(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Sunbelle,

i had UTI last 2 weeks, taken antibiotics hope its clear by now. Yes, we can drink cranberry juice now. I had UTI before during my 6wks peggy and 35 preggy without even realizing it. U can either go to your gynae or GP to do a urine test, remember ask dr to do a urine culture test together as well cos it will detect the bacteria causing it and the right antibiotics will be given. For my case, i didn't do urine culture test as i didn't know of such a test and the GP just gave me general antibiotics safe for preggy ladies to take for 5 days until the 7th day i seen my gynae then she told me tat its impt to do a urine culture test to determine the exact bacteria so that the right antibiotics will be given to kill it.
6516642.gif

Sunbelle, I can't remember the exact levy amt now. U can ask the agent. Is a daily levy of a few bucks a day based on the no of days CL is in SG & is billed by MOM directly to us. Totsl is abt 150-200 bucks if i didnt wrongly. Jo collected from me $20, being admin fees payable to MOM for application of work permit. Yes, u can inform agent on your request for CL age limit. Anyway, MOM issues permit only if CL is 58 yrs m below.

Breast pump will arrive by 2nd wk of Jan. Regarding UTI, hv u gotten before pre pregnancy days? Recurrence rates r higher if u get b4. If not, dun worry. Is not that common in pregnancy ladies if u practice good hygenes n habits. Among the pp I know. So far, only Chris gets it.. :p

Activities like bb dance increase risk of UTI. We avoided the entire pregnancy. But if required, make sure u pee before n after bb dance n wash your below after bb dance. Dun indulge in excessive high sugar or carbo diet too as that promote yeast infection. Dun hold your bladder. Go toilet as & when required even at night when sleeping. Wear cotton undies.

I asked dr Loh last visit if he has a pte no to call. I think he said something like phone line not ready, anything just go TMC 24hrs n ask them to call him.

Regarding swimming, it wun cause spotting unless u hv issues like low lying placenta where exercises shld be minimum. Clear with dr Loh first u can swim. He encourages swimming too as a form of exercise in 2nd tri.

Chris, I can't sleep well too.. Coz of terrible heart burnt whenever i lie down... Gaviscon is not helping much now so I stop taking.. So, though not working, I m super tired every day.. N make me agitated. Sianz!

Tanny, u check with masseur on the wrap cloth. I didn't ask her as I assume she will use a new cloth for every customer. I dun expect the cloth to recycle. Anyway, I already informed her via SMS. As consistent with wat my friend told me, no need to pay deposit or pre book in advance. I only need to SMS her after I discharge so that she can arrange the appointments. My friend used her twice for her 2 kids.

Cny coming!! Need spring cleaning!! I got hubs' maid at mil Plc to do once in nov before she went bk. curtains all changed but now the exterior areas dusty again! Dun wan to get the new maid to do as she is quite sotong.. So, thru the help of a gf, will get a part time cleaner on cny that wk to help me wipe the exterior again & change bed sheets! If she is good, will most likely engage her to do part time cleaning twice weekly from there! No choice, with a bb, the house must be kept as clean as possoble! Hehe..

Hi Hazel,

I will call later to check with the agency. Thank you very much for your useful information.

As for UTI, I m prone to it before pregnancy. Yeah we avoided baby dance cos we dun wan to have any worry. hubby also think better not for the sake of the baby. yeah I m bathing more often once I discover the discharge is more or cause itchness.

Yeah also cut down on sweet stuffs after knowing it will cause infections. hope that dr Loh will be like dr Fong yang or Peter Chew to have a mend call centre whom will help to contact the doctor to call patients in times of emergency. Mi feel that email is insecure.

Sun belle, when u feel itchy down there, sit in a basin of warm salt water.... It helps for me! Use normal cooking salt but get a brand new pack. I always have a pack in my bathroom on standby.

The salt will come in useful too after natural delivery.. it aids in wound recovery down there when we sit in warm salt water a few times a day... Though it may sting

Those feminine wash though kills harmful bacteria, it also kills the good bacteria. So, not good to use daily.

