(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Ritz,

i agreed fully with you that machine sumtimes doesnt count at all leh. yeah so i guess when the weight of the baby is off by 500g i believe...

hi Tromso, i also have lots of discharge wondering whether issit normal ..hehheheh it stain the panties which have to be handwashed too...

hi Hazel, guess so long as Belle is drinking milk and also an active baby, everything should be okie. sometimes the problems with seeking different opinions from different docs is when they have different views, we have to decide whom to listen to liao...

hi chris baby and Cat,
when you goin back to work huh?

Hi Kimmy, how are you coping with your prince huh?

hi heartbeats, wow 2.5hrs is a long wait leh...what is your actual appmt time huh? yeah sandra has always been a very nice nurse whom will listen to patients. yeah guess taking TCM medicine all depends on the comfort level of one. i agree with your hubby too.

The parkway uniqo is having opening sale. they have a very very small section on infant ...not muchie sale on the infant stuffs. adults a lot ...their men's V and round neck t-shirt goin for $4.90 only and ladies t-shirt and some dresses going for 19.90.

hi Cock cock, have a good rest over this long weekend. yeah just go for the scan at camden there and see what the doctor say. is definitely hard not to worry but maybe can do other tins to keep your minds off. take good care.

hi chris baby, yeah now not working..trying to rest as much as possible. having insomia leh..wonder why. after pee at 3am, cannot sleep til 6am then can go sleep...if work, sure a working panda around office hehe

Hi Hazel,

parkway giant is having lots of storage containers sale from alco colourful ones to toyogo ones. yeah you might wan to buy those for storage purposes. i like those colourful ones from algo leh ehehehehe each is $24 leh.

Catherine, KKH nurse told me it all depends on bb's 体制. So far, belle is fine, just abit tired. She finished her milk at 1130 feed. Nurse told me fever may come within 48hrs. But my dad said by this evening, if nothing means nothing. We shall see.

hi Hazel,

yes the drawback is that the colourful ones got no wheels. i went to toyogo warehouse at toa payoh too.. theirs the storage boxes are very dull in colur and expensive too. giant is cheaper....

Belle is a strong baby so she will be all right. let her drink more water ...

Chris, 6 in 1 does hv hep b 2nd jab. Then Clariss will hv double dosage of hep b 2nd jab? Better check her health booklet what jabs hv she been given.

The next one for belle is 5 in 1 when she is 4 mths old.

Chris, the maid wun be the main caregiver for belle. She will just carry her n feed her under supervision. She will mainly do house works.

Hello everyone!

Sunbelle - I'm good. Sorry haven't been posting here or have the time to read because so much has happened since I got discharged from TMC. Haha.

I sack my CL after 2.5 days because I didn't like the way she handled my baby and the stress she caused me. I wanted to be on total breastfeeding and on the 3rd day I was home, she told me if I don't have 80ml, don't bother. I said I wanna latch cuz nurses and LC at TMC told me I'm doing good. Then when she slept with me in the room, she would wake up every 10 min and said your son still hungry and making noise. And I said no, he's not. He just wants to be comforted or has a dirty diaper. She insist he was hungry so woke him up and he cried of course cuz he was tired. She kept saying how I don't have milk and stressed me out till at 4am, she ask my husband go NTUC buy formula milk to feed him. I cried and she told me confinement no good to cry. Anyway, she nearly wanted to feed him 60ml but I said no because I was latching from from 2am - 4am!!! She gave 30ml in the end.

Next thing I didn't like was when she bathe my son, she squirt shampoo directly on his head like twice. I said no, should squirt 1 drop into bath tub and she said my method is wrong. Then she went to rub his head with shampoo and he cried. Then she squirt another 2 drops on his body and rub. And I said that's not water therapy like what I learnt at Mrs Wong's class. And she ignored me. Then she would toss my son like playing with him and my husband didn't like it. And then instead of using sterile cotton to rub his eyes (and my son eyes are ok, no discharge or blocked ducts), she use the same wash cloth to wipe face and do his eyes.

