(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hopeful, I was at marina sq on sat n there is a shop that sell pram. Sorry I dun know the shop name. I know it's next to escalator and times book store .... The pram my hubby cost $680 and looks ok. Brand I think is cobra. The other brand he like is maxi cosi and a brand that taka has... But it cost $1k!! anyway I have no say in pram. I will accept what he gets for his princess.

Hope283, ask yourself if what kind of gynae u want. Popular, straight forward or gentle. Though I din have a choice on my gynae, I must say my gynae is gd to me always Assuring me I was fine. I m happy with her. My boss on the other hand dun like to waste time at gynae clinic that's y her gynae she choose is v frank in her words.

Ron, many thx for including me!

Hi Catherine, thx!! Will check out MS as well..

Hi Bbliss, I m not in 2nd trimester yet. But yes I felt the pull last Sat. Sunflower had posted a weblink last Sat midnight. Apparently, it's ok.. Check out d weblink.

Bbliss! Yes I feel what you feel more often now. I do worry from time to time but I assume its normal.

catherine! I know which shop you talking about. I was there on Sunday looking @ car seats & prams. Quite colorful also the shop. wahahah

Sunflower - ahah I dint do homework. Just that many around me pop and share their experience. I also had first hand experience with the various brands when I babysit their kids so I roughly know. But this is gonna be gift from my mom ... so I'd leave it to her

Bbliss and Hopeful,
The pull at ur belly button is also normal.. I had that last sat and I asked Dr Loh.. He said its ok one. So dun worry k?

Kimmy,
Nevertheless, ur first hand experience is very useful to us lor hehe... :p

I still hvnt go do research on milk bottles, breast pumps, let alone prams ah.... I thought can wait til 2nd tri then do... Lazy me haha...

Bbliss, no worry. I get that very often too. My gynae say normal when the uterus n baby grow. I m seeing my physio for pilates session to ease my lower back aches. Also went for back massage(on chair kind) n foot massage to relax my back n my calves (get cramp easily).

Ron, Thks for the xls. Filled up mine. Will be doing my c-sec either on 19-Jan or 22-Jan.

Morning, ladies

Silsilly, I delegate the things to buy to my family members - my dad will help me get the cot n my sis n mum will help me get baby clothes n stuff base on the list I drawn up. I'm on bed rest every day. Things like stroller, baby carrier my frens will give me during first month shower. How about u? U start getting bb stuff?

Good morning sisters! I am feeling very sick this morning. Feel like fainting in the train and now feel like puking. Waiting to do BT at SGH.

I took mc yesterday and so paiseh to take mc again today. Looks like I need to "dong" till end of the day.

Anyway, ladies, juz to share, at end of first trimester, I bought quite a few oversized XL knee length T-shirts that cost about $30 each from Uniqlo to wear as dresses at home. Coz by 2nd trimester our hips will expand so most prob can't fit into most shorts n dresses r more comfy. For bras I got several bra extensions from metro that cost only $3 for 2 pieces per pkt. I'm using 2 bra extensions per bra by now week 25. Think nursing bra can get at beginning of third trimester coz will still
expand further. Maternity wear I get XL dresses from Mango sale in June. Think places like Zara n Dorothy Perkins have XL size dresses n blouses that will make fairly decent maternity wear too.

koirc, take care n do be careful.

is it normal to feel super tired, like not enuf sleep even though in wk 13? i am like so so tired and today's weather doesn't help :-(

Koirc - don't worry abt taking mc for now, if need to then have to take. We must look out for ourselves first and foremost. Most important is take care of your body & bb.

Ritzc, I read good review about Dr Tham n decided to see him. Indeed he is very cheerful n hv good bedside mannners n willing to answer all my questions. I signed up the package on my first visit at 20 wks n he gave me $50 disc n waived the first consultation fees $80 n U/S $30.
The nurse was suprised n said he rarely waived the first consultation fees. Ha...ha....maybe he was good mood on that day. I choose to deliver at Mt.A cos #1 was born there. TMC parking was horrible.

Nell, how r u doing? Still a frequent flyer?

Koirc, it's normal to feel unwell in first tri, our body trying very hard to make adjustment to accommodate our baby. U take care n rest well.

