(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Catherine tks for all the advises...I think i will try cetaphil first...and ya i think I am not going to be a heroine and jus take the epidural...maybe my gal put on a lot cause i had huge craving for ice cream and ate a lot of ice cream the past week...twice at swenson's and 2 tubs of ben and jerry's...no more...i can't afford her to put on even more weight...

Vann, high 5. I ate ice cream cos weather was v v v v hot in early feb. Now u should cut yr carbo. I did that and elis din put on any weight on week 38. gynae nurse was concern. Then I self admit I din eat carbo theylaughed take more veg, fruits and red meat, give me yr comment on yr child birth and when yr gal is born. C if she is a big eater. My princess drinks like 110ml per feed. Juz told gp. She said gd!!!! I was like huh.... My mum said for bb who drinks a lot andsleep a lot, it's gd for bb.

Hazel, summer, Chris and Neil, does yr bb have yellow discharge from their eyes? Mine has a lot of yellow discharge and gp juz taught me to massage her eyes.

Ldies, ijuz came back from polyclinic and the nurse who took elis blood told my mum and I that milk powder v ex and that is y not many couples want to give birth, say too ex to maintain a bb. I then ask how much us milk powder now. Was told 1tin is about $40+. I din know. Nurse know elis is on tbm and told me to eat ngor fish that gives more bm. in my heart i was thinking what is ngor fish? I usually get my fish from ntuc unless my mum help me buy.

For our dear bbliss, kimmy, vann and any if I missed out make sure yr confinement food consist fish. Now I realize y my meal has fish everyday.

Chris and hazel, have u got yr bb bonus letter? I submitted on 27 feb now no news from mcys. I need the letter to open account for elis and get the govt to match $6k before cord life can deduct $ for the storage,

Catherine...sama sama...i also feel very hot and go and eat ice cream...but i hardly eat carbs...i only eat one proper meal then full already...i don't eat rice.

Catherine, u need to wait a while for the letter to come... mine came abt 1 week after Belle turns full month.

I just settled the maid stuff. need to take the FOW Employment Programe (EOP) for first time application of FOW.

J03, u hv time better take the online program first. Can just google online for it. It is administered by Singapore Poly.

Dear Sunbelle,
You have adenomyosis too? Is your uterus swollen? Dr Loh did tell me worst case scenario and also gave me MC to rest. But I'd just like to find out more about similar cases. Tried searching online but can't find much info.

Dear Catherine,
Thanks for your well wishes! Yes I'm trying to stay positive and hope for the best for my detailed scan next Thu.

Dear chris baby,
Thanks for sharing with me you saw Dr Zou, I also saw her before preggy and took her herbs n accu but not much help. I guess my condition is much worse.

Dear kimmy,
Thanks for praying for me. Dr Loh gave me aspirin and mc for 2 weeks, hopefully will help in the rduction of swelling but we don't know for sure.

I have compiled notes on shopping list, tonics, recipes, packing list, post delivery info for mums, newborn info, breastfeeding info, etc on google docs. Mainly info from the forums actually, no names mentioned. Anyone wants access to this google doc? Do PM me ya?

Catherine - thanks for the tips! Haha oops I been drinking too much bubble tea, eating ice cream and cakes. Time to cut back! Lol. Ya u r right we don't know if we can have easy delivery until we go into labour also

Hazel - haha I sat thru w husband to take the employment program ytd. Fast fast, 45 min. Just read and answer lo. We been delaying it until we confirm maid on Sunday. Faster than attending the course.

Sashamama - will cont to keep u & baby in my thoughts and prayers. Hope swelling reduces too

Catherine, vann, kimmy.. Thks for all e feedbacks n sharing regarding my worries abt my bb wt. After hearing fr Catherine that she had such a hard time pushing out 3.3kg princess, I was like wow.... Coz all alg I tot pushing out a 3.5kg n abv then is tough. Hahaha.... Tink I influenced by those aunties colleagues ard mi. They shared avg bb size is ard3.2-3.4 like tat. 3.5 n abv den is considered big.

Haha.... Maybe I dun listen too much n take it too seriously.

Vann- so r u inducing nex week ?? Wow... If so, excited for u
better get yr washing all done up soon ya n yr packing too. Hehe...
Kimmy- do update us again aft u seen dr loh. Btw, haf yr boi engaged Liao ?

Oh ya.... So envious tat u all can eat ice cream n all e cold stuff. Till nw, I still dun dare to take. Been close to a yr since I took ice cream.....

