(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hello sisters. Yeah officially can join here. Been lurking around for a while. Tested my HCG and its positive on day 12 after ET- reading is 102. I experience some bleeding like size of he palm ( abt half the I phone screen). Now waiting to see doc. What kind of increased support will doc give? Anyone experienced before? No cramps no pain so far. I din even know the red came until I went toilet. So wait for next beta test date? Now waiting to see doc in 3 hr time.

Ladies, I bought a book quite a few months ago at a books retail outlet at Changi Airport called "Babycare Everything you need to know" by Ann Peters, published by DK Ltd. It's quite exp at $ 40 but it is very good with clear photos on every page to illustrate how to care for babies. I very lazy, buy and chuck it aside, just take out and read and find it very good, with info like how to carry baby properly, method of feeding, sleeping routines and beddding, soothing baby etc. Quite a good read for first time mums.

Bbliss, it's free. U can get the no from tmc website

Kimmy, I Lao sai twice after drinking the milk shake. It's v nice but I guess I can't take milk. How sad.....

Alamak - my kinky dreams are starting to appear again and so does increase of urination that I'm waking up every 2.5 hours?

Catherine - wow, laosai ah...for me its the reverse, I went toilet twice but had one of the smoothest dumps for both times. Hmm maybe now your body can't absorb lactose too well so you try to steer away k? After princess comes out you can indulge again! hehe

Tanny - congrats & welcome!

RitzC - clear photos/illustrations are great. The baby care books I have which ppl passed me are mostly filled with words. Haha. I'm too lazy to start reading them now too and will probably wait till 3rd tri

Bbliss - last wk I called, they said wkend slots till Dec are booked, but Jan still available. So I suppose you can still call them and quickly book for Jan slots
You're very discipline when it comes to chilled drinks. I buey tahan especially when the weather's too hot or I ate something really spicy. Hehe

Sunnie_Gal - seems like baby cooperated during DS scan
And didn't even have to wait long! Yay.

Mm...anyone considering taking maternity photos? Am wondering if we enquire as a group, will there be further discounts? hee hee hee.

I can't wait to start shopping @ Taka fair next week! Oh ya and there's bb fair @ suntec too! Wheeeeee.

Kimmy, when's the taka fair? Is it a bb fair or Christmas fair? Ay, taka quite crowded... Suntec bb fair I will go w hubby on fir afternoon, hoping to avoid crowds

kimmy : did u hv a slot for the tmc hospital tour?
bliss : i just called, but left only xmas eve slot.. (if ure ok) on sat - 10am or 12noon.

i have been waiting to formally go baby fairs for a long time.. yeah

thanks ron and kimmy!

tanny, congrats :)

update on my doc visit yesterday. everything went well and doc said bb growing fine except placenta a bit low. read earlier tat tis is common but does it mean we should not walk too much and carry heavy stuff?? me praying its noting serious as do not have this when having my #1.

RitzC - mm I'm not sure if taka is bb fair or christmas fair... lemme check and update you when I find out
So far the event schedule on taka website only updates till 1 Dec...

tanny - yep, thanks to a very kind sister (Catherine) who passed me her slot.

tzac - yep, dr loh said the same to me also but he said its common and that it should rise in weeks to come. But also not to squat or walk too much with that as it can cause some spotting (tho its not serious).

Oh golly, I just shopped at carter's using black friday sales and there are just so many cutie things!!!! *gaaaaaah*

Hazel - juz go carters.com
so cheap and lots of variety! Alamak!!

Summer - addictive leh!!! Dint know SMH has a spree... Haha this one I juz went to choose then send to my vpost acct. Gosh I can't resist!!!!! Yea oshgosh I even bought till 1 yr old can u believe it. Kiasu can!

Hello girls, glad to know many girls bfpd and joined here. And other progressg well in their journeys.

