(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Chris, belle just Merlion big big time.. N cried non stop! Tried to give her somemore milk but she refused to take.. Can tell she is sleepy.. Dozed off in my arm but shortly started wailing again! I wan to break down Leow as this goes on for more than an hr! Called my mum n now she is helping me take care.. I go catch a wink n later I take over.... Sigh...

Chris & Neil, how much milk your bbs are taking now? Belle has been drinking 90ml of also stagnant for wks..

I had to call my mum over yesterday coz she kept crying since 10pm plus.. Then 11pm 3 hourly feed she Merlion... Vomited alot of milk. I can't soothe her n I know she is v tired but dun seem to be able to fall into deep sleep n quite crying after 5-10mins.. My mum managed to soothe her to sleep & slept with her till abt 5am where I fed her. Thereafter, she din wan to sleep & keeps fussing.. Just passed her over to my mum at my bro's place. She put her in 摇篮 now to sleep.. I dunno how... Almost every night is a nightmare n my mum said I m torturing her coz when she put her in Yao LAN, no issue...

Hazel,

clariss has being drinking around 100ml EBM and FM for the past 2wks.. But at my in-law's place yesterday they say tat i might wan to increase her feed cos after feeding her she still suckle eventho the milk gone liao and made some bb sounds like she wanted somemore. But at times when we increase her feed to 120 she can't finish le and wasted around 30-40ml.....

Last nite after the massage, on our way home clariss cried all the way home ah, like in pain, refuse to take milk when its her feeding time. 1st time like tat, so hb took over to carry her while i drive instead. Went home coax her to sleep around 8pm++ then around 10pm gave her her last feed lor... My ear drums nearly broke when i carry her close to my chest and shoulder and she screaming and crying all the way ah.

It is advisable if at times you really can't take her wailing to get help from family members or friends. Like calling your mum to take over for a while, while u take an 30-1hr minute break.

Hazel,

dun worry every bb is different like my gal only can put yao lan in the 1st day, 2nd day she dun like ya lan liao ah...faintz...and she'll start crying in yao lan only after my in-laws have left and me alone ah...faint double faint. So now i lay her sleep tummy down very good she slept through. You might wan try this method, ask your mum how to do it cos they might know how.

Hazel,

I'm going over to my in-laws' place later and bring bb along.. like tat can take a breather. My fil will come over to fetch me later around 11am++.
Now counting down cos my little princess going to wake up soon. She slept at 10.30pm last nite and woke up at 4.20am asking for milk. I prepared and hbs took over and feed her. She has being sleeping from 5am, i quickly wake up around 7.20am to pump cos if not i won't have time. Nowadays my milk supply went down cos no time to pump ah....

Hazel,

Did you buy this issue's Mother and Baby magazine? quite informative got 1 section teaches us how to put bb to sleep at nite. I read it and found tat hbs has being using all the methods there before cos all the while is hbs put her to bed... its a routine and clariss knows its time for bed.
You might wanna buy the issue and read...i read it to destress...heehee

I hv been having sleepless nite nowadays.. I can sleep then wake up around 3+ then I can't sleep for an hr then go bk to sleep again. Almost everyday like this... Hw ar?

Chris, belle does not wan to lie on tummy to sleep. Anyway, will pass to my mum to take care. I believe 手气 v impt. I dun wan her to keep fussing. Wan her to sleep more n she will be in cheery mood. I brought her to my mum at 6plus after feeding her n she still fussed n eyes big big. My mum put her in Yao LAN (but nv Rock her) and she fell in deep sleep.. Slept till 9plus which Yao LAN stationary... Now feeding her

Hi Joanne, thanks for the reminder, yes now I recall Sashamama EDD is few days behind me heee.... I think us singleton should be 4 weeks scan interval next, I'm ok with it as long as can pass detail scan well

Sashamama, good on you for signing up with the package!! Same here, both the recep and dr Loh were quite against me signing up, dr Loh actually said to me if I do sign up, I shouldn't attend the night clinics anymore, so I can free up space for his new patients
aiyah, say until like that....but we didn't sign up eventually cos hubby prefers night clinics. For adenomyosis, my SIL has it too and already has 2 kids. She took TCM to keep her condition under control plus surgery then. So hoping that everything will be smooth for you and the condition will improve over time, JY!!

