(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Cock cock, I believe every life needs to b treasured. I do agree with hazel and angel, go for 2nd opinion. The reading are indicative only. My big boss told me her fren also had a bad reading but bb turn out fine.

I know the result can b v hurting that's y I refused to do Oscar.

Sun belle, my hb told me to choose a name that is unique and easy to write/read. Imagine if yr name is Elizabeth,that's like 9 letters to write. So I look at my office phone directory and eliminate common names. Then this name struck my mind and hb approved. Her Chinese name may b common but the character is easy to write so less time spent on name writing

Damn, i feel so terrible whole day. Damn weak. Only managed to eat chee cheong fun in the morning then nothing whole day till half pack hokkien mee in the evening and now feeling damn congested. Any mummies also like that last time/now? Now sit also not right. Lie down tummy feels even worse. Cham~

Chris, Prospan does not cause drowsiness. Is a natural remedy. I brought belle to PD coz I thought she was running a temperature. If not, I wun bring her to see a dr for normal cold or diahorea coz most medicine r not recommended for bbs under 6 mths. Zyrtec is one of it though PD cut the dosage. medicines which i hv the names suitable for bbs for common cold n diahorea can be easily bought off the shelves without prescription fr pharmacy & they r v mild.

It is best to let bbs fight the virus themselves if no fever. I ask 2 dr friends already. They actually told me belle no need Prospan at all! they told me is a waste of money bringing bbs to PD for common cold coz there r only a few types of medicines they can take n no need perception from doctors. Infant priton is more effective for cold n needs prescription but belle is too young for that. Only bb of 1 yr and above can take infant priton.

After feeding, belle will sleep. In a way is good coz when one is sick, even adults, sleep is the best remedy. She does not even cry much. She just fusses alittle & wan us to sayang her coz she is sick. Just that she has no appeditie...

Dear Cock cock, babyjourney, Catherine, Joanne, Angelxuan, Heartbeats, Chris, Sunbelle,
Thanks for your well wishes!!!

Dear Joanne,
My baby is now 278g, legs longer than average and tummy rounder too, lol. I already reserved the maid I want with Homekeeper today, tmr going down to pay agency fee and they'd help me with the procedures. Their agency fee is only $349 now. Free replacement within 6 months and no need a minimum trial period. Insurance can just transfer, no need to pay again or get partial refund from the first one. And if i return, don't need to pay the $10-$15 a day for lodging & food. Also, can pay by instalments for the maid's loan. Their terms so far the best lo. And most importantly the maid I fancy the most is from there. I looked thru hundreds of database online and visited 5 agencies liao. She is a new maid from philippines and has 6 years housekeeping experience in philippines itself. I prefer a fresh new maid with priod experience elsewhere than singapore.

Dr loh did ask me if I still want MC, i said no need lo, just for today, i rest 1 weekend (as in clear my work) then i go back to work on Monday. I still insist every 2 weeks see him and he says ok.

Dear heartbeats,
Didn't know you were there, and yes that is me!!! lol. Ya, you heard the conversation right!

Dear Catherine,
Congrats on completing your confinement period!!! hehe...

Dear Sunbelle,
The sonographer measured and put in my Detailed Scan report. Dr loh says congrats, all looks good. hehe... I visited quite a number of TCM before, from Dr Tan KS at Clementi after my first M/C, to Thong Chai medical and Dr Zou at AMK before my IVF, to SGH Bao Zhong Tang's senior specialist after my first failed IVF cycle, and most recently on Monday, I visited Tan Siew Buoy (who was from Thong Chai who helped Mark Lee's wife get pregnant). It's the SGH and Tan SB that said very honestly that TCM can't help me in my condition.

Dear Cock cock,
Pls pls stay positive and heed the advice of the sisters here. Do the other scan at 14 weeks. Do some reading on the internet and you will see that what we're saying is true, that the test is not definitive. And even 1:10 means only 10%. Must really stay positive and have faith, dear!!!

Enjoy your weekend!!!