Morning sisters!
Yesterday I went for my 2nd trimester checkup, only get to hear baby's heartbeat. Very very fast and loud and suddenly dissapear, then can hear again from a distance and then sound became nearer and nearer. Baby moving too actively haha.. Next scan will be the detailed scan during 5th month. So that means, no appt till Dec.. very long! :S
Also I'm given Calcium and Iron tabs but gng to get chewable ones instead at my organic store. Gynae said my Prenatal liquid multivitamins can continue cos cover all only need more iron and calcium. And I just found out that i have mild Thalassemia. Gynae said very rare for malays, and asked if I have chinese blood, which I do. So that explains!

Ron - Thank you for the spreadsheet, my infos are correct!

Koirc - Take care of yourself yah, its ok to take mc now rather cos we need tolook after ourselves first. Work comes later.

RitzC - Bra extenders works for me too! Been using it since my 10th week. *thumbs up*

Gm girls, feeling better tody. Do you all tk brazilnuts after bfp also?

Jane- all the best for ur scan, do update in the flickerg heartbeat.

Good morning sisters!!!

Went for my first scan this morning. Can see my little one's heart flickering very fast! kekee.. Singleton. Dr said that everything is normal but baby very small now. I thought I'm in week 6 but the computer calculated 5.7 and Dr said it is roughly 5 weeks 4 days. Gosh, so confusing.

During the scan, I was asked to pressed my tummy VERY HARD.. with both fists! Cos nurse said that I have too much gas..can't scan the baby properly. I was so scared
Kept saying to baby i'm sorry after the scan.. pressed so hard.

Oh, my IVF doc Sadhana said that the IVF procedure is 'completed' and I can register with a new gynae for my delivery. She said that she is cutting down on being gynae. Guess she just wants to concentrate on IVF treatment. Anyone has good gynae to recommend? I like those who is patient and explain more. Gynae in Glen E or Mt E will be good, closer to my house.

Thx andreanie.

Congrats Jane. Tk care. Cud this be due to dr Loh's movg? I myself prefer dr loh personally, however at Kk he is too busy. Hope he is bit free in Thompson. Anycase u still tk other sisters opinion as I am also not sure how long I will continue with dr loh becoz of his busy schedule.

Jane,

So happy for u! Do u need to drink a lot of water before the scan? Did u do the scan in AMC before seeing Dr Sadhana?
My 1st scan is next Fri! Seems to be the longest wait ever...

Hi Jane congrats ... I do have a gd gynae to recommend he is at paragon. I saw him for 2nd opinion after Kk juz want me to go for ivf without giving me reason. Then I realise tests were done at the wrong time at Kk. Dr lee Wai hong is v gentle, soft spoken and calm. He encourage me to try v hard and gave me some options which I din take up. Honestly I like the ambience of his clinic (does not feel like a clinic.. So u will not feel u r ill) if not for his high charges I would stay with him. If u r willing to pay, I would recommend him

Andreanie,

Did the hospital did a thalassemia test for u & hubby? During my last visit, Dr Loh mentioned that I cld have mild thalassemia too looking at my blood test report. He said I might wanna do thalassemia test to check. Hubby's not too bothered though. Dunno whether I shd be concern.

Hi sunnie, only if both parents hv thalesimia, then there is somthg to worry, in my case I am carrying it and my hubby does not, so dr said np.

I think my baby is getg more active from afternoon, hv severe throw up feeling from afternoon to night.

Thanks, sisters. I just went to tell my boss that I am pregnant and asked to work from home this week. Thank God he's ok with it. He even asked me to go boil some black chicken soup. But black chicken looks gross leh!

Honestly I don't know when to start preparing for things leh. I haven't stepped into Mothercare yet. Must I start now?

And oh btw, for those who are in 3rd tri already my friend just shared this with me. Hope it's useful for you.

http://www.trulyhers.com.sg/parenting/item/190.html

Sunnie_Gal - Only I did the bloodtest. So since its mild, gynae said not to be concern cos I also don't have any symptoms. But he did asked hub to go and have a blood test done too just incase he also have. But his ancestors background is from Indonesia side, so I doubt he has but he will be doing the bloodtest at the polyclinic one of these days. Can do at hospital but the wait was too long yesterday for blood test, he decides to just pop by poly whenever he is free, as long as before my next appt.

