(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Babyjourney indeed, many couples today, although I was there on time for my 6.45 appointment and first appointment is 6.30

I checked a few things with dr Loh:

- massaging breast? he said no, in case causes contractions and baby is not ready to come out yet despite already past 37 weeks;
- which week are we? according to original first edd or the revised edd in scan paper? he said it's according to the first edd given;
- why upper tummy is so painful and sore? he said it's due to ligament stretching;
- how much fenugreek to start with? he said can start with 1-2 but no need to be kiasu and start on Day 1.

Hi Baby Me, was LC Lilian the same LC who visited you post delivery to start you off the bf process? You were charged $90+ for her ward visit or was this a separate visit?

Congrats Miracle! Finally it's over. Enjoy motherhood!

Luv, last time I pick Pikkolo coz of the Gd reviews from mummies in my prev thread. Plus it was considered lighter weight to carry around compared to ergo or beco. Not so bulky. We had a bulk order and ordered it from overseas website. Pus. Like its flexibility.

Another carrier now I'm looking at is manduca. Think it has more support for younger babies compared to the Pikkolo. Hazel got it too! Can ask her for reviews.
Im trying to get my cuz to buy from oz for me since it's cheaper there!

Tromso, thanks for clarifying the massage breasts thingy. Guess really there's different school of thoughts around. Better to trust dr Loh. Will stick to the massaging after giving birth then.

Tromso - I think it's a separate visit.

Baby me : I hv apptm wih dr loh tmrw so I got if maybe I should drop by and have a consultation. Nothing happened. If not too expensive then can go for consultation. Just that my left boob suddenly became harden again. There are 2 v hard lumps from the area of the nipple to the arm pit there - one on each boob. I dunno how to handle them. Massage, bf and warm compress - they also remain there. Armpit there got another 2 big lumps as big as my thumb. My Malay massage lady won't be coming till 3 weeks later due to CS. Otherwise I call the hotline n ask.. No charges? Start with 1900 though...

My CL washes my BP and bottles without using bb liquid detergent.. Just tap water?? And never use brush.. Like unhygenice..

LuvNhope, so far I m happy with it. FYI, manduca carrier cannot carry bb looking infront. Bb is always facing mommy. When bb is bigger at toddler age, can be used as piggy bag carrier.

Thanks Hazel! Oh, I din know cannot let baby face front with Manduca. Hmm... wld be nice to have a carrier that can let baby look in front tho.

LuvNhope, manduca has an inner insert for new born bb. As long as bb is 3.5kg minimum can use already. The inner insert will support bb's head. It has a sleep cover to shut out the light when bb sleeps. The carrier is washable too. There was once it got dirty fr belle's poo! I threw it into washing machine to wash meh n sun thereafter! Belle can sleep in the carrier fairly easily. As bb faces us in the carrier, she will more secure when she hears our heartbeat n hence sleep better than in a stroller.

LuvNhope, my gf who uses manduca an has a dr hubby shared that it is not recommended to let bb face infront. Not sure why though.

Luv, I think most baby carriers faces inwards not outwards, except the baby born type.
Think they don't encourage facing out coz of the position the baby will be in. On the legs, thighs, maybe the pressure, just like why they don't encourage use of the dangling by groin kind of carrier.
Anyway, i prefer them facing me rather than outside, my gal can sleep better in the carrier on our previous trips. Also a relief for me Coz she's really too heavy to be carried any other way.

Congrat to miracle!! Glad tt u make it to deliver ur prince naturally..;)

Hi hazel N tromso
Thks for ur advise on the injection charges.. Great compilation..;)

Hi faithfully
Is normal to cry.. I cry few times too.. When hb going back, i cry.. So he take one more wk leave.. When he go back to work, i cry on first day when eat breakfast as i miss him sit at his seat but he not there.. When i fever n cant get close to bbies, i cry again.. Cl keep say dun cry as no gd for eyes during confinement but hard to control due to hormones.. Tears easy roll down.. Hb support very impt, he gives in to all my nonsence this mth.. Shiok n glad to hv his support..;)

Hi mc
Me use pem agency too.. So fast they tell u no more cl?? I think pem charge most reasonable n for twins, they give gd cl.. Dun dare give us new n inexperience one.. Sigh.. She is leaving soon.. Abit worry i cry again.. Hope i can handle two bbies myself at night.. My mum will come help in day time n she wants help me with one bb at night but i reject so tt she has energy to help me in day time..

