(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Super sian... my hb down with flu since yesterday. He has gone see doc liao. He has to stay clear of bb so tat he dun pass flu virus to him.
So left me and CL to take care of BB. CL leaving on Fri. Then left me alone with bb, in-laws said they will come by daily to see see look look. I starting to get the jitters...how ah?

Hi kimmy,

if you go wong bb's class, she'll show you the birth videos etc..heehee u should see the face of some of the papa and mummy's

Chris,, this is the flu season. Did u ask yr hb to tell the doc to give him antiboditics immediately ? Last week my hb was ill too I caught it from him when I told the doc that I caught it from him doc immediately add medicine to my hb list and now he is well.

Btw who is gg to look after bb when u go back to work? I face the same jittery feeling as u. My mum will do my confinement and after that I m all left alone. My fren told me its really tiring. She has maid, mum and herself to look after her bb son and can't handle. I told her not to tell me anymore what she is doing. Can imagine the daily routine, pump milk, clean bb poo and pee, feed bb, bathe bb( her mum do for her), steralise milk bottle etc. I ask myself if I can handle too. I only see it this way. I want this child. No matter how I suffer I will still do it for her. This r stress needless to say but treat it as u r bonding and understanding the child. As a mum, I will do my best and this is a growing up stage of being a mum/lady.

Many a times my hb will SMS me in the afternoon on weekdays to ask me how I m .. ESP days I dun feel gd. He always say sorry that I m suffering. I only tell him it's not yr fault. I have to think it positively ... Mayb this is my growing up phrase. It's like from young i din had to cook or do housework. When I study overseas I had to learn. Take it as growing up stage and smile with it.

Same thing my mum worry if I can handle. My hb has told me not to do housework when i m alone. I have irobot to sweep the floor. We will increase the frequency of my part time maid. Cook? I think I will we tingkat. Unlike u, I dun even have rocking chair for my gal. I dun like those. Hb told me if I cant handle he will c what is lack of that can distract my gal he will buy. I pray that my gal is understanding and dun give me stress. My big boss told me juz shut eyes. Do whatever I can and it's an opportunity to slim down haha... Dun worry lets jia you together. We still have to think positively. Talk to yr gal ask her dun b naughty...

Chris & Catherine, dun worry if u can cope alone after CL leaves.. Honestly, I nv think too much of that coz I believe I can! Our mummies took care of a few kids when they were much younger.. They also can cope wat.. anyway, confirm can one as we r taking care of only one bb!!

Hi Catherine,
Hb told doc tat we have a bb at home who just recovers from flu and he asked for stronger medicine to recover fast. Dr didn't give him antibiotics just told him to stay away from bb so tat as bb just recovered very easily to get the virus again.

Catherine & Chris, some bbs fuss alot after full month.. So bad until they need constant attention. A rocker cannot soothe them.. I will use 摇蓝 worse come to worse.. If not confirm cannot do things!

My pump is hands free.. So I can still carry bb if she fusses.. I can make milk with one hand too.. While carrying girl

Hi catherine,

i dun like my CL to put my gal on the rocking chair too, its pass down by a fren and we just left it in the bb room. CL loves to use it..
I'll have a hard time correcting back all my bb's habits after CL left cos my gal is used to her smell,voice and her way of doing the feeds etc..

Hi hazel,

My bb now loves to be carried around and sleeps shorter hours..faintz....cos CL has been carrying her around when my gal sick..now my gal is used to be carried around even before her full month......

Hi hazel,

my in-law keep ask us to use pacifier on my gal when she cry, said my niece will sleep longer with pacifier etc... haha it doesn't work with my gal, my gal didn't like it and just spit it out.

Have u tried latch on? I tried yesterday once, CL suddenly brought bb in my room while i was pumping. My gal can latch on quite easily cos after pumping my tits are upright easier for her to latch on.

Chris, I let her latch on a few times already, but only soothe her for 20mins or so n she will cry for milk again! Ha! I prefer to give ebm or fm so I know how much she takes.

I gave her pacifier too to soothe her when feeding time is still far off n she is crying.. But belle is smart, she will spit it out but I will get pushing it into her mouth! After a while, she will accept. Other times, she wun wan the pacifier.

If bb really wan to be carried always, no choice hv to put in 摇蓝. If belle is like this after full mth, I will hv to do that.

I m not worried of belle getting too used to cl's smell coz she is with me most time in the day... If she is sleeping, she will be on my bed n I do my own things. Like now, I put her on a rocking chair (but chair is not rocking) in the living room with us watching tv.. She just sleeps.. Yesterday This time she was awake sitting on the chair. Of she fuss, I on the rocking function. When she quiets I off it.

