(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

hazel, catherine nell

Good Morning!!!

yesterday gave my gal her last feed at 10pm+ cos came back late after Yu guo massage. She slept till 6am. She woke up around 4.40am and made baby sounds but we ignore her cos we are trying to drag her feeding time at nite so tat she can sleep thro the nite... only when she cries then we feed her. My hb normally tucks my gal to bed and he knows her pattern v well, he'll dim the lights and on the aircon then he'll pat and carry her till she doze off before tucking her to bed in her cot. heehee cos i got no patience ah...especially when she cries when i carry her or if i put her down. nowadays she doesn't sleep that long, the longest time she can stay asleep is 2hrs+ ie yesterday when i tried to let her sleep on her tummy to prolong her sleep cos sarong doesn't work on her liao.. She change pattern daily ah so i also got to try alot of ways to make her sleep cos if not she'l lbe very cranky ah..

Chris, I started at 10 plus yesterday after her milk feed, carrying belle n patting her to sleep. But the moment I put her down in her cot, she woke up & cried. Carried her again n she continuEd to cry for quite a while, 10-15mins. I repeated the cycle again all the way till 1pm where It was time for her nxt feed again! After that feeding, I was so tired already n placed her in b/w hub & I but yet she fussed. Close to 2am then I managed to make her sleep next to me. My cot training failed! A few nights Leow....

Chris, u had a gd rest whereas mine is opposite. Brought her to gp cos we saw dried blood at her umbilical cord. When she reach home that's it cried and cried non stop. Even past midnight she refuses to stop. My hb gave up. I then sleep with her in the living room still can't calm her down and my mum took over. Guess my mum din sleep until 5am. Touch her tummy juz now seems like there is wind. Hope Nadia can help cos I m barred from gg out

Hi hazel,

your belle used to sleep with you and hb on the bed rite? Maybe she is used to your hb and your scent. You might wanna try rubbing her favourite pillow, or beannie on your body and placed it the cot. Saw the programme at Channel U on how wong boi boi taught the actor Su Zhicheng to do it. Maybe it might work. I only had a good nite sleep last nite, dunnoe if tonite will be okie. My gal doesn't sleep long nowadays in the afternoon and always fusses and wakes up every 10-20mis and needs to be patted or carried. faintz ah....
She's now still sleeping after her 6am feed, which is miracle cos normally she wakes up very early like me and i'll be super busy liao...

Chris, belle slept in her cot in first mth. Afternoon time then she naps on my bed with me.. I got lots of chores to do today & now she wants to be carried! I hv yet I have breakfast! Cleaned her poo twice since she woke up, fed her n now just showered her.

Kimmy, any good buys fr Aussino ? Mi have taken leave on this fri to do my last min shopping spree.... Hehe....

Went to MOthercare sale on e 1st day but e queue was terribly long so gave up. Till nw yet to go

Seeing sisters who have popped have such great difficulties taking care of their bbs, mi gotta abit KC n scare coz I oso scare dunnoe hw to handle my gal... The feeding part oso seems challenging.

my little devil just woke up ard 8.50am and cry ...its feeding time!!! Heng ah i had her EBM ready in time if not she'll tear the roof down.

heng ah hb on leave today, if not i go crazy..he just came bk and now i munching my breakfast. Still praying for her to poo poo ah. Going to shower her shortly after i finish my sausage mac muffin with egg. So damn hungry.

Rem tat I ever read in this forum abt e ru Yi oil for babies. It was mentioned tat for bbs ones are in those paper box packaging.

Went to cheong choon last week but was told there no different ru yi oil for bbs or kids. They r all in e metal containers.

Pls advice if anyone really did buy e ru Yi oil for bbs. Thx.

Good morning, ladies!

Landed yesterday at abt 5pm. Check in at hotel at TST at 7pm. Dinner at 8:30pm then back to our house to check on the renovation work at 10pm. We had a long long day, only managed to bathe her and tuck her in at 1:30am.