Hi Chris,

Thank you so muchie for sharing on the UTI. Think I miss your post earlier on. How do u first detect u have UTI? Last time cos experience pain in urinating n very yellow urine. Issit the same symptoms for UTI in preggie ladies huh? I check website they say the urge to keep going toilet but now we are preggie, tot going toilet often is very common. How do we differentiate?

Sign. If dr Loh has a private number to call, I will have call. Cos last time when I seeing Fong yang, I jus call n ask the knowledgable nurse. That why that time hestiating between these two gynaes.

Hi Hazel,

Thank you very much for your idea.

Hi Hopeful,

yeah think you are 3 mths ahead of me. yeah know that that time both u n moo3moo strike. Another lady Imel also strike. Time flies. U bought all your baby stuffs huh?

Hi Joanna,

Jus past 12 weeks n still too early to tell gender. Yeah u are resting at home now right?

Think I monitor my condition few more days. Later go buy cranberry juice n yogurt to eat. If no good, think I jus go look for dr Loh. hehee

Hi sunbelle
I see.. So ur edd date oso July? No.. Me still working everyday.. No rest so far.. U following doc Loh? Did ur oscar oreadi? At kkh? So nice as hv past first trimester... So ur ms better now?

Yeah it's Friday today and last working day for the year ....
well at least today Mr sunshine is out!!!! I got my part time maid to clean all my cabinets, living room windows, dining room windows. Hope the weather remains... Tomorrow I need to wash my princess clothes!!!

Hazel and chrisbb, did u prepare beansprout pillow for yr little fellow? My mum did that for me now I m sunning my gal's mattress, pillow and bolster. So angry with my hb last night he put his dirty leg on my gal's pillow. Scold him like a mad woman....

Catherine, yes I bought 3! One for my Plc, one to put at mum's Plc n one for going out. I hv already sun them, wash the covers n kept them away.

Hi Sunbelle, nope.. Ve not bought my BB stuff yet.. Actually I dun ve much to buy cux I have a lot of hand me down stuff from my 2 nieces. So I only need to buy a few big items eg pram, car seat, breast pumps n I think that's abt it. Will prob buy during d Feb/Mar Taka sale.. BB clothes I only bought a few dresses.. N the rest are also from my nieces, which apparently have not been worn b4!

Fuyutsuki01, there is a shop that sells bb stuff on the ground flr of a row of shop houses opp the famous guangyin temple at Waterloo street. Bb daily wears for home use r v cheap. The shop also sells beanspout pillows. Can't remember how much, but not ex as compared to those sold in taka/robinson.. There r only shop tt sells bb stuff n is the corner near the toilets. The rest sells dried food. U cant miss it.

My gf had swollen feet at 20 wks. Every one is different. Not all pregnant ladies will get swollen feet. Like me, no this issue. Just make sure you watch your diet, ie less salt intake and your blood pressure. When u sit down in office, lift up your legs on a A4 box or a stool. At night when u sleep, lift up your feet on 2 pillows. Also dun walk n stand too long. If water retention gets worse as u progress further into pregnancy, may wan to consider wearing compression socks.

Re: milk
I take only low fat meiji milk. Even till now. maternity formula milk is higher in sugar and fat content. Will make me put on weight fast. That said, I hv many samples from different brands which I am slowly finishing off in 3rd tri as dun wan to waste them. Last stage already, put on also nvmind. All brands taste the same to me.

Hi Sunbelle,
I 1st discover UTI during my 6wks as i was vomitting profusely and has to go 24hrs KK clinic in the middle of the night. The nurse did a urine test and the dr said i got UTI as the bacteria count was really high (cos i got bad habit of holding back urine due to job nature). She said that has caused my profuse vomitting and if worse could develop fever wo. Then i was given antibiotics to take for a week.

hi catherine,

yup my mil asked her maid to handsew 2 buckwheat pillow for me and my sil's bb. The material was taken from a pillow she bought from korea. hahahaha your hb sooo cute.. i was told to sun it as often as possible. u are so lucky to have the sun, i was working till 8pm at the office trying to clear my stuff for handover. Guess i'll need to drop by office next wk on one of the days to handover...sooooo tired ah.
6520028.gif