To all sisters,

Thank you so much, I have learnt a lot from this thread since I pregnant. But too sad, I don't have the opportunity to join the dragon mama group. My girl lost her heartbeat on her 36th week... Dr Loh confirmed that she has no more heartbeat, and we will induce her tml.

I didn't mean to spread my sadness, but I really... hope that she can rest in peace...

Dear Michelle,
Really sorry to hear that. Is there any cause for this? I'm also hoping that she will rest in peace... Have a good confinement. Pls be strong, dear...

Michelle, I know wat u r going thru. I hv went thru what you r going thru now. Pls be strong n take care.

Every pregnancy has lots of uncertainties. Even after bb is born, is not going to be easy. I just admitted belle to KKH A&E. She coughed out 4 milk feeds today already. And only took 80ml the whole day. She is breathing v hard too & seem to be great difficulties.

Dr warded her coz she is only coming to 2 mths old & is worried she may get dehydrated if she keeps coughing out all the milk. She said she has some wheezing sound too, ie Bronchitis. Put her on neubaliser to widen her airways so she can breathe better. Her nose is no longer blocked though.. Dr confirmed that she is too young for any medications. So nothing else is given. Just hv to let her recover fr the cough herself. She can go home as long as she can keep her milk down & she can breathe better...

My poor bb.. Luckily no drip yet, if not heart pain... Sigh...

Dear Hazel,
Belle must be feeling terrible and you must be feeling even worse... Is it confirmed that she has Bronchitis? You gonna stay at the hospital with her? Taking turns with hubby? Try to have some rest ya? Take care...

Sashamama, yes I m here with her. Yes she has bronchitis cases by the cold as her airways r still v narrow at her age. Hub can't handle her. Tomorrow, my mum will come n help me with a few hrs while I go home n shower.

Hi michelle, sorry to hear that. Pls stay strong and positive. Yr bb will definitely rest in peace.

Hazel, I was gg to ask u which pd is seeing belle, then saw yr post she is admitted. Hope she is better and u did catch some sleep. Take care.... Hope she can go home tomorrow??

Michell, v sorry to hear about your loss. It must be hard and our hearts go to you and your girl. Please take care & may she rest in peace w the angels.

Catherine, the nebuliser helps to open her airway n as a result her breathing is easier n she also dun cough as much. I fed her half her regular feed at 5. No puking. Think need another day stay today at least as dr is giving her nebuliser every 4 hrs.

Heartbeats: I already had my Oscar scan in mid Jan'12. Am on my 5th mth, 22 weeks. Had my detailed scan last Tues
. Which week are u now? Are u seeing Dr Loh too?

Cockcock: heartbeats, Catherine and hazel are right, Oscar scan is just based on facts n the sonographer measurement which tend to be prone to human error. Stay focus in cherishing the little ones in yr womb, they should be fine. Pray for u.

Joanne: cannot eat carrot cakes ? I had a few for the past few mths including this morning breakfast... I jz heard fr doc saying dun take too much vitamin A, which has some cause for defects.

dear michelle, sorry to read about yr sad news...my heart goes out to you and yr family... it must be a very hard and painful experience for you... i really dont know what to say, coz nothing can remove your pain at this juncture... i can only pray with u that your baby is now at peace in heaven and watching over u and yr family.. she will know how strong her parents are, and how they have and will continue to love her.. may the strength, peace and love of the God be with u and yr family during this trying time... may u be blessed with speedy recovery and hope for brighter future...

Eveline Lee,

Ya i also heard tat too much vitamin A will cause defects tats why avoid pork/chicken liver and any animal organs. I took in moderation though.
I also take fried carrot cakes, so far okie for me. For food just take everything in moderation dunnoe over indulge.

Hazel,

Did dr say what causes the bronchitis? Gd to hear she is doing good and in good hands of KK's PD. You really made the good decision to bring her to KK fast.