A small update from me, i got my AMC scan done last week. All well. Started going to office since this mondy. First two days ws bit tirg, now got used to. My nausea has improved a bit giving me bit energy to be active. my next appt on 9th dec. my progynova and duphaston will get over by tomorrow, chasing up the clinic to confirm if ok to stop after that. Currently iam in beginning of 14th week.

Been to couple of maternity shops last week, was lookg for office formals, OMG, so expensive.

Sisters- plz suggest me some good maternity shops with reasonble prices for office formals. I want to buy the trousers. Iam still able to fit into my tops. but cant fit into my trousers.

Summer - I was just looking at something similar @ babies R us. keke. Now looking at stroller toys. Oh goodness... you are right, they are all so cute and as I looked at them, could feel baby kick more. Mwahah maybe he's excited at his future toys too.

Hope283 - great to hear AMC scan went well
and happy 2nd tri! uhm for me reasonable priced I go to Spring to get those capri black pants under the 30% discount range...quite a few to choose from. I think other mommies suggested mummysecret.sg online too as well as le blooming chic (tho I've not purchased anything from there). Like you, tops I'm still wearing my usual, loose fit ones but not maternity ones. Just the bottoms then I need some space to 'loosen up'. hee hee

Tanny
A big congratulations to you. It's wonderful to know that there are many new girls joining us here.

Hope283
Glad to hear that your journey has progressed well too. I'm sure it was tiring on your first few days of work. I'm not surprise that the maternity wear doesn't come cheap. Ashley mentioned that she got some good deals from Modern Maternity on a sale. I'm not certain if the sale is still on. I'm still trying to use my old clothes. However I'm using those extension garter thing from Mothercare for my jeans/pants which I find are very useful.

Ladies, I see that your nesting instinct has kicked in. Should I panic since I haven't bought ANYTHING???

Summer - goodness! So ex! Not worth it at all man!!!

msmiele - haha preparing for nesting. I think nesting will only kick in 3rd tri when we wash and prepare like mad. And no, don't panic since we are going to the bb fair next week! You've got time!

Hi Kimmy, pls count me in for the maternity shots (provided the photographer is a lady)..
Yes yes.. Same as my gynae requirement..

Hi Msmiele, no need to panic cux remember Kimmy is d shopping queen? We r the normal ones taking things slower.. Wahaha.. =p ( Kimmy, just joking ya)

Hi MTBs,

Tomo I am going for an early HB scan, acutal is 06.12. Wondering why I feel so normal still. Should I be feeling different?

Hopeful, haha yes let kimmy be ahead of us in shopping then we receive tips and updates!! ;) i'm tempted to check out carters now but maybe wait until i can confirm both genders.

Kimmy, i've been checking out maternity shots also, my friend did hers at B-scene, quite good. Other popular ones are whiteroom, studioloft? I can help you to check the rates with them, once we have the list of mtbs who want to do the shots. Oh but i may have to do it slightly earlier, before my 7th month cos doctor asked me to bedrest since then. So maybe timing a bit off ;(

Msmiele, don't panic indeed, i haven't bought anything either. I don't think can pantang buying baby stuffs until 7 months cos i need to bedrest then, but So far only bought a new cupboard from ikea to store baby stuffs. Yes let's check out the baby fair!

Kimmy, pls update me on taka fair ;) yet to purchase the membership card also ;) and meanwhile i can't imagine if you are having a princess, will be even more 'ON' at shopping online!! But i know it's quite addictive, baby stuffs are just so cute!! I can't wait to see little baby rompers and socks hanging dry on my laundry line ;)

My fren told me maternity stuff are real cheap at US. Is it true? Like $20 or so only! And she bot a lot back...

Wave to Fatefully! I rem u!

What is maternity photography? Like expose tummy and take pics? Haha I was visualizing all of us wearing maternity dress/ wear to take pictures. Guess I was wrong.. Sorry sua ku here...

Hi Ashley n Kimmy, if u gals really keen in photography, maybe can ask if we can get more discount if we go back to them for another photo shoot during baby 1st mth..