Faithfully, I started experiencing sleeplessness 2-3 weeks ago too. For me, it was my nose, in the air con room, wasn't functioning too well cos I read during 2nd trimester, blood vessels will increased inside the nose and hence resulting in irritations (for me, 1 nostril was full of mucus, other nostril was super dry). Since, I've started using air humidifier, now I can sleep through the night except to wake up at abt 3am for 1 pee session. Do you know what's your cause of sleeplessness?

I also find that my hunger pangs have come back...lol...have to eat every 2 hrs, worse than first trimester, sigh
perhaps it's baby growing but appetite doesn't seem to have improved. I used to feel full after 1 bowl of wanton noodles soup, now, I'll feel hunger after 1 hr if I have that...so weird...

Hazel,
I don't know how much my gal drinks. And I lost track of her feeding frequency n duration. I just latch her on whenever she ask for feed. I too busy w the shifting n buying stuff for new place. We threw away almost everything when we do this reno. so now got to get those things again, broom, mop, pail, kettle, etc. I only manged to clean up the master bedroom n baby room last night so that we can sleep, only managed to hit my bed at 3;30am. This morning 9am the contractors report to work already. They come over to do the remaining stuff. Another round of massive cleaning tonight.

Hazel, get help if you can't cope. Don't break down ya.
I m also trying to tong. Managing the Reno work outside, delivery of TV n stuff, unpacking, feeding, cleaning all by myself till my hb back tonight. He lagi jia lak! Just called him, his ward full n 6 patient in v critical stage n he alr tired cos he also slept at 3am n got up at 7am for work.

Hi Hazel,

think maybe you can consider taking up part time domestic housecleaning svs so that u have more time to rest.

taking care of new born is really not easy and have to find own time to breathe too..i know is easier said than done cos i tink that next time i will also be like you ...cos i have no maid too ..mum live quite far from me so dun have the luxury to call her when i needed help. but she did say can come as and when to help out...

Kimmy, Vann, BBliss : soon will be your big D day hehehe waiting axiously together with you all hehee

J03 & Sasha: Good to hear that all went well for detailed scan. J03 : yours is two gals or one gal one boy? i tink i miss it or what.....

Nell : i find that you are a wonder woman leh..cos u can cope with so many changes at one go which i find can be quite stressful and also need time to adapt...

Hi chris baby,

envy u have in laws to help out...mi likely dun have cos have to rely on my mum alone only heheh ...she will help me to do my marketing for all the fresh food during confinement period too...

oh yes, today ST pampers got discount ...2 for 33.50 for size M n L - i tink is NTUC...for those whom need to stock up ...can do so..but not sure issit the price cheaper in other promotion hehe

Sunbelle, part time helper does not solve the prob.. Can't possibly wait till part time Helper is here then do laundry, washing & sterilizing of bottles,breast pump, etc right? When bb starts to crawl, need to mop floor everyday.. Now I only sweep daily.. Bed sheets I change wkly.. Bb and ours coz bb lies on it. Her stuff, I change daily.. Even a swaddle towel or blanket & bath towel.. After returning to work, at night still must do chores? Then how to spend time with our bb? These days, bb all wan to be carried n nap time is short on the bed /cot after 1st month... Still need to express milk.. Anyway, when yrs is born u will knw wat I mean..

My arm n hands feel dumb at times n fingers r still stiff...

Neil, u must be cleaning the house aftEr bb sleeps at night? Your poor hubby,.. He needs to be alert given his nature of work.. Like this how ah?

Hi Hazel,

guess after hearing what you have mentioned, hiring a maid full time might help to alleviate some of the chores issues.....esp now HFMD is on the rise, everything have to sterlise to play safe....

Sunbelle, no more privacy with maid! Also need to find space for her too.. If there is a choice, I wun wan.. Though belle is with my mum since 6am.. N I brought her bk to shower at 10am before bringing her bk to my mum.. I hv been biz with chores n expressing... Now still going belle's laundry after I finished ours.. I dun hv to do ironing.. If not can die.. Now still hv toilets to clean.. Just taking a break reading forum..

