(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Catherine,
Altho i finished my antibiotics for my UTI, i still have some of the symptoms like frequent visits to the toilets, if i hold bk urine will have abit of pain again. Think if got time might go down to GP to have another urine test to see if clear. Cos the 1st time i kena ie when i juz got preggy at 6wks, eventho i finished the 1st course of antibiotics given by KK, my UTI still not cleared and KK started me 2nd round of antibiotics ah.

Wow Catherine, what method??? Share le.
Heng ah, last nite clariss well-behaved didn't wake up wanna play. She woke up at 6am crying softly for milk and after feeding she slept thro till now still sleeping. Should be waking up soon..

My mil is in China now happily enjoying her tour with her frens..so envy. This week i'll be on my own liao especially today. Told my fil not to ta bao lunch for me and to take a break, i try out myself see how. How clariss will be well-behaved..

Hi faithfully,

I had tat too when i was preggy, my gynae says its normal cos our tendons get soften as they prepare for birth etc. Did you take calcium? Cos if no, you might have abit of leg cramp. Try not to sit/lie in one position, for me at work i put a thin pillow on my seat it helps to ease the uncomfy feeling. Dunnoe if this will help you. But if the pain is really intense you might wanna check with your gynae.

Hi catherine,

hahaha clariss also rotated in her sleep when she was just 2 weeks old and then she hit the bumper at the side of her cot and cry. Then we saw that she has rotated and quickly adjusted for her. Remember try not to let your bb get used to sleep at 1 side of her head, cos clariss loves to sleep at the right side of her head and CL never bother to adjust for her now her head and neck uneven. Its very obvious, my in-laws saw it after my CL left and even the massager at YU GUO also noticed and pointed out to us. Cos we 1st time parents didn't know got to adjust ma, only when in-laws saw it and pointed out to us then we know. Now when she sleep, or when we/in-law put her down to sleep we try to put her to sleep on the left side of her head and use either the head stabiliser or cloth diaper we rolled into a tiny roll and slip it beside her right side to prevent her from rolling her head to the right.

catherine,

clairss also always kick and punch me like kungfu panda whenever i hold her. Especially if she don't like the position she is held, her face will turn red and she'll cry ah.

How much does it cost to get a stay-in nanny??? If is within budget then you might wanna consider so able to get some rest and sleep ah...especially now you are doing confinement, try to get some rest especially in the nite.

Sorry to gatecrash. I'm from the IVF ICSI support group thread. Still cycling n hoping for a BFP. I'm wondering if any of u were with CARE, n if so whether u'd mind sharing ur experience at CARE with me. I'm contemplating switching over to CARE after a failed fresh n FET at KK. Thanks in advance!

Chris, well, slightly better yesterday night but still she fussed. Inside Yao LAN, also she fussed. The only time she dun is I carry her in my arm & we sleep together with me holding her!!!

Hi chrisbaby,

I am only at week 21... still very early for delivery. The pain just feel uncomfy. I will email to my gynae and see wa she say...maybe due to i walk too much. I been eating calcium liao... becos of the butt like muscle pulling so my leg also kena the cramping.

Summer, my gp told me to make sure I m hydrated. So far I m ok.

Chris, I already finish 1 course of antibodtics yesterday did urine test still not clear yet. Now 2nd round and next week must c gp again, u better c. My gp v scare I got kidney stones. Thankfully elis dun like to sleep on 1 side she loves turning her head. Last night she woke up bcos I pump milk if not she will sleep thru. Too bad we only occupy a room in my parents place.

The method my gp taught me is make sure yr last feed b4 bb sleep is sufficient. Then in the middle of the night if bb cry DUN carry bb. Just let bb cry. 1 min later pat pat bb and say mummy daddy r here quick sleep. Then u go to bed. If bb cry drag till 3 mins and go pat pat bb say mummy daddy here go sleep. Keep doing that then bb will get used to it. He said as a parent if u r soft hearted and if u carry the bb then u will not succeed in this method. It takes about 4-5 days for bb to get used to it. After that it will b fine. I will try next mth.

