(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Ritzc - haha I duno how big is bb now but dr Loh was saying based on the graph/chart of detailed scan it shows bb is on higher percentile :p maybe it's the food we eat that makes bb big, I know of 2 frds also big bbs. Also cuz husband is tall and I'm quite short so he concern that carrying too heavy may be quite a task for natural delivery

Hi Kimmy, gd to know that ur scan went well today!!
Wow wow baby boy!! So my "hairy theory" is not true!! Wahaha.. Enjoy shopping. But remember buy more neutral colors so that ir 2nd baby can use as well! ( in case 2nd one is a girl?)

Queenie, I'm hoping my next kid will be a gal too, my mil have two sons including my hubby n no daughter n she's overly possessive of her sons, unlike my mum w 3 daughters n 1 son n is quite lax w us. My case at first 1st scan at adc the sonographer says my bb most prob is a gal n thru out my weekly walk in scans also get feedback that most prob is a gal coz male private part not obvious. So I been calling my bb w gal's name up to week 20. Then week 20 scan become clear that bb is a boy. So nothing is confirm until the week 20 detailed scan.

Kimmy, my hubby is quite tall and his family members all seem to have big heads, literally bigger. Maybe my boy takes after his dad. Ha ha
but we really got to watch our diet. C-sec seems more painful n takes longer to recover.

Ron, thanks!

Sunnie_gal, think kimmy has replied u.

Kimmy, can't compare KKH cost with TMC this way. At KKH, a single room cost 200 plus a night, freebies include daily newspapers. A deluxe room at KKH is 400 over a night n is equivalent to a suite, ie v big. U can see the photo online. At TMC, a standard basic single bed cost 400 plus a night, no newspapers somemore. There is premier n deluxe single rooms too. The cheapest suite at TMC is super deluxe n is 888 per night. So If u want to compare, TMC is double the price of KKH! So, U cannot compare package cost b/w the 2 hospitals coz the items inside the packages are not comparable coz is not apple to apple.

In pte hospitals, procedural charges are ar same pte rates regardless of the ward (suite, 1 bedded, etc) u stay in. But in restructured hospitals like KKH, procedural charges r pegged to ward class. My colleague tried natural delivery, but after 16 hrs, cervix still nv open, so end up emergency c section. She stayed in a suite. Not sure which type of suite as TMC has a few types. Her total bill was S$15k. If she has delivered at KKH staying in a suite equivalent also wun hit 15k!

Hi Kimmy,
Congrats on having a baby boy!!!! Dr Loh is so good, keep ur file active n need not see another gynae in kkh, can save some money to buy bb things.

Hi Ritzc,bb boys tend to be on bigger size compare to bb girls. My boy was 3.8kg at birth, gave me a shock, that time gynae only estimated his weight ard 3.4kg.

Kimmy & Hazel, thanks for info abt KK & TMC charges. The single bed suite in KK looks good enuff. Not keen to pay resort prices to stay in hospital.

Kimmy, before ur scan, do u have any 'maternal instinct' regarding sex of baby. A fren was telling me she had and knew the sex of both her babies before confirmation by scan. I told her she's just made lucky guesses. Other ladies, do u have that 'instinct'?

Ritzc, I'm undecided about whether to be SAHM yet. I've already decided that after delivery in June & 4 mths of maternity leave, will take no pay leave till the end of the yr.
maybe after that, can really decide if I am a good SAHM. So that will gimme 6 mths to really decide.

Hazel the info u share about the tmc n kkh room rates is v informative. Though I cross over to week 30 now, I'm still on medication to prevent preterm birth, kkh gynae recommends taking up to week 34. Kept telling my bb to continue to stay safely in my tummy until hopefully week 36 coz hoping to stay in single ward so that hubby n bb can room in. Think tmc will be way out of my budget esp I'm forever paranoid about my bb.

Ritzc, bb's lungs are fully developed at 34 wks. Dr loh told me quite safe already. Dun hv to rule out following dr loh to TMC. U can see him at TMC, if bb is early go KKH n deliver, anyway our files r still opened. Anyhow, dun worry too much, Ur bb will be guai, wun come out too early.

Hazel - ya, hehe your analysis makes more sense than mine. For me I know my comparison not apple to apple (i.e.: like you said KK suite = tmc single bedder, not deluxe or suite and I dint' know about the newspapers part). Overall I agree that KKH is still cheaper regardless and wah....$15K for TMC (for your frd) that's a bit of a shocker. Now that Dr Loh mentioned might be on big side and if I don't control diet I might have to see knife I better keep that in mind for emergency C. That will be the most unideal situation man, charging for natural + emergency C. Ahhh money woes!!!!!!!! For a good outcome nonetheless
hehehe

Summer - thanks! ya i like that he helps us think for our pockets. he said no need so troublesome and leychey and hopefully they invite him back for bc (what's that?) if really necessary but he said dun think about it cuz so far looks ok...