The last few days before CL leaves I will take over her bathing.. After her full mth, I will drag her milk feed to 4 hourly once n gives her when she cries for milk. Milk intake per time will increase so that total milk per day remains the same. Not going to be like now, feed her at 3 hourly when she is sleeping n it takes so long to feed. At night, last feed abt 12-1am. If she does not wake up in the middle of the nights for milk feed then let her be.. Next feed will be 5-6am. Not like now, CL wakes her up in middle of the night n feed n she cannot finish coz she is sleeping so soundly!

Oh ya, after full mth, I will use mama moko diapers at night. Coz they r thicker n can last whole night without changing... Pampers cant.. I confirmed with my mum the above method can or not, she said yes. After full mth, can.

As for expressing BM, I m getting lazier.. Yesterday last pump at 11 plus, till this morning I wake up at 8 plus am.. Well, I can give abt 3 feeds a day on BM.. As long as got BM I will give her.. Not going to sweat over BM supply any more

hi Hazel,

yes i meant all the toiletries esp when my fren told me they charge for everything hahaaha
yo, for the quinny zapp you are right to point out a good advantage that the entire stroller can be folded whereas zapp plus cannot leh... does the warranty of the stroller n carseat also start upon purchase? then cannot buy so early liao hahaa

Hi Kimmy, how much you pay for Cordlife huh? if according to what dr loh told hazel, only worthwhile to store til 7 to 8 years old huh? i likely to ask dr loh too ....quite expensive so still considering ...u not working rite? how you supplement your income huh? mi thinking of looking for any supplememnt income that can be done at home huh?

wow kimmy, you are quite brave to watch the videos leh..mi tink i rather not watch leh..dun wan to imagine hahaha

hi J03 , hvent gone for my detailed scan, next week. we are pretty excited too. the most impt tin is baby is healthy and smoothly delivered heheeh boy or gal is okie for us... hehe

hi chrisbaby,

hope your hubby recovers soon. yeah no worries, i believe all our mother instincts will enable us to take good care of our baby hehe no worries, take each day as it comes hehehe ...time flies really hehehe ...

chris baby - ya, haha i watched the birth videos at wong bb's class ytd
I saw some couples use pillow to cover their eyes. kekeke. tho to me, i felt the caesarean was more shocking in the sense there was a 'bigger cut'. oh well, come that day..I will just accept whichever way dr loh suggests. He will know best.

sunbelle - if cord life accepts my baby's blood, then they will start deducting I think $250 every month from CDA acct till 21 yrs old. HB wanted to store as we honestly don't know how advanced medical science will fare in the next decade and in case need to be used for sibling, also can. We tld dr loh already and he sounded quite positive act it..so depends on individual I guess. maybe cuz he knows i kept worrying about my blood test results initially but then again we don't know whether we will get reject until that day.
Yea I'm not working and I really miss working! But because my ex-job was too stressful, we decided to take the option to quit my work. I may not notice it, but lots of my family members noticed how relaxed and tense-free I've become after that. Of course it comes at a price, hb needs to supplement everything and I intend to go back to find a job at least 9 months after bb is born if possible. During pregnancy. my ex co was also nice to offer me temp jobs here & there so I get some pocket money, and helping frds with some admin here & there. haha i'm still thinking of doing a home business if possible so that I can work from home next time. lol.

chris baby - yeah I always believe instinctively when we're 'driven to a corner' , we will know what to do as in take care of our bb. I've witness so many cases, where my frds/relatives suffer from CL-leavin syndrome as in they feel so loss and dare not sleep but they learn so quickly how to adapt and care for their child within the 2nd to 3rd month because they know they have to. So I'm sure you can do it too!

catherine - still excited about your news! did you mention gynae gonna send you for induction next week? Woohoo~

summer - hello! how are you coping with motherhood? Nice to hear from you too :p

Chris, while CL is feeding belle, I finished hanging the clothes and printed some photos of hers for hubs to pass them to my bil who is back from india for 1 wk to bring back to my sil.. Ya.. CL still feeding belle!! Coz she falls asleepy while drinking milk.. So, taking her own sweet time!

Sunbelle, ya, dr Loh not against banking cord blood. His first response to me is, got money to spare buy Loh coz duunno whats install in the future.. But for now, returns fr using the money to buy insurance is higher. I hv friends whose hubbies are specialists also nv bank cord blood coz they think same way as dr Loh.. Anyhow, for me, no impact coz belle is pre term so, even if I chose to bank initially, at pt of delivery also cannot.