Hi Ashley, I guess timing is ok.. They won't expect us to do it together right? I shy to b naked in front of other pple..
So I guess as long as we sign up together we shd b able to get discount?

Hi Tanny, it's just studio shoots. U can choose to wear maternity clothes for d shoot or b naked.. Check out some shoots from studio loft on FB.. Quite cool!!

Fatefully
Everyone goes through pregnancy differently. Please don't worry if you are feeling 'normal'. Remember that you did spot which itself is a symptom. When I was at 5w, the only thing I felt was hunger. My nausea (no MS), tiredness came at a later stage. I experienced tenderness of breast during the 2ww and again towards the 2nd trimester. I also spotted intermittently till 6w. Our pregnancy symptoms don't all appear at the same time. All the best on your doctor's visit tomorrow. Please try not to stress yourself.

Hopeful - no offense taken on shopping queen title. Wahah joke of the evening: my husband actually ask me to check if got good sale on car seats and his apple stuff? Win liao. And here I am juz contented purchasing all my carter stuff. Hehehehe.

Ashley - tempting leh!!! Its really cheap. 5 bodysuits for $10! And in soft cotton no less. Oh gosh oh gosh. Yeah, we can go enquiry maternity photographs package since we are the 'free' ones. haha I think as long as we sign (i.e.: deposit) timing don't have to be together. Anyways I think with twins, your tummy will look very nice during the shot even before 7 mths too. Like Hopeful mentioned, we can also enquire if they can do baby 1 month parties too! Saves us headache in case we don't remember to take photos during that busy day! My frd's kids birthday photos from studio play, quite nice also! Wow wow whee.
Oh btw someone told me the ikea kids cupboard is very cute!! did you get that ?

Hopeful / Tanny - oh Im also shy ... especially with my hairy belly. I will most likely wear tube. Maternity shots dont have to be naked

Msmiele - I just got carried away with the shopping bcuz its too cute to resist and so cheappppppp!!!

Okay..now moving on to baby toys & books. Addictive. Thankfully this black friday sale only happens once a year. Phew.

Will keep you all updated on Taka fair once I get news. I will most likely be in town tomorrow to enquire with customer service. Hee hee hee.

During your pregnancy, can you take curry? Also, if some gravy has this star anise spice in it, ok to take the gravy?

Need advise fr all of u pls.. Btw, what is utrogest ? Is it to be taken by mouth or insert?

Is there any food not to be eaten during pregnancy list out in any where? Thk u all

Hi sisters, is there any bb fair gg on this week ? Been bit confused as in if the bb fair at suntec is this week or nex ?

Btw, I have never done shopping online hence bit sua ku. Been hearing u mummies brought lots of cutie stuffs for ur BBs, wld like to try tat too. Izit diff in process wise?

Bbliss, the suntec fair is from 2 dec to 4 dec, the facebook link is posted somewhere above. There's free seminar on each day but need to pre register. Also got online facebook contest for bb stuff. How many weeks r u now?

Hi Joanne - for me, I took a lot of curry during pregnancy (also because I craved for it). Doc din't say anything. For utrogest Im not too sure as I didn't have that.

Bbliss - online shopping lets you do checkout your items via paypal or credit card which the website will advice you step by step

Bliss - hehe, the BBFair @ suntec is from 2-4 Dec. It's actually on the banner ad at top of the forum page! Hahaha, I am in advertising I always say no one really reads the ads.. Hahaha

Also, at the parent craft class, one MTB asked mrs wong can drink cold stuff or not, she said can as the body will warm it up. But like everything else, in moderation, and if it's not something u take often, then start by little sips/bites. No need to abstain from cold stuff.

J03 - I took curry. Can-la otherwise how our Malay and Indian sistas survive, even I Chinese also I want my curry! Just eat safe to avoid food poisoning. There are quite a few pregnancy books in the market and most will list down what to eat. Actually v little things cannot eat. you r in 2ww now or already got good news?

