(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel - wow last time period must be really heavy to stain the bed. For me, I bought the liners this time in case got 'show' as a sign of labour when I'm sleeping..so don't want to have to buy new mattress man.... and the idea of wearing maternity pad while in car/on the way to hospital is quite a good idea! But what if water bag burst, then can maternity pad support?

Chris baby - ya exactly. My frd's friend said she kena have to go observation ward twice due to false alarm and the screaming around her was super annoying. Sigh. That's the only downside of TMC I suppose as they have limited space. Yeah, check to see whats your gynae's recommendation (induce or not). Safety is most important right?

Kimmy, sign of labour, see red will not be heavy.. Just like when menses come in the middle of the night last time, it does not stain the bed right? Water bag either burst or leak. Burst will be sudden gush.. Most wld hv flowed out n need to rush to hospital.. Usu is leaked, if so, any pad will do.

Hazel,

not to worry about amniotic fluid getting lesser cos when dr SF Loh do scanning for you, you can asked him the question like if amniotic fluid enough or not, cos if you forcefully induce bb when bb not ready both u and bb will suffer if cervix failed to dilate like in my sil's case and if go thro long hrs of labour (eg more than 12hrs) bb will be in danger cos of stress poo inside mummy's tummy. Just check with Dr Loh for his professional opinion, cos i trust that u'll be his good and safe hands under him.

Hazel,

I understand how u feel, cos i also worry about the amniotic fluid level so every visit since 2wks ago, i already asked my gynae to check if the level okie and she'll do a scan to check for me. Cos i also heard of some cases whereby there's leakage etc... That's why today will discuss with gynae the possibility of induce either on 20/1/12 or next week the date that she advised us cos most likely if bb didn't engaged then i'll go for induce liao.

Chris, yes, I can trust dr loh. Anyway, It doesn't really bother me if natural delivery or c section. The fear of this didn't come to me at all.. Not even labour or contraction pains. The most impt is my bb's well being that I m concerned. Be it induce or c section coz cervix is not ready, is all fine with me. I just wan to see my bb born healthily n safely.

I need to remember to ask dr loh if he is doing GBS test for me if I do natural delivery coz my gf told me he had not done the test for her for both her natural deliveries... Unless by default, antibiotics will be put in the drip during the delivery at KKH.. But cannot be leh, my other gf delivered by my ex-KKH gynae in KKH did the GBS test!

What's gbS test? And noted on the bloody 'show' or leak. Heh. Maybe I should start packing hospital bag in feb.. Since I tend to procrastinate a lot. Yeah, I also just wanna ensure bb is safe, and healthy. Delivery portion as in methods is not my priority...

Ahh.. Okay. I actually always thought that it was part of labour protocol to put antibiotics in drip or inject us for bb's safety all along. Cuz when my frd's frd gave birth in a cab - they needed to inject the newborn rightaway because she wasn't in time to take antibiotics...

Hi Ladies, can I please check if Dr Loh will do the OSCAR scan himself or whether it'll be done by a sonographer in TMC? Thanks!

Kimmy, unless is the gynae's practice that antibiotics r administered for all deliveries. But I know of KKH dr who did the tests for patients. Chris also did the test at abt 37wks & her gynae is gleneagles...

Dunno wat's dr loh style.. I Only know, he will order BTs if c section n all surgeries (big or small)... So that he can take certain precaution if need to.

Btw gals, just curious on the pantang part.. Hope to hear ur advise..
1) can we attend wedding? Bb full mth?
2) can we cut hair in first trimester?

Thk u..

Thanks Joanne
I'm around 6 weeks...

Hi sue
Congrat.. Hv u go scan for bb hb? U following doc Loh too?

Can anyone advise me doc Loh clinic number? Thk u.

Hazel - what if we request for to take the test? Mm I will most prob ask him this tmr and see what's his take is. Like the other time I asked him about perennial massage and natural tear he mentioned why he don't encourage and chances of succeeding v rare so will probably bounce this off to him..

Joanne - sorry don't have it with me off hand as I'm out

Qin - u can start from week 12 when the bump grows more obvious. There are quite a few in the market, clarins being the most popular one

Kimmy, wat time u seeing him tomorrow? U know dr loh, if he says no need n I insist, may offend him? Just wan to remind him, in case he forgets if he wants us to take.

Jo3, tel: 6526 1003

Dr loh's no n tmc main nos all in my phone already.. Nv know when I need the no meh....

Hazel - seeing him @ 3. Haha ya I knw what u mean but I realize he's quite open. Or err like a friend insisted she could continue jogging after bfp and showed him articles / studies saying its okay then he said if u insist then go ahead lor? Another lady insisted on inducing after hearing how her frd bb hb stopped at 39wks so he said ok although reluctant too as well... I'm quite curious to know his take on this. Maybe I will ask him if no need, then why? Cuz risk is low? I kiasu how? Mwahahaha.

Dear Baby_me,
Thx for sharing the costs! Will be mentally prepared. Lol. You signed up for FBI? Must sign up downstairs before the scan or at level 4 before doing the scan can sign up?

Dear Hazel,
I saved your packing list as reference! hehe...