Chris, it's not a matter of budget to get a nanny. My hb fully support. It's how I can clear thru myself. I dun easily trust a person that's y maid is out for me, how cani trust a nanny to look after elis? I cannot accept it. Yesterday my hb ask me to consider being a sahm and slow down in my career. There r few reasons y he wants me to b a sahm. But knowing myself and looking at elis, I know I have to give up my career. I only told my hubby, let's c how in July. I want my current lifestyle and give the best for elis but if I m a sahm, I can't afford that. if I want to c elis grow up and b with her when she first say mama or watch her take her first walk, I have to b a sahm. it's not a easy decision maybe I have to do without a nanny to train myself to take care of elis. That's something in my head now to weigh the pros and cons

sashamama- sorry to hear about the swollen, i didn't realize it could be that serious. I'm praying for you for the best and for a miracle okay? meanwhile, please rest and I hope the swelling goes down (did gynae give medication for that?)

Sunbelle / Nell - yah maid coming in about 10 days' time so quite okay. I hope it all goes smooth!

hazel - yah the expensive agency claim all ex-SG/MY so very experienced, all no contract but in the end didn't go with them ah. I paid $388 for my agency fees in the end. haha

Catherine, what of bb keeps crying? Let her cry N yell the whole night? Is the whether soft hearted or not, is the yelling that will drive everyone crazy.

Kimmy, I m still waiting for agent to contact the 2 maids for my interview. Btw, this agent of yours u confirmed the maid is located where? Maybe I shld go try my luck too of this agent still nv revert soon..

Ladies, caught a cold yesterday. Pop to piriton n bomb myself out at 11plus. My gal cry also cannot get up. My hb n son took care of her. Only wake up to feed her at 1 am then both of us knock out until this morning 8plus. My hb say my gal also took piriton from my milk, that 's why she also knock out.

Sent my Gfs n kids to Macau. Hb just went to work. The gas from water heater leaks. So dangerous! Now waiting for the gas company to check. If not my hb tomorrow morning after work come back see 3 corpse at home. Lol.

Catherine,

I fully understand the kinda of emotions that you are going thru. to be a SAHM is not easy esp is mean giving up some part of the lifestyle and when comes to spending in buying tins, definitely will be more prudent jus like my frens and sis in law whoom is living on one income. yeah esp for this society, everything costs money and also their different classes costs money. not so east i guess...is definitely not an easy decision to make actually.....

wow kimmy, you are fast
your maid is coming in 10 days time. good at least u can start training her before your baby arrives hehee i tink is a good move to adapt to new member into the family....

Hazel, that's the point I raised too. I said policeman will knock on my door! Gp Only smiled. Seems like this is the secret formula used in their family.

Vann, bbliss, kimmy, dun buy tollyjoy breast milk storage bag. No gd v difficult to write and zip up. I bought one at bb fair last yr. It's v gd!! Some more cheap. Less than $10 for 25 pieces. Now can't find nit at mother care, Tom and steph or kiddy palace.

Neil, pls take care. Hope the gas co ppl r here. Yr son is so guai knows how to help out....

Hazel,

maybe can ask around for friends transferred maids like frens going oversea for work and then bo pian need to give up maids......

Nell : take hot ginger tea...is good for cold ..they said put vicks on feet and wear socks also help.....try to have more rest and take vitamin C.

yeah i am also trying to help to save some money as now on no pay leave. yeah recently jus discovered a fuel enhancer that helps to save petrol. recommended by my fren that before pumping petrol, jus put a small cap of tis fuel enhancer into the tank before pumping. 1st few times, cannot see the improvement, however, after 3 times, my hub has reduced from pumping petrol from once a week to pumping once in 1.5 or 1.75 weeek. i really thank my fren for recommending this fuel enhancer. yeah outside sells $23.50 but my friend helps me to buy only $15 dollars ...one bottle can use 3 months hehehe ..cheap. cheap..so happy to relise this money saving tinggy......

catherine,

me bought tollyjoy breastmilk storage too...waste $$$ ah..regretted.

hazel,Nell, catherine
i suspected tat clariss might gave ear infection coz her right ear is red and keep having yellowish oily discharge and left ear seems fine, Coulb be tat last week while bathing her, slip and water splash up and her right face n ear was wet...n water could have slip in. i worried le told hb so later will bring her to her regukar pd for a checkup.

hazel, nell, catherine

i noticed tat her right ear keep having yellow dried up discharge daily eventho we clean it up. even my mil n sil notices it n ask me is it i did't clean for her ah...but iclean for her like 2 days ago but next day dirty again.

Nell,

do u have vitamin C??? go take some, normally when my mil has flu they will take vitamin c (2 tablets 3 times a day) before it gets worse. For me i keep drink hot warm water n it goes off if not too serious otherwise i go see doc.

Who wants milk storage bags? I hv a few unopened boxes. Letting go v cheaply but must self collect at kembangan area.

