(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Joanne, what fruits do you eat? Can share? I was thinking since my appetite so bad, maybe i can substitute with fruits if need be. At least something healthy. I like apples but cannot eat the china or fuji apples right?

Waa, you all only hate dinner time last time, me now is hate all meals leh. Cham~ I feel so weak (get out of bed also struggle) i think may be lack of food and energy.

heartbeat,
is okie and safe to drink kopi i also steal a few mouthfuls of kopi from hbs daily. heehee i limit myself max to 1/2 cup of kopi per day. Checked with gynae is safe to take max up to 2 cups of kopi per day for preggy ladies. And think my baby loves kopi cos after i had a meal then a drink a few mouthfuls, she started kicking n moving heehee like enjoying the meal + kopi. End up my gal turns up very fair like me unlike my hbs colleague keep telling me not drink kopi otherwise bb will become dark. hahaha

Joanne,

Fruits to really avoid is starfruit and dragonfruit for all preggy ladies.

This WBB classes sounds very fun! I used to read here when you gals were attending. Sure hope can get there soon! haha Maybe can attend with CockCock, Angel, BabyJourney and CoolCool.

Heartbeat,

gynae advices me to keep hydrated during ms times and to drink H2o and 100plus if i keep vomitting. Apples are good and safe to eat, can eat all kinds of apples. An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

Chris, my mum is like your colleague! Tell me drink coffee next time baby black skin, aiyo, its genetic lah! Anyway luckily my craving also not strong else poor hb, he doesnt really like coffee and dont want me to drink so if i really want, he will force himself to drink all and let me just sip abit. haha

Ok thanks, yay! I can keep eating my favourite apples!

Heartbeat,

yup her classes are very fun and entertaining hahaha we usually laugh at her jokes and stories. But point to note is her classes very packed ah.

Heartbeat,

Are you able to drink milk now? cos tat time, i puke whenever i drink milk till got to take 2 calcium pills instead of one. Then once pass the puking stage, i can finally drink my favourite milk.
heng ah....

heartbeat,
hahahha ya when my gal was born and put in the warmer beside me in the delivery ward, 1st thing i told hbs is tat clariss inherited my fair skin, she was really fair with rosy cheeks and lips. then i told hbs his fren nonsense who say drink kopi bb will black hahahaaaa then if drink water how? baby transparent ah? hahhaaa

Milk i havent try but just the thought of it now i feel queasy maybe must find the right taste. I think HL milk maybe i can take but thats usually cold, again hb will give me a flat 'no' lor.

I think next week, i will keep alot of sachets of cereal and milo at my desk. Anytime hungry can make to drink. Hopefully dont reject the tastes by then.

okie to drink HL milk, just leave it to cool till room temperature. I and sil also take fresh milk but we take it at room temperature. Keep some biscuits or bread with you cos it will help u to feel full, if not once hungry might puke again. tat time i no choice cos no appetite to take lunch so eat biscuits lor (altho i dun fancy biscuits) no choice cos only biscuits i dun puke. You can try sweets or "suan mei" sour plums. My fren advises me if i feel queasy or nausea just pop one in my mouth and it works for me.

ok thanks alot Chris!

Hi heartbeat
Of course can take fuji apple.. Why not?? I take cherry, kiwi, too as heard berries got gd vitamin.. I take honeydew n Orange too...;) Lucky me not a fan of coffee.. Hee... But heard milo oso got caffine so dun take too many cups a day... I drink ammum milk twice daily...;) glad my hb dun control wht i eat... He gives in to me even if i dun take much for dinner as he knows i will feel miserable if force me... Only mum n mil will make noise if take too little rice.. Hee..at trimester 2, oso cant take much for dinner as my digestive system slows down alot... Tummy bigger so intestine maybe crumple up on top of bbies so take slow long time to digest... Plus skin stretch if eat too much so sometime eat little too...

