(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel,

I am not wif the IVF dept's doc as this time round mine is a normal pregnancy. In the end, I settled with Dr Wee at TPS clinic as he is the deputy head so I thot more experienced.

I also called for a appointment with Dr Loh tomorrow to seek his opinion. I still trusted Dr Loh but becos I scared of complications in the future so in the end I still go back to KK eventhough cost in not an issue. Now becos of the doc, I am really doubtful of him. Eventhough he did mention in the end that of course he is not telling me that I have cancer but he manage to make me worried without even looking at other area first. I am now in my 9th weeks lor and the fetus growth is gd as mentioned by the doc so he rule out the possibility that the bleeding came from inside.

Can share with me how you feel about giving birth in TMC? If Dr Loh is not there, will you go there? As my SIL also gave birth there, and there once went she got quite ill and in the end TMC referred her back to KK that is why in the end i changed my mind and go back KK

Qing, I stayed in KKH for an induced delivery in 2010 when I lost my elder daughter at 5 mths plus pregnant in A class ward. To be frank, I will choose to deliver in KKH if not coz dr Loh went over to private. KKH A class service & support (for my loss) are good! I m not impressed with TMC during my recent stay. LC didn't even come & see me. In KKH, LC will confirm come. I Wan to borrow TMC hospital grade pump but the nurse told me not worth paying rental. In KKH, borrowing its pump is so common n v cheap.

And I have this assurance that they wun treat me like a sucker if they r complications. Prices at KKH n TMC will be similar if there r no complications. FYI, belle cost us $10k at TMC coz she had a lung infection at birth (must be fr me coz I was spotting - a sign of infection). I m v sure it wun cost so much in KKH.

Yes, if there r pregnancy complications before 32/33 wks, TMC will ask patient to go KKH. That's wat happen to my hub's friend too. TMC cannot support. Even if they can, the cost will be extremely ex. Belle one wk in NICU already 10k, i cant imagine the cost for pre mature bbs who stay a few mths in TMC.

U r in 9 wks. Mucus has blood is equivalent to spotting. Not uncommon at 9 wks n too early to talk abt placenta pervia. Pregnancy is still v unstable. I hope u r resting at home? Good, u r going to see dr Loh. Share with him wat med u r on.

Hazel, ya that my thots also. Arrgh now I always think i so bad luck that Dr Loh went private practise when I preg hahahaha.

I thot at first you mentioned you going to see 2 docs at the initial stage when Dr Loh left? Did you manage to still c the kk doc n Dr Loh then finally decide to follow Dr Loh for good.

Hazel,

Ya I am resting alot since I am not working. The strange thing about the mucus is that normally its onli once a day and sometimes it is so small that I do not know if it is with fresh blood or old blood. N it get on my nerve that I am already taking injection and resting so much and yet still like tis.

More sian when the doc mentioned abt the cervical cancer thing and on the same day, the nurse just inform me about the down syndrome test when the doc did not even mentioned anythin to me.

Qing, just go see dr loh n rule out infection. I didn't get ard seeing 2 drs after dr loh left KKH in dec. I was already 33wks when I saw dr loh in jan.. Next visit, 35 wks n 36 wks I delivered already!

Miracle, Gwen passed on in my Womb. I was spotting one morning & went to see dr loh immediately... She was already gone.. So hv to induce n deliver her naturally.. Thereafter, womb still not cleared of all pregnancy remains when dr loh sent me for detailed scan after delivery the next day.. So, he did a d&c for me on the same day before he discharged me.

Qing, my ex colleague bled thru out the entire pregnant & delivered her Girl at 36 wks. she dare not even walk at home. When I visited her, she was moving herself sitting in an office chair with wheels around the house. Am not saying you will be like her. I m just sharing with u that some gals do bleed at times during pregnancy & there aren't any reasons.

My own mum bled till 5 mths when pregnant with my bro.. She thought she was having menses & didn't know know she was pregnant until her tummy was bigger.

Just rest more.

Hazel,yes i also read abt cases of bleeding throughout pregnancy and in a way thinking that mine should be the case. That is why I am totally unprepared when the doc mentioned abt the pap smear and cancer issue. Caught me totally off guard and when he did not know about the SIS scan and do not bother to even flip my medical file which is just in front of him,pissed me off abit. Thot that maybe highlighting to him that I did a SIS scan and see even it will also be able to check on the cervical.

Duno is it I am expecting too much from a normal gynae and it is the normal procedure as I have never been preg before so I do not know. N after my blighted ovum, I reali worried abt the progress of this baby

hi Qing er, have a good rest at home and minimise movements. dun walk or squat...

looks like lots of mummies are gearing up to go to the baby fair this friday hehehee

Hi Eveline, I' m 23wks going 24wks

Hi Qing, are u on any support med? Dr Loh didnt do any test, he just scanned. However, I did test for infection when I was at KK. Hence, mine is unlikely due to infection .

Hi Qing, I'm actually having sthing similar to you, spotting old blood since last Wed. Dr Loh increased my progesterone support and gave me hospitalization leave until next week. He said to restrict movement n bed rest if possible. His advice was to enjoy and watch videos! Hehe

So it's good that u have made an appt with him tmw. I'm sure he'll be able to help you. Rest more n don't carry anything heavy or stretch to reach for things. Good luck!