I wld love to Spend time with belle n do my things in afternoon But she wan to be Carried n fuss.. Even if she nap in Pm, unless I accompany her if not 30mins she will be awake.. How to do my own things? Expressing milk need to ask my mum to watch her too before I can do.. At night same thing.. By the time I Finallycoax her to sleep us 12-1am!! N I start as early as 9-10pm to coax her.. I where got energy to do my own things from 1am onwards? Furthermore, 3-4 hrs later still need to wake up n feed..

Chris, u still got time for mother & bb magazine? My subscribed her world & women weekly magazines r here fr weeks, I dub even hv time to read! Daily newspaper also no time to flip..

I m going facial & shopping later.. Need to get my sanity back! Will catch my sleep during facial..

Hazel, enjoy your "Me" Day. The contractor so nice, ordered delivery for me. Luckily my hubby good w household chores n he do faster than me. So tomorrow no work can faster catch up before my friends n son arrived at 8pm for school holiday break. Her sleep so short hours, of wait till she sleep no need to do work Liao. I do those clearing n unpacking carry her if need be, n mopping n cleaning while she sleep.
My hubby say he ok, cos his earlier years can work like 100 hours a week while the rest of us is like 40-44 hours per week. During Sars period he din even go home for a month. So, this one still small case.

Sunbelle, me no wonder woman just deal with the situation as it comes. With a little planning you can achieve a lot. Like I know I need to feed for 30min at least, so before I latch her on, then I put clothes in washing machine, by the time i finished feeding, laundry is done, n I can hang it cos normally after feed she will nap for a while. 3 feed can wash 3 round of clothes liao, white, colored n baby clothes. Even we are shifting now, we feed while driving on the road to shopping centre, while waiting for our food in restaurant, so that can shop n eat in peace. But of cos can't take our own sweet time. Just hit target n execute our task in shortest time.

Ladies, found a new trick! Bought a musical mobil for my girl's cot last night fix it up just now. She love it!!!! When I move she will kick n laugh n when music stop, she cry.

Neil, u r a superwoman!!!! My hubby did fix the musical toy on my gal she is not interested at all .

Hazel, I took yr advise... Today got to bring my princess for check up and my dad for his high blood check. Dad had a bit of chest pain. Did ECG still ok. I was like running from one room to the other. Luckily my mum was around to carry elis and Feed Elis while I went to the docs room with my dad. Next weds again must bring these 2 for check up. The way I walk and carry my bag I was thinking of u... Damn stress. Over lunch I asked my mum what's her plan for retirement. She said dun know cos nothing to do if she retire. My mum said she will miss elis after taking care of her for 1 mth. I then took the chance to ask her to tell her to opt for flexi hours ie she worked in the morning and afternoon she go to my infant care centre and fetch elis back. That will allow me and my hubby to concentrate on our work and not rush home. She din
Give me an answer ... Later I will ask my hubby to talk to her. I will still put Elis in full day infant care in case my parents wants to travel or no time to pick her up. If that works my mum can help me do elis laundry and I could have proper meals and concentrate on my new job if i do get one

Catherine, u hv to prepare all the fm /emb quantity for all her feeds daily n bring to infant care. If Elis drinks 100ml per feed 6x a day.. U need to prepare all the feeds ready.. Ebm, infant care will just take the bottle per feed n warm up. Fm, they will just put water inside to made.. That is just on feeding.. Her clothes, towel, etc u need to prepare a few set daily.. Hope your mum will help u with that.. Not just laundry.. If not, every night n early morning, u will be biz with all these..

Hi Bbliss, for my niece, in air con, she only covers with the white linen-like TMC clothe at night, from birth, the one Wong Boi Boi recommends (the swaddle clothe). Even now she just turned 1, still only using that cos she's quite afraid of heat. I think for babies more afraid of cold, will need blanket and something thicker...but not sure what the others use.

Hazel, Catherine, when you pen down the tasks, reorg the schedule. It is not as scary. I was a single mom, with a demanding job n still managed to finish my master part time, share w u my experience:

Clothes:
I normally pack over the weekends the whole week stuff for day care for my son. I have 7 zip log bags for bring to school, I will place uniforms, t shirts n shorts n for long pants for napping in the bag. So every night, empty the dirty laundry put in washing machine, then place a new bag in there. I dry the laundry indoor, and only keep as and when I free. During the weekend, that 1 hour sort it out n ready for next week.