Hopeful - Yah!! I kept thinking about your hairy theory and was prepared for a girl then hubby said look at it staring at us!!!!! HA HA HA. Yah man gonna buy neutral colours so that #2 can use. hehehehehe JUST in case, you know...a char bor comes along

Sunnie_Gal - paisay for my salah comparison earlier :p Yah...single bed suite in kkh looks good enough I agree.

Kimmy, u mean consultant rates? Similar to what u r repaying now. Delivery charges r all to TMC. He earns dr fees Which is dirt cheap at KKH. At TMC, it will be more but I dun think sky high.

Hazel - yep consultant rates for delivery. Yeah I don't think it will be sky high right...probably reasonably more for his skills.
Oh oh! Thanks for clarifying on BC. I realized he said BC this and that, and I just went orh (still high from my detailed scan) then after I left i was wondering what's that mean? hahaha. Makes sense. Oh yah, wear white very nice! Especially in the first few months when they just come out right, white looks so oooh-la-la!!!

Can't wait for next bb fair to go look at the clothes. kekee

Hazel, thanks
anyway, my kkh gynae is not dr loh n my tmc gynae is dr Benjamin tham. I prefer dr tham coz he is v thorough in explaining my scans n addressing my concerns. My hubby is quite okay w my kkh gynae though n prefers I stick w her.

Sunnie gal, for kkh, maybe I'm siauh, have quite a few irritating experience when the staff in clinic D n TPS screwed up in nitty gritty administrative stuff like prescriptions, appointment dates. But for hospital stay, from my previous stay in B1 ward, the nurses r quite good, more experience in giving injections than the one at tps (at least for progesterone jabs), n the nurse manager is v v meticulous in making sure I'm comfortable. Only thing is I dun like is the medical officer standing in for my gynae to do a internal test for me, she was quite rough. So generally, if u chose B1 n above, think u would be in good hands.

Kimmy, I have hairy tummy after being pregnant too. Didn't mention earlier coz u all say hairy tummy means bb gender is gal. Anyway, my fren n my mil do not have major morning sickness when expecting boys, the same for me, just feelings of being nauseous for 2 weeks without puking n my appetite is still good after that. So my boy symptom is hairy tummy n no puke, juz that at that time since I thought I'm carrying a bb gal, I thought these r general myths.

RitzC - hi^5. I had hairy tummy and thought it would be boy. And then no ms, except for 5 times of puking due to no food in tummy or too oily and that was it. Wheee.
Thanks for sharing yr experience on KKH

Ritzc, I like dr Benjamin tham. He is ver reassuring n comforting. I saw him once 4 yrs ago when he was still with KKH. He specializes in colposcopy then n my KKH O&G gynae (not dr loh) required me to do the procedure when I had an infection. I was v scared then as colposcopy was done at KKH cancer centre n the test was to rule out cervical cancer! Dr Tham knew I was v scared. He told me most of the time, the test will turn out fine. He said I wun be so unlucky. Yes, he created an impact, so, though only take 15mins n I only saw him once, I remembered him!

I stay in KKH A class last yr. Yes u r right, the nurses n drs are all v nice n understanding. KKH even allocated a counselor to talk to me during my stay. After I was discharged, she still called me a few times to check how I was emotionally. I hv good experience staying at KKH too!

Ritzc, my boy was borned naturally with forcep. Think the tear was quite bad that am in pain in the first wk after delivery.

Summer, so beyond 3.4kg it depends on whether gynae is pro natural birth right? Think I will ask my gynae when I see her next Monday. Between, r u scheduled for third trimester growth scan? Initially she schedule me for the scan to be at week 33, but I asked for it to be earlier, so now it is a week 31 scan.

Ritz & Kimmy, I also have hairy tummy! Was thinking that I'm growing hairier :p No morning sickness also. So based on both ur experiences, baby turned out to be boy. So I guess have to wait for actual scan to confirm
most impt is baby is healthy

I think I'll most likely stay in KK. Not so troublesome. Going to give new gynea a chance. If really not comfortable, then will go look for Dr Loh. Cos KKH facilities still best if any BC. And charges won't turn out too shocking in case of emergency-C. My insurance cover extra charges for emergency-C based on Govt hospital A-class charges. Save the $ for other uses on baby.