The final straw came when I decided to change his diaper for first time on Monday afternoon with my husband (cuz he saw I was so upset and stressed out crying) and we found blood in his diaper. Brought him to KKH emergency and they admitted him for 2 nights. I was in tears. Can you believe the team of PDs (mainly housemen) there still ask me why I was crying?! I told them hello! my 4-days old baby has to be admitted!? We saw that there was a small cut/abrasion on the tip of his penis so I was quite upset as this was poorly managed by CL. Only she handled all his changing and cleaning and I saw she's quite rough so while I am not accusing her, i couldn't help but feel lousy I didn't check. I was feeling so stress with her walking in and out and her ways so different from what I was taught by Mrs Wong BB that I cried so badly and my mom asked her to leave.

Felt so relaxed and happy after that. Although it was tiring for 1st 2 nights, now we got the hang of it. Husband & I are very hands on with our little man. He's in a 4 hour feed schedule every night and 3 hours in the day. Also went to TMC parent craft to seek help in breastfeeding and Mrs wong was great. Spent 3 hours there and Wbb even told her colleague off not to allow baby to cry, just let him latch on. He happy can already. And since then, my son is a lot more calm, relaxed, happy...money well spent..

So overall, its been great except the time when son had to be admitted to KKH for 2 nights. My heart was so broken seeing him cry due to someone overlooking care for my son! Its really money spent unnecessarily!!! But turns out it was a blessing in disguise because it made me go seek a 2nd opinion with Dr Ang (who said he didn't even need to be admitted at all), spend time at Parentcraft getting the right information on how to care for baby and overall a happier mother now.

So just wanted to share if anyone's going thru any frustrations now, I'd be happy to share or help with whatever info was given to me.

Meanwhile, hope everyone is holding up well!!!

p/s: milk supply was short initially but slowly but surely I will preserver for more to come in!

hi kimmy, nice to hear from u...wow talk about CL from hell...k now i feel it's better that i didn't get a CL...Glad you fired her...I find the 3 hourly feeds tiring and sleep is interrupted...Hubby returning to work next week so have to handle on my own...hopefully i can cope without him..

fighting!

Hi kimmy, wat a terrible ordeal u been thru but great everything turns out well. Glad tat u r happier n more confident now.

Hazel, dun worry too much. Belle is a strong little gal n everything will b fine.

May i know how much does a newborn drink? Seem like my little One not drinking enuf leh. Feed is not 3 hrly like when in hospital n nurses there told me she can drink 30ml at one go but tats not the case when i bring her home. Feeling a bit stresses whether she is having enuf or not :-(

Tzac, Eliz was drinking 100ml when she was warded at phototherapy since then this is her amount!!

Kimmy, how did u book an appt to see wbb??

Chris my play mat is $48

Hi Kimmy, very surprised to hear about your CL's roughness in handling your boy, was good call you showed her the door, otherwise will be worrying what harm she may cause next. Will you cope ok with baby alone. Hope you are able to get help from family meanwhile.

Hi Sunbelle, my discharge oso soaked through the panty liner and stained underwear too
No choice, just change panty liner n underwear more often now.

I just went for the Robinsons nursery sale and saw that the Babysafe products are at 20% off (card members no additional discounts). So we ended up buying the latex beanies and pillow. The kitchenware was 20% + 20% (for card members), so I bought a few Lock n Lock containers and BPA free bottle/ flask. I just saw there is baby sale at Metro too.

Hazel, how? Did fever come?? I need to check on elis jab too. I know I can't take the 6in 1 cos elis went for 2nd dosage of hep b last mth.

Juz now frens came over. Hb notice elis not breathing well. We took video gg to send to gp on mon for advice.

Vann, it's like that 3 hrs feed v v v v normal. Interrupted sleep too. U will get the hang of it. Sleep while bb sleep. Easier said than done.

V upset today. Sigh

Catherine, y upset? Hope everything ok for u. 100ml at each feed? Tats a lot compared to mine. She had diarhorra 2x liao, hope she is ok. Anyone any idea y bb has diahorra?

