(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Devastating news to share
- a miscarriage..total loss...It was a very gruesome/dramatic experience for me and my hb. (Sorry sorry sorry! for the gruesome details but if you're uncomfortable don't read the 1st 2 paragraph ok? As i really need to get this painful grief off my chest)

Since the last post, the last bleeding got worse as fresh red was seen..so i got my hb to book the doctor at the next town's doc office (20mins drive 1 way) which was open yesterday night abt 9pm so went there, doc was nasty-said can't see/hear anything with a vagina check but he thinks it's m/c and i specifically told him that it's getting worse and if i should be going to the hospital (docs must call the hospital to book the emergency gynae appointment for us cos only they can do that not us normal ppl..so he called and made appointment for next morning(sun)10am and then just sent us home and told me to rest...and call if bleeding/cramps got worse--no choice..went home then upon home, crawled into bed and can't sleep cos pain getting worst..and it comes in waves and i got off bed and as i wanted to open the door..felt a gush of blood just fell on the pad worn between my legs! Screamed and hb woke up to help me get downstairs and upon reaching the toiletbowl gush came another round of bright fresh blood..then i felt a clump of 'thing' slided off me onto my hands! Screamed further..insisted hb to call doc for an ambulance..but then doc refused and asked us to go down in our car again to see him!! Ok then thought that they might hv an ambulance ready there..so we got there, i hardly managed to sit still..cramping very often and i had to take deep breathings. And as hb had taken photos of the bloody mess to show doc..the doc still don't think it's much!!!! Well hello i told the doc 'If you don't think this is much, then how much is much????' I insist that i should go to the hospital as i feel very bad in pain but then he said the appointment is booked in another few hours time..so sent me back home again!!! I was so angry the only thing he can do is gave me a panadol and told me to go home and wait tll we drive to the hospital ourselves in the AM..so all thru the night i was twitching in contractions like cramps and heavy bleeding thruout, at the end the frequency became like every 2-3 mins the contraction pain comes (i think it's like childbirth?) then i went to the toilet for the last time i remembered..a long big thingy mass slided out of me. I knew it was the pacentea + what's left of my poor bb...hb was the one taking the mass out of the Tbowl and we hv since decided to put in a in home made grave later on..

Ok then after this expulsion, the cramping contractions/heavy bleedings miraculously gone...i totally confirmed that it's the last of what i see of my poor bb. So just now the drive to the hospital and upon seeing the nice gynae+ v scan...yes my poor bb is gone. But she said it's likely ard 8-9weeks old..cos i had a 7th week scan and all was fine then if the m/c happens now then the skeleton could be seen but no lor...so it's just pretty small 8-9weeks..So poor bb has not been growing at all..just stopped there at that stage..We were devastated. Both hb and i cried all the way back home driving in the car...3hrs..and at home now too crying...*sigh sigh sigh* It is a difficult time..

Perhaps there was some abnormalities already and fetus can't be really formed good enough hence natural's way of terminating the pregnancy -- m/c? Anyway, though stricken by grief and lotsa questions asking why why why, we will try again next round in another few mths time..i'll take this time to recuperate and rest..

I thank all very very nice fellow ICSI/IVF mummies here..always so encouraging, supportive and strong in my short and nice time here sharing and chatting..hope to see you ladies soon again!!!! Well perhaps i can still pop by to say hi sometimes rite?

Im trying for FET next!!! Anyone any experience in that? Must take suppression not? Is the duration shorter then?

Not had time to read archives since 1st Feb, will do so and copy out all the impt info in a doc and share via email for those who wish to have a copy.

Dear Chrisl,
I am so sorry to read about your nightmarish experience. The doctor was really irresponsible and heartless. After my m/c 3 years ago, with the d&c done at 8 weeks, a few days later, I felt the intense contraction pains coming in waves too. There was no bleeding nor discharge but just the pains. It was very bad and I had to be sent to A&E.

No words can comfort you enough right now, till now I still grieve over my previous baby who could have been 2.5 years old now. But do rest well, have a mini confinement and nurse back your health. You will eventually get pregnant again. I agree m/c is nature's way of being the gatekeeper. It is indeed a difficult time. But pls stay strong and positive, dear...

I've never done FET, hope the other girls can advise you. Take care ya?

Hi Chrisl, hug. Sorry to read this. Pls have a gd rest.

I have done FET for this current pregnancy. Mine was a natural FET. Type of FET ( medicated or natural) depends on your menses cycle. If you have regular menses, you are likely to go for natural FET where dr will schedule regular scan to see growth of follicles and the thickness of the lining. Dr will also ask you to pee on on ovulation stick to detect LH surge. If there is a surge, fet will be scheduled within the next few days .

