(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

hi hazel,

u mean u drink coffee? u should try to avoid coffee, chocolate, tea when u have reflux cos it tends to trigger your reflux. Caffeine will relax the muscles in your oesophagus causing the gastric juice to flow up tats why causing reflux.

hazel,

yes. clariss. i wanted rainee or reana but hb prefer clariss.. u leh?
6573764.gif

hazel,

my stretchmarks are getting worse and deeper. Told my gynae that it hurts esp below the tummy. Yup she said cos my tummy is expanding further tats why the skin there becomes very tight. Yup i tried to apply either clarins oil or olive oil to ease the pain. As for the marks, just hoped they will lighten after delivery cos tats nothing i can do right now. Hb told me not to worry abt the marks cos he also dun mind them.
6573922.gif

Hi Tanny,

My Oscar goes well... it took ab 20mins or more to finish cos doc say my bb is jumping around and couldnt scan well.... btw the doc also need our 1st frozen date since we are doing IVF cos she can calculate the age of the egg to see whether we are under the high or low risk cat. Doc show me the bb brain / nose bridge / hands and legs... and the neck fluid thingy... doc say everything looking good... till now my gynae hvnt call me yet... but the sonograher say I am on the low risk.

Chris, ya.. I know these food causes reflux! Now I remembered I ate a bar of kit kat at 9 plus yesterday night! No wonder I had reflux at 2am... Hehe

I can't see my stretch marks unless I stand in front of the mirror.. Coz they are at my pelvic areas.. Red colour lines..

We hv not decided on the name.. N we didnt discuss abt this since a few mths back.. Dunno if wan to give her a middle name also as bb would most likely be batipsed. Just a matter of when though mil said at birth.. Dun care, I m the mummy, I decide! :p

Hey, why dun u do an experiment? Pick a quiet environment n appropriate time, Tell ur bb there are 3 names where daddy n mummy could not agree with....Ask bb to decide for herself. Tell her if she likes the name, kick u! So, u read to her one name at a time n wait.. See which name she will kick..

My beautician gave me this tip one. I hv 2 dates in feb.. I asked bb to kick me e date she prefers... In case I need to do c section... And well, she did!!

Bbliss, can paint nails.. But coz we can deliver anytime.. So better dun paint... As we hv to remove all jewellery and nail polishes before admission... We dunno when we will go into labour... Later garang gabo... Stil want to shower, grab delivery bag, etc n rush to hospital.. Where got time to slowly remove the nail polishes right?

Hi, Any mummies had their Embroy transfer on the 2nd Nov at KKH???

I am having a twins too... but has been active at July 2012 post instead.

Mine was conceived thru IVF at KKH...

Hi hazel,

i had very deep ones at my pelvic area too... yup avoid chocolate esp brownies. Funny i can take dark chocolate like my fren's hb who has very bad reflux, but once we take hot coco drink or milk chocolate, our reflux came bk really fast.
6574260.gif
Esp coffee, but for me i can take 1/2 a cup coffee, i can take normal low caffeine coffee but avoid expresso or starbucks coffee or those coffee that are high in caffeine.

hi hazel,

i tried the experiment on bb too to pick names hahahaha she kicked watever name we read out to her ah.hahahaha too active liao
6574281.gif

ya i agreed, tats why not gonna paint my nails cos by then will really garung gabo cos need to rush to hospital and need to remove nail polish.

Chris, she likes all 3 names!! Give her all the 3 names then.. One of hub's relative daughter has 3 names in her birth cert, "Alisha isabel Maria" then Followed by her surname!!

hahahahahaa...
my stupid hb choses clariss cos my nil's bb gal name is reheia and he don't want ours to sound like hers cos scared his parents dunnoe how to pronounce etc.. I told him tat anyway they will call her by the chinese name ma...

oooh now i smell fried beehoon aroma coming from one of my neighbours' house..yummy...starting to drool again hahahaha...
6574333.gif

faithfully,

so nice to see bb during oscar rite? mine took nearly 1hr cos bb very active jumping about when doing the detailed scan during my 5th mth. Esp at the last 30 mins, bb keep sucking her fingers and then covered her face with both hands.