Noted tat i din get chance to rest at all. No CL for me as mum is CL. Still need to take care of bb in the nite. Sigh v v v tired n hope will not hv aches later.

kimmy,

Tats how my CL bath my gal too... later told hbs abt it and he very angry cos cl keep say her method is right and taught me to use it and guess wat my gal's rashes got worse lor..but she already left b4 her rashes got worse..so all arrows point to me lor. suay i kena from hbs and in-laws.
6883323.gif

Kimmy

Tats good!! Fire her!!! she's too much!!! i daren't fire my cl cos no support from family, and hbs can't take leave at all to help me out in the day. No one to cook or do confinement for me and i can't touch water. My in-laws daren't say anything liao cos last time they complain i should sack my cl say i too softhearted etc..then i tell them off tat if i sack her who do my confinement and nitefeeding? Are you all going to do it? they say ask maid come over help. Then i asked them if maid come over who is gonna take care of dowager? so tey zipped up their mouth liao....

Chris, I can pm u the photo. Email me yr email addy. I got it at og bugis

Tzac, I was told phototheraphy will dehydrate bb that's y elis drink a lot. My mum told me bb need to purge out their toxic that's y they Lao sai.

Hazel, upset bcos breast still painful , parent craft not answering phone sigh. Also realized there will b one week I hAve to take care of elis from 11to 8. My fear is from 4 to 8. Elis is v cranky during that period" worst is my car was vandalized! Fed up!.

Tronso,

i also went for the robinson sale and bought 2 PJ (6-12mths) for my gal cos very worth buying 2pc set only 11.90 less 20% so $9.00+ heeheee Buy in advance cos my gal already outgrown alot of her PJs meant for 3-6mths.

Hi Kimmy,

it pains me to see what you have gone thru. and yes, get rid of the CL is the most rightful decision u have done. cos she deserve no pity really. seeing my own niece go into hospital alreadly sends me tearing..is normal dun feel bad abt tearing cos we are all human beings.

you are doing fine and maybe can try to order confinement catering to lessen your stress. yo, partime cleaner to clean the house. yeah u are a very optimistic person based on your posting. you will certainly able to handle all these and look forward to the full month party.

jia you!

catherine,

thanks!!! pls send to [email protected].

I've got some gd buys of PJs at robinson ctr pt sale today, and went to look at GAP bb on the way down...wow soooo cute!!! heehee nearly wanted to buy ah then thought maybe buy online. Wonder when is their next US sale? Wanted to buy socks for clariss at mothercare ctr pt, saw some really nice ones but dun have her sizes, sales gal help me to check other branches all no stock ..hiaz...

dear ladies,

hiaz..today is the 5th day and clariss has yet to poo poo.. suay ah juz now at in-laws place i kena from them.. my mil and dowager keep questioned me wat i eat etc cos my gal didn't poo poo and they got especially heated up when i said didn't give her gripe water daily as hbs say got alcohol and agst it. Wow liao kena fire up down,centre, left rite by them lor..say i kiasi why can't give if gripe water is no gd they will have already close down and not in the mkt for so many decades etc..Mil say i should give me gal gripe water daily to help her pass poo poo etc..and said tat my sil give her bb gripe water daily tats why her bb no problem with poo poo...faintz i looked at my hbs and he juz sat there and didn't defend me ah...wow liao ....

When we got in the car, i asked him why he never defend or help me juz left me to fend for myself then he says wat can he say, and says okie lor tmr we start giving her gripe water lor.. wa kow!!! Man!!!
6883383.gif

Chris, my grip water has no alcohol. Is written there alcohol free. Yes, belle will poo daily with that. But now she takes colic drops also poo daily.

Thanks Catherine! Dr loh told me to indulge in durian and chocs cake ;). I will see how first, hopefully baby can gain weight for my wed visit.

As long as baby moves, I am contented. I hope baby can wait till at least 36-37 weeks.

Sighz, so many hurdles.. All I hope is baby healthy and well

Chris, dunno got to check. Hubs bought it & I left it with my parents now. I know coz I remembered reading on the bottle the word "alcohol free" when my mum commented that there is alcohol that time.

Meryl, pls take care n talk to bb everyday. Babe, belle's H&S policy still pending as I am unable to furnish a report till she is older.. Sianz..

Dear Chris,
Ya, hubby is nicer to me ever since we started IVF i guess... He has started to accept that me and my dog sasha comes as a package, lol. Am really heartened that he is helping me with my sasha.

Dear heartbeats,
I flipped thru the motherhood magazine but only saw the article on jabs but not on hospital rates nor car seats le, weird... You saw Dr loh on Thu too? Me too! I reported at 145pm and waited till 3plus, after that i went babies & bellies pre-natal massage, first time massage since preggie. I think it was so-so cos maybe cannot too hard lo.