Hi Qin
Me and another forum mate Named Baby hv been drinking Ammum currently.. For me, i try all brands before and prefer Ammum.. Infact when i hv my boy 8yrs ago.... Hv been drinking Ammum too.. End up i only put on overall 9-10kg of weight n most weight go to my boy who weigh 3.8kg...;) after give birth, i go back to my pre-pregnancy weight after one month plus... so if u want, can try Ammum as many oso say after trying different brands, they prefer Ammum too... I believe pregnancy milk can give our babies more nutrition too...

Sunbelle: u can try probiotics supplements as it is very good to keep yeast infection at bay.. Some research says taking probiotics during pregnancy can help babies reduce allergy in future. U can run through your doc before consuming. A brand that is very good is Now Foods Gr8 Dophilus. I recommended to my sil who was pregnant and her gynae said it was safe to consume. Good luck!

Thanks Hazel and Joanne. I am thinking wherther shoud i drink fresh milk or formula milk. And whether is it safe to drink fresh milk becoz ppl said only 2nd trimester then can start drinking.

Hi All, Happy Holidays! Finally can rest for few more days again. So tired

Hi Joanne, how are you n your babies? When is your next scan? I really can't wait for my next scan to see baby again. MS still very bad especially morning n night time, plus giddiness. Gosh! Really wish pass this tri soon. Based on my phone application, I should be in 10w3d now
what about you?

Hi Qin, Joanne is rite! I'm taking Anmum milk since bfp. Now is third box already. Taste nice. But this time I only can take in the morning, cause at night I always have bad nausea n giddiness after dinner. So can't really take anything after that. How many weeks are you now?

Anyone book for antenatal class yet? When should we start to book n when to attend?

Hi baby, based on my last scan, i should be around 11 weeks. Hmmz i should start to drink milk leh. I seldom drink milk coz i dun realli like milk. Baby, when is ur next scan? I will be having oscar scan on 9 Jan.

yeah mr sunshine is here today. Lucky I put the clothes to wash at 7am.

Chrisbb, I juz leave the pillow, bolster and mattress by the window. Every day I juz turn the other side.. So whether got sun or not it's still there

Seems like my mum is the most kiasu grandma.... I have about 10 bean sprout pillow!!! My mum told me if milk, saliva drop on pillow juz throw away that's y she make sooooooo many.

Hi Qin, I also don't like milk at all. I never drink milk at all since I was 8yrs old till the day I bfp. The smell of it will make me puke. But now for my baby, I will take everything good for her/him. I started with the chocolate one. It's actually not bad. I tried vanilla one too, not as good as the choc one, but I can't keep taking choc milk, a bit heaty. So I alternate it hehe. My next scan is on 7 Jan. Not sure if will have my oscar scan by then or not cos not yet 12w.

Qin, u only need extra nutrients fr 2nd tri. U dr will give u suoplements too from then. Actually if I hv a well balanced diet n eat well, u dun need all these supplements. But dr gives just in case. If u duh like milk, ask for calcium tablets from gynae. The whole purpose of taking milk is coz it had highest calcium content. If u dun hv enough calcium, u may get leg cramps fr 2nd tri and at risk of orthophosies later in life.

Do u hv family history of diabetic? If yes, u hv higher risk of gestational dibetics during pregnancy. Pregnant ladies with GD r only allowed to take low fat/skimmed fresh milk by dietian coz powder milk is v High in sugar content n fats!

Also, gynae will tell u bb dun be too big if u wan natural delivery.. Bb close to 4kg at birth is huge. Anyway, dr Loh told me to take more fresh milk when I complained I hv leg cramps.

The amt of weight a preg lady put on varies. Some by nature dun put on much. N lose weight very fast too. Guess u see among ur friends u will know. I m v careful with diet, no supper at all. If hungry i drink a glass of mill.., yet I put on 3.5 kg in first tri. Now I hv put on 14kg n I still hv 6-7 wks to go.. My bb is of v good weight too though I did not take powder milk.. End of the day depends on bb's own absorption.. Eat more does not mean bb will absorpt more too.