Chris, elis pus is getting bigger, was told to walk in to pd but i refused knowing how clariss fell ill i m not taking chance. got an appt on mon evening.

within 8 hrs elis make laugh and get shocked. we fed her at 4.30am, as usual hubby feed and i finish my chores, half way thru she farted v v v v v loud... my hubby and i were shocked. literally it will wake u up! her diapers were all soaked with poo. v v v v scary. we quickly cleaned up knowing she will cry but she din.

at 8.30am, i was sleeping with her. she keep stretching and moving towards me. i had to siam her. the way she stretch is sooooo cute she even smiled as she stretch herself.

eveline, i agree with chris. eat in moderation. juz cant eat mutton, grass jelly, pineapple, watermelon, honeydew, rojak.

cock cock, u feeling better??

Hi Michelle,

take good care n take time to rest.

cock cock : i agree with what hazel say ..can look for the famous doctor at camden and seek second opinion.

pregnancy is really a journey which all of us are worried before each scan and excited at the same time. i guess all these feelings are normal and also hope tat all all go well.

Hazel,

hopw that belle will be able to get well soon. take good care of your self by grabbing a bite and try to drink some chicken essence to keep yourself going. take good care.

hi sashamama,

where do the sonographer reocrd the thicnkness of the uterus wall huh? cos i neber hear the sonographer say anything. as long as dr loh say okie, everything is okie hehe

Chris baby: yes u r right, take everything in moderation. I even drink cold drinks n eat ice cream n drink tea. Jz take note in moderation. Like those western British , they drink tea every morning n they are perfectly fine with their babies

after crying last evening, i KO when i went to bed past mid-nite... was so tired i had a deep sleep... when i open my eyes ard 6am this morning, the first thing that came to mind was my oscar test results.. i thot twice abt it, hoping that it was just a bad dream.. then realise it is not.. me v upset again...

angel, heartbeats, tzac, hazel, chris, catherine, sashamama, bbjourney and eveline, thanks for yr concerns and prayer for me... i came to realisation that blood test can indeed be inaccurate.. but my extremely high reading is way beyond norm, hence i am v worried (if its three digit figure still not so bad, mine two digit figures!) esp want to thank heartbeats who went all out goggling for articles to try to allay my fear.. thanks dear.. told my hubby that i am v grateful to you... in times like this, my DH v lousy and not knowledgeable to console me.. just kept asking me what doc said what doc said.. made me fed up..

last night went to my parents' house for dinner... still try to pretend i was ok.. mum sat at dining table (they already taken theirs), and looked at me affectionately while i ate (i feel liks shooing her off in case i cant hide my emotion).. i cld tell that she was secretly happy at the thot of being a grandparent soon.. that made it feel worse for me... i wld hate to disappt her...

after much thot, i think i will still go and buy some comfy "not so obvious" maternity wear this wkn.. afteral, this cld well be my only chance of pregnancy.. going to temple to pray too.. (my Dh is a buddhist.. i am sort of free thinker, but i pray to Jesus very often too.. my best fren has been guiding me on how to pray and pray meaningfully).. also, this morning i made appt for my genetic scan with Dr anandakumar at Camden, as recommended by hazel and heartbeats.. for those who may be interested in future, it cost $380 per baby and takes 1 hr... my appt is on 11 apr.. at least i have some milestone/activitiy to occupy me every 1 to 2 weeks to maintain my sanity.. now i really dread going to work with tummy showing...

babies, sorry mummy is such a weakling and let u down... pls be strong and continue to grow healthily and completely... mummy wants to hold both of you in my arms in about 6mths+ time!

thanks catherine and sunbelle, i am better than yday though still upset.... this morning, i called and made appt with dr ananda kumar at camden.. lucky they can slot me in on 11 apr.. mine is twin so take 2 hrs to do the scan... will pray for good outcomes from the scan for my 2 babies...

Cock Cock: Will pray for u. Every pregnancy, there's a risk, even our lives itself is filled with lots of uncertainties. But if u hv faith inGod n trust that who is on control, He will watch over n lead u n guide, He is our comforter at all times, cos He is the giver of life

Catherine,

Remember when you bring ellis to PD, one of you go register and another one stay outside with bb if you notice alot of sick children inside the clinic. Once your number is called then bring ellis in. Tat's what we practise now whenever we bring clariss see PD, no choice ah..once bitten twice shy. My friend taught me this.