Milk: As for FM, I get 3 long dispenser 9 feeds (even when at home), every night I pack in the right amount of FM into the dispenser one shot, so anytime just kock kock kock into bottle, eye close also can. I do myself then pass to any care giver also no need to worry abt the amount. Every night after packing FM, then re-wash all 8 bottles, then press the sterilize before sleep. Next morning cool down (in case not clean), just fix it up n put in bags for school. Abt 30-45min job at night. Abt 15min job in morning. Whether go child care, put my mom place, with my maid I do the same.

Solid food: I prep the menu for a week, buy food over the weekend, wash, cut, grind/blend and portion them into lunch n dinner for 7 days, and freeze it immediately. Then every meal just take 1 box out from freezer and put into steamer, and serve w 1 serving of brown rice mixed w milk. Total time required for food prep including washing abt 2-3hrs.

Hi bbliss
We dun use blanket or comforter as is dangerous whereby it may cover his face when he kicks.. I use clean 尿布 to cover only since my boy dun sleep in aircon room for first mth.. If in aircon room, can use light blanket or swaddle cloth..

Hi hazel
Asks ur hubby to help in the chores at night else u cant handle so many things.. Tts how we do last time without a maid too.. Nowadays guys cannot be mcp, hv to help..

J03, if I dun hv energy to do house work I dun expect him to do.. My mum has been doing for me thru out pregnancy. Now with a bb, I can't expect her to do.

I went to 2 agencies just now. Can't find anyone suitable yet..

Neil, thx for sharing. I believe I would do the same. Clothes- my hb told me either we machine wash or leave it when either of us r showering, we hand wash quickly. I also sun my clothes indoor except for weekends. For food, he told me the priority is on elis. If my proposal to my mum works well she will settle elis dinner. What we were do then is we can eat out b4 gg to pick elis up. We r easy even a quick dinner is fine with us. Even if my proposal dun work, I will precook in the morning and put in my magic pot. Then 3 of us will eat the same food. Hb dun mind. I m v used to cook my dinners in the morning b4 I shower.

For the feeds like what hazel describe I will prepare every night. Some chores must delegate. Got to make my hb help out more even wake up earlier. Luckily infant care got no uniform. So juz prepare way in advance. To b v honest if my big boss can handle her bb while juggling with her work then y can't I? Must think positively.

Nell, u r v capable.. I Dun hv that kind of energy as you. Now, I need to go tcm n do accupuncture.. My fingers joint are still and numb all the times now.. At night, when I wake up to feed belle, even worse.. Hands feel really weak.. Sigh..

Hazel, mine on my left wrist strained n my mid finger feeling "stuck" while i m still in confinement. I use wrist guard to reduce the strain on my wrist when carrying. You try. And for the finger, my hb suggest u make a conscious effort to exercise them. Now ok already. But do come back sometimes then gone again when i rest my wrist.

Dear gals,

My scan showed baby growing bigger with strong heartbeat. But what I was worrying about for 2 weeks came true. Baby is in the same position as two weeks ago, facing down with part of my swollen uterus (caused by adenomyosis) in baby's way right under baby. Baby has no space to turn at all. Arm and leg movement were very little. Bones look ok so far.

Am so sad that baby is well but my womb is not able to give baby a good environment to grow. Doc gave me aspirin to thin my blood (dunno if it'd work) and also MC for the next 2 weeks till my detailed scan on 22nd March.

Any gals with adenomyosis and swollen uterus affecting baby's position and growth? Pls share with me ya? Thanks!

Hi sunbelle,

yup my in-laws only help me out for 2-3hrs a day during lunchtime, then i'm on my own liao. Got lots of laundry to wash up daily. Have gotten use to nitefeeds cos clariss only wakes up around 4-5am for 1 feed. But is really tough to climb up from bed to feed her ah..me and hb take turns. Sometimes i made the milk and pass to hbs while he feeds and burbs her.