I read that if only one parent has it, the baby will also only have mild thalassemia or the baby may not even be a carrier of thalassemia at all. As for me, gynae said it could have skipped many generations as my parents are not carriers, even my sis doesn't have it. So I could be the only one who has it but didnt know until the blood test has been done.

Hey sisters, re. thalassemia, I feel that sometimes best not to know. for me my husband was detected negative through all his rounds of blood test until Thal. registry insisted that we come in do DNA/genetic testing and then they detected very mild thal. for him. And this caused a lot of unnecessary worry for me because the nurse kept telling us if 2 parents have, kid may get thal. major and all the negative stuff which was really depressing
So in this instance, I would say ignorance is bliss. Because before that Dr Loh kept telling me only I have mild one and my blood count is good or better than normal or those who don't have so I wasn't too concerned.
I mean for me, end of the day, I won't abort. So Dr Loh is supportive and said in that case don't test so much. The more you know, the more you worry (potentially about risks and all), the more stress you bring to baby.

Hope this helps. Right now I heck care and am doing my best to enjoy the pregnancy soooo sisters best is dont' actively go and test and/or think too much about it.

Just my pov

Koirc - I also don't know when to start preparing. Probably in Dec/Jan period as I enter into last tri. Hooray. Right now I'm just doing research, reading up, doing an excel on what I want to get so when the time comes I can just compare prices and get the 'good deals'

kimmy - u are right dear! infact my hub said no need to get worried over it or think abt it as its just mild. Infact he was thinking of not gng for the bloodtest too. Even gynae told me nothing to worry abt, the numbers i have is really very very low. Just that so happen after skipping many generations, I got it lah. Hub just said that before this I didnt even know I had it, so why bother checking info on it. Life still goes on..

Most importantly, baby is growing well, heartbeat very fast, and we get to see him/her in 9 months time! Positive thoughts all the way!

Thanks everyone!

Catherine, thanks for the recommendation.

Sunnie_Gal, I wasn't asked to drink water before the scan. In fact, I was asked to clear my bladder after the initial scan (scanning on the tummy) then they called me in to do vaginal ultrascan.

Koirc - yeah! what a nice boss. REcommend Black chicken soup too! hahaa. I just told my boss yesterday so am quite relieved to have the news out.

Hope - your spotting gone today?

Jane - Glad you had a good scan. I only know one other gynae, Dr CT Yeong @ Tow Yung Clinic (Tanglin Shopping Mall). Ex-KKIVF, delivers at MtE and I believe GEH. Very gentle, down-to-earth, caring and the type that would be glad to explain in detail what's going on & what to expect, etc. We love the clinic environment - very comfy & well-run. I have him on my Blackberry Messenger so could email or BBM him when I have doubts, so he's responsive. Each time after my visit, I feel more confident & happy. His wife, Dr Tracey Lim, is also well recommended as a gentle & caring doc is you prefer a female doc.

The clinic is established since 1969 & is a Christian clinic but it more refers to the way they practice medicine (believe in goodness, do not harm, don't kill, help everyone, etc). I have seen many Malay couples there & if you don't know it, you won't know it's a Christian clinic (ie. not very preachy or church-y feeling). Nurses are also very experienced & friendly. I thought hard about going back to Tow Yung but we ended up deciding to stay with our current doc.

The sistas prob can recommend other doctors, this is just one option.

Sistas - it's still drizzling & all I want to do now is go to zzzzzzz...... hahaa..

Ron - wow sounds like Dr CT Yeong sounds great. I like Christian docs, haha and their beliefs. It makes the whole process smoother because they will also encourage your faith & motivation that the whole journey will be good if you believe in it

Andreanie - yeps agree. Dr loh told me if not for pregnancy test, you also wont know you have Thal. right? And here you are... still living life, doing things you wanna do and all :p Yeah! positive is the key. I can't wait to see bb and carry bb in my arms!

Ron - wow sounds like Dr CT Yeong sounds great. I like Christian docs, haha and their beliefs. It makes the whole process smoother because they will also encourage your faith & motivation that the whole journey will be good if you believe in it

Andreanie - yeps agree. Dr loh told me if not for pregnancy test, you also wont know you have Thal. right? And here you are... still living life, doing things you wanna do and all :p Yeah! positive is the key. I can't wait to see bb and carry bb in my arms!