Hi Chris
Yes, manage to go for wong boi boi class n already 3 lessons... Waiting to start 4th lessons few wks later as she went overseas.. Look forward to 4th lessons onwards as is abt childcare...;) want to recall my memory...
Btw, why cant take starfruit n dragon fruit Huh? Lucky i didnt take yet but just curious..;) as for carrotcake.. My mil oso forbid me to take so i be gd gal lor..hee...

I m so tired!!!!!!! Elis cannot handle herself today. We brought her home. Can't sleep at all. Put her in car seat while we drove like 1km to collect akk- cried. Settle her drive her to mum workplace. She saw my mum colleagues cry all the way till home. Bo bian c her like that we rush back to my mum place. I need to go to bank and kiddy palace later. No more storage bag!!

Heartbeat... I have not had laksa or bubble tea. All I had is a glass of water.

Chris, elis behavior is like clariss!!!!! That's her. My paternal aunt ask me can I handle. I only said I will try. She also dun dare to touch new born. My milk supply also dip drastically today. Btw does clariss drink v fast?

Heartbeat, u cannot drink 100plus or eat sour plum. When I was in my first trimester, if I eat the same food in 2 consecutive days I will Merlion. Always must c gp cos once after Merlion I will have headache. Gp who is my cousin aunty said all these r acidic. We need alkaline food !! U need pocari or peppermint. Cannot eat dragonfruit cos they contain lots of pesticide. I hate ms. Imagine I suffered till week 18-19 and occasionally at week 20.

Cock cock, dun think. U cannot give more stress to yr bb.

Hazel, ya hope u eating something and make sure U got lots fluid.

Hi joanne,

i remember reading in magazine and newspaper tat preggy ladies not advisable to eat this 2 fruits might cos miscarriage.

catherine,

yes, if clariss is hungry she can finish her milk in 10mins ah. hbs read in the net tat normal time for bb to finish a bottle of milk is 10-15mins on average. If they take too long then either they aren't hungry, slow eater, or the tits aren't right. How to know if tits not right like if see bb suck till very hard like clariss sweating all the way and like use alot of strength till face all read and takes 25 mins or more to finish then tits not right size wor. so hbs went to buy the 2 hole ones for Dr brown and tried on her, so when feeding we tried it out on her and didn't tilt the bottle too high cos milk flow will be alot quicker and more scared she not use to it and might choke. After a few feeds, once she is used to the flow she enjoys it and finish her milk in 15mins instead of 25mins.

catherine, h2o and 100plus is only taken if you merlion too many times is to replendish the salts and water lost in our bodies so tat we dun dehydrate. The contents in the drip that they put on me is similar to H2o and 100 plus. i was advised to drink this 2 drinks by KK nurses and my gynae from gleneages. They said if i'm able to drink it and not puke out then will be able to replendish the nutrients and salt fast then no need drip. They taught their patients to drink tat too. Is more economical as compare to drip, 1 drip cost be at least $150, and i went for 4 drips in a week, then finally admit 48hrs on cocktail drip 1 day $350.00.

Chris, my paternal aunty told me that her sil (a doc) told her if bb drink fast, they grow up fast and had gd stamina. She said elis is like her daughter. I m supposed to change tit today but I see Elis enjoying her new born tit I leave it as it is.

Probably that time I merlion a lot and all r soury taste. Gp said I have too much acid and told me to drink pocAri. I only took a quarter packet. Come to think I merlion fresh milk till week 23/24. Juz amaze that I survived thru ms and din have any Severe craving throughout pregnancy.

Now I m hungry and tired. I manage to rush to stand chart to open her CDa account, enjoyed a cup of iced lemon tea. Now is moo moo time. Guess supply will b low. I still have to wait to see if my bil is coming to see elis b4 I can go eat!

Chris, i realise now with a bb I m always late for appt. I have to settle elis first, c what time she gets up, feed her, shower her. Then I can shower and pump milk. That takes about 2 hrs. Like today supposed to collect her akk at 1, we drag to 5 then manage to pick up. Some orders that we can't pre order r all sold out. So paisey.

