

For me, the baby kicks/ moves a lot if I'm hungry, like every 2-3 hrs, the worst is in the middle of the night when I sleep on my left. When I sleep in my back, lesser movements. The other day I didnt feel much baby movements (2 days in a row), almost wanted to rush down to see dr Loh. But active again soon the same day. I think they have their off days too.

I'm starting to feel shooting pains in the pelvic area, especially if I walk a bit more. I think the uterus is getting heavier, energetic days are almost over I feel

How's your weight gain now Tanny?

Thanks butters
Looks like you are having lotsa good time shopping for baby items too

yep, I like Priceline too. I'm also planning on getting Gaia, thanks for bringing it up, can actually get it from Aust you are right.

How many weeks are you now? Can you still fly?

Tromso, if bb is quieter than normal. Eat something or drink something sweet. Then lie on your left side (best position for optimal blood flow to bb) n wait. Bb usu will move coz of the surge in glucose fr food.

Hazel, I tried many methods those 2 days but very little movements felt. Usually when I tap my tummy few times, baby will response within 1-2 mins but those 2 days this method oso didn't work
was quite frightening. Then I thought maybe I have anterior placenta.

Now that you mentioned, I just checked the Oscar report, no mention of anterior placenta. Thanks for mentioning this

Also wondering how do we know if we are suitable for natural birth, I.e. correct pelvic bone shape?

Hi cool cool, you are also seeing dr tan SB right? I just saw on tv that she'll be appearing on ch 8 next Thurs 8pm Mark Lee's talk show
She'll be sharing on female problems.

Tromso, not oscars report. Is the 19-20 wks full scan report. KKH report has. TMC one doesn't?

Pelvis shape, bb's size n position r all important factors to successful natural delivery. A experiences gynae will be able to assess. Oh ya, even if all these are gd, cervix dun dilate to 10cm within ~12 hrs after water bag burst also no use.

Tromso, the Gaia price diff in sg n oz r not a big diff. In sg sometimes u can get discount from taka. The price in oz is a$9.99 like what butter says the exchange rate is killing us. It's cheaper to buy supplement from oz. Pls ask yr sis to check expiry date.

Not much price diff? Thanks Catherine, I'll check that. I saw in Watsons but no discounts. ok, will monitor taka. Actually it's quite heavy n may leak too, I hv a strong feeling sis will reject anyways

Butters, so you are next in line
All the best to you n baby. Do let us know when you pop
Rest heaps meanwhile...

I've just check the tmc detailed scan report, it does say which way the placenta tilts towards or center. Not anterior for me.

btw Hazel, when will we know if our pelvic shape is ok for natural birth, can ask dr loh to check on my next scan?

I heard the shape can be hereditary, for my mum, not suitable for natural birth, so c-section. My sis opted for c-section cos she wanted to choose auspicious date/ timing. Hope I can have natural birth....

Tromso, so your plancenta is posterior, fundal or left/right lateral? Our pelvic shape will not change. R u already in 3rd trimester? U can share with him your family history (mum's case) and asked him the chances that u can do natural delivery. I was concerned like u too coz 10 yrs ago, someone commented that I hv narrow pelvic bones n hence not easy to do natural delivery. I mentioned to dr Loh in 3rd tri and he told me he dun think I will hv any issue. Well, he is v accurate Loh.

Why wait till 3rd tri then ask? Coz he will assess out pelvic bone size to bb's size. If bb is big and we hv small pelvic bone, cervix may not open at all. So, ask him his views. He will share with u.

Tanny, I hv anterior placenta. Thats why belle's movements r always v light. Nothing strong at all. I still thought she is a gentle n guai girl until she is born then I know I m wrong! Belle is v strong n kicks alot, but I nv felt all these when she was in my womb.

Thanks for explaining Hazel. Mine is left lateral, I read online that the position may change over time. Anyways I'm guessing it's not too important, will not affect anything right?