As for medicated FET, medication will be given to trigger menses flow and also scan to see the lining and growth. I am not so sure about the details, maybe the sisters can advise.

However , different hospitals have different protocols . You may have to check your local hospital arrangement.

By reading at your experience, what is the emergency protocol for Norway hospitals? Can this be better managed ?

Hi Chrisl

Pls do pop by often. There are many strong sisters here, who can really understand how you feel. Share with them , discuss it so that you can feel better. Lotsa hugs!

Chrisl, sorry to hear what u went thru. I was thinking of u the whole day today. Was hoping all is fine. Never expect this post from u. Pls Stay strong and I hope yr hubby also think positively too. Sorry for saying this but I hate the medical system at yr side. Y let u suffer all these???? They should allow u to go to the hospital when there is an emergency! Yes u need mini confinement and try again soon. All the best!

hi Chrisl, sorry to hear about your loss...it must be devastating but pls don't give up and find strength from within.

I did medicated FET for this cycle.

Actually, I have regular menses and tried natural FET first. However, the cycle had to be cancelled cause the scan showed that I've alr ovulated. To prevent future cancellations, I did medicated FET for the next cycle.

For medicated FET, you need to take progynova and later on dydrogestrone. Basically you take progynova(estrogen) to prevent ovulation for taking place and thicken your lining. Once your lining is about 8mm, they will schedule for transfer in a couple of days. Then, you take dydrogestrone (progestrone) and continue taking Progynova. You would have to continue taking these medications till the end of the first trimester. Although taking medications is such a hassle, the chances of canceling the cycle is very low cause all they look out for is the thickness of the lining.

All the best.

Chrisl, hugs. Pls recuperate well. Btw, did the gynae did a through check n ensure there are no pregnancy remains left in the womb n no d/c is required? If not will give complications in subsequent pregnancy.

The support there sucks. I wld think is better for you to come bk to SG the next time you get pregnant.

Take care & your r always welcome here.

Hi hazel,

heehee same like you, i didn't like to let anyone know when i preggy as pantang and told my hb to only announce after i past 1st trimester. Like i lost my 1st child (ectopic pregnancy) when i was only 6wks preggy. But my hb big mouth go and announce to his parents again cos he scared tat his mum dunnoe later go and add some herbs in the soup tat i can't take.

I also didn't like the idea of having buffet celebration for full mth, prefer just to order cakes etc for frens and relatives. I prefer to keep it simple. But in-laws prefer to have buffet.

hahaha hazel, catherine

I lost abt 7 kgs too during my 2nd week, then stagnant liao ah........ maybe should faithfully wear my tummy binder ah...

6669724.gif

Hi catherine,

heeheee my hb can handle my gal very well tats why i always joke anything just throw to him..Then he reminded me tat i'll be home myself so i got to pick up my skills fast ah...

hi hazel,

yup i take very little carbo like a small bowl of rice and i mainly drink alot of soup. My mil also amazed that i eat so little and commented tat my sil eats alot. ya when i pump esp in the 1st week can feel my womb contracting heehee.

Hi Chris!

I was worried when i didn't see your posts the whole day. I'm really saddened by your lost.. The doc are really too much!!! They should have sent you to the hospital immediately, don't they have 24hrs A&E service!!! I understand how you are feeling right now. I went thro somewhat similar, i had ectopic pregnancy during my 5-6wks and was sent to KK 24hrs in the middle of the night cos of cramps and was warded immediately as internal bleeding and BP dropping. Had ops in KK to remove my foetus and also 2 big 6cm blood cysts. Took 1 mth to recover.

I've done FET before at KK, I called them on the 1st day of menses and then no medication given..was told to go bk KK on the 10th day to scan the lining then 12th day for FET. Afterwhich i was given support pill to insert in vagina.

Hi hazel,

I've been downloading 步步惊心 shown in TV ch8 at 7pm from 33md heehee.. When i pumping i'll just watch at the same time.

Have you let belle latch on? I tried 2x some far that is after her feed, my cl just brought her in to me when i pumping. My gal feel asleep too while latching on hahahaha. Like drunk ah...

Chrisl, very very sad to read about your loss. The doctor's procedure there really cannot make it.. Take good care of yourself now and don't give up, success rate on FET is quite high too. You will have your baby back. Be strong in this tough situation!

Chris, i latch on a few times. After 20mins she will fuss. Anyway, I prefer to express. At least I can tell how much he drinks.

hi chrisl, very sad & sorry to hear about what happened. pls take good care. I hear that the success rate of fet is quite high too. the medical system there sounds bad
maybe u can also consider staying in sg till 1st tri after fet. stay strong, and I'm sure you will succeed again. you are definitely more than welcome to stay *hugs*.