Hi girls
I did my medicated fet and ET on 8th Nov(same as babypenguin). I start test hpt on day 11 and saw light positive line. On last Sunday(dpt12), i walk alot and end of day, i feel crampy and start dark brown spotting. I was very worry and hate myself for walking too much.. So monday i email doc Loh and he asks me to go down for early bt. So i did my test on dpt 14 and get a progestrone injection at the same time.
When i rest at home, there is no spotting..but when i working, slight spotting when i wipe.. My reading is 519 on day 14. And
Doc Loh want me to inject one wk of progestrone and stop when reading is good , maybe due to my last sad experience so he is very cautious this time. He wants me to decide whethet to go for 2nd bt aftet 2 days and i decided to do it again which is yesterday @ dpt16. My reading is 1380.1 at day 16. I hv collect my medicine and hv an appointment to go for scanning on 8th dec..

After i told Doc Loh abt my 2nd reading, he say EXCELLENT and say want me to go down today for instruction.. I was blur as too last min so am not able to take leave.. Then i asks him what instruction and he say may want me to take utrogest and continue injection... Hmm..

I blur so i request him to give me the prescription and i can go down to collect the medicine tomorow.. But no reply fr him..

Thks all for ur advise and i really hv to be cautious this time..

I go with collegues to indian restaurant today and sadly, i took abit of curry and later realise there is this star anise spice in it.. Hv a shock as i remember last time got pp say cannot take soup cook with star anise spice in it if bfp.. End up i was so worry the whole night..;( can anyone advise whether can i take the gravy with this spice in it?

I notice my progestrone is 50mg and going to inject for 1wk, wonder is it ok for long term injection? Any advise?

Any gals hv the same support as me and know what instruction actually doc Loh want to give? As i remember insert the utrogest in virginally last fresh cycle during 2ww.. Wonder why am i suppose to use it again this time after bfp? Hv been insert cyclogest for the past 2wks too..

Thank you Hazel, Kimmy And ron for ur kind advise..;)
Am praying hard tt my this current one will be a smooth sailing one.. Dun dare to think too much and too far now, just one day at a time.. Sorry for my long post..

Hi Joanne03 and Tanny on your BFP!

I am also quite concern if my support is enough. I am also on medicated FET. During my 2 weeks wait, I was given 400 mg cyclogest. After the HCG BT, they changed to 20 mg duphaston.

Now crossing finger if my progesterone is enough. I so worried if I will see spotting or discharge in my toilet trips.

Hi Joanne, curry can b taken. In fact, if u can dr loh, dr loh will say everything can eat. I rem there once I asked him if can take chilli spicy food, he chuckled n said of coz...if nt, hw e Malay, Indian n even china ppl like e Sichuan ppl survive. Haha...

As for e urgestron, it can be taken both orally n insert into e V area. It is meant for preggy support during early stage. In fact, prev I try to sell off e remaining 4 boxes which I have but no taker. But if u nid them, I can pass them to u for free.

Ritz & Ron, thx for e info on e BB fair. Tot is this week. Hehe. As for taka fair, am waiting for more details fr shopping queen, kimmy ! 

Btw sisters, my hair condition is really very "Jia luck". Very dry. Izit really can do treatment for hair ? If dun do but go for trimming, any salon to recommend? Am thinking, I have difficulties getting up fr bed nw n if go salon, hw I get up fr e seat aft washing hair...? Haha.

Joanne, progesterone should be quite safe for pregnancy. I goggled previously, duphaston n nifedipine r the ambiguous drugs. But dr tham did tell me not to trust what we read online. If u r v worried, go n seek second opinion. That's what i did when i was increasingly frustrated w my kkh gynae for late diagnosis of my cervical shortening n frequent changes in medication. Dr loh may be more cautious about ur pregnancy so prescribe u more medication. The tps nurse did tell me the dosage for progesterone depends on how much the gynae thinks u need for ur pregnancy.