Actually my baby kicks quite hard, keeps me awake at night a bit. So could be a blessing in disguise you couldn't feel much of Belle's kicking then

I'll be 3rd trimester nxt week, alright I'll ask dr Loh about it. Thanks.

catherine,

Jus saw ur thread !!! alamak i just went n bought pet pet today 84pcs for $16.90 and mammy poko super value pack pull on pants at $15.90 at ntuc today!!! faintz............okie i go see tomorrow. For huggies i only buy huggies ultra and drypers not tat good cos leakage...
7022822.gif

meryl

Congrats!!!!! wow i love epidural too..its really godsend,,, told hbs is painless and i dun mind going thro labour a few times cos my labour is painless thro out as no contraction pain at all. heehee me too they told me to push 3x then hold for 1hr cos gynae caught in jam ah...then when she arrives another 2-3 push and out came clariss heeheee
7022833.gif

Tromso, ya, placenta position should not cause you or your baby any problems. However, the only possible problems is when one has an anterior placenta AND is having the baby by c section. They maybe a higher risk of bleeding.

Err... I dun think position of placenta will change by mid pregnancy. The placenta develops wherever the fertilised egg embeds in the uterus...

hahahah sunbelle, nell, catherine, hazel

this 2 weeks clariss very naughtly learnt to pitch people real hard ah...She'll use her tiny 1st 2 fingers to grab my arms then pull and twist before tugging at my skin...wow sai very pain eh ..if not she'll sink her nails in my flesh before pulling. She thinks its playtime and when my fil make the ouch ouch sound she laugh..fainz...Then fil laugh with her together...
7022844.gif

hazel,

my feet arch also very pain le, i thought i'm the only one with all the aches and pains in my joints. I'm now waiting for my batam massage auntie to come to s'pore on 15 may then will call her fix appt for massage. i need it badly...whole body aching, neck esp pain till my shoulders very stiff now...like hunch back le...
7022859.gif

Bbliss,

dun worry i scold clariss too esp when she has colic during her 6-8wk period cos CL left and she kept crying non-stop till i beitahan cos dunnoe how to coax a baby....i just lost my cool and scolded her.... yup u should try to relax abit and let someone takeover if u find tat you are losing your cool ...take a break and rest. U need it.
7022881.gif

hahahah hazel,

clariss does it mostly to fil cos her grand papa carries her the most..he always rush to her and wants to carry her so he kena most of the time. At times, clariss will pull my hand towards her mouth when i carry her and then bite on it..after tat got marking on my hand then i laughed and say u bo gay ie toothless still wanna bite people ah ,heeheee

hazel,

oh u mean feet arch aches means no enough water? i thought is cos of the pressure we have undergone so many mths supporting our heavy bellies that's why it has cause a strain on our feet area tat's why the pain, even that area now quite stiff manz...hiaz....

Thanks Hazel, noted
no wonder when I sleep on my left, can always feel the kickings on the left and towards my back, banging against the bed...haaa...sigh...

Chris and Hazel, how come both of you have aches? I thot you wash yourself with cooked boiled water during confinement? Or is it fr carrying baby?

My friend who recently delivered in Mar, has to wear hand guard now due to sprain from carrying baby

Sometimes I wonder if it's age. Like for my another sister who got pregnant at age 28, she doesn't get all these pregger problems/ discomforts and her post birth health became much better than before. Making me feel very old and sickly haaa...

Chris yr batam lady does full body massage? How much? Can she come my place? I v keen leh... I used to do massage every week stopped since last feb when I plan to go for iui. I dun Iike huggies feel not as gd as mamy poko. Y u buy pull up now? Clariss is not toilet train ma... U dim request for samples?? I saw the pull up sample at ntuc seems thin.

Tromso I usually go og, taka, metro, robinson. I know one of them have discount. Or u can wait for guardian promo. Check the price hor my mum told me there is a price diff in guardian and taka. Hmm leak...I told my cousin to put in zip lock bag.