Just like this metalbolism testing for bb which is optional in pte but free in KKH where They will prick bb heels. I asked dr Loh also.. He said no harm doing but metalbolic disorders are rare. so dun do also fine.. I didn't do at all in the end.. Kekeke

I trust dr Loh.. I also asked him that time how long belle needs to stay in NICU.. He told me abt a wk.. N he was spot on!

Hazel, my gal is preterm at 36 weeks and cord life allows her to bank the cord blood. Preterm not suppose to bank?

Hazel - ow I tot prick heels is only for jaundice. Btw when u took belle home, did she need to be in the infant car seat? Or can just carry home? New regulations now right? Ya dr
Loh is v passionate & dedicated as a doc. I like that he always think for our benefit ;)

Hi sunbelle
Oh.. So u r in ur 19th wk this week..;) when is ur last scan by Doc Loh?? Cant see bb sex tt time huh? So excited tt u gonna do ur detail scan soon hor..;) hmm.. As for cord blood, yes, i may consider since we can use CDA account to pay for it right? How much cash do we need to pay? But wonder which is better? stem blood or cord life company? Hmm..

Hi chris!
How r u now??

Hi chrisbaby
I can totally understand how u feel as i cry when my CL left.. Hee.. Suddenly no one cook for me, no one take care bb etc.. At a lost..;p i remember i cant manage alone in the day time when hb working during 2nd mth, like crazy woman as when bb cry, i hv to attend to him n can only eat or do things when he is asleep.. So i go to MIL or my mum place in the day time... At least i not so scare n got accompanion..;) but like wht the rest say, i hv learn to manage on my own at the end as i know my bb better on why he cry etc.. So u no worry k, u will pickup very soon especially u hv attend wong boi boi class before.. Last time, i never attend any class, all learn fr CL..;)

Gan, that's wat I understand. Premature cannot bank. PD's memo for me to attach fr my insurance application wrote belle is premature! She didn't even use the word preterm.. Dun forget Belle has lung infection also.

Kimmy, we didn't use car seat when Belle was discharged. I carried her. U can use If you wan. She sat on the car seat on last tues on way to vaccination.. But on way home I carried her coz she was grouchy after injections.

Chris, if u can carry bb in one hand securely n confidently, I can do things using the other hand.. I can carry belle and eat.. Read a magazine, chat on iPhone or iPad, make milk, etc etc... :p

Hazel, hmm seems like I shld not be storing the cord blood coz gal is preterm and I had her thru emergency c.
Hmmmm,

Kimmy, yes! Very look forward to the baby fair!! Saw the birth video, so touching.

J03, erm, I noted that you keep asking us baby gender. Just want to understand more, does it matter if boy or girl? Coz i face this question all the time and my ex colleagues are comparing bb gender. I don't understand why they are comparing gender . So I just tell them bb shy, can't see. Once I was doing appraisal for my staff and asked her if she had more ques. She asked Boy or girl. I felt so irritated and felt like scolding her because we were doing appraisal and the ques asked was not relevant to the appraisal. But I just brushed her away. Can't be bothered to answer her.

As long as bb healthy and safe delivery, I think all of us are contented.

Hi Meryl
Bb sex to me does not matter too.. I oso oways empatize that healthy most impt in my post, right? As we r progressing abt the same stages so am just curious n asks them since this is our next new discovery..If u notice, i dun asks others who r already at 3rd or end of 2nd trimester.. And i dun asks u too right? I really dun see got any problem in asking.. Even if others asks me, i am oways proud to tell them if i already know their sex.. I dun see any reason of why shd i feel irritated of pp asking me too.. Maybe different pp got different point of view ba..

I do know some folks dun wan to tell others bb gender even if they know.. Coz they r private pp... So, when pp ask, they will usually say dunno yet... N they get irritated when pp keep asking.. I can fully understand that.. Coz if pp say gender not impt, then y do they ask even? Maybe they r just kapo..

I dun agree that asks means kapo.. That means many pp are kapo in the world..Dun tell me u never asks other bfp ladies bb gender at all for ur this whole life? Like i say, different pp got different point of view and i dun see why we shd change other pp point of view and why shouldnt asks.. Am sure to all of us here, gender r no longer impt since is soo hard to hv our bbies.. Wht we want is just healthy bbies.. So dun assume that pp treat bb gender impt just bec they asks.. I dun agree with tt as to me, all bbies r our precious regardless boy or gal.. Though i have a boy but i totally do not mind even if my the other two bbies r boys too as i take sooo many years n so hard to hv them.. I can swear by tt..n i will tressure them sooo much too..