Just had my breakfast n feeding her now. Hubby out to run errands, send my car for servicing cos I din drive my car for so long n he also no time to chk on it, then realised car batt flat flat. Need to jump start n go chg batt.

Cold front coming this weekend. Later need to go downstairs n buy some jeans cos I still can't fit my pre preg jeans, legs ok but can't zip.
I have no time to get Nadia to massage for me. So sad whenever I look at my tummy.

Update on our flight! My gal din cry during take off n landing. She was sleeping throught. Feed her before we board and once on board. As usual, she don't like to sleep alone, so we place her inside the bassinet when she is asleep after take off, then she cry cry cry. We ended up carrying her throughout the whole trip with her belt on so that she wont drop when the adult doze off. I latched her on as we are about to land but she only suck for 5 min then doze off again. We were waiting for her to cry when she feel the ear pressure but instead we saw her swallowing her saliva. Clever girl!!! More trips coming!!!!

FYI, infant ticket (no seat) is not exactly 10% of adult full fare as listed on website. We paid 400+ for her open 1 yr return. Infant ticket baggage allowance is 10kg excluding stroller.

Bbliss, my uncle used to import export Chinese medicine n herbs. I ask him abt ru Yi oil last week. Ru Yi oil is a product of family run Chinese medicine shop in Malaysia n only widely use on south east Asia, that means I can't find ru Yi oil here in HK (so I bought a dozen over here w me). There is 2 brand in the market both in metal container, one has a Chinese Ship logo and the other is Chinese Mandarin Logo. The 2 sons fell out and each start their own label, so both actually originate from original recipe. I bought both brand and tried, color and smell almost the same. My uncle said both work the same, both just as popular. Some ppl don't even realised they are different brand as the container looks the same. I bought the Mandarin orange brand one then saw bigger bottle at watson, bought back then realised the other one is ship brand. I personally prefer the mandarin orange brand, the frangrance is lighter and the color is a tad lighter than the ship brand.
To my hb, both looks the same and he don't believe that it works as there is no clinical evidence. Now my baby calm down whenever i started rubbing my hand w the oil even before putting it on her. My hb attributed the comfort from the heat and the gentle message we place on the baby tummy. And familiar smell as she knows that the nice warm hands will soothe her whenever she smell it. I tends to agree with him, so if you want to use other essential oil, it should work the same.

Hazel,
My gal pattern is sleep early about 9+pm on day 1 n sleep at 12+midnight on day 2. So on day 1, she will wake up for milk 2 time. Day 2 she can sleep thru till about 6am for milk. Day time when she is awake, will put her in the rocker, can lie down about 20 to 30 mins, then cry want to be carry. Carry, pat, rock n walk ard the hse for 10 mins then sit down carrying her for 10 mins. Put her back to rocker again. Sometimes she fall asleep in my arm, put her in rocker, her eyes big big look at u.

Nell, bbs r smart & learnt fast! Belle can self burp herself most of the times. We just need to sit up upright! It must be really tiring yesterday for u!

Bbliss, I have the cupboard packing for ru Yi oil. My mum
Helped me to buy at neighborhood medical shop.

Chris,
I tried the clothes but don't work. My baby don't want to sleep on the cot (we borrowed a cot fr hotel FOC) last night. My hb even folded n placed my used PJ in cot as a cot bumper (tucked at the edge near her head area) but don't work leh. So in the end we put her on our bed. My hb so upset cos he specially went to buy the stokke cot, changing desk and all the beautiful linens for his little princess for her. So, hopefully she change pattern when we move in on Thursday.

Hey, Chris, at least your hb can handle her. My hb so heartbroken whenever she scream n cry and only want me to carry. So, when my girl is cranky, I everything also no need to do liao. Eat also cannot eat properly. Toilet also cannot go!

Summer, at least at night she is willing to sleep in her cot... Belle is a bad sleeper. I can put her in the centre.. But duno how she can move till my side where I hv less n less space whe she does not even know how to turn yet.