Tromso, yes LC Lilian is the LC who visited me in the ward. The charges is for separate visit.

Tanny, better to seek help from the LC. She mentioned to me about that type of lump too. She said if never massage correctly will create lumps around armpit area.

Thanks Baby Me, looks like will need to try tap into LC's knowledge as much as possible during hosp stay, otherwise will hv to start paying after discharge

Tanny, the 1900 number, are you referring to tmc breastfeeding/ post natal helpline? It's 24 hrs and it's 9119 3502, normal phone charges, no extras.

Pierced, I think Dr Loh is playing the safety card by advising not to massage, which is good prudence

btw, do you know which outlet in Oz sells Manduca and abt how much? Hee...maybe can ask my cousin to get for me too

When I had the demo done at Manduca shop, the customer service person said its not advisable for baby to face front cos the spine will be against parent's chest/ tummy, something like not good for posture development. Can visit the store at Novena Sq 2, very helpful and informative custm srv pple.

Actually Manduca folks also advised again carrying baby in cradle position in the sarong, claiming not good support and posture.... They suggested baby should be carried in upright position with legs folded up, same as like using the $280 Manduca carrier.

My hubby tried both the Manduca and Ergo carrier, with dummy babies in them, equivalent to real baby weight. He prefers the Manduca for its better support at waist, whilst with Ergo (abt $100 cheaper) the weight distribution is more on the back hence not as comfy

Hi Hazel, can I check with you, when do you use the Manduca carrier instead of stroller? Cos for shopping centers, stroller is sufficient right or do you bring both along?

Hi Joanne, so which place will you be doing vaccinations? How's your full month celeb prep coming along? It's this weekend right? Keep forgetting to ask you babies names and if they look alike

Hi Tanny, need to use soap and brush to wash the interior of bottles, otherwise the remnants of the milk (oily bits) will breed bacteria if I'm not wrong. Teats too.

As for strollers, I see my gf using Preg Perego throughout, about 7kg+ and son is already almost 3 now. She is quite petite (less than 50kg) but can control the stroller alone well when going down the escalator with her son in it. She says she prefers the stability of Preg, hence has never thought of getting a lighter stroller. Maybe she is 1 of the rarer few
She brings the boy out often as is a sahm, mrt and taxi.

Hazel, mine is Zapp Xtra, can recline, I'm
hoping baby will like it. But at of day, it's all boils down to luck I guess.... I like the stability and planning to do park visits more often, hoping the suspension system will help with maneuvering up and down curbs and jogging. Haaa...hoping 'plan' and 'reality' can coincide

Tromoso, zapp xtra, the seat is fixed shape. Need to remove first before stroller can fold n keep in car boot. More work for us. Also, we need room in car boot to put mil's wheel chair, not emough space to hv Xtra seat, stroller frame n wheel chair.
We hv the same thinking as u b4 belle arrives. Well, now no energy to wake up early to go parks (b4 is too warm), evening time belle still napping! Spore weather is too hot n humid to allow comfort strolling with bb in the parks. We feel irritated coz of that, furthermore still need to carry belle at times, double heat! Bb under 6 mths r Also not advisable to be exposed to the sun.

With a bb, lots of things to bring. We concluded a light stroller is impt to us! Lazy parents?!

Depends on where we go & if will coincide with belle's sleeping time, I will decide if to bring carrier along. Like taka sale, worried that it will be crowded, I used carrier. Goceries shopping I also use carrier. Day by day baby gets smarter n more alert & aware with their surroundings. Most wun sit in stroller through out. If so, we need to carry bb too. Unless can find a place to sit n carry, if not cradle carry thru out v siong for my arms n back...

Pierced, still alot if mummies use baby born type of carrier where the bb legs r hanging at the groin! !