Hazel,
yesterday my gal also cries after bringing her home from my in-laws. She cries fr 8.30-9.30pm..she's very sleepy and wants to sleep but wants to be carried to sleep. Hbs lost his patience on her yesterday cos is not really her nap time and whenever he leave her down in her cot she started to cry...hbs say she's used to being carried to sleep like in my in-law's place my fil loves to carry her to sleep. So he refuse to carry her and let her cry. No choice i take over lor, wow can hear her screaming at my ears. She soothed down after being carried n doze off but once we leave her down on the bed she'll wake up ah. Then by 9.30am, its her last feeding time so my hbs fed her milk and coax her to bed then she'll finally sleep.

now i understand why my mom ask me to get a maid...i also dun wan, no privacy and all the horror stories... but when i see you mommies sharing your tough times...i start to worry how i can handle.. even now with just 2 of us alone, i also dun do housework, i get a p/t maid to do for me... really dunno how i can manage.. ask my p/t to come 3x a week? think its gg to be more ex than a maid is it? my p/t maid says its cheaper to recruit a maid since im hving a bb now...my folks are reminding me to start recruiting maid now - it will be too late when bb arrives cos i need to train her too. aiya.. sianzzz...such a dilemna..my mom stays faraway.... no luxury of someone popping by to help.... and one of my colleague ask me to be a stay home mom if i can afford it.. with one, i dunno if i wan to. with twins, of cos very easy to decide..

is it worth to sign up package? i always take day time off to see doc. nvr attend weekend/ night clinics.. so i shld go for package too.

Hazel,

i read the magazine during my sparetime doing pedicure at tampines1 after opening CDA account as bb with in-laws. my toe nails are all stained after the herbal bath ah..finally find time to go clean up manz...
i missed spa and massage and nadia's massage ah. Now neck, shoulders aching, fingers stiff and backache ah...
Mil going 8 day tour next week, i'l lbe on my own and hbs might fetch me to in-law's place early in the morning where i'll stay there for lunch.

All this talk about agencies..I'm also desperately on the hunt for one before I pop. MIL's request to hire one before baby comes. Oh goodness. Either agencies tell me they are short on supply or give me transfer ones to review but these are the ones who hide having a mobile phone from employer, can't get along with employer etc. headache. Spoke to 5 agencies & will continue my search. Haha. I need help to wash bb clothes and items apart from general housecleaning which my mil is obviously not doing after her little drama last weekend. Alamak.

Hi nell,

When clariss is awake in the morning, i leave her at her bb cot and switch on the "music mobile" with the tiny animals hanging and she loves the music and the movement and swinging of the animal toys swing pass her head, this helps to keep her "entertain" for like 20-30mins while i quickly dry my laundry, pump milk (if got time) or catch a quick bfast normally cereal. Her patience normally wears off around 30mins cos she's waiting for her bath time. So i muz quickly prepare everything. I'll only check on her if she calls for me if not i leave her alone.

Hi Tronso, bbliss,

I'm using the swaddle clothe that i bought during wong boi boi's class to swaddle her at nite. I put on PJs and on aircon around 26 degree.

Chris, will Clariss sit on car sear if she is awake? Belle wun Loh.. Can only put in car seat when she is sleeping.. Same for sling..

hazel, nell, catherine
I'll do most of the hsework if i can when hbs is home cos i leave bb with him so tat he can spend quality time with his gal after work and also for me to take a break. Then once our bb is asleep around 10pm, we will rush to do other things such as wash her laundry, sterlise all the bottles and prepare 1 feeding bottle with cold water in it so tat when its nitefeeding we jus need to add in the required hot water and milk powder.

wow hazel, envy you le can go facial,and massage heehee... actually i missed my shopping days, i'm a shopaholic hahaa loves to shop and go for sales. Yesterday, brought my gal to in-laws place for lunch so tat they dun have to travel down and prepack food for me. They came to fetch me cos hbs at work. Then mil asks me join her go for a quick shopping at isetan pte sale yesterday. It was really crowded. Didn't really get to see my own stuff, just went to have a quick peep at bb's stuff, after discount still v ex.

Chris, u r damn lucky. Clariss only wakes up for 1 feed? Hazel, summer does yr gal wake up for a feed too?? Mine dun even sleep at 10pm. She has her own pattern. At night she wakes up every 3 hrs for feed and her timing is v prompt. Not even late for 5mins.

Usually my hb carries her I heat up breast milk, he feed her. I pump out milk for next feed. I do wish elis wakes up only for 1 feed and sleep by 10.

Elis juz hd her feed and my hubby taught her to hold her milk bottle and surprisingly she holds it v well, my mum and her fren who came over were all laughing at elis. This is the small action that makes us think it's worth while to lose our sleep.