Dear Tromso,
Yes all the info i compiled are in other tabs. You found them? As for braxton hicks, my bestie says the tummy won't exactly be hard but will be very very tight.

Dear HOPE,
Is your discharge itchy and smelly? If yes, must tell ur gynae to prescribe some meds, might be infection. Maternity undies are huge. There might be a little adjustable string too. I bought mine at ERO lingerie at $10 each. I also bought marks and spencers' undies (5 in a pack), many sizes.

Dear Angelxuan,
Best not to use perfumed pantyliners wor. In fact, some will say dont even use liners, but i do la. Perfumed ones might have more chemicals.

Dear Kimmy,
Your CL sounds HORRID!!! You really made the right decision to chase her away! What's her name huh? If you dun mind sharing. Anything u learnt and is able to share will be greatly appreciated, i will copy and paste into my motherhood info doc. Thanks in advance!

Dear Meryl,
Stay strong and positive for baby ya? My bestie said she also had to go thru that and had that jab, but eventually her baby turned out ok. Very chubby boy in fact! All the best to you!!!

Dear Hazel,
You are really resourceful and proactive in finding out more abt your daughter's possible conditions. We must all be well prepared before we see docs so that we can ask the right questions too! How's the situation between u and hubby? Better now? Do take care!

Dear gals,
My appt with dr loh went well, baby growing well too, will continue to see him every 2 weeks. Hopefully the good news stays!!!

Re: Insurance
Anyone done any research on what insurance to buy for baby? Especially insurance to be bought during 2nd trimester? I'm pretty confused abt what's best, have heard abt AXA, Prudential, etc. But dunno what's best.

Sashamama : Axa cannot buy. Exclusion on articificial insemination. I think can only buy the shield plans after 14 days of birth?

Chris, so you were at Robinsons too. I also went to the Customer Service to sign up for their e-mailers cos cant sign up online, so weird. Btw is nursery always only 20% off? Cos other sections usually hv additional 20% card members sale.

BTW there is an across the board 20% off for their Pigeon products including liquid detergent/ wash, milk powder dispensers, milk bottles, breast pads etc.

Hi Sasha, so cute heee...when you say your hubby finally accepted your dog as a full package
I've been trying to psycho hubby to agree getting a dog and has downgraded the size from large to medium, I think he is finally softening up after 4 years lol...

btw regarding not wearing panty liner, I've ask dr about this too, she says not advisable although this may keep the area drier. This is because as long as our below is exposed to the discharge, there is still risk of infection, so she suggested best is to change panty liner often. After my yeast infection scare last month, I'm even washing the area few times a days now.

Hi sashamama, if I'm not wrong, the Pridential policy also excludes ivf babies. So far many around me gets the NTUC hospitalization plan, as for life insurance I'm not too sure. For myself, I'm considering getting Term Insurance for baby for a start, life insurance may be a much later consideration.

Thanks for the Braxton Hicks info. I was reading up on it other day says unless it's more 4 contractions an hour + increasing frequency and intensity + pain in lower back, otherwise it's false labour aka Braxton hicks. I subsequently recall dr Loh says to immediately go to his clinic is experience more than 5 contractions an hour. Aiyoh touch wood man...hope nothing like this will happen to us before babies are full term, but it's definitely good to know
To be honest, I also dunno what 'tightening' means, I guess if experience extreme pain, just shoot off to dr Loh asap.

Yes prudential sun cover ivf.

Oh ya I m using a feminine wash to prevent yeast infection and uti. Got it from my gp. It's a foam kind

Exclusion on IVF only for mums and pregancy means if the child is unborn yet right? When they are born and ready to buy own insurance, there will be no such exclusion, else not fair to them leh..

that time i read somewhere that someone bot a stroller from overseas and delivered it to spore? which website is that, if anyone rem?

whats grip water for?

Hi Sashamama, can you share with us more about the prenatal massage at baby bellies? Eg press which areas, if use scented oil, durations, costs, etc?

I'm thinking about doing it cos feels body quite stiff but so far no courage to execute yet....not sure what to expect. Thanks!