Ritzc, that time my gynae was pro natural birth. Dr Tham din scheduled me for the third tri growth scan. Instead he ask me to do the OGTT on wk 31, scare I will get GD, sianz....But #1 I din do the test and also din get GD!!! So far my urine test at every visit ok leh...

Kimmy- dr loh told me not to squat too...scary...but wasn't so chatty with me...I think he was bad mood on that day.

Sunnie_Gal >> yep. healthy baby is the most impt! Whose the new gynae going to? Yeah why not give a chance and see how.

May I know who delivered under Dr Loh before ah? Haha Just want to know what is he pro, natural (I hope).

vann >> ya apparently squating is good for those from wk 34-36 onwards to prepare for baby's entrance. Maybe ytd his workload was much lighter and also in ORD mood cuz i got to see him after 25 min so maybe not so stress.

Hello mummies! When they say baby is at week 2, how do they count? Is it if ET date is 11/11 so 18/11 is considered week 2? Do we need include the 3 days for 3 day embroyo, means bu

Hi... I am new here.

I went to exchange my conceive well gold for Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold from Blackmore. Can I eat?

Can I still eat chix essense and red dates drinks?

Today I came back from KK to get pregnancy support. Was give 1 month of support of Folic Acid and dydrogesterone and my HB scan is on the 06.12.

Morning ladies, I went to h&m to c bb clothes yesterday and got me so excited and happy. I could find sweaters, Xmas dress, socks, shoes for my gal. In the end I only bought their anti slip socks... 3 for $5.90... No pattern la only white, light blue, dark blue. I was hoping to find nicer sweaters and clothes at the jb premium outlet when I go there next mth or sales at h&m after Xmas... Sigh I m still having bad rashes. Gg to c doc 2nd time later

Morning cath!
Ooo haven't got to h&m kids dept yet but I can imagine how cute sweaters will be! Yea I also wanna make a trip to the jb premium outlets. Damn it, thought I cld sleep till 10am today for some proper rest but due to the stuffy nose, am up by 7am, and today happens to be a day where I've got no morning appts! Hope your rashes go away soon!

Hi fatefully - congrats & welcome. Yea I believe u can eat the preg supplements and continue chix essence & red dates.

Tanny - sorry I'm not sure how the counting goes...

Posted on Friday, November 18, 2011 - 9:12 am:       
Tanny, ER (ovulation) date already consider week 2. Strange but true.

Fatefully, welcome here
Think everything in moderation. Don't over-bu, may be too heaty. Chicken essence shouldn't have cordeceps or ginseng components. Many Chinese herbs are not proven safe for pregnancy, so best to avoid in 1st trimester. To be safe, send email to Dr for further advice.

Catherine & Kimmy, where & when is the JB premium outlet opening?

I'm having headaches everyday now. Read that it's one of the symptoms of preg too. How do u ladies deal with them?

Doidut, I conceived under Dr Loh SF in KKH. It was my 1st IVF cycle. A lot of sistas are with him too. However, he will be moving to TMC next Jan. if u r not looking at govt subsidy, then can consider looking for him in TMC.

tanny_angelbaby
I will try to make it as simple as possible. Don't worry, I was just as confused as you.

When they say the baby is week 2, technically there is still no baby. Week 1 is actually the start of your LMP. The reason for this is under normal circumstances, it is extremely hard to pinpoint the exact moment when the sperm meets the egg. With IVF, it is calculated the same way. Therefore, when you get a BFP at the end of your 2ww, you are already considered 4 weeks pregnant. Bear in mind that there is a slight difference between 4 weeks and week 4. The period between 3w - 3w6d is considered week 4 (as you have already reached 3 weeks and going into your 4th week).

If your ET was on the 11/11 and if you are pregnant, you would be considered 3 weeks pregnant on the 18/11.

There is also a slight difference in calculating your EDD depending on your IVF protocol. Below was taken from
http://www.ivf-infertility.com/calc_preg.php

- If you conceived naturally and you usually have regular menstrual cycles, use the first date of your last menstrual period (LMP).
- If you conceived following insemination, IVF or after replacing frozen embryos in natural cycles, use either your LMP or the date of ovulation.
- If you conceived following IVF or ICSI in a stimulated cycle, use the date of egg collection.
- If you conceived following intrauterine insemination in a stimulated cycle use the date of insemination.
- If you conceived after replacing frozen cleaved embryos whether in a HRT cycle or stimulated cycle, use the date of replacing cleaved embryos.
- If you conceived after replacing frozen blastocysts, use the date of replacing blastocysts.
- If you conceived after replacing fresh blastocysts, use the date of ovulation.

It may take a while to fully understand but in time you will get the hang of it. Hope it helps and all the best.