Fed up with my boss. Told me again to do admin work since this morning i snub at him say I got no time and I have to leave office by this week. Went to complain to my big boss. Told her my situation she say ok quickly call for meetings hand over my work. She knows the severity. Then back at my table my boss again email me ask me to write a jd to hr to hire intern! Siao. This is not my job. It's his if he can't handle y should I?

I have little bit of sharp pain since 9am... Juz decide to ignore all the emails and do my outstanding work.

chris, go watch at www.funshion.com
much more selection of drama and movies - HK, Taiwan, China, USA, UK, SG, etc etc. U can either watch online or use ipad goodlplayer app.

i downloaded using PC, syn to ipad and use goodplayer app to watch on ipad anytime i like. when i was stranded on the hospital bed for >24 hrs waiting for delivery, i was watching tvb HK drama on my ipad & i actually finished one whole series.

Hi catherine,

Take care, if your sharp pain persists call your gynae. Your boss really cannot make it le, he should be the one ensuring that there is sufficient manpower handover instead of asking u to arrange. Ignore that stupid idiot.

hahaha hazel,

wow u finish the whole series? heehee

Most of the time i did express milk cos then i'll know how much my gal drinks etc..but at times after her feed, u can try to let her latch on cos latch on will help to stimulate milk supply much better than express. So let her finish her normal feed then let her latch on a while.

Hi ladies, I need some advice on stroller. I see that a few of you have bought the Quinny Zapp/ Zapp Xtra. Just wondering if :

- you have bought the maxi cosi infant car seat too?
- how much you have bought the stroller and/ or infant car seat for?
- how old must the baby be before can use Quinny's own original stroller seat (rather than the attached car seat)
- what do you see in this model/ design
- how do you compare Zapp and Zapp Xtra

Hmm...not sure if there is anything else I need to be aware of. I was at Mothercare yesterday and didn't get very satisfactory info... Thanks so much for sharing, appreciate it

Hi Chris!
Hugs n very sad to read wht happen to u.. Do take care n do a mini confinement to nurse ur health back.. U can try natural for first few mths as consider fertile.. Take care n maybe go for a short holiday with ur hb...

Nell, I just submitted Belle's passport application! I hope the photo taken using the apple's app is acceptable.. coz is so difficult to catch her looking straight! I did it alone just now... :p

Haha hazel I was gg to ask u if u did yr gal passport! My parents wants to go to jb to eat so my hubby told them after my gal is born then we together. Which apps did u use?? Oh ya that funshion ... I used to b able to watch online dun know what they do now must download. I m watching 4 in love and one show that ends yesterday. Totally agree its a gd site.

Chris- yes my this boss is useless. Juz ask me to do some report for mgt. I said to him u know what's the effect? He kept quiet. I m gg to rebuke on him everything he has to say later in meeting.

Oh ya juz went to kiddy palace and mothercare. Mothercare seems to have sales at harbor front next mth. Save yr $ for bb things there.

Catherine, great minds think alike huh?
go download "ic photo for singapore nric and passports" from apple app store on your iphone. I wan to go to the premium outlet mall meh!

Juz download. Cool... Will test out on myself tonight. What hk drama r u watching? My colleague recommend me to use 快手 apps to watch I tried but it din work

Catherine, I usually watch v latest tvb drama from hk.. Either still showing or just finished showing. So, m faster than scv cable ch 855!! In hospital, I watch 九江十二坊. Now watching 法证先锋第三部. PC now downloading the new hk ch 855 8pm show.. I didn't catch that one earlier..

I prefer to syn from PC to iPad goodplayer after downloading as iPad dun emit heat like laptop & I can lie down n watch anytime.. :p

Belle is sleeping next to me n CL is resting..

Chrisl
I'm absolutely shocked and sadden to heard what had happened. No words can take away the pain you are going through. Please take care.

chrisl, so sad to learn of your news. do take care of yourself and try again when you are ready. You definitely are welcome to visit this thread.

Tromso
With regards to Quinny strollers you can download the brochure from the link below. It will tell you which models are suitable for newborns
http://www.quinny.com/gb-en/content/brochure
There are also instructional video on the different models too from the quinny.com site.

Some places are selling Maxi Cosi (pebble/cabriofix) at a discount for older models e.g. Baby Meadows
http://babymeadows.com.sg/?subcats=Y&status=A&pshort=Y&pfull=Y&pname=Y&pkeywords=Y&search_performed=Y&cid=0&q=maxi+cosi&x=0&y=0&dispatch=products.search

First Few Years is selling the Maxi Cosi seat at 15% off.
http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/list.htm?pid=15

Hazel, Well done!!! I collected my gal's passport liao. Just bought her ticket to HK. Now busy preparing her Full moon giveaways

Long wait at Doc Loh clinic again.. Reach at 2:30 n finish only after 2hrs... Zzzzz... Thot situation will improve but still same.. He runs two clinic too...