Tronso,

i also wondered why i got all the aches, but i got to admit i dun follow 100% of the rules, like at times really no choice i wash hands or stuff with tap water..aches mainly from carrying n feeding bb n pumping milk...my mil says cos i dun sleep or lie down often cos confinement they believe we should lie down for so tat the pressure is off our back and is the time for us to heal...whereas i'm always walking or seating at my laptop without a backrest....

i believed age plays at important part...

catherine,

oh she does full body massage and she charge around $30-40 for 1hr massage. She comes to your place and she only drop by s'pore on social visit pass for 1mth then she has to go bk for 2mths then come bk again. oh huggies not bad, but muz buy huggies ultra, so far clariss bums nice and soft no diaper rash heehee and we dun use the barrier cream once she turn full mth and no diaper rash..tat's why hbs love huggies ultra. My sil's bb used a few diff brands and kena diaper rash eventho she changes the diapers very often n used those diaper cream. oh pull up i use for nite time cos can't find the normal ones at tat good price le...
7022986.gif
So thought buy and try lor. i used huggies pull up pants before too cos got free pkt at the baby fair.

Tromso, my wrist was injured when I was 15. These few days elis juz want to b carried. My wrist, shoulder r in pain. I can't put oilment or wrist guard. Oilment she can smell. Wrist guard restrict my movement. I juz ren lor. I told myself If I can tong the labour pain what's all these pain??

Chris, elis lick my tshirt, elbow, shoulder. Today she grab my thumb and suck. I took a photo of her doing that. Next time show her evidence of her bullying me! Haha she likes to pull my hair too. There is 1 tshirt that I wear at home. Dun know y she juz like to spill her milk on that tshirt.

Tromso, of course age plays an impt part! Imagine carrying n rocking a few kgs a few hrs daily... I carry belle to sleep too at times. When I Do that, the blood flow is not efficient. So my arms n fingers hurt n r numb. Also, when I carry her to sleep, is always pop up with pillows at 45 degrees., back Also aches as a result.. ESP when I hv back issues along..

same same catherine, she loves to pull my hair hahaha...she think its toy to her, everything she'll grab and put in her mouth faintz...

Chris, I dun use nappy cream coz no nappy rash. But I apply moisturing barrier balm on her bums n avent magic cream on belle head to toe! Hehe

Wow Chris baby, clariss is so cute.. Remember to capture all these memorable moments

Yo, butter, you are next in queue. Which gynae are you seeing huh?

Hi Meryl, you mean you have requested for dr Wong to be with you during your delivery huh?

Hi ladies, issit necessary to go for hospital tour huh? yeah mi havent go yet cos hubby busy. But book the ward alreadly. yeah how does the delivery suite looks like huh? cosy or what?

Hazel,

we used to use barrier cream on clariss before she was 1mth old then after tat see tat she dun have nappy rash then we don't apply on her anymore.

Sunbelle,

i love the rooms at mt alvernia heehee very cosy and nice...

catherine,

clariss as a very bad habit tat is she pee on everyone who baths her...and fart everytime we change diapers or give her a good wipe before putting on her PJ. Today she fart big time till my mil and fil complains tat she stinks hahahaaa

Mummies, I hope your aches and pains will go away soon. Maybe when you start working again, the aches will start to get lesser as will not be carrying babies that much then. I see my young mummies friends, those who works, they seems happier to get back to the routine, but for those sahm, their pressures and fatigue only start to slowly go away after child turns about 1...

My friend also gets fingers pain due to washing milk bottles etc using the tap water during her confinement. Looks like really have to observe the rules strictly...

Hi Chris, possible to share your massage lady contact? You can pm me too

I accompanied hubby to his spa treatment last weekend, we were given the couples room so I just lie down on the massage bed and rest. As I was observing hubby being applied the dead sea salt and getting scrubbed, I felt so envious....!! Was seriously hoping I'm the one getting scrubbed squeaky clean instead
But I couldn't bear to watch his massage in process, as I was so needing one too, such a torture being in the same room lol... Really can't wait to get a gd pampering session after childbirth

Sunbelle, I feel that the hospital tour isn't very informative, as we can view the rooms online too. So far, it appears we were only being shown 1 ward due to the over demand.

Sunbelle, dun bother abt hospital tour. Waste time. But u must know which entrance to go if u r delivering after office hrs.