My paternal aunty told me to eat more when I told her I have 2kg more to lose. She said I m siao cos I m bf I should eat more! No way. Got to watch my weight!!

Thks eveline, sashamama, Catherine, heartbearts n all sisters once again.. This pm I went to temple w my hubby.. No chance to pray to Buddha though as segment closed for some ritual.. After that I went shopping., bgt 2 comfy wkn pants/shorts n a dress from a maternity shop n a few other clothing for office.. V happy w the purchase.. I try to put the Oscar test results behind me.. Frankly, I m calmer now.. I think prayers from my best fren cell group helps! N like what eveline said, everything happens for a reason.. Since I can't control or change anything now, I just got to hope for the best, n brace for the worst.. Maybe my mood will get worse someday again.. For now, I m much better than yday... Pray that the peace of God be upon me, n that His blessing be on my babies n pregnancy..

Oh yes, forgot to thank Joanne too... Dr loh didn't say much.. He said "ya, high risk".. But he did say some pple felt blood test for twins n those w ivf may not be so accurate (if so, why made us do blood test?) He also suggest I look for someone.. I din quite catch him clearly but I think he was refering to dr anandakumar from Camden.. Today I make efforts to beautify myself so I feel better... Panda eyes though..

Dear cock cock,
Was thinking abt you! Glad you feel better now. There're loads of comforting words and same advice for you on the other thread. We're all rooting for you and your babies!!! Stay strong, dear

Cock cock : glad to hear that u r keeping yrself postive. That's the way to go
Should u need someone to talk to, u could write to my direct email : [email protected].
May God's presence be with u and yr babies always..

dear sisters,

sorry for the late update.

I had to go through an emergency C-sec on wednesday and my girl was delivered at 11.27pm on wednesday.

I had 12 hours of labour and not progressing as expected...she was a big gal at 3.4kg so i had difficulties delivering her vaginally.

C-sec is no joke. It's very painful and i think i will take a long time to recover.

I was discharged today but my gal is still hospitalized.

She has jaundice and apparently due to the mother child blood incompatibility...I am O+ and she is B+...she follows my husband blood group...I nvr knew this could cause her jaundice...It's very painful to return home without her...Pls pray for me that's she gets well...sob sob.

Vann, welcome to motherhood. How's yr rash?

Whats the jaundice level Guess yr gAl is under photo light At level 4? There is a v v v v nice nurse (an aunty) who is there. She takes care of bb v well. Dun worry. I cried bAdly when elis was admitted too. My case is opp from yrs. elis followed my blood group. My view, it's better to leave her there cos their jaundice level will drop v v v fast. who is yr pd? Guess yr gal will b out on mon. Take this time to rest yr wound, sleep well and concentrate on getting yr bm

catherine,

can't believe our cases is so similar including our pregnancy...Ya she is in photo light at lvl 5...first day the level was 6.4... then it went up to 10.1 yesterday...so yes, she is in photo light la...

catherine how long did she take to come back home?

ya me too keep crying n crying...cause she so young and have to be in photo light and so more cannot bring her home feel so empty...

Vann, totally understand yr feeling. I even cried in front of pd and the tmc nurses. I had no appetite to eat. At night is the worst. I need to hug my hubby and cry. I guess my situation is bad. Elis was with me at home for 3 days b4 she was warded. I even scold her the previous night that she is v 'fan' keep crying for milk and I had no sleep.

Dun worry today yr gal reading will b below 10. Photolight is a 2 day treatment for elis also normal package in tmc. Her reading was 15 when she was admitted. 11.5 on the next day. 9.6 on day 2. So yr gal should b out today since her reading only exceed 0.1. U should b receiving a call from pd. who is yr pd? Mine is dr ong(the united sq one)

Teach u a save $ method. Pd will c yr gal around 3-4 days after discharge. If u dun want to let pd test on jaundice and pay for his consultation, go to polyclinic and do it. New born got special q. For me pd say send back when yellow but how we know we can't really tell. So go polyclinic cost $12.20(blood test + see doc). Go pd at least $90($75 for consultation +$15 blood test)- result not immediate as compared to polyclinic. I sent Elis to polyclinic 3 times. I admit I dislike polyclinic but no choice.