Kimmy, your maid is experienced one? Ex SG? Fr what I undrstsmd, ex SG, with passport will take abt 3 wks... Yours only 10 days?

I just interviewed 2. The ex SG one is not honest. Ex Hk one sounds ok.. Hubby comes bk will discuss with him of we will take ex Hk one....

Catherine, thx for all e sharing n advice given here.

Haha... Noted on e tollijoy storage bags. Mi haven even get one yet as dunnoe got milk not.... Lol.... Will buy if see some hope of milk flowing out....hehe....

Btw, do u tend to get more agitated n easily lost temper at last few weeks of 3rd trim ? I realized mi getting abit abit very worked out.... Sigh.... Trying to control as really dun wan my mood to affect my little ones.

Chris, what did pd say?? I agree tollyjoy breast milk storage bag is really waste $. I still have 21 bags to go.

Bbliss, u should juz get a small pack of storage bag. Stand by. Even milk powder juz stand by 1small tin too. Ai ya by 3rd trimester I m so stress by my bosses of cos get agi la.... U can stimulate yr breast now do massage. My confinement ends on 23rd!! No big bang party but various small parties from frens to relatives should end by gd fri weekend.

Chris, Nadia told me to go yu GUo In the afternoon cos it's less crowded. What's yr view? I will bring elis there next mth to c if she is ok. I dun want to q cos I can't handle her too well outside without myhb or mum.

Hazel, how u know the maid ex sg is not honest?

Catherine, fr the qns I asked her. Inconsistent answers n some qns her answers were dunno. How can she dunno? Cannot be.

bad luck...have very itchy rashes on my tummy and my leg...the condition is called pruritus...can't do much about it and should resolve once i've given birth...gonna apply calamine lotion so that it's not too itchy...

my gal growing exponentially...she's engaged but big...so if not going to go to labour possibly will induce next week

trying to talk to her and tell her to come out soon in the mean time.

kimmy, bbliss...any updates about your pregnancy?

Ladies, thanks. Had a good rest n feeling better now.

Catherine, thanks for the tips. Shall try after I settle down.

Chris, that's the ear wax. You just use those fat tips cotton bub to clean it. But don't poke inside. My girl also got lots. Have to clean everyday. No worry. If infection will be red n smelly.

Vann, hw big ur gal nw ?

Mi kinda of upset. Ppl ard mi commented my tummy look very big n some even tot I expectIng twins. Even dr loh oso said my tummy look huge but guess wat, today go for routine chk, my gal oni weighs 2.9kg... I wonder if she taking enuff nutrients or all nutrients go to mi instead.

Mine head dwn but yet to engage. Wk 37 le... N she oni weighs 2.9kg. Any food I can wat nw to try boost up her weight besides durians ?

Catherine, wat brand of small tin FM did u buy ? Any recommendation on FM ?

catherine u had that to...so did u recover after giving birth...dr loh suggested steroid creams but i'm not very keen...i think i will put calamine lotion in the meantime and see whether it improves after delivery...and yes i haven't been sleeping well at all.

bbliss...2.9kg is a good weight wat...I would be so happy if my gal weighs that much now...she can grow and put on weight once she comes out...no need to be so big inside u.

bbliss...my gal is nearly 3.2 kg now...and let me tell u it is damn uncomfortable and too heavy for me to carry her...I would have preferred her to be 2.9kg anytime...I always believe that babies no need to be so big inside u...and i pretty much waddle now and can't even wear my pants as easily as i used to cause of all the pressure...

Hazel - yup, mine is ex-sg as in transfer maid thats why can get so fast. Her 1st employer in SG hired in jan but made her work in a house & condo and both have different set of rules then when she confused them, kena scold. So she rather forgo her salary and go back agency. The agent (also the boss) that helped me interview her super good. Knew what question to ask. Ask her steps to prepare before bathing baby, how to test water temperature etc. And will help me train her meanwhile. Agency is at Katong Shopping Centre. Loyal Employment.