Lazy parents? No lah, Hazel of course you guys are not
With your planning of the year end overseas trip, it's already a huge undertaking in itself

I guess it also depends on the emphasis we place on different aspects of life and hence the determination to see things through. For us, we exercise at ecp weekly prior to the pregnancy, so instead of totally exterminating this lifestyle after birth, we'll will just have to be more flexible in the future. Say instead of 3hrs, reduce to 1hr+, instead of jogging do brisk walks, instead of eveningtime go after sun has set, etc. Life will def change with new addition to the family, I guess just have to focus on being positive, anticipating hiccups (lotsa them), keeping cool and lowering expectations
No one says it'll be easy but life goes on and have to make the most outta it

Taking about sun exposure. My niece goes for her daily evening walks with my dad or us when she was abt half yr old...we actually didn't think abt the sun issue. She was ok with the 'heat' and in fact it's quite cooling usually. Somehow I feel that the heat for this couple of months is worse than previous years

I do see many strollers at ecp eveningtime too
Had dinner with fren at ecp a while back and he had his baby there too. Baby slept soundly in the stroller as we were chatting and strolling along

Hopefully as baby grows older, will get easier with outings. Can only hope for the best....

Indeed Zapp Xtra is a joke, not sure why can't design 1 that can fold seat too. As we were looking for minimal padding, and this model doesn't costs a bomb or weighs a tonne like other modular system brands, so decided to overlook the joker seat.

Have caught up recently with 2 friends also using Quinny, seems quite happy with it. 1 says her baby likes maxi cosi, can sleep well in it and not too cramp for her baby, baby was 4mths then. Another gf is still using Quinny and child already 1+. Although I wouldn't be surprised if they end up getting a lighter stroller in the future cos most parents do anyways

Tromso, talk abt year end trip, I did a stock take what we need: 1 big size and 1 med size luggage (this one all for belle), 1 car seat, 1 stroller, hub & I will each hv a carry on bag also! So many things!!! I hv also redeemed tickets for 4d 3n trip to Bali in January 2013 to celebrate belle's 1 yr old! Anyhow, no think so far first, just think abt upcoming cruise in 2 wks time!!

Tanny, think your lumps are not cleared properly. Better to consult a LC for the massage like baby said.

Tromso, yup, best to listen to him
will be seeing our dear dr tomorrow as well.

I used this website to search for where to get manduca carriers in oz
http://www.fertilemind.com.au/
Wanted to order and send to my cuz place but apparently there's one nearby so she might check it out from the stores.

J03...gd to hear that PEM cl for twins are gd...i am quite worried abt it initially but since mine is during festive season, better play safe..my initial cl suddenly say cannot take my job...zzzz.. PEM told me for twins only like bal 2 cl.

they sure hv gd biz this year...lol..

luv..hv u confirm with PEM?

wonder hows sashamama?

I like peg perego too, it's very sturdy as my gf used it too, but in the heavier side.
I was eyeing the peg mini but still weighs 5.7 kg though. Cheaper to buy from amazon and ship directly.

Tromso, your Quinnyis good like u said for the parks, supposedly better in absorbing all the bumps.
I have another gf using quinny too but no prob for her since she drives and she has a maid to follow along.
So many different types of strollers.
And then there's the designer stokke! Hee...

My gal has block nose due to mucus in it this 2 days.. What n how shd i do to relieve her conditions? Feel so heartpain to see she cant sleep well due to the mucus ..;( n her nose hole is so small.. Pls help,,;(
Oso, how do u judge how much cold water n hot water to put to make milk? Eg to make 60ml of milk, is it 50ml rm temp water n 10ml boiling water?? My cl just say agar agar..sigh..

Hi tanny
Yes, mine use the detergent to wash their teat n bottles before sterilize.. How come urs dun? Strange..

Hi baby
U use who to massage for u..

Hi hazel n gals
The weather is so hot these few days n i hope after cl left, can turn on aircon for my bbies, but now no aircon, my gal got mucus (blocked nose) for no reason, hence how i dare to put them in aircon rm? Think will easily get block nose... Any suggestions?