Also take care of yr gal when she returns. Photolight makes them v hungry. Elis drank 16 bottles of milk+ a lot of breast milk. That cause her to b v bloated and I had to send her to yu GUo.

Hows yr rash?

Hi Vann
Congratulation to u!! So worry when no hear fr u... Dun be sad as ur bb will recover soon.. Did u choose to be half asleep when c sect? So tt Ur hb can be with u?? Wonder whether sf loh will allow if do c sect in tmc?? As my current pregnancy sure c sect too.. Pls get a binder to bind ur wound area.. So tt easier for u to walk too..thot hospital stay for c sect is only 3days.. U extend one more day??
Take care gal n hv a gd confinement..

Vann, great to hear ur update n congrats! Do not worry as jaundice will peak at a level n come down. Rest well now n take care. Ur bb will b back soon

catherine : actually i havent even read up on pri sch phase whatever.. cos this is my first one. then i read up recently and realised im not alumni (my pri sch already closed down for good) as well as no older sibling. aiyoo.. so how, sure no slots ah.. actually i was just thinking of gg to the better neighourbour schs can liao.. but seeing so many pple want the best.. hai i felt like short changing my child... so hor, i hope they change the criteria.. for pple like me no older sibling, no alumni, wan to join also dun hv..so everyone compete equally..

aiya.. so far away, i dun wish to think also.. now my confinement lady just fly me aeroplane. say she got high blood and doc says she cant work late nights, so she is gg to turn down my assignment. haha.. secretly i also happy.. cos not so satisfied after talking to her afterall..
so now back to sq one. since im getting a maid, i ask my mil n maid to do confinement. but my hubby insist on a confinement lady, then my mil says got confinement then she dun need to come. since she is free at home nothing to do (no other kids at home, not working, stay 3 bus stops away) why cant come everyday to supervise the pple at my home? my hubby say just let her be.. why like that?

r yr hubbies concerned abt the pregnacy/ bb/ stuff? mine just like everyday do his own stuff/ surf on his hobby things... i ask him why he nrv contribute on checking out bb stuff... my hubby says just go into the shop and buy whatever is needed lor.. like pumps, stroller etc...why must check out reserach.... sianz.. i feel tired doing it alone. so i also give up.. next time just go into the shop and buy whatever is needed. actually i dun even know what is needed, so many kinds of breast pumps..sterilizer also so many brands.. why he is so unbothered.. or are guys like that

cock cock : stay positive. im sure will turn out right.

vann : quite common for jaundice. my frn bb had it too and the bb came out after a couple of days. everything will be alright.

joanne : i just ate 3 dragon fruit over 2 days leh..

i think most of us feel so vulnerable now...

Been long time since I log in.

Been having stomachache since this morning. Very uncomfortable n feeling nausea. Dunnoe wat to do...

Catherine, hope today you are feeling more well rested!
Same as you, i cannot eat same food consecutively, eat 'this' today means tomorrow sure adversed to 'this'. This made the non appetite worse. Drinks wise i still can tolerate water but getting sick of ribena and definitely sick of LRD, smell only i want to puke. Even my hb's shower gel and hair gel now irritates me. Cham~

CockCock, thats the spirit gal!
I am so proud of you for being strong and positive for your babies sake and yourself too! Good that the 'retail therapy' helps. Make yourself happy and dont fret till the scan at Camden is done, like you say hope for the best, brace for the worst. Cos it might all just be ok anyway. And God wont give you more than you can bear.

Vann, pat pat~ Well done!
At least now all is over. Your gal is of good weight and sure can get out of jaundice soon! Have you decided on baby names?

