(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Jo3, if baby just suckles at nipple, sure will hurt. Gently pull their chin down so that their mouth opens widely and can (almost) cover your whole areola (the dark area). And if they're suckling only on nipples, they can't get much milk cos that's incorrect latching. That might explain why they take so long. Jiayou!

pierced, my gal had hearing test without me asking leh. Or did they ask me? Can't remember liao.

Wah, hearing you ladies' experiences, I think I'm lucky I managed to dilate and feel contractions pretty soon after induction. Maybe partly cos I was only 1 day short of 40 weeks then. Easier to induct than those in 30 odd weeks.

Morn... I try to bf Vera just nw but she doesn't wa to drink.. Last feed of fm was 545am. And she vomit abit when we try to bf her. We try to disturb her, like see her diaper, pat her lightly but she still sleep. I ask the nurse, nurse say bb with jaundice tend to sleep more. I hope bb can discharge with me today...

Pierced,
Yeah kkh just do all the necessary tests. i like it that they do everything without us having to worry necessary or not.

Faithfully, dun worry. Some newborns tend to be sleepy, esp after a full feed of FM. Perhaps u can try expressing ur colostrum by hand n storing in the syringes like what Hazel did? If ur milk has come in then pump and store ur BM?

Luv, haha, ya I seriously cant remember all the little details already. First time plus blurblur, everything go by in a flash.

Faithfully, dont worry. Babies tend to sleep a lot now, that's why we need to try waking them up when they latch. U have the nurses nearby to advise u. Im sure Vera will be discharge soon. Like Luv advised, try expressing out first to store and feed her later.

Appreciate all the tips fr all of u on bf.. Really encouraging...
Thks catherine for the great tip too.. Will try tt out.. And yes, i hv to top up fm always else they cant latch on n is very tiring to keep latch on too.. Luvnhope, didnt know tt if bbies just bite on nipples will not hv gd flow., thk u too.. Will pull down their lips next time..;) hope i can be persistant n last several mth..;) btw, i think i hv quite lot of milk but too diluted..;( so they r always not full.. Besides eat well n sleep well, any tips on what to eat? Thk u.. How many meals u gals eat in order to be sufficient for bf mum? I think i eat too little.. Always want to sleep only rather than eat.

Hi angel
May i know where u see the bb expo lobang as i dun hv fb acct.. Any link to bb expo lobang n taka lobang? Hee.. Later i will bring my boy to my mum place n cl take care my gal only, then me n hb will cheong taka.. Now i can daring to buy many things for my precious.. Cant wait to go shopping now.. Lucky can walk well now after 3wks ago c sect..;) me going eat 猪脚醋 later.. Yucks..

Hi faithfully
U can wake bb up by remove their swaddle then she will suck as advise by nursery nurse.. Dun worry k.. Is a matter of time..;) did lc look for u yesterday? An indian woman too? She got pinch ur nipple hard n teach u how to massage?

Hi ladies, outta curiosity, I've decided to check out the different breastfeeding helplines, here's sharing with those interested:

- TMC 24 hrs helpline 9119 3502, converse with LC (complimentary)

- KKH to call mainline and leave your name, LC will return call (complimentary but office hrs only)

- Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group 6339 3558/ 6337 0508 http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg (I'm not sure if this is 24 hrs, I got the contact fr mcys parenting booklet)

Thanks for the syringe advice Eskimo and Pierced. I just realised the Lucrin syringes are not packed in individual bags, guess I'll go with hospital's then.

Pierced, I'm not sure if similac is hard to stir cos I take it with protein powder, the powder is extremely hard to dissolve, so I'm used to stirring both continuously and breaking up the clumps.

I've also gained abt 14+ kg now haizzz...took some pix recently and the face looks puffy too, not to mention the visible double chin in formation
Nonetheless like you said, we can work on these 'imperfections' after delivery
Hope your baby has gained weight too, quite confident he has cos your last review 400g really kick arse

Tromso, thanks for the helplines. good information to keep on hand.

I see, together with protein powder ya, anyway, i will just keep stirring it and drink it up at one go, No choice.
Yes, the puffy face and double chin! and im going for the photoshoot next week. Must tell the Pg to slim down my flabby arms too and face. heh!

I do hope so the weigh gain to bb continues~, but I havent been eating durians diligently this week, partly the high sugar and hubs been working late this whole wk so no one to buy for me. hehe...So i pump up on eating avos etc.

Hi Faithfully, you may have tried these methods but here's a list that I've jointed down in my notebook:

Waking baby up for feeding:
1) unswaddle, or right down to nappy only, try skin to skin contact
2) change diaper
3) dim the lights as too bright bb may not like it, too dim bb will zzzz
4) put bb in upright/ sitting position, pat on the back
5) sing a lively song, talk to bb, make eye contact
6) stroke bb's palm, soles, massage arms/ back/ shoulder, pump legs in bicycling motion
7) last resort, place a cool sheet on forehead/ rub face gently with cool sheet

When baby gets drowsy during feeding:
a) do a burp
b) switch fr cradle hold to clutch hold
c) dribble some bm on bb's lips
d) jiggling breast in bb's mouth, stroking cheek
e) repeat above

Pierced, I was just thinking about your photoshoot this morning
You can tell photographer to angle your face so that chin not that obvious. For arms, I try to move away from body a bit, so doesn't appear too huge lol... I also spent some time at home trying to do a face 'slimming' make up...wow not easy this one
Then when I smile for camera, I try to pull my chin down more too (looks more pointy), so face doesn't look as round heee... Very vain lol...