Vann - no updates on my pregnancy except that seeing Dr Loh this thurs. Seeing you and bliss's babies all put on very good weight, I'm quite worried about mine since 2 weeks ago was about 2.2kg and I doubt he can put on so much. I'm also asking baby to hang in there and count at least all 5 fingers before he decides to pop out so that can bake longer and avoid any special care/nicu and low weight (my frd popped at 37 weeks during her gynae visit and baby was at 2.6kg as there's a 300g +/- from gynae's estimation usually) and he looked so tiny & fragile! Hahah I think husband won't dare to carry! But vann, I think you can pop anytime soon! If too big, did dr loh suggest c-sect? Or he's okay with natural? Or do you know if you're dilated. There was this lady at yoga recently and she said she was 3cm dilated aka. 1st stage of labour. Power!

catherine - hehe I dint buy any milk bags yet cuz also duno what's my supply like. Haha. If really need then will send husband to buy

sunbelle - yah i was panicking whole of last week and very happy prayers answered over weekend when we found and confirm one. At least I know if man yue do at home, she can help me with cleaning up and also hope she comes in before I pop then can help me wash all of baby's bedsheets (extra sets). :p

kimmy...that was my concern too C-sec but he say I can deliver vaginally...now i keep telling her not grow too much or come out alr...i haven't packed my hospital bag or wash baby clothes...diez...must do it this today...

kimmy....personally i prefer i smaller baby...easier to deliver and they will definitely grow once they are out...too big also tough u know to deliver!

Bbliss, dun b mad to eat durian now!!!! Leave it. Trust me u will not regret! Elis jump from 2.2kg to 3,2 kg in 2 weeks bcos I ate ice cream and had soft drinks. That's y I had a hard time delivering her. Dun care what pPl say about yr tummy. Lots of ppl say my tummy is big and bb not engaged but do they know?

K I reply u and vann later only slept 2 hrs. Elis was naughty last night

Hi catherine,

WEnt to see PD at Tamp 828, reached there around 7.20pm waited more than 2 hrs to see doc as super long q. Finally got to see PD at 9.30pm, heng ah false alarm PD checked thoroughly and said her eardrums are all cleared..the redness is due to rashes cos very common among bbs so asked us to use a little bit of olive oil when cleaning bb's outer part of the ears and to apply the medicated cream given. Dr Ho played with my bb before examining her, and my bb laughed and giggled and make bb sounds. She then turn her on her tummy and clariss is able to lift up her head and DR Ho says good. Clariss is now weighing 5.168kg. Like a bag of rice ah. We reached home around 10pm+, clean her up and she has her last feed around 10.45pm and she slept all the way till 7.10am today. She woke up a few times around 5am and 6am and made a bit of baby sounds but we chose to ignore her cos like tat can help to prolong her sleep..till 7am she started opening her eyes and make abit of fuss sound so i made her milk and after that she doze off again smiling.

Catherine,

Yup Yu Guo is definitely less crowded in the afternoon slot between 2-5pm. But remember they are closed on Wednesday. I went once on saturday around tat timing and not many people around. However not to worry Elis will get priority and no need queue cos she considered infant. When you registered just tell the counter staff that is baby and they will write baby on your registration card and u just bring it down and drop it at the tray outside the doctor's room. Doctor will see it and call for Elis name 1st. Do remember to bring a wrap along cos at times the aircon there could be quite cold, and a cloth diaper to lay on the bed when they massage her.

Nell,

thanks for the advice, i got worried cos her ear very red and everyday alot of ear wax on the right ear only. And there's dried flaky skin on the right ear lobe as well. Anw heng ah false alarm.

Clariss still sleeping since 7am after her feed. Hence tat leaves me time to do my laundry, surf the forum, eat bfast and do hsewk. phew...When she wakes up i got to rush like mad woman cos my fil will pick me up around 11am to his place where i'll leave clariss with him then rush to town to meet my colleagues for lunch and catchup.

Catherine...my baby weight seems similar to yours...do you mind sharing your birthing process...was it difficult?were u induced? Also the rashes...so itchy...anything cream u put...

Chris u r lucky. Still can go meet up colleagues. I need standby help so that I can go for interviews. My dad refuse to touch elis. So he will not help me. Ie probably have to ask my aunty to help.

What u r doing to clariss is the same as what my gp taught me. I can't wait for next mth then I will b the heartless one! Last night was a nightmare. Her last feed was 8.25pm then she slept soundly. I thought by 11 she will b up so quickly express my milk. She din wake up so I started to review a candidate resume and din sleep until 12midnight. The moment I fell asleep she yelled for her milk. Gave her after that no way to coax her to bed. I carried her till 3am!! Till a point I nearly lost my balance. Pass her to my hb and I gave her fm b4 she is willing to sleep. She got up by 5.40am same refuse to sleep. Luckily my mum got up and took over. My mum 'return' her to me at 7 to go marketing. Same again refused to sleep until 8+! By then I m half dead. Juz slept another 2.5 hrs. Sigh today is weds if not I rush her to yu GUo!