Day time I will put her in rocker but it does not mean she wil sit every time.. Sometimes she is tired, she will sit there self sooth herself to sleep..

Nell, I just checked my ru Yi oil (threw away the packaging already).. Is the ship brand n it wrote there made in HK leh..

Can also use nutmet oil (Nadia uses that) to massage bb. Nutmet oil can rub directly onto bb's tummy n back as it is not as strong.

Nell, my hub also cannot handle belle. But yesterday, first time, he managed to bottle feed her while I express BM. The day before, he wrapped up a bed time & changed her with my guidance.. Men will hv to take time to learn.. If not, we really no need to rest Leow..

Hazel, both the ship n mandarin orange I bought say Malaysia. I ask my hb chk before I buy over he say don't have. Never mind later I go shop shop after feeding my gal. See what they sell here. See got anything can "cure" our girls's pattern.
Btw, the zaky hand don't work!

Bbliss - hmm Aussino having kids sale latest this week I think. I went to buy cot tidy because looked cute. Haha. I have this sudden burst of energy kicking in so have been preparing for baby's arrival non-stop :p Also went cheong choon and was told the same as you re. ru yi oil so in the end a nice frd help me get from one of the medical shops at bedok interchange there. I also understand that chinese medical shops @ smith street/china town sells it. Went MC sale on Friday (2nd day), as queue and crowd wasn't too bad. Heard 2 MC staff conversation that they were surprised that not as many people as on the first day. Weekend also was better (as I understand from friends)

Nell - your girl is so smart, knows how to swallow saliva to rid ear pressure! ahha I wished I was in HK savoring all the dim sum now. Keep yourself warm, with the cold draft/front approaching yah and I'd most likely see u in May when you're back? :p

Hehe just took maternity shots over the weekend! Everything seems to be moving so quickly now...

Hello all new mummies - seeing your updates on your little ones makes me really look forward to the arrival of my little one too!

Kimmy- so there sale at Aussino this week u mean ? Hehehe... ok, will keep that in mind. Brought a set of bedding last week. So need to buy somemore extra fited sheet and pillow case.

Btw, i just came bk fr Mothercare not long ago. Is better to shop during wekdays as really no so crowded. But again, very bad habit.... brought somemore stuffs for my gal eventhou last weekend oredi brought quite alot liao. My hb has forbid me to buy anymore clothings for her le coz that day go and pack her wardrobe, find that we din take stock prev and have brought too many liao....

hehhe,,,,but today when i went mothercare, aiyo...the clothes are so cute that i cant stop myself from buying..hehe...the toys there are quite ok too. Brought some as well. Tonite when he comes pick mi seeing me big bags, small bags sure ganna nag again.... :p

Hazel, Nell-Noted on the ru yi oil. Maybe this Fri will go those old neighbour nedical halls and find. Fri am supposed to get all misc stuffs complete

mummies, how do you guys cope when the CL went home? Mine going home soon. Cant imagine days without her. At night do you guys latch baby or pump out the milk? was thinking if i pump out plus latch, i will not have any sleep at all. Cos for me, i need about 30min for pumping, and latching sometimes can go up to 45 - 60min.

Nell, ur bb so guai on the jouney. Hope my gal too, gg to Malacca this weekend but is on car ride, haha.....

Kimmy, ur turn coming soon.

Bbliss - yep thats what I saw on the advertisement :p Go check it out (the Aussino sale). Glad you managed to make it to Mothercare sale too
For me, I didn't get hooded towels - used the ones WBB sold in her class which she said highly absorbent.

Summer - I can't waittttt!!!! Anticipation is building up and my burst of energy is affecting my sleep! I seem to be getting insomnia these days!

Summer, did u manage to call the lc?

My gal is horrible since last night. This afternoon she stayed awake from 4-7pm. I played music for her she keep quiet and slept. Moment I put her on bed she cried. Nadia has bind my tummy up and I can't bend but still have to look after her while my mum prepares dinner. Now she is awake again. Really hope tonight will b better

Just had my detailed scan done & finally can see bb gender and it a gal!!! although I hope to hv a boy cos my hub is the only son but hub say as long as bb healthy, boy or gal not impt. Hub say that usually man will dote more on gals than boy dnt is hw true. Scan came out to be normal and I am glad.