Fyi, Mrs Wong boi boi, told us during antenatal class that for every pregnancy she put on 22 kg!!! Coz she ate alot! But her bbs r all small at birth at 2.2kg only..

Hi joanne, babyme,
me too love annum, cos the taste not too sweet and strong. however, my house area dun sell le, so now i drink mamil gold still not too bad. So far 3rd pkt liao.
6520993.gif

hi hazel,

yup like my sil puts on 36kg and bb 3.26kg. She ate alot during preggy, cos she's always hungry and if she dun eat enough, she'll have grastric and vomit.
She drinks alot of fresh milk,formula milk, take lotsa fruits and exercises daily too.
6521004.gif

I'll be going for my 38wk scan this coming morning..heehee i'm quite excited, hopefully bb engaged and growing well. hb worried bb's weight will be too heavy and i've got to go c-section. But so far my weight gain stopped, still same weight 2wks ago.

Hi joanne/catherine/hazel
Annum milk is good, and my fren has mild gestational diabetes during her preggy 3yrs ago and her blood sugar keep shot up till she was recommended by her gynae to see a dietician at gleneages and she recommended her to take Annum milk too cos of its content and low sugar.
6521015.gif

hazel,
i'm supposed to be on leave starting next week, but guess need to delay a few stays cos of handover and also left my partner alone. hb not too happy wanted me to rest cos now i'm quite heavy,walking like penguin and very slow. He scared tat i'll be like one of my colleague from another team who worked till the day she delivered cos short of stuff and her team leader asked her delay take leave. End up she worked till 4.30pm and rush to hospital.

Re: antenatal class

Preg from 13 wks onwards can attend KKH classes. If attending mrs wong's class, can only attend after 20 wks hen full scan is completed n viability of pregnancy confirmed. That said, mrs wong's classes r v popular. So pls check the class schedule on parentcraft link at TMC website to see if the period u can attend has opened for booking. Her classes r more ex than KKH, it has gone up >&300 for wk end classes.

Chris, 36kg is a lot!!!!! How much weight has she lost? As of my last check 3 weeks ago,I only put on 7kg. Yesterday we had buffet in office- big boss treat. My colleagues ate more than me and was expecting me to eat the same amount as them. When I told them I was full after a small plate of food, the stares were on me. Even on thurs we had dept lunch, I sat beside one colleague who keep giving me food. Wah I regretted... Make me so bloated. Lucky I juz ate dishes no rice. I juz feel thankful to my gal, not giving me craving and she is growing well. Maybe I speak too fast... Maybe my weight has increased??? Will know next thurs when I c my gynae....

I m with hazel on milk. I was only able to drink milk like 6 weeks ago? B4 that any milk will make me bloated. I really dislike the formula milk.... Still have one box untouched. Like hazel, I only drink Meiji low fat plain milk. Sometimes magnolia fresh milk mixture of chocolate and plain.

Chris, u better make sure your boss give u a good bonus!! Anyway, u can deliver already so not that worrying even if u go into labour. Share with us bb's weight later!

I hv to up my fresh milk intake recently due to heart burnt. The alkaline nature of milk neutralize the acidic sourish n burning juices! Well, Annum still has higher sugar content than fresh skimmed milk. KKH dietian told my friend who had n delivered twins, safer is still fresh milk.

My hub has been sick again! One wk Leow!! Terrible right?! Luckily I m not as week as him, if not, I will confirm always get the virus from him! :p

Catherine, Meiji now has skimmed milk!! Even less fattening than low fat! But calcium content same. Even HL low fat is sweeter than meiji! Oh yes, yogurt is good for calcium too!! N keep the infections at bay too'

Chris, I will b like u. Till today my boss has not tell me if he allow my 16 week ml or 8 week. I m so busy now I dun have time to do my project. Though I indicate I will b on leave from 20 feb (that's when I m like 38.5 weeks) I still have 5 days of leav to clear and project to do. My mum now say no to my 8 week ml. I told her Bo bian I need job and I m like 2nd man to my boss now. All others r so junior they will not b able to cope. So far My hb juz let me decide whet to do.. He can't b like on standby for me anymore cos his night class starts. Anything I have to call my dad. Thankfully I cam still drive and my office and house is v near. So must must ren and tell my gal to behave.