Hi tromso
Ya, bbies full mth soon..;) but hope i can cope to take care two bbies at night.. Abit stress now.. Bbies dun look alike since they not identical.. Boy looks like me n gal looks like dad.. But she really hss a very girl look so easy recognise..;)

Hazel, wow, think u will enjoy ur upcoming cruise soon.

As for Bali, I'm sure by that time, it's much easier since Belle is bigger and she can fully enjoy herself there too.
Logistics are a nightmare when u travel with kids. I drew up lists to bring and pack and repack my luggage the first time travelling with bb. Will keep reminding myself to travel light.

Pierced, go Melbourne first on dec. how to travel light?! I reckon once check in is ok, just stroller n our carry on bags!

Hazel, why so many things for belle
Can share what's the bulk of it? Diapers? Geeez...hv to bring carseat too, I thot stroller is the only bulky item, sigh... But already feeling excited about your upcoming tripssss...

Pierced, indeed, Preg Perego is a very popular choice but on heavy side too. Quite many choices for 5kg+. I was initially looking at Combi but realised I may need to hunch a bit cos the handle bar is lower. Stokke...lol...the price tag is nicer
My friend says her baby only wants to be carried, so ended up they don't use stroller much. So now I'm determined to not pamper baby with excessive carrying

Thanks for the link, indeed cheaper over in oz.

Joanne, for watery blocked nose, we use rolled up tissue for niece. Rolled until sorta needle thin and try pull out the sticky mucus, hv to be very careful to not poke the nose interior.

For more serious cases, I think have to use the pump to extract mucus out.

Need to bring to see dr?

btw it's gd to use air humidifier if sleeping in air con room cos the dry air can easily irritate the throat by causing dryness. I think your eldest son is using the Osim one right? Can use for your babies too especially when 1 is feeling unwell now, will tend to not sleep well, so air humidifier may help allow him/ her breathe better.

Hazel, hee u confirm your Melbourne trip already?
No choice but ok like u said, check in a,ready not so bad, and when u are there, put everything in car and drive around,

Tromso, no need bring diapers, car seat, diapers oz have , car rental provide baby seat.
Only stroller, but u get to Push all the way to the check in gate before dropping it off by the plane door, so that's pretty ok.
If oz, prob it's the milk, clothes that's the bulk plus some other necessities.

Yes, the thing about combi or other jap strollers is the height. I find it a prob too sometimes coz the height is a bit low to push.
so not so ergonomic for us.
I only use the carrier and I seldom carry by hand. Yup excessive carrying is no good too. The kid might not end up wanting to sit in stroller. I have seen a few examples around.

Cheaper right, good that u have people to carry back too, I was surfing around and saw the price. At first thought ship back instead, then it's too exp. luckily my cuz also coming back in end aug, so just nice can ask her bring back.

Just to clarify that for combi stroller, the premier one has 2 adjustable heights for the handle. Thus, the lower height suits me while the higher one is for my hubby whom is much taller than me.

I am also eyeing the manduca carrier. :p It's a controlled price product in SG. When I went to check out Isetan baby fair, the other carriers have discounts but not Manduca.

MC, I saw Sashamama's friend posted pix of a NB baby last night in fb and suspected it's Sashamana's heee... now confirmed def same one

Pierced, Tromoso, car seat rental is ex in oz. my friend told me bring our own. We will bring own gps too. Sq tickets r v ex in dec, is promo price of $888 PAx does not apply for travel between 1 -25 dec. current prIce for 3 of us is abt $3,300! Belle' ticket is less than $200. Still waiting to see of got promo price...

Still need to sterilise belle's bottles then. So need to bring heating element there, of course service apartment n my friend's House Will hv kettle. But is better to bring just in case. My friend can pack steriliser into the lugguage too!! Oz does not carry the brand of diapers n fm we use here. So need to bring fm, diapers depend on how fussy u r. I will bring a pack minimum. When u go to countries with 4 seasons, hv to be prepared the weather can be erratic. Like my colleague who just got bk from Seoul 2 wks bk told me is cold there esp at night when it shld be summer! Melb can get v windy. With a bb, i must make sure I pack thicker clothings n socks. Then there is moisturer, sunshield, medication, ear thermometer, her toiletries, thermo flask, etc. these brarang all takes up space. Need to brIng toys n books too, if not how to keep her entertained? Bb food can get in oz supermarket.