Tanny, guys operate differently from gals to begin with. Somemore pregnancy is such a foreign subject, perhaps they dont even know how to approach what is required. Just like we buy computers or gadgets, sometimes we just walk in 1 shop and choose what seems the best. But guys will comb the whole of sim lim square, compare performance lah, speed lah, memory lah and dont know what nots. So its natural hb respond like that. Mine also think later on what we need just go grab and go. They wont appreciate why we prefer certain pumps or strollers over others, to them all the same. So dont feel too upset ok?

When my progesterone was low and i needed more supports, i cried whole day thinking i am going to miscarry. Hb actually tell me, never mind if progesterone low cos it means babies absorb all so that is good! You see lah? Of course we know its the other way, pregnancy must progress well to give good hormones. I just ignore what he say and continue crying.

Bbliss, oh no, need see gynae? At least can get some medication to relieve?

Tanny, actually regarding mil help with confinement, if mine dont want to help, i will be more happy than not. Cos after birth, we sure very tired, maybe even sensitive and emotional so i rather not have to have someone in the house whom i have to see face to and give in and compromise to. Sure got differences one in terms of childcaring so i rather not have that added stress. Already my mum say she will help, i can foresee sure will have differences with my own mum, whatmore mil.

With only 1 maid, i think if plan daily schedule properly maybe still can cope. If your hb is on paternity leave after the birth, can take that few days to iron out what needs to be better planned when you are left alone with maid too. Anyway, your mil will visit bah, even if she dont want to help.

Bbliss, where is the tummy pain??

Tanny, my hb is also like that. So I make the decision what to buy and he juz carry. He is only interested in stroller, car seat, bb bed. The rest like what diapers bottle, steraliser, fm, dun ask buy yr own. That's what I learn. Even now I juz tell him buy mitten he buy. That's the best we eliminate conflicts.

For schools, dun get me wrong. Neighbourhood school can b gd. I m juz lazy to think. Not saying my pri school is the best but it juz eliminate my time to fight and q. But I will never q up overnight to get Elis into nanyang kindergarten

Catherine, good point! Ya ya, big things can let him decide, anyway more visual, easier for him to appreciate and contribute. Smaller things i will learn from you, just buy and let him carry, wahaha

In fact smaller things i think he prefer i decide else he buy wrong, he scared will 'get it' from me, haha

Dear Tanny,
My hubby is similar as in he doesn't spend time doing research unless I make him. For eg for strollers, i start a bit, get him interested then ask him to find more which he would.I wld also suggest window shopping and make him have a look at the strollers and I'd ask the sales staff to demo and ask him to watch then ask him what he thinks, etc. Eventually, after some time researching together, we just bought our stroller at Taka fair, peg perego Piko3. Same went for car seat, we bought Inglesina's Marco Polo (can use from new-born to 4 years old). As for cot, we'd just go for what our close friend recommended.

The other stuff like breast pump, steriliser etc i see what is recommended on the forum and go with most recommended. Like for steriliser and warmer, i bought the bundle at Taka fair from Avent. And for breast pump, i'd go with Medela, just not decided between freestyle and pump-in-style.

I think these are the main items. Clothes etc can take our time, no worries, can always ask here and we can discuss here

Dear Vann,
Congrats on delivering your girl! Mine is possibly a girl too (not 100% confirmed). Just passed the halfway mark, can't wait to reach the finishing line! And hopefully your girl will be cleared of the jaundice soon!!!

Re: Confinement Lady
Anyone read Sunday Times today? About difficulty in getting confinement ladies? Luckily i reserved mine (recommended by other forummers) at 11-12 weeks preggie. Paid $300 via bank transfer then. Just called her to re-confirm and she says yes she knows, mine is late July to early Aug. She is in Singapore now doing one and has one every month, in April, May, June also have. She says she can mail me or meet me to pass me a list of things i need to get ready before delivery.

Re: Primary Schools
It is a big headache I think. I like the more Chinese schools. So i'd go for Kong Hwa as my first choice atm. The best route is to join the Hokkien hway kwan but you can't just apply to join, you need referees. We would only look into that 2-3 years later I think.