Sue, thanks for your concern. Becos my mucus is small at times until I do not knw if it is old blood anot. Ya, mi bedrest for more than 3 wks until like cant tahan.

U also must rest well and everything will be fine.

Hi Sue, Dr Loh suan me. He says since i want to go back to work so much, i might as well be a cleaner in his clinic, then he laughed, haha

Hi Qing, it s normal to see mucus in the morning as you have rested the night before. It will tail down at the later part of the day. Gd to see dr loh for some assurance!

Damn upset with dr loh...today i had my visit....I am alr 34+ weeks...and he say he meet me 3 weeks later....*faintZ*....He saw me for 3 minutes and nvr even discuss my birth plan with me...I was so upset with him that I actually cried!

Vann, wat birth plan? He doesn't discuss much on birth plan. V simple, he will just ask "u trying for natural delivery right?". U can always request to see him more often.

Dr Loh usually does it at 37wks. But for me, he did at 35 wks.. Think he suspected that I will deliver early. I delivered at 36 wks & was tested positive of GBS! Got contractions, time the interval Loh,, 5 mins go hospital leow

Meryl, do you ind sharing how long your spotting lasted? Mine's been about a week already, comes and goes throughout the day. I may go see him again this week to see if I need to continue resting. It's quite worrying but some say apparently quite common.

Vann, dun get upset, so long as u dun deel right, juz go in for checks like I always do. Juz got my credit card bill. I spent $570 on gynae visit last mth. My gal always give me scares so I go in pretty frequent. Like now I have pain since yesterday. I m thinking of asking my dad to drive me in cos my gynae only work in the morning today though my appt is tomolo, I really feel v v v v different since last night. No way I can walk easily. when u r at the final stage, my view is I rather waste more $ than to make any mistakes. Like what hazel say do ctg check to ensure our darling is ok

Ladies, maternal instinct strike on me.. I went to tmc though my gynae was not in. Saw her clinic partner. I m 1.5-2cm dilated. The gynae say I should be in tmc tonight. I activated my parents to standby. Now I m cooking a quick dinner for myself and doing all my laundry. V v v scare now....

Vann, Thanks.. I already prepared my dinner ingredients this morning. Dun cook v wasted. I even bought breakfast for tomorrow. Look like it will b wasted unless I ask my parents to eat.

I m now charging my phone, next is my ipad. Now thinking what I should eat b4 I go into delivery tonight.

Hi Sue, mine is on and off. First trim I had spotting and bleeding. Then stopped for a month plus, and came back. This week is clear for me ( cross finger )
Gd to See gynae for assurance

Hi Catherine,

wow is the time!!! All the best!! Remember epidural doesn't take effect immediately. It take around 20-30mins for them the prepare and after injecting it takes around 30mins for the medicine to take effect.

Heehee go take a good bath and relax. Remember to wash your hair
heeheee

Hi Meryl, thanks. Were you on rest/MC throughout the whole time or did you go back to work? Wondering if I should go back to work or wait until everything is clear

Live update? Hazel, I m v nervous now. My iPad not fully charged yet. What else must I prepare?? I already ate my fav Swiss roll. My mum bought me avacado juice but I no mood to drink.
Chris I dun intend to use epi!! Ya. Now shower and wash hair already. Hb not at home so my parents came over to standby till he is home.

Actually I m v v v scare now. I have throat infection since yesterday and it's getting worse. Told my gynae partner, dr Paul tseng he said its ok. I scare I have temp so now drowning water. Honey water din work on me today. I dislike the wait now!!!!

Hi cATHERINE,

Relax, i was scared at you too when i was asked to admit after midnite to Mt alvernia too and got to wait the next day to induce. Just bring along your charger and charge there. Oh you packed your hospital bag? Remember to bring along a pkt of kotex maternity pads, i did heng ah cos if not KK will charge me for it. I used up the whole pack within the 2nd day, very fast ah. Oh ya and PJs with buttons open at the front, most importantly your admission letter.

All the best Catherine to ur delivery.. Hv a smooth delivery.. Relax, ur bb will be in ur hand soon.. Just think of ur gal n u will hv all the strength to go thru it..;) very touching moment too..;) jiayou!

Hazel, same here! Y can't we post? Juz went to gynae. No improvement! Still 2cm. Was asked to move more and see my gp immediately cos I m having sore throat and cold. My voice changed too. Tomorrow 7.45am to admit to tmc to induce her out

Catherine. Pls dun take any drowsy med that GP provides coz u r delivering v soon n these drowsy med will make bb drowsy too. U dun wan to create any false alarm when bb is born ok.

Ya he juz gave me nose spray, panedol and mouth guggle. I really have no appetite for food. Head is v heavy now. Thinking if I should go do my pedicure now haha... Y is my dilation soooo slow???? Oh ya gp and gynae said even if I fall ill they want to breastfeed. ..

To dilate from 1-2cm till 4-5cm can take days & some wks! U r at home so is ok. I was in hospital then n dr Loh hv to keep stretching my cervix to speed up the progress.. Super painful the stretch