Bbs dirty these clothes v often, so need to pack extra clothes, blankets, hankie, etc. if I plan to hand wash, need to bring her detergent too!

Hi mummies, I am on my way bk to TMC to get Vera check for jaudice lvl. I hope her lvl will go dw and no need to be under the light box. So worry....

Hazel $3,300 is pricey. I thot petrol prices has come down recently
Seeing the items you've brought, reminds me of the 4 car trips (or even more) of baby barang barangs I recently brought to my mum's place for confinement and beyond.

But I'm sure it's happy packing and planning for you

Hazel, I'm sure you'll need to bring an extra bag for shopping!!

Angel, u recall how they were selling Manduca last session's color (or unpopular colors) at $150 during the previous motherhood expo? I think that's the only markdown they have.

Now you ladies have rekindled my interest in Manduca, was getting reluctant to get it cos afraid will become white elephant. My cousin is flying to Sing in Jan, meanwhile maybe I can try out others' white elephants first....keke... Was going to settle for the $100 cheaper Ergo, luckily you prompted me Pierced, thanks

For carriers not so urgent, can wait till baby is born n then baby to go try out. Personally, i don't like carriers cos i tend to sweata lot n so does my girl so ended up my carriers all like white elephants.

The TMC parent craft helpline 24 hr is not exactly help desk - they ask for yr problem then say any concern, pls make apptm at Parentcraft centre.. like my case- still got lumps on day 7.

Congrats shashamama!

Tromoso, hub has been complaining that petrol here has been increasing every few days the last 1 wk! Actually, first time mummy may miss out things that need to pack. If not becoz some gfs who told me must bring thermometer, I wun think abt that. must also get fr PD all the standard medication for bb.

Wow... woke up late today and there're so many posts to catch up on!

Tanny, better to wash bottles with bb detergent and sterilise thereafter. Suggest u be more firm with ur CL and tell her your expectations. We have to, otherwise we end up stressing ourselves. I had to be firm on my stand with the night feeds previously as well, as most CLs wld prefer to feed FM. I insisted that she bring baby to me for BF and she did.

Hazel, pierced & Tromso, thks for your input on the baby carriers. I didn't think of getting a carrier b4 so hadn't done much research on it. So for Manduca, the baby is supported on the bum and thighs, leaving just the lower legs dangling? Someone mentioned can put baby's legs inside carrier too?? What's the price of Manduca in S'pore?

pierced, u mentioned Pikkolo has flexibility. Mind elaborating?

I did notice that as my gal grew older, she would more often refuse to sleep in the stroller. So we had to carry her to sleep (and find an opportunity to gently place her in stroller and hope that she doesn't wake up when we place her down) and it's not easy carrying a toddler with bare hands for such a long time! I remember we were once stranded at a shelter in Jurong Bird Park for quite a while cos it was raining. We didn't bring the stroller along cos by then she cld walk and we tot it'd be easier without stroller. End up my hubby carried her while she slept... can imagine his ache and stiffness in the arms, back and neck, heh... Thinking in such cases, wld be much easier with a carrier.

mc, gonna meet the PEM rep this Friday and pay deposit. Gotta pay for the herbal package immediately too, so siong!

Travelling with baby is indeed not easy. Hats off to the brave mummies who dare to travel with baby!

Thks tromso n catherine
Yes, me bringing my gal to doc Ong later in afternoon... Hope after suck out, it wun built up again.. Sigh... N yes, my cl using tissue paper turn into small roll n try take out my gal mucus...no use though as it built up again...

Jo3, it's inevitable the mucus will build up again, just like how adults will continue to get running or stuffy nose until their infection clears. Good to see doc to see how best to clear the infection, but think it'll still take time for baby to get better. So long as u're doing all u can to help her feel comfortable, u're doing a good job!

Congrats !many new mommies!

Sorry, been very tired and hasn't been ard

Hi Tanny, if you have breast lumps, just massage ( press hard) in circular motion till it resolve and keep on pumping. It shd resolve in a day time. You need to massage very very hard