Moms - I went loo and saw blood stain on half of my undies. Yet when I pee and wipe there was nothing on tissue paper. Mm how ah? Never kena this before. In week 15 now

Mm its on back half so I suspect may be push too hard during constipation this morning (when I was last in the loo)..Hmmmmmmm Hopefully so!

Kimmy - aiks. like a diluted stain mark? Sorry, I have no idea what is next step, but hope it's just a one-off spot & nothing serious. R u due to see Dr Chris soon? (coz I know u just saw Dr Loh last week)

Kimmy - oh, sorry post above before i read your constipation post.. aiyoh! dun "torture" yourself pushing. Quick go and grab a fruit or fruit juice!

Ron - yeah its like diluted stain mark. I concluded it might be caused by constipation bcuz its only back half, the stain. Haha. I ate a tub of prunes and 3 plums ytd! Mm.
Only due to see Dr Chris in 3 weeks' time. Wah the wait is so long. How ah? Just monitor ah?

Kimmy - not sure how, maye just monitor to see if recurs. But definitely lots of water and lots of fruits & veg to keep fibrous. It gets worse with the weeks, doesn't it (the constipation, I mean), sigh. Take care ya. I'm going to run out to buy a cup of fruit juice now.. hehee..

Thanks Ron! Do you know if the Dr Yeong's clinic will be very crowded? Is his clinic able to do all the blood test, scanning etc? I have been to other private clinics where I have to travel to other clinic to have my blood test done.

Do you have his contact number. I'm interested to call and enquiry. Thanks!!

Kimmy & Andreanie, Thanks for the advices regarding testing for thalassemia.

Kimmy, Love your positive spirit and courage!

Jane, thanks for answering my qn

Jane congrats
I am with Dr.Suresh Nair. He is familiar with IVF and also the clinic nurses are very patient.I did one laproscopy and one full cycle & 1 fet with him. Actually I personally very comfortable with him. I was with NUH and did not really like the service. So if you want can call 68874264.

Ron - yea actually now that Im working it helps because theres so many fruit stores nearby. I realized we have to drink even more water, eat even more fibre than usual. Yeah it just gets worse. And horrible feeling is when its all stuck in the tummy!

Sunnie_Gal >> that's what keeps me going amidst all the horror stories and negative news I receive

Today went for my week 8+4day scan. Baby is 22.3mm and heart beat is good. Can now relax. Next appt is on the 25th Oct. Doc is very happy that baby is growing fine.

mum - nice!

Jane - can have a "first date" & see him (or the wife) to see if you & doc can connect. Their appointment books are blocked 15-20 min apart so quite ok. Sat is super packed, of course. Mornings are also rather packed coz many MTB want their turn then rush off to work, plus his OT usually in morning for delivery or ER/ET.

I always ask for quiet period around 3pm as I work nearby. Usually if I arrive 5 min before appmt, I can do scan & consultation w doc, see nurse (BT or collect meds), pay all within 45-60 min, so back in office within 1 hour to 1h30m max. Only time I had to wait was when he was stuck at an emergency delivery. They have an in-house nurse for BT, jabs so no need to go outside.

Tow Yung Clinic
19, Tanglin Road, #05-01,
Tanglin Shopping Centre (not Tanglin Mall)
+6567374433

haha.. I hope I have not put your hopes too high. They are not one of the famous clinics but I personally liked it. 5 doctors sharing the practice.

Hi Kimmy, yesterday I also had constipation n saw RED aft tat.. Quite scary cux ve not seen it for 3 mths already.. I tried dried apricot n it worked VERY well for me.. In case u wish to consider..

Now tat we r in the bra topic, I got small question.. I ve been wearing front clip bras for very long.. So d extensions won't work for me. Shd I buy new normal bras now or shd I go for maternity bras?

Kimmy,
Today i did big business, also got blood... Coz i very prone to constipation one, tend to bleed very often... Maybe urs is due to that too... So dun worry.. Hehe

Hopeful - I think better switch to normal bras cos you will eventually need to buy new bras in the months to come. I now wear non-wired cos the wire will sit on my tummy and it hurts.