Dear cock cock,
Glad that you made the decision to visit Camden for another scan. It will indeed give you something to look forward to. Meantime, rest well and eat healthily, don't forget your supplements and whatever meds you have and folic acid! All the best for your scan, dear!!!

Dear Sunbelle,
After DS you'd receive a wordy report and photos attached behind right? (if u do at TMC) At the bottom of my wordy report on the first page, I see the record there that part of my uterus is swollen, measuring 5.9cm. You should have done your DS ya? Must be everything good!

I just feel very lucky that the swell is nearer to my spine than my skin so that baby is nearer to my skin instead of deeper in. Or else the scans will be worse!!! Meaning skin-flesh&fats-baby-swell-spine. Rather than skin-dlesh&fats-swell-baby-spine. And I can feel baby's movements the past week

Catherine,

today clariss pattern changed. aiyoyo hbs fed her last fed at 10pm+, then 4.40am she woke up crying for milk so hbs increase her fed from 120-140ml cos fil feedbacked to us yesterday tat 120ml not enough to satisfy her. Then 8.30am she wake up crying for milk again and 11.05am too..like gonna tear the roof down.alamak only when she's fed then she stopped and smiled. OMG!! Just discussed with hbs tat we can't give her 120ml liao might need to increase...aiyo i dun have so much EBM for her, so most likely substitute with FM.

Chris, is caused by the flu virus. Young babies hv narrower airways than us. With the virus, it added stress on it n made the air ways even narrower. So, the wheezing which has yet to be serious enough for us to hear.. But dr was able to hear with a stescope.

Hazel,

OIC, does anyone in your family has the flu or was Belle exposed to anyone with flu recently? Oh ya could be exposed from the kids at YU GUO rite?

cock cock,
you might wanna join hbs to pray at temple for peace of mind. Try going to the famous Guanyin temple at bugis or joo jiat. I went there to pray too whenever i have any troubles and also before i go for delivery. Its good that u have made an appointment with Camden. At the moment try to relax, eat well and remember to take your multi vits, fish oil and folic acid etc. Build up your health and also engage in activities that you like to take your mind off things.

Mitchell, sad to hear your news. I know its devastating. Your gal will be in a better place. God will babysit her for you. You must get well and slowly muster courage to move on ok? Dont let your gal down.

CockCock, glad you have an appointment soon at Camden. I pray that scan will relieve all your worries and babies will be fine! In the meantime try to cheer up ok? Mummy sad, babies also sad.

Hazel, hope Belle gets well soon! At least now no more cough and breathing easier? Then she can rest better and recover faster too. You and hb take care too.

Catherine, today free to eat and drink liao rite? Haha, must be such a joy! I just asked to be bought laksa for lunch and got a flat 'no' from hb. zzz~ And Elis must look very cute yawning and smiling!

Chris & Catherine, the drs n nurse here told me belle drinks 120ml each time every 4 hrs is too much. Was told to give her 60ml every 3 hours. If not enough then add 30ml.

No one is sick at home. So, must be gotten at Yu Guo.

Heartbeat, still hv cough but better.

Dear Mitchell
Hugz.. Very very sad to hear this news fr u.. Did Doc Loh say wht happen? Is it due to the cord? May ur bb rest in peace n she will watch over u n ur hb in heaven.. If u r a buddhisim, u may consider goto Ju shi lin to 'cao du' her.. Do a gd confinement to build up ur body so tt u can try again when ready.. Take care gal...