Congrat Faithfully!! Happy for u...;) how big is ur bb now? Ur 20th wk today? Btw, can we use hp to video the moment in tmc?

Congrats fatefully. We seems to have more bb gals here.... Yr hub is right. My hubby loves my gal a lot now I got no place to stand. My hubby gives me the moral support to bf and he makes sure he touch his gal everyday. Sometimes it's all these that matter

Bb, tried to pm u nadia contact no but U dun accept pm.

I really like Nadia massage. My tailbone and back used to hurt a lot. Now gone. I can't sleep on my side since I delivered. It was a miracle I could turn to my side and sleep last night. I wish I have her massage me every week .... But my place is too far from her house.

Finally did the GBS testing yesterday...and yes it was very swift and didn't even realize that he was done...tks kimmy for the reassurance...worried for nothing...36+ weeks now...seeing him weekly from now on....He told me about the umbilical cord things...guess he jus wants to warn me of all possibilities but feel scared...can't wait to have her in my arms.

Vann, If u dun feel good or bb seems to be quieter, walk in to his clinic & request for a ctg check. That's the only way to rule out umbilical cord risk event. Guess dr Loh is just sharing with u so that u r more alert in day to day monitoring. For my case, since m fully aware of this risk n almost every other visit I will ask him! He knew I was Aware & scared so he said soothing stuff to calm me instead.

Oh vann, aft week 36, dr loh start seeing u weekly liao ? Wow... 36+ week means u have abt 2-3 wks more to yr bid day !!

When is yr edd ? Did dr loh estimate whether u anytime can pop Liao?

Hw yr bb weight this time rd?

Hehe...U must be feeling So excited ya.... TInk kimmy, tzac muz be feeling e same way

bbliss...actually she is kinda big so i asked him whether i could induce her at 39 weeks...he said can...so if nothing is happening by 39 weeks think i will induce la...She's not enagaed...ya very excited to see her and hold in my arms...scared at the same time cause anything otherwise can also happen...she is 2.9kg

Congrats Faithfully on knowing gender

Vann - hehe, no worries re. GBS test. Yeah, I like that it was way more swift than pap smear
The last visit, Dr Loh was telling me to monitor fetal movements (which I'm sure he shared with you too), so currently I use that to monitor baby's movements. Wow, as the day draws near I can imagine your excitement! 2.9kg is awesome. Haha I hope when I see him next week, baby would have gained some weight since I feel like he is now starting to taper down and slow his growth. He's discouraging me from inducing as I would like a quick and smooth labour as much as possible but we'll see. Got some potential accommodation issues as some family coming over to stay so maybe little one bake for longer might prove to be better

Wow Kimmy,
looks like u are all geared up for the big day hehehe :p

greay! how many more weeks to count down huh?

Congrats Faithfully heheh

Wow Vann : looks like you are next hehee followed by kimmy and BBliss hehee

All ready for the big day huh?

yeah can ask which part of the breastpump parts do we need to sterlise huh? all the tubings and shells ? heheh

Bbliss, I did get the hooded towels. Find them useful. Not a must have but a nice to have.

Went to Mothercare yesterday to buy sterilizer cos it it cheaper here even without sales. Btw, the MC here got storewide 15% discount with Amex card and half price discount for clothes. Same as SG. But no queue no ppl cos I went to the branch at the suburb.

Went for our belated anniversary dinner last night with our little light bulb. Difficult to go for such kind of atas quiet dinner cos her cries can tear down the place. Fed her before leaving for dinner and she slept till dessert time. Then started crying, so no choice but to latch her on. Feed her then continue w our dessert n coffee.