At days when weather so hot, feel so tempted to drink cold drink but in e end juz take normal rm temp water...

Catherine, Ngoh fish in english is known as threadfin. This type of fish normally cost more than those normal fish like Sheng Yu, snapper.... This fish taste nice. No fishy smell

Taste very good when steam with ginger n tao xi.

Oh gosh I gained 6 kg in a mth. Doc says per pregnancy can gain 12kg only and I just entered my 5 mth only.. Oh no.. He says eat less and drink less milk. I only drank once a week.. My bb weight is normal which means the weight gain is on me? Also dunno what happened- the weight just shoots up. Or something wrong with his weighing machine?

Shashamama : I hope all goes well for u and swelling goes down quickly!

Hi baby
Hows ur detail scan yesterday? Hope all r well for u too...

Hi Sasha
Wah, so nice of u to share ur compilation..;) can i hv ur compilation? Thk u.. N yes, like wht the rest say, ur swelling will goes down.. Jiayou!!

Hi Tanny
I hv gain 2 kg so far.. As tt time i hv stomach flu few wks ago so drop 2kg weight.. Now gain back the 2kg n increase 2kg from my overall weight.. Wht ur bb weight now at what wk?Whens ur detail scan?

Hi hazel
Thks. We hv pay for the registration for the course but yet to take the course online yet.. Wonder how long it takes to complete the course? It writes there 3hr but read tt kimmy finish it in 45mins.. Tts fast..;)

Not sure is it due to i tolerate urine for too long? Feel just below my tummy got some pain after pass out urine n pain till now...;( is this normal? hope my bbies r fine..

Nell,

is it cos your bb feeding fully BM? Coz normally BM doesn't last tat long, for me is mix lor cos i dun have so much BM to feed her the whole day. In the morning once she wakes up i'll feed her BM till 6pm then FM all the way.

J03, is an online course, so depend on how fast u r Loh. U can finish it within 10mins also can. Just click all the way till the end to the test without reading the marernials. Or u can take hrs to if u ponder on every page.

Bbliss, I love Tao xi!! Thx now I will go find my thread fin in ntuc.... Dun b mistaken hor... It's tough for me but maybe not tough for others. My pre preggy weight is like 45-46kg. Can u imagine a small frame lady like me pushing out 3.3 kg bb?

Hazel, my nightmare starts! Elis refused to sleep since 5pm. Now 10 already hubby turn to carry. After I express my milk it's my turn. Wats wrong with her?

Chris, the yu GUo sin seh is a guy is it? My mum said it din work for my sis kid so ask me dun go there to waste $. My face turn black after she said. Feel like telling her DUN Compare!

Catherine,

You might wanna try feeding her FM for her last feed at night, feed her fully that's what my frens, sil and I have being doing. We hope to keep her stomach full so as to prolong her sleep. Tonite we feeding her now around 10pm+, see tonite how long she can prolong her sleep. We lucky if she can sleep till pass 5am. Yesterday, is becos she drinking 120ml FM, hubby gave her max 4 scoops of milk powder (1 scoop =30ml) and her last feed we managed to drag till 11pm. Normal timing we give only 3 scoops for 120ml water cos GP asked her to dilute her feed. She slept till 7am last nite, altho she made some bb sounds along the way from 5am onwards we juz ignored her and i just quietly peeped at her to see if she is awake..

Chris, Clariss colic went away? What did PD give her? Colic drops? I suspect belle has colic though her tummy is soft n not hard. Since Monday she refused to sleep in the PM though she looks tired & is v fussy m irritated. Gave her gripe water but like no improvement... She will start to cry in evening till night.. After crying Feed her with milk she will Merlion! Really gets on everyone's nerves. If she dun stop crying I will get post natal blues v soon!

Catherine, Elis dun want to sleep but at least she quietly let u carry.. My belle will fuss... Cries also.. Is driving me nuts n my parents r exhausted!

catherine,

no leh, my bb dun have yellow discharge from the eyes juz tat she has sensitive skin lor, and her rashes was quite bad in the 3th week - 5th week. Now okie liao, onward needs to wipe her frequently.

Bbliss - okay will update whether boy is engaged. I hope he is. hahahah, although I don't really think I'm prepared at 37 weeks today. :\ re. cold drink/water, i buey tahan hot weather. I guess I'm just not that discipline so after the 5th month I really couldn't take it and was introduced to bubble tea and since then drinking quite often. oops. Its like a craving. You are very discipline, which is great.

hazel/joanne - initially i also tot 3 hours then the agent (who told us to just get over and done with it) said 45 min can liao ah...initially husband read every page and memorize and I told him alamak no need lah. but the questions are quite 'moral education' type like the ones we used to take in school. so depends on your own pace.