Bbliss, i go for hair cut at jean yip n tell them no need to wash my hair, i wash at home before going to them. Coz usually on the floor has strands of hair lying around n my tummy looks bigger than it is supposed to be, so even the stylists r quite worried to see me walking to the wash station.

Joanne
You have passed a huge hurdle and a huge congratulations is in order. I will try my best to answer your queries.

I've not stopped eating curry and chili since BFP. It's fine to eat spicy foods while you're pregnant, as long as you feel OK while you’re eating them. I do notice that my stool gets a little loose after indulging in chills but it's very difficult to stay away from them. There is an "Old Wives Tales" that says wolfing down spicy food will help induce labour. However there is no evidence to support this and is just a myth. As for Star Anise, I started googling after you posted the question and found a few articles that advise us to stay away from it. Please don't stress yourself knowing that you digested some while having curry. It is a small amount and I'm sure it won't cause much problem.

I also did a search on Utrogest which is a progesterone replacement hormone and I believe it is inserted vaginally. I hope Dr Loh had already replied to your question. I am with a different doctor and I took my progesterone injections (Proluton) and suppositories (Crinone) till 11w.
http://www.mendeley.com/research/efficacy-tolerability-vaginal-progesterone-capsules-utrogest-200-compared-progesterone-gel-crinone-8-luteal-phase-support-during-assisted-reproduction/

With regards to what food to avoid, there are many information you can obtain from books and internet. E.g.
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/pregnancy-nutrition/PR00109
http://www.babycenter.ca/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/notsafetoeatexpert/
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/foodstoavoid.html

Good luck and enjoy the journey.

J03 - star anise also can. Only dang-gui try to avoid, but if taken abit still ok. Congrats & take one day at a time ya!

Hi Ron
You mean is ok to take curry with star anise in it? I just take the fish in it, without putting the gravy into my rice.. I hope is ok as me not eating that spice.. I hv been worry so much since last nite till now.. Thks so much

Hi msmiele
Thks so much for the links.. I just hope the star spice wun affect too much..;(

Thks for ur info abt curry.. But if like wht u all say that all curry can eat, that means indian curry with the star spice in eat also can eat ler..as usually they cook curry with that..

Hi ritcz
Thks for ur advise..;)

Hi bliss
So nice of u to offer me the utrogest.. Me still waiting for doc Loh reply and see his prescription first.. Let u know later.. Thk u soo much..;)

J03, dun worry too much coz we hv no control over how pregnancy progresses. A sister from here had a smooth pregnancy, but suddenly has complications n delivered at 26+ wks last wk. The poor bb has serious issues n passed away this wed. Is v v sad for such a turn of event. I cried when i know this.. Thus, We can only pray & be thankful that we pass each day safely.

Stress n worry is defintely no gd to our little beanie.

Hazel, u really hv a point.. Worry and stress too much really no help.. My past few bad incident may due to me stress too much... I really must learn to relax as stress really does no good for beanies.. Just take one day at a time and dun think too much.. I feel real upset upon knowing wht happen to a sister here.. Very very sad... ;'(

Hazel, no offense but i hope she has entrusted u to share this news coz i came across that thread she is on too. If not, it most prob will make her more upset to come across ur posting here.

Summer, how are you doing? Counting down already?
I still have 8 more weeks to my c-sec day.

Kimmy, I lug back 60kg of barang from HK. Only manage to grab a few box of the pure water cotton wipe. How many do you want?

Ritzc, no worries, I know u meant well. I went thru the same sorrow n pain last yr when my elder girl passed on.. Is something where no one wants to happen. We r here to give support to each other. I m really saddened by the event as it brings back the pain I went thru. I cried both for myself n for the dear friend. We all will worry in this Journey to motherhood but I just wan to share that we really can't control much without going into details. Anyway, thanks for the reminder.