I started prenatal yoga last week, was hoping can help loosen the tightness in a few areas but it was quite a gentle session. I guess it's ok to be gentle on tummy and back area but don't feel my limps and shoulder neck areas well stretched, actually not much focus on those areas, so a bit disappointed, quite unlike normal yoga. Hope the next session will be more comprehensive
But I definitely do realize how stiff I was compared to those in advanced 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester (quite embarrassed haa...), I guess they would have been doing prenatal yoga for much longer, that's why

Hi Catherine, dr Loh prescribed the foam feminine wash for me too. Can I still use it post yeast infection? I asked the receptionist and she agar-agar (bit unsure) said to stop using it after. I've been staring at the wash for days and unsure to use or not...

Catherine,

thanks i've recieved the pics.
wow its so cute. wonder wat are the dimensions. My sil paid $139++ for a korean playmat dimension around close to 2m and she leave it at her livingroom for her gal to play on. There's alot of brands out there selling it. Saw at mothercare fair even after discount still more ex.

Thanks Pierced, ya i remember we were chatting last year and i had crazy ideas to do another fresh at SGH right after my fresh at KKH! Hey, yesterday morning heavy downpour! Was it also raining at zoo? Hope didnt affect much of your day there.

Hazel, can belle drink unsweetened barley water to ward off any fever or too young cannot?

Ya lor Sunbelle, my appt is 230, reach there dont even have seats. End up hb and me sit outside at the lift area. Almost 5 then get to see Dr Loh and when i left, still very crowded.

Kimmy, oh dear, but now good riddance! At last now nobody to stress you! I hate it when CL stress out new mummies, like bullying, already we give birth are so tired and lost, they should help more than cause hurt. Btw Kimmy, when you preggy, what facial wash and body soap you use? Shampoo and conditioner any kind also can? Can use make up too? I going back to work next week, dont know should put on make up not.

Chris, i like gripe water! hehehe, last time when small always climb up kitchen cabinet to steal mouthfuls from the bottle!

Meryl, durians sure will make baby grow big fast, can try. Anyway, Dr Loh gave go ahead, can trust him.

Sashamama, got leh, you refer to the april edition with a baby gal in green top on the cover? Turn to pages 32, 36 and 48. Oh you were at O&G? Too crowded liao hor? Great to hear your gal is doing well! Gd gal!

Tromso, is yeast infection dangerous to pregnancy?

chris : one of the massage ladies told me that she only does prenatal massage from 6 mths onwards. so means can do from 24-28 weeks nia?

Tromo: I did mine at ComoShamla. The session is not v "gentle" - its quite active with poses that make u feel like exericsing, of course its not those strenous type. Even a 39 week lady can be more flexi than me... I just do once a week only..

Thanks Joanne. I just got a hand me down stroller (they had only 1 child) but the condition is really bad - the parts are all working but its the fabric - its soo dirty, all greyish..like nvr been cleaned or taken care of. My hub says dump it away.

Hi Tanny, I'm also doing at ComoShambhala
I'm with Samantha, how about yourself? My impression was, she was trying to be very very friendly, chats a lot hence I felt we didnt get to do many poses, also maybe cos the class was mostly Caucasians and foreigners. But she was very informative about pregnancy and things to lookout for

Hmm...actually dr Loh says can even start in first trimester lol...I think maybe there's no standard but for the more careful ones, can opt to start later too. I guess as long as we don't over exact ourselves, it's fine. How many lessons have you been so far?

Hi Hope, Como Shambhala is at Forum shopping mall, there's another 1 at ecp big splash called Updog. I can't recall what's the third one but in terms of mrt access, Como is easiest.

Hi Chris, I also thought can't do prenatal yoga in advance 3rd trimester but to my surprise, half the class were ladies in 3rd trimester and a few about 38+ weeks. In fact for this group, they do the modified versions, eg for a certain pose, the 2nd trimester ladies will lie on the floor whilst the 3rd trimester ladies will sit on plastic chair, diff poses but similar effects I think, just lesser intensities for them.

Hi Heartbeats, I've checked with Dr Loh that yeast infection will not affect the baby at all (phew!!) and I've subsequently read online to confirm this. But hor, when I informed my TCM dr about it, she asked me to be very careful, then I suggested to her that dr and online confirms will not affect baby and she kept quiet hmm... I guess best to avoid getting any infection to be safe. But for UTI, may affect baby, so have to be conscious about hygienic