Dear Joanne,
Your appt with dr loh is also 6th feb? Mine too! What time is yours? Mine is 230pm.

Dear kimmy,
What is the breed of your dogs? So nice to have a backyard for them! More space to move around

Dear Joops,
Your 3 malteses are related to one another? Is it hard to take care of 3 dogs at one go? Are they paper trained or they have to go walk walk daily?

Dear Bbliss,
I love ma la soup. My favourite steamboat place is Chongqing Hotpot, the Tanglin Mall branch. They have a branch at Suntec City basement called the Chinese Feasts. Been my favourite place for over 10 years. Everytime I'm down, hubby will suggest to bring me there. lol.

As for your hubby's family issue, they really sound unreasonable. Is this the norm even before you got married? If it is then it'd be hard to change. Your hubby's priorities are more or less fixed. Hopefully with baby, he will relook at his priorities cos own child should always be the most important, I feel.

Kimmy, yes, that is why I m scared coz anything can happen.. That is why i asked him if I can induce at 37/38 wks... He didn't say no but shared with me his thoughts coz the same thing happened to my elder gal when i was at 21 wks... Guess, end of the day, we just got to trust him... to sf loh, he has done so many deliveries.. N he always says, cannot be so suay always n his luck is always good!

Sashamama,

Hi sasha
U can do all the scan first n bt, then before payment, i go down sign up for fbi before go up to make the payment.. They give u a temporary past n the card will send only after 3wks.. Doc Loh is in their list so hv 5% discount if deliver at tmc.. Yesterday when register, they asks me make payment so i tell them we gonna apply the card so will scan already then go down apply card before make payment..;)

Hazel - yes, I heard about his good luck few times before. Haha. I will trust him, but I will also tell him my concerns...just so I know I've asked him about it and hear his reply. I'm sure he knows a lot of his patients are also scared of the unknown which no one can control...

Hi sashamama, where did you go to register for Wong BB classes after your Oscar scan? I'm planning to do the same too
Approx when do you think you'll start the classes? Was told if too early can forget certain things like breastfeeding, so trying to work out a good timeframe to start

Pardon my ignorance, just curious, if hubby doesn't stay overnight in the ward (after delivery), the nurses help isn't good enough? Will it just be feeding? Yah, going toilet will be an issue right? Anything else?

Cos I thought if let hubby rest at home, hv a good night's sleep, he can be more helpful during daytime, like not zombie-fied...

Tromso - u can register for it at level 5, parent craft centre.
And I'm starting my class at 30 weeks. But up to you, anytime from 5 months onwards can already. I register later so that in case I've any questions I can ask and also I won't forget... from what I know, the nurses are there to help you 24/7 if you need assistance.

Hi Joanne,
They didn't pass me back the brown paper too. They just told me date of next scan n can go off already. Yes, I managed to see whole process hehe so fun, but too bad no print out

My next appt is on 7 Feb evening time. For mrs Wong class, First lesson is on 17 Mar. Are u gng to sign up too? Maybe we can go for same classes

Thx to those sisters for comforting words. Feel better aft letting off some steam....

For those who have gd mil n sils, u will enjoy peace. If u haf problematic ones, it kinda create chaos to hus n wife. U gals juz can't image hw poison are my in-laws n feel sick toking abt them again. Argh....

Anyway, I dun go tink abt meanwhile as wanna enjoy my long weekend.

Kimmy, u managed to get e sat slots for Wbb's class ah. Tink I register too late n end up wif oni sun slots for mth of jan onwards coz I wld haf prefer sat too

Bbliss - ya just try ur best to ignore ILs and enjoy long weekend and thoughts of seein your princess really soon ya? Yup, I signed up since sep, ahha kiasu right... And sat suits me better. It's ok.. We can continue to exchange pointers from the class here and share

I paid $274 for Mrs Wong class after FBI discount. Before disc is $309.

I heard no wedding dinner n no Bb full month. But I have cut my hair last week hehe. Can't stand the frizziness.

Hi Shasamama,
I signed up the FBI earlier before the Oscar scan, one wk before. During scan they can check the comp if u hv signed up or not, no need to show them the receipt. Good Luck for your scan
Jia You

Hi Tromso,
I start my class in Mar, should be in 5 mth already. Actually the lady suggested to go around 7 months, but I scared a bit too tired as tummy too big already. So I decided to go earlier. Just hope that can remember all the things hehe.

Hi all, update fr me. Went 4 doc appt today n as i opting for c-section, he asked me to choose 2 or 3 apr as told him dun 1 1 apr heehee. Hmm anyone any idea which date is better? I shd b 27+wks now n doc said bb is 1.2kg. Wow, double in weight fr the last appt. Nxt appt is 3 wks time. Loik like delivery date is getting near n i hv nit done any shopping yet.....

Oh yeah, who is asking abt c-section? I done tat for my 1st kid. Actually, quite fast as in its half body n not GA. The epidural is painful to me ( not to scare u) but after tat, within seconds, it takes effect. Whole op is less than an hr n as in kk, hubby not allowed in. U need to shave below too n nurse will help u do tat. Hope this helps.