Catherine - you are really slim at 45-46kg! That was like my wedding weight and then went up and stayed at 51-52kg. gaah i put on 14kg already, dreading the scales tomorrow.

Hi catherine,

Yu Guo sinseh is female, got 2 ladies so far. The guy one i read in other forum is seeing adults while the female ones see babies and children. There are around a couple of massagers doing the massage.

Tanny 99: I gained abt 8kg since Pre pregnancy n am on my 20th week, think we r on the same week. Doc said my baby wt was ok, guess at is on mine too.
My baby now 315g. What abt u ?

hazel,
You might wanna bring belle to see the PD, i suspect she might have reflux instead of colic. Cos if colic, baby's tummy will normally be hard, when they cry their fist will be clenched and legs up as well. But they won't merlion. Coz my sil's bb got reflux n abit of colic, she told me tat she brought her bb see PD and PD says hers is more to reflux cos reflux will merlion. Their symptoms are very closed and sometimes PD might also mistaken reflux for colic. For colic, normally PD will prescribe colic drops, it didn't work very well for clariss so we brought her to Yu GUO cos her tummy very hard, we went for like 6 times before she becomes better. By the way when does you give her grip water? My sil says grip water is best to give early in the morning, after her feed then maybe before her bath. Give her once per day. Don't give during evening time cos it makes BB stay wide awake and not able to sleep at nite ah.

Hazel,

Quick bring her see PD, cos colic is very painful for the bb tat's why they keep crying cos they can't talk and imagine them feeling so tired and can't sleep... the pain will come especially after a feed. Tats why they need to be carried upright with their tummy pressing against your body and you need to keep walking up and down to soothe them. The trick is to press their tummy against your body like koala hug, cos this helps to ease the cramping pain in their tummies.

Hazel,

I copied this from the web which fits exactly wat clariss is experiencing--:

"It is also important to remember that not all fussy babies suffer from colic. Most infants normally cry two to three hours per day, but this is usually spread out during the 24-hour period.

The crying or fussing most frequently begins suddenly and often after a feeding. The cry is loud and continuous, and the spells last from one to four hours. The baby's face often gets flushed or red. The belly is sometimes distended or prominent, the legs alternating between flexed and extended straight out; the feet are often cold and the hands clenched. The episodes, while they can occur at any time of the day or night, typically begin in the late afternoon or early evening, just when parents or caregivers are most exhausted. There are some babies who are more prone to infantile colic than others. It is generally believed that if one or both parents were colicky, their baby is more at risk. Infantile colic typically begins at about 2 to 3 weeks of age, reaches its peak at 2 months, begins to subside by 3 months, and is gone by 3 ½ to 4 months of age. But the frustrating fact remains that although one in four babies has colic and much research has been done on the topic, there is no one proven cause of colic."

Hazel,

colic is the worst pain a baby has thus experienced. It is usually manifested as an acute abdominal pain with intense spasmodic cramping, but since colicky babies cannot describe exactly what distresses them, it is hard for parents to know the precise cause of their distress. Infantile colic is most common in the first few weeks to four months of an infant's life; rarely does it endure past six months of age. Pediatricians often use the "Rule of Three" to diagnose colic: "A baby that cries for three or more hours per day, at least three times per week, within a three month period".

hazel,

Saw this under babycentre UK website on symptoms of reflux:-

What is reflux?
Reflux is what happens when your baby's stomach contents come back up into his food pipe (gullet or oesophagus) or even into his mouth. The long name for reflux is gastro-oesophageal reflux disease.

Babies get reflux because the muscular valve at the end of the food pipe, which acts to keep food in the tummy, hasn’t developed properly yet. This means that when your baby’s tummy is full, food and acid can come back up. This can cause him to bring up small amounts of milk (possetting) or even vomit.

During the first year of your baby's life, the muscular valve gradually gets stronger and better at keeping food down, so his chance of having reflux decreases. About half of babies will get some reflux during their first three months, but it’s only a real problem for a small percentage of these. By 10 months only about five per cent of babies have reflux (CKS 2009, Rudolph et al 2001).
How will I know if my baby has reflux?
Your baby may bring up a little milk after a feed or have hiccups. He may occasionally cough after bringing up milk if a little has gone "down the wrong way".