Bbliss - heeh I've been painting nails since 2nd tri. Pamper myself :p Can..and hazel is right, cuz need to remove prior to delivery so no point for them to paint

Hazel - do u know if for tmc we need to pay a deposit upon booking rooms/bed?

Hi faithfully
Haha.. I think u confuse.. Is me asks u on hows ur oscar.. Not Tanny..;) glad to know all goes well for ur bb oscar scan.. Very enjoyable moment hor.. Wht size is ur bb now n when is ur next appointment? Btw, did u sign up for fbi card to get the discount?? I think most of us going for oscar scan next week.. Pray hard all goes well for all of us..;)

Haf u all sign up for any delivery packages yet ? Wat e procedures like huh ? Izit muz tell e dr tat u wanna sign up package?

For such package, it include rm stay, dr fees etc rite ?

Ha, regarding e nail painting. Will take advice fr u sisters. Wun n painting but wld need trimming n scrubbing.... Haha....

Went to browse e maxi cosi website. Apparently they haf diff seats for diff age grp.

Does tat mean we nid to buy 2 car seats ie. 1 for infant stage n another for toddler stage ?

Can't seem to find one tat cater fr infant to toddler.

Hazel - thanks. So on day of admittance just present your i/c can already right? As in identification. And gynae card :p

Bbliss - not yet. Haha making enquiries so that I can prepare ahead once I'm mid 3rd tri. No need to tell doc about the package. Just tell the admission client servicing on level 1 after Dr loh chop your admittance paper during 32 weeks visit. Haha I intend to paint 'ang sek' for CNY! Wahahaha. But I use organic polish (paraben free) which has no smell also :p. Maxi Cosi is usually to carry till 1 yr old (the handle/carrier type that you fix on the quinny). After which, you can switch your infant to sit on a proper car seat (either from newborn to 5 yrs old or 3 mths old - 5 years, depends on what you want). Cuz toddler too big to fit into the carrier by then and too heavy also. The maxi cosi cabrio or pebble can only fit up to a certain weight.

Hope this info helps!

Hahaha now I bz shopping for all the small small stuff, like container to store milk bottles, thermometer etc. Mwahahah.

Joanne - I'm sure the oscar scan will go well yah. ahha who knows you may be able to sneak a peek at the genders from sonographer :p

Kimmy, I c. So may nid 2 car seats den.

Re: package. I do not haf e admission form yet leh coz din join e hosp tours. So e form I nid to obtain myself or dr loh will give ?

Would anyone roughly noe hw much wld e cash payout be for e BIG DAY aft all e medisave deduction ?

Oh sorry one more thing to add - any of you getting humidifer or ionizers to put in the room which baby will be sleeping in? I saw one in taka but it costs about $450 for a small tiny thingy...hahahaha Don't know if worth the while a not.
So exciting, suddenly so many things to get/prepare!

Bbliss - you can get the admission form from the pre-admission counter on level 1, just opposite the concierge. Then just fill it in and get Dr Loh to chop/stamp. :p
Re. car seats, yup..if you are using the maxi cosi carbio you will need a proper car seat for toddler. So what my relatives do is they get one car seat from newborn to x years old, and then they just carry the baby in and out of the seat (didn't get a maxi cosi), so really depends on ur preference :p

As for cash payout... rough estimate I got was about $2.5K for assisted delivery (i.e.: vacuum or forceps) after medisave if you're staying in single-bedded. My frd's bill was $5.5K inclusive of his son 2-days stay for jaundice & pedaetrician bill (just born in dec). After deduction of $2,100 from medisave, he paid the balance. He opt his wife to stay in single-bedded.

Thks Kimmy...hee.. Just pray hard both babies r well... Gender of bb will try asks...;)
Can see tt so many of u r already preparing for labour.. How nice... While i am still struggling with my dinner everyday.. Hope my appetite will improve soon so can eat more nuitritous food for both bbies.. Worry they lack of nutritious.. Still wonder does Doc Loh has any package at tmc?