Ladies, please feel free to correct or add on to what has been written. Thank you.

Fatefully
First and foremost, a big congratulations and welcome. As what Sunnie_Gal wrote, everything has to be taken in moderation. The food we eat needs to have a balance of both yin and yang.
I have been taking folic acid months before I started on IVF and am still taking it. Dydrogesterone is a progesterone hormone and is also known by its brand name Duphastone which is a support for the development of your womb lining. I stopped taking it at 12w. Your doctor will also prescribed you with iron and fish oil supplements. Just a few things to take note when consuming iron. Avoid taking it with food that contains calcium (milk, yogurt, cheese, broccoli, spinach to name a few) as it inhibits iron absorption. I try to take them with orange juice (not those with fortified calcium) as vitamin C improves the absorption of iron. Btw, don't freak out when your stool turns dark green or black. It's due to the iron.

Catherine
Thank you for the info on the outlet. You are very updated

doidut
I am with Prof Ng at Geneagles. This is my first IVF with one embryo fertilized and implanted. Do take into consideration that the rates at Gleneagles are higher than those in KKIVF and TMC. Good luck!

Though premium outlet opens on 2 dec, it's opening ceremony is actually 2 wks later. So, will all the shops open on 2 dec? Also, We nv know if it is going to be packed with pp. If so, is it safe for us if our tummies r big? This is Malaysia not SG...

Fatefully, u only need your folic acid n hormones support now in first tri. Extra suPplements will worsen morning sickness. There r so many brands of supplement in te mkt with varying contents. Gynae will start u on the supplements when u cross over to 2nd tri. Pregnant women must exercise prudence when taking supplements or any other medicine. Dun act smart unless u get clearance from ur dr. That said, chick essence with no herbs are safe.

Fatefully, my mum gave me a list of prohibited food when she knew I was preggy. I stick on to the list even after my first trimester though now she allow me to consume. My only advise is eat natural things. Those chicken essence from eys has preservatives. Looking at me I dun eat a lot juz like my pre preggy days but my bb is big than normal.

Red dates r gd but eat in moderation juz remember listen to yr body.... I remember I was suffering a lot on some days but that does not mean on other days I over eat. Juz need to take care....

Sunniegal and msmiele, my colleague gave me an email detailing the route and I think its a coupon for discount. And it's a daily topic in office now haha.. Hazel, I also worry abt the crowd ... I m bringing my mum and hubby along to "protect" me and we will go on weekday.

Fatefully, can but in moderation. As long as not too hearty, esp red dates as is common for pregnant ladies to get constipation. V v uncomfortable. I only take chick essence to give be energy if I feel really tired n lack of energy in first tri. I only take EYS brand. Not Brands. EYS one has no preservatives and caramel unlike Brands. U can check it out on the labels.

Catherine, EYS ones no preservatives n caramel at all.

Hello hello.

Hazel - can I check, dr loh dint give any calcium supplements right? He told me drink normal milk can liao, except that I don't have a habit of doing so..eeps! Better start.

Catherine - grr I wanted to book for TMC tour but they are full till December. Oh greats. . .

Kimmy, no calcium tablets. No gd to mummy to take too much calcium tablets. They r not water soluable like vitamin c. Mat create other issues for us later In life if we take too much. Singleton, 2 glasses of milk a day.

Kimmy, when u hit 3rd tri, take more fish n fish soup. It is v good for bb's brain n absorption then is the most. I read some where all the vitamins, including fish oil are best taken in their Raw form in the food we eat for best absoption. Those in capsule n tablet form may not be as effective.

Hi Fatefully, welcome!!

Hi Hazel, my colleague 's gynae advised no milk and cheese as these food trigger the growth hormones, resulted in very fast weight gain. There was 1 mth that my colleague didnt heel the advice and had a gain of 3 kg . The gynae gave her a big scolding and made her read a book about pregnancy and food. The dr warned her at most 1.5kg per month..

. I had another colleague who survived breast cancer and was also advised the same thing.

I think i am going to avoid cheese and milk, haha, i am a very oversized mtb:p

Meryl, depends on wat type of milk u take. No forumula milk. Take only low fat ones. No HL milk also coz that is rich in sugar. Magnolia low fat fresh milk is gd. No chocolate, strawberry or banana milk too!

If we dun replenish the calcium bb draws from us during pregnancy n breast feeding, we will get osteoporosis at by 40s n that is irreversible. By then no matter how much calcium rich food u take also useless.

Any sisters here started to get reflux? So uncomfortable that I hv to take Gaviscon for relief.. I dare not even take chilli stuff coz it will result in heart burnt... Sianz..