This is normal and as long as your baby is otherwise well, you don't need to worry (CKS 2009). Just make sure you always have a tissue or muslin cloth to hand. Both formula-fed and breastfed babies can have reflux.
Should I take my baby to see a doctor?
Bringing up a little milk after feeds is nothing to worry about. But speak to your health visitor or doctor if you notice any of the following:

* your baby's reflux is happening more than five times a day on a regular basis
* your baby cries excessively after feeds
* your baby regularly vomits
* your baby coughs a lot after feeds

Are there any treatments for reflux?
If your baby’s reflux is mild, and he’s still feeding well and isn’t too upset by it, then the following may help:

* hold your baby upright for up to 20 minutes after each feed (Jung 2001, Medline 2009)
* try giving your baby smaller but more frequent feeds (AAFP 2008, CKS 2009, Jung 2001, Sandritter 2003)
* if you bottle feed your baby, burp him every two or three minutes during feeds

Hi eveline
Hee.. Think me around same wk as u too.. Hv u done ur detail scan? Me so far gain 2kg.. My both bbies weigh around 330g at 19th wk.. I am worry tt at the pace my bbies r growing, will they hv space in my womb??;( my boy weight 3.8kg last time n i total only gain 10kg.. After boy is born, i left only 2kg to reduce.. My hb tall so tt explain why bb big but with two in me, i really worry no space for them n result in preterm then how??? I think now my 2kg weight gain all goes to my bbies n not me... But am very glad they r growing well though..;) hv u start feel ur bb kick??

Hi kimmy n hazel
Thks.. Since is logical question, i just breeze thru the course then..;)

Eveline / Joanne: bb abt 33 something g.. Yes also in my 20 week. I din gain any in my tri 2. But from beginning of tri 2 I just shoot up by 6-7kg.. Scary! Help! Bb also not huge leh.. Maybe good appetite but I still vomit a bit once a mth or few weeks previously.. Strange..

Chris, I suspect elis has colic. Will monitor again today if necessary send her to yuguo later or my gp.

Hazel, she kept quiet 2 nights ago. Last night she cried badly ESP when I carry her. Really suspect cos I no flesh. She woke everyone up this morning. I even scolded my dad last night. He kept scolding my hubby, my mum and I for constantly carrying elis. I said angrily if we dun carry u want her to wake everyone up? really my dad is of no help. Create a mess for my car - failed inspection now iu also got problem. Still want to say my hb for his laziness in exercising, and how come he can carry elis so well. My dad told my hb he dare not carry bb. Full of rubbish! I was juz surprise he din announce to the whole world elis is born. I kept complaining my dad attitude towards elis to my mum and the mess my dad create. Argh

Joanne, if u have pain when u pee means u r likely to have uti. Go c gp to test yr urine.

Chris I also want to give fm to Elis at night but my mum object. Now can only wait till i go home I call the shots. Last night my mum took care of elis and when i juz did the feeding Elis has lots of wind sigh... I wish all is well today and my dad stop giving me trouble if not i sure get post natal blues

Joanne : relax.. U seem to me to worry too much.. Doc says yr bb are growing well right? They r pple having triplets n even quads; how? When u put in 2 embbies will know have twins right? Relax ok... Let nature takes it course as long as doc says all is fine is good... Yrs is going well right? Worry too much babies also will be affected... Btw r u a vey gan cheong person? Let yr bb relax ok?

I hv been relaxed until eat too much! Doc now shake his head and say cannot like that go on.. Got to wath what I eat now.. Sigh..

Thks Catherine.. But if today pee no longer pain.. Does tt mean no uti?? Thk u.

Hi Tanny
Ya, after so many bad experience, i tend to not able to take things lightly...;( but hv been telling myself to relax alot already.. Still hv some worries here n there till i carry my bundle of joys in my both arm.. Hv been drinking two cups of milk per day for the calcium and glad tt i hv gain only 2kg till date.. I read tt u r thinking of eating pills, if can.. Is still better to take ur calcium via milk or cheeze..

Catherine,

Try to do the bb massage tat nadia did for bb, tat is clockwise circular around the belly button area. Tat helps to remove wind. Colic babies need to be carried, hb at 1st like your dad also didn't know and thought that the more we carry her the more she wants to be carried. Until i brought to his attention tat she could be suffering from colic and we brought her to GP to confirm our suspicion. Only my carrying them and movign around will ease their pain cos if letting them lie down on the bed the pain will be more intense as the wind will be stuck there.

catherine,

alot of people especially the older generation dunnoe about colic, they just know got wind apply ru yi oil lor. Like my elder brother-in-law, fil told me that when he was a baby also cried like mad and has to be carried the whole nite..They were so tired taking turns carrying him. He has the same symptoms as clariss but last time people dunnoe is colic. It lasted a few weeks for them. When you massage for bb, try to use the bb massage oil or ru yi oil for them it helps to expel wind in their stomach.