Vann, bbliss, kimmy, morale of the story is if bb sleep u quickly shut yr eyes and sleep!!!! And sleep more now!!! Lesson learn last night was argh!!!!!

vann...i agree with you. last visit dr loh asked me to maintain baby's weight and he promises i'd have a fast & smooth (i.e: easier) delivery like how I've been nagging at him because I said I don't want a long, tedious labour at almost every visit so he was quite happy with the growth and weight cuz he said if I maintained, should be okay (and he sounded confident). I suppose if he's confident of v delivery for you too, then it should be okay. My friend was told to opt for elective C cuz baby estimated over 3.5kg and too big but end up when born was 2.9kg and she was going !!!!! because she disliked the tugging feeling during C and wound was painful for few days after that. keep you posted after my appt tomorrow!

Bbliss - you're not alone! someone asked if i was having twins too, while other aunties at ntuc say wah you gg to pop today ah? I think only us preggies know our tummy size well so to others it may seem big or what. Yr girl sounds like v good weight btw too.

Neil, Chris & Catherine, bb is inconsistent one.. Belle Merlion all the milk at 11pm yesterday. We tried to soothe her to sleep but she refused. 12plus I made fm for her but she only took 10-20ml & dozed off on my arms. I put her down on our bed next to me & she slept till 5am this morning. Fed her n slept till 9am. No need any training to let her sleep thru.. Is all within the bb.

Hazel, I agree bb r v inconsistent. Juz praised elis yesterday, last night give us nightmare. My mum said elis has grown a lot these 1 mth and told me not to say in front of elis that she is fat if not elis will get xiao qi.

Kimmy, what the gynae scan is the estimated weight. Look at elis, last scan b4 i deliver her she was about 3.3kg. True enough she came out as 3.335kg. Dun care whats the weight. Most important is have a safe delivery. My gynae also said I would have an easy delivery but did I? No!!! No one can predict anything until u r on birth ward. Juz dun eat ice cream, soft drinks and cut carbo. Juz eat red meat like beef to give u the energy.

Oops elis is waking up. Bbliss, vann, I got to reply u later, need to shower her and send her to polyclinic for jaundice test.

Catherine, how come dun shower Elis after visit to polyclinic? Alot of germs there.. So, isn't is better visit polyclinic in the morning return home then shower her?

Bbliss, there is no best fm. U need to choose yourself. Juz dun ask tmc for catalog like the china couple in the same room as me. My mum and I took enfalac. I forgot the criteria we chose that.

Vann, take that steroid cream. U really need it to sleep. No matter how many times u shower it's not gg to work. There is 1 cream and 1 body shower u can try if u want the natural way that my skin specilist reommend. The cream is cetaphil skin restoring body moisturizer. Shower foam sorry it's at my house can't remember name. U can't buy from pharmacy. It's the better and stronger version than the normal cetaphil. U can find in some gp clinic or hospital pharmacy. It cost about 20-30 plus each. My rash Was gone after the steroid cream but really gone after giving birth. I c the diff between my skin colour b4 and after birth. Since u know yr bb is big, pls use steriod if u can't take it. It's not easy pushing out a 3.335kg bb. Trust me. Till today I still remember the pain!

Hazel, we wipe her after she is back too. Nadia told me must fix a time for her shower. So I m trying to follow. Now expressing milk for her next feed b4 we can go. I can't wake up this morning. Head was so heavy.

Vann I was induced though I was 1.5-2cm dilated 2 days b4 I gave birth but no progress since then. Listen to Chris and hazel, take epi!!!! I tong for 3 hrs b4 giving in. U will have periodic cramp and it's no jokein the birth room. Juz eat if gynae say u can eat, drink if gynae say u can. U need that. If u can sleep juz sleep too. There us a tv in fronton u. Watch yr fav show to relax. For me I watch tom and Jerry to relax. At a certain time when the gynae check on u, he will tell u whether u r ready to give birth. I remembered my gynae check on me around 2.30pm and I was 9 cm dilated. But I got no pang sai feeling till I scream for midwife at 4 plus. Not bcos I had pang sai feeling but my rib cage is painful. My gal's leg is there. Midwife tried to help for an hr but could not make it so called gynae at 5 to assist. at that point u really want to give up cos it's pain. U really need to listen to gynae as gynae gives. U the most encouragement. Not hubby! That's y I m v grateful to my gynae. I dun know what to share with u except listen to gynae, conserve yr energy to. Push out. Dun think of weight first juz relax and get ready for yr bb arrival