Kimmy, hazel, tanny, my fren got her maid from a maid agent at elias mall and her maid is v guai. Would u like me to check with her the maid agent no?

Kimmy, quickly go find. I just made a deposit to reserve 2 to interview next wk before anyone take it from CrisLo aganey at katong shopping centre. It has quite a no of indo domestic helper. One is ex SG and another is ex HK. Both have ready passport.

Hi hazel,

Clariss will sit in the car seat when she's awake as she enjoys the car ride and looking at the view from the rear window and very soon she'll doze off. If she's cranky normally we'll give her a pacifier to soothe her and bring along her little beanie pillow and pat on her and she'll fall asleep. She got 2 beanie pillow, one big and one small. The small one we norm bring along when we bring her out.

Catherine,

Clariss used to wake up every 3 hrs at nite for her feed before she was 5wks old and when she's 5wks+ we manage to catch her pattern and she is able to prolong her sleep. My sil's bb very good at 3 wks, she is able to sleep from 9pm - 9am. She has a very big appetite and after her last feed at 9pm she'll sleep through the nite. So envy ah..

I read in the baby magazine that cos new borns have smaller stomach, so they can't hold much milk tats why they get hungry easily and not able to prolong their sleep at nite. However when they grow older and stomach gets bigger they are able to hold more milk and maybe cereal which helps to keep them full tats why they can sleep through the nite.

.Now she's 7wks old and we just brought her to her health assessment done by a GP at our house nearby. Clariss is now 58cm, weighs 4.9kg and drinks 120ml milk. This young GP chap says that we are overfeeding her cos of her weight. But we told him we only feed her on demand, ie when she cries and normally 3-4hrs apart. Then he says its fine.

Chris, How to catch her pattern? I m breaking down too. My hubby thinks its fun to feed elis when she is lying down. What's the effect? Elis breathe so deeply since 5pm. Juz now he has his taste of medicine. Elis refused to b put down. He juz had to carry her and walk around the room while I pump milk. Told him to watch over her even when he puts her down he went to sleep. I had to yell. I told my hubby I m already suffering. Pumping milk every few hrs, lack of sleep, face crying elis, weather so hot. I really want to give up breast milk feeding. Tiring leh.... Elis is 53cm now and 4kg. I know it's over weight what to do... She cries very 3 hours and we give her 100 Ml

Catherine, My mum said Toh long yesterday after taking care for 1 full night.  In the end got to put her in Yao LAN at night too if not she wakes up my bro n the kids! 

My mum asked me to take care myself at night.
I better Confirm a maid soon... Sigh...

Wah hazel, yr mum give up so soon.... Hope u get a maid soon. Not forgetting the training u need to give to maid, hopefully by end April u can b more relaxed.

My mum dug out a big piece of sai fro elis nostril juZ now. C whether my hubby dare to play with Elis feeding anymore. See her suffering last night v heart pain. Oh ya I request Nadia to extend my massage she said no need cos my tummy has Shrunk a lot. My mum has v gd impression of Nadia and said she is v honest. Hope my bones can take it b4 I go to my usual massage on 31st

Catherine, for maid, I m looking for ex SG or Ex hk / TW, indo. So, she can speak proper English and mandarin/canto for those ex TW/HK. N has taken care of bb before. Married & has kids. So, experienced maid... And expensive Training is more on the way how I want things to be done.

My parents rented their Plc n staying with my bro's family. He has 2 kids. If belle fusses n cries thru out the night, it will wake up everybody. My bro works v late.. Sleep a few hrs a night. If belle wakes him up still, how he works next day?

Dear Tanny,
Do u mean Dr Loh's package? The recep probably won't let you sign. Cos it is only worth it if u go 10 times from now till delivery. Your pregnancy stable so u only seeing him once every 3-4 weeks right? Then you won't hit 10 times.

Nobody seemed to notice what I posted abt my worrying condition about my baby...

I recall a few gals with adenomyosis here but I have forgotten who. Can you please share with me how did it affect your pregnancy? I would really appreciate more info. Thanks in advance!

Catherine,

My bb will wake up for 1 to 2 night feed depends on what time she sleep. Yesterday carried her one hr before she fall asleep at 1am. Shag....