When choosing and reviewing straight after the shoot, can let her know for the selected shots, what you wish to trim down, like chin and/ or arms.

I didn't select too many pix cos many does look plump-ish. Def good for the wallet though

But your tummy should be rounder than before, so the shots will be great

Megan will be participating too?

Tromso, all these technics to wake bb r fr books. They may not be effective at all. In the first month, belle slept alot! Feeding time is a chore! Can take 1 hr she still cannot finish! I used wet cloth wipe her face, she opened her eyes n after wiping, she closed back n slept again!!

I'm discharging today but baby can't go home due to jaundice! Aiya sianz.. Need to stay in hosp. Heard it leaks at 6th day.

Luv, i like Dumex Mamil Mama, Enfamum A+ and Anmum.
I also hv Nan mum but hv not try yet. :p
Otherwise you can try Meiji fresh milk.

When did u gals start having MS? Coz m wondering isit my MS not here yet... I m only feeling hungry all the time almost every 2-3hrs have to eat even midnite. So I will always wake up 2 times in the night to find food. Isit normal do you gals encounter this too?

bbshower, my gynae gave me a whole big bag of them, LOL. Hmm.. I tot HL milk is fresh milk?

I had MS from 4 weeks plus this time round!! So early!! Be thankful u dun have it yet.
Typically MS shld start ard Week 6. Yes, it's normal to feel hungry very often, even at night. Welcome to the club!

Bbjourney, thanks, i'll try those out when i have the courage to, hahah... They're not too sweet i hope?

That said, bbshower, not everyone experiences MS. So dun worry too much even if u dun have it. U may just be one of the lucky ones who breeze thru preg!

Bbshower, some MTB has no MS at all, some has MS all the way.it all depemds on individuals. So dont worry if you dont hv MS as you maybe one of the lucky ones who have no MS at all. It is perfectly normal to feel hungry every 2-3 hours. I also wakie in the middle of the night to eat during my first trim.

bbshower, u can also try going to those milk companies' websites and request for free samples of their mummies milk. Most shld have.

Luv, we said almost the same thing to Bbshower... Hahaha...

For me, i find that Anmum is the least sweet among the milk powder i tried. Dumex n Enfamum is slightly sweeter. You can add more water or just spilt the sachet of milk powder into half n drink it 2 times instead of drinking all at once. Think hv to tralil n error. I only hv one adverse reaction to S26 milk powder as i find it fishy. :p

Bbjourney, great minds think alike! Wahahahah...

Yeah, I used to find that there was too much powder in one sachet. Good idea to split into 2 servings.

Maybe after MS goes away more permanently, I'll be more courageous to trial and error. Heheh...

HAha thanks luv n baby. Oh that means I haven hit week 6 yet so MS might not be here yet pray hard I don't have it. Nx week will be week le panic.... Erm Luv actually Fresh milk n HL taste diff fresh milk more bland n my tummy seem to accept it better then HL milk.

Hazel, yah no choice, have to trial and error with babies, hopefully can press the right button 1 day. At least can try out the textbook methods, may work for some babies hopefully.

Hubby and I were watching the DVD about calming babies last nice. The methods seem to work very well when done by Dr Karp but when chg hands to parents, some babies tend to get fussy again. I think babies can be similar to our computers, everytime I get IT guys to come fix a problem, the problem will refuse to surface when IT guys arrive lol...

I find the Enfamama (sample is yellow packaging right?) quite sweet, lotsa powder too. But the chocolate quite nice, just super thick.

bbshower, oic...

Tromso, think the calm and confidence the adult exudes is also important. Babies can sense if we're too anxious and get tense themselves. If we can remain calm and composed, then prob easier to calm babies down.

Tromso, hee, thanks for the tips on taking the photos.
Yup Megan will be joining us, coz this time I want family shots.
Couple shots we done it last time with studio loft already so don't really need much. So this time round, think I wont be getting too many either. mainly of family? save $$ too. hee

Just realised blur me, not next week but 2 wks more to photoshoot. that's what preggy brains does to u.

Luv, i calculated, will be 36 wks once photoshoot time. Hopefully tummy grows bigger then!

I had samples of Nan mum too when they promote. even gave me free cooler bag together. but I dont really like the taste.

Bbshower, actually fresh milk is also ok, not necess have to drink mummy's milk.
I only started drinking this 3rd tri coz I thought maybe can help my bb put on weight. otherwise, my #1 preg and earlier on for this preg, i was drinking fresh milk. 2 cups a day.