Btw gals... Just Heard fr a sister that now doc Loh is oso under the fbi gynea list so we can hv 5% discount for all the scans we go to.. This make the signing up of fbi/sbi card more worthwhile..

Kimmy, den wat e brand of seat tat yr relatives r getting which can be use fr infant to toddler age ?

Noted on e Pre admission form. Will rem to get it

I got a humidifier in my room currently. If bb sleeping in air con rm wif CL, I may oso nid to buy one coz aircon mah.... Scare air too dry for bb.... Hehe....

Ya, nw slowly slowly seems to realize tat do many things like nid to buy despite setting on big items liao.

Kimmy, I have a Photocopy of the admission form that dr loh stamped on. Need your hubs NRIC too.

Per tmc website, we need to pay a deposit of 4.5-5k upon admission leh.. Depending on type of bed chosen. MedisAve deduction is only 2.5k. Website is not accurate ah?

I bought a humidifier, now I m using it.. After bb is born, will put in her room.. Fr Osim. <$100.

Bbliss, the package is upon admission. N only applicable for single bedded n below. So, Premier single bed n above is ala cart, no package.

Bbliss, one thing to note, those car seats suitable from infant to toddler are usually not rear facing.. Thus it is not as safe as car seats meant for new born n bb under 1 yr old. bb's neck n skull r very soft. If not rear facing, bb head n neck will jerk forward if the driver stamp on brakes hard or suddenly. U can goggle online to find out more why it is better to get a rear facing car seat for bb.. The other time I posted a newspaper article on this... But dun hv the link now..

my god...i haven't done anything...pre-admission...admission...someone pls enlighten me! Dr loh didn't even have time to answer my questions the last time and the next time i see him i will be 31 weeks...how?

Vann, dun panic. I did at 33+wks. I just passed him the completed admission form n asked him wat I need to do with it. He stamped n asked me to pass it to first floor counter!

Joanne - Then its worth it that Dr Loh joins the panel. Hopefully Dr Loh will have a package in time for you to join eventually. Maybe now teething period now that's why... At least u know during Oscar you can have a long shiok session looking at your 2 babies in detail. Hehe.

Bbliss - brand they are using is combi. Sells @ taka but they bought from bb fair at $700.. More ex than the usual car seats but its really good because I've seen my nephew sat through it from newborn onwards
And like what hazel mention, you will need to adjust the seat rear facing for first 6-7 months then you can change it to front facing. Important to note.

Hazel -- huh, really? we need to pay deposit of 4.5 - 5k? so much? My frd was telling me he top up $2.5K in cash after deduction when they checked out of hospital after 3 days leh... mmm that one I'm not sure already. Yah heard humidifier is good for air-con room so not too dry. No smell one right? I can't take those which emits smell...

tks hazel...so not too late la...you paid a deposit?? what if premature (touchwwod) and we decide to go to kkh instead...what happens to the deposit?

Vann, no deposit is required. After 34wks, dun hv to go KKH anymore.

Kimmy, that is what I saw at tmc website under "fees".. Osim one no smell.

Bbliss, if u work out the sum, based on what Kimmy shared, separate car seats n one car seat with features for new born works out the same.

Ok. Noted advice on cat seat n Pre admission.

Btw, kimmy n vann, when u all c dr loh during yr last appt appt, did u chk on yr placenta level ? Are urs still low or haf gone up liao?

Hazel, does low placenta mean can oni opt for c-section ? Any pointers to share ?

Bbliss, that is the Osim humidifier I bought!

There are a 3 types of low lying placenta. Unless you have the most serious type, placenta previa, it means that your placenta is lying unusually low in your uterus, next to or covering your cervix. If you have placenta previa nearer to delivery, yes, u need a c section. Also, as bb gets bugger n if you have placenta previa, may cause bleeding n contractions may also set in...