Really? Tats gd news :) yup 7 yrs ago. If hubby can accompany, tat will b great! Mayb hv change in the policy..

Hi baby
Oh.. I think i will go to 4th flr to asks abt the brown form next time else we hv nothing to show if go for detail scan neh.. As for wbb class, am still considering.. Will want to attend but think hb will say no need since we hv also take care elder one w/o attend the class.. How? I want to attend as to learn more things but i can go only on wkday night as my son has lots of activities on sat so not free on weekend since we suppose take care him on his schoolwork on sun too.. If i go oso hv to go early as worry by 6th mth, tummy will be too big to move around.. So not sure whether shd i go too??

Oh, u mean for whole nine mth cant attend wedding?? How abt rom ceremony as my bro registering soon in another few mths time?? I oso want cut my fringe.. Cant stand the long length too...

Hi tromso
Actually hb not in hospital oso ok one as still hv nurse oways there to help... Like u say, i dun want him tired out too so let him hv a gd sleep at home.. Now my worry is if twins in my rm n i need to bf then i may need him to be around incase cant cope since now hospital encourage bf.. Hmm...

Thanks for the Wong BB registration info Kimmy

Hi Baby Me, I'm thinking to start the class say week 25 onwards, around Apr I guess. Are you still keen on the prenatal yoga classes? Was it you Baby Me or another Baby who is interested, can't quite recall now...

Joanne, sounds like good idea to have hubby stay overnight for your case leh cos seems more demands with twins. It's interesting how we are all pregnant but having twins seems to have quite different considerations, you continue to JY there

Thanks for sharing about your Oscar scans Joanne and Baby Me, ok, will inform sonagrapher am an ivf patient, check if should get brown sheet back, drink more water for scan (my last scan took a while for dr loh cos I emptied bladder just before scan and he pressed harder too
...), sign up for Wong BB same time!! Also have to check if will receive a call fr them re results...

Joanne, cherries are good but remember to wash them
more thoroughly as cherries and strawberries seem to have more pesticides than other fruits. Same goes for apples and peaches. I'll pm you the list

Joanne - going for first scan tmw
not sure if too early to see hb. Keen to follow dr loh but am a bit worried of the waiting times and his bz schedule. Some of my friends gynaes do all scans themselves n not w a sonographer including Oscar. I thought it'll be the same when dr loh comes out to private but seems like scanning is still done separately.

Tzac, is mi asking c-sec process la. U mean hb cannot go in n acc ?

Juz curious, when is yr edd? Coz u r ard 28wks nw rite den yr edd shld be ard 5-6apr. Den u mean c-sec can be arranged to be oni 2-3 days be4 edd ? Tot muz be ard 2 weeks be4.

Paisay to ask do much but appreciated if u could share more. Thx !!

Hi Joanne,

i did my oscar scan in KKH so they explained the result immediately. i no need to wait for dr loh to confirm.

fruits are always good hehehe i love them very muchie....

jus now was sharing with my sis in law whom are goin to see a gynae tomorrow on having a baby. i was jus sharing S0-IUI and other possible questions to ask since my sis in law ask me what to ask. subsequently, when i called back, my bro flew into rage and scolded me. sign. guess sometimes good intention might result in quarrels among them. yeah i guess i jus let everything of theirs take nature course as they have been married for 6 years. guess mayb there are some tension and stress in this issue among them. is not the first time they quarrel over this issue. i guess sometimes such tins we jus not in a position to interfere i guess.

sorrie for posting here. jus need an avenue to air out this.....mi also recommended TCM to her too.

Hi Joanne,

i did my oscar scan in KKH so they explained the result immediately. i no need to wait for dr loh to confirm.

fruits are always good hehehe i love them very muchie....

jus now was sharing with my sis in law whom are goin to see a gynae tomorrow on having a baby. i was jus sharing S0-IUI and other possible questions to ask since my sis in law ask me what to ask. subsequently, when i called back, my bro flew into rage and scolded me. sign. guess sometimes good intention might result in quarrels among them. yeah i guess i jus let everything of theirs take nature course as they have been married for 6 years. guess mayb there are some tension and stress in this issue among them. is not the first time they quarrel over this issue. i guess sometimes such tins we jus not in a position to interfere i guess.

sorrie for posting here. jus need an avenue to air out this.....mi also recommended TCM to her too.

Kimmy,

u seeing dr loh tomorrow huh? mi oso getting excited to seeing him on friday cos excited by the high tech scanning machine which you all mentioning hehee :0)

Joanne : The FBI discount of 5% is off gynae scanning and consultation costs huh? hehe i havent sign up too....

Chris baby : Jia You!

Hazel : Rest more..think you have been doing lotsa of tins these few days...

Bbliss : Dun care so muchie lah..guess we can never satisfy everyone. so i guess the best tin for us preggie now is to bo chap and maintain our emotions and not let littie one affected by it.
not easy but mus practise.

i am also learning
yeah this journey is exciting and coupled with anxiety really...went to mothercare and see all the beautiful clothings..but they are really expensive leh hehee

for second time mum : can advise what are the products that we can buy from Avent huh? hrd is a good brand leh.