Btw, did any of you buy those nursing cover?
I bought the one at Taka (with the TV ads) but no good too heavy too big n too difficult to put on w one hand when you are carrying the baby. I then buy the JJ Cole nursing cover from Mothercare. It is super convenient light weight, easy to put on single handed while other hand carrying baby, a must buy if you intend to feed in public. But first you must tie the the knot at the buckle so that you can just wear it over your head like an apron. The stiff neck line is good for checking on baby. I like the "built in" pouch cos it makes it easier to fold n keep.

My hb go work liao. Later going to the mall downstairs to shop shop, hb will be back after his meeting then we go collect key for our house. Tom can move in liao. Then tough work start Liao, lots of cleaning n unpacking to do.

Chris, for prevention, take Cranberry juice or extract(capsule) regularly to prevent UTI n drink more water. I also remind myself to not holdback urine.

Catherine, so envious! Need massage badly! Terrible backache ah...

Kimmy, ya, will be back in May. You need more cotton wool? My son coming over this Saturday. I can ask him to bring back if you want. Then u pick it from my place.

Wow..vann, she 2.9 ah. Hehe... Den she will sure hit 3 plus by e time she out

Dr loh din mention anything abt induction. He juz smile at my hb saying anytime aft week 37... Haha... Tat got my hb really excited.

Btw, vann n kimmy, does yr tummy tend to look elongated at times ? Mine ah, instead of round, somestimes is very elongated ie. tummy like stretched in diagonal position. Tink space inside for my gal to move abt is really limited. Can feel her trying to push against e tummy.

There 1 nite when I woke up to go toliet, really give me a scare as my tummy be a elongated capsule looking... So I quickly rub rub my tummy, pat her n she slowly wriggle bk to normal position. Haha....

Hi Nell, hehe... In e end I oso got my gal 1 hooded towel. Tat meant more for use when bringing her bk upon discharge coz my mum n frds told me tat bb nid to wrap warm so wun expose to wind when making way hm....Something like tat

Hi Hazel, I rem u mentioning that u engaged Ida for post natal massage. Can share your experience with her and her charges and ctc detail pls? Thks.

Sunbelle - I hit 36 weeks today. Wheeee! Yeah my nesting instincts has accelerated me in preparation of his arrival
How are you feeling lately?

Nell - its okay! I still have. If need, I will let you know before you come back in May (though probably won't want to trouble you to lug so many things!) Happy anniversary!

Bbliss - ahah I don't observe my tummy as I can't see below my naval and when I pee at night, I just close eyes, sit on the bowl and pee cuz so tired. But ytd during the doc's talk can feel his legs all kicking and pushing against me cuz I think out of space.

bbliss...ya la that's why she is so heavy and i damn tired carrying her...sometimes can feel depressed loh cause stomach so big and heavy feel so clumsy and cannot even do simple daily things...i think she tall lah cause me and hubby both of us are tall.

hazel

at least belle will self sooth herself to sleep..
mine got to pat ah..and she wakes up easily so got to check on her most of the time as once she wakes up she might cry again......

Pinkdoll, my post natal massage was with Nadia. Not bad. You may wan to see Catherine's comments. Above on her. I can't remember how much is the package now.. Catherine, I can advise?

Catherine,
Managed to make an appt to see LC yesterday. She masage on the blocked ducts, so painful, I screamed. Mine is quite serious, the blocked ducts still there, hv to self massage n let bb latch on.

Hi Chris, thx for e info. Shall go get a bottle tonite. 1 bottle shld be enuff la hor ?

Haha... Vann, is ok right. A few weeks more, no nid to be humpty dumpty liao. Cool leh, I usually envious girls tat are tall. Look so pretty when wearing skirt.

Btw, juz curious. R u a Chinese or ?

Kimmy, confirmed Liao. Aussino sale is till 11 Mar
mi b gg on fri to get extra fitted sheets for her... Hehe...

Btw, haf u gals pack yr hosp bag? Brought all stuffs liao expect still lack of 1 pj....

Hihi juz visited my gynae.

Bbliss, yup looking forward to hold my little one :)

Another 3+wks to go......