Do u hv a copy of your 20wks detailed scsn report? The position of your placenta is stated that. If it placenta previa, it will write there. But if dr nv say u hv the most serious type shld be fine. One of my gfs had this, she bled profusely at 30wks n dr can't stop the contractions, her twins r delivered via c section.

Chris &amp; Catherine, my pelvic (as low as where pelvic hair is) has been aching (v v mild cramp) on off since afternoon.. Once a while I can feel bb moving there n near the groin.. So, m not sure if the cramp is caused by her or are Braxton hicks.. I hope is not a sign that she will arrive before 37wks.....

Just bk from my 30mins walk at waterfront punngol again. very cooling.. Me and hb on the lookout for stray dogs while strolling away. saw i or 2 dogs this 2 nites but they staying far away from us. I joked with hb that i looked yummy and fat now like a big sausage heehee if they really attack us dun think i can run.
6575117.gif

hazel,

I also have this cramp recently after i started my 30mins walk, think maybe bb trying to move to engage position ba. Not to sure either, u might wanna ask dr loh.

Hazel, me too. Then I told my gal to b gentle ... This morning on myway to office my gal was so active. I told my hb To change her name to a more gentle name... My gal stop moving after my hb say my gal name is a v gentle name already.

Hazel and chris, I have the same thought as u... I have 3 names in mind too. My hb say the same as u gals but I told him by the 2nd name gal gal find us naggy. Third name, she Will cry that does not mean she dun like the name. So I gave up. I m the mother I decide English name daddy decide Chinese name

Bbliss, my fren hospital bill at is discharge day is $3.5k + what they pay in the past + medisave ..... Total bill $12k

I was shocked. I hope mine will not b as high as theirs

Catherine, u feel the pain at the same time u feel bb's movements so, u can confirm is caused by her. But for me, when I feel the mild pain, I may not feel her movements at the same time.

I have anterior placenta (on the front wall of uterus). So, bb movements may not be felt as strongly n violently as those gals with posterior (back wall of your uterus) placenta.

Chris, u asked me if I am opting for natural or c section right? I told u natural delivery if possible, coz I have an anterior placenta, that means I hv a higher risk of bleeding during c section. Of course, the bleeding will be treated immediately since I will be in the OT if I do a c section. That is why, dr will run blood tests prior to c section ESP.. To standby blood, in case needed during OT.. That is y c section carries a higher risk of complications during delivery..

Actually, the position of our placenta is stated in the 20wks full scan report. That is how I know where my placenta is facing and the position.

Gynae will not go into the details one unless they have a concern... Then they will warn us. They nv say anything means nothing serious.

Hazel - thanks for the link on deposit. ahh I see...I think they scared patients 'run away' so must put deposit first, any balance from there they refund you upon discharge?

Bbliss - I did ask Dr Loh if my placenta moved up since detailed scan he mentioned it was low but as weeks advance, it should move up. He didn't answer my question directly but said it should still continue to move up and then went on to distract me with the 3D scans (like see see!!). -_- *face palms* I'm more concern about my fluid level because of what that woman beside him said the last time. I hope she was wrong, cuz he dint say anything so maybe she saw wrong thing. Then again distract me with more images of 3D scan. But since he din't say anything alarming...

miracle happens - depends on where you are doing it at... I think KKH charges about $200? My pte gynae charged about $350 the last time (think a friend who did at TMC said about the same)

Catherine - haha good one. yeah you choose english and hubby choose chinese.

Oh btw I know what's braxton hicks (thanks to a frd helping to ask gynae today). Its what I've been experiencing - tight pulling just below belly button aka a bit of cramping. My gf whose scheduled for a C in 3 days' time at 37 wks has been having painless contractions for past 2 days and only found out today thru ctg machine. Goodness. This whole painless contractions thing is so scary.

Tzac, my parcel has arrived in SG. Now, is waiting for vpost to send to my house. Latest by sat morning, if it is a working day, if not Monday, will reach me. U shld be receiving yours soon too..