Hi J03, yes, you did ask me too.. That was 3 wks ago. Then I start to notice that you ask many others too . Hahah.. I couldn't resist but need to understand the reasons why people ask. Eg. Older folks prefer boy . Or already have a boy, prefer to have Girls. To compute the probability of having boy or girl via ivf.

For my ex- colleagues, they are just competitive. They are really comparing baby gender . Then after giving birth, I am sure they will ask others if I have become fatter or slimer . ( start to compare and compete size. They are very shock tat i can maintain so well for my pregnancy) Then they will compete when having 2nd baby. Haha...competitive

Hi Hazel, I agree with you. Some people are private people. I just told 3 people that I am pregnant and out of sudden, the news spread all the way to other companies. I am so amazed. Hence I rather keep quiet this time , to make myself happy.

Meryl, FYI none of my relatives (my parents side) know I was pregnant or I hv delivered this pregnancy.. Last time, lost my elder girl, all knew then start to ask lots of qns.. V sickening!! This time Only one uncle knew coz my parents were visiting him when I was admitted into hospital. Pregnant is a happy occasion. But my dad's side is big family n we r not close.. Tell them they will buy gifts n later give them full mth cakes they will say this n that not nice.. Only will make me upset... So, I m not inviting them to bb's full mth also.. Is more for hub's close relatives.

Even friends, I didn't go tell them I was pregnant either until I run into them or met them for catch ups... Coz tummy already show.. If not, they dun even know.

Thus, Not every one will share the joy with others. To me, is our joy. Others may not genuinely share our joy.. Even relatives, colleagues or friends, can be competitive.. They r many hypocrites around too. Even our own siblings also can get jealous of one another.. Though they May not say or show in front of us..

Anyway, u r free to ans or ignore watever qns that r posted here. Pp with EQ can tell n will respect. Enjoy your pregnancy n the joy of it.

Hi hazel,

I used to be able to carry her in one hand but now tough cos my gal waving her arms and kicking around. She can even turn her head etc...faint..
She'll keep struggling and pushing around so now got to carry her with both hands to secure her...

Hi Joanne,
I can't go my in-law place for the day cos very packed and i dun even have a room for me and bb to rest. And as for my parents not convenient too they stayed in the west and if i'm not driving then its tough for me to travel all the way there myself with a bag of bb stuff.

Hi Meryl
Did i? Forgetful me.. Anyway, u r free to answer or not answer my question, i wun force too.. I just casually asks..

Hi chrisbaby
I see.. Then u got to try to Take care ur bb this wk when ur CL is around so tt u can start to get a hang of it after she left.. Dun worry, u can do it k.. All of us r strong women.

Chris, belle is also v active.. Yes, can move her head around n when carries her upright, she will try to turn her head backwards! I will hold her v tightly to me with my hand (the same arm holding her) at her legs. Like now as she is fussing after BM 1.5hrs ago. Cannot give her fm again.. So I m soothing her n reading forum,. Hahaha

Hazel, same here I din announce my pregnancy. I told my mum that I m canceling the europe trip on her bday but I din tell her I was preggy She guess herself. No one except some close frens know I had difficulty in conceiving. that's y I kept it v low. Like u if I bump into frens then they know. My hb on the other hand told no one. His frens found out on cny or when he print confinement food receipe in office. I agree with u, it's our joy. I also dun want ppl to say y gal etc... Sianz la

Catherine, I had a hard time keeping from my mil in first tri.. She guessed herself n asked hubs who didn't ans her. So, to her she guessed correctly. She sold newspapers for me all the way to USA where her relatives are.. Super sianz.. She thinks I dunno.. Hubs side all his close relatives knew coz of that, thanks to mil though in front of me they dare not say a word. Even baby full month, I actually dun intend to hv.. Just wan to order full mth cakes n give hubs relatives n vouchers for friends who bought me gifts.. But relented. Told hubs, he arranges the buffet n caterer n he makes sure his maid or himself clean up the house after the celebration. Dun expect me to do.

Btw, today is my last day of massage.. Pregnancy Tummy almost gone.. But still can't wear all my pants & skirts coz I expanded side ways n still hv another 7 kg to lose after I Lost 7-8kg since delivery. I tried on a few dresses, can wear but bust n arm pit areas are tight!

She visits belle every wkend.. And everytime she is here, she will praise her many times!! U know kids cannot be praised ESP at such tender age.. Is not trying to be pantang or wat.. But is true Loh.. Then told my CL to cook pig trotters on belle full mth! Said she n her sisters all like to eat.. Hey, my CL leh.. Takes care n cooks for me.. Not for her n those aunties!! I dun even eat those stuff!!! Then who will go buy all the ingredients?! My poor mummy Loh.. Who is paying? My mummy again? N mil dun even say a word of thanks! I just told hubs to pass my mum money for that pot of pig trotters ingredients! FYI, since married 6 yrs ago, mil nv visit my parents.. She jealousy my parents hv 2 grandchildren ok.. I told my parents dun need to visit her also!