Re: IFC
I intend to send to infant care at 18months, you gals think there is a waiting list already huh? How soon do people go register? And if reserve need to make payment? How much does it cost on average? Will appreciate some advice. Thanks!!!

Bliss, how many week u in now? I am coming to week 15 n aso got the same feeling (stomachache) , not those that need to go toilet but just discomfort. Did any of gals here experience same too

Cock cock, stay positive. My Sis in law aso got bad results from the scan n blood test, and she choose not to go further testing but she give birth to a healthy boy in the end

Vann, congrats to you
can see your little princess now. Do not worry, she will be well soon.

Sashamama, u applying nanny permit from mom for your CL? Fr wat I understand Malaysian cannot stay in SG for x no of days within a certain period of time. If they hit, they will be bar of entry by custom. Of course, if they hv a nanny wotking permit where we hv to pay levy to mom, thus restriction goes not apply. You Mention ur CL has an assignment every mth starting April... If so, confirm will hit this restriction. U better ask her if she is aware. If not, bar fr entry u will hv no CL. If hit the restriction, apply permit fr MOM for her.

If I didn't remember wrongly is something like Malaysian cannot stay in sG for more than 60 days in 3 mths.

Dear Hazel,
Yes, when I first spoke to her, she already mentioned about work permit herself. Definitely the permit will be applied! Thanks for the reminder! I'd ask her about it again the next time I speak to her! How is belle now? Hope everything is ok
Have you engaged your maid? Sorry I might hv missed out your update on this if you have updated already.

Hey Cherrie!
Not seen you for some time! Congrats on reaching trimester 2

Hi Hazel,

how is belle huh? oh did i miss any posting huh? been thinking about her.

Hi heartbeats,

try drinking some lemon juice from florida brand. it helps in naseua. i have the same feeling as you.i like lemon juice very much.

cock cock : jia you! u have done the right tin.

Vann : rest well and your princess will soon be going hoome with you. take the chance to rest well first so that u have energy to take care of her when she is back home.

welcome cherrie...
u under dr loh also huh?

Anyone heard of medala mini electric plus huh? my fren might be passing me for breastpump ..actually i intended to buy freestyle pump one ....now my fren said scarli no milk so ask me to see first and use her as back up....hmmhmm what do u all tink?

Sashamama, u hv to apply the permit For her. She is in SG now? Better get from her the documents you need for the application. Refer to MOM website & print the form, complete them n get ready the doc soon,

Belle is still in hospital coz she has RSU virus (a strand of flu virus) Which is the main cause of bronchitis. She was Pre term n has lung infection at birth. So, she is high risk of chronic lung disease n RSU virus peak at d4-d5. So, dr wan to keep her in for observation ad today & tomortoe are d4-5. Her oxygen level dropped for a while yesterday night too As her nose is v stuffy. So, has to continue with neubaliser n dr ordered mucus suction of nose... Sigh...

hi vann, congrats on motherhood & delivering and sorry to hear about emergency c-sect and girl's jaundice. I hope & know that she will recover soon. There was another lady who underwent c-sect too after no progress under induction under dr loh too... yes, do get the binder as mentioned. I heard that it helps with the recovery of the wound.

Today dr loh called and chided me cuz I emailed him ytd that my fetal movements less than 10 ytd then how? So he called me today from his clinic and told me to get checked on the ctg to get peace of mind and this kinda thing can't play a fool. Turns out that i can't detect all movements cuz nurse said i got a "sleepy baby" and that some movements are v light.

Being strapped to ctg was boring!!! in that 1 hour, I doze off twice, then my husband had to wake me up to tell me to concentrate on counting the movements and pressing the button to coincide with the ctg machine. But overall, results are good - active movements and good hb. Looking forward to delivering though.

how's everyone of late?

Hazel, dun worry, belle will b ok soon though i kbw its easier said than done as as a parent, we will always worry abt our kiddo. U do take care of yourself too.

Vann, how is ur rash n ur princess? Hope everything is fine