Hi Chrisl, I'm so sorry to hear about your lost, sorry I just read about it whilst doing past few days posts catchup reading. You are a strong gal and I'm sure your perservance will pay off. Meanwhile, pls take good care of yourself, rest and eat well. My gf conceived her baby naturally months after her miscarriage cos the pregnancy hormone was still strong.

All the very best to you and keep on moving forward like you always do, hugz...lotsa hugz...

Ladies, guess what.... My colleague told me bcos this yr is dragon yr some gynae r not accepting new patient. U have to book yr gynae early even when u r not preggy! I laugh when I heard it!! She is so kan cheong now and ask me for help.... I told her to go to dr loh but she wants female gynae ... Promised her to look for her tonight. Any recommendation?

Thanks for the links msmiele, the video is very useful
I'll check it out at Baby Baby too, I recall it was very helpful when I last queried during my sis's preganancy.

Hi Sunbelle, all the best to your detail scan this week!! Btw, my TCM dr says no need to put meat into cordyceps brew otherwise goodness will go into meat, can eat the meat then. I just found out Pao Sheng is more potent than Dang Sheng for Bu Qi, so I'm taking both together
Hope your powder Bu thing has helped too.

Hi Catherine, just wondering why your friend find Combi strollers lousy? I personally feel that it's a bit shaky and small-ish but so exploring other options too. Thanks for sharing

Hi Chrisl, come back for ivf. I am sure Singapore is way cheaper than Norway and you get the best support. We have very gd Dr here. See Dr Loh! ( a very gd friend of Dr Cecilia)

Hi Joanne, i was at the clinic today . Was summoned back to see Dr loh . Which one is you? Aiya.. But i left at ard 245.. You must go to his clinic early.. I usually go at 1 plus and i can go back within an hour plus after taking lunch and routine test.

Hi Hazel and chris baby,

same as you both ..i tend to keep the news low profile except few good frens know and my immediate family knows....even now when office people ask me,i choose to ignore cos i know that sometimes they are jus asking information for circulation purpose or for their leisure discussion purpose which i do not like at all....

anyway i oso dun noe yet hahhahaha
Meryl : so the likely off peak timing is one plus huh? did u sign up for his package huh? the last round when i was there i was super tired out by the long wait such that i forgot abt asking the package ahhahahaha

Hi Tromso, thank you for your well wishes ..anxiety always build up before scan or check up hahaaa
oh yes, the poweder type okie..guess havent try for long..tink mum's brewed soup is always the best in my view hahaah nice and yummy n less oily hheeehe ....

Hi Hazel, issit true now that cannot attach baby's foto to either parent's passport liao huh? hehee unlike last time we lobang our parents passport huh?

Kimmy : Have you selected your room type huh? i called TMC and they say dun come for the hospital tour too early hahaaa so funny leh hehee

Catherine,

sometimes not worth getting too worked up with the boss that you are working with..bo pianz.....if most of us can choose, i believe most of us will wan to be stay at home mum if finance allows....

for now, seemd like a lot of my frens decided to quit their high paid jobs to spend time with their 5 yrs old kid at home ...and is not only one 3 quitted at the same time....it jus sets me pondering....yeah guess without one salary, we will have to adjust to the living standards......

Hi Meryl
Am there only at 2:30pm.. I know sure hv to wait as i go see my chinese tcm so abit delay.. Two wks ago when i go at 1plus, after 45min can go liao..
Wht color shirt r u wearing? Me wearing pink today n my hb wear light blue..

Hi Chris!
Yes, pls consider come to singapore once bfp.. In the mean time, tiao urself well now. Since u bfp before, u will get bfp again in ur next try.. Jiayou!!

Hi sunbelle
Not sure why but the nurses outside like sandra they all discourage the idea of taking up package.. She say not worth since at current stage, we may see him less than 10times now.. They keep shake head n see is many pp asks n tts why they anyhow come out a package but they dun encourage..
Yes, now kids has their own passport.. No more lonbang with us now..
Btw, i feel my skin stretch n very uncomfy especially at night, is it normal? Think must apply more stretch mark cream..

Hi Joanne, I wear purple. Don't recall seeing one wearing pink

Hi sunbelle, yes, agree with you.. Some people just want to circulate information. Oh yes, go to dr loh clinic early so that the wait is shorter, heheh