When she was hospitalised last yr, my parents wanted to visit her. I told them no need. I lied to hubs I nv tell my parents mil was hospitalized. I told my parents mil dun even bother they shouldn't also & degrade themselves. As simple as that.

Hazel, I guess yr mil is happy that's y she went on broadcast mode. I also dun want full mth party. But my hb and I decided to let my dad decide. After all we din hold traditional customary wedding when we got married so this time let my dad decide. Did u ask Nadia if U can carry on massage to get back yr fig? U lost 7kg in 2 weeks amazing leh how u did it??

Oh ya u better make sure yr hubby clean up!! Dun do it yourself.... Today my mum praised my hubby for being v knowledgeable on bb's ailment, how to handle bb. My mum say I m lucky. I see it as my advantage haha... Bb anything wrong, throw to daddy.

I agree with u bb can't b praised at a young age. She is really v demanding. Yr mil is a kidney patient right, cant beat pig trotters right? Yr poor mummy has to lug all the ingredients from mkt, clean for u.... Sigh. I intend to give my mum $1k for my confinement food. U think it's enough? 3 meals for me and my hubby eats dinner if he stay over at my parents place. Then I intend to give my parents $5k for helping me do my confinement. Should b ok right? Luckily my mil is in msia. So no communication no visiting.

Btw Iwhen do I know I can start massage with Nadia? Must I get approval from gynae?

Catherine, massage can continue of course. But after one wk, she told me use abdominal binder instead. But then if bone structure expand side ways, no matter how much massage also useless.. Nadia confirms that.. U know I can't even pull up my pants coz my hip expanded.. I didn't even realize it... Coz I hv small hip to start with.. Nadia told me to continue using the abdominal binder for 1-2 months even though tummy is almost gone.. She said if not, the skin there will be saggy after a while.. I didn't do anything to lose 7-8kg in 2 wks plus after delivery.. I take v little carbo (ie rice)... Though I do express BM 6x a day, I dun feel hungry as compared to some gals who shares that breast feeding makes them hungry v fast...

Also, pumping or latching contracts our wombs.. U will feel cramps the first 1 wk when u latch or pump..

Natural delivery, 1 wk after u can start maasage. C section, is advisable 1mth after delivery when wound heals. Anytime before that, get clearance from your gynae as she will check your wound.

Depends on wat u eat during confinement. Herbs n fish (Ngoh fish) can be expensive. First 2 wks usually no herbs.. Only wolfberries n dates coz we r still bleeding quite a fair bit.. Take expensive herbs, all wasted. After 2 wks, if just staining n u start on herbs, like dang GUI, huai Shan, cordecyps, $1k is not enough... But is ok since u r giving your mum $5k for helping u with confinement. Remember to put in a red packet at end of confinement n give her.. Is for good luck also.. Coz confinement is considered "not clean"

Dialysis patients everything also can eat.. Coz the good n bad things of food will be "washed" out in dialysis anyway. Mil goes dialysis on alternate days.. So nothing get absorbed anyway..

Oh, I din know can't take herbs. Hmmm... I leave it to my mum. We bought all the red dates blah blah b4 cny from Lao ban niang. Juz send over to my parents place yesterday. I dun know how ex food is in mkt. K I will give 1k tomorrow and ask her half way thru my confinement. My fren said I m giving a lot to them for my confinement but I think it's ok juz a token of appreciation .

Did Nadia suggest how u can get yr bone structure back in place? I hope I can slim down fast. I bought a lot of h&m clothes when I was in hk last yr. Din get a chance to wear cos I found out I was preggy. Whatever Nadia say I will listen. Is it ok to go swimming after confinement? I can't run the only exercise I can do is swimming and cycling. Yoga is too slow for me...

Catherine, Nadia also said bone structure hard to shrink... The best way to lose weight is to nurse! Also, after confinement, there will be less sleep n rest, while we take care of bb.. will lose weight too! So, dun worry.. When u meet Nadia, u will realize how skinny n small size she is though she has a daughter already.. Quite pretty too & look young.. She is in early 30s..

Red dates all these can take.. But if expensive herbs, usually dun take while we r still bleeding.. Coz will v wasteful.. Ur mum will know when to give u herbs.

Well, 1 kg of Ngoh fish can cost as much as $40-50!