Thk u babyjourney..;)
Hi tromso
Tt time u r saying what brand handkerchief u buy is no gd huh? U say alot of fibre after washing?

I requested sample from Similac & Enfac yesterday. However I can't seem to do the same for Anmum as I cldn't find Singpaore

Hi Joanne, it's Gerber that's not good. the edges of the hanky/ washcloths ain't properly done, fluffs and lints keep coming out.

heee Pierced, I can almost imagine little Megan's fascination posing with her didi-to-be
I'm thinking if should incorporate my little niece into the NB shots too....

Bbjourney, so after trying so many, which is your choice? btw did you check out the Baby expo with Angel today? Starting today right?

In fact, can get samples at talks/ seminars too. Then when you fill in the Nestlé, Anmum, Similac, etc slips, they'll start sending sample milk powder to your homes. I even received complementary hat, bibs, bb clothes

Tromso, i not joining Angel for Expo Baby Fair. Out of all milk powder i had, i like Anmum the most (bought n finished 2-3 boxes liao). Followed by Dumex Mamil Mama, Enfamum A+ and Similac. Hv not try my Nan mum yet. The one i dislike is S26. :p

Babyjourney, that's my opinion la. it's not horrible but dont really like it that much. u can try it out and see if u like.

Tromso, hee it's meimei
erm I just hope she cooperates. Now nearer to Edd, she's getting a bit more difficult and sensitive. So have to really smetimes struggle with her mood now.

Hey, that will be cool! plus ur niece is younger. should look very cute together!

I just discharge today. Bb jaundice level 9.9 and dr ang say ok to bring bb home. I went home try to latch her but she drink like 1 side nia. Then I top up with fm but she only drink like 10ml. And her last feed was 11am at TMC. I try to feed her at 3 but nt much progress... Why is tha so?

Babyjourney, KKH hasnt called regarding my uti lab culture but i know there was protein in my urine, the test stick turned colour. So i am still just dutifully taking the antibiotics. Today pee is abit pain too. Its like pee want to come out but kenna stop awhile then release. Is that what UTI supposed to feel? I got worried and went to Dr Loh though my appt was supposed to be tomorrow. Dr Loh say complete the antibiotics and drink lotsa water.

Someone told me cannot take sweet stuff now, why ah? Can take chocolate biscuits?

Babyjourney you planning to go Taka fair/ Baby expo? I cant go anywhere. Placenta still covering cervix. Was advised to rest loads to prevent bleeding.

Bbjourney, you've tried so many brands
I like choco flavour but unfortunately Similac really cmi.

Pierced, I've always thought it's didi, silly me, I thought you've broken our baby girls trend
My niece oso until recently started to want both my parents to accompany her to bed, in the past only my dad...haizzz...I was thinking maybe she can sense something too, kids...

Luv, very true. I also feel that babies can sense our mood, so if we feel unsettled, they can be in that state too. Luckily my hubby is the calm sort. I'll try to sing to baby more cos I feel it's calming for me too
Your ms is still as bad? Or gotten tad better now?

Faithfully, good to hear jaundice hasn't risen. You didn't put Vera under the lights right? Do you know how much fm she drinks each time at tmc previously?

heartbeats, sorry to hear abt UTI. perhaps u can check with ur dr if can take cranberry or unsweetened pomegranate juice/pills, plain yohgurt. I heard it does really helps(did for MIL)! if i remember rite, try to stay away from foods with yeast like bread, (gardenia seem to have an effect on me), caffeinated drinks etc.
yes, drink plenty of water and get well soon!

Hi Eskimobaby,

Maybe bec I told my gyn that I want painless labour...I have a low pain threshold. Once I checked into the delivery ward, they gave me the medicine to clear my poo poo then gave me the Epidural.

I was also given the drip to induce labor. I think max dosage but no impact...haiz end up still have to go for c-section. on hindside, should have just gone for C-section at my 38 week. BB did not turn down so booked my c-section slot but the day before the big day, he decided to turn down so decided to try natural...

If I have another BB, will just go straight for C-section.

Congrats Faithfully on bringing baby home! Did u try offering her the other side? If she didn't want the other side, maybe it's because she wasn't hungry after 1 side? If she's not resistant to latching on, cld it be that she's not used to the bottle/teat u're using now. Maybe diff from TMC's.

As Tromso says, it'd be good to find out how much FM she was given at TMC. Then after u latch on, u give half the FM amt given b4 and see how it goes?

heartbeats, hope ur UTI clears up very soon!

Tromso, the clinic nurse always give me samples... Hehehe... So i just take and try lor.

Heartbeats, i think u may need to drink more water to clear the uti. Empty your bladder frequently.
I went to the Taka fair w Angel on wednesday but did not buy much. Not sure if i will be going for the one at Expo yet. Taka fair is until first week of Aug, so still hv time for you to shop if you want.

Jude,
I see
i think after my first experience i would go for csection too esp my genes ah is big head. My girl's head really big so maybe that's why natural not successful also heee.

Sashamama,
Are you the lady in blue today, long hair with glasses? I was wondering if that was you cos i overheard going for ctg at Dr loh's clinic