Hi cock
Dun be too sad.. Since most say bt result may not be accurate for twins.. Did doc Loh say wht does it mean with the bt result? Since ur scan is allright then bbies should be fine right? The bt result indicate what? Dun be too sad n stay positive n strong for ur bbies ya..;) u mention abt the amino fluid test that u r going two wks later?? Do u want to take such risk? I hv see many cases tt oscar result or detail scan results not so gd but bbies born healthy so pls dun take the results too hard.. Is gd tt u going for 2nd opinion but u mention three hundred plus is for one bb so two bbies will be around $700? Ur bbies will be fine k.. Be cheerful n positive..;)

hahaha actually laksa is okie la but if you got ms then better not eat it now cos the coconut milk might cause your tummy discomfort. heehee eat it maybe in your 2nd trimester. tahan la. Me too ms in 1st trimester till dehydration and stayed at KK 48hrs for drip. Once i past 1st trimester appetite super good and started eating big time hahaaa

Hi hazel
Ur gal will recover soon.. U oso must take care.. Know how heartpain u will feel as last time whenever my boy sick n go a&e kkh, i feel very worried n heartpain.. Dun worry, all will be fine for her.. Take care..

Hazel,

Okie, good to hear belle is doing better. okie then better follow drs n nurses advice on the milk intake. My colleague's bb boy same age as belle drinks alot like 130ml till the PD commented tat he's overweight hahhaa but he is pretty tall at birth is already 54cm unlike clariss 51cm. My colleague gave her baby total EBM cos she got alot till engorgement and now just took pill to stop milk cos she kena inflammation and got to take antibiotics 2x.
clariss is taking 120ml which will last her 3-4hrs. If she didn't sleep the milk will last her only 3hrs if she sleeps we dun wake her up for milk just let her sleep through. We give her milk on demand if she cries for it.

Hazel,

You got to take care of your health, eat and rest well altho i know is easier said then done. I understand what u are going through cos clariss gotten the flu virus too when she was only 1 week old till the PD also shake head cos she v young alot of medicines can't take ah even the receptionist at my PD also shocked tat infant so young kena flu virus cos very rare at her age got to take antibiotics.

Hi heartbeats
Yes.. Agree with chris say.. Coconut is not so gd too.. Try to eat healthy food k since not easy to hv them..;) i know is tough for trimester 1 but u will be in trimester 2 very soon... Jiayou.. Think my hb is lucky as so far i do not hv craving for both of my pregnancy., all i want is to sleep n want sleep early to end my day n can count down soon to trimester 2.. I hate dinner time that time.. ;p

Hi eve
Yes, too extreme of any food is definitely no gd.. As i heard before white carrot is cooling so i try to avoid as much as i can though it is my favourite food before pregnant too... I will try tahan n eat at least once only when i am in my 3rd trimester.. As like i mention earlier.. Our bbies r too precious tt i rather sacrifice my craving than eat anything to make myself feel remorse or regret after tt..;)

Chris, Joanne, he dont buy me laksa hor but he bought coffee! He knows i like but he say its for himself, i can only steal a few mouthfuls. Haha mean~ but ok lah, i know best not to anyhow eat. Still many weeks before end of 1st tri leh. Really dont know how when go back to work, sure damn stress.

Eveline, i am still in early pregnancy, still in 1st tri, still a long long way to go~ Ya with Dr Loh but heard TMC oscar scan appt full so may have to do at KKH. But havent find out KKH how the tests are like.

Hi joanne,

me too i hated dinnertime at tri 1 cos no appetite and stress le cos in-laws n hbs keep ask me to eat more and keep ask why i not eating and wat i wanna eat. so pai seh. After i reach 10wk, wow suddenly appetite good and eat alot till lunch partners shocked at me eating 2 persons share but they still encourage me to eat cos finally see me eating and they happy for me. hahahaa I too dun have much craving during preggy only last 3 weeks b4 delivery got craving for ice-cream ah faintz...i gave in to my craving hahaha n indulge in ice-cream whoooopeeeee.

Joanne,

Dun worry on eating fried carrot cake if you are like eating once a week cos its not cooling cos its fried, instead is heaty. White carrot is cooling only when u eat it as a dish on its own or cooked with soup. If you attend wong boh boi classes she'll tell you want food to eat and myths on food tat are cooling cos her dad is a chinese sinseh.