In fact Chris, I m supposed to b on leave next fri to send my car for servicing and thinking of gg to orchard to change my watch battery and get hb a vday present. I told my boss about my car servicing he say y take leave juz send in the early morning and collect after work at 530 la... I told him, how can I leave office at 5.30? I know what he mean but I need to relax too right? In fact my boss has not use his this yr leave too. Then yesterday my staff told me she wants to take fri off to c dentist. As a boss I said ok u take I change my leave. Then I grumble to my hb and ask him to take thurs off to go c gynae. Surprisingly he said ok! usually my hb will say no cos he needs his leave for his studies. After all the unhappiness at work,my hb made my day.....

Chris, ur sil is luckily she does not hv health issues with 36 kg weight gain! Some unluckily ones have hypertension n gestational diabetics coz of excessive weight gain.

Catherine, as long as we eat well n our bb is growing well, evn if put on not much is okay. Bbs draw from our reserve, end of the day if we dun hv replace the nutrients we lost to bb, we suffer not bb. When we breast feed, we need even more calcium daily..

Be it fresh or powder milk, is Indiv own choice. Both give calcium to us. If mommy dun mind the extra fat and sugar content, then can always take powder milk... Oh ya, more ex also. :p

Hazel, I know they have skimmed milk but I think bb needs the fat from milk so juz drink la. Yup I buy yogurt by tubs. Only I eat haha.... My hb dun touch the fresh milk, yogurt unless I ask him to. He told me those r bb and my food. He dun need it.

Hi catherine,
Meiji is my favourite too..but now i drink magnolia Hi Lo in the morning and formula at night cos formula milk makes me full. Yup my sil lost 12kg when she pop, she breastfeeding now, and she still have another 24kg to lose. She gave birth on 23.11
6521151.gif

Hazel, Thks for your info on the antenatal class. Thinking of joining mrs Wong class. Will keep checking out on the schedule

Hi hazel,

fat bonus? hahahah fat hope lor, cos i just joined a new team, new boss this yr. No revenue yet only costs sooooo prepared mentally to get no bonus and increment.
6521154.gif

Hi hazel,

u better stay clear of him hahahaa..When my hb down with flu, he very scared pass to me will sleep in separate rooms till he's well cos that time at KK he heard the docs said to us that preggy woman try not to fall sick cos our immunity down and there's alot of medicine we can't take and we take longer time to recover.

catherine,

yup bb needs the fat too tats why i toggle between fresh milk and formula milk. Cos especially in the 3rd trimester, bb needs to pile up fat to prepare themselves for the delivery. So i cut down on carbo and increase my protein and calcium instead.
6521157.gif
My overall weight gain is now 17kg so far so good accordingly to my gynae cos i used to be quite underweight with BMI below 18.

hazel,

yup i can feel bb's weight getting heavier. i slept for abt 4-5hrs again last night, keep waking up to pee le so fustrating. hahaha and i used up alot of time trying to pull myself up from bed hahaha..

I hope bb can wait till 40wk ah, cos still have alot of stuff not cleared esp if i'm going back to help out a few days.
6521160.gif

catherine,

yup i asked my mil helped me buy cordyceps and she'll help me cook doubleboil chicken soup with it. i try to take it in the 3rd trimester, 1 or 2 wks once cos whatever you take in during this stage is the time bb gets to fully absorb it. Cordyceps is good for immunity for me and bb so hb told my mil to help us buy lor cos we dun know how to choose.
And everytime i asked hb to share with me, he'll say very ex and say its bb's food hence doesn't want to snatch his princess's food and asked me to finish it. hahahaa ya not cheap le.
6521174.gif