Better to bring to GP to check to confirm.

Anyway way very common for bbs to have colic, cos alot of my frens bbs also have ah.

clariss just woke up around 9.30am, had her milk milk, after burping her i left her in her baby cot with her musical mobile to entertain her while i hang up my laundry and prepare her bath. she'll make alot of baby sounds like talking to the musical mobile animals ah..and then started giggling.

Chris and hazel, I m v. V b v v glad that I brought elis to yu GUo. The lady sinseh said we overfed her and there r lots of wind in her tummy. She did massage and elis cried v v v v badly. Sinseh ask us to ignore her. We must go for the next 2days. Let's hope this helps her.

Chris I did what Nadia did but still dun work on elis. That's y this morning we rush her in. Glad that I insist!

Catherine & Chris, I am at Yu Guo now. My dad came on TW morning to take a number. 2 hrs later I came Down no need to queue. Was told belle is v bloatEd. Tui Na for 3 days she will be well n will sleep...

Hazel,cAtherine

Yup babies no need to q got priority. Mine tui na for 6 days ah..shag cos can only bring her over after hb finish work and rush there and reach around 8pm.

Just managed to coax clariss to sleep ah, but very tough to make her sleep lor, she wakes up easily in the afternoon, and as she's very sleepy she'll be cranky if she can't sleep. However when she at my in-law's place she can sleep thro cos fil will carry her to sleep and they know how to prolong her sleep ah, like if she wakes up 1/2 way they know how to pat her back to sleep.
Clariss a light sleeper and wakes up very easily and get startled easily too. So when she sleep in fil's bed, fil will sit beside her and watch over her. She now sleeping in her bouncer in the livingroom...

Hazel,

so nice u stay so near to YU GUO can just walk over anytime tomorrow. Good to go in the morning as less crowd. Mine tui na for 6 days cos sinseh says bb got phelgm in the chest. The 1st time i bring her to tui na, she keep kicking and boxing non-stop super active till the tui na shi laugh at her ah and she giggled all the way when they massage her tummy, think is ticklish, however she dun like the part where the massage her spine and back cos she cried.

hazel,

alamak she just woke up again...hiazzzzzzzzzzzz...
my fren will always say when bb sleep u juz sleep lor.. how to when mine light sleeper keep waking up and then if she can't sleep she'll fuss and cry. I tried not to let her cry cos once bb cries wind will go in and her tummy will be bloated ah...

Hazel,catherine

I'm sooo sleepy ah, the toughest time is from 2-6pm cos that's the time when i most sleepy and hope to catch a nap but can't. Can't even do much housework. I envy my sil's bb who's now 4mths and knows how to entertain herself. Mine very good mood when she wakes up in the morning and after her very 1st feed, she'll laugh and giggled but during afternoon if she can't sleep will be cranky..

Month-end approaching, i abit worried cos will be left alone with bb for the nite as hbs will work till 3am+ during mth-end and i'll have to handle her last feed and coax her to bed as well as nitefeeding.

Does your hbs help with nitefeeding etc...

Hazel and Chris, how would the sinseh method work when my mum is soft hearted and feed Elis when we were told she is over fed. Told my mum not to give her she said give a bit lesser la. Faint. I only hope elis can sleep thru and b a gd gal today.

Hazel, like what Chris sat bb get priority. Y u still want no 1 q? I think I may skip sat session and go on sun. Sat no car. Hubby may need car for voluntary work. My mum said no to take mrt there.

Chris, surprisingly I was not told to change my diet. I thought I will b scolded haha... I v greedy. My tcm did tell me I can't take cold drinks or preserved food or canned food. I broke all rules during pregnancy. Now have to follow strictly b4 i c him again.

Joanne, best to get it tested. It will haunt u ....

Okay! Today's visit was good and short wait time again
dr loh passed me pink invite (aka admission slip) and all the documents needed. Haha he's so funny said he's printing all out cuz kena nag by delivery nurses how come no documents. Baby measured 2.7kg as at 35w+ on the screen cux no more space to measure circumference already. I told him my dream 2 nights ago only taking 4 pushes and baby's out. And he said possible! Strep b test negative. And scheduled me to see him 2 wks later but said twice will probably meet my ping pong ball in delivery ward. Ha ha ha!